Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Pranay

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Post by Pranay »

http://www.economist.com/node/17583050? ... tothecrore
The fallout from the dodgy sale of 2G mobile-telephone licences nearly three years ago will be much worse. On November 14th Mr Singh at last forced a coalition ally, Andimuthu Raja, to quit as telecoms minister. Mr Raja had refused to auction the licences, preferring to dish them out in an underhand and chaotic way, awarding 120 in a single day. Favoured companies bought permits for a song. In the process, the state may have forfeited revenues worth a staggering 176,000 “crore” rupees (a crore is 10m: almost $40 billion in all), to judge by their resale value and by the sums raised by the auction of 3G airwaves.

Even Mr Singh, who is generally seen as a saintly technocrat floating above the fray, has been dragged down into the muck. Most unusually, the Supreme Court chided him last week. His sin was to act too slowly against his coalition partner. Congress, lacking a majority, relies on Mr Raja’s party, the DMK, for parliamentary support.
The ex-boss of an anti-graft commission, Pratyush Sinha, threw his hands up in despair in September, saying his job was thankless and lamenting that increasingly materialistic Indians were becoming “utterly corrupt”. His complaints were writ large this month in a report by an American think-tank, Global Financial Integrity, which suggested that since 1948 India had lost over $460 billion in illicit financial flows, much of it through corruption.

The report concluded that the problem would worsen as the economy grows and incomes become more unequal. The moral universe may be getting smaller but, despite the shifting of a few high-profile figures, it seems that India is ready to do little more than shrug.
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

SwamyG wrote:Progress breeds progress. Success breeds success. Corruption will reduce when the present crop of leaders and people go away. Most of us will not be around when it does happen. 2 generations from 1991 is my calculation - 60 years or so. Meanwhile the country ought to keep plowing ahead.
If you generalize corruption to "black money" in general, I think the black economy as a % of the total economy will continue to drop. But along with strong economic growth, the absolute size of the Black economy will continue to increase. On a per-capita basis, there will be more black Rs in circulation, but there will be much more white Rs..so the problem will be taken care through growth.

Also, the current black economy is a collection of vast numbers of small cases - Rs100-500 bribes to the local police or clerk, and a few mega-cases. As India progresses, and people become generally more honest and prosperous, the small cases will go away, but the mega-scams will remain. Case in point - even in the most prosperous and supposedly "honest" countries, we still have mega-scams. It is in human nature to "be good" when the prize is small, but to be greedy when millions are thrown at you.

Fidel Guevara wrote:Also, the current black economy is a collection of vast numbers of small cases - Rs100-500 bribes to the local police or clerk, and a few mega-cases. As India progresses, and people become generally more honest and prosperous, the small cases will go away, but the mega-scams will remain. Case in point - even in the most prosperous and supposedly "honest" countries, we still have mega-scams. It is in human nature to "be good" when the prize is small, but to be greedy when millions are thrown at you.
Good point. Most of the 1st gen govt. employees who now have children in earning stages stopped taking Rs 10-100 level hand-bribes. This releaved the bottom layer of society. As the economic progress continues and govt/ salaries increase the Rs100-500 level bribes will go away. Economic growth elimiates bottom level corruption, as "most" of it is due to economic constraints.

But the corruption at higher levels is due to "greed". It doesn't know the difference between Rs100 crore net wealth and Rs 105 crore net wealth; and keeps looking for accumulation of wealth. A sense of paranoia sets in. This is what happening in power corridors now.

Fidel Guevara wrote:As India progresses, and people become generally more honest and prosperous, the small cases will go away, but the mega-scams will remain. Case in point - even in the most prosperous and supposedly "honest" countries, we still have mega-scams. It is in human nature to "be good" when the prize is small, but to be greedy when millions are thrown at you.
The corruption is driven by the people wielding power. Until they find an alternative means of making money, this will continue to be a problem.

Government a lucrative business

^ I have a different take on it.

As long as Govt remains as a business (Vaisya instead of Kshatriya) this will continue. GOI should transform into a Rajanya role instead of a Vaisya role (socialist roots, I guess). Rajanya owns everything in the rashtra only intimes of emergency, but remains as a enforcer of rule-of-law (w.r.t all aspects of internal affairs not just law and order) in the normal ties.

