Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Gururaj S ‏@Equateall 35m

@mediacrooks Some, like Anna, genuinely fast. Some others, genuinely fart! @ArvindKejriwal

Gururaj S ‏@Equateall 44m

pic.twitter.com/gOayIcDR8j If @TwitterIndia has to remove a simple cartoon of @MANJULtoons we r in black band here. ==>

Congress clears stand on 18 points raised by Aam Aadmi Party
New Delhi: The Congress on Monday sent a detailed response to Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal’s 18 points he raised before deciding on whether his party could form the government in Delhi.

Speaking to the media, Congress leader Shakeel Ahmed said that 16 out of 18 issues raised by the AAP are totally administrative and to implement them no party needs any support or approval from the state Assembly. “If any party is in power it can implement those as they are not legislative issues, but administrative,” Ahmed said.

Putting forward Congress’ stand Ahmed stressed that the other two issues - Lokpal Bill and giving statehood to Delhi doesn’t fall within state Assembly’s domain. Commenting on the ombudsman bill, Ahmed said that the Lokpal Bill is already in the Parliament and most probably will sail through and if they want any amendments in Delhi Lokayukta Act, if the proposed changes are within the limits of Assembly proceedings, the Congress would support it.

On the issue of Delhi getting statehood status, the Congress leader said that the party has also proposed the same and also mentioned in its manifesto.

Ahmed also said that the new political outfit AAP lacks experience and thus they did not know that 16 points that they listed are administrative.

Good analysis by minhaz merchant on likely INC tally in LS 2014 and the disaster that looms ahead for them

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... ath-part-2
The Congress faces a wipeout in 10 of India’s largest states: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab and Tamil Nadu.

Its Lok Sabha tally in these 10 major states is currently 127 seats (AP 33, Bihar 2, Gujarat 11, MP 12, Odisha 6, Punjab 8, Rajasthan 20, Tamil Nadu 8, UP 21, and W. Bengal 6). In 2014, most estimates project the party’s likely tally in these 10 states at between 30 and 35 seats with big losses in the Hindi heartland and Andhra. [...]

Now consider the math:

Tier 1: In the 10 large states mentioned above, the Congress’s tally is likely to be 30-35 seats.

Tier 2: Maharashtra and Karnataka could together contribute 20-25 seats.

Tier 3: In the mid-sized and small states, the Congress could drum up at most another 25-30 seats.

Taking the higher figure in each category, the Congress’s 2014 Lok Sabha tally could hover around 90. At that level its strategy to attract allies like the TRS or YSR in Andhra, SP or BSP in Uttar Pradesh, RJD or JD(U) in Bihar and the Left or TMC in West Bengal may falter.

The numbers such a front could muster (without regional rival overlaps) are unlikely to be more than 90-100. A coalition of the Congress and a regional front with less than 200 Lok Sabha seats between them can hardly be the basis for a stable government.
Moreover, several states go to the polls in assembly elections in 2014 and 2015 – among them Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana and Jammu & Kashmir.

If the Congress loses the Maharashtra and Haryana assemblies – both of which appear possible – it will be in power in 2015 in just one large state (Karnataka), one mid-sized state (Assam) and a smattering of small states (Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand) and a handful in the north-east, including Arunachal.

Kerala could slip from its grasp in 2016 when assembly elections are due and, if bifurcated, Andhra will elect local non-Congress governments from the TRS and YSR/TDP in Telangana and Seemandhra respectively when fresh assembly elections are held there.

Out of power in 2014 at the Centre and out of power in virtually every significant state by 2016: this is a prospect the Congress must confront sooner rather than later.
I could drink to that prospect.... Hic.

Also... from twitter:

>>Minhaz Merchant ‏@minhazmerchant 1h
Do direct cash transfers work? Cong lost 137/154 assembly segments where scheme was implemented http://dnasyndication.com/dna/top_news/ ... NMUM293372

if it loses power that badly, a lot of dirty secrets will tumble out of closet. a lot of the big guns could end up in jail if GOI pursues seriously. those with secret foreign dual passports would obviously decamp into exile and allege religious persecution from safer shores.

these are tumultous times.

