Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - July 07, 2009

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - July 07, 2009

Gagan wrote: But wrt the present GoI, some reporter needs to ask the Home minister or the PM, what course of action they have in mind, should another major terror attack take place.
There is no need for a plan. There will be blaming, frothing from the mouth, then a freeze in relations for a few months. Thing will tend towards "normal" in a few months, especially if a top US diplomat is visiting. This is how it has happened, and there is no reason to believe otherwise. India will not fight unless it is attacked conventionally, period. Indian mind understands only one kind of war, or so it seems.
Hey, look at our growing economy! 8)
Man, the whine fest is getting to me. :twisted:

sum wrote:X-post of AjayKKs article in the sports thread. :
A month old article detailing Pakistani cricket team's links with Tableeghi Jamaat.
Posting here for archival as URL will not be saved.
AjayKK/Sum, yes, I saw this article posted in the Sports thread. Do you have the URL please ?
somnath

Post by somnath »

The dominant opinion on the forum seems to be that of "get rid of Pakistan". Much as we would like to, unfortunately states cant be gotten rid of, not in our geopolitical context anyways..

Talking to Pakistan seems to be an anethema here. The problem is that countries with far greater power asymmetry have found out that not talking and plain diplomatic hostility are not viable options (think Iran-US, NK-US)..

Much as most members on the forum would like, a war with Pakistan is an absolute non-starter as an option - presence of nukes, US troops inside Pakistan, our economic stakes - all this and much more precludes such an option decisively...

Our realistic options are all in the diplomatic and "covert" domains. There was a time when we were perpetually "defending" our positions. Today, we are in a posistion to engage the world to advance our interests, engaging in give and take with the great powers..The Indo-US nuclear deal is a case in point..

It is quite strange that members here lose sight of the biggest decisive advantage India today has vis-a-vis Pakistan, ie, diplomatic..In every single facet of external relations, we trump Pakistan hands down, barring (probably) relations with China..Using our diplomatic levers to influence Pakistan therefore is not capitulation, but smart tactics..It is presumptuous to think that any Indian govt can "barter away" Kashmir..but using all levers, including using US influence, should not be an idea that is junked before being analysed..

India has the opportunity to dfine the grand strategy for Asia on its terms, and will invariably conflict with China for the same...Taking care of the Pakistan problem is a big element of that strategy..Linked to the Pakistan problem is the Afghanistan problem...

We need a more sophisticated covert offensive policy vis-a-vis both, and we require a more nuanced diplomatic posture as well..

For example, can Pakistan lock Masood Azhar and Hafiz Sayeed away in exchange for replacement of CRPF/RR in the Kashmir valley with local police? As a strategy, this should fall in line with an overall plan to anyway entrust more of interbnal security to state police (PC has been talking about it in Kashmir), but also dovetails in as a bargaining chip! Is that an option where the Americans can use their good offices? In case Hafiz Sayeed is locked away, it chips off another layer of the military's authority vis-avis the civilian establishment, even as it allows the latter to show progress to the domestic audience.

Gilani Vs. Zardari - Edit by Najam Sethi

Exactly as we predicted here
The content of the interview looks like a revolt by Mr Gilani against the PPP party chief and an aggressive reclamation of executive authority from President Asif Ali Zardari.

Mr Gilani has seemingly put an end to the brewing ministerial battle over the nomination of a DMG officer as ambassador to France by rescinding the nomination which was said to have been moved from the presidency.Acting clearly against Interior Minister Rehman Malik, he says the recent order by the latter against anti-government emails and SMSs would not be implemented. This too is going to be interpreted as an act against the authority of the president because Mr Malik is known to be Mr Zardari’s protégé.
sukhdeo

Post by sukhdeo »

somnath wrote:
..It is presumptuous to think that any Indian govt can "barter away" Kashmir...

Oh really ? who will stop them ?

somnath wrote:
Boss, please give me also a dose of the opium are consuming that gives you an optimistic high regarding MMS's bold-faced sell out of India down the Indus river. It is good bye Kashmir as long as MMS is in power. Now, the embedded software in US/UK remote control used to actuate MMS is smart in that the Kashmir surrender will take place in incremental installments with overdoses of India having attained "great power" status hitting US/UK-controlled airways; and with each incremental surrender, the somnaths will be hailing the Chanakyan pradhan Mantri.
somnath

Post by somnath »

CRamS wrote: Boss, please give me also a dose of the opium are consuming that gives you an optimistic high regarding MMS's bold-faced sell out of India down the Indus river.
Actually the school I went to was famous for grass and alcohol :)

On a serious note, what gives me the confidence is India's development as a full fledged nation state, warts and all. The "system" has too many inbuilt checks and balances against people going against it..Hell, even something far simpler like an agreement on Siachen (which many Army officers themselves, including Gen VR Raghavan - es Div Commander in Sianchen - consider as a waste of resources and lives) is scuppered on timely statements from the Army Chief! To think that Kashmir will be given away by a "sold out, unpatriotic" cabal led by MMS actually flatters the authority that the PM of India really wields..

Police defuses 10 kg bomb

BANNU—The bomb disposal squad (BDS) Monday defused a roadside explosive devise planted at Shahbaz Azmat Khail area here on Monday, police sources said. “10 kilograms of explosives were planted at Shahbaz Azmat Khail area, which have been defused,” police source said the BDS reached the spot in time otherwise it may have caused huge mishap.

sum wrote:X-post of AjayKKs article in the sports thread. :
A month old article detailing Pakistani cricket team's links with Tableeghi Jamaat.
Posting here for archival as URL will not be saved.

