Indian Autos Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
gogna

Post by gogna »

rachel wrote:
Rye wrote:rachel wrote: Other than increasing your bile circulation, what else do you think your "hatred towards the oppressors" will get you? Is hating really more important than getting ahead in the one life that you need to live well?

Perhaps you should stop pulling down your pants and cr@pping on various threads whenever you feel like it. Go ahead and try to your puerile flaming as you have done with others who have tried to warn you.
Listen, if you want to call this 'flaming', if the admins want to ban me for this, then fine, let them do so. Some of you people on this forum want to remove all opposition to YOUR opionions or views.

It is MY view that Korea-style dislike against oppressors is a good thing, and to BACK UP MY VIEW, I point to KOREA itself: a successful nation. So who says that 'hatred towards oppressors' will get you nowhere? Are you suggesting that Korea has gotten nowhere?

Korean auto workers use their dislike vs Japanese to motivate themselves to produce Hyundais, and every day at work they tell themsleves that they MUST beat Toyota...so you see, there is such a thing as 'constructive hatred'. Seems to work just fine for them.

But I really am disliking this whole attitude by some people on BR that if I dare to express an opinion that contradicts yours, you'll call it 'flaming' or 'cr^pping'. You need to learn to be a bit more tolerant towards views that differ from your own.

It's not as if I dont contribuet anything positive on this board: here is an example of a very positive piece I found on Fortune and posted. If despite this, the majority of people on BR cannot tolerate dissent then I will leave. You decide, Rye: do you want a forum for discussion or do you want a mutual back-scratching board where all contrary opinions are silenced?

Posted: 04 Apr 2008 01:05 pm Post subject: Fortune CNN blog post

http://ridingtheelephant.blogs.fortune.cnn.com/

March 26, 2008, 9:22 am
Tata buys into 40 years of trouble

Ratan Tata, who runs the Tata Group, one of India’s two biggest conglomerates, is buying into a history of trouble with his $2.3 billion cash deal, announced today, to acquire the Jaguar and Land-Rover companies from Ford (F). Transfer of ownership to Tata Motors is due to be completed by the end of June, and the question is whether Tata can then break a cycle of decline.

It’s been 40 years since the British government, in a bid to rebuild the country’s automobile industry, cobbled together ailing car brands such as Jaguar, Rover, Austin, Morris and Riley into a giant called British Leyland. BL, as it became known, was a failure, mainly because of endemic labor problems, uninspired products and poor quality. Since 1968, there have been many rescue attempts, but only rare short bursts of success. Several of the once proud names are long forgotten and none is British-owned; the iconic MG brand was bought three years ago by China’s Nanjing Automobile to make sports cars in China and the U.K., and the Morris Mini cult car is with BMW.

So could Tata succeed where others have failed? Market and industry analysts have their doubts, fearing the companies do not fit and that Tata’s optimism about growth could be hit by worsening economic problems in the United States and elsewhere. Tata Motors shares lost 4.4% on the Mumbai stock market today as brokers awaited the announcement.

But there is some reason for optimism. Ratan Tata isn’t expected to treat Jaguar and Land Rover like a traditional takeover: He says he’s not planning to overhaul senior management, close factories in Britain, or cut workers. He said today: “We have enormous respect for the two brands and will endeavour to preserve and build on their heritage and competitiveness, keeping their identities intact. We aim to support their growth, while holding true to our principles of allowing the management and employees to bring their experience and expertise to bear on the growth of the business.â€

Surya wrote:Thanks Amit

A few of us have mentioned these but it seems to be forgotten.

We have a long way to go understand the Far East and EAst more deeply.

Regarding cars I was having that argument in some other thread. hyundai is rapidly closing the gap and maybe ahead in the VFM stakes with certain segments of the market.
Surya, your welcome.

Regarding Hyundai car division, I have no doubt that this company is going to go places, just like Samsung is.

These are two great companies that just need to be admired.

Hyundai, along with sister company Kia, have a very definative goal of becoming one of the top 3 auto majors in a short span of time. They are already No5, I'm sure they'll get there very fast.

And you are right in some segments of the market they are way up there already. Also their new generation cars like the Avante I mentioned and new Sonatas (I don't think this model is sold in India) and the i30 are a quantum leap, both in terms of technology and styling from their previous generation.

