OTOH, if it is all black then the widespread price rise not limited to centers of commerce means, there is no need to fish for black in swiss banks as it is all converted to brick and mortar onlee within the confines of the republic.

Sirji, please consider one simple example (there you go again...Bade wrote:rohitvats, thanks for the explanation and getting rid of my despair that rupee may hit 100:1 ratio with dollar with timeand that my investments already there would not mean much if I ever have to repatriate back the proceeds of a sale for any emergency.
OTOH, if it is all black then the widespread price rise not limited to centers of commerce means, there is no need to fish for black in swiss banks as it is all converted to brick and mortar onlee within the confines of the republic.
RamaY wrote:Rohitvatsji,
^ your above post goes slightly against your previous post regarding commercial RE. we see people getting 30-40% ROE in some scenarios, but they also have fixed assets that hardly give 6-7% ROE.
No Sir, it does not. When I said Commercial RE, I clearly mentioned office space segment. The 6%-7% yield is worked out basis the capital value of such RE Asset and the expected rental which can be achieved.The 30%-40% ROI is in case someone invests in residential real estate projects with a bit sane valuation of land (and not even the historic purchase price, which is rock bottom). RE focused PE Funds in India, the most clean investors in RE Segment, don't touch a project if the pre-tax IRR is less than 25%. Simple onleee....
There is black money, and there is BLACK MONEY. The first variety is is held by 2nd and 3rd tier black-babus, who cannot open swiss/bwiss accounts. This is fueling local RE market. These black money amounts are in the range of 1-100 crores, at maximum. Even the larges land banks by these state actors is limited to 10-100s of acres.
The investment happens at various stages. (1) During purchase of land bank (2) infusing equity in the development of the project (3) purchase of assets. Your biggest fish, like India's son-in-law, are rumored to come in at stage 1 because they also have the political power to influence the development corridors are marked in a certain direction. Other big players like ministers and very senior babus with big share of pie come in at 2nd stage. As you rightly pointed out, the local Class II/III/IV employees come in stage 3 when asset sales happen. These are ones caught with multiple plots and apartments and couple of kilograms of gold in bank lockers.
Coming to the investment part - a group housing project of 10 acres and with FSI of 2 (total built-up area potential-~870K sq.ft) and per sq.ft of construction cost @1800 per sq.ft., will require ~160-180 crores (EXCLUDING LAND). Most of this is recovered from the buyers itself through the Construction Linked Payment Plan which is front loaded.
Then you have the non-state actors. This BLACK MONEY comes mainly from defense deals, M&A etc., and this goes in '000s of crores. Only few bada babus, businessmen, their brokers etc., have the access to swiss/bwiss accounts.
These are ones which are sophisticated players who take stakes in project.
JMHT
Undeveloped land is available for a "song" for a good reason, it will remain that way for a long time to come. The land that is along the "development" corridors are either already bought up (by the politicos and allied interests) and /or fully priced in.Theo Fidel wrote:Rohit is right.
As I have pointed out undeveloped land is still available for a song. It is once the middle men get hold of it that $600,000 apartments start showing up.
Perhaps I did not draft this correctly. I am not accusing Mallus (or Bongs) to be lazy. We have seen numerous cases where people from these states have done extremely well, but in many cases once they are out side their own mother states. Kerala cannot have big industries. But how about at least knowing what industries may actually survive there? Yes, Tourism does well. But how many people can tourism as an employer absorb?Bade wrote:I have said this before, the terrain, climate and environment does not support existence of heavy industries in KL, nothing to do with laziness or otherwise of the people.
This is exactly what one of my managers told me over a cup of coffee, two weeks back. Bengaluru had a large number of colleges and people from all states landed up here. So for any industry to start off in Bengaluru, people were not an issue. Plus the state government also seems to have a liking for such things, and helped the budding industries like IT (Kerala commies at this time were throwing out computers, stating jobs will be lostIn the case of Blur, good weather is a great attraction. But the umpteen engg colleges did create that pathway for migration too for people from all over.
