LCA News and Discussions

rakall

Re: LCA News and Discussions

Post by rakall »

tsarkar wrote:Agreed, and since the Tejas doesnt carry any additional avionics over and above what is carried by aircraft of its generation, it is obvious the designers miscalculated the weight margins and structural performance of the airframe. That miscalculation is being compensated by F414. So why blame the pretty average & normal specifications for its generation and why blame the IAF? And with this humble request, I retire.
That is ridiculous. I just posted the full specs of the Gripen C/D in an earlier post and the "over designed and miscalculated" LCA weighs LESS than the C/D and fields a more powerful engine!

Surely by your logic, the Swedes "miscalculated and overdesigned" as well, and the reason they are now going for the NG with the 414 is to "compensate" for that ?

:D :D :D

As a totally jingoistic LCA fan boy (afterall I named my boy LCA) -- I am totally pleased with this argument.. The best (cheekiest) argument anyone has made for LCA in ages..

101/100 marks to you !!! (claps, claps, claps)
Last edited by rakall on 01 Mar 2011 22:59, edited 1 time in total.

tsarkar wrote:
Rahul M wrote:that 'standard fighter' ASR didn't include the level of RWR IAF expects today which is also heavier, needs more cooling, associated cables, leading to strengthening of attachment points.
Wow! Level of RWR! So weight increase like level of RWR increases. Please quantify the level of RWR. By your logic, the Tarang designers did a shoddy job of designing such a heavy RWR :) In reality, the Tejas RWR weighs much less.

well wow indeed ! was RWR even a part of ASR-1985 ?? tranquil/tarang was just being introduced back then. what % of IAF fleet had operational RWR at the time ? heck, what % of its frontline fighters had RWR at that time ? zero ?
and you are telling me IAF had specified RWR for a supposed mig-21 replacement that was at the time not even considered to be a fighter project but a tech demo ?

Now please don't tell me "ADA should have done it even if IAF didn't ask for it". you know quite well that's impossible in how DRDO is 'allowed' to function by MOD and the forces. one deviation from the scripted routine and the forces drop you like a hot potato, with phrases like 'science project' 'over ambitious' flying thick and fast ! just check how the karna project was treated.
even more importantly, ADA was not provided funds for anything but the tech demo of 4 core technologies in the first place. that they managed to rectify the bolt-from-the-blue wing problem and still managed to end up below budget is proof of their competence. I suspect that without AM Rajkumar's closeness to the program, even this would have been conveyed to ADA long after TD phase was over, as the rest of the requirements was. Since he was in charge of negotiating with the russians for R-73 he quickly made the connection and got ADA to cracking on the wing problem during TD phase itself.

Rahul M wrote:so the RWJ is non-existent now because it conflicts with your pet theory?
Yes, the RWJ is non-existent in the IOC Tejas when some performance parameters were not met. From page 8 of 17 of a DRDO publication http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfoc ... 011%20.pdf
it is provided with EW armour comprising radar warning receiver (RWR) and countermeasure dispensing system (CMDS)
The RWR activates the chaff cartridges and there is NO INTERNAL JAMMER in Tejas Mk.1. So EW certainly didn’t make it heavy.

granted, I probably made a mistake thinking RWJ made it into Mk1 itself. but then again, thank you for reminding me about countermeasures dispensing system. that was another item that was not there in original tejas requirements. so the tejas self defence suite led to a weight increase after all ! :wink:
Rahul M wrote:please show me a shred of proof that LCA OBOGS reduces weight. and please don't post the link of some completely irrelevant yankee OBOGS as proof.
Absolutely, here is proof, thanks to Shiv http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... S.jpg.html And you conveniently always forget it reduced weight of bottled oxygen.

and where is the weight of the system provided in that link ? FYI from what I could gather an oxygen tank lasting a couple of hours could weigh as little as a few kg.
Rahul M wrote:each item means additional cooling requirement (heat exchangers), cabling, cabinets and all of that needs to be secured robustly to be able to survive in a high G environment. in turn the airframe needs to be strengthened as well.
Gordon Moore and Harry Hillaker will turn in their graves on learning cabinets and heat exchangers for cooling requirement.

incredible, now you are stooping down to the level where you are twisting what I said to make it sound silly !! :roll:
I said "additional cooling requirement (heat exchangers), cabling, cabinets". how does that become 'heat exchangers and cabinets for cooling ?'
or do I need to give you english lessons in the use of comma now ? :roll: this is beyond pathetic.
and pray tell me what heat exchangers are for, if not to get rid of excess heat from the coolants. or do you reckon the heat exchangers on LCA are there to keep the pilots warm and well-supplied with popcorn and hot chocolate while they surf BR ? :roll:
geeth wrote:Like it or not, when we add additional avionics suite, the weight indeed increases. If this additional weight is beyond what is catered for, by the structural designers, the only options available are : (a) go back to the drawing board and re-design the structure (like that being done on SU-30 MKI to fit the Brahmos) or (b) Discard the additional avionics suite or what ever is causing the extra weight or (reduce the weapon load/fuel load etc.

Agreed, and since the Tejas doesnt carry any additional avionics over and above what is carried by aircraft of its generation, it is obvious the designers miscalculated the weight margins and structural performance of the airframe. That miscalculation is being compensated by F414. So why blame the pretty average & normal specifications for its generation and why blame the IAF? And with this humble request, I retire.

I'm sorry, open your eyes and look around. the tejas indeed "doesnt carry any additional avionics over and above what is carried by aircraft of its generation" as you say but it also weighs less than any of them, not more. so where is this mythical miscalculation in weight you keep harping about ?
again, no one is blaming the IAF for the set of specifications but the late hour at which it was conveyed to ADA. had they made the full requirement known to ADA earlier they could have either revised the airframe design or look for a higher powered engine much earlier.
my speculative theories on why the weight increase in LCA dampened its performance even though the weight itself is same as that in a comparably powered fighter which doesn't suffer performance degradation.

a fighter can be designed as fast flying interceptor, with a low drag design that provides excellent acceleration and speed performance but poor maneuverability. the F-104 is a perfect example.
or it can be designed as a highly maneuverable aircraft but that also means the airframe is more draggy than an equivalent optimised-for-speed aircraft. in modern fighters this is compensated by ensuring a high TWR.

given the tejas' unique design and its incredibly low wing loading (lowest of all modern fighters) I suspect that it is built to deliver even better maneuverability than the aircraft it is compared with most, the gripen. that, unfortunately also means that its airframe is more draggy than that of the gripen. now, when the LCA was first envisaged in line with ASR 1985, the designers had allowed for this drag with a very high TWR, since the LCA was to be 20% lighter than the gripen which was powered by the same engine !!
this is exactly what got screwed up by ASR 2005, once ADA realised the full extent of IAF's requirements from LCA (again, nothing extraordinary for a 4 gen fighter but the late date by which it was conveyed made compensating for it in time all but impossible. this is precisely the problem which people refer to as 'disconnect between IAF and ADA') the excess weight had messed up LCA's high TWR which was essential for its performance. the LCA design and engine thrust was optimised for 5500 kg and perhaps +/- 300 kg. but the weight creep by 18% threw everything off gear making a redesigned Mk2 with higher thrust essential.