Anna Hazare’s aide slams Arvind Kejriwal, calls him liar
New Delhi: With standoff between Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal and social activist Anna Hazare over Lokpal Bill continuing, Anna’s aide Santosh Bhartiya called the AAP leader as a liar on Monday.

Hitting out at Kejriwal, Bhartiya said that Anna knows what he is doing and no one can misguide him. He further said that none other than Kejriwal would have attempted to misguide Anna.

Accusing Kejriwal of being a liar, Bhartiya said that the AAP leader has visited his office thrice in the past, but pretends as if he doesn’t recognises him.

pankajs wrote:Latest bit on Hazrat floating on teetar. Don't know if this is for real.
----------------------------------->>
MediaCrooks ‏@mediacrooks 5m

Hypocrisy! @ArvindKejriwal talks of red-beacons & "no bunglows" for MLAs but likes people as SLAVES to tie his shoes

is that some child whose shoe is being buckled but it does looks like kejris leg. re: child, see the small arm, near kejris leg
weird..

Minhaz Merchant is being highly optimistic. I expect the Congress to pull out every dirty trick in their book in the run up to the LS polls. They will threaten to unleash the CBI on Mulayam and Mayawati to get them in line. Plus we'll have Nitish Kumar and his ilk who'll ally with them, possibly post-polls for the sake of "secularism". I also expect them to get more seats in Telangana now that the division is final. My home state of maharashtra has also disappointed me time and again, inexplicably voting for the NCP-Congress combine even after 26/11. I expect no different this time. It is going to be a tough fight, that's for sure.
Abhijit

Post by Abhijit »

Rally at Lakhimpur Kheri. pic.twitter.com/o1uTacuEDE

Does Varun G has such a pull in WB or is there any undercurrent in WB towards BJP?[/quote]

Sirji lakhimpur kheri is in UP

President Rule in Delhi ( proxy congi rule) till Hazrat Kejariwal agrees to form the govt. Assembly will be in suspended animation.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/specials/ ... 63221.aspx

Altair wrote:Whatever people are being fed my MSM is wrong and bullshit. I was in the Run for Unity in Hyderabad. The response will make you feel that NaMo is already the PM of India. It was an emotional moment for me to be part of the run.
Heart Warming to hear that saar.

svenkat wrote:And who are you archan?

Just because you do not understand TN does not mean I cannot 'defend' PC.

I have posted in the previous page how PC has bravely defended Congress against the charge it is anti-tamil? how congress politicians from TN have defended GOI positions against the tide of tamizh nationalism?

PC is articulate in both tamizh and english and he has been one of the architects of liberalisation policies.I was 'defnding' PC in the context of RajeshAjis 'glee' that PC is becoming a nobody.PC has been the face of Congress and Indian nationalism in TN was my contention.There are very few if any leaders like PC in TN?

well, good luck with defending, because you started from the basic premise of defending someone purely for their "regional" identity being identical to yours. do you expect 113 crore Indians to sympathetically nod about PC when they identify him so clearly with the INC top echelon who've mired the country is the worst forms of treachery (loot of public resources) and gotten away with it?

I assure you: even the 6 core Tamizhs will have a hard time accepting that other than perhaps a few.

Well, here's stuff the media has buried in a wall of silence...

And this, in Delhi...

ravi_g wrote:
Paul wrote:^^Does the proposal include placing PMO under Lokpal?
I think PM would be covered after he demits his office.

This lokpal bill may be important from the PoV of nationalism quotient within Congress Party. I would disregard their clamor for credit. RaGa can take the credit. What is important to see is whether they allow it to pass or do they egg SaPa on to stop it. The ball is in the Congress court.
Saar,
I think the crucial question is: is it good to have an unelected(i.e. undemocratic) post that sits above elected leaders? Why should one assume that lokpal will not be corrupt? If the PM, CM, and others can be corrupt, then what stops the lokpal from being corrupt? If the PM, CM and others are corrupt, they are booted out by the people in elections, but what about lokpal(especially, if he wields control over the elected representatives also)?