Man, does it take BR so long to figure this out. The moment the lambi lambi dadhiya come along, remember it is more than likely tablighi/wahabbi/jamaati influence. Very rarely (normally only on occasions of ritual importance) will the likes of cricketers/entertainers/officers types sport beards of that sort, esp. with NO mustaches whatever. Ditto with sufi-types. You can literally do a who's what in the Pak team. Imran K, Wasim Ak, Zh.Abbas probly all non-jamaati, possible sufi leanings. J. Miandad, inzul haq, s. anwar etc: Jamaati.

Its pretty clear cut (Not the beard of course - heh heh).

CM.

Getting rid of Pakistan is a pipedream.

Yet, Pakistan disintegrating on its own is not really impossible. Of course, as we now learn, after the Joint Statement at Sharm al Sharif that India is playing a role! Indians now know how clever we are!

The last time in this Peace At All Cost philosophy, we nearly sold out Siachen after Havana NAM. And now at Sharm al Sheik!

I was surprised to find one post claiming the Lt Gen VR Raghavan, my GOC in Ladakh and also of Siachen, is of the opinion that Siachen is a waste of resources and lives. How come he did not air this then? We used to meet regularly since an operation was on in my area of responsibility throughout his and my tenure and we discussed many a thing. In fact, I hope the link to this statement is given so that I can write to him.

Dialogue must go on with Pakistan, but not a sell out! Be it at the bidding of our strategic partner or not.

A war against Pakistan, even if armed with nukes, will be inevitable if they attack or undertake a slight of hand as in Kargil. The territorial integrity cannot be compromised. And Pakistan is quirky and irresponsible, playing to its audience every time there is a domestic turmoil.

The Indo US nuclear deal maybe a great achievement, but if it means we sell our sovereignty by accepting the EUVA, and if it means that they can under the guise of ‘verification’ snoop on our defence establishments, units, forward areas, and even plans, then is it worth the ink on the paper?!!

India must pressurise Pakistan diplomatically. There is no second opinion. But it appears we are slowing losing that edge. To imagine, we accept that Balochistan insurgency is our creation. Have they accepted the Kashmir terrorism is their creation? They are only giving moral support is what they claim, when they are totally financing, arming and guiding the terrorists!

We should not be too enamoured with the US. Pakistan is a live example of how they treat nations once their purpose is served.

One has to understand the vast spread of terrorism in J&K, its intent and vast reach within the political entity of Kashmir to realise that it is beyond the capability of the local police. Omar is not wrong when he, in a veiled manner, signalled that the PDP was hand in glove with the Hurriyat. Having served, in a fairly senior position in J&K, I would not think that Omar is totally off course!

Why have we to take away the RR and CRPF as a quid pro quo for the Mumbai terrorists? As it is, MMS is admitting that we engineer insurgencies in Pakistan. Is that not enough? Why must we have to have our tails between our legs to appease a proclaimed offender?

Actually, as I see it and I maybe wrong, if anyone, including the PM on this ‘Peace at All Costs’ mission wants to give away Kashmir, then it would be an insult to the many Indian lives lost, apart from the core philosophy of the Indian nation – that we are a secular state and religion is of no import in governance!
somnath

Post by somnath »

RayC wrote:I was surprised to find one post claiming the Lt Gen VR Raghavan, my GOC in Ladakh and also of Siachen, is of the opinion that Siachen is a waste of resources and lives. How come he did not air this then? We used to meet regularly since an operation was on in my area of responsibility throughout his and my tenure and we discussed many a thing. In fact, I hope the link to this statement is given so that I can write to him.
He has in fact written a full book - Siachen - Conflict without end! the book is premised on how both sides have stmbled onto a conflict that has no end in sight, one that is strategically a waste..

the reason we (the GOI) have more confidence today in our diplomatic edge over Pakistan is simply because we are aware of the relative weight that we carry! Whether its the US, or Europe, or anyone else (barring maybe China, and even thats not sure) - they have far far more at stake with us than with Pakistan..Therefore, principally, even if we give them ephemereal positions of influencing arbiters on certain issues, they are far more likely to influence Pakistan on our behlaf and not the other way round...

Slightly OT here, but look at the type of conditions agree to by China for supply of Uranium from Australia..And China is a bona fide NPT signatory...People are accusing MMS of selling out India on the nuke deal, where we have wangled a special, unique status among all countries (NPT signatory or not)..

the amount of importance a lot of people put in on G8 pronouncements and joint declarations is touching! If the G8 had its way, aid to Africa would have been quadrupled by now, and north Korea would have been stripped off its nukes..among other things..As far as jopint declarations go, Musharraf agreed in 2004 that Paki territory wont be alllowed to be used by terrorists against India -we know whats happened since then..

International relations are run on capacity and intent, in that order, not on the basis of talks and "summit declarations"...

Pakistan is a side show, an irritant that needs to be tackled as a part of the grand paradigm for Asia that we need to evolve - it is not, and should not, be the paradigm itself...Our approach has to be nuanced and sophisticated: use American influence on Pakistan by getting them to lean on real things whiel we "give" a little bit on optics...Encourage the Paki elites to stand up against the Taliban and at the same time keeping them off balance through covert actions - political and economic (like trade competition)...Work with the US to find an AfPak solution, while keeping our coins with all non-Talib forces there for the time when the US goes home...
Last edited by somnath on 21 Jul 2009 13:33, edited 1 time in total.

somnath ji,
would you be in personal contact with C. Raja Mohan? Just simple curiosity!

somnath wrote:Pakistan is a side show, an irritant that needs to be tackled as a part of the grand paradigm for Asia that we need to evolve - it is not, and should not, be the paradigm itself...Our approach has to be nuanced and sophisticated: use American influence on Pakistan by getting them to lean on real things whiel we "give" a little bit on optics...Encourage the Paki elites to stand up against the Taliban and at the same time keeping them off balance through covert actions - political and economic (like trade competition)...Work with the US to find an AfPak solution, while keeping our coins with all non-Talib forces there for the time when the US goes home...
The Afghan Taliban have done one huge crime against humankind - and that is the destruction of the Buddhas of Bamiyan! For that Mullah Omar would get the check someday. At the behest of the Pakistanis the Haqqani network has also targeted Indians working in Afghanistan as well as bombed the Indian Embassy in Kabul.