Kailash wrote:Rather, since the IAF did not care enough, they did not try to downsize any of the ambitious goals set by DRDO. We all heard force/conviction with which they complain when the project did not deliver on a certain aspect. But we never saw a single case where they said "I need 100 planes within the next decade, hell with you high technology research. Take the simpler/safer route BUT deliver. Deliver a safe/capable aircraft ON TIME"
The forces have done this on occasion, DRDO does not take kindly to such suggestions. The ego's in the scientific communities are not known to be small (as one in that part of the world)
:wink:
IIRC, the Tejas Story book by AM Rajkumar does state that the project was driven by technocrat goals much to the dismay of the IAF, which protested not only re. the unrealistic ambitions for the Kaveri but also re. going for the quadruplex digital FBW system. The one on the Mirage was good enough for them, and considering that the M2k at that time and until 2000 was the ultimate technological toy that the AF had, this was understandably uber enough technology.

If the IAF was looking for a Mig-21 replacement via its original ASR in a relatively quick time, it should have gotten this imho. Perhaps the program itself should've been divided into two streams - one for meeting immediate AF needs, and the other to catch up with uber tech.

Btw, Sanku garu, I believe one of the PVs did achieve an empty weight of < 6000kgs (around 5600kgs) - dunno where I read this though. Forumites might know.

CM

well, the moral of the story is simple. de-rate ASR requirements on weight and performance by at least 30%.

Kakarat wrote:http://www.ada.gov.in
LCA-Tejas has completed 1578 Test Flights successfully. (23-Feb-2011).
* (TD1-233,TD2-305,PV1-242,PV2-203,PV3-269,LSP1-62,LSP2-166,PV5-25,LSP3-30,LSP4-32,LSP5-11)
Update to earlier flight test data
LCA-Tejas has completed 1582 Test Flights successfully. (23-Feb-2011).
* (TD1-233,TD2-305,PV1-242,PV2-203,PV3-270,LSP1-62,LSP2-166,PV5-26,LSP3-31,LSP4-33,LSP5-11)

Guys is it true that the trainer would have an IOC of its own ?

Kailash wrote:
CM, I would agree more with Vina that LCA did not receive the support it needed from IAF. I am not very clear if the lack enthu from IAF is the effect of DRDO propaganda only.

Rather, since the IAF did not care enough, they did not try to downsize any of the ambitious goals set by DRDO. We all heard force/conviction with which they complain when the project did not deliver on a certain aspect. But we never saw a single case where they said "I need 100 planes within the next decade, hell with you high technology research. Take the simpler/safer route BUT deliver. Deliver a safe/capable aircraft ON TIME"

For me it only means that IAF was not serious on inducting this craft in numbers. They were less concerned about depleting numbers - than their tussles and finger pointing at DRDO. Things are changing slowly.. got to wait and see if there will be subsequent orders of mk1, tests of mk1 with kaveri and export orientation.
My dear good sir - in case of LCA it was exactly the insistence of scientific community which led to asking for the unobtanium from the word go which led to delay in the programme.... IAF wanted fast replacement for MiG-21 and not the complex project it became from day one with us trying to develop everything in situ. Radar, DFBW,Engine were all set as domestic targets by scientific community and not IAF.

Some of our acquisitions have been kneejerk be it fighters or mbt's. In such a case assuming the drdo could've given the iaf a mig-21++ fighter in the early-mid 90's wouldn't it be obsolete by 2020? In such a case, we'd anyway be going for a purchase around 2015 of a fighter that is comparable to what the chipak combo can throw at us. Be it F-16s or J-x0's. Considering such a scenario what would we have had in terms of quality to fight against such an opponent. Sure, we'd probably have more or less the forecast numbers but in terms of qualitative advantage, frontline fighters in 2020 against chipak would be the mki's and upgraded mig-29s and mirages. the lower end would probably not fare better. also, we'd have had to replace/upgrade the (on the way to becoming) obsolete fighters again in that period. Would the mig-21++ be upgradable to current standards if it was never meant to take on RWRs and internal jammers and LDPs? I just dont see the point of "Why are you trying to launch rockets when poor people are hungry onlee?!" kind of arguments being made in this issue. Rather than going from 0 -> LCA, would the IAF have been willing to back the DRDO for a 0-MCA jump? Fat chance! And without putting in enough money and effort into radar, EW, engines, basic aerodynamics, plane building we'd take 30 years to build an mca from scratch if we'd stuck to tinkering with mig-21++ designs. We'd still be importing fighters in 2030 because the drdo was blamed for taking time to build a time travelling device but were still short of achieving targets set by the iaf but indulging in science projects.

That is a mockup from the 2010 Republic day parade.
here is a clearer pic
http://www.imageping.com/out.php/i62519 ... 768725.JPG

Let me ask couple of very fundamental questions here -

(a) What was the original timeline for the delivery of TD-1 and when did we actually deliver it?
(b) Post the delivery of TD-1, what was the original timeline for delivery of PV-1 and when did we deliver it?
(c) What was the original timeline for IOC and when did we finally make it?

Pointed questions Rohit.

Prasad, to assume that the IAF wanted an a/c by early 90s is a no go imho. The IAF, whatever its fault, does display a degree of pragmatism - it would very well know that a homemade fighter in 6-7 years would be rather difficult, nay impossible. I'd assume a much later date - probably around 1999 (even 2000+) for what the IAF would've ideally wanted (guesswork of course) -

LCA - light, multirole and somewhat low end - perfect replacement to the MiG-21.
FBW (not digital)
FCR (limited A2A/A2G modes). possibly imported.
imported engine
better range/endurance than MiG-21
Better slow speed capability
better STR/ITR, TWR.
RWR.
Decent uptimes/maintenance.

Such a platform could certainly have had iterative improvements to match up to and tackle low end chipak threats ala J10/J17. As it is, the Bison does a pretty good job of it.

However, they should surely accept what has been served as of now and is likely to come in the next couple of years. Cocking the nose to the current LCA serves no purpose, the numbers are ridiculously low. Der aye, magar durust aye imho.

CM.

RahulM, Would it be good idea to have a page listing the LCA milestones with pics accomplished to date?
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

The Tejas is single-engined multirole fighter which features a tailless, compound delta planform and is designed with "relaxed static stability" for enhanced maneuverability. Originally intended to serve as an air superiority aircraft with a secondary "dumb bomb" ground-attack role, the flexibility of this design approach has permitted a variety of guided air-to-surface and anti-shipping weapons to be integrated for more well-rounded multirole and multimission capabilities.

The tailless, compound-delta planform is designed to keep the Tejas small and lightweight.[54] The use of this planform also minimises the control surfaces needed (no tailplanes or foreplanes, just a single vertical tailfin), permits carriage of a wider range of external stores, and confers better close-combat, high-speed, and high-alpha performance characteristics than comparable cruciform-wing designs. Extensive wind tunnel testing on scale models and complex computational fluid dynamics analyses have optimised the aerodynamic configuration of the LCA, giving it minimum supersonic drag, a low wing-loading, and high rates of roll and pitch.