Create a level playing field in the economy so no one will feel the necessity of being in Govt to make money.
mraghu

Post by mraghu »

CNN-IBN is running a round table with Karan as the host. Sanjay baru, N Ram, Manu Joseph in the panel
mraghu

Post by mraghu »

very interesting show, don't miss it.. the first 5 mins...

excerpts ....

Karan invited Vir and Barkha but did not agree to come on to the show...

N Ram : out of line, Journalists were out of line, was not professional, hats off to those who brought tapes out to the public, took the example of watergate and indicated that there is no need for Barkha's/Vir's approval for these tapes to be published..

Dilip Cherian : agrees with Ram statement "Out of Line", breach of journalistic behaviour
Mauli

Post by Mauli »

Nira Radia got Rs 60 crore for 'consultancy'

http://in.news.yahoo.com/267/20101125/1 ... nsu_1.html
Mauli

Post by Mauli »

Dr.Subramaniam Swamy's letter to the Prime Minister

November 24, 2010.

Dr. Manmohan Singh,
Prime Minister of India,
South Block,
New Delhi.

Dear Prime Minister:
You may by now have realized that the 2G Spectrum scandal is not only bad for the country in the dimension of corruption, but now it emerges that there is a national security dimension too. The RAW, IB, CBI, ED all have enough material which they may have placed before you regarding the dubious aspects of the principal player in this scam.

According to my information two sisters, Anushka and Nadia, of Ms Sonia Gandhi had received sixty percent of the kickbacks in this deal i.e. Rs.18,000 crores each. The frequent travel of Sonia Gandhi and her immediate family to Malaysia, Hongkong, Dubai and parts of Europe including London requires to be probed under the law. What requires your special attention is the mode of the travel, not by commercial airliners, but by jets provided by the corporate sector which itself is illegal under the DGCA Rules. I find that often Ms. Sonia Gandhi and family have traveled to Dubai and then traveled onwards on private jets provided by dubious Arab business interests to Europe. It is not clear on what passport they have traveled. In Dubai they were felicitated by agencies of countries which are hostile to India including that of Pakistan.

You can no more not take a stand when evil is permeating in the country in the form of terrorism, religious conversion and demographic infiltration. The ill-gotten money in billions of dollars equivalent, the money laundering and Participatory Notes have all undermined our national integrity. The time is come for you to take a stand.

I am familiar with the information and data with our intelligent agencies. I also know that you can seek cooperation of other countries especially the United States in pooling information especially from inter Intelligence interaction that take place regularly. I hope therefore you will rise to the need of the hour and take effective steps to set right the sorry state of affairs in the country caused by overtly and covertly resident foreigners. In this connection I would like to meet you at the earliest. My Secretary will be in touch with your Secretariat to fix a time.

Yours sincerely,

(Sd SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY

http://www.vigilonline.com/index.php?op ... 8&Itemid=1

Fidel Guevara wrote:Case in point - even in the most prosperous and supposedly "honest" countries, we still have mega-scams. It is in human nature to "be good" when the prize is small, but to be greedy when millions are thrown at you.
As I said progress and growth is a big thing. Ethics, dharma ityadi don't matter if there is no hope and opportunities. With progress, people have more hope and opportunities, but bad habits stick with people - hence my theory that some of our generation should simply go away. My father-in-law admired the system, when I stopped at the red light around midnight waiting for the green signal; but the same person would drive on the wrong side of the road in desh and jump signals. People would laugh at him if he followed the rules. Who is to blame? The system. Who or what is the system? The people. Why are people this way? Because of the circumstances and habits. Circumstances & habits can be changed - but habits linger for a longer time. It is easier to change the circumstances. It takes a big flyover to remove the traffic signals. And the number of people jumping signals comes down automatically. They are trained to adhere to the new circumstances, bad habits linger near.

With the changing circumstances, we get people with newer (changed) expectations. Leaders always rise from people. Be it Kannimozhi, Varun Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Dayanidhi Maran, Nitish, NaMo are new crop of leaders with still strong ties to their family or olden variety of politics. But they usher newer thinking because of the changing landscape - domestically and internationally. Are they all flawless without corruption? Probably not. But the next generation will likely to have leaders removed from the older generation.

