Pranav wrote:
RoyG wrote:^^He is the only PM candidate that has any shot of winning from NDA. The fact that he is going around India delivering speeches and causing sleepless nights for NDA allies and UPA can only mean that they know he will be at the front of the race. I wouldn't attach too much importance to these so called "sources".
This relates to the internal equations within the BJP. The message to Advani & Co is - either make NaMo PM candidate or face the people without NaMo.
This relates to the need of Congressies and their B team like AK to spread FUD.

kittoo wrote:Guys is the support for BJP, Modi etc. online is only restricted to English media on the internet? I ask this question because when I visited this article-

http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/in ... 816014.cms (सोनिया गांधी ताड़का और पूतना की अवतार: रामदेव)

people are lambasting Baba Ramdev for telling the truth. And the comments are pure hatred, too! And if it was a few comments I would have thought that it was just Congress eNREGA fund, but there are so many, a vast majority with mostly Hindu names!
Also, whats up with this 'should respect a woman' comments over harsh language on Sonia Gandhi! On one hand women are getting raped and wives beaten in India, and here we have a brigade of people lambasting Baba Ramdev for using harsh language against someone who is pure curse on this country! What is up with such a huge number of these fake guardians of these moral values?

ques-chun..How many % of Yindians with internet connexion actually read a hindi paper online ? even though internet access has improved drastically over the years, i seriously doubt many people would login just to comment in hindi..difficult to type anyway..quite probably paid congi drones do the commenting part..

@ANI_news: Leader of opposition in parliament blames Govt of corruption but she is friends with the corrupt Reddy brothers-Rahul Gandhi

Sushupti wrote:@ANI_news: Leader of opposition in parliament blames Govt of corruption but she is friends with the corrupt Reddy brothers-Rahul Gandhi
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

RoyG wrote:^^He is the only PM candidate that has any shot of winning from NDA. The fact that he is going around India delivering speeches and causing sleepless nights for NDA allies and UPA can only mean that they know he will be at the front of the race. I wouldn't attach too much importance to these so called "sources".

Kittoo, I second that. I want to know what sort of economic policies this NACxalite is promoting.
Saar, to discuss the 'economic' policies of this guy is like hurting your brain because of sheer stupidity of the thing. Not to mention that there isn't much of an economic policy here anyway. A few harebrained schemes, shouting that removing corruption will solve everything and thats it! Anyway, I let's discuss it with a few links.

In a video discussion (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvVfjXfBh5M), when asked about the reasons of inflation and what he will do about it, he says- 'There is only one reason of inflation, and it's corruption. Our analysis is that all these complex theories on inflation are there to make a fool out of us.' What amazing analysis! A grade 12 commerce student can tell that inflation doesn't arise out of corruption. Corruption might accentuate it, depending upon the circumstances, but the root of inflation is never corruption. I dare Kajriwal to make an economy growing at a decent rate inflation free. Development and inflation go hand in hand. The complex theories are there to understand the cause, effect and flow and to make development as equitable and as without inflation as possible. Does he even know that some inflation is even necessary for an economy? I am not even talking in terms of graphs and complex mathematics, it's almost common sense!

Then he says that if Goa can have petrol at 55Rs per liter, why not in Delhi? I am a BJP supporter and it will give me much glee to point this out, but the fact is that it's not possible everywhere. Goa is able to do it because they hope that this will increase the carriage transport going through their state, giving them transit tax, which will in turn effectively subsidize the petrol prices. They get the Mumbai going traffic this way. Is it possible in Delhi? Where would the extra revenue come from, if the government does that?

The only valid point he says there is that if corruption is less we will save money and that can be used to decrease prices of other commodities. That even a child knows. There is nothing new to it.

Then there is his stance of fixing prices of essential commodities by popular consensus! Do we even need to know any economic theory to know that this is an absolutely stupid and disastrous idea? Sure you will fix the prices, but how will you find the suppliers who will supply at those prices? When no one will supply at those prices, people will get desperate and black markets will come into picture! Anyone with commonsense can see what that will lead to. If the answer is to subsidize everything to keep the prices fixed, I ask him where he will get that money from? He wants to lower taxes, lower prices of everything and then thinks he will be able to subsidize everything (don't tell me he is planning to simply print more money! We will be Zimbabwe soon then!)? And what about the rise in inflation of other things? When people will save money on basic commodities, they will spend it somewhere else or invest it. Their spending will lead to inflation (surprise!). If they start buying (investing in) gold (which is of course a possibility), it will lead to rise in gold prices. When people will feel its giving better returns, they will take out money form banks and invest in gold. With savings rate going down and no money in banks, how will domestic industry get the money to invest? The economy will come to a screeching halt, increasing unemployment. I can go on and on, but I think its pretty clear that it will be a disaster. This scheme can't last for 1 month!

Then there is this interview (http://blogs.reuters.com/india/2013/02/ ... -politics/)-
Q: The Indian economy is set to grow 5 percent in this fiscal year. What do you have to say about the way our economy is growing?

A: Economy does not work in isolation and all these figures of growth do not have any meaning for a common man. It keeps on increasing and decreasing, but the life of a common man is continuously getting more and more miserable in this country. And the politics of this country has become so corrupt that economy can’t prosper without checking corruption.
If he thinks these figures have no meaning, then what more can I say? Can he not understand that a growing economy represents increasing prosperity (the inequality argument will take us into complex economics, but in the long run higher growth is better for everyone)?
Q: One of your major concerns has been high prices, but inflation is currently at a three-year low. Do you still think the government is not making enough effort to keep inflation in check?

A: Those figures are basically meant for media. You talk to a common man in this country. The common man is unable to survive now because of the rising prices. He does not care whether inflation has come down by 1 percent or increased by 1 percent. These figures have no meaning for him because zindagi jo chalti hai vo in figures se nahi chalti (figures don’t help sustain a life).
He might be right in some abstract sense, but practically he is so completely wrong! Life is indeed impacted heavily, if not governed, by these numbers. Does he think that if inflation becomes 30%, the prices will not rise? Does he think that a 10% growth rate over the next few years can bring millions out of poverty?
Q: What do you think should be the key focus of Budget 2013?

