Indian Manufacturing Sector

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Mollick.R

Re: Indian Manufacturing Sector

Post by Mollick.R »

German, Japanese firms eye Syrma SGS’ new PCB plants amid supply-chain shift from China

November 26, 2025 / 15:52 IST

Electronics manufacturer Syrma SGS is lining up a major push into printed circuit board (PCB) manufacturing, holding talks with German, Japanese and Taiwanese companies looking to diversify away from China for their incremental demand. The company’s upcoming PCB facilities have triggered interest from global firms in automation, automotive and energy hardware, signalling one of India’s strongest early cases of import substitution in high-value components.

The company’s PCB portfolio will cater to industrial, automotive, consumer, renewable energy, space, med-tech, power electronics and selective telecom applications.

“We won’t target mobile phones initially. Also, energy meters are a major opportunity — the government has to deploy around 50 million energy meters. Solar inverters and other mass applications also present large PCB demand,” Gujral added.

Syrma eventually plans to use these PCBs for its own EMS operations.

“…we can produce multi-layer PCBs for our own needs. However, our internal volumes may be relatively small, so we will prioritise external customers. But having the ability to source in-house adds flexibility and credibility; for very large volume orders we will supply ourselves.”.

Five applications under ECMS 2.0

Under the ECMS 2.0 scheme, the company has filed five applications — including three for multi-layer PCBs, HDI PCBs and CCL (Copper Clad Laminate), and two others for camera modules and magnetic/mechanical components. It has already received approvals for a multi-layer PCB plant in Andhra Pradesh and a camera module facility in Pune.

“The multi-layer PCB is our first priority. In the first week of December, we will finalise construction start dates. This is a large factory of about 700,000 sq. ft. at Naidupeta. If construction starts now, we expect to complete construction and install machines by December next year, start trial production, and begin commercial production by April 2027,” he said.

Japanese tech tie-up for the Camera module unit

For its camera module unit, Syrma SGS is close to sealing a partnership with a Japanese company and plans Rs 250 crore investment over five years, targeting revenues of Rs 600–700 crore.

“It’s relatively small compared to PCB but is a high-technology segment. We are negotiating technology partnerships. A camera module ecosystem is largely in China, but original technology often comes from Japan, and Japan also has capabilities. For PCBs and camera modules, we prefer stable, non-Chinese partnerships where possible,” Gujral said.

Applications span mobile devices, laptops, surveillance systems, drones and automotive. “We are assessing which segments to prioritise. It will most likely be other than mobile — mobile is highly volume-driven and tightly integrated into OEM/ODM ecosystems,” he said.

read full article from here
https://www.moneycontrol.com/technology ... 7453.html