Pakistani Taliban have as of now done India no wrong. The only time they have used India in their rhetoric is to state that the Pakistani Army has been more brutal towards their own citizens than 'even the Indians in Kashmir'. The other time they used 'India' was in the aftermath of the Mumbai Attacks to warn India not to invade Pakistan, thereby winning a few brownie points. Otherwise they have not harmed Indian interests, despite being of the Islamic extremist persuasion.

Why should we ostracize the Taliban?

If at all, our enemy is the the Pakistani Army and its offshoot the Lashkar-e-Tayyiba!

As far as AfPak solution is concerned, does that involve India shutting down our consulates? Has America not indicated that that may be a good idea considering the 'sensitivities' of the pigs across the border?

India in Afghanistan should rather build our strategy in Afghanistan by building a coalition with Russia, Iran, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan for the support of Afghanistan. Let us support the Uzbeks, Tajiks, Hazaras, Aimaks, Pamiris, and Durrani Pushtuns. Let us support the Karzai Government, Afghan National Army, Afghan National Police, and other institutions of state.

The Americans are there for some time and will leave after some time. After that the games begin again.

somnath wrote: He has in fact written a full book - Siachen - Conflict without end! the book is premised on how both sides have stmbled onto a conflict that has no end in sight, one that is strategically a waste..

the reason we (the GOI) have more confidence today in our diplomatic edge over Pakistan is simply because we are aware of the relative weight that we carry! Whether its the US, or Europe, or anyone else (barring maybe China, and even thats not sure) - they have far far more at stake with us than with Pakistan..Therefore, principally, even if we give them ephemereal positions of influencing arbiters on certain issues, they are far more likely to influence Pakistan on our behlaf and not the other way round...

Slightly OT here, but look at the type of conditions agree to by China for supply of Uranium from Australia..And China is a bona fide NPT signatory...People are accusing MMS of selling out India on the nuke deal, where we have wangled a special, unique status among all countries (NPT signatory or not)..

the amount of importance a lot of people put in on G8 pronouncements and joint declarations is touching! If the G8 had its way, aid to Africa would have been quadrupled by now, and north Korea would have been stripped off its nukes..among other things..As far as jopint declarations go, Musharraf agreed in 2004 that Paki territory wont be alllowed to be used by terrorists against India -we know whats happened since then..

International relations are run on capacity and intent, in that order, not on the basis of talks and "summit declarations"...

Pakistan is a side show, an irritant that needs to be tackled as a part of the grand paradigm for Asia that we need to evolve - it is not, and should not, be the paradigm itself...Our approach has to be nuanced and sophisticated: use American influence on Pakistan by getting them to lean on real things whiel we "give" a little bit on optics...Encourage the Paki elites to stand up against the Taliban and at the same time keeping them off balance through covert actions - political and economic (like trade competition)...Work with the US to find an AfPak solution, while keeping our coins with all non-Talib forces there for the time when the US goes home...
If Gen Raghavan has written that Siachen should be vacated, then I would surely lose faith in him.

Fine. We vacate Siachen and possibly he would have stated so would Pakistan. Since you have read that book (and I don't want to waste my money buying daydreams) has he stated the mechanism how one could ensure that Pakistan surreptiously does not occupy the heights? Because once such a height is occupied it is well nigh impossible to throw out anyone. Bana Post was a rare example! Kargil is an example of how slimy they are!

Now, if the Pakistanis are in the process and we rush troops (possibly located in Ladakh) it will require a three stage acclimatisation! By that time the Pakistanis would have consolidated!

So, what is his take on this?

You may like to check the relief map and I am sure you have the military acumen understand the situation in the area beyond the
Siachen to the East is not quite militarily defendable to some extent.

It will mean more areas under the Chinese Pakistani nexus!

Diplomacy is English. It cannot prevent territory lost! So, diplomacy's prowess over territorial assents is as good as bromo paper!

Who signed what is not material.

What is important is ground realities!

The LC was signed at Suchetgarh.

How come it still changes?

Paper is not always things on ground.

Diplomacy is not translated on ground.

English requires boots on the ground to make it effective!

It we quit Siachen, China can link up with Shaksgam (ceded to them by Pakistan) and thus secure the KKH.

What has Raghavan to say of that?

He was my GOC and I respect him, but then I astounded that he has said what you claim he has said!

Since I have not read this book, I cannot comment!

And with your review of his book, I don't want to waste my money either!

Please understand that people did not waste their lives in vain for you or as you allege for Raghavan!

If we have wasted our lives there, then right from the then PM, GOC in C and all those who are commanding the Division and those who have commanded should be in the dock, tried and executed for high treason!

Please understand that we, in the Army, put our faith and lives in our superior officers. I cannot believe that Raghavan would have said so. You have misinterpreted the content and knowing how you detest the Army, it is not surprising!

sukhdeo wrote:

Oh really ? who will stop them ?
I'm not sure you know but there's a Parliamentary resolution stating Kashmir is an integral part of India. Any Indian government wanting to "gift" Kashmir to Pakistan on Unkil's behest will have to go to Parliament to change that resolution.

IMVHO of course!

