Page 17 of 98

Re: Indian IT Industry

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 14:31
by Neela
Singha wrote:BBC

Microsoft to cut up to 5,000 jobs

Microsoft has said it will cut up to 5,000 jobs over the next 18 months, including 1,400 immediately.

The firm also reported a net profit of $4.17bn (£3bn) for the three months to 31 December, down 11% on last year and less than analysts' expectations.

Microsoft added it was "no longer able" to give a profit and revenue outlook for the fiscal year amid current volatile market conditions.

Shares in Microsoft fell 7.9%, dragging Wall Street lower.

Can confirm that!
1400 with immediate effect.
~3000 over the next 18 months!

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 14:33
by krishnan
Hariprasad wrote:Bhai log,
I'm in Java/J2EE (1 year experience, presently unemployed :( ) and have an IT background and thinking of making preparation to switch to Information security(network security) for better challenges, job security and pay prospects. What are the predictions for the Java industry till 2011. Is it worthwhile to go for Sun certifications? How should one go about for a career in Information security?
Security has good scope, maybe you should try network security or something like that. BR would like to have someone like you on board :D

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 16:22
by Singha
for security wouldn't msft or csco certi's make more sense than sunw? msft is the big dog in the enterprise segment and sure has plenty of cracks in the woodwork for security gurus to keep patching. :mrgreen:
http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/default.mspx

meantime, sheeting sheeting - I wuz told moto is not doing well in handsets but
strong in mobile infra. now it seems not!

LR:
Kicking Moto While It's Down
JANUARY 21, 2009

The knives were out during Ericsson AB (Nasdaq: ERIC - message board)'s fourth-quarter call with analysts and the media today, when CEO Carl-Henric Svanberg casually mentioned that Motorola Inc. (NYSE: MOT - message board) was "on its way out" of the mobile infrastructure business. (See Ericsson Soars on Strong Q4, Outlook and Ericsson: Mobile Sector Is Resilient.)

With razor-sharp rhetoric, Svanberg cut some of his competitors down to size:

Look at today's world: Nortel Networks Ltd. (NYSE/Toronto: NT - message board) has disappeared, Motorola is on its way out, Siemens didn’t make it, Lucent didn’t make it. Ericsson is the one that stayed strong.

Or, put another way: "Mine's bigger than yours!"

His comment about Motorola takes competitor bashing to a whole new level. But are his comments justified, or is the grinning Swede consigning Moto's mobile infrastructure business to an early grave?

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 16:41
by merlin
Can confirm that!
1400 with immediate effect.
~3000 over the next 18 months!

Any ideas which groups are affected. And impact on Indian ops?

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 17:32
by Neela
merlin wrote:
Any ideas which groups are affected. And impact on Indian ops?
5,000 positions in R&D, marketing, sales, finance, LCA, HR, and IT over the next 18 months

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 17:58
by suvod
@Singha

I believe he is talking about java certs from Sun.

For security, CISSP is the most imp cert to have. It is hard to get and acknowledged in the industry. Also, it deals with security across domains/platforms and is not focussed on Network/Server Admin like the Cisco or MS ones.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 18:42
by Singha
TOI:

SUN bangalore let go 55 people yesterday - spanning 3 teams - service oriented arch(SOA), xVM (virtualization), NI (perf monitoring & managing grid computing). exp bracket of 3 to 11 yrs.

similar number of people are expected to be let go next week per unnamed source.

SUN has 1300 people in india, of which 800 in R&D.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 20:29
by Rupesh
Conditions are going from bad to worse. Last quarter yet very little hiring. Every day companies are firing techies on mass scale. Its time for the good old Govt jobs :mrgreen:

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 21:42
by Raja Bose
It seems in MSFT, MSR is affected in 1st round of 1400 layoffs. Can anybody confirm? Most of the news sources are mentioning cuts in "R&D" but MSFT has Corporate R&D and basic Research(MSR) so wondering which or if both are getting affected.

Bad bad time for people trying to graduate this year...