I for one won't mind if my next car is Hyundai, something I wouldn't have said a few years ago when I bought my present one.

The i30:

The Avante:

Himanshu please use the URL tag to encode.

You are $crewing up the formatting of the page.

Anyone for a 50 Lakh Bike?

Italian two-wheeler maker Ducati Motor Holding on Wednesday announced its foray into the Indian automobile market with the launch of five motorcycles, priced in the range of Rs 15 lakh to Rs 50 lakh.

"We will be launching four different models in multiple variants. These bikes will be available starting at Rs 15 lakh to Rs 50 lakh in the Indian market," said Ashish Chordia, Chief Executive Officer of Precision Motor India Pvt Ltd, sole distributor of Ducati bikes in India.

The company would import sixty units this year from its Italian manufacturing unit, he added.

On the busy road to Chakan.

A little-known region is the hub of India's next auto revolution.

Chakan is not entirely without history. There are the ruins of a fort where the last Maratha-British skirmish played out, some temples, a few picnic spots. A stretch of imagination and some infrastructure might just pull in tourists.

But in recent years Chakan hasn't been all that desperate — businessmen, not tourists, have been flocking to it as this neglected site has mushroomed into arguably India's largest, certainly busiest, automobile hub.

Crores of rupees have poured in as the Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation, in overdrive, has pulled out all stops to woo foreign investors.

And it is doing so in an aggressive mode. When German auto giant Volkswagen, which was to set up a plant in Andhra Pradesh, found the company being dragged into a land controversy, it relocated to Chakan where the Maharashtra government offered it 575 acres and speedy clearances. Nor was it just a rare gesture.

Earlier, flying from Detroit to Mumbai to sign a memorandum of understanding between General Motors and the state government, Nick Reilly, president of its Asia Pacific operations, found his visa to India had expired. Forewarned, the state's bureaucrats took over: when Reilly's aircraft landed at Mumbai airport, the babus were waiting with the relevant documents to whisk him away.

A mere two hours from Mumbai, the Pune-Chakan-Talegaon region is attracting auto majors in droves. Just last month, Mahindra & Mahindra and Tata Motors announced investments worth Rs 10,000 crore on expansions in the region.

Says Pawan Goenka, president automotive, M&M, "Because Maharashtra is our production base, it makes it easier for us to transfer people and materials within the state. And all our discussions with the government are businesslike."

US carmaker General Motors, which is investing Rs 1,200 crore to process 1.4 lakh cars per annum in Talegaon, has started trial runs at its 300-acre factory. Its rival, Volkswagen, has hiked the investment in its plant to Rs 3,500 crore, and brought forward the date of commercial production from 2010 to 2009. Says Thomas Dahlem, director manufacturing engineering in Volkswagen, "We had three requirements: easy availability of engineers, a large supplier base, and infrastructure. Pune-Chakan offered the best option."

The winding road that connects the highway with the factories is new, and a hill has been flattened to create a 200-acre vendor park for Volkswagen. An army of workers is giving shape to the factory, supervised by two dozen-odd Germans, most of whom stay in Pune, an hour's drive from the factory.

Meanwhile, land prices in Chakan have shot through the roof, having increased up to five times in just three years. Goenka says that makes it 10-20 per cent more than land prices in Chennai , but since land costs are only 5 per cent of the total cost of a project, it is not a pivotal factor in choosing the location.

Auto component manufacturer ZF Friedichshafen, a new entrant in India, has announced a plant to manufacture transmissions, shocks and clutches with an investment of Rs 125 crore. Explains Piyush Munot, managing director, who chose Pune over Chennai and Uttarakhand, "This region offers in-place infrastructure, manpower, electricity…" and "original equipment players" to whom they can supply their products.

Others are waiting in the wings. Bajaj Auto, which has a two-wheeler plant in Chakan, is considering a location nearby for its car project (with Renault-Nissan), according to executive director Sanjiv Bajaj. Even the Munjals, despite their stronghold on the Delhi-Gurgaon area, might opt for Pune for their truck facility with Daimler.

Together, the state government has wooed investments worth Rs 40,000 crore in the region. Says V K Jairath, former industries secretary and the architect of the state's industrial boom, "By 2010, we expect 1.5 million cars and trucks (nearly three times the current production) to roll out of this region."

