Indian Economy - News & Discussion Oct 12 2013

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
nawabs

Re: Indian Economy - News & Discussion Oct 12 2013

Post by nawabs »

Online prices, offline woes

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 270_1.html
I spoke to the Bangalore-based computer retailer Hari Rastogi, who's formed a group, We Will Act, to protest against, what he says are predatory pricing strategies of large online platforms. "Most of the large e-retailers like Flipkart have received huge funds from foreign venture capitalists. To drive their online sales and grab a larger market share, they're selling products at loss-making prices," he told me. The capital invested in them allows them to bear the losses on sales, but smaller retailers have no such backup. According to his website, over a thousand retailers have signed up to protest against the unethical pricing strategies of online players. "But call any computer retailer from the Yellow Pages and ask about the competition he's facing from online platforms. No one can compete with someone who doesn't want to make a profit at all!"

On their Facebook page, I read the story of Raju, who owns a shop called Laptop Bazaar in Bangalore. "In the last one year, I have hardly sold any laptops," he said on the phone. "Customers now keep track of online prices and ask me to match them," he said. However, prices of the same laptops on Flipkart and other online vendors are even below his distribution price. "I've asked the sales managers and distributors of computer companies how their products are selling at such low prices online. They say that they can't do anything if an online vendor wants to sell at a loss," he said. "As a result, I am losing my customers as well as their trust, as they go away feeling that I'm overcharging them," said Raju. Consequently, he is focusing on growing the computer maintenance aspect of his business, and has virtually stopped selling computers. "I sell two, maybe three, laptops in a month. But how can that justify the Rs 15,000 I pay as rent, and Rs 10,000 I pay to the salesman I employ? So even though I've done electronics engineering, I am now making ends meet as a repairman," he said.

The retailers' pressure group has complained to the Competition Commission of India that online platforms are selling goods below cost and skirting Indian laws on foreign direct investment (FDI) in retail. "We have also filed an RTI application seeking the Enforcement Directorate's report on Flipkart's violations of FDI regulations, but somehow, the government is not interested in our plight," said Rastogi. Meanwhile, Lenovo India recently joined manufacturers such as Toshiba and Nikon by issuing an advisory to its buyers against doing business with e-retailers.

"We don't have any problem with online retail. But the government and the Competition Commission should ensure that all retailers, online or offline, sell at MRP, not lower. This will give us a level playing field," said Raju. Ill-equipped to play the game of Last Man Standing, time is already running out for small retailers. As Rastogi says, "online retailers are fighting for bigger market shares right now. But people like us are fighting for survival..."

If you can't compete on price, then compete on something else. There are plenty of areas where you can beat online retail and pull customers

GUS-> Please remember that this was the strategy Chinese used to Kill Indian Industry, and once dead they jacked up prices. Thats how they took out the Indian textile industry which is bouncing back after 7-8 years. They sold cheap dyes at losses, which textile manufacturers readily lapped up, Indian dye manufacturers closed down and then jacked up prices by 500%.

Result Indian textile manufacturing suffered a massive blow. This was in 2007, finaly we seem to started using Indian dyes and recovering this year. Foreign capital funded retailers should not sell at a loss unless the investment is atleast USD 10 Billion, they keep the negative margin for 25 years and have no right to refuse deliveries.
Uttam

Post by Uttam »

Aditya_V wrote:GUS-> Please remember that this was the strategy Chinese used to Kill Indian Industry, and once dead they jacked up prices. Thats how they took out the Indian textile industry which is bouncing back after 7-8 years. They sold cheap dyes at losses, which textile manufacturers readily lapped up, Indian dye manufacturers closed down and then jacked up prices by 500%.

Result Indian textile manufacturing suffered a massive blow. This was in 2007, finaly we seem to started using Indian dyes and recovering this year. Foreign capital funded retailers should not sell at a loss unless the investment is atleast USD 10 Billion, they keep the negative margin for 25 years and have no right to refuse deliveries.
That's only a small part of the entire story. All members of WTO have a right to impose anti-dumping duties when the seller sells are price below a reasonable cost of production. Inefficiency in the domestic industry is a bigger cause. Indian industry has to become more efficient to survive and thrive in the long run.

]sadanand dhume's tweet https://twitter.com/dhume/status/475881642440278016 sums it all about Pranab Mukherjee's address to parliament.
@dhume: Got to love the irony of #India's worst finance minister since liberalization reading out new government's plan to undo the damage he did.

Imports from China are NORMALLY undervalued by TEN times in order to evade customs duty. There are brokers acting in league with customs officials who guarantee door to door delivery on cash payment.
Uttam

Post by Uttam »

vic wrote:Imports from China are NORMALLY undervalued by TEN times in order to evade customs duty. There are brokers acting in league with customs officials who guarantee door to door delivery on cash payment.
Do you have any publicly available credible source on this? I am not contesting your assertion, I am just curious.

Aditya_V wrote:GUS-> Please remember that this was the strategy Chinese used to Kill Indian Industry, and once dead they jacked up prices. Thats how they took out the Indian textile industry which is bouncing back after 7-8 years. They sold cheap dyes at losses, which textile manufacturers readily lapped up, Indian dye manufacturers closed down and then jacked up prices by 500%.

saar, dumping is being done by china and we need to put up anti-dumping measures. and put up infra, better regulations, no redtape, easier capital, etc to help our industries so we can supply to our own industries.

but complaining that an online retailer sells for less is not going to work for me. my exp is that plenty of these shops just open a store and expect customer to walk in and give money just like that. i am sure there are plenty of value added services on laptops that a B&M shop can compete with against an online retailer. some free services to keep customer coming to shop, reasonable maintenance plans to keep customer relationship after purchase, buy back and upgrade programs at end of 2 or 3 yrs, tracking purchases and targeted offers for accessories, discounted software installations, networking installations at home..these are just suggestions that i can come up with after i started typing this...
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Subnormal rain forecast clouds growth prospects

http://www.financialexpress.com/news/su ... /1258890/0
The India Meteorological Department has rained on the investor sentiment parade. Even as the mood was looking up on hopes of decisive policy action from the Narendra Modi government, the IMD on Monday said the monsoon showers this season will likely be even lower than previously forecast. It said the rainfall would be 93% of a benchmark average for 2014 with a model margin of 4%, down from its April prediction of 95%, causing analysts to apprehend low farm sector growth this fiscal and another spiral in food inflation.