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 21:46
by Singha
see my link in nukkad. almost every division is affected.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 21:47
by Vipul
Google's Q4 profits are down 68%.Now that 30% revenue growth Q on Q is history wondering how long before it joins the list of company's resorting to mass lay-offs.It has alreday let go 100 People from corporate HR.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 21:51
by Singha
they are letting contractors go just like everyone.

blog posts report the free dinner is now restricted to buildings housing Eng only.
and the rest of free snacks and lunch is being downsized, with famous chefs being
let go.

gradually it will become just like any big n rich co with 20k employees.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 22:23
by Vipul
Yes they are into cost cutting a big way(anything to show good profits)
Morale is down big time with majority of staff :(( :(( :(( about the lower value of Google's ESops as stock price is down 60% from its peak.To keep employees happy they are being offered a choice to exchange their stock options for ones with lower exercise price.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 22:24
by Singha
:(( is absolutey the wrong course at this point. people should be happy if they
can retain their jobs over the next 2 yrs - anywhere.
I was reading in The Week mag about some mumbai ibankers who are basically unemployable now ... one was quoted as making a bonus of 80L in 2007 and 1cr in 2008..now he is out and nowhere to go. so he is living on his takings and biding his time.

most of us dont have anywhere near that cushion to lie on.

http://week.manoramaonline.com/cgi-bin/ ... Id=5031416

I met a fresher guy in TCS who joined, was placed in financial vertical and has
been on bench for 5 months now from the day he joined.

work is not coming in and people are really worried. googlers still have best
of breed benefits. only thing is they are not Gods anymore and wont be becoming filthy rich through options - its a lot better than being on the street.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 22:28
by John Snow
Guru ji is absolutely right, just lay low or get laid off. Speaking from experience :mrgreen:

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 23:03
by CalvinH
My prediction is its going to get worse from here for some time before it hits a peak. Indian arm of Technology Product MNCs are taking a direct and near simultaneous hit as US branches but Indian IT services sector is yet to reflect it. Squeeze on hiring and random layoffs is something we have seen in past quarter but it may translate to formal layoffs soon in IT services sector of Indian IT Companies.

Posted: 23 Jan 2009 23:53
by putnanja
Raja Bose wrote:It seems in MSFT, MSR is affected in 1st round of 1400 layoffs. Can anybody confirm? Most of the news sources are mentioning cuts in "R&D" but MSFT has Corporate R&D and basic Research(MSR) so wondering which or if both are getting affected.

Bad bad time for people trying to graduate this year...
In MS lingo, "R&D" refers to product development teams also. Doesn't mean only research teams. MSR Is pure research division though.

Posted: 24 Jan 2009 02:29
by Raja Bose
AFAIK those product dev groups are termed as Corporate R&D or BillG groups or some such nonsense. These R&D groups get headed by a bada babu as opposed to a lowly manager. For example, the group doing Midori. MSR is basic research division and as such will always be a prime target for business decision making types since their contribution of coconuts towards company's narial pani supply is usually miniscule.

From what rumours I hear, Googlers are now tasting exotic tofu concoctions as opposed to past gourmet. :((

In other news, Nokia announced 80% drop in profit as compared to 2007.

Posted: 24 Jan 2009 11:18
by Raja Bose
I wonder....what about all those droves of hakims (PeeYechDees) msft hired to do 'research' in online search and even created a new office for them. Are they now going to use those skills to search for illusive jobs?!

Have an upcoming darshan to csco head madrassa soon....lets see what type of bumbari the humble mujahids there will say they are expecting on their trenches.

Posted: 24 Jan 2009 11:40
by suvod
Indian IT services has already started to feel the pinch(or the punch really!). IT budgets are being cut drastically across the board in all major customers. This is 'budget season' in the US and the picture is becoming clear. Trend - no capital projects in 09 and maybe 10 too. So, ADM/Pkg implementation work is going to take a major hit. The only secure area is 'running the shop' kind of work. Even there, customers are asking for downright discounts. Its like - do it for $X or we go to someone else.

On a separate note - moi is working to get an account currently owned by the fraudsters. Amazing how they could fool so many ppl for so long. Its like they were billing for 100 ftes and doing work worth only 20 ftes. What I cannot understand is - were the customers blind?