A: I don’t think it’ll change the lives of the people. It will again be a routine budget. They will again play with figures — inflation was 5.6 percent now, it’ll be 5.3 percent, increase, decrease, growth, 6 percent, 5.76 percent.
I think at this point its pretty clear that this man doesnt understand an iota of economics. He just keeps saying the same thing- numbers are meaningless, removing corruption will solve everything.
But why do you think figures are not important?

A: Figures should be directly related to the lives of the people. These figures are related to the lives of very few people in this country. Sensex is related to very few people. Growth figure is related to the lives of very few people.

Yeah, growth figures are not related to lives of many people. Sensex I can understand why someone not knowing much about the economy might think that it only affects those who invest etc., but growth figures? Seriously?

Then here (http://www.livemint.com/Opinion/xlDkKDr ... -life.html) he says- “Money supply kam kar di, zyaada kar di, kuchh samajh mein nahin aata.” What shall we do if you don't understand? It becomes meaningless because you don't understand? RBI is a scam? All banks who wait for the SLR or CRR rate cuts are fools? You talk about inflation so much, yet don't understand how crucial these are in managing it. Isn't it common sense that supply of money will affect the economy, even if you don't understand how or in what direction?

Other than that, I was unable to find his views on economy. Probably because he doesn't have any and doesn't understand anything, other than shouting that numbers are meaningless (probably to hide his own incompetency in understanding them).
Pranav wrote:
kittoo wrote: Pranav, how about you tell me what is 'genius' in the economic policies of AAP? How about we discuss that, and find if there is actually some merit in those arguments? Just saying genius won't make them a true genius, right? I really want to know what you think of those policies.
Their main point is that instead of subsidizing big players (by giving cheap coal blocks, for example), the resources should be used for welfare of the Aam Aadmi. That is a valid point.

Recently heard AK saying that they would regulate fees charged by private schools, which I don't agree with. The plan is upgrade govt schools is good.

Also controlling corruption is a major economic initiative since at present most of the govt resources are siphoned off.
But one needs to subsidize the industries to some extent! Building a factory, especially in remote parts of the country, requires immense resources, with uncertain returns. Otherwise how will areas like North East or Himachal develop? Please note that I am not talking about other issues such as exploitation of locals etc. I am also not saying that the government should subsidize everyone or take unnecessary losses. Merely saying that a broad brush of not subsidizing anyone is not the right approach.

^^^ Actually inflation is related to over-expansion money supply (as per the monetarist view, pioneered by Milton Friedman).

Inflation is certainly not a prerequisite of economic growth ... in fact inflationary expectations are soon factored into the decisions people make. It is very much possible to have economic growth without inflation, if money supply is calibrated to expand at right rate.

AK is right that corruption can lead to price rise ... for example if the price of oil or electricity or fertilizer inputs are rising due to policies favoring certain business owners, then that will have an impact on prices of agricultural commodities.

As regards subsidies to private parties, one will have to carefully evaluate whether public good is maximized by such a decision. For example, subsidized education is also a "subsidy to a private party", but there is no doubt that it promotes national good. But giving coal blocks to a businessman who sells electricity at market rates obviously does not make sense.

But why do Kejriwal opponents insist on bringing him up again and again in this thread?! :wink:
Last edited by Pranav on 01 May 2013 19:44, edited 1 time in total.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

harbans wrote:IIT Kgp was always some kind of leftist bastion from where AK graduated. At the last meeting a few days ago with IIT alumni, there were a few though who said his grasp of economic policy leaves a lot to be desired. That is where a person like NM scores high. High on anti corruption credentials and focused on Governance and developmental issues with a son of the soil persona to boot.
Talking about son of the soil:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid= ... =1&theater
Last edited by member_23629 on 01 May 2013 19:40, edited 1 time in total.

Pranav wrote: But why do Kejriwal opponents insist on bringing him up again and again in this thread?! :wink:
Completely agree ! Can folks please post only what is relevant to this thread considering its title ???

kittoo wrote:Guys is the support for BJP, Modi etc. online is only restricted to English media on the internet? I ask this question because when I visited this article-

http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/in ... 816014.cms (सोनिया गांधी ताड़का और पूतना की अवतार: रामदेव)

people are lambasting Baba Ramdev for telling the truth. And the comments are pure hatred, too! And if it was a few comments I would have thought that it was just Congress eNREGA fund, but there are so many, a vast majority with mostly Hindu names!
Also, whats up with this 'should respect a woman' comments over harsh language on Sonia Gandhi! On one hand women are getting raped and wives beaten in India, and here we have a brigade of people lambasting Baba Ramdev for using harsh language against someone who is pure curse on this country! What is up with such a huge number of these fake guardians of these moral values?
eNREGA, no doubt. There has been a sudden spurt in such comments on all sites from the start of eNREGA. I doubt whether these are Hindus at all. Not saying that Hindus don't support the Kongis, but for some reason it seems to me that Kongis are hiring non-Hindus(perhaps, even non-Indians) for such activities. I even read/heard something on similar lines. Not able to get hold of any link right now.
varunkumar wrote:^^^ This is the typical disease among Hindus of abusing their own leaders while licking the anti-Hindu boot that kicks them. This behavior arises from inferiority complex. Nehru suffered from the same disease -- abusing RSS and Savarkar while grovelling before Muslim leaders and Goras. This kind of attitude will disappear with wealth and pride in one's own roots. UP Hindus are the worst in this -- they would rather have a Muslim dictator rule them than a Hindu Modi or Ramdev. Inability to rally behind own leaders due to an attitude problem -- this is a serious weakness of Hindus and they really damage themselves with this.
I protest this kind of generalization and abuse. Seriously, if you are going to indulge in such abuse of Hindus, then what is the difference between you and other assorted anti-Hindus? I can understand some abuse stemming from desperation. But you do it very often. And it is not a good thing. Once in a while, is understandable.

BTW, one should never forget that Hindus are the last people who are still standing with their ancient culture still intact. Everyone else has already fallen to the advent of newer ideologies(religious or otherwise) and they are trying to take Hindus down the same path. They have lapped up these new ideologies to a degree that they start hating the culture of their own forefathers. X-ists hate pagans, Malsi induces hatred towards 'Jahils', and Commies(particularly in non-european countries) hate everything about their home culture. Hindus are threatened by all these three together. Do you think Hindus have survived just like that, without offering fight?