What compounds the concern is a 33% chance of deficient monsoon rains, which the IMD defines as below 90% of the long period average (LPA) of 89 centimetres of showers recorded between 1951 and 2000, compared with that of 23% forecast in April. Even chances of an El Nino effect, which had caused the worst drought in 37 years in 2009, are pegged at more than 70% now against 60% in the first prediction for this year. The IMD defines normal rains at 96-104% of the LPA.

A 21.8% deficit in rainfall in 2009-10 shrank grain production by 6% and farm sector growth hit just about 0.8%. Farm-sector GDP growth stood at a healthy 4.7% last fiscal compared with 1.4% the year before.

The weather office gives 38% probability to below-normal monsoon rains and a 26% chance for a normal monsoon. Rainfall is likely to be 93% of the LPA in July and 96% during August, both with a model margin of 9 %, the Met said.

Coming on the back of a delayed arrival of monsoon over the Kerala coast by five days from the usual date of June 1, the gloomy rainfall forecast puts additional pressure on a new government that has listed tackling inflation as its top priority. The monsoon's progress will also be closely tracked by the Reserve Bank of India while reviewing monetary policy as poor rainfall may drive up the retail inflation index, in which food and beverages account for roughly 40%.

http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/2014/06/ ... inflation/
Stop Blaming the Monsoon: Bad Rains Don’t Cause India’s Inflation
he annual monsoon rains starting to soak southern India, and some are dancing in the downpour while others are starting another yearly tradition: drought dreading.This year there is extra hand-wringing as people worry about the El Niño weather phenomenon which is associated with droughts in India.He said a simple review of recent rainfall, agricultural production and inflation figures surprisingly show that: El Niño often doesn’t trigger drought in India; droughts do not lead to lower production; droughts do not lead to inflation.“India has changed from the 70s,” Mr. Sivakumar told The Wall Street Journal. “We didn’t have much technology back then…That has changed. Our ability to deal with the rain has changed.”While there is a strong correlation between El Niño years and those with below-average rainfall, the Axis report said the weather phenomenon leads to bad monsoons only about half of the time. In the last 23 years, for example, there have been seven El Niño years but only three of those had droughts.Thanks to better irrigation and other technology, agricultural output continued to grow in India in the last decade—even during the some of the worst droughts in 2004 and 2009.“The lower impact of poor monsoon on agriculture recently could be attributed to the larger share of winter crop (mostly irrigated) as compared to summer (mostly rain-fed) as well as better agri-management during poor rainfall years,” the report said.

Meanwhile, the surge in average inflation rates everyone expects after bad rains just doesn’t occur, said Mr. Sivakumar.“The dismal scientists fail to explain the sharp rise in food prices in the recent past despite record output,” he said in the report. “On the other hand the period from 1999 to 2004—which saw four below-normal monsoons, including three droughts—saw food inflation of only 4% on average.”While the stress on the hundreds of millions of Indians that depend on agriculture to make a living is undeniable, the impact of a bad monsoon or drought on the broader economy is just not as large as it used to be.So where are India’s inflation problems coming from? If you want to know where prices are going, look to New Delhi rather than the skies, Mr. Sivakumar said.The government’s support prices are a much better indicator than rainfall of where food inflation is going. When the government ratchets up the minimum amount of money buyers have to pay for crops, then inflation rises. When it slows down the increases in minimum purchase prices, inflation slows.According to that indicator inflation—with or without El Niño or a drought—should cool down this year, Mr. Sivakumar said.

GoI is demonstrating that it understands clearly what needs to be done to review economic growth, with a twin focus on energy and infrastructure:
Govt's development agenda: Energy, infra at the core
* Private investment in coal production
* Operationalize civilian nuclear deal
* Electricity T&D fixes to divide industrial, farm and domestic supply lines to reduce pilferage.
* Greater investment in railways and Northeast connectivity
* Diamond quadrilateral of high speed rail lines
* Export led growth through investment in cities clustered around ports
Pretty much copies the East Asian urbanization and export led growth model.

Elsewhere, GoI continues to undermine the Planning Commission's brief and hands the task of tracking project implementation to the Project Monitoring Group under the Cabinet Secretariat. Earlier, the PMG lacked the brief to work with the GoMs/EGoMs, who in turn would not take ownership of tasks.
Take stock of implementation, not just clearances, govt tells project monitoring group
With Prime Minister Narendra Modi emphasising the need to kick-start investment in the country, the project monitoring group (PMG) under the Cabinet Secretariat has asked various government departments to start monitoring projects for which clearances have been facilitated through this mechanism.

The onus of monitoring has shifted from the department of financial services in the finance ministry to the PMG, under directions from the new government.

One hundred and fifty-two projects involving a total investment of Rs 5.3-lakh crore have been facilitated through the intervention of PMG and the Cabinet Committee on Investment.