Posted: 24 Jan 2009 13:02
by Singha
Bose saar will you be giving a nerdlunch? if so I'd like to watch the video archive later.
they have a good room back in eisengaard with a permanent recording setup and
a lectern to address the troops from.

Posted: 25 Jan 2009 01:52
by Raja Bose
@pandyan
Zimbly commenting on the crazy recruitment MSFT did over the last 2 years for search. Having a Phd is no guarantee of anything including aiming correctly at the urinal....its just a degree! Google has definitely raised the bar on search. Personally I feel the innovation has to come from mining and like you mentioned context-aware searching.....fundamental research and theory here is still not that sophisticated I feel though we are getting there sloooowly.

@Singha
Singha saar, the only lectern from where this humble mujahid will be able to address CSCO troops is if he stands on top of WC instead of resting his musharraf on it, and screeches AoA at the top of his lungs (galaa phaad ke as they say in Dilli). No, this is just about some research stuff we have been able to move into product stage recently, which they are very interested in.

Nowadays everyone is into diversifying onlee (to where is anybody's guess).....soon MSFT will start gourmet vada paw restaurants.

Posted: 25 Jan 2009 03:30
by Yogi_G
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090118/ap_ ... o_besieged

I am not sure how Mexico's current state could come in the way of Indian service firms wishing to establish "near-shore" operations in Mexico. Since they operate in CST their presence complements the traditional offshore-onsite model. I have heard that the Mexico government is very receptive to this concept as it generates local "high-tech" employment and will frown if significant numbers of "foreigners" are brought in to run the operations. I have friends working in Mexico tell me that it is safe even at nights to walk on roads but the incoming news of its drug wars presents another picture. Given American sensitivites on "security" and its tendancy to rely on stereotypes, I am not sure how well the "near-shoring" model will work if the violence in Mexico continues at this pace....

Posted: 25 Jan 2009 08:09
by CalvinH
suvod wrote:Its like they were billing for 100 ftes and doing work worth only 20 ftes. What I cannot understand is - were the customers blind?
Stuff like this can happen in a multi year support type FP projects. hard to get a reduction like down from 100>20 FTE but I have seen significant reduction without reduction in scope. A vendor can start with a high FTE count/low margin > stablize/standardize the environment and then with the consolidation in process/apps/hardware can achieve efficiency in headcounts. Maturity gained over a period of time also helps to reduce the FTE count. Over a period of time the margins become better and FTE count lower. Thats where the whole CMMI, BS and ISO stuff comes in play.

Posted: 25 Jan 2009 13:25
by suvod
Therein lies the mystery sir. This was a T&M engagement where the client must have had considerable control. As you correctly pointed out - cost reduction by productivity increase, process standardization, effective capacity utilization in FP projects is what makes the situation a win-win for both the customer and vendor. This one example was plain and simple fleecing, I'd say.

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 08:44
by svinayak
http://www.hindu.com/2009/01/27/stories ... 431000.htm
Fire foreigners first, Senator asks Microsoft

Washington: As Microsoft announced plans to axe 5,000 employees, an influential Republican Senator has asked the software giant to fire foreign workers hired on visas — including Indians — first and “protect” the jobs of Americans amid the global economic downturn.

Dashing off a letter to chief executive Steve Ballmer after Microsoft recently announced its intention to slash the workforce by 5,000 over the next 18 months, the Senator from Iowa, Chuck Grassley, voiced concern that this would result in American workers losing jobs and not foreigners hired on H-1B or L visas.

“During a layoff, companies should not be retaining H-1B or other work visa programme employees over qualified American workers.”

Microsoft is one of the major beneficiaries of H-1B work visa programme, which is mainly for overseas professionals. A majority of 60,000 professionals given H-1B visa every year are from India. “Microsoft has a moral obligation to protect these American workers by putting them first during these difficult economic times,” the Senator said.

“I am concerned that Microsoft will be retaining foreign guest workers rather than similarly qualified American employees when it implements its layoff plan.”