This will constitute 35-40 per cent of the total automotive sector turnover in India. In comparison, Uttarakhand has been able to get investments worth only Rs 8,000 crore, and even close competitor Chennai has managed only Rs 15,000 crore in the auto sector.

To be fair, Pune was considered India's Detroit in the seventies and eighties with the Tatas, Firodias, Mahindras and Kirloskars using it as a vehicle manufacturing hub. But the rise of Datta Samant's militant unionism impacted auto companies in Maharashtra. "Our first shock was when we could not get Hyundai to the state," admits Jairath, "and the second when we lost Toyota."

When, in 2005, the state government took the decision to turn interactive, it found its incentive policies in comparison to Chennai and Uttarakhand were not attractive enough, the projects took too long to clear, and the hill state was providing attractive sales tax exemptions.

Maharashtra's mega project policy (for investments between Rs 250-500 crore) in 2006, therefore, put them on the fast-track clearance route, with the Chief Minister intervening where required.

"We put in place a one-window clearance policy and offered customised packages to investors — if they needed cheaper land, we were ready; if they needed assurances on power, we gave them depending on what they required," says Jairath.

More importantly, the state government decided it would announce MoUs only after all clearances were in place. So the day General Motors signed its MoU, the state was ready with a report on its environment impact analysis which, under normal course, would have taken 7-8 months.

Nor did the company have to wait for acquiring land, which was already available with state agencies through a land bank it had created — over 10,000 acres in the Chakan-Talegaon region, for instance. A year later, a new industrial policy brought incentives almost at par with other states, including subsidies for selling cars within the state.

The pro-investor policy combined with the region's inherent advantages in bringing investors back. General Motors opted away from Chennai and Uttarakhand because of transportation costs. Says P Balendran, vice president of GM India, "Our largest market is the north (35-40 per cent) while the west constitutes 30 per cent of sales.

We wanted to be in a place midway between the markets." GM found the region attractive for other reasons as well: 70 per cent of its vendors are already here (in Uttarakhand it would have had to build its vendor base from scratch); and it has a plant in Vadodara, so a second plant close by would improve synergies.

Mahindra & Mahindra undertook a study to work out the weighted average distance its vehicles had to travel to markets from Pune and Chennai. Says Goenka, "Chennai added on average Rs 4,000-5,000 in outbound logistics for each vehicle." But what cast the die was probably the subsidies offered in Maharashtra — a refund on the investment over a period of time based on sales within the state.

Others have been attracted by the relative calm of labour relations in the state, and the availability of a port nearby. Says Suhas Kadlaskar, head corporate affairs, finance, for Daimler India, which is expanding its plant, "We have not encountered any labour unrest, not even when we decided to shift our new plant to Chakan, from Pimpri."

Underlying these advantages is the region's engineering talent. Pune — referred to as the Oxford of the East — has over 1,100 technical and engineering institutes, and an annual pool of 300,000 technically qualified students.

Already, Volkswagen is wooing engineering students with internship programmes — it will need to hire 2,500 people once it is up and running. Admits Dahlem: "That was perhaps the most important factor that made us decide on the location." The top brass at Tata Motors has already met with the principals from some of the engineering colleges to get an idea of the kind of talent available to them.

But the hub isn't without its problems, the most debilitating of which might be a shortage of power. Argues P M Telang, executive director of Tata Motors, "The power situation has to be watched carefully."

The state government's assertion that it would have surplus power by 2010 has few takers. Others say that while fast track clearances have improved speed, the interface in other departments hasn't changed much. According to Goenka, "If the state government's promises and commitments on infrastructure are not fulfilled, many will be disappointed."

A more fundamental problem is that large projects like the Tata small car, or its plant for making the Ace, where price is a key issue, might never come to Maharashtra because of the growing cost of labour and land. Labour costs in West Bengal and Uttarakhand are virtually half those in Pune, and land prices could be as low as a third or a fourth.

Says the senior executive of an auto company, "For companies putting up huge capacities, their vendors will be willing to relocate because of the large volumes. And in such price-conscious products, it makes a huge difference to go to places were land and labour costs are low, or raw material (like steel) available nearby." Concessions like a sales tax holiday then are like icing on the cake.

Maharashtra is aware of these challenges. Since Nava Sheva is already congested, the state government is planning seven smaller ports under private-public partnership.