Are you really going to project Nehru, of all the people, as a specimen of typical Hindu?!! Nehru was an english man in Indian skin. Not even Gandhi ji qualifies as a specimen of typical Hindu, IMHO. If you want to give examples of Hindus, then talk about Vivekananda, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, and many more of such caliber.

Hindus have been fighting incessantly to protect their way of life from every new ideology. The fight has psychological, strategic, tactical, economical, intellectual, and even spiritual sides to it. Despite the superior powers arrayed against the Hindus, Hindus have never given up the fight. Different groups have tried to employ different tactics against the Hindus, and every time Hindus have tried to answer in kind. Show me any other ideology that has survived under the rule of its opponents for about 1000 years? Do you Malsi will survive if anti-Malsi regime rules for the next 200 years? Do you think EJs will survive if anti-EJ regimes comes to power for next 200 years? Do you think commie ideology will survive if anti-Commie regimes are in power for next 200 years? I don't think so. Even Barbaria will give up Malsi if it is ruled for 200 years by anti-Malsi regime for next 200 years. So, one should appreciate what Hindus have done and are doing.

Most people agree that Hindus have been dhimmized due to long foreign rule(direct and indirect). This phenomenon has happened more in brit regime. And most ironically, the degree of dhimmization after 1947 has been very high. I guess Hindus have fought the foreigners, they thought there was no need to be vigilant with one's own people. So, they lapped up the propaganda of the regime especially because they were seen as people who freed the desh from the clutches of the foreign rule. Lapping up that propaganda of the regime has dhimmized atleast one generation of Hindus after 1947. And it still shows its affects even on the next-generations to an extent. And showing mirror to such dhimmi-ness is also par for the course. But simply abusing all the time is not good, particularly generalized abuse at all Hindus is not appreciated.

When you abuse all Hindus, you end up abusing even people like Vivekananda and Tilak. Even the Hindu masses have shown great fortitude in preserving the culture and religion despite great hardships and temptations from various sides. One should not belittle such colossal achievement. Anti-Hindu(and anti-Indian) regimes have tried over the years to keep the Hindu masses weak, powerless, poor, dependent and ignorant. The anti-Hindu(and anti-Indian) regimes realize that if the Hindu masses become strong, powerful, rich, independent and knowledgable; then their goose is cooked. Due to long and successive rule by such anti-Hindu(and anti-Indian) regimes, masses have become poor, powerless, dependent, ignorant, and weak. Due to such social conditions they are unable to think beyond their daily needs. They are unable to understand the greater ramifications of actions.

Such dhimmization will not vanish just by abusing. The way to tackle it is by empowering, generating wealth, and education to the masses. I understand that some amount of criticism of dhimmi behaviour is alright. But overdoing it is not a good thing.

There has to be some pride among all Hindus. I think the first thing that needs to be inculcated into all Hindus is pride in being a Hindu. This pride has taken a beating during the ruling of anti-Hindu regimes. When one is proud to be a Hindu, one will not find it easy to abuse the Hindus or Hinduism. Commies, EJs and Jihadis have really dented this pride among Hindus. The greatest abuse that Gagarika could throw at Hindus is call them 'Internet Hindus'. In her mind, that qualifies as an abuse. Just come to think of it, being called Hindus(internet or otherwise) is an abuse?!!

Thats the state of things. Hindus are not allowed to be proud of being Hindus. Instead, Hindus are told to be proud of being 'secular'. Hindus have been told to be proud about being 'pacifists'. Hindus are not allowed to be proud of their martial history. Once a Hindu has pride of being a Hindu, then most things will automatically fall in place.

What should Hindu be proud of?
The first thing to be proud of is that Hindus are the only ones who are still standing among all the ancient civilizations. Everyone else has gone. Even the traces of many ancient civilizations are not found. Many have tried, but no one has succeeded in eliminating Hindus and Hinduism. All tactics were used, but Hindus did not succumb to any tactic and continue to survive and offer resistance.

kuch baat hai ki hasti mitati nahi hamari
sadiyo raha hai dushman daure jahan hamara
sare jahan se achha hindusthan hamara.

Post by RajeshA saar on same topic
RajeshA wrote:RamaY ji,

I think one of the basic ways Indians have been manipulated are, are through the manipulation of psychology of pride.

Much psychological engineering has taken place to convince Indians not to be proud of their past.
The biggest weapon the British have used against Indians is the false praise and flattery. It has given them great rewards over the last 200 years
kittoo wrote:
ravi_g wrote:People posting with faux names is quite common.

BTW seems like AK of AAP is going to generate a lot of funding for his campaign. Could be in the region if 1 lac INR a day. Their site has a donate tab and one of the guys at office donated 500 and he gets to see a day book. Then off course their would be other sources of funds. No wonder Anna ji left the guy. The guy got 1.25 Crores from Feb, 2013 till date.

They also have an active volunteer list on the site.

The whole site looks like a Nukkad+Whines thread rolled into one.
Quite a few of my IIT friends are also donating, and sharing on FB like 'apna hi aadmi hai, help karo' etc.
I wish some of them took some time to actually read his policies, rather than just believing his constant diatribe of 'removing corruption will solve everything'! The stupidity in his policies will be an eye-opener to some of them. I also do my part, sharing his opinions and positions on various things like economy, army etc., hoping that some of it might actually make a few people understand how disastrous that guy will be if he ever gets any post.
Solace is that 2-5 crore Rs are nothing in Indian politics.
What exactly is wrong with their economic policy? As far as I understand even Modi is saying similar things(up to a point). For example, Modi said that he stopped the leakage(corruption and inefficiency) in public sector units and they are now in profits.

So, corruption is one of the major roadblock to the development. If corruption, inefficiency and nepotism are taken out of picture, development will be there, isn't it?

Modi also agrees with the concept of having schemes for socially disadvantaged sections.

Kejri is also right when he says that judiciary takes too long to give any results. Many times the people connected with the case die before the verdict is given. And even after the verdict is given, there can still be lot of hera-pheri. Shah Bhano comes to mind. Even Afzal Guru's case is a good example. Given such track record, Kerjri's cynicism in regard to judiciary is justified.