The Senator had co-sponsored congressional legislation to overhaul the H-1B and L-1 visa programmes to crack down on ‘unscrupulous’ employers who deprived qualified Americans of high-skilled jobs. “Fraud and abuse is rampant in these programmes, and we need more transparency to protect the integrity of our immigration system.” He asked Microsoft to provide a breakdown of the employees being axed. — PTI
Lifestyle addicts reel under recession blues
Decrease text sizeIncrease text size
January 20th, 2009

* Bookmark and Share

* Email this tabloids
* Printer friendly version

Lifestyle addicts reel under recession blues

Economic meltdown may be the cause of a million woes in the recession-struck IT sector, but one of the biggest issues that many Hyderabadi corporates are grappling with now is lifestyle addiction.
Partying every weekend, flashing credit cards and buying plush sedans on EMI was a way of life for these techies with fat pay packages. But in the current scenario, corporates who are unable to support their lavish lifestyles, are suffering from withdrawal symptoms, experts say.
Karan Singh, an IT professional who moved to the city from Gurgaon two years ago says, “Both my wife and I had great jobs. We used to party every weekend and entertain guests at home often. We bought a luxury sedan and also moved to a plush locality in Gunrock area. My wife recently quit her job to look after our babies. But everything changed overnight when I was asked to leave the company or choose to work for a much lesser salary.” With his current pay cheque, Karan is unable to pay off his bills and rent. “I sold my sedan and bought a second hand Zen diesel. The bills are pouring in right now and I have no clue what to do.”
Karan who is planning to sell his plasma screen TV, which he bought on EMI, says that even his kids are addicted to a flashy lifestyle. “They don’t want me to give it away and are refusing to accept any other TV,” he adds.
A few lifestyle-addicted corporates have even gone to the extent of taking loans from friends to party on the weekends. “A guy on my team is a wreck right now. Just because a bunch of his team members go partying, he feels the pressure to do the same, even though he cannot afford it. He has been borrowing money from me and many others just to be able to afford his weekend extravagance,” says Amit Thapa, an employee of TCS.
Credit card bills are piling up, yet some lifestyle addicts admit they cannot give it up. “I feel handicapped without my credit card. Yes, it is getting increasingly difficult to pay bills and it only makes sense that I cancel them. But I’m unable to do so. Last month I worked up such a hefty bill that I borrowed my parents’ money to pay it off. Moreover, I have also taken a loan to clear my previous loans. My doctor has suggested that I visit a counsellor to sort out my problems because I’m suffering from high stress and BP now,” admits an employee of Wipro, on condition of anonymity.
Experts blame this disorder on the herd mentality of employees in IT hubs like Hyderabad. Preeti Sethi, a lifestyle therapist says, “The problem with jobs in IT firms is that people from different economic backgrounds work together. If you take any group of people who spend extravagantly on eating out or pubbing, only 30 per cent can afford it. The remaining 70 per cent are forced to go with the crowd, lest their economic and social status is questioned. Their self confidence is taking a severe beating.”

Psychologist Dr Macheswala says, “Seeking counselling is necessary. These corporates are finding it difficult to get over a certain kind of lifestyle they are used to. I know a few cases where they have even developed suicidal tendencies. Not only that, those suffering from this lifestyle disorder also have a battered self-esteem, their sexual life gets affected and they develop severe insomnia.”

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 10:28
by KarthikSan
Acharya wrote:Experts blame this disorder on the herd mentality of employees in IT hubs like Hyderabad. Preeti Sethi, a lifestyle therapist says, “The problem with jobs in IT firms is that people from different economic backgrounds work together. If you take any group of people who spend extravagantly on eating out or pubbing, only 30 per cent can afford it. The remaining 70 per cent are forced to go with the crowd, lest their economic and social status is questioned. Their self confidence is taking a severe beating.”
What in the name of Jesus is a lifestyle therapist? India has all those fake professions now? :shock:

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 12:27
by Raja Bose
^^^ We SDREs are becoming like the amirkhans onlee :mrgreen: Apparently it only takes one generation to forget to save for rainy days. :roll:

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 12:34
by krishnan
Acharya wrote:Experts blame this disorder on the herd mentality of employees in IT hubs like Hyderabad. Preeti Sethi, a lifestyle therapist says, “The problem with jobs in IT firms is that people from different economic backgrounds work together. If you take any group of people who spend extravagantly on eating out or pubbing, only 30 per cent can afford it. The remaining 70 per cent are forced to go with the crowd, lest their economic and social status is questioned. Their self confidence is taking a severe beating.”
Its true, especially for lot of young people who start to earn a hefty salary just out of college , and want to enjoy their youth

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 12:44
by vina
Apparently, the consensus emerging out of the recent disastrous Mickey Soft nos, is that the business model is broke in the PC world for Mickey Soft. This is the first time EVER that Mickey Soft didnt see a commensurate desktop OS license sale , wrt to the no of shipments.

Evidently, the sub $200, netbooks are getting increasingly popular and "good enough" for a large no of people (yup, the Acer One is Rs 14000) here in retail in Bangalore , stripped down bare bones unbranded / assembled Centrino is Rs 20K min. Now for folks who largely use it it at home for browsing and doing some basic word processing and spread sheet work (that includes me at work these days.. :rotfl: ), that is incredible value and a great package. That is bad news for Mickey Soft , becuase, at that price point, the $100 or so for OS license to OEM wont fly, esp when they can offer the "free" linux GUI desktop to very price sensitive folks (who in most cases, never used a PC before like my dad, and so learning curve same-same for both). Why at Rs 14K, even the "assembled" PC with a pirated Windows is not competitive with a "Notebook" with far better form factor and convenience.

The sub $200 net books are a classic disruptive "Blue Ocean" strategy kind of product that breaks the paradigm. With Dell and Yechh Pee also jumping into that band wagon, Mickey Soft is in trouble in the desktop. I would venture that Intel is in trouble here as well. This will open out opportunity for multiple competing chips in the desktop side and the Pentium franchise is in trouble in the lower priced segment in the long run, if NetBooks on Linux takes off big time.

A classic case of Unk Unk coming out of the left field and kicking the Wintel combine in the balls I think.

Lets see, the early 80s downturn gutted Digital, the 90s, ripped open the IBM mainframe franchise, the 2000 dot com collapse devastated SUNW and giant Unix Servers and created a "Sun Set" . Who knows, the 2008 credit crunch might be the time when Mickey Soft's desk top franchise is broken finally.

And if I may add, I think CSCO too is in long term trouble with Yechh Pee breaking into it's franchise in the traditional sense and more disrputors coming out of the left field (cant be too long anyways now I think. The networking space is just too fat, bloated and juicy for it to remain that way for over 20 years I think).

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 13:17
by Singha
has IBM really suffered in mainframes? I havent studied that segment but dont they and hp own whatever is left? and they have adapted pretty well to changed circumstances...still ticking along after 100 yrs. truly a wise tortoise/crocodile.

Intel is big on low power and small processors these days. Atom?
even their flagship server chips like nehalem/core2 stress on low
power and heat. there is no other game in town - AMD is way behind and gutted, transmeta closed, via is a also ran. I dont see anyone threatening intel.

Netwking is not fat. it has been a shrinking number of players and
size since 2001 - LU, intel, NT, tons of medium sized and small cos. csco is only back to where it was in 2001 in staff size but has
doubled its revenue in this period. there are hardly any startups
these days.

MSFT office apps, servers and desktops its core franchises have
dominant market shares. they might have to can zune, MSN type
stuff at some point and scale back their ops but surely they will
survive. windows7 has got good reviews from xp users. xbox is doing well.

its imo easy to play the disruptive game with small products(like netbooks) that retail directly to customers who do not demand or pay for corporate quality service. try doing that with a mission critical product - barrier to entry is way higher. iphone coolness
and style dont count in those accounts. rack mounted servers
for instance is a $53 bil/annum market.

US army still bases its voice comms on Nortel DMS 100 type switches and optical gear. why do you think they blocked huawei
crawling all over the metro ethernet div?