All weapons are carried on one or more of seven hardpoints with total capacity of greater than 4,000 kg: three stations under each wing and one on the under-fuselage centreline. There is also an eighth, offset station beneath the port-side intake trunk which can carry a variety of pods (FLIR, IRST, laser rangefinder/designator, or reconnaissance), as can the centreline under-fuselage station and inboard pairs of wing stations.

The Tejas has integral internal fuel tanks to carry 3,000 kg of fuel in the fuselage and wing, and a fixed inflight refuelling probe on the starboard side of the forward fuselage. Externally, there are "wet" hardpoint provisions for up to three 1,200- or five 800-litre (320- or 210-US gallon; 260- or 180-Imp gallon) fuel tanks on the inboard and mid-board wing stations and the centreline fuselage station.

-----
I hope IAF inducts mk1 in large numbers to replace all mig21s. It should not take another war to justify induction.....

aditya.agd wrote:The Tejas is single-engined multirole fighter which features a tailless, compound delta planform and is designed with "relaxed static stability" for enhanced maneuverability. Originally intended to serve as an air superiority aircraft with a secondary "dumb bomb" ground-attack role, the flexibility of this design approach has permitted a variety of guided air-to-surface and anti-shipping weapons to be integrated for more well-rounded multirole and multimission capabilities.

The tailless, compound-delta planform is designed to keep the Tejas small and lightweight.[54] The use of this planform also minimises the control surfaces needed (no tailplanes or foreplanes, just a single vertical tailfin), permits carriage of a wider range of external stores, and confers better close-combat, high-speed, and high-alpha performance characteristics than comparable cruciform-wing designs. Extensive wind tunnel testing on scale models and complex computational fluid dynamics analyses have optimised the aerodynamic configuration of the LCA, giving it minimum supersonic drag, a low wing-loading, and high rates of roll and pitch.

All weapons are carried on one or more of seven hardpoints with total capacity of greater than 4,000 kg: three stations under each wing and one on the under-fuselage centreline. There is also an eighth, offset station beneath the port-side intake trunk which can carry a variety of pods (FLIR, IRST, laser rangefinder/designator, or reconnaissance), as can the centreline under-fuselage station and inboard pairs of wing stations.

The Tejas has integral internal fuel tanks to carry 3,000 kg of fuel in the fuselage and wing, and a fixed inflight refuelling probe on the starboard side of the forward fuselage. Externally, there are "wet" hardpoint provisions for up to three 1,200- or five 800-litre (320- or 210-US gallon; 260- or 180-Imp gallon) fuel tanks on the inboard and mid-board wing stations and the centreline fuselage station.
Saar the above is a cut and paste from the Wiki page I have linked below. On this forum and in any case, in this day and age of Googal unkal, if you do a copy-paste from any source it is a good idea to quote the source to avoid being accused of plagiarism

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HAL_Tejas
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

shukla saab says en EW version of LCA is under development with HAL.
Do we have any similar aircraft with the IAF like an MKI specifically for EW?

ramana wrote:RahulM, Would it be good idea to have a page listing the LCA milestones with pics accomplished to date?
yes saar ji, that's what we are trying to do in the FAQ thread.

rohitvats wrote:My dear good sir - in case of LCA it was exactly the insistence of scientific community which led to asking for the unobtanium from the word go which led to delay in the programme.... IAF wanted fast replacement for MiG-21 and not the complex project it became from day one with us trying to develop everything in situ. Radar, DFBW,Engine were all set as domestic targets by scientific community and not IAF.
Correction. IAF does say that technocrats took over. The fact cannot be denied. Civilians and technocrats are generally not acceptable to IA and IAF in most cases. An attitude, one can understand if we are from services background. Same argument has been heard form Army for Arjun project. They say that civvies and techno's took over and messed the project.

So my question is, if ADA or CVRDE decides to be a bit more ambitious, Does IAF and IA simply gets hostile to the project and keeps away?

ADA's and CVRDE's descisions are good. we can see the benefits now.

======================================================================

The delay of the program from money allocation is another grey area. The project was well on schedule untill the sanctions stuck. It was the same very technocrats who busted the sanctions. Compare that with the HF-24 project. It was HAL and IAF, a production agency and the user, they simply abondened the project instead of fighting through the problems.
Now coming to the best part, It is the same technocrats who are delivering technologies after technologies which has made the Tejas a trurly 4.5 gen fighter. They have masterd the design and technology and are capable of churning any amount of modifications or additions.
Today, what is IAF's reaction. Some retired IAF officers like Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh, DFC say that that aerospace industry is dead in the country. They talk as if someone else was responsible for it. The Our of our air marshals says "reverse engineeering is good." These kind of mentality would have driven our aerospace developments?
All aerospace dominant countries have technocrats driving the technologically challenging programs. Majority of the designers are civies and technocrats.
One question: If technocrats don't drive the technology related projects, which is the other qualified trade to run a technology project?
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

rohitvats wrote:My dear good sir - in case of LCA it was exactly the insistence of scientific community which led to asking for the unobtanium from the word go which led to delay in the programme.... IAF wanted fast replacement for MiG-21 and not the complex project it became from day one with us trying to develop everything in situ. Radar, DFBW,Engine were all set as domestic targets by scientific community and not IAF.
Exactly. When the scientists decided to make it complex, the stakeholder (IAF) should have taken control, insisted terms and timelines. IOW, taken ownership of the project.

Kailash wrote:Exactly. When the scientists decided to make it complex, the stakeholder (IAF) should have taken control, insisted terms and timelines. IOW, taken ownership of the project.
One of thfacts that IAF did not want a complex aircraft is a farce. You can judge by the current requirements on LCA Tejas by IAF. They want it to be truly 4th gen. IAF chief is on record for that. Had IAF needed a workable aircraft like Gnat ++, why so many demands and specs now?

Why Mk 1 order is jut 40 aircrafts? Dosen't IAF itself says that its much more than mig 21 even in mk 1 form?

Please don't consider it as a IAF demanding too much from ADA debate, just pointing out that IAF is not doing what it says.

rohitvats wrote:My dear good sir - in case of LCA it was exactly the insistence of scientific community which led to asking for the unobtanium from the word go which led to delay in the programme.... IAF wanted fast replacement for MiG-21 and not the complex project it became from day one with us trying to develop everything in situ. Radar, DFBW,Engine were all set as domestic targets by scientific community and not IAF
No that is incorrect & an misreading of the situation as it was. I am taking the liberty of replying to you as I find your posts on the Army etc pretty interesting & generally serious.
At least, I hope I wont have to face the problem of obnoxious replies and will face a reasoned statements in return.

Its a long mail, so if you have the patience read it. I took the liberty of spending a hour on it, digging out notes etc.

Now, the problem is when it comes to the above statements about technocrats leading the program, is that you are stating this based on the excellent book by AM Philip Rajkumar. Remember though, PR was a later entrant to the program & was not fully involved with the program as it started in terms of paperwork, consultancy etc for infra in 1983, followed by the negotiations for the first TD Phase which went on till the early 90's. He has a very good idea of the stuff that happened once he joined, till the program went on into the early-mid 2000's when he left, thereafter there have been many other changes as well, some of which he seems unaware of, eg his statements on the MK2 implied it would be a somewhat drastic change in airframe versus original LCA, so far the MK2 is much more conservative.

