Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

M$ never had a dearth of tech talent. As I mentioned before, it is the powerpoint/spreadsheet giri that is holding them back. Office team would have made the software for iPad. Some powerpoint strategery guru from the windows side would have wanted Office for iPad to be delayed to give surface a chance. The fact that they made the sane decision at the end means that sanity is prevailing at last.

They have had the best platform and the most profitable applications in the PC market for several decades, that is not due to lack of technical talent.

^^^Absolutely. Just like Congress party has good karyakarties, M$FT does as well, but doesn't mean that the management has got it all right.

Anujan wrote:M$ never had a dearth of tech talent. As I mentioned before, it is the powerpoint/spreadsheet giri that is holding them back. Office team would have made the software for iPad. Some powerpoint strategery guru from the windows side would have wanted Office for iPad to be delayed to give surface a chance. The fact that they made the sane decision at the end means that sanity is prevailing at last.

They have had the best platform and the most profitable applications in the PC market for several decades, that is not due to lack of technical talent.
er...like I said stuff like moving from OS to software services or even smaller stuff like making iPad for Office didn't happen overnight. As much as people would like to blame Fester, all these steps were approved and started under his watch years ago. Companies like Mickey have strong division heads who know their businesse units inside out (Nadella was one of them). Chacha is another company shaping up like that - both in good and bad ways, though whether they can branch out into other stuff in terms of profitability is something to be seen in the next 5-6 years.

In general, technical talent is not enough to create or dominate any market - that is the BS which is fed to hordes to lower level injineers since time immemorial. Its for nothing that tech VCs always say that the technical aspect is a necessary component but not the most important component to have a successful business. If technical talent was what drove sales, HTC would be eating Samsung's lunch.

Mortullah, If the only viable competition is AAP then Congis days on the throne are secure onlee :mrgreen: One needs a Modi but there is none on the horizon.

^^^In the next decade we may see a Namo or two rising.

Windows ko goli maar..Ab ki baar Modi Sarkaar! :)

aaah.. there is a contradiction there.. can't goli maar something modi sarkaar wants everyone in desh to own one.

^^^Namo has talked about kamputer not which OS. :mrgreen:

Mort Walker wrote:^^^In the next decade we may see a Namo or two rising.

Windows ko goli maar..Ab ki baar Modi Sarkaar! :)
Decade is a millenium in tech industry....if any of the current companies last that long that would be an achievement for them. The likes of Mickey and ChipZ are already over 30 years old and still going strong. If the naya bachchas can last that long, then we are talkin'. :mrgreen:

Mort Walker wrote:^^^Namo has talked about kamputer not which OS. :mrgreen:
Its a well known secret. Gujarat Govt Supports OSS Linux.

The Gujarat Government has decided to do away with the well known Microsoft Windows and looking forward to put a step into the world of the LINUX for use in nearly about 3650 schools in the state,so nearly that much schools might be installed with Linux OS which is internationally regarded as alternative to Windows OS, yes its really exciting news.

The state government is expecting the saving of about 100 million by installing the LINUX operating system into the school instead of Microsoft WIndows.

“If the experiment in schools is successful, we will go ahead and do it for computers in Sachivalaya, too”, chief minister Narendra Modi said, adding, “Installation of Microsoft Windows OS on each computer costs Rs 5,000. With Linux, we will save huge sums.”

How does he manage to track down things to the minute level such as OS on operating systems? Amazing!

How many of you have had congress bots with fake twitter profiles spam you over and over making fun of BJP? Its so obvious that they are fake profiles.

abhischekcc wrote: I have been thinking of using MS-Access for some time. Is there any disadvantage of doing so - given my requirements for sharing?
Never liked MS-access historically, because it was rather under-powered for my requirements and not very good after data reached a certain size or when multiple people need to access the DB at the same time (DB often got corrupted). To be fair, Microsoft may have fixed some of those issues now. However, MS-Access is pretty decent for single user app on a desktop, with moderate amounts of data (I think it still has issues once the DB gets close to 2 GB in size).
member_28352

Post by member_28352 »

Gurulog, whats a good Indian alternative to massa based email service providers like gmail, hotmail or yahoo. I know there is rediff, with servers in India etc, but anything with better interface.

