Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Dec. 28, 2010

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Dec. 28, 2

Lalmohan wrote:the faujis are being very quiet arent they?
coup alert whoop whoop!!
To support your estimate but for different reasons. The current crisis strengthen Badmash and per this report Army doesn't support him and might take charge to prevent his rise.

Nightwatch, 1/6/2011
Pakistan: The continuation of the political crisis was manifest in the government's decision to reverse a fuel price increase. Prime Minister Gilani restored prices to the 31 December levels, a 9 % rollback. Gilani made the move to blunt an opposition threat of a no confidence vote unless fuels price increases were reversed.

Opposition leader and former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif demanded a roll back of fuel prices, a commitment to cut government spending by 30% and dismissal of officials accused of graft within 72 hours or face an opposition vote of confidence motion in the National Assembly as to the viability of the Gilani minority government. Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) in opposition, gave the government 45 days to show progress in cutting government spending.

Comment: Nawaz is grandstanding, awaiting his turn to replace Gilani as the next prime minister of Pakistan. Gilani's actions show that the Pakistan People's Party government is weak. Gilani is attempting to buy time by acceding to the demand to roll back fuel prices, which will probably lead to shortages because the lower prices are uneconomic.

The political crisis is now merging into a larger economic crisis that Sharif hopes to exploit. The main problem with a government led by Sharif is that the Pakistan Army despises him. The outlook is for continuing leadership instability.

Pakistan appears to be heading towards another interlude of military government, as a relief from the non-stop political wrangling. The prospect of another Sharif government is enough by itself to prompt a military takeover, as it did in 1999 when Musharraf overthrew the government of Nawaz Sharif. The Pakistan Army is not likely to tolerate another government by Nawaz Sharif.

ramana wrote: It seems in the mid 80s he was on a study tour of Indnia sub-contienent. In TSP he was invited to the Prseident's palace and Madam Zia personally fired some pakodas and fed him.
In Delhi he couldn't get to meet the darwan/guard at PM's house.
That he felt was an insult to his scholarshisip and scarred his mind. He narrated that to his students in Uty of Illinois.

Its called the pakoda factor.

Nixon too was same problem. Out of office he went on world tour and got red-carpet treatment in Pindi. In Delhi he was recived as a common ivisitor. He held that against Mrs G and India when he got elected in 1968.

These guys claim to be Americans and believe in equality of people and expect royal treatment in rest of the world.

Holebroke also had same problem of expecting royal treatment.
BossGaru, I beg to differ slightly. You think Uneven does not get fawning adulation in India? He gets royal welcome as a "South asia expert" in all the useless think tanks in India. Apart from him, western elite reporters can easily get the ear of none other than MMS. We recently saw him give an interview to fiancial times, the newspaper that claimed Mumbai was perpetrated by "Hindu extremists". But I am sorry if cudgels fall on me, but when it comes to sucking up to whites, its India TSP equal equal onlee in different degrees; India only puts up a brave and confident front. Did whitehouse spokesman, that thug Gibbs rececive any reprimand for his rowdy behavior in Delhi recently? What about our netas, especially the "secularists" hating their BJP opposition counterparts so much so, that they discuss their politiical differences with white elites. I have mysewlf witnessed the treatment meted out to whites as opposed to sons of soil in elite hotels, bars etc in India. So the list goes on.

But you are right in general. Americans, while preaching equality BS, expect super royal treatment when they visit lesser people. On this count perhaphs, Uneven felt the treatment he got in India wasn't as royal as what he got in TSP. Ditto Holbrooke.

no-No . He gets that now after already being singed.

BTW he spent some time in Andhra uty, Vizag of all places!

BTw useless think tanks are all private: ORF, IPCS etc. He wants from GOI. No can do.

In Pakistan, concern for human rights advocate

http://www.politico.com/blogs/lauraroze ... ocate.html
In the wake of the assassination Monday of Punjab governor Salman Taseer by his bodyguard, Pakistan hands have expressed concern for the safety of another leading Pakistani voice of liberalism and human rights, former Pakistani Information Minister and journalist Sherry Rehman.

Like Taseer, Rehman, a member of the ruling PPP party, has criticized Pakistan’s blasphemy law under which a Pakistani Christian woman Asia Bibi has been sentenced to death for allegedly insulting the prophet Mohammed.