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 13:36
by vina
Singhaji, IBM Mainframe is a monopoly franchise (ok, Hitachi Mainframes are 100% compataible and IBM MVS OS is licensed to run on it, etc..), but is a small legacy niche, largely focused around replacement, Mainframe SW etc, that is around $5b or so guaranteed for IBM . But it is not a growth engine.

I am talking about long term effects of disruptive stuff. See, Unix itself was more a "hack" out of Bell Labs. Many "mini" start ups like Sun, HP in that segment and nearly all of them adopted it , because it was "free". Over time, it became big enough and good enough to be and in late 1990s, with "client server", it became good enough to send the "Mainframe" to Jannat..

Now same with PCs and PC based servers. PCs were never considered "good enough" for the TFTA 100% availability corporate data center environment. PCs were meant for Uber Jarnail to fiddle around and feel important and the aide-de-camp Lt Col for the Jarnail to do some typing and spread sheets. Now lo and behold, PCs had viral growth and Mickey Soft got on to everyone's desktop (including your's and mine) like a parasite and also over time as PC base servers could go head to heat with the TFTA 100% availability thingy into the data center. Post 2000 collapse, PC based servers (running Windows, Linux, and Virutalization sofware) sent the giant Unix dabbas from SunW, Yecch Pee and IBM to Jannat (or generally in that direction except for legacy , like Mainframe).

Same same will now happen over due course , if Netbooks start proliferating in desktops.. It will do to Windows , what Windows did to Unix . Evolution same-same onree no ?

I agree, that Networking seems like CSCO has a stranglehold. But I think atleast someone will think differently than trying to create dabbas that will Out Gorilla , the 900lb Gorilla (like JNPR tried doing). When you have a real break through (I think will happen, in the classic disrputor thing in the low end "not enterprise" market), over time Gorilla will get squeezed between the bigger 1800lb gorilla grabbing lunch and the viral bugs eating away at the internals. Long term onree saar. Wont happen today. But watch out over the next 5 years or so. So for now, don't worry , have curry :wink:
"

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 13:42
by Singha
netbooks, thin clients and cloud computing(G drive) can address the worlds developed countries today (if people have FIOS type fiber to home or japan/korea type ethernets all over).
will take a while to for developing countries to wire/3G their last mile
to make it feasible for thin desktops.

people will ofcourse always need local storage for media and p0rn. :mrgreen:

netbooks margins looks quite brutal..prolly the taiwanese are best placed to make a meal of it.

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 15:51
by pradeepe
On the HW side (i.e., non-vaporware :twisted: ), netbooks are all that vinaji said. But the flip side is true wrt Intel like what Sigha says. Intc is on the ball there and had kept its focus for a good 3-4 years now. Its the others which have slipped. AMD almost emptied that part of the battefield when its plans for Geode went belly up. Intc just walked over and planted its flag with the Atom line. It offered for the first time a place where AMD could have led an entire transition but they just let up and Intc for its part executed pretty well, considering its earlier forays into that domain haven't been something to write home about.

In the high end, Intc and AMD will slug it out over the market for blade servers. AMD's Shangai line and Intel's Nehalam based Server CPUs are the primary contenders, even though I would guess that its going to be a tad one sided until AMD rolls out Istanbul.

At the lower end and this is the netbook segment (sub $300), AMD is just beginning to realize its folly and is cobbling up a few conscripts, including those from behind, the sick&wounded to capture back what they abandoned earlier. The dark horse candidate is an ARM based SoC. I would watch out for ARM and TI in this space. And if that catches on and everyone and their uncle migrate to linux (similar to symbian vs win) The net loser in all this is possibly msft.

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 20:14
by Vipul
Young IT professionals prefer ISRO now.

Many young software engineers were applying for posts in ISRO after the success of Chandrayaan-1, a top official in the Department Of Science and Tecnology (DoST), said on Tuesday.

These engineers have stated during interviews that they lacked professional satisfaction in IT companies and their jobs and wanted to work in space related programmes, by which they could at least be proud and part of a great mission, Dr G J Samathanam, Advisor, DoST, said on Tuesday.

Speaking at a workshop of 'short term course of Research Guides,' at UGC-Academic Staff College here, Samathanam said the success of Chandrayaan-1 has put India in the elite lunar club comprising of Russia, US, Japan, China and European Space Agency.

