Let us Understand the Chinese

Nayak wrote: I take every opportunity to di$$ China when I speak with my colleagues here.

Nayak birather; even if what you say is true (which it most probably is) there is no taking away the strengths of the Chinese today even if its by stealing.

Being in denial never helps -- the first step in the victory is to understand the enemy -- what makes him tick -- his strengths as well as his weaknesses etc. If we are truly free from being in awe of the Chinese in our minds we will be able to see their strengths without being troubled about it.

However the thread proliferation really makes it difficult for folks like me who try and follow as many threads as possible -- it would be nice if this exercise could be rolled into a existing thread.,but it is a very important and useful exercise.

You are already wasting time trying to over-analyze the enemy.

I don't see why do Chicoms deserve that much attention and time to be analysed.

They suffer from deep-rooted-inferiority complex combined with the fear of losing face. That's enough ammo to take a swing at them.

Unless Indian politicos grow some tuttays, stop wearing bangles and learn how to be truly chankian, I am afraid we will keep falling in the trap of trying to unravel the chicoms.

Nayak wrote:You are already wasting time trying to over-analyze the enemy.
don't agree. "china" is a vast and complex topic - analysis in depth is warranted. i would class china as a rival, not an enemy. a rival may become an enemy if we're not careful, but if we understand where they are headed, we can maintain a healthy (and profitable) rivalry than a costly enmity
sauravjha

Post by sauravjha »

Lalmohan ,
I agree with you that the Chinese are not enemies , but they certainly are competitors and a bad example. what we need to learn from them , is essentially what not to do.

We are on the same "growth threshold" that China reached more than a decade and a half ago. we are trying to ramp up our infrastructure and industrialize quicker. While doing so we must not try to imitate the Chinese and fall into the bigger , larger and of course costlier trap . We must follow a sustainable path and try to preserve our environment while bringing the fruits of development to as many people as possible, keeping in mind the constraints of course.. our Dharma teaches us that "wealth" is much more wholesome than what the communist party of china will have the world believe.

there is no point in having an India with 150 km long toxic rivers, iron belt riots ,etc and faux prosperity that is limited to urban centres.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

China quake toll crosses 11,000; several areas still inaccessible
Tuesday, 13 May,2008

Beijing: The death toll from the powerful earthquake in China climbed to 11,921, media said quoting disaster relief headquarters.

Thousands of Chinese troops and medical teams have been dispatched to areas of worst-affected Sichuan province.

Reports said relief teams are headed to mountainous Wenchuan county, the epicentre of the quake, on foot, but are still nearly 70 km from their destination. There is still little information on the scale of the destruction in Wenchuan, home to more than 1 lakh people. Xinhua says storms have prevented military rescue helicopters from reaching the site.

The Sichuan provincial seismological bureau said more than 1,180 tremors up to magnitude six on the Richter scale have been recorded as of 5 am (local time) on Tuesday.

According to Xinhua at least 10,000 people remained buried on Tuesday in Mianzhu city in Sichuan province. The country was immersed in immense grief as the death toll crossed 11,000.

Authorities estimate that at least five thousand people died in Sichuan's Beichuan county. Local officials said at least 80 per cent of the buildings there have collapsed, and 10,000 more people are feared injured. Beichuan is about 160 km north of Sichuan's capital, Chengdu.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Strong aftershock rocks China's quake-hit area
Tuesday, 13 May , 2008

Chengdu (China): A strong aftershock measuring 6.1 on the Richter scale rocked Chengdu, capital of China's Sichuan Province, around 3.10 pm on Tuesday following Monday's devastating quake that has killed around 10,000 people.

The epicentre of Tuesday's quake was again in Wenchuan county, said Yin Zhaomin, an official with the China Seismological Bureau.

This was the strongest aftershock after the devastating quake, measuring 7.8 on the Richter scale, that hit Wenchuan county, 159 km northwest of Chengdu Monday afternoon.

Office workers in downtown Chengdu took to the streets again after the quake. Many said they felt clearly the buildings were rocking and bottles toppled.

Experts with the China Earthquake Networks Centre (CENC) said strong aftershocks may still rock Wenchuan, though quakes exceeding 7.8 on the Richter scale are unlikely.

The region, which experts said is historically prone to earthquakes, has suffered more than 1,950 aftershocks in the past 25 hours, including three over 6 on the Richter scale and 14 between 5 and 6.

is this going to be restricted to Chicoms or the Chinese as a people.. Screw the Chicom thugs ..Mao ding-dong was an uncouth thug, who never used toothpaste in his life and probably rinsed his mouth in the morning with some green tea.