Minhaz Merchant's article seems to be right on the mark. kongis are facing a rout and if they get routed, they are facing an implosion because the lower kongis are not going to stand by and wait. They will simply jump the sinking ship and find the greener pastures. That explains the desperation of the kongis.(It is this desperation that is forcing it to make worst moves. For ex: AP. kongis could have easily got atleast 10 seats in AP. Now, getting 10 seats is the bestest that they can hope for.) No one wants to be seen being associated with the kongis pre-poll because the kongis are a liability. Just being associated with the kongis will dent the chances of the ally. So, kongis are in a really deep mess.

I think lotus should not take anymore risk, they are already in a good position. They should simply enforce the elections by bringing down the sarkaar through no-confidence motion and checkmate the kongis. Alasyam amrutham visham... and a bird in hand is better than two in bush. So, instead of trying to be too clever, lotus should immediately take advantage of the anti-kongi mood in the dhesh and the 4-0 momentum.

sAAP's buffoonery in full bloom...

AAP to organize 'broom yatra' in Gujarat to 'expose' Modi govt
The Aam Aadmi Party had earlier said that it may contest on all 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, though the final decision is yet to be taken.
Bring it on. The more the pseudos attempt to 'expose' modi, the more exposure he gets...

Hari Seldon wrote:Well, here's stuff the media has buried in a wall of silence...

And this, in Delhi...
Interesting. The bottom placard calls Kejriwal "Delhi's new Raj Thackeray".

johneeG wrote:
ravi_g wrote: I think PM would be covered after he demits his office.

This lokpal bill may be important from the PoV of nationalism quotient within Congress Party. I would disregard their clamor for credit. RaGa can take the credit. What is important to see is whether they allow it to pass or do they egg SaPa on to stop it. The ball is in the Congress court.
Saar,
I think the crucial question is: is it good to have an unelected(i.e. undemocratic) post that sits above elected leaders? Why should one assume that lokpal will not be corrupt? If the PM, CM, and others can be corrupt, then what stops the lokpal from being corrupt? If the PM, CM and others are corrupt, they are booted out by the people in elections, but what about lokpal(especially, if he wields control over the elected representatives also)?
Garu, sorry for giving the wrong impression. I have studied law enough to understand that no law exists that cannot be misused and no use exists of any law, for a clear minded man.

Lokpal per se is not the 'nationalism quotient'. My comment may kindly be read in totality of my other views:
1) that AAP is a colour revolution to undermine India;
2) that Congress and AAP are joined at the hip at the highest levels; and
3) that Congress will work in a way that RaGa can become the new Mountbatten and AK-47 can be the new Gandhi.

What I want to see is whether bulk of Congress can think straight and get rid of the higher levels of its party.

You ask me, Anna ji is fighting the limited battle this time, that of allowing nationalist forces to regroup. The anti-corruption plank may be abandoned tactically and a development plank may be started now, since only a 'pro' idea clears up the mind unlike an 'anti' idea which blocks up a mind.

after the recent elections how does the RS composition change when the next set of RS MPs are appointed?

Raj - 5/10 - the other 5 are congies - big impact
MP - 11/12 - the lone member is from congies
CG - 3/5 - the two from congies maintain it?

Delhi doesnt have any RS nominations.

http://zeenews.india.com/news/delhi/con ... 7207.html#
New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Manish Sisodia said on Monday that the party will take a decision on Congress' reply on the 18 issues raised by party leader Arvind Kejriwal tomorrow.

"We will be cautious and not take a hurried decision. People need to decide," Manish Sisodia said.

AAP spokesperson and MLA from Patparganj Manish Sisodia added, "Our political affairs committee will meet and discuss also will go to the people for opinion. We have received the reply from Congress on the 18 issues raised by AAP on Saturday. The party's Political Affairs Committee (PAC) will meet tomorrow and decide the next course of action."