The other thing is remember, he is an IAF man. I have rarely if ever, heard any services guy speak ill of his organization on such a political issue, with ADA, HAL etc involved. The most I have heard is critique of IAF performance at wartime etc. Its just not done. Just take the Arjun, how many Army guys do we know of, who have come out and blasted or even criticized way its been treated and even army officers who supported it? Only Shukla after he left the org has done so. Rest, even 43AR guys and test crew have been very circumspect. You just dont criticize the plate from which you get the food, namak, roti, nishan or organizational pride/chauvinism, whatever you want to call it, but its just not done.

Incidentally thats what makes Philip Rajkumars downplayed critique of issues which he saw first hand such as IAF on "dont attend test flight and his promotion issues, so devastating. It just shows how much these issues impacted that it forced even him to speak up.

Anyways, to summarize, AM Philip Rajkumars words on issues where he was not directly involved need to be balanced vis a vis what people who may have been involved with the situation at the time said. This is the first rule of analysis, which you would have seen in the Arjun case as well, where some (not all) sections in the Army went out of their way to run down the program & put all the blame on the tank, designers etc but we got the correct view when GOI released information from the Std Committees, individual people started digging out information contradictory to the media soundbytes emerged.

So Rajkumar is not biased per se, but its important to have a source who actually was involved or has more details. In this case, I'd refer you to an article by Shri SR Valluri who was deeply involved with the initial LCA groundwork, including decisions around its technology specifications, and others. He later fell out with VS Arunachalam over the program, because Raj Mahindra was not appointed the LCA lead. So, SRV has his own issues to grind since he wanted to be the first ADA head afterwards, but Kota Harinarayana was chosen instead, but he was deeply involved with the FBW issue when vendors were evaluated. This is important as now for this niche topic, he does not have "opinion" but facts, as he saw them.

So what were they, basically ADA (or rather the people who would be ADA) invited the following groups for consultancy - I am going by an article/post which was posted by a senior member verbatim and which I read, but basically, four groups were invited for LCA Flight Control demo by the scientists.

First was Dassault, second was German group - Messerchmitt Bolkow Blohm, third was American group, and fourth, I think was British.

Now, what Valluri pointed out was the Dassault guys were extremely over the top, did not give due regard to Indian requirements, and did not even bother and could not answer the Indian scientists questions. You have to understand we had done a lot of research on the different technologies, so the questions were pointed and not naive. They ended the presentation noting that irrespective of what the team asked, they would be chosen because Delhi would choose them!! You can imagine the result of this "interaction". They didn't have the answers and were basically saying, we are going to get chosen because of politics so we dont care. Take what we give (and thats all you will get). Forget about proper learning, joint work etc.

The Germans it seems were the best. They were open, frank, courteous & did a proper exchange of opinions. But they also had lack of experience in flight controls, which was a challenge given LCA timelines.

Next, it was Americans - I don't remember how the British one went or whether they were there. The Americans had the best technology, were open about helping India and whats more they had the enttire "package". Flight conmtrol development is not just software, hardware, its about flight testbeds, certification and processes involving IV & V, which is Indepenedent Verification and Validation. Now Rajiv Gandhi had visited USA and had received commitment for help on LCA, so America really offered the entire gamut of help, including engine (incidentally one funny thing, make of it what you can, he also asked the scientist guys where Italy could help, and later dropped idea when they said no). So this was the reason America was chosen.

The IAF guys may have said go with France just because of the tech denial aspect, but from ADA viewpoint, the French were not open about what they would provide, and also made some really misleading statements about technology. They just did not come across as reliable. Hence all this talk of moving to an analog FCS and then digital FBW is pure hogwash. Another thing ADA discovered was that having two different FBW - digital multi channel & one analog channel backup, was quite complex and may end up taking more time, and wasted anyhow, as the standardized technology being developed/forecasted in more places was anyways the 4 Quad Channel FBW. So that was another point. And even Rajkumar notes (and here is a good source because he was an observer/participant) that till the sanctions occurred, the US did do their share of the deal, they actually helped with the FBW, gave access to testbeds, their engine guys were also helpful.

Bottomline, this was not a technocrat driven decision purely based on "whatever is best in the sky let us go for it" even if unrealistic. They actually did a detailed survey of the vendors and decided who was the most realistic & went with it. You also have to remember, political leadership (ie Rajiv Gandhi & others) were deeply involved at the time. The US choice also had their support after his "breaking' visit to US where he was received warmly.

Now, coming to radar. Again, there is data from B Harry, others, plus reading to get a fair idea of how that situation developed. Initially, India had this radar on MiG-21, forget the name, but it was not really effective. But somewhere while LCA was being developed as point defense fighter, with short range missiles, IAF did a technology forecasting with ADA and decided the radar is necessary, plus beyond visual range missiles would start coming, which need a proper radar. Again you can figure this out, as I did by going and reading a lot of the LCA material from the 80's and early 90's. Its interesting to see how program evolved.

Again, the speficications here are very ambitious and even today, would approach what is current gen technology. Mind you this is happening in 1980's, early 1990's when there is no radar like this in the market or world, typical example of IAF specifying really hard standards.

Now the first mistake. It was decided to work with organizations which had existing experience. Basically ADA did evaluation of the country facilities and went to MOD for clearance.

The radar was basically given to HAL because, HAL made radar for MiG-21 and should do the radar by the MOD logic. This was a big mistake. HAL basically did not have a proper R&D culture and could not effectively program manage the radar, and also did not devote enough resources. Ultimately, they ended up with the hardware, developed by DRDO, DAE, software from HAL and others, all having issues with DRDO signal processor which also came with separate software. It should have all been in the LRDE or DLRL organizations which specialized in RF work, why HAL was chosen is a mistake.

So coming to the topic, first choice from HAL was to work with SAAB on radar , somewhere along the way, SAAB was dropped because SAAB asked for too much money, and SAAB itself was anyways working with British for their radar. So we went directly to the Brits and got the systems, components and used that too fit the radar up, while India developed equivalents, and we did, like the antenna.

Where the program went haywire, was the fact that HAL seriously did not sustain a proper plan for radar development and the IAF specifications were too ambitious.

Take the first, Rajkumar was involved with this aspect so he mentions some things - HAL did not even have a proper plan for flying testbed, so he approached CABs and had them use the Hack. Is this ADAs job? No, the system developer should draw up a detailed test program and share that with ADA after ADA provides high level performance specifications, size/power constraints and timelines. But HAL just did not, to be fair to them, until mid 1990s, they had funding problems and were under thumb of MOD. But this just shows the problems faced by ADA in herding cats and different organizations. Here ADA is going to CABS and getting HAL a testbed and what not.