The Chinese people are far more interesting.. Listen.. If our CPM goons were to be believed, the "social engineering" that they attempted in Russia (like turning russia's largest cathedral into a swimming pool or toilet or whatever) and the ChiCom (cultural revolution), the Chinese are some uber "rational" automatons..

Not true!.. The Chinese are just as god fearing and religious as everyone else..

In fact, give their roots in buddhism, they are very close to India and Indian culture in many respects. They have similar idiosycnracies as us.. They have Feng Shui, we have Vaastu (exactly similar stuff).. If you thought that all this fascination with astrologers and soothsayers is very Indian, wrong again.. I was amazed to see Chinese line up in front of astrologers in Singapore to have their fortune read. In Tao Payoh Central Railway Station and surrounding district, I remeber there used to be an astrologer sitting with a Brahma statue (4 headed and sacred thread. called by a different name in China. but as Brahma in Thailand and there is a Brahma temple in Thailand which is a land mark..SHQ and I lit an incense stick when we were there).. and a line of folks in front of him.

Also Chinese medicine is interesting.. If you thought "pittham " and "vaadam" ..ie.. heat and cold is traditional Ayurvedic bunkum, the Chinese have exactly the same things.. I used to see Chinese traditional medicine shops on the streets with signboards. advertising medicinal drinks for "heatiness" ..I learnt that lamb/ beef kind of dish is "heaty" . while pork is "cool'. Me being the oh so rationalist used to dish all this hot cold stuff in India with the dismissive.. .."Garbage..The human body's temperature is 37C. Measure it and find out yourself!" .. I was dumbfounded by this "heatiness" business among the Chinese in Singapore.

Thats when I realized how idiotic our CPM commies and JNU rationalists and all that "scientific temper" tosh that they wanted to push was just horsedump .. Stuff like "heatiness" and religions are something that goes to the core of what humans are about.. If we make everything "rational" then we become automatons that get maniupluated by some Commie mind control artistes. All that is just a very sophisticated form of mass social control!. And after all, rationality has its limits as well. We cannot and will never know everything and what about things that we dont understand, but are true ? ..

The Chinese poeple are just as human and indiosyncratic as anyother. Thye are inveterate gamblers as well and a lot of crookedness and Machiavellian sophistry as well.. .. Lots of positives.. family oriented, hard working, great social values.. etc..

Lets get our focus on ordinary chinese and not on the CPC thugs.. Focusin g on the commies is bizzare.. It is like as if someone wanted to learn about Bengalis and Malayalis and one dimenisonally start focussing on the CPM!..
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

Rye

Post by Rye »

Get a brain, people. Not understanding the Chinese makes us weaker, not stronger. China is going to be around in some form as long as India is around. The ChiComs are not the same as "the Chinese"...an important difference.

This kind of pride in ignorance of the other is behaviour usually exhibited by the Pakis and Amir Khans.
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

Rye wrote:Get a brain, people. Not understanding the Chinese makes us weaker, not stronger. China is going to be around in some form as long as India is around. The ChiComs are not the same as "the Chinese"...an important difference.

This kind of pride in ignorance of the other is behaviour usually exhibited by the Pakis and Amir Khans.
100% true. Just because the chinese indulge in copycat business we ought not to ignore them or look at them with contempt. Wonder if this attitude will continue if the chinese roam around IOR in their type 094 N subs stocked with Jl-2s or whatever.
They are a strong economy and military. And remember, they are building their country( by fair or foul means) with the US in mind. And we are nowhwere close to it. Give them the respect they deserve.
Rye

Post by Rye »

The more important reason is that options/choices for India increases as the understanding improves -- understanding can provide the spark for subtle solutions to issues.
G Subramaniam

Question on chinese racism

Post by G Subramaniam »

How does chinese racism affect NRIs in Hongkong, Malaysia, PRC, Taiwan and Singapore
prashanth

Re: Question on chinese racism

Post by prashanth »

G Subramaniam wrote:How does chinese racism affect NRIs in Hongkong, Malaysia, PRC, Taiwan and Singapore
They aren't racists when it comes to non mongoloids, I've heard.

prashanth wrote:
G Subramaniam wrote:How does chinese racism affect NRIs in Hongkong, Malaysia, PRC, Taiwan and Singapore
all races are racist to some extent. the chinese are no exception, including with other mongoloid races. in particular, their history makes them look down upon the mongol races beyond the great wall

The biggest problem with China is its size and, pardon the saying, but the big cohones/penis syndrome seems to dictate its immediate attention. In our ardour to learn about China, let us not forget that the neighborhood provides ample examples of how not to do it. Japan and South Korea have been there done that and came out with decent democracy and human rights. There are others like Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia. China burst upon the scene quite recently and its lure is that it is large, came from the same grinding poverty/backwardness that India faces. There may be a few lessons to be garnered but overwhelmingly we have seen these paradigms before. Everyone applauds China for its swift implementation, not surprising considering the authoritarian rule. Lessons to be learnt, well guarded sensibility dictates we take it with a massive amount of salt.