Ever since MS started offering MS SQL Server Express Edition, there is no excuse for using MS Access.

I am actually thinking MySQL nowadays. It will enable me to share the data online, and it will always be an updated copy.

The only problem is the learning curve!!!

^^ Not very different if you come from the oracle world.

Why not try Postgresql which (i found out a few years back) was very easy to go back and forth with Oracle? It is also more robust and scales better than MySQL (LAMP stack - in which PHP is another laggard). Instead of LAMP one can do LAPP (LA Postgresql and Pyhton) which has more tools and libraries.

abhischekcc wrote:I am trying to build a genealogy/personnel linkage application. I have the database structure all mapped out.
Just one more suggestion. Since you're doing one of those "people connected to people" apps, have you looked at a graph database? If not, look at something like Neo4j. There is a free version and it runs on Windows as well as other OSs. Graph databases are suited for queries regarding connected nodes (e.g. finding a connection from one person to another person via N other people in between, a.k.a. 6 degrees of separation). Neo4j's website has good tutorials as well as online examples to play around with (their demo has a graph of actors and the movies that they acted in, and one can write queries to determine how to connect one actor to another via other actors who were in the same movies together).

also there is WIMP - windows, iis, ms-sql, php

i'd really like ultrabooks with blue-rays..

I think ArmenT's suggestion is good - nicely abstracts away the nitty gritty of DBMS DML/DQL into a domain specific stack. OTOH could be inflexible unless APIs are accessible from a not too high-level languages like C{++} or Python.

SaiK wrote:also there is WIMP - windows, iis, ms-sql, php

i'd really like ultrabooks with blue-rays..
Then it is not strictly an UltraBook.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultrabook

True ultrabooks typically keep out optical drives and are full SSD. No moving parts.

What you are looking for is a very slim laptop, some of the Lenovo and Samsung models will fit.

Sammy GS5...more plasticky crap. Its a shame that HTC despite building gorgeous phones is getting the short end of the stick....like I mentioned before, instead of Motor Oil Chacha should have purchased HTC.

Samsung Galaxy S5 review

This is all nice and fluffy but what exactly is it they are trying to solve? Custom phones? Phones for the next billion? Shenzhen already got that covered....you can order small batches of fully customized phones (< 50 volume), have them made at a very cheap price and sell it to the low-end. And those phones are integrated into a monolithic housing too, without the 25% overhead these folks are compromising on. 25% in today's CE devices is a huge number - people fight over 1-3% reductions, hence I doubt mango consumers are going to accept that number simply for the sake for modularity, anymore than they will buy a car with less fuel efficiency and less performance just becoz its parts can be swapped to create custom configurations. Plus the problem is these guys are taking a engineering approach to solving something which requires something other than an engineering solution.

Building blocks: how Project Ara is reinventing the smartphone

^from rbullah's posted article:
but it means you can spill coffee on your phone (which I did), get caught in a rainstorm (check), or drop your phone in the urinal (twice), and it'll live to see another day.
this is one thing that I never receive or talk during p!ss-aap times. btw, from this note, i can assume sammy s5 is useless if you drop it in the urinals thrice.

other than that, i like the s5 good stuffs.. though i am willing to sacrifice on the plastic as long as it can take little abuse from kids.

who knows, i might only switch to it for my next 2 year lease that is coming june. whichever is available for <50 bucks deal, 'm goin-in for it - iphone 5s or sammy 5s..offer dependent by sprint corp.

i have no other option on the free data + 500 min deal stealer as long my dhost hangs around with sprint to provide me the plans.

abhischekcc wrote:I want a software that will help me build the UI (data entry) and database in the same thing. I also want to share the application and the data with other people.

Help suggest the right software ($0) that can do these functions in Windoze. I found Filemaker but the price ain't right.
abhischekcc: This kindle book (written by a desi :) ) is free at the moment. HTH.