Anyway, a politician cannot be expected to know everything about every field. He would depend on 'experts' to get the job done.
Pranav wrote:
kittoo wrote:
Pranav, how about you tell me what is 'genius' in the economic policies of AAP? How about we discuss that, and find if there is actually some merit in those arguments? Just saying genius won't make them a true genius, right? I really want to know what you think of those policies.
Their main point is that instead of subsidizing big players (by giving cheap coal blocks, for example), the resources should be used for welfare of the Aam Aadmi. That is a valid point.

Recently heard AK saying that they would regulate fees charged by private schools, which I don't agree with. The plan is upgrade govt schools is good.

Also controlling corruption is a major economic initiative since at present most of the govt resources are siphoned off.
Pranav,
It is quite strange that you support people like Kejri and have soft-corner for chinis!

Kejri's companion is one Mr. Bhushan.

Army responsible for killing of Kashmiris: Prashant Bhushan

Prashant Bhushan says Kashmir should not become another Afghanistan

No Kashmiri is safe in India: Prashant Bhushan

Maoists name Prashant Bhushan, 2 others as mediators
Senior Superintendent of Police S R P Kalluri had named Kodopi as the successor to former Communist Party of India (Maoist) spokesperson, Azad. These charges were later withdrawn, the activists said. Roy said the police had launched a witch-hunt against Kodopi since he refused to be part of the Salwa Judum in 2009.

Activists alleged that Kodopi was abducted by the Chattisgarh police in 2009 and detained illegally for 40 days till his aunt got a High Court to order for his release. While the police maintained that he was an SPO under the Salwa Judum, Kodopi denied the clams, saying he had been forcibly confined by the police and he did not want to be an SPO. After he was set free on court orders, he and his relatives and villagers were targeted by the police, until he was finally arrested last week.

He is certainly going to be killed, said Himanshu Kumar an activist in Bastar whose NGO was uprooted by the police two years ago alleging links with Naxals.

He said that he had brought Kodopi to Delhi as his life was in danger and got him admitted in a journalism school after which he went back to Chattisgarh to document the atrocities being committed by the police.

"On the one hand the Government wants to win the trust of the people and on the other it is filling jails with innocent tribals. This is the best way to drive more people towards taking up arms," said Bhushan. He demanded a commission of inquiry led by eminent judges to look at all detention cases in Chattisgarh.

Roy, who had earlier criticised the anti-corruption movement of Anna Hazare echoed Bhushan's views. As if to justify their presence on the same platform, Bhushan said Roy had earlier felt that the anti-corruption movement was concerning only the middle class and their urban needs.

He said it was important that the urban middle class youth identify with the issues of the rural areas of the country to understand the magnitude of the problems facing the nation. He said the anti-corruption movement was about identifying key issues of concern to the nation and would work on them all.
Activists demand probe into detentions in Naxalite areas
The Supreme Court on Thursday refused to order any judicial inquiry or a probe by a Special Investigation Team (SIT) into the alleged fake encounter killings of top Naxalite leader Cherukuri Rajkumar alias Azad and a Delhi journalist Hemchandra Pandey.

Counsel Prashant Bhushan appearing for the petitioners alleged that the CBI officers, who gave a clean chit to the Andhra Pradesh Police on the encounter, were under the influence of the Union home minister P Chidambaram.

He claimed that though the CBI was technically under the controll of DoPT, the cadre controlling it was under the Union home ministry and hence was vulnerable to pressure and influence.

The counsel further submitted that the slain Naxalite leader Azad was in constant touch with Chidambaram as part of the Central Government's efforts to reach a ceasefire with the Maoists.

Additional Solicitor General Haren Raval, appearing for the CBI, and senior counsel Altaf Ahmed, on behalf of Andhra Pradesh Government, however, opposed any judicial inquiry or SIT probe on the ground that the agency had done a fair and professional investigation.
SC refuses judicial probe in Naxalite leader's case

Now coming to Kejri himself:

: RTI activist Arvind Kejriwal has admitted that the NGO Kabir he runs along with Manish Sisodia, did receive funds from the New York-based Ford Foundation, but pointed out that it had stopped about two years ago.

In an interview to Sreelatha Menon Of Business Standard, Kejriwal dubbed as “baseless” the questions being raised about interests of US bankrolling the anti-corruption agitation led by Anna Hazare.

While admitting that Kabir received funds from Ford Foundation two years ago, Kejriwal asked: “How can you linked that to what is being done now?”

“If Ford Foundation is bad, then ban it,” he said.
Kejriwal Admits, His NGO Took Money From Ford Foundation 2 Years Back
NEW DELHI: A Delhi-based RTI activist today threatened to initiate legal proceedings against Arvind Kejriwal and his associates alleging that one of the NGOs run by them collected funds but did not account them, a charge denied by India Against Corruption.

Pranav Arora alleged that Kejriwal was associated with the NGO Kabir, run by India Against Corruption leader Manish Sisodia, and it had got funds from Ford Foundation which they did not show in accounts.

He alleged the funds obtained from foreign agencies were used to trigger civil society movement in the country.

He also asked Kejriwal to disclose details of the donations received by his NGO Public Cause Research Foundation in the last fiscal.

"If Kejriwal has been exposing everyone's corruption, he should also answer the doubts regarding fundings to his NGO. I am following Kejriwal's way to expose him through media and later I will go for legal proceedings against him," Arora said.
RTI activist threatens legal action against Arvind Kejriwal

The below article is by a Indian National Congress or its sympathizer. So, take it for what its worth.
Ford Foundation-ANNA Link: More Damning Evidences starts surfacing

”If every beneficiary of the Ford Foundation fund was furthering a US interest, then IIM Bangalore dean Trilochan Shastri who started Association for Democratic Reforms with IIM alumni too must be doing that.”

This was Arvind Kejriwal, key aide of Anna Hazare quoted in a recent interview to Business Standard. Make no mistake. This man in this photograph may not grab the headlines as the likes of Kejriwal do these days. Shastri additionally may not be a Magsaysay awardee but in terms of sheer value of assets that the US has in this country to “further their interests”, then Kejriwal perhaps cannot hold a candle to Shastry. This is why while the US leaves Kejriwal to rabble rouse the streets, it confers the honour of a Breton Woods Committee membership on Shastry.