I bought a house in USA and my brother bought a house in desh. Both of us did not HAVE to pay any bribe. But I paid so many fees (legalized bribes). One has to just look at the closing costs in USA to make the blood boil. Internet has lots of material on why and how some of these fees are nothing but fleecing aam admi. My brother got a loan from a private bank, @ the time of registration the banker walks in with a check and some paper work, my brother turns up, the builder turned up all at the government office. After the cursory waiting (because everybody had Indian Standard Timings); the affair went smoothly.

Are there no problems then? Of course not - I am staunch look-at-the-glass-half-full guy who does not ignore the fact that glass is half-empty; but just like to point out the glass is half full too :-)

Desh will change, it is just that we will have to witness it in our next births, meanwhile we all have to keep raising our expectations and act within our means to usher in progress & welfare. Dharma Rakshati Rakshitah. A good system needs protection, and the people will protect a system if they perceive it is good. As far as those rich & powerful people who loot in thousands of crores - I do not understand their mindset. I am neither rich or powerful. I often fantasize winning lottery and giving money to all relatives. That is my only exposure to 10s of crores.

amit wrote:Here's an interesting twist to the 2G corruption saga

Agencies probe 2G, house loan scam link
This LIC scandal is interesting. Why did Pranab Da let the cat out of the bag and that to at this juncture? It is like sucking out oxygen from lungs of an asthma patient. UPA-2 is struggling to run the government may be not because of INC but because of Coalition partners DMK, etc.

Now this one is pure UPA-1 timeline stuff when PC was FM and also some shady Pawar deals in it? What's the game plan? One way of looking at is making all the partners toe the line as a blackmail. Nationalized banks are deeply involved.

The other way is to read Pranab Da's one liner a week ago. He said we will go for a snap poll. Is INC trying to take a high moral ground on corruption by dumping those who it used as corrupt and then go to polls? Polls may be a long shot but....

Scam mania time and an iteresting winter. Back to basics in AP may be connected to this timeline.
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

mraghu wrote:very interesting show, don't miss it.. the first 5 mins...

excerpts ....

Karan invited Vir and Barkha but did not agree to come on to the show...

N Ram : out of line, Journalists were out of line, was not professional, hats off to those who brought tapes out to the public, took the example of watergate and indicated that there is no need for Barkha's/Vir's approval for these tapes to be published..

Dilip Cherian : agrees with Ram statement "Out of Line", breach of journalistic behaviour
Video

http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/135950/rad ... lists.html

Ratan Tata on 2G scam

Ratan Tata today said the government must stop the “banana republic kind of attacks”, as the real 2G scam was becoming hidden behind a smokescreen.
Tata told news channel NDTV that the real issues that needed to be investigated were “hoarding and out-of-turn allocation of spectrum to important players”. The government should investigate, appoint an auditor and book the guilty under due process of law, he said.

He said the media “is going crazy in alleging, convicting and executing” people on the basis of a flood of unauthorised tapes. “It is a murky time. It’s a confusing time for me because just a couple of weeks ago, we were sitting on top of a summit, with President Obama showering praise on what we had done, talking about maturity, talking of us having emerged and not being an emerging force. And then we have somewhat slipped into a series of allegations,” he said.
“You know it’s a funny thing. Many of these things I believe have been sourced by vested interests, who want to make these connections to make it happen. What such people perhaps forget is that there is bigger issue to the nation.”

One thing i found weird was that all this tapping was done on people involved in telecom circles. Isn't the tapping done with the telco's assistance? How come they didn't get a whiff of it? What am i missing here?

Sriman wrote:One thing i found weird was that all this tapping was done on people involved in telecom circles. Isn't the tapping done with the telco's assistance? How come they didn't get a whiff of it? What am i missing here?
All that tapes have some talk about how to set that meeting or this meeting and a bunch of names in Indian industry , politicians and media personnel.

This revelation of tapes seems like let us smash everyone's reputation. I kind of agree with Ratan Tata that a smokescreen is created so that whole chatter will be around Niira and names in the tapes. The real fraud perpetrators and the funds sources will comeout not because of these tapes or even by investigating Niira. This is all timewaste in my honest opinion. Invesitgate the babus and politicians which ayway will not happen.

