Modi ji: Brothers and sisters, my friendship with Vijay has been very old.
Elections Modi 3.0
Re: Elections Modi 3.0
Meanwhile, some old memories are making their rounds on SM

Did I underestimate the BJP wave??Rahul M wrote: ↑26 Apr 2026 12:30 Ground report from WB, people are absolutely fed up and if there's free and fair voting TMC will be devastated.
The point is that 'if'.
Public mood was against TMC in 2021 as well, although the level this time is unprecedented. 2011, when left was removed is the only parallel I can remember. Aam junta has started standing up to TMC goondas, which was unheard of few months back.
That said, TMC/IPAC still has lots of tricks up its sleeve to manipulate counting results and EC has not been able to counter all of them. BJP:110-170
Just a little!
May be the immaturity of voting public made bhajapa make Annamalai withdraw from running in last couple of elections. Might be they are looking for critical mass to appear to given it a serious charge.
Fantastic results.
NDA headed to form sarkar in WB
, AS, and PD.
A new dawn for northeastern bharat. Hopefully Viswasarma and Adhikari will make the bangla and northeast areas a powerhouse.
Looks like a good job in KL, most channels are now showing 3 seats for BJP. I think vote share will be significantly higher than 2021.
TN is very interesting now. DMK rascals thrashed. The immediate question is how TVK will form the sarkar, it is still short of 10 seats. Not sure how many seats BJP is getting. Maybe some small parties from the dravida alliance might switch to join sarkar.
Broader takeaways:
BJP successfully continues its mission of neutralizing family run and mafia parties.
As I said before, the battlegrounds will now mostly be in the south.
A Tale of Two Vijayans: one sinking on the west coast and the other rising on the east coast. In KL I hope the outdated ideology of communism has been dealt a death blow and its hindu vote transfers to the BJP. In TN, the situation is muddled, the realignments are hard to predict. It remains to be seen if the new TN sarkar has a good working relationship with GOI or if it becomes a den of abrahamic cretinism.
NDA headed to form sarkar in WB
A new dawn for northeastern bharat. Hopefully Viswasarma and Adhikari will make the bangla and northeast areas a powerhouse.
Looks like a good job in KL, most channels are now showing 3 seats for BJP. I think vote share will be significantly higher than 2021.
TN is very interesting now. DMK rascals thrashed. The immediate question is how TVK will form the sarkar, it is still short of 10 seats. Not sure how many seats BJP is getting. Maybe some small parties from the dravida alliance might switch to join sarkar.
Broader takeaways:
BJP successfully continues its mission of neutralizing family run and mafia parties.
As I said before, the battlegrounds will now mostly be in the south.
A Tale of Two Vijayans: one sinking on the west coast and the other rising on the east coast. In KL I hope the outdated ideology of communism has been dealt a death blow and its hindu vote transfers to the BJP. In TN, the situation is muddled, the realignments are hard to predict. It remains to be seen if the new TN sarkar has a good working relationship with GOI or if it becomes a den of abrahamic cretinism.
Is there a Yogi Adityanath clone to head Bengal? Will anything less suffice?
KL history:
1980–1982: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
1982–1987: UDF (K. Karunakaran)
1987–1991: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
1991–1996: UDF (K. Karunakaran/A.K. Antony)
1996–2001: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
2001–2006: UDF (A.K. Antony/Oommen Chandy)
2006–2011: LDF (V.S. Achuthanandan)
2011–2016: UDF (Oommen Chandy)
2016-2021: LDF (Pinarayi Vijayan)
2021-2026: LDF (Pinarayi Vijayan)
2026- : UDF
So, whether Communists are on their last legs, it will take more election cycles to know.
1980–1982: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
1982–1987: UDF (K. Karunakaran)
1987–1991: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
1991–1996: UDF (K. Karunakaran/A.K. Antony)
1996–2001: LDF (E.K. Nayanar)
2001–2006: UDF (A.K. Antony/Oommen Chandy)
2006–2011: LDF (V.S. Achuthanandan)
2011–2016: UDF (Oommen Chandy)
2016-2021: LDF (Pinarayi Vijayan)
2021-2026: LDF (Pinarayi Vijayan)
2026- : UDF
So, whether Communists are on their last legs, it will take more election cycles to know.
ritesh ji,
not withstanding their political persuasion and personal rivalries, both the dravida parties had ganged up to make sure that he was defeated. The jealousy, and the intense internal opposition to Annamalai in the TN BJP, was covert because all feared the wrath Modi ji and Mota bhai
last time, the voters in his constituency were paid 3 - 4 the normal rates in cash, along with a bumper hamper of household articles to make sure that he did not make it. It worked.