Fast highways connecting the industrial belts of Chakan, Talegaon, Ranjangaon and Nashik are under construction. And with the railway high speed freight corridor passing through the area, communications can only improve.

Says Jairath, "We expect another 2000 MW of power to be generated in the state by the end of this year, and are creating roads that will ensure faster links to ports and key markets."

When that happens, Chakan will write its own history.

Bajaj-Renault-Nissan tie-up for $2,500 Car.

The country's second largest two- wheeler maker Bajaj Auto Ltd (BAL) today joined hands with Renault-Nissan to launch a small car in India by 2011 that will compete with Tata Motors Nano on price point - Rs one lakh.

"Rajiv Bajaj, Managing Director of Bajaj and Carlos Ghosn, President and CEO of Renault and President and CEO of Nissan, today announced they will form a joint-venture company to develop, produce and market the car, code-named ULC, with wholesale price range starting from USD 2,500," BAL said in a statement.

In the JV, Bajaj would hold 50 per cent stake, while French car maker Renault and Japan-based Nissan would hold 25 per cent stake each, it added.

"Targeting the growing Indian new vehicle market, the ULC will be made at an all-new plant to be constructed in Chakan (Maharashtra)," the statement said.

The plant would have an initial production capacity of four lakh units per year.

Besides catering to the domestic market after its launch in 2011, the JV would also explore possibilities for export of the small car in other emerging markets.

"Sales will start in early 2011 in India, as a primary market, with growth potential in other emerging markets around the world," Bajaj Auto said.

The company further said that the feasibility has already extended into joint product development and the project is "on line to meet targeted performance and cost".

Renault has a joint venture with Mahindra Mahindra, which manufactures Logan in India, and Nissan has signed three JVs with Hinduja flagship company Ashok Leyland.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Inside the Tata Nano Factory

The tale of the creation and design of the world's cheapest car is one of innovation and ingenuity, both inside and outside Ratan Tata's organization

Does any BRF wallah drive Saab 9-5? How good are they?
AshokS

Post by AshokS »

Katare wrote:Does any BRF wallah drive Saab 9-5? How good are they?
I have a 2008 SAAB 9-5, Also had a 2006 9-3 land a '99 9-5 s. The 9-5 is a decent car, with excellent performance. In Comparison to my Volvo S80, or other Lux cars at the price its not as great. Luxury is average, performance is good. Style is the same from '99. Better off to get a Aura ,Infinity or a BMW 3 for the price.

If you can get a simmilar size BMW, for a simmilar price, the decision is a no brainer.
BMW has some of the finest engenieering money can buy.

M&M revs up for Italian ride.

Italy is fast turning into a hunting ground for Indian auto companies and more so for Mahindra & Mahindra. The tractor and utility vehicle maker is learnt to have set sights on Italian motorcycle marque brands — Cagiva and MV Agusta — famed for designing high-end, high-performance superbikes that are a rage on the speed motorcycle circuit.

This development comes close on the heels of M&M’s interest in buying a controlling stake in Italy’s Stile Bertone, a high-end design company. ET had reported in April that M&M has initiated buyout talks with the Bartone family.

The Castiglioni family, which owns flagship MV Agusta and Cagiva motorcycle brands, has been facing financial troubles for some time and has been on the look out for a potential acquirer.

Despite a limited roll out of 8,000 bikes a year, demand for MV Agusta has been stagnant, eroding its profitability.

The company is now forced to look at alternative markets for growing the brand. There are, however, no production figures available for Cagiva, which is a mid-segment brand.

Sources said that M&M is keen on entering the two-wheeler space and has been talking to a number of Italian and domestic two-wheeler brands. The utility and tractor major is understood to have held talks with Ducati at one point in time, but it failed to materialise.

A deal with the Castglioni family is likely to give Mahindras access to high-tech design and technology and also help the Indian auto company in its plans to build a global footprint. M&M, which already has a strong focus on rural markets, is likely to develop cross-segment, two-wheeler products for the Indian market. The Italian company had earlier expressed interest in selling its bikes in India, but never found a suitable partner. When contacted M&M officials refused to comment.

While it’s too early to peg a value to the deal size, the Italian company is estimated to have posted a combined revenue of euro 141.3 million in 2007 (around Rs 1,057 crore) and a loss of euro 34.4 million during the same year.
Although India is a large two-wheeler market with annual sales of over 7.5 million units, the country can’t still boast of high-end, high-performance bikes.