Sriman wrote:One thing i found weird was that all this tapping was done on people involved in telecom circles. Isn't the tapping done with the telco's assistance? How come they didn't get a whiff of it? What am i missing here?
not so with the equipment said to have been used by intel guys. Instead of specifically tapping a phone @ telco end, the eqpt-laden van is supposed to be roaming in vicinity & just happened to pick up the signals - plucked it from the air

Since no particular phone is being tapped - noe prior judicial sanction is necessary

IIRC Some times back there was a huge hullaballo raised after it was revealed that phone conv of the hig an mighty of Indian politics had been tapped - dont' quite remember what was the context

If i remember correctly it MKN was NSA at that time and commies were in froefront at expressing indignation

Muppalla wrote:
This revelation of tapes seems like let us smash everyone's reputation. I kind of agree with Ratan Tata that a smokescreen is created so that whole chatter will be around Niira and names in the tapes. The real fraud perpetrators and the funds sources will comeout not because of these tapes or even by investigating Niira. This is all timewaste in my honest opinion. Invesitgate the babus and politicians which ayway will not happen.
Since this is out now this revelation is a smoke screen for many issues - politically and corruption.
It will remove any consistent clamor for looking into corruption.
It is to get some time for internal turmoil for next line of leadership issue
It will shield the center from other centers who want to meddle inside

SC slams CBI and Union government for lack of seriousness in 2G Spectrum scam:
Justice Singhvi asked the CBI counsel, ‘Why were the two companies that have been named by the CVC not named in the FIR? The companies got the spectrum allocated for Rs 1500-1600 crore and sold the same for Rs 6000 crore within a few days. Was it not sufficient to name them as accused and investigate?’ Counsel for the petitioner Prashant Bhushan submitted before the court that the cut-off date was arbitrarily advanced from October 1, 2007 to September 25, 2007 leading to the elimination of 343 applicants out of total 575 applicants for spectrum allocation.

Mr Bhushan also pointed out that on October 18, 2007 Tiger Trustee, a company owned by Reliance group of Anil Ambani, transferred 50 lakh shares for Rs five crore to some foreign company when it was having Rs 1000 crore in its bank account. The CBI has not tried to find out to whom these shares were transferred.

shiv wrote: I come from a social class and background that believed that going abroad to make an honest living made one rich and that wealth could come honestly. And although I returned my relatives and friends remain abroad. I now know that although they are well off their wealth after 25 to 30 years of honest hard work and savings of (in some cases) US$ 2 million is peanuts. USD 2 million is 9 crores - an amount that a low official or clerk at the local corporation office will make and use to build 2 houses, a commercial complex and a "farmhouse". Honest people live in sad fantasy land - but only honest people are interested in cleaning the system.

India has 1.3 lakh declared dollar millionaires. The undeclared ones will be 50 times that number. Our financial system allows the hiding of wealth, giving the appearance of poverty. The fact that poverty also exists is a good cover for this.
OT: Very good insights and reminder, however, not every official or clerk 'will make' 9 crores. The unscurpulus will. The IT or other 'highly paid' ones will make a good living.
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

Copy of the Swamy's letter to the PM

How authentic is the charges against Sonia Gandhi's two sisters? according to the report thier names,atleast one sounds like Indian name. With so many selouties shades in her Charecter which organization is capable of throughly investigae Sonia Gandhi's international connections. Previous report pointed out about possible ISI connections of her sisters.
2-G spectrum scam opens up a Pandora's box of dubious connection(payroll) of media person directly with Congress Party and on that note, a month ago Padamshre Barkha Dutta organised a "Kashmir Azadi Meet" on a boat on the Dal lake, who gave her the green signal? is that fair to say Madam had something in one of her master's paid devil act tried to test the water through her?
Now the letter-
November 24, 2010.

Dr. Manmohan Singh,
Prime Minister of India,
South Block,
New Delhi.

Dear Prime Minister:
You may by now have realized that the 2G Spectrum scandal is not only bad for the country in the dimension of corruption, but now it emerges that there is a national security dimension too. The RAW, IB, CBI, ED all have enough material which they may have placed before you regarding the dubious aspects of the principal player in this scam.