Second, specifications, all this talk of IAF being reasonable with the LCA using claims of Marut etc is also totally humorous. The IAF cut no slack for the LCA performance. The LCA radar, has specifications of 120 km range (against small fighter target) which means Zhuk ME standard and approximately 20% more or at least equal when compared to todays APG-68 V(9) best in class mechanical radar on F-16 Block 52s being sold to Pakistan. It also was to have Doppler Mapping, DBR (A2G ranging) and Terrain Following Modes. Here is what is interesting. No IAF fighter has had these features before Kopyo radar in late 2000's and that too Kopyo range is not even half that of LCA radar. Furthermore, if you see IAF requirements circa 2003-05, SAR has been added to LCA radar. Because now latest fighter radars come with SAR. In contrast, Pakistans JF-17 has mostly A2A modes, and comes with limited A2G modes. High resolution SAR was not mentioned in KLJ-7 and will probably be provided as upgrade, "oneday".

So here you have a MiG-21 class airframe sized plane, with a radar with performance expected to be equal to the best MSA available today, can you imagine what that does to power requirements and systems required to "drive" such a unit? TWT (the power source for radar) which takes power from propulsion is 650 W average. Ok, the Zhuk ME is 1-1.2 KW average, and nearly the same diameter. The MMR has to do more with less & it cant add more processing (weight!).

For radars, 4 things are critical, antenna size, power, gain (sensitivity of radar) and third signal processing. Also, to fit into aircraft, weight/volume.

So the LCA, has to have a nose, which can fit a radar dia in fact more than Zhuk ME (on MiG-29), has power at around half that of Zhuk ME, and has to have performance equal to the radar, with features, Russia is still introducing on type (Flight says, Phazatron started introducing high resolution SAR recently, and introduced SAR on radars with Kopyo variants after working decade plus on the technology).

Lets get to the even more interesting part, weight - the Zhuk ME, weighs 220 Kg. The LCA MMR required specifications? 130 Kg (http://www.acig.org/exclusives/aero/acig_aero05_lca.htm). Note the interesting thing (combined signal processor, data processor and also combined receiver/exciter). In contrast, for Su-30 MKI radar, there is Signal processor, two separate data processors (supplied by India) and separate, receiver/exciter.

The weight of Bars radar is 650 Kg, 250 kg antenna, so 400 kg rest. So just see the comparison here, for the AUW of the MMR at 130 kg, including the antenna even when comparing to the rest of the Bars radar!! The lightest version of the ELTA 2032 is quoted at around ~100 Kg per Avionics Journal, more capable ones will weigh more. So here you have the MMR which has performance expected at the RDY-2/Zhuk ME level and is expected to have a large dia antenna, high speed scanning, all the advanced features, and yet be lightweight.

The Israelis when they were brought into "fix" signal processing for A2G issues, were reportedly surprised at the demands made of the radar sets!! Only when the IAF got its Kopyo, did it realize how unrealistic the MMR was in terms of specifications, and that they could do well with lesser! Kopyo 21 has 57 km range, much lesser against small target).

So as Rajkumar implies but does not openly specify, we went to the Russians for it, after he had a discussion with the then IAF chief (i think it was Krishnaswamy, who was relatively reasonable, having a test flying background, so was willing to hear out Rajkumar). The Russians if you recall were advertising Kopyo-M with "enhanced range" - only 75 km!! But even there, the Russians put their foot down, bureaucracy/who knows what, and that didnt occur. Ultimately, we went to Israel and have the set working now. Point is the IAF specs were very ambitious, and are today, achieved with sets that are either heavier, or more powerful (power), and are on larger, more powerful aircraft. The LCA being a MiG21 replacement, and has to have radar which is double the range (even more actually) than MiG-29 (65 kM range vs 5Sq Mtr) and MiRAGE 2000 H (same level) and modes which were not there in any, such as SAR (later added) and modes which were there only on one type (Mirage 2000) - A2G - Doppler Mapping, Ranging, and TFR (which some dont even credit RDM with having). This is just ONE example, of how IAF requirements are so hard to meet.

Now, I am not going to get into more details here, because somebody will take a one liner two liner weblink and say AHA! this is also 100 kg, but anyone reasonable should be able to work out the larger picture in terms of power, antenna dia, features, LRUs & the overall performance expected.

Remember, when the features for this radar were specified - the state of the technology can be summed up by the ELTA EL/M -2035, one of the "better" radars available then. Naval Weapons tells me, the radar had an all up weight (AUW) of 138 kg BUT a range of 46 km.

Now, I really don't know whether the effort I put into reply is even worth it, but take a look at the LCA EW suit. A point defense plane, now has to have a state of art RWJ suite. Original plan as I recall, having seen multiple discussions on topic (public) was to have integrated "EW armor" which means the power/cooling requirements have to be kept in place already. Now, they have something called RWJ. RWJ is a very complex piece of equipment that makes this ELTA 8222 pod look obsolete. It has multiple receivers transmitters & can handle higher spectral density, and multiple targets, from different locations. It is being designed in specific for the LCA. Why do you think this is being done? Because its a fact of life that threat scenario is rising, but then also see that specifications/performance required is higher than that of ELTA 8222 by several factors, and being an integrated system, when it appears on MK2 or whatever, it has more challenges in terms of weight/cooling and wiring! Second, the "hidden" reason. If they had not done this, guess what happens. As plane is being developed, there comes foreign vendor with brochure, saying "my plane is integrated with internal jammer" you have obsolete aircraft unable to defend itself. So you see the problems? A customer which has the best of the world on offer, and will not compromise, and ever changing requirements.

Another example of change and which backs up Vinas post about IAF not really being bothers about the program till the thing went into FSED 1. The ADA spent thousands of man hours, using original IAF requirements to come up with a first class mission computer using 386 chips for the LCA. Once TD flew, and avionics are ready, IAF comes to ADA and says, well we want an open architecture system that is like this, because everyone uses OA nowadays. Sure, did Mirage 2000 or even Jaguars have OA, no - only once they get upgraded will they have it. But in FSED Phase 1 itself, the ADA had to again go back and rework the avionics to put in new systems which were OA. So now you have the Open Architecture Computer on LCA MK1. I had noted some details somewhere about the number of avionics changes that are changed even from TD onwards. Basically, at every stage, it has been a challenge for ADA. The customer has had late change requests which really complicate the program, and will not accept anything less than gold standard at the word go. At the recent induction of the MK1, IAF chief made pointed remarks about not yet 4G, will have to complete tests etc and caused a needless controversy and later, noted he did agree LCA was a 4G plane and he was just referring to the test process. Fine, but when Mirage 2000 was inducted, I am told, it came without some of its most critical equipment. French refused to budge on price. Ultimately systems were fitted AFTER we purchased the aircraft. Tell me, how many articles can you find about Mirage 2000 induction not being upto mark, generation problems etc.