Breton Woods institutions we NGOs instinctively love to hate. The World Bank and the IMF often attach loan conditionalities based on what is termed the ‘Washington Consensus’, focusing on liberalisation—of trade, investment and the financial sector—deregulation and privatisation of nationalised industries. Often the conditionalities are attached that results in the loss of a state’s authority to govern its own economy as national economic policies are predetermined under IMF packages. Issues of representation are raised as a consequence of the shift in the regulation of national economies from state governments to a Washington-based financial institution in which most developing countries hold little voting power. IMF packages have also been associated with negative social outcomes such as reduced investment in public health and education.

NGOs are also apprehensive about the role of the Bretton Woods institutions in shaping the development discourse through their research, training and publishing activities. As the World Bank and the IMF are regarded as experts in the field of financial regulation and economic development, their views and prescriptions may undermine or eliminate alternative perspectives on development. NGOs view with disdain that the World Bank and IMF governance structures are dominated by industrialised countries. Decisions are made and policies implemented by leading industrialised countries—the G7—because they represent the largest donors without much consultation with poor and developing countries.

To qualify to be a Breton Woods Committee member from a developing country, one needs to meet two conditionalities. The first is an extremely high academic qualification. This Shastry meets. He certainly appears to belong to one of the cream of our very brightest - a BTech from IIT, Delhi; MBA from IIM, Ahmedabad and a PhD from MIT, US. The second conditionality is fitting into the US world order that rested significantly on national leaders who serve Washington as loyal subordinate elites. Obviously Shastry met this condition or otherwise he won’t have made it as a Breton Woods Committee member.

Once accepted as a pet poodle of Washington,the returns are generous. This is why apart from having a full-time job at IMM, Bangalore, Shastry is able to run two well funded NGOs viz. Centre for Collective Development (CCD) and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). As the above snapshots of pages of the website of Ford Foundation show both Shastry’s NGOs - ADR and CCR are bankrolled by them. Like Kejriwal’s Kabir, ADR receives Ford Foundation funding under their “Democratic and Accountable Government“ programme funding category while CCD does so as uncategorized programme for establishing a cooperative process of agricultural products!

Like all the Anna affiliated NGOs, Shastry’s NGOs display total opaqueness in financial transparency. Visit the website Association for Democratic Reforms here Shastry provides two annual reports for years 2009-10 and 2010-11. These are reports of their activities and achievements but he maintains a sphinx-like silence when it comes to who their donors are and their financial statements. Much as I Google searched the CCD website, success eluded me. Here was the Dean of one of India’s premier management institutes who campaigns for better probity in governance but find no need to apply basic principles of transparency to his own NGO operations! We are talking of not only foreign funds but of a source whose links to the CIA has been documented.

When Arundhati Roy made headlines by accusing the Anna agitation of being bankrolled by a clutch of Ford Foundation funded NGOs, Kejriwal first reaction was to derisively dismiss her allegations by challenging her“to show me the proof”. Once the proof of $400,000 funding to a Kejriwal NGO, Kabir surfaced in the media; Kejriwal’s line of defence shifted to ask "whether all it took was $400,000 to create a revolution in India?"

Kejriwal has now been proved correct. $400,000 is hardly adequate an amount to create a revolution in the country. Kabir was only a cog-in-the-wheel. Ford Foundation had bankrolled much larger amounts as their funding to Shastry’s NGOs indicate. Through their “Democratic and Accountable Government” funding grants, Ford Foundation’s probably ensured that they had a partner NGO to foment anarchy during Anna’s fast in each and every metro and major city in the country. If you keen to unravel the whole conspiracy, Ford Foundation website, grants pagecould be a good starting point to your investigation. Search “Democratic and Accountable Government” programme to discover the true extent amounts involved and their stooges (NGO partners) in India.

When Anna Hazare broke his 13 day fast, he announced that his next agenda was electoral reforms. Hazare declared: “Electoral reforms are need of the hour to weed out corruption. We have to reform electoral system. We need 'right to reject' and 'right to recall." But significantly, Shastry was quoted much earlier by the media as commenting in a similar vein “We need a comprehensive bill on electoral reforms like the Lokpal Bill to check electoral corruption." This should warn us that Ford Foundation NGO partners are coordinating their efforts at the national level to create anarchy in line with a pre-determined script written by their handlers - Ford Foundation.

While Anna fasted, Trilochan Shastry was compelled to sing for his supper by Ford Foundation, forced to demonstrate his open support to the Anna agitation. Shastry flamboyantly pledged to skip a meal every day until the government agrees to a strong Lokpal bill until the government agrees to a strong Lokpal bill. 50-70 students of his students at IIM Bangalore too skipped their lunch on to mark their support to the cause, though we do not know how many among them did so to curry favour their dean to ensure good grades! Indian Institute of Management- Bangalore students wore T-shirts inside out. Mihir Mogre, who came up with this idea, said "Any corrupt system should be turned upside down".

Further, due to Shastry’s efforts, more than 2000 people including students and faculty members of India's noted management and engineering institutes such as IIT and IIM had formally endorsed a petition seeking support for Anna Hazare's fast against corruption. The petition itself had been drafted and circulated by Magsaysay award winner Sandeep Pandey, who was once a member of the faculty of IIT Gandhinagar.

"This is an appeal that seeks to express solidarity with Anna Hazare who has decided to undertake a fast-unto-death unless the government agrees to enact a powerful law to rid India of the scourge of corruption by agreeing to skip one meal per day so long as Anna continues with his fast, to strengthen the movement that he and rest of the country have owned up."

Sandeep Pandey won the Ramon Magsaysay Award (also known as the Asian Nobel prize) for 'Emergent Leadership' in 2002 while Kejriwal won the same award in 2006. The Magsaysay awards in different categories are constituted by the Rockefeller Brothers Foundation and a substantial part of the cash component is funded by the Ford Foundation (FF). NGOs have always been strongly critical of the FF because we believe that there is hard documentation of Ford Foundation’s links with the CIA. Thewebsite of the Ramon Magsaysay Award elaborates on this award:

“The Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership seeks to inspire young people to apply their talents and energies to selfless and innovative service in Asia; this award category was created in 2000 with support from a Ford Foundation grant, and honours greatness of spirit among men and women forty years old and below.”