RayC wrote:The Indo US nuclear deal maybe a great achievement, but if it means we sell our sovereignty by accepting the EUVA, and if it means that they can under the guise of ‘verification’ snoop on our defence establishments, units, forward areas, and even plans, then is it worth the ink on the paper?!!
Ray Saab,

I see you have added the caveat if it means to your comment. That's good because we really don't know if the in principle agreement to reach an agreement on EUVM (if it) means that the US will be given a free pass to snoop our defence establishments, units, forward areas and even plans.

Surely as an Army man you understand the dangers of jumping the gun. I would give our leaders and babus a bit more credit and not think that they will sell us down the drain at the slightest opportunity. We have not survived and flourished for 60 years if that's the quality of our leadership.

csharma

Post by csharma »

The parliament resolution is old and of late no Indian govt has been saying that the whole of JK is ours, something which the resolution passed during PVNR's time did.

I am not sure but the NDA govt also did not keep harping that whole of J & K is ours.

After the events in Egypt and the Siachen issue in 2006, it is quite possible that a govt in India can give concessions to Pakistan on Kashmir.

It is a matter of belief, some people are optimistic nothing like that will happen. But some people of late have become cynical that some concessions can be given because America has strategic relationship with India now and wants to make India a global power. So what is a piece of land in some obscure place. That will be traded off with GDP growth, productivity growth that can be had with the infusion of some out of the world technology from US. Millions of poor people can come out of poverty and hence it will be an excellent compromise for some.
somnath

Post by somnath »

RayC wrote:It we quit Siachen, China can link up with Shaksgam (ceded to them by Pakistan) and thus secure the KKH.

What has Raghavan to say of that?
Thats the traditional wisdom/rationale for maintaining a presence in Siachen, isnt it? Gen Raghavan has dealt with the point in his book, as has many other officers in their views..

the primary problem with the hypothesis is the climate - the point made is that no major operation, even a brigade level one, can be carried out in the weather up in Siachen to really threaten Ladakh realistically..In fact there was a loevly quote from an IA gen, I forget who though - " I would vacate Siachen only on one condition, that Pakistan maintains a brigade permanently there!"

the views of JN Dixit is similar, as in he has extensively asked for a demilitarisation of the glacier - he has expanded in his book - India and Pakistan et al - and JN Dixit is no dove!

That is a bogus assumption.

He is a General and we were on the ground.

Dreams!

If you know him tell him so and I wil take him on as i have always done!

Who are the many officers?

Were they also in Siachen?

If climate is the problem, let's vacate Kashmir! Lousy weather and in some places, as Ladakh, lousy terrain and visuals!
somnath

Post by somnath »

RayC wrote:Please understand that people did not waste their lives in vain for you or as you allege for Raghavan!

If we have wasted our lives there, then right from the then PM, GOC in C and all those who are commanding the Division and those who have commanded should be in the dock, tried and executed for high treason!

Please understand that we, in the Army, put our faith and lives in our superior officers. I cannot believe that Raghavan would have said so. You have misinterpreted the content and knowing how you detest the Army, it is not surprising!
Actually, I didnt make the point of vacating Siachen at all! I was simply pointing out how even a relatively simpler problem, one where parts of the Indian security burauecracy has a dovish view (contradiction in terms!) is not amenable to an easy executive decision. So to think that Kashmir can be bartered away by a "sold out" PM is quite daft...That was the limited point..

We can of course discuss Siachen separately...

you say you wont waste your money on the book, but in the same vein accuse me of misinterprating! Make up your mind! :wink:
csharma wrote:The parliament resolution is old and of late no Indian govt has been saying that the whole of JK is ours, something which the resolution passed during PVNR's time did.

I am not sure but the NDA govt also did not keep harping that whole of J & K is ours.

After the events in Egypt and the Siachen issue in 2006, it is quite possible that a govt in India can give concessions to Pakistan on Kashmir.

It is a matter of belief, some people are optimistic nothing like that will happen. But some people of late have become cynical that some concessions can be given because America has strategic relationship with India now and wants to make India a global power. So what is a piece of land in some obscure place. That will be traded off with GDP growth, productivity growth that can be had with the infusion of some out of the world technology from US. Millions of poor people can come out of poverty and hence it will be an excellent compromise for some.
Depends on what you mean by "concenssion". Is convedrion of LoC into the international border a concession? I would think not - we lose nothing and formalise the solution! No one in India can trade off our land for anything, not land that we are holding...We are not even willing to budge on Siachen, as desolate as it gets, to think of us giving up Kashmir!> :?:

RayC saar,

Don't let some comments by C. Raja Mohan (ehhem..., I mean by somnath ji) on Siachen agitate you. He is like that onlee!

somnath wrote:Depends on what you mean by "concenssion". Is convedrion of LoC into the international border a concession? I would think not - we lose nothing and formalise the solution! No one in India can trade off our land for anything, not land that we are holding...We are not even willing to budge on Siachen, as desolate as it gets, to think of us giving up Kashmir!> :?:
When India's power differential viz-a-viz Pakistan is changing in our favor, and will keep on changing in the foreseeable future, giving up our rights on 'Nothern Areas' of PoK will be an inexcusable concession. That is why LoC should never be made into an international border.

India has much more reason to keep our rights on Northern Areas in tact, than PRC has rights on Arunachal Pradesh. Why is PRC still intent on harping on Arunachal Pradesh?
somnath

Post by somnath »

RajeshA wrote: When India's power differential viz-a-viz Pakistan is changing in our favor, and will keep on changing in the foreseeable future, giving up our rights on 'Nothern Areas' of PoK will be an inexcusable concession. That is why LoC should never be made into an international border.