Pakistan’s Interior Minister Rehman Malik has reportedly urged Rehman to leave the country for her own security, but reports said Rehman had decided for now not to do so.

A formerly Pakistan-based colleague sends along a pamphlet threatening Rehman now in circulation in Karachi sent by a Pakistani contact.

He writes, “The Sultan Masjid of Defence, [the] biggest mosque in district South, has declared Sherry Rehman non-Muslim and Wajib ul Qatil (To be Killed). Sunday is the big rally against her and the law. The pamphlet attached is the one being distributed everywhere.”

^ I hope all these RAPEs immigrate to PRC.

I would like those two women: Shari Rehman (not Sherry like wine from Jerez) and Ayesha Jalal the lawyer to be given asylum in India. I don't want them sacrified to Beijing or Canada or what not.

Taslima Nasreen was allowed to visit India. Same case.

Err,
Who in India will give potential blasphemers asylum? Surely not Diggy Raja and Rahul Baba who have been on a Jihad, demonizing hindu terrorists and desperately trying to appease the muslim vote bank.

If someone is wajib-ul-cattle in Pakistan, congress won't touch them with a barge pole.

Waise bhi, I don't remember when India ever gave an asylum to someone where religious angles were involved.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

No coup-shoup. Jernails know that a coup will result in loss of revenue under Curry-Loser bill.

To prevent Badmash US might ask them to takeover. Badmash coming back is a major possiblity.

The General Wants Back into His Labyrinth

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2 ... _labyrinth
Pervez Musharraf: I call Nawaz Sharif a closet Taliban. He's a man who is -- who has been -- in contact with Taliban. He is a man who, today, appeases the clerics and mawlawis [Sunni Islamic scholars] -- the extremists. Moreover, he has tried [his hand at leadership as prime minister] twice in the past -- and he has failed. Why are we giving him a third chance to destroy Pakistan? My new party is an alternative to the people of Pakistan with the hope of changing the conditions of the people of Pakistan and the state.
Pervez Musharraf:: If you see my Facebook [page], which I launched eight months back, I have a fan [base] of 350,000 now today :rotfl: .
FP: Is it true, however, that some parts of the state security apparatus has sympathies with the Taliban -- as they did in the past?

PM: Yes, yes, that's right. Elements who have sympathy toward Taliban or al Qaeda in the past were there. They must still be there. But to blame the Army or the ISI is just having a very negative impact. As I said, the Army is there doing their job; it has suffered so many casualties. If anyone thinks that [there are rogue elements] at a strategic level -- at the level of the government or the Army headquarters or the ISI headquarters -- that there is an instruction being given down to cooperate with the Taliban -- this is absolutely baseless.

There may be some elements who are [cooperating with the Taliban]. But even there, we must understand and differentiate between strategy and tactics. Strategically, we have to defeat the Taliban and al Qaeda. But the moment [the West starts to] micromanage how to do that, we are in conflict with those [security forces] that are operating on the Pakistan side.

Krishna expects productive meeting with Qureshi

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 063402.ece
Asked about the agenda, he said Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was “very, very clear” that India would like to engage Pakistan in a dialogue. “There is no other alternative than talking to Pakistan, keeping them engaged, and thereby sorting out the outstanding issues.

Pakistan's shifting religious battles

http://afpak.foreignpolicy.com/posts/20 ... us_battles
But the Barelvi community's favorable stance toward the country's notorious blasphemy laws and its decision to support Governor Taseer's murderer demonstrate the fluidity of belief and group ideologies in Pakistan, rather than a strict dichotomy between Barelvis and others. This increasingly unclear line between hardliners and so-called moderates is all the more interesting when compared to developments taking place among Pakistan's more literalist Deobandi clerics, including a fascinating debate that recently took place within its religious circles about the war in Afghanistan.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Pakistan's shifting religious battles
http://afpak.foreignpolicy.com/posts/20 ... us_battles
Was there any?
These foreign policy experts need to spend few nights on the streets of "oil droplets" and even a stray dog will easily teach them about the non- distincition among all the Wahabi, Deobadi, Bra-levii, Jihadi, Fasadi itiyadi for they all do behno se Shaadi.