So there we have it from the horse’s mouth - Ramon Magsaysay Award which was conferred on both Kejriwal and Sandeep Pandey, acknowledges that their Award for Emergent Leadership was a result of a Ford Foundation grant. Shastry being a Ford Foundation groupie should have joined this duo to be a Magsaysay winner. But the age bar (below 40 years) probably ruined his chances.

In 2002, when Dr Sandeep Pandey was awarded Magsaysay, he was at 37, the youngest Indian to have received the award. Though a US stooge, he takes to camouflage this image by often taking a hard-line anti-US position, a show he puts on for entirely for public consumption. So when he went to Manila to pick up his award, he went first to picket the US embassy. His undoing came with his statement that “America is the biggest terrorist in the world”. A leading local newspaper then nailed Pandey’s self-righteous hypocrisy by commenting:

“So if Pandey really is the principled man that he wants us to believe that he is,” read the comment in conclusion, “then we hope that before he caught his flight back to New Delhi (or was it New York?) he dropped by the American Embassy on Roxas Boulevard and left his dollar-denominated cheque there in protest. After all, it would be inconceivable for his hands to be tainted with what seems like blood money coming from, by his reckoning, ‘the biggest terrorist in the world’. Right Mr. Pandey?”

Having read the report on the plane back home he had no choice but to return the Magsaysay Award upon landing in Delhi. Pandey later admitted to the media;

“I was challenged through a local newspaper that if I am against US government's policies, I should return the fifty thousand dollars to US embassy before I go back to India. I accepted that challenge and returned that money because it belonged to the Ford Foundation."

The wide gap between rhetoric and the action of NGOs leading lights prompted Business Standard to lament:

“But why are the actions of highly educated and motivated people like Sandeep Pandey, who have taken up the burden of helping their brethren, so contradictory? For all their do-gooding are they in the end, like most public figures, victims of hubris? It has taken vigorous comment by a brave newspaper in the Philippines to expose an Indian award-winners foolish behaviour and to embarrass the Magsaysay Foundation into sphinx-like silence.”

That Sandeep Pandey’s grandstanding on returning the Magsaysay was just crass hypocrisy can be driven home by his acceptance to run South Asian Political Initiative, a Ford Foundation funded project. This was not before he had the hard-line Hindutva forces up in arms, demanding he be arrested under POTA, the draconian law for his verbal outbursts on issues such as India’s nuclear tests; Godhra riots etc

And to imagine 2000 people including students and faculty members of India's noted management and engineering institutes such as IIT and IIM , many of whom lean towards a Hindutva political bend of mind, actually queued up to sign Sandeep Pandey’s petition tells alot of the prowess of the Ford Foundation propaganda machinery in the country. Such is their seductive impact; in all probability our cream of academics would have also put their signatures on a petition written by Dawood Ibrahim as well!
Facebook link

Pranav,
Given such an antecedents, why would you support Kejri? Do you agree with 'eminent' commies? Why do you have soft-corner for Chinis even when they directly hurt desh's interests?

Arjun,
just saw your post.

The thing is there are 4 groups in the power equation in desh.
a) foreign powers
b) dynasty
c) local(i.e. deshi) running dogs of foreign powers who harm the interests of desh.
d) locals i.e. Indians.

Strictly speaking Dynasty is also a running dog of foreign powers. So, that means there are 3 groups:
a) foreign powers trying to meddle in desh
b) local(i.e. deshi) running dogs of foreign powers who harm the interests of desh.
c) locals i.e. Indians.

So far, it seems like Modi is representing the locals i.e. Indians. Dynasty is representing the foreign powers. But, there are many groups(even the ones that sometimes quarrel with dynasty) in desh which are puppets of foreign powers. So, basically the discussion should not be limited to Modi vs Dynasty but rather Modi vs puppets of foreign powers.

Even if dynasty weakens and is replaced, that does not guarantee the welfare of locals. Because the dynasty may be replaced by some other running dog of some foreign power.

Kitto Ji, very nice post on AK's economics sense, though a little OT must say..certainly we cannot have politicians taking helm with that sort of insight at this critical juncture!

Arjun wrote:
Pranav wrote: But why do Kejriwal opponents insist on bringing him up again and again in this thread?! :wink:
Completely agree ! Can folks please post only what is relevant to this thread considering its title ???
Because the second part of the thread says Dynasty -- Kejirwal is a atoot ang of the Dynasty through its army of NGOs and NACxalities and other anti Indian anti national tie ups.

He is a key cog in the efforts to undermine India, and a soft face of Cheen loving commies types.

Why not discuss one of the main efforts of dynasty?

Sanku wrote:Why not discuss one of the main efforts of dynasty?
Even if your assumption is correct, folks who are anti-Kejriwal land up giving him more prominence than he deserves. Just ignore him - he is not likely to be of any consequence whatsoever in the elections.

Only Pranav here has any interest in supporting him - everybody else on this thread is convinced he's a leftist retard. What is the point in continuing to belabor the issue every few weeks and giving him undue prominence ? If anybody is interested - there exists another elections thread where AK can be discussed.

gakakkad wrote: ques-chun..How many % of Yindians with internet connexion actually read a hindi paper online ? even though internet access has improved drastically over the years, i seriously doubt many people would login just to comment in hindi..difficult to type anyway..quite probably paid congi drones do the commenting part..
On a similar note, what % of Indians have internet connection and follow the english social media + TV?
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

It was very clear from the method of Anna's fast (parallel to Baba Ramdev's) that the whole moment was being coordinated by intelligence experts from abroad, with Anna as useful idiot while Ford Foundation funded heroes waiting in the wings to take over once the old man runs away. The idea was to fan the general sense of dissatisfaction among Indians about the country and the government in the hope of a spring revolution, or, if that is not possible, create some kind of anarchy and lawlessness and a disgust with all institutions that hold the country together. The same thing was done after 26/11 terrorist attacks on Mumbai -- NGOs led processions against the government and politicians, with lot of candles being lighted.