According to my information two sisters, Anushka and Nadia, of Ms Sonia Gandhi had received sixty percent of the kickbacks in this deal i.e. Rs.18,000 crores each. The frequent travel of Sonia Gandhi and her immediate family to Malaysia, Hongkong, Dubai and parts of Europe including London requires to be probed under the law. What requires your special attention is the mode of the travel, not by commercial airliners, but by jets provided by the corporate sector which itself is illegal under the DGCA Rules. I find that often Ms. Sonia Gandhi and family have traveled to Dubai and then traveled onwards on private jets provided by dubious Arab business interests to Europe. It is not clear on what passport they have traveled. In Dubai they were facilitated by agencies of countries which are hostile to India including that of Pakistan.

You can no more not take a stand when evil is permeating in the country in the form of terrorism, religious conversion and demographic infiltration. The ill-gotten money in billions of dollars equivalent, the money laundering and Participatory Notes have all undermined our national integrity. The time is come for you to take a stand.

I am familiar with the information and data with our intelligent agencies. I also know that you can seek cooperation of other countries especially the United States in pooling information especially from inter Intelligence interaction that take place regularly. I hope therefore you will rise to the need of the hour and take effective steps to set right the sorry state of affairs in the country caused by overtly and covertly resident foreigners. In this connection I would like to meet you at the earliest. My Secretary will be in touch with your Secretariat to fix a time.

Yours sincerely,

(Sd SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY)

http://www.vigilonline.com/index.php?op ... 8&Itemid=1

The holier than thou Tata is now babbling

blah blah blah banana republic

yeah now you realise

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 998086.cms
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

^ he is saying the truth, Nira Radia, Barkha dutt, A Raja should be arrested before they destroy evidence in their possession. People dont need a tamasha they need a proper investigation, quick trial and punishment for the guilty, all that congress is avoiding right now. All we get is a big boss type edited reality show of leaked conversation which gives only half the picture of what really happened during the spectrum allocation and ministry lobbying episode.

arjunm wrote: How authentic is the charges against Sonia Gandhi's two sisters? according to the report thier names,atleast one sounds like Indian name. With so many selouties shades in her Charecter which organization is capable of throughly investigae Sonia Gandhi's international connections. Previous report pointed out about possible ISI connections of her sisters.
Sonia, Nadia and Anoushka are all Russian names. One hopes there will be a proper inquiry and follow-up.
Last edited by Pranav on 27 Nov 2010 11:21, edited 1 time in total.

Pranav wrote:

Sonia, Nadia and Anoushka are all Russian names.
Could be SALT - one more master plan long term
Samudragupta

Post by Samudragupta »

Could be SALT - one more master plan long term
Another A Invasion Theory i suppose.... :rotfl:

Sorry Mr.Tata.we are not a "banana republic",but a "coconut republic",because we-our political class, sanctimoniously break coconuts before any important event in public and like true humbugs behave anything but sanctimoniously in private.The spin ad nauseum,from the regime's spin doctors,the galaxy of excuses why this scandal or that is actually not a scandal,why X cannot even be questioned let alone arrested for the world's greatest swindle ever,our CWG chief brigand not even listed in the chargesheet frolicking in Monaco and galavanting around the world,is so sickening to watch,that we have already become "fruity" so to speak.Presiding over this empire of corruption is the great incorruptible Dr.Singh,whom even you Mr.Tata mistakenly swears as to his cleanliness.This is a sickening farce.Like the proverbial emperor who had no clothes,Dr.Singh is anything but clean.Like the proverbial 3 monkeys,Dr.Singh is either utterly incompetent and impotent and thereby unfit for office ,or is like a feudal serf doing his master's or mistresses' bidding.This is the least damaging one can say about him.The worst is that he is heavily complicit in this tsunami of corruption and his bogus humility masks the face of the true mafioso burattinaio.