Are the Chinese people similar to the rest, yes they are, similar to the Burmese, Thais, Tibetians, Malaysians, Indonesians, Mongolians, Phillipinos, Laotians, Cambodians, Vietnamese, Koreans, Japanese. The predominant theme is that Indian culture invaded these places aeons ago and people still practice the beliefs and systems to this day. The Chinese are probably more savy in business since they dominate the scene in many south Asian countries. As far as their brilliance, extraordinary capabilities, they are no more or no less than their fellow Asians.

My take is China does not behoove any special study or learning, it is but a chapter in the book of nations. And like many other chapters there many be a few wrinkles this way or that but leadership and qualities of original thinking may be found in abundance in other chapters not the Chinese one.
sauravjha

Post by sauravjha »

In fact, the one thing common about the east asian tigers and pussycats is that they all have either been through or are still going through authoritarian rule during their key developmental phase.
India has of course traversed a very different path and we should ensure that we do not get lured by any quick return" syndrome.
Last edited by sauravjha on 14 May 2008 10:40, edited 1 time in total.

A good book on the very topic

Chinese Experience by Raymond Dawson

and another review

Review of Chinese Experience by R. Dawson

This book is an extremely well-written overview of the major distinctives of Chinese culture throughout the centuries. I didn't realize until I read this book why so many other Chinese history/culture books have not resonated well with me. It's because all the others have tried to tell the Chinese story linearly and chronologically, which is a good way of approaching Western Civilization (The Greek period, the Roman period, the Dark Ages, the Medieval Ages, the Rennaisance, etc) but not at ALL the way to look at Chinese history, where so many ideas have remained timeless from dynasty to dynasty, and progress is not measured from one epoch to the next. This book takes a more "horizontal" approach and zeroes in on various aspects of the culture, illuminating the Chinese presuppositions and where they differ from those of the Western mind. It's lucid, entertaining, and fascinating, neither insulting nor presumptious about what the reader knows.

Slightly tangential post here, but I believe that the most important SERIOUS step towards understanding the Chinese would be to learn Mandarin.

Let me explain..

Every cultural groups has, over centuries.developed its own idiom, with its own parables, stories and wise saying that become part of language and behavior. Indians too have certain things that come to mind instantly in certain situations. We see an event and instantly react with a statement that applies to the event. One example would be "Jiski lathi, uski bhains" - a commonly used expression on BRF. Every Indian language has similar expressions - starting from things like "Frog in a well" meaning "bilnkered", to "log kya kahange" or "naal pere yenna solvanga?" (what will four people say?) and a whole lot of other wise sayings,

These statements have been designed around our feelings and reactions and help to perpetuate them Learn thee sayings and you have a clue about what sorts of thoughts might be going through our heads.Some of these thoughts are very similar to that any other cultural groups may have, others are different.

Now note the ease with which a Chinese poster "yx" quoted an old Chinese saying about shovelling snow early in this thread?. It is this sort of thing that you pick up when you learn Mandarin. You can really only get inside a Chinese mind ONLY by learning Mandarin, and not by translations - as we all know can be very bad and biased.

We simply MUST set up infrastructure to learn Mandarin.

Reading books gives again second hand info only about any culture. Some who have had the opportunity of direct interaction due to the global nature of the workforce in developed countries will have already learnt whatever there is to learn of the lowest common denominator in behavioral patterns. Things which stand out most are
1) clannish
2) paranoid
3) scheming
4) unwillingness to share information
sauravjha

Post by sauravjha »

Slightly tangential post here, but I believe that the most important SERIOUS step towards understanding the Chinese would be to learn Mandarin.
Absolutely . Much more than historical and academic texts, it is popular literature that captures the verse of a people. and there is nothing better than reading these stories and accounts in the language in which they were composed.

However till such time , we have to make do with translations or chinese writing in English . I would strongly recommend

'A Thousand Years of Good Prayers' by Yiyun Li . the book is quite well known and has won numerous international awards.

The Chinese citizens understanding their own rulers in the aftermath of the tragic earthquake.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/ma ... disasters2

"Like many parents here, their mood was turning from raw grief to fury as they waited for news. Twenty four hours after the quake they were losing hope, and only rage was left. They blamed everyone: soldiers for coming too late, the builders for cutting corners, officials for - they claimed - siphoning off cash. "The contractors can't have been qualified. It's a 'tofu' [soft and shoddy] building. Please, help us release this news," her husband said. "About 450 were inside, in nine classes, and it collapsed completely from the top to the ground. It didn't fall over; it was almost like an explosion."