Anil Swarup, additional secretary and head of PMG, presided over an inter-ministerial meeting on Monday to put in place a new mechanism to monitor these projects. This is to see if the projects have taken off at the ground level.
The emphasis on execution over clearance will define the success of this government. Success on the execution front would dramatically drive further investment and growth.

http://seekingalpha.com/article/2259863 ... -and-china

Elephant Vs Lizard
A lot of private sector growth has occurred in both countries. It’s been mostly entrepreneurial in India, whereas there have been bigger companies associated with the Chinese government that have driven growth in China. While we often get a sense of “China Inc.,” as though there are eight guys in the politburo sitting in Beijing who are masterminding Chinese growth, that is not at all what has been happening. China’s growth has been mixed: Some regions, like China’s Special Economic Zones (SEZs) and Export Processing Zones, are innovating and developing faster than others. “Reform without losers” and the dual track system of economic development have been gradually replaced by a more integrated market economy since 1993.The innovations in policy have bubbled up from these regions, and when those regional changes have worked, the Chinese government has encouraged other regions across the country to roll them out. All the new ideas come from these regions. Since the 1980s, China has slowly but steadily increased the number of SEZs from its original 6 to over 100.The same is true in India: The robustness of change has come from the provinces, not from the central government. The Indian and Chinese central governments are not masterminding these changes. There’s a lot of innovation happening on the margins of these two economies.so, What’s Different?China and India have some things in common, but they also have lots of differences, as we know.Some of the differences are economic, some of them are social, and some of them are political and have profound implications for the bet that you would take about which of these securities you would want to be long. Here’s another way we could look at these differences: From a macroeconomic perspective, we can look at how much households consume as a share of output every year, which is a way of looking at who’s driving the growth.
Is the growth being driven by households buying a lot, or is it being driven by something else? This is a really important difference between China and India. Look at the Chinese story. In 2003, Chinese households accounted for 42% of Chinese GDP, and that number has gone down steadily, to the point where it’s now only 35% of output.This is the lowest number that has ever been recorded since we have been keeping track of these data; these households in China account for a comparatively tiny fraction of output every year. No country has ever had only 35%. The number for India is much higher — 56%–58% — which is about what it is in Europe. But just to benchmark this, in the United States, households account for 71% of output every year. Chinese households’ share of GDP is extremely low.
So we could say it’s household consumption that drives growth in the United States, and we could also emphatically say it is not household consumption that drives Chinese growth. Chinese growth has come from goods exports, manufactured goods exports in particular. That is the big Chinese story.

India has had some success in manufacturing exports, but in global markets, it is most competitive in services, so its growth story is very different from that of China. India grows in part because its households consume, and India grows in part because it has firms that successfully sell services around the world. China’s growth is not a result of its households’ consumption. Rather, China has grown primarily because it has exported goods to the rest of the world: to the United States, increasingly to emerging markets, and some to Europe.Without these export markets, China could not possibly have grown at these rates. Imagine if China had not sold any goods to the United States in the last 30 years. It is certain that China would not have grown at 8%, 9%, or 10% a year. Chinese growth has been driven by US households, not by Chinese households.

Suraj wrote: The emphasis on execution over clearance will define the success of this government. Success on the execution front would dramatically drive further investment and growth.
he clearly understands the idea of a positive cycle after things start rolling and gathers momentum. as against the negative cycle we had in UPA2 when things were dragging each other down and the govt clueless on what to fix and ended up putting bandages here and there (ex - punitive taxes and import restrictions on gold)

very very loose and partial transcription upto 18 minutes while the videos is 24 mins:

1.) He talks about "we're in a situation where net borrowings of the govt. by next year will not be sufficient to pay the interest on govt. debt which is already been contracted. And principal also the repayment will be 3 times next 3 years average than what has been for last 5 years...

question: so you think we're headed for the debt trap?

ans: We could be unless firm steps are taken now, both on the resources and expenditure side, ON THE EXPENDITURE SIDE THE ABILITY TO COMPRESS IS MUCH LESS THEN THE PEOPLE ASSUME. Already in the last 2 years the plan expenditure was cut first by 1 lakh 8thousand crores and then 85 thousand crores, is this the way to have the growth for the future?

and 90% expenditure todays is salaries, pensions and defence. Only way to do something is by doing something about subsidies and diesel prices. A more efficient targetting of subsidies. ashok gulati has said others have said that you can save upto 40% on subsidy expenditure by direct targetting (??).

Like in dieself govt. increased by 50 paisa, which is lost in the first quarter before new govt. came. So now the new govt. has to increase much more which will have effect on retail prices therefore you have to take counter measures... everybody suggest that you offload 20 to 30 million tons of foodgrains, free perishables from the APMC act, while you have commisions and bonuses in chhattisgarh and MP and taxes in punjab and these things have driven out many participents in foodgrain trade and they've just ACCUMULATED. I don't know why they're NOT USING the stocks to deal with food inflation."

NREGA: I don't speak on behalf of modi and bjp but circumstances will force the govt. to take some steps for instance NREGA for instance NC Saxena at the NSC had written at the very commencement of it that it should NOT BE EXTENDED TO DISTRICTS which have labour shortage. But Mr. Rahul gandhi said No and claimed great credit for it even mms caved in. What you are doing you are deskilling people, demotivating people from work.

Mr. Modi's plan is to have better targetting of these schemes and better use of it, like housing schemes and better execution.

Previous finance minister's figure of 4.1% is not correct fiscal deficit is now more than 5%.

First THING THIS GOVT. HAS TO DO IS TO BUILD A CREDIBILITY OF GOVT. OF BHARAT'S WORD. FUDGING THE NUMBERS BY TRANSFERRING THE FIGURES FROM THIS YEAR TO NEXT YEAR'S BUDGET. No please don't put your FAITH IN CLEVERNESS, of these very smart people. But change facts on the ground.

There are so many things you can do like things on resources side, these residual stakes is BALCO, Hindustan Zinc in AXIS bank govt has share, what business govt. has having shares in AXIS?