^^ +1 to what you have said Philip. Being corrupt is not only about accepting bribes, but also when you shut your eyes while bribes are being distributed around you and you don't stop it even when you are in a position to stop corruption.
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

Raghavendra wrote:^ he is saying the truth, Nira Radia, Barkha dutt, A Raja should be arrested before they destroy evidence in their possession. People dont need a tamasha they need a proper investigation, quick trial and punishment for the guilty, all that congress is avoiding right now. All we get is a big boss type edited reality show of leaked conversation which gives only half the picture of what really happened during the spectrum allocation and ministry lobbying episode.
Absolutely, this 2-G spectrum scam is mother of all scam. It has to be thoroughly investigated, all the related millions of files and departmental exchanges and the notes , corporate house , PR firms, Media connections, foreign wire transfers, all the benami beneficiaries every evidence should be protected by any neans before the key evidence files atart disappearing. Today's TOI news says the ADARSH key files are missing and this is going to happen or already happening in this case also..If thoroughly and independently investigated it may wide open Congress party's various criminal nexus under this Italian mafia boss.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Will file case against Raja by Dec first week: Subramanian Swamy http://www.zeenews.com/news670798.html

As per some tweets from certain journalists and other tweeting population, the internal battles between the top honchos of INC is the real reason for the LIC scandal coming out. Entire scandal is actually during the PC as FM in UPA-1. The speculation is that there seems to be a long shot possiblity of if push comes to shove situation Dr.MMS may be asked to go. I personally do not beleive that the sardar will meekly surrender inspite of all these vested interests' giggles.

Rahul becoming PM and also surviving for a substantial period is being ruled out based on some electoral realities. There is an asumption that the next one could be either PC or Pranab Da. The grapevine theory is Pranab Da quitely but deliberately released the home-laon scandal involving several nationalized banks and financial institutions of the UPA-1 period to check PC.

The reality is that even if parliament runs, the numbers in RS are too low for UPA and they are dropping faster with Bihar type results. More states you lose more seats you lose in RS. The point is that India's parliament and government are at a stage that could be called lame duck. Here is where the "let us go alone" is being perceived as failure.

Pranab Da is one person who is having decent relationship with both Left and Mamta. He is planning to bring his technocrat son into WB politics. Mamta even went to an extent that she will be fine to see Pranab as CM of WB as an ace. From the leftists' perspective he is seen as one who does not toe the western line as quickly as the MMS and his buddies. Another school of thought is to go for a snap poll with expanded electoral understanding with several parties to get a larger majority. In fact it is again Pranab Da who made statement regarding snap poll. He may planning from a broader coalition with some consensus based decision making and politics as the only future. Dump DMK and go with Jaya may be on the table too.

All in all we will be seeing a lot of indecisiveness and lack of clarity for a while regarding scams and how they will investigated etc. However, Amit Shah's interrogation whether he killed the terrorist (who has to be in someway or other) either legally or illegally will be absolutely improtant for CBI.

Only Subramanian Swamy and/or SC has to do something. The Government will not do anything. By the way the newly appointed and tainted CVC who is also chided by SC is on the panel to select next CBI chief.

Muppalla wrote:The reality is that even if parliament runs, the numbers in RS are too low for UPA and they are dropping faster with Bihar type results. More states you lose more seats you lose in RS.
UPA has the Rajya Sabha numbers after the 2010 election. Plus they have comfortable numbers in the Lok Sabha, so a joint session can be called for important bills as was done by the NDA government.

I think the issue is that the Gandhis are no longer strong enough to bell INC cats. It is implicit in that Rahul hasn't been able to become PM. This is leading to a lot of faction fights.

^^ The chart is so clear man. UPA ha 90 out of 245. That too if UPA has all the required consensus. The extend ones (like BSP or SP) alway have to either coerced or bought using CBI, money etc. They did that for passing Budget. They cleared the Taj case of Mayawati too just to pass the budget. For Nuke liability bill INC+BJP jointly passed.

It is very difficult to have joint sessions for every bill. They have to construct a broader coalition and consensus based politics with only common agenda to smootly govern the nation. This structure is not sustainalbe and it is deteorating as every day progresses. There is a chance of slight improvement after WB and Kerala election. But they are far away.

Vir Sanghvi is talking as though he is congress. This should really shame him (offcource if he has anything like that).
Spicy stuff with Vir Sanghvi
Niira Radia: Hi.