India has much more reason to keep our rights on Northern Areas in tact, than PRC has rights on Arunachal Pradesh. Why is PRC still intent on harping on Arunachal Pradesh?
As a final resolution, why not? I am not talking about negotiating pints here, but a final resolution..In the same manner as our negotiations with China have to be based on give-and-take..We keep Arunachal, while they keep what they have in Aksai chin..their claims on the former and ours on the latter are the maximalist positions for bargaining..I am talking about a final settlement here..And LoC into a de facto border is the only viable one...

And no, I dont know CRM - and dont think I quoted him on Siachen either!
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

AjayKK/Sum, yes, I saw this article posted in the Sports thread. Do you have the URL please ?
Of cricket and other demons - Is Pakistan winning this year’s Twenty20 a symptom of the receding influence of the Tableeghi Jammat in the team, asks Nadeem F. Paracha.

A comment on the blog says it all :

akhlaqs from CANADA Says:

Nadeem Piracha, I doubt you are a Pakistani. Why you want mix up religious and religious activities with game. Take the game as game, dont mess our society. :lol: We are religious too, we are capable to do everything { Winning by ball tampering} , dont underestimate our massess, they are super. { massess ? }
Are you a Pakistani?
And another

umar farooq Says:

The essence of your article is that religion should be stayed away from cricket. How can that be possible? It is just like someone says that Islam is good to practice but I don’t apply it in my job or any other department of life. You tell me if the practice session is going on, and Moazzan is calling for prayers, what should a player do? Should he carry on with practice? This is shame full

We all are Muslims and what tableegi jamat’s objective is, that Allah’s orders and the Sunnah of Hazor (S A W) reflects in every single Muslim. The team is Muslim and they have all the right of the world to offer their prayers and preach. {and practice "bat jihad" on unsuspecting spectators chanting "Aloo Aloo "}
Pakistan cricket team needs more of Tablighi Jamat's influence to win the 2011 WC.
Inshallah and AoA.

somnath wrote:And no, I dont know CRM - and dont think I quoted him on Siachen either!
Sorry somnath ji, my bad! :oops: It is just that you and CRM seem to have an identical Weltanschauung and writing style!
somnath wrote:
RajeshA wrote: When India's power differential viz-a-viz Pakistan is changing in our favor, and will keep on changing in the foreseeable future, giving up our rights on 'Northern Areas' of PoK will be an inexcusable concession. That is why LoC should never be made into an international border.

As a final resolution, why not? I am not talking about negotiating points here, but a final resolution..In the same manner as our negotiations with China have to be based on give-and-take..We keep Arunachal, while they keep what they have in Aksai chin..their claims on the former and ours on the latter are the maximalist positions for bargaining..I am talking about a final settlement here..And LoC into a de facto border is the only viable one...
I am not sure you got my point. 'Northern Areas' is not maximalist. 'Akhand Bharat' could be accused of being one.

In a few years time, PRC will see the logic of accepting our Arunachal Pradesh as Indian territory. Their needling strategy would have run its course, as India becomes more of a giant.

In your view India's rights over 'Northern Areas' is simply a bargaining chip to be used at the 'final resolution' talks with Pakistan. For India, the 'Northern Areas' represent three things:

a) The integrity of India, that should have come our way, as a direct consequence of the rules of British India Partition Plan, on which India as a state bases its existence. This stands in direct opposition to the 'Akhand Bharat' concept which is based on a much bigger area and on the concept of a continuous Indian Civilization. The Partition Plan is the existential basis of the modern Indian state, and one shouldn't start messing around with that 'minimalist' basis!

b) It is India's strategic need that China does not have a direct access route to Pakistan.

c) India has been severely undersized due to the cut off of our historical and natural access routes to Central Asia, and these need to be recovered. There may be those who want India to attain these routes through 'peace and cooperation' with Pakistan, it is being over-optimistic to believe in that.

Why do we need a final settlement anyway?
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^RajeshA, akhand bharat is not a position -it has the same basis as (say) a country based on the Germanic civilization, or an Islamic caliphate all over again!

The Independence of India Act made no mention of Kashmir at all..And going strictly by the "principle" of Partition (Muslim majority areas to Pakistan, rest to India), well...As I mentioned in an earlier post, all that matters is that we "took" Kashmir, good or bad, legal or not, we did it, and thats what matters...We said to the rest of the world, including impotents like the UN, bugger off...

Now in our maximalist position, we can say that PoK is part of Kashmir, and acording to the accession agreement, the whole territory should be ours..But what matters is the reality on the ground, and that is the LoC...

What happens if there is a resolution along the LoC solution? Well to start with, Pakistan loses teh fig leaf of the Kashmir issue for all the jihadi outfits in Pakistan..It is then forced to take away troops from the Kashmir border towards the west, allowing us to improve our posture on the East..(Remember it was the minior diplomatic coup in the '90s by PVNR with China on the border talks that allowed us to withdraw troops from the Chinese border and deploy them on the Kashmir front) - now the reverse is required to preapre for the new great game in Asia!!

Even with the whole of Kashmir, our access to Afghanistan would be a thin sliver of land, another chicken's neck if you will..ill suck up more resources in its protection...The alternative through the Chabahar port is much better and scalable....The Karakoram Highway is a decrepit piece of roadways - dont think it is of any useful use to the Pakis...And it is within very easy range of our fighters out of Leh...

somnath wrote:^^^RajeshA, akhand bharat is not a position -it has the same basis as (say) a country based on the Germanic civilization, or an Islamic caliphate all over again!
And as Chinas current claim on its geography.

As such I think its not a maximalist position, its a centrist one. The current Indian state is minimalist and maximalist would be a Akhand bharat with Independent Tibet and rest of our neighbors is a NATO like security pact.