I was reading Tariq Fatahc' Chasing Mirage and a description came up. Recall I refer to the TSPA as Kabila guards. Well he has a better word. Jangawee: soldier or devil on horse.

When I gave my presentation for IRF on "Understanding Pakistan" the last slide had that kind of image of an Afghan at Cuddalore!

So from now on TSPA is a group of jangawees guarding the Kabila!

Explaining the Salman Taseer Murder
http://www.cfr.org/publication/23755/ex ... urder.html
Something as innocent as Christian and Muslim women sharing drinking water turned into a national display of bigotry, intolerance, and fanaticism in Pakistan. Asiya Bibi's case gained Pakistani national prominence because of brave, pluralist politicians such as Salman Taseer. He gave interviews saying that he had sought a presidential pardon for Bibi and appeared on national television with her.
In the eyes of the religious masses in Pakistan, stirred by clerics, Taseer was not viewed as the governor of Punjab coming to the aid of a woman from a religious minority community, who, whatever her alleged crime, did not deserve to be killed by the state or the mob. Instead, he was seen as a traitor. In Urdu media outlets, mosque sermons and in mass rallies, Asiya Bibi's case became a national symbol of defiance and asserting Muslim supremacy over "the other." Christianity symbolized the West, the U.S. drone attacks, and Taseer was part of the English-speaking elite who were in cahoots with "the enemy." Taseer's public support for a woman who insulted the prophet Mohamed was ample evidence, in their minds, of this global conspiracy against Islam and Muslims.The local became the national, and soon the international--as is often the case in Pakistan.
shynee

Post by shynee »

Blasphemy case registered against mentally challenged Muslim
LAHORE: The Kot Addu police have registered a case under the blasphemy law against a mentally challenged Muslim at the request of a local mosque’s cleric allegedly in an attempt to settle a rivalry with the family of the accused.

The case has been registered against Muhammad Amjad, son of Muhammad Nazir, by the cleric of their local mosque named Muhammad Sajid in Chak 621 PDA Chowk Sarwar Shaheedwala area of Kot Addu.

The case number 4/11 was registered by the Chowk Sarwar police on Wednesday while the complainant has also accused Amjad’s father Muhammad Nazir and a relative Muhammad Iqbal of conspiring to desecrate the holy Quran with the main accused.

The police raided the house of the accused and rounded up the son and his father on the same day on Sajid’s request, who stated in his registered FIR against Amjad that he set the holy Quran on fire in the courtyard of the mosque, where he (Sajid) is serving as the chief cleric, and then ran away.

Sajid claimed that the incident took place on Wednesday morning, but he did not see Amjad perpetrating the act personally, and only found the desecrated Quran in the mosque premises, while his students told him that the deed was committed by Amjad. Moreover, he has also stated in the FIR that Amjad committed the blasphemy on the orders of his father Nazir and a relative Muhammad Iqbal, and sought action against both of them as well.

However, locals and human rights activists dealing with the case told Daily Times that Amjad had been mentally challenged since his birth and was not aware of the worldly affairs, and it was impossible for him to conspire or understand the meaning of blasphemy at all.

They said that there was a traditional rift between the families of Sajid and Amjad and the complainant used the blasphemy law as a tool to settle his score with his rivals. They also alleged that the authorities picked up both the father and son despite knowing that Amjad was mentally challenged and that the police was favouring the complainant in this case.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Krishna expects productive meeting with Qureshi

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 063402.ece
Asked about the agenda, he said Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was “very, very clear” that India would like to engage Pakistan in a dialogue. “There is no other alternative than talking to Pakistan, keeping them engaged, and thereby sorting out the outstanding issues.
bhat is he smoking??

or has the GOI given up on tackle terror and we will talk to you.

This repeatedly going to Pakistan for talks by the MMS government, I suspect that the MMS-Musharraf plan is being again brought on the table.
Kiyani was COAS when this deal was being worked out with Mushy, and Kiyani knows all the details that went on.
Maybe track II have persuaded the pakistanis to start off where mushy left off.

The aim is to slowly end the terror attacks and Jihadi groups that Pakistan trains and sends across, and in return India will take some steps to reduce security forces, the AFSPA, greater travel between people across the LOC, and god knows what.

All this hinges on building trust with the pakistanis - none of this will ever work if they show that they have not changed.