Basically we do have a problem with the LCA, like it or not, and as much offense it causes some (not you) that the LCA ASRs which the IAF set, signed off on, were clearly unrealistic and too ambitious. You have a guy from the horses mouth, JA Maolankar in recent Aero India noting about LCA Navy, saying "ok we were probably too ambitious, and its ok now to actually do build up the capabilities" - am paraphrasing but you can find his statement in original text. All these comparisons to the Gripen are also a big joke, and I am deliberately not doing that, because it just shows the folks who originally raised these queries are absolutely unaware of the differences between the program and the challenges LCA team has faced. For instance, the landing gear was to be sourced from US. They promised they would deliver a best in class gear, specifically designed for the LCA, and those estimates were originally planned for the weight estimations. Then come sanctions, that option is no longer there and HAL delivered a production standard gear for the LCA in short turn around time. At least a few ADA guys were very happy with HAL for this work. What happens to the weight estimations then, versus what the US had claimed (and who knows whether they'd have met them, because like i said leading OEM systems are challenged by LCA requirements) and versus what ADA has to incorporate now?

Another example, in Rajkumars book, there is reference to how ADA had just 3-4 set of actuators from Moog of USA and actually shifted them around from LCA flight aircraft to ground testbed (Iron Bird) and also, how they had actually integrated engine on own, since propulsion guys had foresight to request detailed engine integration data (which was actually GEs job) and even here they just had a few engines which were calibrated and could be used. Now, I shared this with some flight test guys at an event and they could not believe me. No other program (apparently) has been run with such conditions. Sanctions come, and first, you manage to run the flight test program with limited equipment which was not enough for the job and second, you actually replace import items for the program via local replacements. You do all this, and that too with limited budgeting & actually get it to IOC and then, where is the talk of delays and the like!! Its a miracle we actually managed to get it to IOC. Its very certain, that given the critical engine & actuators issue, plus the FBW issue, the US political depts thought the LCA would be cancelled. Finally, a letter went to Antony, as reported, saying dont fly this plane, last attempt probably.

And now, the much vaunted Gripen. All due credits to SAAB or whatever, but the comparison with ADA project management is a joke. SAAB never faced sanctions. They have the who's who of the world's best OEMs at beck and call. Want an engine? Volvo Flygmotor license produces a derivative of GE404 and can even do own integration. FBW? Work with Brits, even work with them for initial studies. Radar? Ericcson worked with Ferranti, which became GE Marconi which became Selex and has made Eurofighter radar. Today, they are using SELEX TRM with PS-05 backend, and nobody calls them names, LOL over this approach!! Same approach from LRDE, and LRDE is useless. For actuators, Moog - no sanctions. INS system, I think it was Rockwell, other systems from US as well.

So SAAB did what China is doing with ARJ-21, it set overall functional requirements, did design & development, again with consultancy, had extensive industrial infra of its own, experience also collaborated with multiple OEMs for detailed systems & even materials and structures and finally did system integration, design and verification, certification. In contrast, ADA has had to manage both design, system design, compensate for lack of system suppliers in India (many avionics in LCA are ADA designed, and only now moving to private partners) and finally, face sanctions. Also, the program as it started was regarded as meddling, and the primary customer kept away (Advisors to IAF CAS on historic occasion of KH2001 flight clearance, keep away!!). At the end of the day, what we have with the LCA is pure, dogged, determination. If we can make the LCA despite all such challenges, and yet have an aircraft which is competitive in criteria with aircraft made using best in class technology from OEMs worldwide who specialize in those special systems, I see no reason why we should flagellate about this program.

I can write more about the Kaveri engine disaster, but I will leave that for now, unless you are really interested. The Kaveri is probably the one case in the LCA where we bit off more than we could chew, and second, where the MOD bureaucracy just did not understand the programs criticality.

Which is why The biggest thing still lacking is an detailed organization at the GOI level which coordinates long term projects and is willing to invest as necessary. Business Standard carries an article exactly on this. Nobody has even bothered to understand what LCA represents. That it takes a one journalist to write this, versus GOI saying it, shows the state of affairs in our country. All sorts of fellows do vendor sponsored junkets, write stuff touting their products in trade glossies, others are agents, but there is little to no understanding of the actual details on the impact of the indian programs on indian industry. Even otherwise well meaning officers in armed forces are sometimes absolutely unaware of what is what, and why. They go by what media says, or what vendors tell them.

Two more things that I will add that I can certify will change the dynamic of the IAFs sometimes there/sometimes not there attitude towards local systems. They need an actual technology cell inhouse, staffed with DRDO/PSU/PVT guys if need be if manpower is an issue, which work closely with them beyond just individual programs but at the overall level. Not only will this impact their understanding of how challenging these issues are and define an understanding of "essential" versus "good to have". "Good to have" is the critical 20% last mile connectivity which has caused so many issues and can be incorporated via upgrades.

Second, we need more funding at the national and organizational level. One, ADA is currently totally reliant on HAL for building LCA prototypes and design and verification of the actual flying testbeds. In Skunk Works & other key houses of excellence, design & production engineering is integrated, because it was finally realized, that the production house always had issues fitting in development work with its mature, produce as many as possible aircraft schedule. There is intense competition for resources (tooling, and infrastructure) and manpower in such cases, and this clearly affected LCA testing, where you have notes about how one HAL chief was not keen on the LCA (its not a HAL project) and the IJT was prioritized over LCA testing (losing valuable time, and which is more important from national perspective, IJT or HAL). Again, funding for ADA to do a lot of prototyping and testing on their own with HAL people integrated , and transferring TOT to HAL might have actually been faster. And a national body which laid down the law in terms of priorities (LCA is critical, LCA more than IJT) would have done the job. Guess what, China has just announced they are doing exactly this.

More funding also means the ridiculous, every two three years people working on MMR at HAL leave does not occur. We have - imported 125 radars for MiG-21, 62 for MiG-29, 50 for Mirage 2000, 80 for Jaguar all of MMR level (which can be scaled up and down in derivative technology). That is 317 radars or $1 Billion of radars @ 3 Million per radar, plus add another 2 Billion in maintenance. So 2-3 Billion$ over lifecycle. How much did we spend on MMR. Talk about how foolish India is in not spending where it matters.

Ultimately, a nation gets what it deserves. The Indian taxpayer has long had his money used in the most foolish way possible by citing national emergency and timely delivery, where even that does not occur. CAG analysis of "emergency procurement" at Operation Vijay revealed guidelines were relaxed for emergency import, most of which items did not reach us in time. Scorpene, Gorshkov all show how many times we have been taken to the cleaners by vendors after they see once we sign up there is TINA. And why is there TINA, because Indians will continue to bicker and miss the wood for the trees when it comes to such issues like LCA.
Last edited by Karan M on 02 Mar 2011 09:05, edited 1 time in total.

Why Mk 1 order is jut 40 aircrafts? Dosen't IAF itself says that its much more than mig 21 even in mk 1 form?
This is the point many people miss, when they say IAF would have been happy with a replcement a/c for MIG-21. They are getting more and more ambitious and demanding day by day..The present Tejas configuration itself is far better than the upgraded MIG-21. Why not order 200 of them..? No, they are willing to wait for a Mark II version.

Unfortunately, In India we don't spend money on cutting edge technology like U.S or Europe. Plus the attitudinal problems in Industry/Scientific community and the IAF aggravated the problems and caused some unnecessary delays.

^^^ Karan ... an hour well spent. I wish some journalist copy pastes this in some newspaper.

Nitpick ... the letter went to Fernandez (instead of Antony).

Awesome post Karan M.