Annamalai lost his deposit in 2021
This time around, that very same thing would have happened and the two dravida parties would have ganged up once more because almost all TN politicos greatly fear him
A second consecutive loss would most probably have rendered Annamalai politically untouchable and the BJP has big plans for him
He speaks several languages and is an incorruptible ex IPS officer, highly educated and intelligent and has an impeccable reputation. He has an "intelligence" network that even today, would be the envy of a great majority of serving IPS officers
No one's secrets are hidden from him, and like any efficient policeman, he has informants in every nook and corner
The biggest issue is that Annamalai is from the same caste setup as several prominent and top AIADMK leaders with whom the BJP has aligned with for the elections
The take over has started.
There are already some reports of destruction of tender documents and many other sensitive papers and files
The West Bengal Bureaucracy seems to have already realised how ruthless the new Govt going to be towards the TMC.
The Bengal Chief Secretary has issued orders to all Dept Secretaries & Head of Offices to ensure that no important paper or file is removed or damaged or taken out from offices.

There are already some reports of destruction of tender documents and many other sensitive papers and files
The West Bengal Bureaucracy seems to have already realised how ruthless the new Govt going to be towards the TMC.
The Bengal Chief Secretary has issued orders to all Dept Secretaries & Head of Offices to ensure that no important paper or file is removed or damaged or taken out from offices.
In Dec 2014, Mamata Banerjee asked, “Who is Amit Shah?”
After today’s results, she definitely knows very well who @AmitShah is…
Strategy, precision, and political acumen — that’s why many call him the “modern-day Chanakya.”
watch video
https://x.com/i/status/2051287677207711963
On this count; Rajkumar was way too smart (street-smart if I may say) NOT to enter politics. Because he knew if he joins one party, the other parties will pull him down. So he took a right decision. Be politically neutral, and carry on with the Kannada language & Kannada pride. That works with every one. Rajnikanth was actually a sissy who did not have the guts to enter politics. He made one or two meek attempts, but the moment DMK planned to scrutinise his money sources and assets he chickened out. Rajnikanth still has the BMTC conductor (he was one) mind-set when it comes to risk taking, apart from what ever gimmicks he did on the screen.SRajesh wrote:The exceptions were Rajkumar from Karnataka or Rajnikanth who did not enter politics even though they had a huge connect!!
BJP wins three seats in Keralam. Nemam, and Kazhakootam in Thiruvananthapuram, and Chathanoor in Kollam Dt. All three wins are in South Kerala (or in the old Travancore princely state). In Nemam; Rajeev Chandrashekar maintained a lead right from the start of counting. In Kazhakootam, K Muralidharan won by a whisker. Actually; I don't think even BJP thought they would win Chathanoor. In Kerala motor-mouths for the BJP used to be people like K Surendran, Sobha Surendran etc; all from Northern Kerala. They have lost this time as well.uddu wrote:May be end up with 2 seats. 1 is assured.
After LTTE and Prabhakaran is gone, VaiKo, Nedumaran (and to an extent Simon @ Seeman) all have gone into a radio silence mode.ricky_v wrote:As a question, what happens to pipsqueak parties like vaiko and others?
BJP strategy in TN does not make any sense. ADMK is a dravidian party with soft support for Tamil sub nationalism. BJP needs to stand in its own legs. Vijay crowd took over the anti-dravidian sentiment in TN now. IMO it is a lost opportunity.
'I Lost, But Bengal Won': Emotional BJP Leader Shatarupa On Saffronised Bengal | Results 2026
Century Scorer
'Bharat’s Victory': Himanta Biswa Sarma Slams Mamata For Blocking Border Fencing | Results 2026
S_Madhukar
Unless Annamalai becomes MLA it won’t work for his leadership. He needs to enter the assembly and use his wit and speech to showcase his leadership. He is more in Dev Fadnavis style I think, more cerebral and principled. He needs to become a proper TN politician IMO
Thanks for the response Sachin sir.
But damn, TN's election has thrown up a wild card in Indian politics after a long time. Vijay belongs to the era of ajit jogi, mamta, pawar, and yes to an extent the jdus, jds' and rjd's of the world, as in a new party and power centre only on the strength of charisma of 1 person.
Bjp in wb will proceed on expected lines, it is TN with its new entrant and dare I say it, a slightly unstable government, that has the potential to chart the most unexpected course and with the current state machinery. I don't know what the last time was when we had an unstable, supported from the outside type of government in the states, this is a result from bygone eras, recent times have dictated that results are outright.