How do you get around Coastal zone regulation ?Theo_Fidel wrote: Like I said I think ocean access is hugely undervalued at present. The OMR apartments at a about 1-km in-shore and charge in crores. Land on the coast is undeveloped and that same 1-2 crore buys you several grounds of land. I guess it is a risk I'm taking only.
Bade saar, wonderfully put - something we call as building the 'ECOSYSTEM' for ensuring the growth of the technology or such high value industries. The infrastructure is just one part of it - the all important Human Resource is actually the Achilles Heel here....and developing this aspect is long term game. Any city wanting to evolve into hi-tech industry of any sort needs to act as magnet for talent - everything else follows naturally. Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai and Gurgaon are huge magnets for HR; I've had to answer the question of feasibility of setting up IT infra (SEZ/Office Space) for many Tier II/III Cities as part of what I do - and each time I talk to IT/ITES Companies, their most common refrain is in terms of HR potential.Bade wrote:<SNIP> What it has to do now is focus on attracting Research oriented institutes. IISER & IIST is one, may be IIT would be the next. More similar ones in the works and wait for another 20-30 yrs for the next cycle of innovation and boombefore anything happens there. Meanwhile build up on infrastructure like roads, HSR, metro before talent gets attracted and most importantly become cosmopolitan in nature. All that dubai exposure will make it to some extent.
I guess there is more big ice caps to melt.. and even if the last few blocks melt, the ocean would not raise anything higher than 6" over next century. So, it should be really good time for beach side REs.Theo_Fidel wrote: Globally this has not affected seashore property values, just insurance costs.
Dewang was being tracked by the western media. Was worried on the coverage given to himSaiK wrote:yes.. met dewang mehta ji.. 1994ish..times. only few one line talks.. very sharp guy. he could have been our donald trump.
Ah .. But Bade Mian, as a Fyzzicist, you should take a look at Fyzzics before putting statements like that.Bade wrote:SaiK, most of ice in the northern hemisphere is floating, not on land. So its melting will not affect sea level rise much. When Antartic ice melts it will have a huge impact.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenland_ice_sheetThe Greenland ice sheet (Kalaallisut: Sermersuaq) is a vast body of ice covering 1,710,000 square kilometres (660,235 sq mi), roughly 80% of the surface of Greenland. It is the second largest ice body in the world, after the Antarctic Ice Sheet. The ice sheet is almost 2,400 kilometres (1,500 mi) long in a north-south direction, and its greatest width is 1,100 kilometres (680 mi) at a latitude of 77°N, near its northern margin. The mean altitude of the ice is 2,135 metres (7,005 ft).[1] The thickness is generally more than 2 km (1.24 mi) and over 3 km (1.86 mi) at its thickest point. It is not the only ice mass of Greenland – isolated glaciers and small ice caps cover between 76,000 and 100,000 square kilometres (29,344 and 38,610 sq mi) around the periphery. Some scientists predict that climate change may be near a "tipping point" where the entire ice sheet will melt in about 2000 years.[2] If the entire 2,850,000 cubic kilometres (683,751 cu mi) of ice were to melt, it would lead to a global sea level rise of 7.2 m (23.6 ft).[3]
Density of water is 1 gm/cc (by basic definition of gram) (lets assume that the oceans are totally fresh water). Since ice floats, it is less dense than water, say X gm/cc.SaiK wrote:mm.. bad memories for me.. I thought by weight same displacement., so ice must be less denser.
As an ingineer you got to be more exact than a fizzicistvina wrote:Density of water is 1 gm/cc (by basic definition of gram) (lets assume that the oceans are totally fresh water). Since ice floats, it is less dense than water, say X gm/cc.
Wanted to ask you on this ? Are you referring to Smart City project and if so why so negative, after all it should fit in the spokes in a wheel policy of distributed development of GoKL.hnair wrote:It is up to the current Kerala govt to not mess it up. But mess it up they will, with their ever lasting love affair with Middle-eastUnless the current CM goes and executes on his yearning for a lasting legacy.