It is an old secret that all these Mao--Naxal-type Jholawalas in India are a creation of White Christians, much like the leftist guerrillas of South America. Just see the Gora awards they receive. These Jholawalas -- like Kejriwal, Sandeep Pandey, Harsh Mander, Setlavad -- are just opportunist, corrupt Indians which sell India down the gutter for American dollars. I know of a property dealer in Delhi who does deals on behalf of one of these worthies. He says the gentleman is buying flats in Delhi like crazy -- he is rolling in money so much.

Well Modi is the Chief Minister of Gujarat, a job he very much likes. So why should he move to the center? To be an MP in Delhi? What if he is made a Minister for something? That may not give him the leeway to make the changes he wants.

So yes, if BJP needs him as the Prime Minister, then he is available, otherwise he is happy to remain in Gujarat. And if he remains in Gujarat, what is the need for him to take away the Lok Sabha seat from another BJP member who may do more justice to the privilege to serve at the center.

SwamyG wrote:
gakakkad wrote: ques-chun..How many % of Yindians with internet connexion actually read a hindi paper online ? even though internet access has improved drastically over the years, i seriously doubt many people would login just to comment in hindi..difficult to type anyway..quite probably paid congi drones do the commenting part..
On a similar note, what % of Indians have internet connection and follow the english social media + TV?
about 15% Yindians have internet connexion. yindia has 6.3 crore active facebook users. i don't have statistics on hindi font typing capability of these users.

RajeshA wrote:Well Modi is the Chief Minister of Gujarat, a job he very much likes. So why should he move to the center? To be an MP in Delhi? What if he is made a Minister for something? That may not give him the leeway to make the changes he wants.

So yes, if BJP needs him as the Prime Minister, then he is available, otherwise he is happy to remain in Gujarat. And if he remains in Gujarat, what is the need for him to take away the Lok Sabha seat from another BJP member who may do more justice to the privilege to serve at the center.
exactly ..i ve said this often times that he has no interest in being pm.he is taking this venture for several reasons.

kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Pranav wrote:^^^ Actually inflation is related to over-expansion money supply (as per the monetarist view, pioneered by Milton Friedman).

Inflation is certainly not a prerequisite of economic growth ... in fact inflationary expectations are soon factored into the decisions people make. It is very much possible to have economic growth without inflation, if money supply is calibrated to expand at right rate.

AK is right that corruption can lead to price rise ... for example if the price of oil or electricity or fertilizer inputs are rising due to policies favoring certain business owners, then that will have an impact on prices of agricultural commodities.

As regards subsidies to private parties, one will have to carefully evaluate whether public good is maximized by such a decision. For example, subsidized education is also a "subsidy to a private party", but there is no doubt that it promotes national good. But giving coal blocks to a businessman who sells electricity at market rates obviously does not make sense.

But why do Kejriwal opponents insist on bringing him up again and again in this thread?! :wink:
Pranav ji, shall we take it to economics thread? Or any other suitable thread? Please suggest.
johneeG wrote: What exactly is wrong with their economic policy? As far as I understand even Modi is saying similar things(up to a point). For example, Modi said that he stopped the leakage(corruption and inefficiency) in public sector units and they are now in profits.

So, corruption is one of the major roadblock to the development. If corruption, inefficiency and nepotism are taken out of picture, development will be there, isn't it?

Modi also agrees with the concept of having schemes for socially disadvantaged sections.

Kejri is also right when he says that judiciary takes too long to give any results. Many times the people connected with the case die before the verdict is given. And even after the verdict is given, there can still be lot of hera-pheri. Shah Bhano comes to mind. Even Afzal Guru's case is a good example. Given such track record, Kerjri's cynicism in regard to judiciary is justified.

Anyway, a politician cannot be expected to know everything about every field. He would depend on 'experts' to get the job done.
Johneeg ji, please see my post above on why the policies of Kejriwal are wrong.
Also, its not that I want him to know everything. I want him to at least know basics. And if he can't do that, at least have some regard to not dismiss them outright as meaningless.

varunkumar wrote:^^^ This is the typical disease among Hindus of abusing their own leaders while licking the anti-Hindu boot that kicks them. This behavior arises from inferiority complex. Nehru suffered from the same disease -- abusing RSS and Savarkar while grovelling before Muslim leaders and Goras. This kind of attitude will disappear with wealth and pride in one's own roots. UP Hindus are the worst in this -- they would rather have a Muslim dictator rule them than a Hindu Modi or Ramdev. Inability to rally behind own leaders due to an attitude problem -- this is a serious weakness of Hindus and they really damage themselves with this.

Recall the many accounts of how Ravana was scholar etc when all that did not give him any buddhi to preclude Sita apaharan!

And idiots who praise Karna who is a inciter of the disrobing of Draupadi the daughter-in-law of the King?

Now read this bottom up

gakakkad wrote: about 15% Yindians have internet connexion. yindia has 6.3 crore active facebook users. i don't have statistics on hindi font typing capability of these users.
I posted a link to a PDF in the media dhaaga. My point is all media dissemination and watching is fragmented. And people are not going to be bullied or influenced by socialmedia + newspapers + TV - these outlets are preaching to the choir. There are crores outside the clutch of these outlets who go and vote based on their biases and desires.

johneeG wrote: Pranav,
Given such an antecedents, why would you support Kejri? Do you agree with 'eminent' commies? Why do you have soft-corner for Chinis even when they directly hurt desh's interests?
JohneeG, don't assume that every link you have posted accurately depicts the facts ... there is an industry of spin doctors at work, and some of the articles referred to are known to be false.

But the point is - there is no need to be trapped in a binary mode of entirely supporting or entirely opposing an individual. One can support all proposals that are conducive to national welfare, regardless of who is making them. One can agree with an individual on some issues and disagree on others.

As regards Chinis you could perhaps be specific, but it will be quite OT for this thread.

ramana wrote: And idiots who praise Karna who is a inciter of the disrobing of Draupadi the daughter-in-law of the King?
OT, but Yuddhistra already lost her. He gambled his wife away on a dice game. Who is the bigger idiot Karna or Yuddhistra. If Yuddhistra was following some kind of dharma, then so could one conjure up for Karna. After all the times were different. If 5 people could marry one woman......Mahabharatam cannot be looked as black and white.