Your Own Database Driven Website using PHP MySql - Connecting MySql Database to Webpages (Web Development) [Kindle Edition]
Somnath PaulChoudhury (Author)

Photos: 15 gadgets to reduce your energy consumption

Some look interesting

* All bamboo keyboard (reduces dependence on plastic and eliminates dumping of non-biodegradables into the landfills ideal for developed world which pollutes the most)

* A battery that gets charged while people are exercising, walking, running, or jogging

* A battery that hooks onto the axle of a bike and gets charged while cycling

* Solar powered headphones

http://www.intomobile.com/2013/10/16/de ... more-1200/
missed it!.. i can't get one of this spec for that price now.

Please advise if the - import data from web * - feature that is allowed by excel, registers on the server hosting the data as a normal hit or as something more intrusive.

*http://office.microsoft.com/en-in/excel ... 18472.aspx

In the sense that some of the data is from entities I would not want to know me.
Then also some of the stockprice sites would be getting queried every 15 or so minutes.
The second part may even be illegal and I may have to avoid it (not sure yet).

Essentially i want to understand how this querying feature works and whether it would even be legal if I intend to use it for strictly personal purposes.

TIA.

http://www.wired.com/2014/04/https/

Pliss to read 1st comment

q: so without optical drives, how does one install apps that comes via CD/DVDs? one has to be connected via net otherwise and apps available for download.

or, the world should move away from optical drives and provide all large applications including multimedia services via SD cards.

Even Mickey is ramping down on Windoze CD/DVDs no? Its all net delivered maal now.

neela, big-ips move towards bulk TLS.

and the secured vs non-secured is purely the deal between company data.
on the public network, having secured packet sent defeats the very purpose of being open.

all applications and software are available over internet nowadays.
even inside our corporate network, the IT support has stopped repairing/replacing these optical drives. all software installation is done over the network.
in fact such installations are scheduled for...they start automatically the moment we logon to the domain...without any human intervention.

optical disks are still used by the media industry for obvious reasons.

Galaxy s5 for $650 unlocked, buy or skip?

Skip for now. Wait for next Moto phone and if possible Yech-Tea-Sea, then compare/evaluate.

Ive been waiting long. Had better hopes from the new htc one. Next year snapdragon 810 will whoop all of todays heroes.there is always something next..
Whats bad about the s5 is my question.

archan wrote:Galaxy s5 for $650 unlocked, buy or skip?
Read and judge for yourself:
AnandTech Galaxy S5 Review

The S5 is an improvement over the S4, some people don't like the plastic body, but it does keep weight low for such a large screen.
If I had a choice between the HTC One M8 and Galaxy S5, I would probably go for the S5 unless I really wanted the front speakers and metal body.

Personally, I am awaiting the Nexus 6, but that is another story.

I'm not too keen on metal body and "upscale" looks but it must be something I can keep for 3-4 years like this Skyrocket. I have read the camera is at par with Sony Z 20 MP in daylight. Nexus 5 is 350 bucks and pretty good. How about its camera?

The S5 is an incremental improvement over the S4 unlike the redesign Samsung claimed back in 2013 that it would be. If you like the GS4 you will like GS5. If not, you wont. As far as lasting 3-4 years goes, any of these phones will do. The Nexus5 is also a good option. As far as cameras go, there is Nokia followed by Apple as distant second and then the rest a distant third.

Archan sir don't buy android from Samsung , Sony or HTC buy the nexus 5 , Android runs best in its stock form sammy bloatware slows you down and more importantly it takes months to get to current android version.

In any case no smart phone today can last more than 3 years as paki OS vendor will not support the hardware , iOS is better than android in this department but there too 3 years is pretty much the limit . I have a 4s running latest iOS and I don't think that this device will be able to run the major version release with 6.

http://www.theverge.com/2014/4/16/56198 ... -g3-launch

Makes sense..
Perhaps I'll lug around and wait for Nexus 6 as Mort ji says. The preview above is indeed yummy.