One thing I would like to point out though. Even if Pakistan temporarily halts terror attacks, and empties the terror camps in POK, it will still have a huge Jihadi force, it will still have a well armed civilian population. India will have to be careful, though it seems that the danger of a few hundred jihadis taking over the valley are a bit exaggerated, the armed forces will still have to be on alert.

Gagan wrote: The aim is to slowly end the terror attacks and Jihadi groups that Pakistan trains and sends across, and in return India will take some steps to reduce security forces, the AFSPA, greater travel between people across the LOC, and god knows what.
Since Pakis don't care for the citizens of J&K, reduction of security forces and removal of AFSPA are irrelevant for them. I don't think Pakis will stop terror attacks for greater travel across the LoC. If they had cared for economic ties, they would made necessary changes in their policy many years ago. So the catch lies in the "god knows what" part of the bargain.

Prem, That article by Ed Husain shows very little understanding of the factors that led to Taseer's murder. The murder is par for the course for an Islamist state. The actions are exactly wha happened under the four Caliphs. The writer is advised to read Tariq Fatah's Chasing the Mirage. Its all related to principles laid down then.

Arab>Muslim> people of book>others
Political opponents taken out by claiming blasphemy (khalid Bin Walid killed Caliph's opponents)
Blasphemy is anything the mullah-politicians decide.

The writer is bringing in US drone attacks in typical RAPE manner and confusing the issues.

Taseer was marked the minute he chose to seek pardon for the woman.

Look at how Ali was treated by the three Caliphs.

Qadri case should abide by Shariah, sentiment: JuD

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/Qadri ... JuD/734951

I dont know how many recall my rants about Zawabit and Shariat?

Caliph Umar was the first one to apply Zawabit when he created the Caliphate state structures.

Zawabit in the words of Ziauddin Barani is "The king must rule!"
JuD advising Shariat is bunkum. A murder has been committed and it has to be judged by penal code.

This death in Pakistan

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/this- ... n/734931/0
But as somebody who knew Salman more than a bit, particularly in his street-fighting years (and my pavement-thumping years as a reporter), I am surprised by how little is said of him as a genuine Pakistani patriot and a proud Muslim. Also, while he had the Pakistani liberal’s usual respect for India’s democracy, his belief in the two-nation theory, the ideology of Pakistan was unshakeable. He would pamper silly a friend visiting from India — but if you as much as mentioned Kashmir, he would pounce on it as if somebody had bowled one short outside Inzamam ul-Haq’s off-stump.
Postscript: Here is my favourite Salman Taseer story. Sometime in 1993, I took him out to lunch on one of his visits to Delhi, and we talked the usual stuff for a couple of hours. He came back with me to my office (at India Today) for some more gossip, and as we were climbing the narrow Connaught Place steps to the second floor, he asked me what would be the problem if a plebiscite was held and the Kashmiris opted for Pakistan. I said, it would be a mortal blow to the secular nationalism we are building as, thereon, all other Muslims will be seen as suspect, and may even be victimised. His jaw tightened, he made a mock gesture to roll up his sleeve, and said, “if you victimise your Muslims, you think the 14 crore Muslims of Pakistan will sit like cowards and do nothing?” (His exact expression: “Hum 14 crore Pakistani Mussalman bhi chudiya pehen ke nahin baithe rahenge.”) Now how would you describe Salman? In my book, a liberal Pakistani nationalist, a proud Muslim, and of course so bluntly Punjabi.

abhishek_sharma wrote: http://www.indianexpress.com/news/this- ... n/734931/0
Postscript: “if you victimise your Muslims, you think the 14 crore Muslims of Pakistan will sit like cowards and do nothing?” (His exact expression: “Hum 14 crore Pakistani Mussalman bhi chudiya pehen ke nahin baithe rahenge.”) Now how would you describe Salman? In my book, a liberal Pakistani nationalist, a proud Muslim, and of course so bluntly Punjabi.
For Pakistanis we can creat new definitions.