Sanku wrote: Because the second part of the thread says Dynasty -- Kejirwal is a atoot ang of the Dynasty through its army of NGOs and NACxalities and other anti Indian anti national tie ups.
Why would the dynasty need Kejriwal when the Loh Purush himself is available?

To the best of my knowledge Swapanda has never been anti-Modi.

Supratik wrote:To the best of my knowledge Swapanda has never been anti-Modi.
It does not matter, from here on Swapan is part of D4 which is on payroll of Antoino Amma -- if you dont believe it you can ask Kejirwal or any of his hired hands..

Pranav wrote:
Sanku wrote: Because the second part of the thread says Dynasty -- Kejirwal is a atoot ang of the Dynasty through its army of NGOs and NACxalities and other anti Indian anti national tie ups.
Why would the dynasty need Kejriwal when the Loh Purush himself is available?
Because despite all the efforts of Congi FUD brigade, the reality is that Congis have managed to fool no one with "camps in BJP theory"

therefore their FUD managers have to come to front from hiding in the NACxalite confrence rooms.

My heart bleeds for Kejirwal, to actually pretend to move around in Aam adami, when his peers are enjoying tea with empress in a/c rooms. Must have drawn the short straw. I hope his RoI is zero though, so my heart can bleed more for him.

Supratik wrote:To the best of my knowledge Swapanda has never been anti-Modi.
It does not matter, from here on Swapan is part of D4 which is on payroll of Antoino Amma -- if you dont believe it you can ask Kejirwal or any of his hired hands..
I have seen Swapan da getting his own 'teach a lesson' moment from the hard core guys. Swapan da in fact has done the best job of defending NaMo in the MSM.

And SwamyG ji should be sent to learn under abhishek sharma ji, in the University of Mahasamar. He is hurting my sensibilities.

varunkumar wrote: I know of a property dealer in Delhi who does deals on behalf of one of these worthies. He says the gentleman is buying flats in Delhi like crazy -- he is rolling in money so much.
Can you get a list of flats he purchased. It should be common knowledge among the dealers....

And then share it :)

Sanjiv Bhatt is not a witness, he is a manipulator: SIT

In any country which was not a banana republic, which ours has become, Sanjiv Bhat should be tried for crimes against state.
"Sanjiv Bhatt was never a witness to any meeting held by the chief minister, but he is fabricating everything... (he) is manipulating and has conspired to play the media card in building pressure groups to influence not only amicus curae (in Zakia Jafri's petition) Raju Ramchandran, but even the Supreme Court," SIT lawyer R S Jamuar said.

These emails included the ones allegedly sent by Bhatt to Nasir Chhipa, journalist Subhranshu, activist Teesta Setalvad, the then leader of opposition in Gujarat assembly and Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil and IPS officer Rahul Sharma (who had collected details of phone calls made during the 2002 riots).

"Sanjiv Bhatt, on whom complainant (Jafri) has placed much reliance and who had started making controversial claims after a gap of nine years after the riots, has tried to manipulate even the media and conspired to build pressure on even the Supreme Court judges who were hearing the plea filed by Zakia Jafri," the SIT lawyer said.

Pranav wrote: Why would the dynasty need Kejriwal when the Loh Purush himself is available?
Loh Purush is insufficent and too old to do the required damage hence they need Harsh Mander and Arvind Kerjriwal.

Muppalla wrote:
Pranav wrote: Why would the dynasty need Kejriwal when the Loh Purush himself is available?
Loh Purush is insufficent and too old to do the required damage hence they need Harsh Mander and Arvind Kerjriwal.
Mupalla ji you have to decide, whether Advani is too powerful and hence destroying BJP or not enough for congress.

:wink:

You are letting the sourness of the defeat in 2009 cloud your thinking. Please dont.

Muppalla wrote: Why would the dynasty need Kejriwal when the Loh Purush himself is available?

Mupalla ji you have to decide, whether Advani is too powerful and hence destroying BJP or not enough for congress.

You are letting the sourness of the defeat in 2009 cloud your thinking. Please dont.
You criticize prophet and Ms think you are insulting them. They will come straight for your throat.

Sanku wrote: Mupalla ji you have to decide, whether Advani is too powerful and hence destroying BJP or not enough for congress.

Jokes apart, it is very simple. At the maximum Advani ji due to his ego/vaardhkyam cannot allow BJP to reach its full potential. I don't buy into all this crap that he is part of some "help dynasty" crowd. I also believe in some process in BJP will do the needed corrections. I don't hate him for losing 2009 as anyone can lose even after putting a lot of effort. I am only disappointed with him for not retiring and unnecessarily allowing his name to be as one aspiring for PM or allowing someone to use his name against others inside the party. There will always be a moment in one's life that it is better to get out. We all have in our jobs and activites. It is my firm belief that he has to get out and when he was at his best, we all supported 100%. Now there is some one else we will do the same honors.

Muppalla wrote:

No that is not the case. The organized left i.e. CPI, CPI(M), etc did not make much progress outside Bengal, Kerala. So leftists from other parts of the country have fleeted between INC or by remaining outside and doing damage e.g. Harsh Mander, A Roy, etc. AK is trying to organize this bunch into a political platform as Communism has become irrelevant. However, AAP will not have much effect outside Delhi. In Delhi they may split the anti-incumbency vote and help INC which is why AAP is popular on pro-INC channels.

Sushupti wrote:
You criticize prophet and Ms think you are insulting them. They will come straight for your throat.
If you are not feeling too well, please have a medicine, posting random unconnected stuff will not help it go away.

Muppalla wrote: Jokes apart, it is very simple. At the maximum Advani ji due to his ego/vaardhkyam cannot allow BJP to reach its full potential. I don't buy into all this crap that he is part of some "help dynasty" crowd. .
Thank you Muppalla ji, sorry to have forced you, you see there is lot of FUD around, and people with agenda tend to take statements in one context made by a respectable person to mean another thing, so I pressed.

I personally think Advani-ji is not retiring because there are a few things that he needs to do, some places he has to be present to shield the plants that he has nurtured all his life, apart from that, he has practically announced retirement.

But then our disagreements are minor, my concern as I said before, is the way I see your views being spun by some others.

those two are correct statements regarding Advani by Mupalla and Sanku.

FAR better than all the conspiracy theories that float around these parts sometimes.