@tsarkar
well wow indeed ! was RWR even a part of ASR-1985 ?? tranquil/tarang was just being introduced back then. what % of IAF fleet had operational RWR at the time ? heck, what % of its frontline fighters had RWR at that time ? zero ?
FYI, the MIG -21 that I sat in 1982 had RWR!

Cheers

Karan M, thanks for the effort, very nice summary. Just a small nitpick, For CLAW and FBW, BAE was the main consultant and Martin Marietta helped in testing the FBW & CLAW. Infact BAE consultants used to periodically review the CLAW progress. 'The Tejas Story' has in depth description of generous help lent by the Brits.

Cheers....

@tsarkar
Pragnya, you didn’t provide a link to the subcommittee report, here is it http://164.100.47.134/lsscommittee/Defe ... REPORT.pdf
sorry, but i have provided that link in one of my previous posts though not as part of this debate .
Now, this report clearly mentions

. It does not mention addition Changes clearly mean X was replaced by Y. These changes are clearly mentioned there.
first of all changes does not mean only replacements. they can be add ons too. even if they are 'only' replacements it will 'still be an issue' if the the replacement brings in a +ve weight compared to the one it replaces like in the case of R-60 to R-73 in which case the aircraft needs strengthening to offset the higher g-force. it is not so black and white as you are trying to portray. for one technology does not remain static and 1985 specs does not hold good for 2010 which is why i don't find fault with the IAF for the 'change' in 2004 which also came btw because of 'experience' gained - which i would briefly touch later - but rather find it ludicrous that IAF did not contribute to the weight gain at all!!!

let me touch the experience gained factor -

Kargill was a watershed moment for the IAF. the fact that LDPs came in handy for precision strike and also the 'escorts' needed for the strike missions were 2 of those factors which had paradigm shift in the way IAF thinks now. they wanted to correct this in one stroke and hence MULTIROLE became the mantra.

now originally LCA was meant as a replcement for A2A fighter like Mig 21 primarily and hence the 1985 specs. but does the present LCA look like a Mig 21 replacement?? hardly. this is precisely because of the 'specs change' and a metamorphosis of LCA from A2A to MULTIROLE with added/changed - sensors/avionics/weapons. this was needed and there is no dispute over this. also it is worth noting here even Mig 29s being upgraded now and the M2Ks which will upgrade later are all going MUTIROLE. why is that?? because it brings in lot of benefits - like elimination/minimisation of escorts in strike missions, operational efficiency, flexibility, even cost savings too IMO.

hence my point IAF effected changes and for the right reason but in the process contributed for the weight gain too. as for ADA i have already admitted they too are responsible for being conservative but for me this 1 tonne gain is a misnomer for the simple reason the original aim of 5500kg empty was grossly unrealistic to start with and unforunately the comparison is made with this spec forgetting in the process the changes made and weight gained in the process. however some weight can be shed and is being done rightly. i have in one of my posts given a T/W ratio of LCA mark 1 with Gripen C which is the correct match and surprisingly LCA mark 1 scores better not only wrt weight but thrust too.
Also, development of open architecture avionics doesn’t mean we’re adding it in the first place. It means we’re replacing avionics that were already

there, or supposed to be there.
the point is what was supposed to be there as per 1985 requirement was no more the case in 2004 and hence the changes and hence part increase in weight.
Jaguars were wired for Litening before Mirage.
i would not doubt your point regards Jaguar. but i would be more happy if you can provide me a link.
Litening is an external store that would be accounted under payload, not empty weight.
i never said otherwise.
No. 1800 kg? That more than the Kh-59 (900 kg) and close to Brahmos A (2200 kg)!!! Litening pod weighs 200 kg, and that too a fuselage hardpoint, that

is attached to the airframe.
sir you are misinterpreting my observation. i said 1800kg G-force not 1800kg strenthening. 1800kg g force = 200kg LDP X 9times. ofcourse this is only from my basic understanding because i am no aero engineer. now whether the strenthening means 20kg or 50kg i can't say only a structural engineer can. may be Vina/Raman/Kartik can help here.

besides that my larger point was - was the LDP part of the 1985 ASR?? i doubt it for the reasons i mentioned above. the fact that except Mirages which had ATLIS pod, none of the others had (ofcourse i stand corrected on the jaguar post from your point above) and post Kargill the worth was seen and hence as part of gain in experience and ofcourse to keep Tejas current it became part of the 2004 specs IMO.
Typically, because of the inherent strength of the airframe, fuselage hardpoints are able to carry much higher weights than wing. Conversely, adding a fuselage hardpoint does not require significant structural changes. The Tejas fuselage center and wing inner hardpoints are stressed to carry 1000 kg, for EFT and bombs. The wing middle hardpoints are stressed for carrying 500 kg and the wing outer 150 kg.
broadly agree with you but you do agree if i look at the bolded part that there would be some changes. now IMO for the reasons i quoted above as also in another post, there must have been 'some though not huge' changes due to this LDP requirement which was a new requirement post Kargill. now in the light of the your above point i agree it may not be 1800kg g-force but may be less but as i said somebody can help here.
Good, ADA calls itself an aircraft designer and failed to account for this, right?

Newer Fiber optic and ring laser gyros are very compact systems with embedded GPS receiver. You probably have a GPS receiver on your mobile phone, that will

give you an indication of size and weight.
point remains whether IFF was part of the 1985 specs?? what is the comparative weight specs??
The actual Tejas internal EW system is described in page 8 of 17 of the DRDO publication http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfoc ... 011%20.pdf

The RWR activates the chaff cartridges and there is NO INTERNAL JAMMER in Tejas Mk. 1.
right. but is that final?? will that remain at FOC?? even if not at FOC won't be part of series production down the line?? don't you think 'provisioning' needs to be in place for that??
Surely it replaced earlier helmets, no, or did they wear cowboy hats before that? What is the incremental difference?
unless we have weight specs for both how can we conclude?? besides what about the processors/computer and the like for the HMDS to be in place operationally?? won't they bring in their own weight??

also i forgot to add in my last post the systems like IFR and DATALINK too which would find place down the line and which also add their own weight.
Last edited by pragnya on 02 Mar 2011 10:42, edited 1 time in total.

Interesting.. Ajai Shukla says this is the PV1 being prepped for an EW role :-o

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.com/2011/02/ ... at-is.html

Thanks Karan. A very balanced and unbiased article.

Having been a supplier of systems to ADA, HAL, NAL and ISRO, I had the pleasure of being associated with a lot of individuals whom I found to be very determined, dedicated in their goal to succeed regardless of the pittance they were being paid.

Also, have a lot of friends/family in the armed forces.

The LCA is a great product, even with its percieved "drawbacks" for the very reasons you have mentioned.

Once a project is defined (especially of this sort), changes midstream lead to a lot of associated dilution of the original. Costs and timeframes being only a part of the resultant.

I hope the powers that be, whether the MoD, AF, and the design/development/manufacturing agencies have learnt a lesson form this saga.