For example you have the concept of virgin - "virgo intacta" on the one hand and a woman who has done it. But this definition leaves out those who are "slightly virgin" - i,e those who are not virgins but by adjustment and bhaichara we can say "OK she is virgin"

Same goes for "Liberals". You have liberals, and then you have conservatives, and then you have "Pakistani liberals" who are slightly liberal, like slightly virgin.

abhishek_sharma wrote:This death in Pakistan

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/this- ... n/734931/0
But as somebody who knew Salman more than a bit, particularly in his street-fighting years (and my pavement-thumping years as a reporter), I am surprised by how little is said of him as a genuine Pakistani patriot and a proud Muslim. Also, while he had the Pakistani liberal’s usual respect for India’s democracy, his belief in the two-nation theory, the ideology of Pakistan was unshakeable. He would pamper silly a friend visiting from India — but if you as much as mentioned Kashmir, he would pounce on it as if somebody had bowled one short outside Inzamam ul-Haq’s off-stump.
Postscript: Here is my favourite Salman Taseer story. Sometime in 1993, I took him out to lunch on one of his visits to Delhi, and we talked the usual stuff for a couple of hours. He came back with me to my office (at India Today) for some more gossip, and as we were climbing the narrow Connaught Place steps to the second floor, he asked me what would be the problem if a plebiscite was held and the Kashmiris opted for Pakistan. I said, it would be a mortal blow to the secular nationalism we are building as, thereon, all other Muslims will be seen as suspect, and may even be victimised. His jaw tightened, he made a mock gesture to roll up his sleeve, and said, “if you victimise your Muslims, you think the 14 crore Muslims of Pakistan will sit like cowards and do nothing?” (His exact expression: “Hum 14 crore Pakistani Mussalman bhi chudiya pehen ke nahin baithe rahenge.”) Now how would you describe Salman? In my book, a liberal Pakistani nationalist, a proud Muslim, and of course so bluntly Punjabi.
His favourite Taseer story tells us that the guy was a braggart and bully. I mean, just read the article!

I am not surprised that Shekhar thinks this is a 'good' story. But I would be stunned if any reasonable person would think this reflects positively on Taseer.

How do you think they would treat an Indian who said comparatively the same thing about Pakistanis in Islamabad?

Based on Ramana's hierarchy a few posts above, Salman's case highlights the need for distinguishing between 'people of the book' liberals and genuine liberals. The liberality of the former would not extend to beyond people of the book - and all indications are that Salman was of this variety.

I think Shekhar Gupta meant something else. He wants to provide a fair characterization of Salman Taseer and he has chosen a story which accurately reflects it.

Even Hafeez Saeed (and his group) helped the victims of 2005 earthquake in PoK. I wouldn't shed tears if someone kills him.

You Kuffur why do you think some bious would kill Saeed. No Son of the SDREs has the guts to get to within 10 miles of the great "social worker".

Am glad that the voices of moderation are being silenced one by one in the TSP. The sooner the mask (RAPE) of moderation is ripped from the TSP. The better it is for us. But it will be difficult for the DIE to see it that way.

abhishek_sharma wrote:I think Shekhar Gupta meant something else. He wants to provide a fair characterization of Salman Taseer and he has chosen a story which accurately reflects it.
No sah. Shekhar means exactly what he writes, that is his trade.

Moreover, if this is what he thinks is a 'fair characterization' of Taseer, then gawd help either fair characterizations, or Taseer!
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

Just as the widely held myth of "A stable and prosperous Pakistan is in India's interest" there is another long held myth that keeps getting repeated - "There is no alternative but to talk to Pakistan, no matter how moronic the leadership there is". At every opportunity, this gets aired by the benefactors of Pakistan, chiefly the USG.

Look at the reasons being touted for this myth:

1. You cannot escape geography, Pakistan is your neighbour and you need to talk to your neighbour even if he is an obnoxious anti-social fellow.

2. You are a rich neighbour, a stronger neighbour, and you should not begrudge the space that your poor badly behaved neighbour has encroached on.You should give it up, so that you can be recognized as a great power.

3. You and your neighbour once shared a common ancestry and culture, no matter how much your neighbour hates that and you, you have a moral duty to be friendly to them and share your wealth and property.

4. There can be no progress and GDP growth for India and in the South Asian region if you do not talk to your neighbour. It is your duty to achieve that GDP growth to pull millions of your people out of poverty.

5. Your population has millions who share the same religion as Pakistan, in order to please them and make them feel safe in India you need to talk to Pakistan since these millions share a tremendous feeling of kinship with that state and they want Pakistan to survive and succeed in its aims (incidentally the chief aim of pakistan is the destruction of India).