The Varese, Italy-based MV Agusta has been strapped for cash and has been unable to invest in new product developments, according to sources. Recently, the company shelved its plans of participating in the World Superbikes series, fuelling speculation that all was not well with the legendary bike company that ranks third largest in Italy.

The MV Agusta has bikes in the 700cc to 1,100cc range, while Cagiva bikes have 125cc engine displacement.
Mahindras’ two-wheeler strategy could include lower displacement from Chinese companies. The company had been negotiating for long with Chinese two-wheeler maker Lifan Motor Company for sourcing the right technology for mass-market products.

Its premium two-wheeler product is likely to come from the Italian bike maker. The company is already looking at acquiring land at Uttarakhand for its low-cost Chinese bikes and other high-end products, sources said. The company already has a unit in Uttarakhand for its three-wheeler range.

The Pune-based Kinetic currently develops components and engines for the 125cc Cagiva motorcycles.

M&M’s interest in the segment springs from the strong growth rates witnessed in recent times. However, rising interest rates, increasing competition and growing input costs, took a toll on the industry last year. M&M is one of India’s leading manufacturers of general-purpose utility vehicles, light commercial vehicles, tractors and SUVs.

“MV Agusta has fabulous products in each segment, but has not been able to captialise on its strengths. It makes smaller bikes which are more suitable for the developing market like India unlike us who are mainly into performance bikes,â€
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

BTW.. all the AL AC buses in BEST are getting replaced by the CERITA low floor buses..

http://ceritamotors.com

Vipul wrote:M&M revs up for Italian ride.

Italy is fast turning into a hunting ground for Indian auto companies and more so for Mahindra & Mahindra. The tractor and utility vehicle maker is learnt to have set sights on Italian motorcycle marque brands — Cagiva and MV Agusta — famed for designing high-end, high-performance superbikes that are a rage on the speed motorcycle circuit.
Luckily for M&M, Italians are used to and quite comfortable with the idea of a tractor manufacturer making high-performance vehicles. Lamborghini was a tractor manufacturer as well before Ferrucio Lamborghini decided to make sports cars :D.

As the story goes, Ferrucio Lamborghini used to own a Ferrari and the early ferraris used to have clutch problems, which meant a long wait at the dealership while they fixed it. One day one of his workmen suggested that he go buy the part from Ferrari's factory and they would install it for him, so he didn't have to wait in line again. On the way back, Mr. Lamborghini noticed that the clutch he bought was the same as the one he used in his tractors, except Ferrari charged him a lot more than what Lamborghini was getting them for and that's when he decided that there was more money in making sports cars.

Another version of the story has it that Mr. Lamborghini went up to Mr. Ferrari and complained about the clutch problems and Mr. Ferrari threw him out claiming that a tractor manufacturer was not fit to criticize sports cars. When Mr. Lamborghini disassembled his clutch, he found it was made by the same subcontractor who made the clutches as his tractors. So he installed a bigger clutch model and solved his car problem. Still angry at the insults he received from Mr. Ferrari, he swore then and there to never to own another Ferrari and started hiring away some of Ferrari's designers to create a superior sports car.

So that's how one tractor manufacturer became a world class sports car manufacturer. Maybe one day, M&M will also emulate them!

Himanshu wrote:BTW.. all the AL AC buses in BEST are getting replaced by the CERITA low floor buses..
Hmm.. Mumbai seems to be going whole hog for cut price Chinese junk, both for the road and also for rolling stock..

Makes you wonder .. what the hell are they thinking.. Tata, AL , Volvo and Mercedes and TVS (Marco Polo) kind of guys make buses here and these guys go and buy some junk.. Well.. What goes my father's.

But to be fair, the Cerita motors stuff uses established stuff like Cummins engine, ZF transmission, with the Chinese thing probably restricted to the design, some cheesy looking seats and some suspension aggregates.. So cant be too bad..
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

These buses would get on my route A-461 from July onwards, as told to me by the conductor yesterday. Will provide the feedback on these then.. right now these are running on the BRTS-1 and 2 routes. Anyone had experience on these yet??
BTW.. one of these buses caught fire a while back and 2 weeks back one of these stopped at Goregaon WE highway..