And I hope our Airforce takes a leaf out of our Navy's approach. In the late 60s, the Navy inducted Naval Architects from IIT KGP who then went on to form the core design team. In fact, few of my seniors and batchmates were found to be working at MDL! This interaction has definitely matured our navy to be the leader amongst our armed forces wings in pursuing and delivering indiagenious equipment to meet their objectives and doctrine.

I wish the airforce had picked up guys majoring in Aeronautical Engineering and forming such a core group.

Better late than never.

Thanks Karan for a really serious, sobering and well written postpost. Cheers. 8)

Kailash wrote:
CM, I would agree more with Vina that LCA did not receive the support it needed from IAF. I am not very clear if the lack enthu from IAF is the effect of DRDO propaganda only.

Rather, since the IAF did not care enough, they did not try to downsize any of the ambitious goals set by DRDO. We all heard force/conviction with which they complain when the project did not deliver on a certain aspect. But we never saw a single case where they said "I need 100 planes within the next decade, hell with you high technology research. Take the simpler/safer route BUT deliver. Deliver a safe/capable aircraft ON TIME"

For me it only means that IAF was not serious on inducting this craft in numbers. They were less concerned about depleting numbers - than their tussles and finger pointing at DRDO. Things are changing slowly.. got to wait and see if there will be subsequent orders of mk1, tests of mk1 with kaveri and export orientation.
My dear good sir - in case of LCA it was exactly the insistence of scientific community which led to asking for the unobtanium from the word go which led to delay in the programme.... IAF wanted fast replacement for MiG-21 and not the complex project it became from day one with us trying to develop everything in situ. Radar, DFBW,Engine were all set as domestic targets by scientific community and not IAF.
"A complex project that it became" has lead to the creation of an aeronautical infrastructure wherein we can now design modern aircraft with confidence and have now closed the gap with the majors in this space. Listening to the IAF would have still left India 30 years behind. The IAF and indeed the services have no idea on how to build a mil-industrial complex and thanks to the "scientific community" we are close to one atleast in the fighter aircraft space.

Lalmohan wrote: why so much angst?
Angst is because instead of commending the stupendous achievement in the Tejas, the carping and churlish critics will still point out small defects here and there and look to put the community (that developed the Tejas and the ecosystem around it) in its place. Witness the small minded criticisms on this forum and in the IAF community (both current and retired).
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

Thanks Karan for that informative post. Really helps put things in perspective.

Karan M,
beautiful work. Please please please do post details about Kaveri. I'm sure we'd all love to read about it.

super write up Karan M. you need to seriously think of writting articles for Vayu or the like. i am an avid admirer of your posts. thanks.

Karan's post needs to be cross posted in the FAQ thread and archived there for posterity.
bksahu

Post by bksahu »

A complete article Karan M. Thanks for for posting.
Also can you post for Kaveri engine also. If possible.

I don't normally post on this thread because I don't consider myself knowledgeable enough to do so. However, my personal thanks to Karan M for that stupendous post. I learnt a lot about the saga behind the Tejas.

I'd like to make one general comment. After reading this thread and the Armoured Vehicles thread I'm stuck by how different our approach is from that of the Chinese or even the Pakis.

In Arjun and Tejas we have two products built from scratch and yet comparable in most respect with the best in class for their respective niches. Sure there's a few niggles but those can and are, from what I've read on this forum, being taken care of so much so that the MKII version of these two would really be world class.

Forget the Army and various interest groups. Even jingos on this forum are going through hoops (especially in the MBT discussion) to somehow prove that firangi maal is much better that their desi equivalents - all in the name of protecting the fair name of the Armed Forces. Mind you the firangi maal is made by companies/countries with more than half a century of making similar products. Yet our much detested scientists managed to produce products which are very close to the very best - using the Indian tradition of jugaad.

And yet when the Chinese soopar doopar "fat cow" stealth aircraft flew we had Panda drones coming here and extolling on how the aircraft is a F22 and Pak-Fa "killer". And that too without knowing what engines the plane is going to use, what sensor suit it would have, what kind of radar cross-section it would finally have etc.

These drones were just parrroting what was/is being written on Panda forums.

And interestingly very soon Western defence "anal-ysts" started parroting what the Chinese were saying and doing their equivalent of "shivering in their dhotis". The Panda "shock and awe" was even enough to produce some "dhoti-shivering" on this forum as well.

I don't have much idea about defence technology but I do have a pretty good idea as to how "anal-ysts" and all manner of "experts" gather data. They do by trawling the Net and visiting sites like BRF (in the case of defence related matters). And when they see Indians themselves rubbishing India made products without any credible arguments - and this in addition to priceless comments from the Armed forces such as "dabbha" and "three-legged Cheeta" etc - do you think they'd take any desi designed product seriously?

Why do you need them to take these products seriously? Well for the simple reason that when they "really" understand our capabilities it's only then they'd be willing to collaborate in other areas and not treat us like the Pakis - a client state.

What's in our genes that forces us to always look down on ourselves?

Sorry for the rant.

i think we can agree that DRDO/ADA/HAL ityadi have proven that they can design and build state of the art weapon systems. this is a journey that began in the late 70's and has now come to fruition. This is good.

what is not good? in most industrial countries, the mil-eng complex arose in parallel with a civilian manufacturing industry (except SU perhaps), and therefore - the 'ambient awareness' including of their respective armed forces of capabilities was high and confidence was greater. in india, our manufacturing base has not risen in parallel, and lags behind where it needs to be for a G-n power. it is only now reaching a level of capability which is credible. therefore it is not surprising if air marshalls and admirals and jarnails raise their eyebrows - they are removed from this sector and only see its downsides and have no role to play in its upsides.

that is changing. as i have said a few times before, india now has to step up in production engineering and deliver these new systems with reliability and precision. and ofcourse, these capabilities have to translate into the commercial sector and the inevitable rise of indian manufacturing power.

this is coming next (not just my jingo-wet-dreams but forecast by non-dhoti wearing gora loge who are never wrong /sarc) and will see the advent of real wealth creation in the indian economy and it taking a lead over china

meanwhile, all jingos need to repeat the mantra of tejas
Multatuli

Post by Multatuli »

chackojoseph wrote:

One of thfacts that IAF did not want a complex aircraft is a farce. You can judge by the current requirements on LCA Tejas by IAF. They want it to be truly 4th gen. IAF chief is on record for that. Had IAF needed a workable aircraft like Gnat ++, why so many demands and specs now?

Please don't consider it as a IAF demanding too much from ADA debate, just pointing out that IAF is not doing what it says.
Yup, the argument that DRDO/ADA made the project more complex then necessary is utterly disingenuous. Had ADA chosen for less complex technologies during the project definition phase: the same people would now be accusing ADA of lack of vision/ambition, etc..

Amit sahib, that is not a rant, those are words of wisdom and I thank you for it. I don't know much about defense tech either, but seeing how the IAF and IA trash indigenous products/efforts while they have no problem with purchasing foreign products of comparable quality for billions makes my blood boil.

A request to Karan M to publish his post as a paper in BRM.

Nice post Karan M. Beautifully put.

Thank you, Karan ji.

I'm amazed you could hold back for so long considering you know so much of what actually happened.

Modesty is not a virtue that the IAF rewards. The ADA needs to speak up.