Everytime the Hindustan Zinc disinvestment came up someone will put up stories in newspapers about the big loss the country was inflicted, THE FACT THAT THIER PROFITS HAVE GONE UP BY 1 THOUSAND PERCENT, THAT THERE SALES ARE 4 OR 5 TIMES HIGHER THAT THEIR PRODUCTION IS 4 TO 5 TIMES HIGHER NEVER GOT REPORTED. Inspectors USED TO SAY "ARRE SAHAB ZINC IS USED FOR DEFENCE EQUIPMENT" SO I SAID "IF THE PRODUCTION IS INCREASED 4 TIMES THEN IT WOULD BE GOOD FOR DEFENCE NO?" then "Yes" they'll say "ye baat to theek hai". "STILL THEY STARTED ENQUIRY TO EXTRACT MONEY FROM THIS ANIL AGARWAL"

See how China has grown, by monetising land, by monetising other assets..... I was talking about this holding company like TAMAC, Raghav behl was talking about it that with existing companies you take 200 public sector enterprises there assests today would be 3 to 4 HUNDRED BILLION DOLLARS, you put them under a holding company or under 3-4 hoarding companies, which are run by professionals their task is to professionalise the management of each of the PSUs and second is to raise the money and his interesting idea that raise debt when the interest rates are low. And when the market is good you bring equity this does not change the hold of govt. on these companies but it PROFESSIONALISES these companies, 'cause these holding companies are run by professionals. And suddenly you have downsized the PSUs, you've taken the PSUs out of the Ministries, you've professionalised them and you've raised money in Raghav Behl's estimate 500 billion to 1 Trillion dollars financing all your infrastruction schemes for the next 5 years.

I know Mr. Modi is not big into this disinvestment idea but the second holding company idea he is ok with........

"Because today the things are so bad that even State Bank of India was not able to raise money in february, ( He talks about some 4 lakh crores and asks how govt will raise 4 lakh crores? ....I don't understand so please watch the video from 11:50 onwards. somewhere you need 1 lakh crores, somwhere 80 thousand crores where the money will come from?

"I think all these things will force govt. to take these decisions and anyway Mr. Modi is very astute at these business acumens....

ON TAX SYSTEM:

"Tax reforms don't need 5 years to be drafted, get very good tax lawyers and it can be done in JUST THREE MONTHS, why so many complexities? I can write a 4 hundred page book in 90 day from beginning to end, that is me alone sitting alone writing with all the footnotes and all that, so it can be done for even the next budget and don't go for the consensus of everybody as Mrs. thatcher would say that consensus is and overrated virtue, get the best experts and here are the chapterwise things please just simplify them.

ABOUT VODAFONE MATTER:
"What was their in the contract if the license time arbitration in london was there then Govt. of Bharat should stick to its word....... a thousand crore is not important word of Govt. is more important..."

Any decision you take has to be backed up, for instance if people with credibility who make policy decisions without going into who is benefitting and who is losing and it is known that their word is true, for instance if you TODAY OFFLOAD FOODGRAIN INTO THE MARKET, THE TRADER WILL BE HURT .... BUT TO HELP THE CONSUMER YOU'VE TAKEN A DECISION AND YOU STICK WITH IT.

For fiscal hole stop accusing RBI,

questioner: "but your partyman are accusing RBI..."

Arun Shouries: But I speak only for myself, we should first have credible program and only then we can show the RBI that high interest is stopping the growth.... no before.....

THE PROBLEM IS THAT EXPENDITURE HAS BEEN POSTPONED WHILE REVENUES HAVE BEEN USED UP IN ADVANCED.....
============================
Please please watch the video yourself everyone my transcription is quiet pathetic and may be missing out many important points

Dhananjay wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxNFkCUGxU8

very very loose and partial transcription upto 18 minutes while the videos is 24 mins:

1.) He talks about "we're in a situation where net borrowings of the govt. by next year will not be sufficient to pay the interest on govt. debt which is already been contracted. And principal also the repayment will be 3 times next 3 years average than what has been for last 5 years...

THE PROBLEM IS THAT EXPENDITURE HAS BEEN POSTPONED WHILE REVENUES HAVE BEEN USED UP IN ADVANCED.....
============================
Please please watch the video yourself everyone my transcription is quiet pathetic and may be missing out many important points
He was the person the IB pointed out that they started talking about most important Cabinet posts before the govt formation. They warned about Khans men who may plant themselves inside the govt.

^Oh I thought AJ would be khan man while core hindu like A Shourie would be Rajiv Malhotra club type. Couldn't imagine shourie as khan man.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Surya wrote:muraliravi

Is there a data page for all Indian PSUs (or most) losses?

Also any world bank\Imf or some group comparing major PSUs globally?

thanks
I could not find a data page sir, i think best is to look at the large psu's and see their annual reports

Aditya_V wrote:GUS-> Please remember that this was the strategy Chinese used to Kill Indian Industry, and once dead they jacked up prices. Thats how they took out the Indian textile industry which is bouncing back after 7-8 years. They sold cheap dyes at losses, which textile manufacturers readily lapped up, Indian dye manufacturers closed down and then jacked up prices by 500%. Result Indian textile manufacturing suffered a massive blow. This was in 2007, finaly we seem to started using Indian dyes and recovering this year. Foreign capital funded retailers should not sell at a loss unless the investment is atleast USD 10 Billion, they keep the negative margin for 25 years and have no right to refuse deliveries.
Uttam wrote: That's only a small part of the entire story. All members of WTO have a right to impose anti-dumping duties when the seller sells are price below a reasonable cost of production. Inefficiency in the domestic industry is a bigger cause. Indian industry has to become more efficient to survive and thrive in the long run.
Anti-dumping duty doesnt apply when a retailer is selling at loss. I will explain.

Say a company C in china sells goods at price Rs 1200 = $20 to company A inside India. And now A sells it at Rs 600 making a loss, and that loss is funded by C via FDI, bonds and many other things. Then anti-dumping duty will not apply, as costs at which company A imported is above the fair price.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Government plans to set up 3 new petrochemical investment regions

http://www.financialexpress.com/news/go ... ns/1259091
Government is considering setting up three new petrochemical investment regions in the coastal areas of Karnataka, Maharashtra and West Bengal.