Stating that by 2025 India would land on the moon, he said considering the potential in science and technology, Rs 1.25 lakh crore have been allocated in the 11th five year plan.

However, the concern on Tuesday was that how this huge allocation would become functional and mission oriented investment, he said, adding multidisciplinary approach or hybridisation of thoughts should be the need of the hour in India.

Samathanam said that as against the 25 per cent going for higher education in developed countries, only 10 per cent of the eligible students were continuing their studies in India.

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 22:32
by Singha
NYT http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/26/techn ... nd.html?em
$200 Laptops Break a Business Model

By BRAD STONE and ASHLEE VANCE
Published: January 25, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO — The global credit crisis may have caused the decline in consumer and business spending that is assaulting the giants of high tech. But as the dominant technology companies try to emerge from this slump, they may find themselves blaming people like David Title just as much as they blame Wall Street.

Mr. Title, a 35-year-old new-media manager at a film production company in New York, has dropped his cable subscription and moved to watching most of his television online — free. While shopping for a new laptop for his girlfriend recently, he sidestepped more expensive full-featured computers and picked a bare-bones, $200 Asus EeePC laptop, also known as a netbook.

“We’ve reached one of those moments in tech history when there are low-priced and free alternatives that are both user-friendly and reliable enough to make the switch,” Mr. Title said. “Then there’s the extra bonus of saving some cash.”

Silicon Valley has been gripped by a growing sense that the economic retreat might do more than depress earnings. There is too much ingrained optimism here to think that the tech sector will not bounce back, stronger than before.

But the fear now is that consumers like Mr. Title, and businesses operating with the same cost-cutting mind-set, will erode the high-margin businesses of the information technology industry — slowing some technologies and companies but giving new momentum to others.

A normally confident Steven A. Ballmer, chief executive of Microsoft, expressed this very fear last week after announcing the company’s first big reduction of its work force. “Our model is not for a quick rebound,” he said. “Our model is things go down, and then they reset. The economy shrinks.”

This has happened before. The dot-com bust earlier in the decade dragged down high-fliers like Sun Microsystems and America Online but set the stage for a new generation of Web powerhouses like Google and other innovative Internet software companies like Salesforce.com, founded on disrupting the status quo.

The recession of the early 1990s sent I.B.M., then the dominant force in technology, into a five-year tailspin. But it also propelled Microsoft and Compaq, later acquired by Hewlett-Packard, and Dell to the forefront of computing.

Indeed, Silicon Valley may be one of the few places where businesses are still aware of the ideas of Joseph Schumpeter, an Austrian economist who wrote about business cycles during the first half of the last century. He said the lifeblood of capitalism was “creative destruction.” Companies rising and falling would unleash innovation and in the end make the economy stronger.

Recessions “can cause people to think more about the effective use of their assets,” said Craig R. Barrett, the retiring chairman of Intel, who has seen 10 such downturns in his long career. “In the good times, you can get a bit careless or not focused as much on efficiency. In bad times, you’re forced to see if there is a technology” that will help.

So who’s up, who’s down and who’s out this time around? Microsoft’s valuable Windows franchise appears vulnerable after two decades of dominance. Revenue for the company’s Windows operating system fell for the first time in history in the last quarter of 2008. The popularity of Linux, a free operating system installed on many netbooks instead of Windows, forced Microsoft to lower the prices on its operating system to compete.

Intel’s high-power processors are also under assault: revenue tumbled by 23 percent last quarter, marking the steepest decline since 1985.

Meanwhile, more experimental but lower-cost technologies like netbooks, Internet-based software services (called cloud computing) and virtualization, which lets companies run more software on each physical server, are on the rise.

Penny-pinching shoppers like Mr. Title could have the most immediate effect on the tech industry, particularly if more people consider canceling their cable subscriptions to watch video online, or drop their landline telephones to depend on their cellphones or on Internet calling services like Skype.

Many consumers appear ready to abandon the costly desktop computer altogether. Analysts expect PC sales to fall in 2009 for just the second time in the last two decades, with desktops falling even faster than they did in 2007 or 2008.