Vir Sanghvi: Hi, can you talk?

NR: Yeah, yeah. Okay.

VS: You know, Maran did not meet Sonia.

NR: He did not.

VS: He won’t meet Sonia, he’s been there, they say we’re not treating him as official spokesperson at all. He called just now, I saw your message, he is calling up Ghulam Nabi Azad every half an hour and making new demands. As far as we’re concerned, there are two wives, one brother, one sister, one nephew, it’s all got very complicated for us. We’ve made a basic offer, if Karunanidhi responds to us and tells us he’d like to respond directly, he’d like to talk to Mrs Gandhi, we’d be happy. He spoke only to Manmohan Singh. We’ve told Maran they’ve to come back to us and tell us what they think of our offer. And, apparently the DMK is getting very bad press in Chennai.

NR: Hmm.

VS: So, he said we’re going to wait for two days. Let them come back, we’re of the line that this is not a Congress-DMK problem, this is an internal DMK problem because they can’t get their act together between all his wives and children and nephews. He’s got to get his act together and nominate one person and we’d be very happy to deal with him. We’re not happy with this Maran who keeps calling up Ghulam Nabi and saying ‘talk to me, talk to me’. They are not taking him seriously.

NR: Very interesting. I’m glad you spoke to Ghulam Nabi, did you?

VS: I spoke to Ahmed (Patel). Ghulam Nabi is not a very key figure. Ahmed is the key figure.

NR: Right.

VS: Yeah. So, Ahmed says Ghulam has been dealing with Maran. But Ghulam is not our official person and we’re not taking Maran seriously. As far as they are concerned, they’ve asked for five crucial ministries, it’s an idiotic and unreasonable demand. We’ve made them a perfectly reasonable demand. Now, it is for Karunanidhi to get back to us, Kani to come and see us, anyone can come and see us and say I’ll put you on the line with my father et cetera, lines are, doors are, open to her. But we can’t have a situation where Maran keeps calling us and saying I’m the person and telling Ghulam, I want this, I want that, who is Maran?’

NR: Hmm.

VS: Maran has gone back apparently today to Chennai?

NR: Yeah. He has gone back.

VS: Ahmed says, ‘We told him, we told Maran also that we’ll deal with Karunanidhi, so he has gone back. So, they are quite hopeful, they say, we made a very reasonable offer, we have lot of regards for Karunanidhi, we would like to deal with him. We have no regard for Maran.’

VS: Hello.

NR: Sorry to disturb you. They had a meeting.

VS: Okay.

NR: M.K. Narayanan had come. And as suggested it was Kani only. But they are still stuck to their four formula and one independent.

NR: But these people will also think about it and let him know tomorrow morning. He (Ahmed Patel) clarified everything.

VS: Okay, very good.

NR: I think that there was no issue and there was lot of relief from the chief minister’s side. And he realised that, you know, this is all being done by...

VS: By Maran.

NR: Yeah. But the thing is that it appears that he is still under a lot of pressure to take Maran, you know.

VS: Where is this coming from, this pressure?

NR: It’s coming from Stalin and his sister Selvi.

NR: I believe Maran has given Rs 600 crores to Dayalu, Stalin’s mother.

VS: It’s hard to argue with that kind of pressure.

NR: Isn’t it? But if they stick to three and want one independent charge, then Kani gets an independent and then Azhagiri, Baalu and Raja come in.

VS: That is not so bad, you know.

NR: Yeah, so I think.

VS: Unless Maran is one of the cabinet.

NR: Yeah. But I don’t think he can give it to three family members. That will send a very wrong signal.

VS: Hi, Niira.

NR: Hi, Vir. Where are you, Delhi or...

VS: I am in Jaipur. Coming back this evening.

NR: Okay. I’ve been talking to my Tamil Nadu friends. I don’t know whether you are in the position to get through to anyone at Congress. I met Kani just now.

VS: I was supposed to meet Sonia today but I’ve been stuck here. So, now it’s becoming tomorrow. I’ve been meeting with Rahul, but tell me...

NR: They are not understanding that they are actually communicating with the wrong guy. Not because I detest Maran but actually the father has not nominated Maran to negotiate. Now, you know, it’s like a banana republic where the cabinet...