At present there are four such regions - Dahej in Gujarat, Paradeep in Odisha, Vishakhapatnam-Kakinada in Andhra Pradesh and Cuddalore-Nagapattinam in Tamil Nadu. So far they have received about Rs 1.50 lakh crore of investment.

A Petroleum, Chemicals and Petrochemicals Investment Region (PCPIR) is usually a delineated area of around 250 sq km for setting up manufacturing facilities for domestic and export led production.

As per the PCPIR policy, the Centre has to ensure the availability of external physical infrastructure linkages to these regions including rail, road connectivity to national highways, ports, airports and telecom connectivity also. The internal infrastructure of the PCPIR is built and managed by a developer. The external linkages will be provided by the central and the state governments. The users of external as well as internal infrastructure will pay for its use.

thanks murali

OECD bullish on India growth
India is poised to return to a high growth path while its BRIC peers Brazil, China and Russia are expected to record below-trend growth rates, an OECD report said today.

“CLIs (composite leading indicators) point to growth below trend in Brazil, China and Russia. Nevertheless, the CLI tentatively indicates a positive turning point in India, suggesting a return to faster growth,” the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) said.

India has grown below 5 per cent in each of the two previous financial years mainly because of the global slowdown coupled with domestic economic sluggishness.

In the current financial year ending March 2015, the Reserve Bank of India expects the economy to pick up and grow at over 5.5 per cent.

Moreover, the formation of a new government with a sufficient majority has revived investor sentiment, which is reflected in the stock market surge and strengthening of the domestic currency.
Need to reduce cost of doing business: Finance Minister
“The Finance Minister stressed upon the need to improve the business climate and reducing the cost of doing business as important means for revival of the investment cycle,” an official statement said today.

He also emphasised the need for coordinated approach by all sector regulators to achieve financial stability.

“He referred to the high political expectations from the new Government and the opportunity now available for resolving long-pending problems facing the economy,” the statement said.

He added that there is a need to continue to be in a state of preparedness for managing external sector vulnerabilities.

Economic growth slowed to 4.7 per cent in 2013-14 and retail inflation stood at a 3-year high of 8.59 per cent in April.

Besides, fiscal deficit narrowed to 4.5 per cent of GDP in 2013-14 from 4.9 per cent in previous year. The current account deficit (CAD), which is the difference between inflow and outflow of foreign funds, dropped to 1.7 per cent of GDP in 2013-14 from 4.7 per cent in 2012-13.

The financial sector regulators at the meeting presented their suggestions on the forthcoming Budget 2014-15, as also their ideas on next generation financial reforms.

Among others who attended the meeting were IRDA Chairman T S Vijayan, FMC Chairman Ramesh Abhishek, PFRDA Officiating Chairman R V Verma and other government officials.
Getting the virtual investment cycle going again through speedy clearances and execution tracking will get things back on track. However, as with everything else this government is now responsible for, it will take some time for results to show.
Take LIC public, set of bankruptcy asset reconstruction companys to boost infrastructure: bankers
The new Modi-led Government should look to take insurance behemoth Life Insurance Corporation public, boost financial savings through enhanced tax breaks and set up a dedicated asset reconstruction company (ARC) for infrastructure assets.

These are among the several suggestions that bankers gave to Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Minister of State Nirmala Sitharaman at a pre-budget meeting here on Tuesday.

Banks also pitched for 100 per cent tax deduction on the provisions they make towards bad debt.

Uday Kotak, Founder and Executive Vice Chairman, Kotak Mahindra Bank, a private sector bank, said he had suggested that LIC should be taken public.

"Listing of LIC can be a huge gamechanger for the Indian financial system," he said.

This idea need not be pursued in the upcoming Budget itself, but over the next few years.

The Centre need not lose control and still hold atleast 51 per cent in the life insurer, Kotak suggested, adding that taking LIC public could help bolster government revenues.

Bankers have suggested that Centre needs to double Section 80C limit from current level of Rs 1 lakh to say Rs 2 lakh.

A demand was also made for re-introduction of Section 80CCF--a specific tax break to boost investment in infrastructure bonds.

A case was also made to improve the functioning of debt recovery tribunals (DRTs), she added.

On new ARC for handling infrastructure assets, Kidwai pointed out that existing ARCs were not equipped to handle infrastructure assets and hence a need for dedicated ARC for such assets.

Finance Industry Development Council Member Raman Aggarwal said he had on behalf of asset-based non-banking finance companies made a case for allowing tax deduction on provisions made towards bad debts.

>>He was the person the IB pointed out that they started talking about most important Cabinet posts before the govt formation. They warned about Khans men who may plant themselves inside the govt.

Either you are privy to an IB report which is not for public disclosure, which would be the case in reports where such observations are made, or you heard it from some one privy to it and idiotic enough to repeat it in public (or in private to you), or you made it up for whatever personal reason... None of it is justifiable.

It is, in fact, rather a sad thing to see.

Please do not make such unsubstantiated allegations on BRF, or substantiate them.

Deleted
Last edited by Suraj on 10 Jun 2014 22:08, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No more politics here

svinayak wrote:
Dhananjay wrote:
He was the person the IB pointed out that they started talking about most important Cabinet posts before the govt formation. They warned about Khans men who may plant themselves inside the govt.
Must be the old link from Emergency/ IG time. AS was the swron enemy of IG that time and wanted her out at any cost.

JE Menon wrote:>>He was the person the IB pointed out that they started talking about most important Cabinet posts before the govt formation. They warned about Khans men who may plant themselves inside the govt.

Either you are privy to an IB report which is not for public disclosure, which would be the case in reports where such observations are made, or you heard it from some one privy to it and idiotic enough to repeat it in public (or in private to you), or you made it up for whatever personal reason... None of it is justifiable.