The only bright spot in the PC industry is netbooks. Analysts at the Gartner research company said shipments rose to 4.4 million devices in the third quarter of 2008, from 500,000 units in the first quarter of last year. Analysts say sales could double this year despite a deep worldwide recession.

Two lumbering giants, Hewlett-Packard and Dell, missed the first wave of these tiny, stripped-down machines, allowing Acer of Taiwan to grab market share. Acer pushed Apple out of the No. 3 spot behind H.P. and Dell as sales soared 55 percent. Dell and H.P. are making the devices now.

Even the mighty Apple, whose iPod and iPhone revenue had helped insulate it from the first phase of this recession, reported last week that revenue from its desktop line fell 31 percent from the same period a year ago.

“The day of the Rolls-Royce laptop and the high-end computer may not be totally over,” said Charles King, an independent technology industry analyst in Hayward. Calif. “But certainly the audience for that type of product is getting smaller and smaller.”

Companies have also started to examine what they can do without and what they can do differently, and their choices may alter the competitive and lucrative landscape of business computing.

Hoping to save money, Arista Networks, a start-up based in Menlo Park, Calif., has much of its internal technology processes online, or “in the cloud.” Instead of buying its own hardware and software systems from the likes of Microsoft and Oracle, it opted for e-mail and online document services from Google and online sales and manufacturing software from Netsuite, based in San Mateo, Calif.
(Arista is a high profile startup founded by andy bechtolsheim...)

It is spending a fifth of what it would be for traditional technology, said Jayshree Ullal, Arista’s chief executive.

She smells a trend. “I think 80 percent of the new high-tech and small to mid-size companies are doing what we’re doing,” she said.

A spate of start-ups have seized on cloud computing. Companies like Intacct offer online accounting software as an inexpensive alternative to Microsoft’s products, and giants like Amazon.com sell access to data centers for business operations. Amazon has outpaced the traditional hardware makers with such services.

The number of virtualized new servers has doubled over the last three years, which has driven the revenue of VMware, one of the leaders in this cost-saving technology, to an estimated $1.88 billion last year from $387 million in 2005.

The makers of open-source software also continue to benefit from the growing appeal of their often cheap, if not free, products. Sun Microsystems distributes 65,000 downloads a day of its MySQL database, which has turned into the favored business software of new companies. The job search engine Indeed.com shows a thriving job market for MySQL and Linux developers.

Linux has proved popular as well on a new crop of smarter devices — be they phones, TVs or set-top boxes — that have captured software developers’ imaginations. The new products they build will undoubtedly challenge the status quo.

“Companies like Intel, Qualcomm and Texas Instruments that make chips for these devices are hiring Linux talent as quick as they can,” said Jim Zemlin, executive director of the nonprofit Linux Foundation. “They know the future is netbooks and mobile Internet devices.”

--end--
ayyo amma, looks like my move out of closed src to open src was a prescient one! :roll: atleast some skills to peddle in the new bazaar.

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 23:33
by kumarn
I am India

A must watch video for all!

Posted: 28 Jan 2009 02:33
by Vipul

Posted: 28 Jan 2009 02:42
by Raja Bose
Singha wrote: “Companies like Intel, Qualcomm and Texas Instruments that make chips for these devices are hiring Linux talent as quick as they can,” said Jim Zemlin, executive director of the nonprofit Linux Foundation. “They know the future is netbooks and mobile Internet devices.”

--end--
ayyo amma, looks like my move out of closed src to open src was a prescient one! :roll: atleast some skills to peddle in the new bazaar.
This has been going on for a while. A lot of Intel positions ask for Linux background. In fact to make sure of this, one of the first skills (and sometimes the first) they test during onsite interview for lowly abduls is to give them a terminal with vi and ask them to do a bunch of stuff doodh ka doodh paani ka paani right there! So Singha ji brush up those vi skills if they are rusty! :mrgreen:

Posted: 28 Jan 2009 02:44
by Karkala Joishy
Where are ISRO offices? I remember there used to be a facility in Hassan, Karnataka back in the mid 90s.