BTW.. All of these CERITA buses are CNG driven in Mumbai..
bart

Post by bart »

A very interesting titbit not covered in the mainstream papers:
http://www.cartradeindia.com/news/new-t ... 10139.html
The New Tata Indica X1 shall take only one minute on the assembly line as Kuka Robotics prepares new line for this car. Tata Motors shall soon get one of the most automated assembly lines in Pune in India. According to Raj Singh Rathee, MD, Kuka Robotics, this assembly line shall be one of the safest in India with 326 robots on a single line. Until now a single line at one of the largest auto companies used only 200 robots. Tata Motors used even less, only 70 robots per line.

Tata Motors is developing its single line similar to Mercedes in Germany which has minimal human interference. This would spell into Rs 300 crore more business for Tata Motors as the new assembly line would be capable of producing 270,000 cars annually or 900 cars per day.

Hopefully the build quality and the panel gaps will improve drastically from the current V2. The reliability and ruggedness of Tata Indica for Indian conditions is already class-leading.
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

Himanshu wrote:BTW.. all the AL AC buses in BEST are getting replaced by the CERITA low floor buses..
Hmm.. Mumbai seems to be going whole hog for cut price Chinese junk, both for the road and also for rolling stock..

Makes you wonder .. what the hell are they thinking.. Tata, AL , Volvo and Mercedes and TVS (Marco Polo) kind of guys make buses here and these guys go and buy some junk.. Well.. What goes my father's.

But to be fair, the Cerita motors stuff uses established stuff like Cummins engine, ZF transmission, with the Chinese thing probably restricted to the design, some cheesy looking seats and some suspension aggregates.. So cant be too bad..
Maybe thatz how the Cong Govt. in Maharshatra will turn Mumbai into Shanghai

Vina,

I dont think BEST has the cash to fork out for a Volvo or a Benz which cost Rs. 80 lakh at the minimum for a single bus. BEST has traditionally been a Ashok Leyland shop with some other manufacturers thrown in. No idea why its going in for CERITA. Perhaps AL doesnt make AC buses, so the choice is limited?

Additionally, the AC buses are not a "mass market" routes for BEST. So its likely that they may not be profitable enough, so thats why they may be going for the Chinese version.

BEST is professionally staffed and usually dont make stupid decisions. Metro rail doesnt come under its ambit, so no idea why they went with the Chinese.
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Its the same KingLong brand thats hitting the Mumbai roads soon. APSRTC tried these Volvo copies and learnt the big mistake they made. All the buses are offroad now i think. I had a horror ride in those twice between Hyd-Bglr.
bart

Post by bart »

Tanaji wrote:Vina,

I dont think BEST has the cash to fork out for a Volvo or a Benz which cost Rs. 80 lakh at the minimum for a single bus. BEST has traditionally been a Ashok Leyland shop with some other manufacturers thrown in. No idea why its going in for CERITA.
How come Hyd/Blr/Chennai are able to afford them, then?

Also both Tata and AL make similar busses. Looks like somebody's swiss bank ACs got fatter.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

I discussed the same somewhere else. There is no reason for BEST to buy from anywhere else when we have so many Indian companies making good buses.

Tata and AL make city buses which are similar to Volvo's and still cheaper, yet I think Bangalore etc. went for them for the brand. Mumbai went for the Chinese junk because of the convoluted tendering process we have in our cities.

Its the cheapest, so it wins the contract.

True, Mumbaiites have to put up with Chinese Junk as BMC has a Tendering process which gives weightage only to the Lowest Price.

Check this:

http://www.mid-day.com/web/guest/news/m ... groupId=14

Bangalore uses a mix of Tata and Volvo buses. Volvo buses are used for higher class service with A/C etc, and for the recent new airport routes. KSRTC uses volvo on some routes as a luxury service. Tata buses are still used for regular service and compared to 10-12 years back, the new buses are pretty good too.

Chennai MTC also uses Volvo.

both KSRTC and APSRTC used Volvos for overnight long haul routes under
brandnames of "Garuda" and "Airavath" respectively. most of the leading
pvt operators like KPN travels uses mix of Volvo and Sutlej.

And many operators have painted names like "VALVO", "VOIVO", "VOLVA" etc on the busses as well.

anyone seen "vulva" ? :roll:
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

In Hyd I have seen buses with "Volvo Type" lettering. Ofcouse the Type will too small than the Volvo.