After Congress had decided to extend unconditional support to AAP last week, Kejriwal wrote letters to Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi and BJP President Rajnath Singh seeking their parties' views on the 18 issues, including passing of Janlokpal, full statehood to Delhi, reduction on water tariff and audit of power discoms among others, before moving ahead to form a government.

Meanwhile, another AAP leader Kumar Vishwas said that the party would hold public meetings in 270 municipal wards, put Congress' reply to the issues and seek the opinion of the people whether AAP should form a government or not.

AAP had been sticking to its stand of neither taking support from Congress nor from BJP nor will it support them.

On public opinion that they may take this procedure as wastage of time, Vishwas said "every party has its way of functioning and ours is of active participation of common man."

"If they have waited for 15 years, they can wait for four more days and everything would be clear," he said.

Asked if he sees any possibility of fresh election for Delhi assembly, Vishwas said he did want to predict about it and become a "laughing stock".

AAP finished second in the race for control of Delhi with 28 seats, just behind BJP with 31 seats of its own in the 70-member assembly.

Taking a dig at the newly formed AAP, Congress leader Shakeel Ahmed had said, "AAP is a new party, so a lack of experience, they did not know that 16 points are administrative."

"16 points are not legislative so our support not needed. Rest 2 we support but also are out of Delhi's governance reach," he added.

With PTI inputs

First Published: Monday, December 16, 2013, 20:02
Wish NaMo was incharge earlier. Wish NaMo lead people can band together to do better. City of my birth - Indraprasth - ..........

RajeshAji,devesh,

Noted your posts.My opinion is not very different.I believe PC played an important role.Today he is irrelevant.We hindus do not deny the goodness that is there even in our opponents.We build on the past.We dont deny it.

As someone from TN,I am concerned there are not many promising people coming up,imvvho.Vairamuthus taunts highlighted the reality of BJP in TN.I understand where you come from.Why should people from other states worry too much about internal dynamics of TN.But there was a subdued threat once.PC played a role then.

nageshksji,
your link shows that Sukbhir Singh Badal too played a role in the negotiations.We would expect BJP allies to be more sensitive to such issues.wouldnt we? And even accepting tewari is no angel,he has not been challenged by BJP spokespersons.

RajeshAji,
Narendrabhai is the tallest leader by a huge margin.These nitty gritty details about Akali-BJP govt are important once Congress fades away.

Just tweeted this: Wouldnt be surprised if #CongressDirtyTricksDepartment makes an attempt on AK's life? Will sway a lot of sympathy votes AAP's way in LS2014

SridharKji,
Vairamuthu has not made such snide remarks about Congress,ADMK or PC,to the best of my knowledge.I dont want to exaggerate the political impact of a poet.But his remarks were representative of a substantial section of tamizh media,letters.

Also,if PC was given much space by popular media,there must have been a reason,no? Kumudam or Ananda Vikatan have the pulse of the public.They are not like Undie TV to be underwritten by shady organisations.

Regarding tamizharuvi manian,he resigned from congress and spoke out against DMK on Eezham issues.Are you sure that his ideology is compatible with the worldview of Hindu nationalism.

Jhujar wrote:Post-poll lessons for the winners, and whiners M. J Akbar
http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... nd-whiners
The overall message is simple. Muslims are tired of illusory favours. They want equality. They are fed up with hypocrisy.

The key might be called the Patna moment. Every politician prepares for an important speech; but no one can prepare a speech for a sudden crisis. When bombs went off in the middle of Modi’s oration at the Gandhi maidan, his response became the acid test. He could have become provocative under pressure. Instead, he delivered his best lines. Impoverished Hindus, he said, had a choice — they could either fight poverty or they could fight Muslims. And impoverished Muslims could fight Hindus, or they could fight poverty. That summed up the mood of the nation, and calmed even those Muslims who did not want to believe what they heard.On a parallel, uncoordinated level, Muslim leaders have begun to speak up against the politics of fear that has herded the community into one direction on voting day.
I would love to believe this is true. 2014 will bear out whether Indian Muslims prioritize development over other considerations