I dont see why this cant be done if others have successfully done it, who decides its untenability? You want us to give up our maximality positions even before we start negotiating?

As I said we are thinking to little and the narrow minimum vision behavior is exemplified by Man Mohan.
What happens if there is a resolution along the LoC solution?
You really think that Pakistan cares about the moral correctness of its point and fig leafs? I will tell you what happens if Pakistan gets resolution of Kashmir.

It will tom tom a great Islamic Jehadi victory (which it will be) like Gilani celebrating after SeS and then go ahead and pick the next target in India for Kashmir redux.
Even with the whole of Kashmir, our access to Afghanistan would be a thin sliver of land,
We are protecting other chicken necks anyway, including in Poonch etc, why not extend the chicken neck and take it farther from our current borders?

Pakistan will also need to stretch as will China, and for once they will be stretching to contain defensively with advantage India rather than the other way around in Poonch etc.

somnath wrote:^^^RajeshA, akhand bharat is not a position -it has the same basis as (say) a country based on the Germanic civilization, or an Islamic caliphate all over again!
Germanic Civilization has been compensated by establishing an EU with Germany at the core. Islamic Caliphate is an ongoing project, and it's pursuit very much a part of perceivable reality. PRC has used arguments from the history of Chinese Civilization to justify its imperialism, and if I may say so, exerts its sovereignty and control over those areas. Indian Civilization has not found its ultimate satisfactory realization, and many people are dead against its very pursuit. They have been brainwashed to think in terms of Quarterly Earnings and servitude to short- and long-term interests of other civilizations, in this case that of Americans. Akhand Bharat is a justified position, though not realistic in the short time-span which is the focus of our present discussion.
somnath wrote:The Independence of India Act made no mention of Kashmir at all..And going strictly by the "principle" of Partition (Muslim majority areas to Pakistan, rest to India), well...As I mentioned in an earlier post, all that matters is that we "took" Kashmir, good or bad, legal or not, we did it, and thats what matters...We said to the rest of the world, including impotents like the UN, bugger off...
You do it again and again. You keep on repeating that India's control over J&K has its basis on our use of power and initiative, and try to undermine the legal and principled basis of J&K's accession to India. This is a Western agenda, and you do it without needing the rhetorical hat of the devil's advocate. You also fail to mention, that there was a set of rules for the accession of princely states to India or Pakistan, and J&K followed those, and we did it by the book.
somnath wrote:Now in our maximalist position, we can say that PoK is part of Kashmir, and acording to the accession agreement, the whole territory should be ours..But what matters is the reality on the ground, and that is the LoC...
The reality you talk about is shifting. As the internal strife engulfs Pakistan and as India grows, that reality will keep on shifting. Future is also a part of reality. It is better we arrive at a 'final resolution' when the reality has shifted sufficiently in our favor.
somnath wrote:What happens if there is a resolution along the LoC solution? Well to start with, Pakistan loses teh fig leaf of the Kashmir issue for all the jihadi outfits in Pakistan..It is then forced to take away troops from the Kashmir border towards the west, allowing us to improve our posture on the East..(Remember it was the minior diplomatic coup in the '90s by PVNR with China on the border talks that allowed us to withdraw troops from the Chinese border and deploy them on the Kashmir front) - now the reverse is required to preapre for the new great game in Asia!!
If Kashmir is only a fig-leaf for jihadis for Pakistan, do you think that the loss of a 'fig-leaf' would be sufficient to change the core existential doctrine behind the fig-leaf. No, it just means that a few commanders would look for a different fig-leaf, say, India's involvement in Baluchistan or somewhere else in their country ridden with internal strife. Fig-leaves grow a plenty.

Moving Pakistani troops to the west is a Western Agenda. somnath ji, if you do not hide this agenda better behind your eloquence and focus-shift, people here may really be convinced you are C. Raja Mohan. :wink:
It is not in India's interest that Pakistan moves its forces to its west. Those forces, which are giving the Pakistanis a bloody nose, are doing India a favor. Since India has decided not to wage any war against the Pakistanis, it is good to see, that some other people are less shy of taking on Pakistani forces. Those forces should expand and prosper. For that India should nail down most of the Pakistani Army on its eastern border. I feel comfortable with that.

Indian and American agendas will coincide when America decides to denuke Pakistan. Until then USA and India have divergent strategic interests in the region.

For the Chinese border, we will simply have to arrange for troops somewhere else and increase the defense outlay for that.
somnath wrote:Even with the whole of Kashmir, our access to Afghanistan would be a thin sliver of land, another chicken's neck if you will..ill suck up more resources in its protection...The alternative through the Chabahar port is much better and scalable....The Karakoram Highway is a decrepit piece of roadways - dont think it is of any useful use to the Pakis...And it is within very easy range of our fighters out of Leh...
That chicken neck need not remain a chicken neck over time. The elephant can one day ensure an elephant's neck. Besides access routes are not only over highways, but also aerial. We also need an aerial bridge into Central Asia. Chahbahar is also susceptible to the vagaries of global politics.

As of now, China need not ask any other country for the use of its aerial space if it wants to transport anything to Pakistan. The land route, the Karakoram Highway fulfills its limited use, but this can be easily improved on and expanded. The Chinese are good engineers. Secondly it allows for an energy corridor, going all the way to the Gulf. Why would we want to give the Chinese so much leeway?

If we want to check and contain China, we have to break its hold over our West. For that Pakistan needs to go down.

It is the American agenda to see quick results in AfPak. India OTOH can wait. There is no need to hurry with 'final resolutions' with Pakistan.

Pakistani Army operation in Waziristan
The authorities have been trying to drive a wedge between Baitullah and other militants.