VS: Then why has Maran become the face, they all hate Maran.

NR: No, he’s not. I know. But the Congress is under another impression. They have already apparently indicated to Maran that the prime minister will not give infrastructure to DMK. But he is desperately pushing for an infrastructure berth himself.

VS: Right.

NR: But the problem is that there is a leader which is Kani’s brother who is Azhagiri who’s won that election and he is a mass leader. He controls half of Tamil Nadu. And the father cannot afford to upset him because...

VS: Obviously...

NR: Simply because of his position.

VS: Yeah.

NR: Right now the Congress doesn’t seem to be understanding this.

VS: So, who should they talk to?

NR: They need to talk directly to Karunanidhi. They need to talk to Kani.

VS: Let me try and get through to Ahmed.

I think we have 9G limit on these scams and corruptions. Eeeeven then perhaps there may be many still left going steady without any pass-outs.

Ignoring risk, public sector banks funded 2G scam
The banks provided loans, worth over Rs 11,500 crore, to Unitech and STel by completely ignoring the risk factors — given that the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) had already registered a case in the 2G scam and the CBI had begun its probe. Out of the Rs 10, 000-crore loan to the Unitech, the major portion was disbursed by the State Bank of India (SBI). The SBI made available a whopping Rs 8,050 crore to the Unitech during 2009-2010.

According to the records of Registrar of Companies, the other banks which lent to the Unitech are: Corporation Bank (Rs 500 crore), Allahabad Bank (Rs 500 crore), South Indian Bank (Rs 400 crore), Canara Bank (Rs120 crore), Oriental Bank (Rs 70 crore), Central Bank of India (Rs 70 crore), Punjab National Bank (Rs 120 crore), Standard Chartered Bank (Rs 100 crore) and Yes Bank (Rs 70 crore).

“Why were no major private sector banks ready to give them even a penny? The entire world knows about the spectrum scam. How can then the public sector banks disburse loans to the companies involved in the scam? The reasons are obvious, now that the loan-for-bribery scam is before all of us,” said the official. The Pioneer has learned that the CBI is aware of these huge loan disbursements by the public sector banks to these dubious companies. But the probe agency has so far shown no inclination in looking into these angles.

why is Ratan Tata suddenly all over the news??

oh he is concerned with privacy and wants to stop the leaks of the tapes :eek:

interesting

vera_k wrote:
I think the issue is that the Gandhis are no longer strong enough to bell INC cats. It is implicit in that Rahul hasn't been able to become PM. This is leading to a lot of faction fights.

Yuvraj is appearing more and more like a domestic cat painted in tiger stripes, stripes that have begun to run in the very first rain shower itself showing the pathetic little pussy cat under the carefully applied paint.

They will now unleash the yuvrani as she will have more impact.

Another day, another paint job.

Surya wrote:why is Ratan Tata suddenly all over the news??

oh he is concerned with privacy and wants to stop the leaks of the tapes :eek:

interesting
The carefully constructed facade is unraveling to reveal just another Indian businessman. He is worried about his legacy.

History will in any case be kind to this gentleman as he is / was the best of a motley bunch.

you are right - at least he lives in relative modesty and does a fair amount of charity

also right about the Yuvrani - oh boy

cannot wait for that nightmare

chetak wrote: The carefully constructed facade is unraveling to reveal just another Indian businessman. He is worried about his legacy.

History will in any case be kind to this gentleman as he is / was the best of a motley bunch.
er - why would anyone think he was more special anyway? There is no special person in India. Everyone is quite ordinary. OK there are some variations from the ordinary but all this "carefully constructed facade" business is meaningless because the facade has been constructed by others who are desperately searching for heroes in a place where there are no heroes.

Nobody on BRF wants to believe it - but India's real heroes are those who can construct a real good scam to take care of themselves and some people around them. Dawood is as much of a hero as Raja, Sonia/Congress and co. Nobody wants to believe that this is what is considered "Great" by a large percentage of Indians. Just like we are allowed to express "grudging admiration" for Pakistanis scamming the world I believe we need to open our eyes and express admiration for India's scamsters because running a successful scam is heroism.