svenkat wrote: nageshksji,
your link shows that Sukbhir Singh Badal too played a role in the negotiations.We would expect BJP allies to be more sensitive to such issues.wouldnt we? And even accepting tewari is no angel,he has not been challenged by BJP spokespersons.
Hard for me to say without reading the actual contract. If Punjab government is legally bound to buy power from the new power stations, and cannot offload it during the lean seasons (like winter), then the deal makes eminent sense (assuming that Pakistan can build the proposed HDVC). I believe this is what is being envisaged by the Punjab government, if the article I quoted is correct. The real question is whether other neighbouring states like JK, Haryana and HP are all power sufficient or are willing to buy the extra power. If they are, preference should be given to them. If they are not willing/do not need, then selling power to Pakistan makes sense.

18 demands from Kejriwal is a good move. If Congress agrees, which they will, he can form the Govt with the following arguments:

a) I put forth the same demands to Cong & BJP. To me, they are both corrupt & the same
b) Only Cong agreed to my terms
c) Therefore, I will reluctantly accept the CM-ship with this assurance
d) I am not Congress B-team because "I" set the terms and the said terms are common to both BJP & Congress

Logistically, it will make sense for Kejriwal to accept CM-ship because it serves 2 objectives:

a) Portrays AAP as a party able to form a Govt with "its own terms"
b) Will put Delhi behind them and focus on playing spoiler in LS2014. If they go for re-election, all their energies will be trapped in Delhi and at the end of it, they may lose to BJP even there

nageshks wrote:
svenkat wrote: nageshksji,
Hard for me to say without reading the actual contract. If Punjab government is legally bound to buy power from the new power stations, and cannot offload it during the lean seasons (like winter), then the deal makes eminent sense (assuming that Pakistan can build the proposed HDVC). I believe this is what is being envisaged by the Punjab government, if the article I quoted is correct. The real question is whether other neighbouring states like JK, Haryana and HP are all power sufficient or are willing to buy the extra power. If they are, preference should be given to them. If they are not willing/do not need, then selling power to Pakistan makes sense.
GOI can build another corridor to link northern grid to southern grid through western grid and transfer any surplus power to power deficit TN and other states in that grid. It will cost about 1000 cr which we can afford and do it in one year. India is having peak power shortage of about 20% so question of being power surplus does not arise.

chaanakya wrote: GOI can build another corridor to link northern grid to southern grid through western grid and transfer any surplus power to power deficit TN and other states in that grid. It will cost about 1000 cr which we can afford and do it in one year. India is having peak power shortage of about 20% so question of being power surplus does not arise.
True enough, but that is not something that the Punjab government can do. Also, now that they have a BJP government in Rajasthan, maybe they should try to sell power to Rajasthan first, before trying to sell it to Pakistan.

IIRC, the plan to sell power to Pakistan was initiated by the Centre (we had Manmohan making a lot of noise about it) and SS Badal just went along with the proposal, because he saw no other way to offload the extra power in the lean season.
Comer

Post by Comer »

svenkat wrote:Subramaniam Swamys tamizh is laughed at.
by bigots.

BJP doesn't have good options in TN. PMK is pretty much a castiest party concentrated in North TN. Recently he has been trying to revive caste identity politics with no visible impact. Vijayakanth's party is waxes and wanes based on its leader's sobriety level and mood. His best adviser quit seeing his antics. Vaiko's politics has its center of gravity in Sri Lanka. He has a dedicated but small following. It is a motley crowd. DMK is continued to be shun by the public and people still remember Artiste's antics during SL civil war. One good thing is the name Congress is toxic in TN. I doubt it will get a single seat in LS elections.
That leaves out ADMK. Jayalalitha could be nursing PM ambitions, but I doubt how she is going to cobble together a third front with her personality. Surjeet Singh used to be the peacemaker and bring the Third or Fourth front together, I can't see anybody playing the role now.
BJP in favourable conditions can win a seat in Kanyakumari area. Trichy, Coimbatore and south Chennai can be cultivated for the future.

nageshks wrote:
True enough, but that is not something that the Punjab government can do. Also, now that they have a BJP government in Rajasthan, maybe they should try to sell power to Rajasthan first, before trying to sell it to Pakistan.