Wazir factions, led by Maulvi Nazir Wazir in South Waziristan and Hafiz Gul Bahadur in North Waziristan, have around 5,000 men apiece, according to a diplomat following military affairs, and until recently had avoided attacking Pakistani forces.

But they are angry that the government has not done more to stop US drones launching missile strikes, and fear the army could come after them after Baitullah.

PML-Q splits
The dissident group of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) that boycotted the party’s polls on Monday is planning to form a parallel party.

Saifullah told Daily Times the Chaudhrys’ election was unconstitutional, adding his group would announce an interim setup of the party to replace the Chaudhrys. He told a private TV channel the PML-Q, led by Chaudhry Shujaat, had become the Punjab Muslim League. He said that contrary to the Chaudhry Shujaat-led group’s claims that 38 MNAs and 16 senators of the party attended Monday’s meeting, an overwhelming majority had refused to participate in the polling.Another member of the group, Kashmala Tariq claimed the elections were a “joke”.

To questions on his group defecting to either the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) or the PML-Nawaz (PML-N), he said: “It would be premature to speculate on that at this time but ... of course the doors in politics always remain open. We can go wherever we will be respected.”

Intercepting the Taliban by Rahimullah Yusufzai: Jang
The military authorities would love to get back Baitullah Mehsud`s voice on their listening machines. The signalmen are waiting to hear the code name Nasrat again.
As many wanted Al Qaeda and Taliban figures have been killed or captured after being tracked down through their satellite phones, the militants have either stopped using these communication gadgets or become cautious and selective in their use. It seems Osama bin Laden, his deputy Dr Ayman al-Zawahiri and other Al Qaeda figures no longer use their satellite phones and faxes. Afghan Taliban leader Mulla Mohammad Omar too appears to have given up the use of the satellite and mobile phone. This is the major reason of their staying alive and remaining free eight years after the US invasion of Afghanistan and the fall of the Taliban regime in late 2001. They are obviously using more traditional means of communication such as couriers, hand-written letters and audio-tapes.
Now that the militants are making selective and clever use of the modern means of communication, it will become increasingly difficult for the armies and their intelligence agencies in Pakistan, Afghanistan and other theatres of war to track them down. Intercepts too could become few and far between or there would be greater recourse to deception to mislead the enemy. Still the intercepts would continue to remain a useful tool in collecting information and updating intelligence on one’s foe. There perhaps is no substitute for good old human intelligence. But modern technology and its clever use combined with human intelligence could achieve far better results than those presently being obtained through one source alone. Then one will not have to wait for Baitullah Mahsud or the likes to come back on the line and start using satellite phone again to become traceable.
somnath

Post by somnath »

RajeshA, Sanku

In these days of Keynesian resurgence, I follow the ultimate Keynesian postulate - "in the long run, we are all dead"...Our aim has to be to get a better life for us and our kids - and to see India at the pedestal in our generation, given that we have a once in a few centuries opportunity today...Aims based on Indic civilizational aspirations do not make for pragmatic geostrategy IMHO..

Indian and American strategic interests already diverge in both PAkistan and Afghanistan...Our attempt should be to max
our gains from American influence....Moving out Paki forces from our borders is not only an American objective, its an Indian one..That is the only way we can move forces to bear for the real Mccoy, ie, China..It is easy to say "spend more money for more troops" - look at the Defence budget and you will realise how little leeway is there for greater increases..

As I said before, this stratgey requires a nuanced policy from us - we have to run with the Paki elite "hares", while we also hunt with the Paki Taliban/Baloch/Sindhi hounds...So give enough to strengthen the Paki civilian hands against the military, while keep them destabilised all the time..That is really when the keys to the Paki nukes will be and can be vigorously asked for by the US and other great powers..A Pakitan that is destabilised but where the civvie establishment has more credibility than the military one will be in a position to strike a deal..

The good news is that all we will need to do as so called concessions are words, papers, platitudes and nothing that is either irreversible or anyway in our broader strategic interest..

somnath wrote:For example, can Pakistan lock Masood Azhar and Hafiz Sayeed away in exchange for replacement of CRPF/RR in the Kashmir valley with local police? As a strategy, this should fall in line with an overall plan to anyway entrust more of interbnal security to state police (PC has been talking about it in Kashmir), but also dovetails in as a bargaining chip! Is that an option where the Americans can use their good offices? In case Hafiz Sayeed is locked away, it chips off another layer of the military's authority vis-avis the civilian establishment, even as it allows the latter to show progress to the domestic audience.
This example; as a strategy assumes that -
0. Masood Azhar and Hafiz Sayeed are really non-state actors and TSPA/GOP have no connection with Anti-India terror organizations.
1. Locking Masood Azhar and Hafiz Sayeed aways somehow disconnects their linkages with the cadre and TSPA.
2. It changes the ground situation in terms of Anti-India terrorism by non-state actors.
3. JK police are as equally organized, trained and are equipped as CRPF/RR. And the whole premise of deploying non-local police forces in volatile regions is a incorrect strategy all along.
4. And all the lives that will be lost in JK from this moment onwards are a fair price to pay.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^Non-state etc are really meaningless terms...They are obviosly supported by the establishment..If we manage to get them incarcerated, and in the process create more divided within the Paki establishment, two birds killed with one stone! I dont care who is state and who is non-state..We need to get them defanged..If American influence does it, why not?

No Indian life is fair game...We have to seek retribution for each life lost...That would only be done if we wreack real vengeance on Pakistan, that is nuanced and deliberate..systematically destroys the state..Not by jingoistyic rhetoric tomotomming non existant options..