Singha, APSRTC had these King Long buses in the Garuda service. they used to charge the same fare. After serious complaints from the passengers they removed these buses. JCBL which mfgs these buses also had Luxury versions which APSRTC operated for a short time.

I agree that the tendering process is to be blamed for such acquisitions.

what were the passenger complaints about the KingLong buses ? rough ride ? noise-vibration-heat ? prone to more breakdown ?

one thing is clear - the avg village level mechanic wont have a clue to
repair these big rear engined diesels...and nor the spare parts. so a
breakdown means another bus has to be sent or arranged for.

Why do car manufacturers in India offer substantially less warranties for the same car as compared to the case when the car is being sold in other markets? Is it due to the chalta hai attitude of the consumer?

HA HA

Breakdown means passengers rush out to the highway and thumb a ride

Thats what happened to me when I was going to Pune on a Volvo bus :)

Driver had to take one of the passnegers mobile to report the problem.
bart

Post by bart »

Tanaji wrote:Why do car manufacturers in India offer substantially less warranties for the same car as compared to the case when the car is being sold in other markets? Is it due to the chalta hai attitude of the consumer?
1> Indian roads are very tough on the cars
2> Till recently there was not much competition in the Indian market and most of the foreign manufacturers attitude was 'Look we are a cool global car company, so you SDREs should be grateful for what bones we throw at you'. A good recent example is pricing of 9L+ for Skoda Fabia, based purely on snob value. Its another thing that in Europe even a diseased stray dog would think twice before pissing on a Skoda.

Anyways, FWIW you can order a 2+2 year extended warranty on most Tata cars and I think Maruti too. But its still not to the NA levels. I think in India GM has the best deal, with 3 year comprehensive warranty on their cars (covering everything except accident damage or misuse).

Its another thing that in Europe even a diseased stray dog would think twice before pissing on a Skoda.

and their "Laura" high end model was a moment of inspired nomenclatorial genius.

"My Laura 1.8 is better than your vu(o)lva(o)"

Skoda is the height of German arrogance and desi dhimmitude. I wouldn't even fart in its general direction myself.

The VW brand is too precious for the SDRE!!
Rajesh_MR

Post by Rajesh_MR »

Skoda got its market due to lack of competition for years and diesel engine. I don't see too many new Skodas in B'lore after Civic got launched.

Now that we are discussing this,was deciding on the choice between fabia and swift.Took a test drive of both.Fabia is like a volvo truck with tempo traveller engine.no power at all wat so ever even in the second.swift looks like a ferrari when compared to this..
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

Vipul wrote:True, Mumbaiites have to put up with Chinese Junk as BMC has a Tendering process which gives weightage only to the Lowest Price.

Check this:

http://www.mid-day.com/web/guest/news/m ... groupId=14
Read today BEST is getting 75 VOLVO for free to replace all it's ageing AC buses.. the company giving it to BEST would have the advertising rights on these buses..

Link to Article

BEST to get 75 ‘free’ Volvo buses soon
TIMES NEWS NETWORK

Mumbai: In order to target the upwardly mobile commuter and boost its revenue flow, the BEST Undertaking has added the Volvo to its fleet. The first 15 luxury air-conditioned coaches will roll out by the end of June.
For this high-end outing, BEST has tied up with a Mumbai travel operator for the free supply of 75 Volvos in the next few months. In exchange, the firm will sell advertising space on the bus, said BEST officials.
Although BEST has one of the biggest fleets in the country, 3,500 buses, and a whopping daily commuter base of 45 lakh, its losses have touched Rs 200 crore, with bus fares having to be substantially subsidised. The basic fare for the first two kilometres is just three rupees.
The Volvo is an attempt to focus on higher revenues and win over those who take their car to work. Pravin Chheda, chairman of BEST, said, “We will replace our ageing air-conditioned buses with the plush Volvos with video screens for passenger entertainment.’’ The 51 existing AC buses will be decommissioned when the Volvos hit the road.
Chheda said the Volvos will be supplied by Friendship Travels. “They will give us the bus absolutely free of cost and will recover the cost through advertisements over next 15 years,’’ he said. The buses will be run by experienced drivers and conductors of BEST. “We will foot the fuel bill and collect the ticket revenue. There will be no sharing at all with the private party,’’ the chairman clarified.
Last edited by Himanshu on 22 May 2008 11:34, edited 1 time in total.