IIRC, the plan to sell power to Pakistan was initiated by the Centre (we had Manmohan making a lot of noise about it) and SS Badal just went along with the proposal, because he saw no other way to offload the extra power in the lean season.
yeah, It is MMS tamasha, everyone here knows that and has been discussed in other threads.

What kind of poetry does Sri or Thiru Vairamuthu write?

@HeadlinesToday: News Flash: Senior leaders of #AAP have decided that they are in principle ready to form the next Govt in Delhi.

Just what I thought

ramana wrote:What kind of poetry does Sri or Thiru Vairamuthu write?
Tamil song lyrics. Ajit Agarkar like stats - one good poem amidst forty crappy ones

And he is the foremost Tamil poet of the age? or !

Must be "self-styled" foremost Tamil poet. Some of his movie song lyrics are puke-worthy

Planning to sell the product which they dont have or control it ? 8) Good luck.
Its all Pretentions, nothing to worry about. PB just had investment Conf in 55k Crores worth deals were proposed, singed and promised. They will need all Bijli they produced .

Prem Kumar wrote:18 demands from Kejriwal is a good move. If Congress agrees, which they will, he can form the Govt with the following arguments:

a) I put forth the same demands to Cong & BJP. To me, they are both corrupt & the same
b) Only Cong agreed to my terms
c) Therefore, I will reluctantly accept the CM-ship with this assurance
d) I am not Congress B-team because "I" set the terms and the said terms are common to both BJP & Congress

Logistically, it will make sense for Kejriwal to accept CM-ship because it serves 2 objectives:

a) Portrays AAP as a party able to form a Govt with "its own terms"
b) Will put Delhi behind them and focus on playing spoiler in LS2014. If they go for re-election, all their energies will be trapped in Delhi and at the end of it, they may lose to BJP even there
I think its great that INC and AAP go together. In the public eye, it should lend credence to the basic similarity between both parties.

J&K and Haryana need more electricity desperately at cheap prices. Himachal has surplus.
Selling electricity to Pakis is a pappi-jhappi tamasha. :evil:

ramana wrote:What kind of poetry does Sri or Thiru Vairamuthu write?
well , lets just say that by writing 4 or 5 posts about his poetry on BRF is a rich tribute to him.

saravana wrote: BJP doesn't have good options in TN. PMK is pretty much a castiest party concentrated in North TN. Recently he has been trying to revive caste identity politics with no visible impact. Vijayakanth's party is waxes and wanes based on its leader's sobriety level and mood. His best adviser quit seeing his antics. Vaiko's politics has its center of gravity in Sri Lanka. He has a dedicated but small following. It is a motley crowd. DMK is continued to be shun by the public and people still remember Artiste's antics during SL civil war. One good thing is the name Congress is toxic in TN. I doubt it will get a single seat in LS elections.
That leaves out ADMK. Jayalalitha could be nursing PM ambitions, but I doubt how she is going to cobble together a third front with her personality. Surjeet Singh used to be the peacemaker and bring the Third or Fourth front together, I can't see anybody playing the role now.
BJP in favourable conditions can win a seat in Kanyakumari area. Trichy, Coimbatore and south Chennai can be cultivated for the future.
Thats a good assessment of TN. A few more visits by Modi can change tables I think. Think about this - fringe TN muslim groups are supporting Modi. The lack of alternatives means AIADMK is becoming the default. I am sure BJP realizes that chances like these where a leadership/choice vacuum comes are very rare. A few now & 5 years of Modi as PM , cracking the whip with performance can see fortunes change.
JohnTitor

Post by JohnTitor »

Hari Seldon wrote:Well, here's stuff the media has buried in a wall of silence...

And this, in Delhi...
Could you please translate? at least a summary