It is, in fact, rather a sad thing to see.

Please do not make such unsubstantiated allegations on BRF, or substantiate them.

NewsInsight report dated May 17th posted in many threads refers to this by induction....
Philip wrote:X-posted tx to Kittu from the Gen. Discussion td.

Be warned, Prime Minister
Foreign powers are determined to undermine the Narendra Modi government.

By N.V. Subramanian (17 May 2014)
http://www.newsinsight.net/Bewarned,Pri ... age=page-1
New Delhi: No one knows Narendra Modi’s mind except the next prime minister himself. He has solely driven this general election and is the primary architect of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s extraordinary and epochal victory. The stakes were high with Modi as Gujarat’s chief minister. But they would infinitely be higher when he is sworn as prime minister next week. This commentary, a special one, is in the nature of an alert. His political detractors and the enemies of India are determined to get him, because he alone of his generation (the immediate post-Independence generation) has the potential to hurtle the country to greatness. His success depends in some measure on who all he appoints to the top cabinet posts of home, finance, defence and foreign affairs. At least one great power has suborned one of his (least) likely choices for one of the four posts. The covert agencies have a full file on the person, who cannot be named for obvious reasons. Narendra Modi would do himself no harm and the country a great deal of good by seeking quiet intelligence clearance of his probable top cabinet choices, one of who remains highly compromised in the estimation of this writer.

Foreign powers did not expect this decisive result in favour of Narendra Modi. They had prepositioned their favourite candidates in the expectation that the Bharatiya Janata Party and the National Democratic Alliance would fall grievously short of the majority numbers. One candidate identified early for the defence portfolio fell by the wayside. The approach was made to the person when the person held an important position in the shadow government. The second candidate was also won over in this period, with the person in question displaying a marked proclivity towards a great power that had shown unprecedented hostility towards Modi. The idea was simple. In case a majority eluded Modi, these two persons, one or both, would be positioned to take over as prime minister, with the discredited “liberal” establishment incited to take up cudgels on behalf of one or both of them. For all the determination of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangha not to make anyone other than Modi the prime minister, there was the danger that it would succumb to the unbearable pressure brought on it. It is Narendra Modi’s bold gamble and brilliance that upset the applecart.

With plan A failed, the great power, with other Western countries in tow, embarked on the fallback option, which is to infiltrate its surviving candidate into one of the four top Union cabinet posts. In a moment of indiscretion, the candidate let drop to stooge reporters (the mainstream media is near totally infiltrated) that any cabinet post other than defence, foreign affairs, finance and home would be unacceptable.
It would befit the candidate’s seniority not to be considered for less. There was no substantial mention of the cabinet committee on security. But that is the key. Any of the top four posts gives access to the highest-level cabinet committee, where the most secret and sensitive national security issues are engaged with, including India’s military nuclear posture and plans, foreign relations, the neighbourhood policy, internal security, Kashmir, China, and so on. The inimical great power wants access to the deliberations of this committee, and it has prepared a mole. Narendra Modi cannot be too careful who he invites and permits into this critical cabinet committee.

For some time, there has been great disquiet that the prime minister’s office has been penetrated. No less alarming than Sanjaya Baru’s revelation that files of the prime minister’s office were shared with Sonia Gandhi are reports that it has been under successful surveillance of foreign intelligence agencies. This is over and above human penetration. Quite apart from Manmohan Singh’s shabby pro-Americanism, he ran a very leaky prime minister’s office. But the scale of danger to the upcoming Narendra Modi government is many times higher, in part because he is the lynchpin to India’s rise, and the foreign powers want to sabotage his success. This writer need not advise Modi on how to handle the new threat, where the cabinet committee on security is sought to be subverted, but at the least, he must identify the prospective mole, and isolate the burrower from government, or in a position where no state secrets are accessible, such as agriculture or rural development, without compromising on the productivity and delivery of these strategic ministries. India’s expectations from Narendra Modi reach the sky, and as determined as he is to fulfil them to excess, there is steely resolve too among his and India’s enemies to destroy him.

Be vigilant, Mr Prime Minister,

N.V.Subramanian is Editor Newsnight

By induction, the one who fell by way side is JS. The other is AS who revealed the demands prematurely.

We can take it up with NV Subramanian further if desired.

^^There is no mention of Arun Shourie in the report, nor of IB. I have done a quick Google search, and there is no report that I can trace which suggests by name either of the two parties.

The allegation by name so far as I can tell exists only on BRF.

NVS also says the person "cannot be named for obvious reasons"...

Isn't the person who claimed one of the top four positions based on seniority, Sushma Swaraj?
Last edited by putnanja on 11 Jun 2014 22:14, edited 1 time in total.

Yashwant Sinha was never a mole. I saw his reaction to the DK episode. He was asking for some diplos to be arrested under sec 377. He was also a very good FM. He should have been brought back to the govt.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

The person NVS is referring to undoubtedly Sushma Swaraj. No one else demanded a top 4 post publicly. But Namo has his own constraints. We are expecting too much. He cant just come in and shake up the BJP org in a shot. It will all take time. Wait for Amit Shah to enter the game soon as BJP president and the you will see some really brutal stuff. I mean really brutal.