Also, TN as a society seema to be doing alright, in all parameters it is a top3- top5 entrant, maybe some lag in agricultural produce. So what prompted the common TN person to declare that this was high time for a change? It's not a Hindu consolidation, bjp and friends have not performed spectacularly.
Maybe the margins and vote counts would portray a better clarity, aiadmk cut dmk and vice versa and tvk stole through.
But damn, TN's election has thrown up a wild card in Indian politics after a long time. Vijay belongs to the era of ajit jogi, mamta, pawar, and yes to an extent the jdus, jds' and rjd's of the world, as in a new party and power centre only on the strength of charisma of 1 person.
Bjp in wb will proceed on expected lines, it is TN with its new entrant and dare I say it, a slightly unstable government, that has the potential to chart the most unexpected course and with the current state machinery. I don't know what the last time was when we had an unstable, supported from the outside type of government in the states, this is a result from bygone eras, recent times have dictated that results are outright.
Also, TN as a society seema to be doing alright, in all parameters it is a top3- top5 entrant, maybe some lag in agricultural produce. So what prompted the common TN person to declare that this was high time for a change? It's not a Hindu consolidation, bjp and friends have not performed spectacularly.
Maybe the margins and vote counts would portray a better clarity, aiadmk cut dmk and vice versa and tvk stole through.
Came across this while going through xitter, unintentional comedy

Just saw BJP cross 156 won.
I can't believe my eyes. We have waited for this day for over three and a half decades. My uncles, my father were BJP supporters in West Bengal even before the Ram Janam Bhoomi movement. And like so many others they paid a price for this. Today, of 14 cousins, 11 of us are outside West Bengal.
First when the Left went, we thought, if not the BJP, then the TMC will bring development and close the borders. They didn't.
Today, when the results are coming out, I still can't believe that finally the BJP is winning in Bengal. I cannot explain what I feel. And there are many of us born in West Bengal, forced out with threat and harassment, who will breathe freer today.
I just cannot explain what I feel. I wish my father was still here to see this day.
I can't believe my eyes. We have waited for this day for over three and a half decades. My uncles, my father were BJP supporters in West Bengal even before the Ram Janam Bhoomi movement. And like so many others they paid a price for this. Today, of 14 cousins, 11 of us are outside West Bengal.
First when the Left went, we thought, if not the BJP, then the TMC will bring development and close the borders. They didn't.
Today, when the results are coming out, I still can't believe that finally the BJP is winning in Bengal. I cannot explain what I feel. And there are many of us born in West Bengal, forced out with threat and harassment, who will breathe freer today.
I just cannot explain what I feel. I wish my father was still here to see this day.
The main problem for a BJP driven foray into TN is that it is considered a "northern" party and is of no use to TN. TN wants a native who can be their leader and Vijay fits the bill. DMK toppling is a good thing for TN. Now it remains to be seen what Vijay can accomplish in terms of his rulership. If he is not anti-stringent like DMK was with Modiji then many things can move forward with ease. The bigger thing for all these leaders is to show that they are capable and can bring about change in a meaningful manner. Assam is a good example where leaders brought change and the anti-incumbency factor was nullified due to such change. Most states require good clean administration which means change in babucracy and its monitoring. A good leader needs to establish meaningful change and co-opt people along the journey. TN especially requires a drive towards cleanliness and discipline in general janata. The Coovum river is stark reminder of how basic urban facilities are lacking, no proper sewage control into the river. Much of the city of Chennai is on old urban infra, more than half the buildings are old and require demolish and rebuild. Traffic is becoming a nightmare as with other cities.
S_Madhukar wrote: ↑04 May 2026 20:17 Unless Annamalai becomes MLA it won’t work for his leadership. He needs to enter the assembly and use his wit and speech to showcase his leadership. He is more in Dev Fadnavis style I think, more cerebral and principled. He needs to become a proper TN politician IMO
S_Madhukar ji,
One thinks that the BJP will bring him in via the centre, either through the RS or some such route. He will then be groomed to fit his intended role
Once in, he should be able to test the waters and acclimate to the local issues and develop rapport with important personalities and enter the ecosystem sans ripples
The BJP lacks southern leaders of calibre, which is why they are struggling in KAR and he is seen as a "लंबी रेस का घोड़ा"
he needs to acquire the political heft and the gravitas to ensure that he is taken seriously by other parties.
Right now, he is being wilfully and vengefully blocked by the AIADMK and that is limiting his options