The strategy of using central forces predominantly for CI is wrong...I had posted earlier on this...the primary CI has to be the local police - Punjab being the prime success story of that - J&K will tip the militancy over only when the local J&K police take over completely..The Army shold be providing the protective border cordon (that its already doing) to minimise external infiltration..
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

Chaps,

http://translate.malerkotla.co.in/transu2h.aspx

An Indian IT research scholar just developed the above for Urdu to Hindi transliteration.

This can help one translate/read urdu text i.e. online news and articles (as long as you know how to read devanagari script).

I hope one the portent of that.

somnath wrote:In these days of Keynesian resurgence, I follow the ultimate Keynesian postulate - "in the long run, we are all dead"...Our aim has to be to get a better life for us and our kids - and to see India at the pedestal in our generation, given that we have a once in a few centuries opportunity today...Aims based on Indic civilizational aspirations do not make for pragmatic geostrategy IMHO..
I too concur, "in the long run, we are all dead". We should then work to ensure that our civilization, the Indic civilization, survives and expands. Pragmatism, being another word for concessions, is for the weak, and viz-a-viz Pakistan we are not weak right now.
somnath wrote:Indian and American strategic interests already diverge in both Pakistan and Afghanistan...Our attempt should be to max our gains from American influence....Moving out Paki forces from our borders is not only an American objective, its an Indian one..That is the only way we can move forces to bear for the real Mccoy, ie, China..It is easy to say "spend more money for more troops" - look at the Defence budget and you will realise how little leeway is there for greater increases..
I concur, we should maximize our gains from American influence. The question is - what are our gains? In order to use American influence, we first need to ensure that American strategy works to our benefit. That however requires that the ground situation should evolve in a way, that Americans are forced to make the proper adjustments, which makes their policies coincidentally supportive of our interests.

The ground situation that needs to change is that the Americans should lose confidence in their proxies in Rawalpindi completely. That requires that they get a beating from the Taliban, the Baluch, etc. and become ridden with internal dissension and desertion. One needs a much higher level of chaos in Pakistan for that.

We should thin our troop levels on the West not to enable the Pakistani Army to hit out at the Taliban, but rather when the Pakistani Army itself loses its potency. The longer America keeps on propping up Pakistani Military, the longer Indian troops would have to remain on our borders to Pakistan. Once the Pakistani Army starts falling apart, Indian troops can move to the real McCoy.
somnath wrote:As I said before, this stratgey requires a nuanced policy from us - we have to run with the Paki elite "hares", while we also hunt with the Paki Taliban/Baloch/Sindhi hounds...So give enough to strengthen the Paki civilian hands against the military, while keep them destabilised all the time..That is really when the keys to the Paki nukes will be and can be vigorously asked for by the US and other great powers..A Pakitan that is destabilised but where the civvie establishment has more credibility than the military one will be in a position to strike a deal..
In the current context Pakistani elite can not deliver anything to India. Absolutely nothing. Even if they prosecute a couple of LeT for the Mumbai attacks, we know these guys would be moved into a 5-star luxury home to serve their sentences. The Pakistani civilian elite has only a single job description - to beg the world for military hardware, and to keep the country over water, so that everybody can loot it a little longer.

The only case, where these civilians elite can be useful, is in a post-break up stage of Pakistan, where these can be used to bring out some sort of order.

The civilian vs military conflict in Pakistan is a chimera. Nothing like that exists. Both are parasites that share the same ecosystem, they both contributing to in their own ways.

The route of destabilization of Pakistan is not through the civvies but rather through the non-state actors, militant groups. America can be encouraged to go for the denuking of Pakistan only if the situation in Pakistan becomes dire and the chances of theft of nuclear weapons become a distinct possibility. Americans will be using bribes, privileges, and special operations. No civilian can sign off on an accord to denuke Pakistan. No such civilian ever existed in Pakistan nor is there any possibility of any such civilian to be born there.
somnath wrote:The good news is that all we will need to do as so called concessions are words, papers, platitudes and nothing that is either irreversible or anyway in our broader strategic interest..
India has never been a country that breaks her word, or at least not that easily. That too is part of the culture underpinning the Indic Civilization. If you con your enemies, your friends stop trusting you as well.

Rishi wrote:Chaps,

http://translate.malerkotla.co.in/transu2h.aspx

An Indian IT research scholar just developed the above for Urdu to Hindi transliteration.

This can help one translate/read urdu text i.e. online news and articles (as long as you know how to read devanagari script).
A lot of the urdu on the net is scanned jpeg images rather than urdu text. You'll need an ocr for that. For the rest this should do.
How about google to translate urdu to english?

I really do not understand all the heartburn about Balochistan etc. and a joint statement.

All this is talk. No Indian PM can give away Kashmir. As Jinnah once said, there will be a civil war.

Gilani is being propped up and MMS is helping along. MMS is not that shrewd but not dumb either. The mention of Balochistan might give TSP a stick to bang some drums. But that is just noise and cacophony. After all who in their right mind listens to TSP as a rational nation. With them it is all about how much you can negotiate for the next round of GUBO and aid.

Finally all that matters is the ground situation. As long as pigs get slaughtered at the LOC and the RAPE wake up to IED mubaraks things will be fine.

somnath wrote:In these days of Keynesian resurgence, I follow the ultimate Keynesian postulate - "in the long run, we are all dead"...Our aim has to be to get a better life for us and our kids - and to see India at the pedestal in our generation, given that we have a once in a few centuries opportunity today...Aims based on Indic civilizational aspirations do not make for pragmatic geostrategy IMHO..
I too concur, "in the long run, we are all dead". We should then work to ensure that our civilization, the Indic civilization, survives and expands. Pragmatism, being another word for concessions, is for the weak, and viz-a-viz Pakistan we are not weak right now.
Brilliant post RajeshA, Somnath, RajeshA speaks for me too, word for word.