India Not The Next China, But Getting There
http://www.forbes.com/sites/kenrapoza/2 ... ing-there/

India’s not the next China in terms of massive infrastructure build out and rising incomes, but it is getting close. For starters, the “gasping elephant” days are coming to an end, as one HSBC analyst referred to the Indian economy in 2012. The country is ready to hit the ground running and return to growth now that Narendra Modi and his BJP party has cleaned up Parliament.A study by the Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development said Tuesday that India was on the path to growth improvement.“Indicators point to growth below trend in Brazil, China and Russia. Nevertheless, the (economic indicators) tentatively indicate a positive turning point in India, suggesting a return to faster growth,” the OECD said.India has grown below 5% in each of the two previous financial years mainly because of the global slowdown and policy paralysis at home that’s left the country at a standstill. The Reserve Bank of India expects the economy to pick up and grow at over 5.5% in this fiscal year, which ends for India in March 2015. ( Plus 2.5% Jairam Mahesh Removal Bonus)Investors have been pouring into India since Raghuram Rajan was placed in charge of the Reserve Bank in early September, and Modi was poised to win the general election which ended in May.Year-to-date, the Wisdom Tree India (EPI) exchange traded fund is up over 33%, clobbering the benchmark MSCI Emerging Markets Index, MSCI World and of course the S&P 500.The BSE Sensex has gained 14.7% i 8) n the past three months ending May 31, beating its BRIC peers. Brazil’s Bovespa index gained 8.8% while Russia’s Micex Index and China’s Shanghai composite Index stayed flat in the same period.ETFs tracking the MSCI India Index have received fund flows worth $401 million in the past three months, and have surpassed regional peers during the same period, according to a report in today’s Economic Times. FTSE China 25 ETF has seen outflows of $928 million, Hang Seng ETF has seen withdrawal of $267 million by investors, MSCI BRIC ETF witnessed outflows of $47 million, while the iShares MSCI Emerging Markets (EEM) ETF has seen marginal outflow of $4 million during the same period.In an interview with the ET, State Bank of India chairman Arundhati Bhattacharya, said that while everyone likes to compare India to China, the country needs bigger banks if it wants to grow like their northern neighbors.“Among the top 10 banks in the world, three of them are Chinese. Why did that happen? Because the Chinese economy grew and, therefore, the banks had to grow in order to provide credit,” she said. “Things will happen in India if the Indian economy grows. India will need bigger banks. To build bigger banks organically is difficult. So, to do it in an inorganic way by clubbing some of the banks will be the best route,” she told the ET.Investors are hoping that the new Modi government will work to greenlight much needed infrastructure projects in India.

Uttam wrote:
vic wrote:Imports from China are NORMALLY undervalued by TEN times in order to evade customs duty. There are brokers acting in league with customs officials who guarantee door to door delivery on cash payment.
Do you have any publicly available credible source on this? I am not contesting your assertion, I am just curious.
In China we went to a Government store and looked at some dining table and chairs. It was listed at $3500 and we bargained it down to $2100. While making the invoice the sales woman offered to give us a fake invoice for $400!
neel

Post by neel »

Am I the only one concerned that India has joined the bandwagon of high-speed rail boondoggles?

In fairness, there are stretches in India which are sufficiently densely populated to support financially sound high-speed rail links, but the full quadrilateral is not such a stretch. If they were to construct high-speed rail along the dense portions, that might make sense, but otherwise, freight rail is always more financially sound and also more environmentally friendly - as it removes freight shipments from highly congested intercity roads, where the inefficient lorries sit idly polluting the air and emitting greenhouse gases.
Christopher Sidor

Post by Christopher Sidor »

You are not alone. The need is to beef up our freight carrying capacity not passenger, which essentially will remain a loss making enterprise. We need to transfer the Konkani experience of carrying trucks on flat beds to the entire IR. Run express goods trains daily between each and every provinces on lines of duruntoo instead of the duruntoo passenger trains.

If we want to concentrate on passenger train transport, then concentrate on building metros, trams and mono rails. Not high speed long distance trains.

Nothing will come of it. Every few years some dumma-dum is made, then the reality is examined and everyone sober s up. Then folks settle back to somnolence. I was actually surprised to see the DFC set up in its own right. This was the lesson of Delhi Metro/Konkan/etc. IR is simply not upto the task. Until a dedicated HSR corporation is set up and properly funded all this is whistling into the wind, etc.

There are probably only 2-3 sections that have the financial heft to support HSR. Chennai-Bengluru, Pune-Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Hyd-Vizag?, Delhi-?.

Theo_Fidel wrote:
There are probably only 2-3 sections that have the financial heft to support HSR. Chennai-Bengluru, Pune-Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Hyd-Vizag?, Delhi-?.
Yes,Yes, No and Yes. Dilli, HSR will be between Gurgoan and Noida, will be priced at less than bus fares, will cost 10 times the rest of other sections to complete , all sorts of Dili parasites will get Free Passes on it, will run at a perpetual loss and tab thrown across to the tax payers to pick up as per normal practice.

Modi Sarkar needs to come to it's senses and scrap the HSr boondoggle . get freight corridors in place, win back share in freight from road, stop cross subsidizing passenger fares from freight, cut freight rates, cut business costs, attack inflation , and tell the subsidised moochers who use passenger services to go to roadways and pay fare as now the roads have improved tremoundously and are more than competitive with rail in speed and convenience .But no, HSR it must be, and why, coz the Chinese did it.

the delhi-chandigarh-amritsar(tourists/NRIs), delhi-jaipur(tourists) and delhi-agra-bhopal(tourists) might just probably support HSR. Shatabdis are running on it already. I would avoid UP until things get better there as in Delhi->Lucknow. UP would be a good test case for HSR because despite being a very large state, it has few national airports. only varanasi and lucknow I think.

but just tourists wont break even. probably just improve on the shatabdis is best.