What is amazing is despite the obvious weakness of all the above mentioned reasons, the aam aadmi in India does not even question this position of - we must talk to Pakistan.

Even, if you disregard the fallacy of the reasons for talking, whom do we talk to in Pakistan today? Even the benefactors of Pakistan are not sure about it. Then how come the GOI is still bent on talking to everyone in Pakistan? If one questions this, he is labelled as an extremist war monger.

Slowly, the ruling party is sliding into even labelling nationalism as non-secular. This is appeasement gone beyond reason. It must be stopped.
Last edited by Raja Ram on 08 Jan 2011 09:34, edited 1 time in total.

From twitter. Is this true?
twitter link
One reason why Musharraf is hated so in Pakistan is because his wife is a Ahmeddiya and during his tenure he gave many in army a fillip.
shynee

Post by shynee »

No bearded cop to guard VVIPs
LA(W)HORE – In a major policy shift in the aftermath of Punjab Governor Salmaan Taseer’s assassination by one of his security guards, the provincial government has begun proper screening and scrutiny of the officials of Elite Force to avoid any further untoward happening.
Well-placed sources revealed here on Friday that ten bearded personnel of Elite Force have been withdrawn from VVIP’s security as the governor’s killing sparked security concerns among the top politicians, particularly liberal and moderate ones.
Last edited by shynee on 08 Jan 2011 08:55, edited 1 time in total.

Hari Seldon wrote:From twitter. Is this true?
twitter link
One reason why Musharraf is hated so in Pakistan is because his wife is a Ahmeddiya and during his tenure he gave many in army a fillip.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minorities ... tan#Ahmadi
According to the 1973 constitution of Pakistan, the Ahmadiyya, a minor sect in Islam, have been excommunicated from Islam. Since Pervez Musharraf took power in a coup d'état and assumed the title of President of Pakistan on June 20, 2001 people belonging to the Ahmadiyya sect have been promoted in both the military and civil government. Some believe that this is because his wife Begum Sehba Musharraf belongs to the Ahmadiyya sect; however, there isn't any conclusive report on this matter.

hahaha. just saying, Zia-ul-Haq never sported a beard :)

^ More examples: Hamid Gul, Mirza Aslam Beg, Md Atta

Raja Ram wrote:
Wonder full post as usual.
The question is who is going to stop the GOI. To them the saffron terrorists already represent a greater threat to India then the LET and its ilk. What to say of the Ideology of the TSP.

The definition of secularism has been stretched to the breaking point.

But don't worry the TSP will again kick the half brained GOI in the head causing the GOI to go into sullen silence for another 6 months. After which the whole drama will be repeated again. With the BRF going into tizzy thinking what is it that the GOI is going to surrender this time. :P

So on its own the GOI will give it all up. But the TSP is what keeps things in check by routinely kicking the GOI in the head. So the TSP is better Indian nationalist then the GOI. :mrgreen:

GoI is hell-bent on 'talking' to TSP, whatever that means. Now if GoI is being chankian and allowing the enemy to commit hara-kiri without a life-saving 'Yindoo conspiracy' slogan to rescue the poaks, then its one thing. I don;t buy that line however.

Once again, we're left to Pak's stoopidity to save GoI policy. Sigh.

Raja Ram wrote: Slowly, the ruling party is sliding into even labelling nationalism as non-secular. This is appeasement gone beyond reason. It must be stopped.
Boss great points, but that preaching to the choir here on BR, but on the bolded part, can you tell us how? MMS & Co are on a roll, nothing, not Mumbai, not the 2G scanda, not commonwealth fiascao etc that shows their incompetence seems to upset the Indian public. So how do we stop him from going ahead with his TSP bhaichara?

“if you victimise your Muslims, you think the 14 crore Muslims of Pakistan will sit like cowards and do nothing?” (His exact expression: “Hum 14 crore Pakistani Mussalman bhi chudiya pehen ke nahin baithe rahenge.”) Now how would you describe Salman? In my book, a liberal Pakistani nationalist, a proud Muslim, and of course so bluntly Punjabi.

I resent this-why does violence and gibbering idiocy have to be so bluntly Panjabi?