Oil Is Rising on Iraq crisis , If this prolongs it will raise our import bill

http://oil-price.net/

WTI $106.53
Brent Crude $113

Economic data likely to offer new PM Modi some cheer

http://in.reuters.com/article/2014/06/1 ... L220140611
Reuters) - Indian economic data on Thursday is likely to offer some cheer for new Prime Minister Narendra Modi by showing a pick-up in industrial activity and easing inflation.Modi has listed fighting inflation, particularly food inflation, as his topmost priority. He aims to win the battle by improving supplies of food and clamping down on "hoarders".Output from mines, utilities and factories is expected to have expanded 1.9 percent in April from a year earlier after falling 0.5 percent the previous month, according to a Reuters poll of economists, because of a recovery in the infrastructure sector Modi sees as key to a wider revival.Cooler food prices probably helped ease consumer price inflation to 8.4 percent in May from a three-month high of 8.59 percent April, the poll showed.Consumer inflation has been averaging nearly 10 percent for the past two years even though economic growth has been stuck below five percent, marking the longest slowdown in more than a quarter of a century.Promises to break the spell of weak growth and high inflation helped Modi to a victory last month that gave his party the strongest parliamentary majority in 30 years.A slumping industrial performance is at the heart of India's growth struggle. Output contracted 0.1 percent in the fiscal year that ended in March. It has eased in four of the past six months.
Radhika Rao, economist at DBS Bank, said a revival in manufacturing and investment would have broad multiplier effects across the economy, but cautioned that an expected shortfall in monsoon rains could impact both demand and inflation."In the short term, the likelihood of a weak southwest monsoon is an important risk for growth this year and likely an initial challenge for the new administration," Rao said.Modi's government is looking to revive the economy through higher investment in infrastructure, which it hopes will boost demand in sectors such as cement, steel and power.He is also aiming to simplify approvals for projects to kick-start capital investments.The economic slowdown is taking a toll on public finances. The federal tax-to-GDP ratio has slipped to 10.2 percent from a peak of 12.5 percent in 2007/08, leaving the government having to resort to more rupee bond sales to fund spending commitments. ( MMS Hit Job to match paki Tax GDP ratio) Higher investment spending without adjustments in wasteful public expenditure would make it tougher to trim the fiscal deficit to a targeted 4.1 percent of GDP this fiscal year, resulting in a heavy bond supply and increased cost of credit for corporates.This could worsen India's struggle with persistently high inflation - on top of the forecasts of below-average monsoon rains..
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Subsidy reforms on cards

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 150_1.html
The government is considering major subsidy reforms to lower wasteful expenditure and release such funds for creation of capital assets. The plan is to gradually increase prices of cooking gas and urea, thereby bringing down the subsidy burden on the exchequer, without allowing the inflationary spiral to build up.

The carryover of subsidies has been on the rise and last year's "unpaid bills" of about Rs 1,15,000 crore that Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has inherited from the previous government are posing a huge challenge to reining in the fiscal deficit.

"We will propose some subsidy reforms to the prime minister and the net result of that will be increase in prices," said a government official who did not wish to be named.

LIKELY SCENARIO

DIESEL

Current price: Rs 57.28 a litre (Delhi)
If raised by 50 p a litre,
The cut in annual subsidy will beRs 5,000 cr

LPG

Current price: Rs 414 a 14.2-kg cylinder
If raised by Rs 50 per cylinder,
The cut in annual subsidy will be Rs 3,800 cr

UREA

Current price: Rs 5,360 a tonne
If raised by
Rs 1,000 a tonne,
The cut in annual subsidy will be Rs 3,000 cr

The options include reducing the number of subsidised cylinders per household, increasing the price of subsidised liquefied petroleum gas (possibly in tranches of Rs 50) and raising urea prices at regular intervals. The government will continue with a partial diesel decontrol and raise the fuel's price by Rs 50 paise a litre every month. At present, the selling price of urea is Rs 5,360 a tonne. An increase of Rs 1,000 a tonne will lead to a saving of about Rs 3,000 crore. The prices of complex fertilisers have already been decontrolled.

A litre of diesel in Delhi costs Rs 57.28. Every price increase of 50 paise a litre will lower the oil marketing companies' (OMCs') loss on retail sale of the fuel by more than Rs 5,000 crore a year. Similarly, a 14.2-kg cylinder of subsidised LPG costs Rs 414 in Delhi, while the market price is Rs 905. Raising the LPG price by Rs 50 a cylinder will reduce the annual underrecovery by Rs 3,800 crore.

"The UPA (United Progressive Alliance) government spent a lot on welfare schemes. Too much transfer of money led to inflation. The idea is to cut subsidies and spend on infrastructure," said a finance ministry official.

The requirement of fertiliser subsidy is likely to remain at last year's level of around Rs 1,10,000 crore if urea prices are not increased. However, if an increase in the price of domestic natural gas is approved, the total fertiliser subsidy will rise by another Rs 10,000 crore. Besides, there is a carryover of Rs 40,000 crore from last year. So, the finance minister will have to provide Rs 1,60,000 crore in 2014-15 if it doesn't roll over anything to next year.

The OMCs' overall underrecovery for the current financial year is expected to be at least Rs 1,00,000 crore at the current global crude oil prices. The government's subsidy burden, if it pays 60 per cent of the total underrecoveries, works out to Rs 60,000 crore.

The government is also trying to bring down its food subsidy burden. Jaitley had told states this week, while there is a National Food Security Act, "the need of the hour is to implement the law in a cost-effective and efficient manner for ensuring real food security".

According to interim Budget estimates, the total subsidy requirement in 2014-15 could be Rs 2,46,396 crore, including a provision of Rs 1,15,000 crore for food subsidy. If arrears of Rs 1,15,000 crore towards food, fertiliser and fuel subsidy are also included, the burden would be Rs 3,61,396 crore. If subsidy reforms are not carried out, the finance ministry would have to decide between absorbing most of it this year at the cost of a high fiscal deficit or continue the practice of deferring the liability to the next financial year.

According to agency reports, Ila Patnaik, principal economic advisor in the finance ministry, had on Tuesday said, if there was a political will, one could easily bring down subsidy by one per cent of gross domestic product, without actually bringing a lot of pain to people. A one per cent cut would mean a reduction of Rs 1,23,000 crore; that is, a 50 per cent decline in the current subsidy bill.
Odisha- 1,370 km national highways to be upgraded at Rs 13,000 cr

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 268_1.html

Railways to fast track three coal connectivity lines

http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 078_1.html