His neighbour, still half hoping for a sight of her daughter, burst out angrily: "Why isn't there money to build a good school for our kids? Chinese officials are too corrupt and bad.

"These buildings outside have been here for 20 years and didn't collapse - the school was only 10 years old. They took the money from investment, so they took the lives of hundreds of kids. They have money for prostitutes and second wives but they don't have money for our children.

"This is not a natural disaster - this is done by humans."

Intravenous drips, cigarette butts and scraps of children's clothes were trodden under foot as families surged forward, trying to force their way through the lines of paramilitary police and troops guarding the site. "They haven't told us anything. They won't even let us see the place now," shouted one mother, trying not to cry.

A man with a red umbrella paused to watch the scene. "My neighbours had two kids here," he said quietly. "One was on the first floor and ran out but was hit by a falling brick and died. The other one is still in there." Residents of Dujiangyan know other places were worse hit. Most of the buildings in the town are still standing, but no one dared enter them and many bore long cracks down their sides. The squares and roadsides were packed with residents huddling under tarpaulins, carpets and anything they could find. Too scared to go inside, they stayed out all night.

As the day wore on, an exodus began. People clustered by the roadside to hitch lifts, wait hopefully for buses or simply tramp along the long road to Chengdu to find shelter. Those without umbrellas covered their heads with plastic bags, towels and books in a vain attempt to stay dry. Some held bulging cloth bundles or backpacks; others fled without anything.
sauravjha

Post by sauravjha »

the horror stories out of chinese patshallahs do show a deep malaise in their primary education system.

Another routine abuse by officials relates to illegally selling collectively owned land on the behalf of the farmers .

the most tragic state is that of old pensioners. they often contribute to housing funds but at the end of it, they find that they are often allotted a smaller flat in an area different from the one they were initially offered. Sometimes , the allotment itself is cancelled .

prashanth wrote:
Folks,

A lot of interesting viewpoints have been expressed here and some of them are very perceptive.

I would like to add a few observations here, based on personal experience.

First of all one should not club all Chinese worldwide into one monolithic bloc.

People of Chinese origin who live in places like Southeast Asia (the place with the largest concentration of Chinese outside of the Mainland) are quite different from the Mainland Chinese. Not only in outlook but also in customs and yes even food habit.

And there is some looking down on Mainlanders as been brash, dirty and abrasive. There is off course an overall cultural pride that the Chinese as a race are becoming successful.

That's understandable as outside of the mainland and a few places where the Chinese are in a majority, they have been treated pretty badly throughout history.

However, one shouldn't read too much into this pride, as many of these same people resent the CPC and its high handed approach, lack of democracy etc.

Those Chinese origin people I've met are generally very normal people, just like Indian origin folks. Some are great human beings, some so so and some very bad. That's normal for any race of people.

The Chinese origin people are very superstitious and religious and I've seen a lot of them in Southeast Asia - hold your breadth here - are followers of Satya Sai Baba!

The other point is they are very practical oriented folks who are not given to dogma.

All in all I think they are just like any other race.

Which brings us to the Mainlanders. In my interactions and from what many Chinese friends have told me, I think they have evolved into a something very different from what traditional Chinese are.

Surviving in an authoritrian set up, with huge competition and corruption a sort of brash, reckless and xenophobic culture has been built up IMO. And for most of modern China's existence, there's has been grinding poverty and lack of opportunities - let's not forget that.

Due to this cultural abberation that CPC has built up, it doesn't need to do much to get people out on the streets for the perceived humiliation of the Chinese in the build up the Olympics.

In conclusion it's hard to make generailsations. I personally think understanding what the CPC thinks, does and in what direction it is headed is as important as understanding the average Chinese' mental make - in order to get an inkling as to where China is heading.

The title of this thread is a trifle misleading.If we are talking about understanding Communist China,the state,then it should be "understanding the PRC".If it means understanding the Chinese people,as a race across the globe,then this should be debated in the eco-socio forum!

Understanding the PRC is a thesis in itself.Communist China thrives upon secrecy and dulpicity.It will never reveal its true intentions.To quote an old saying,it "cannot play the game with a straight bat".The cliche of "oriental inscrutability" were coined by westerners with the Chinese (state) in mind.The latest revelation about its naval base at Sanya,with underground sub pens is an example.A couple of years ago when asked,a Chinese general admitted that a base was being built but denied the existence of underground sub pens! Other examples have been in recent times,China's anti-sat test and the cyberwarfare being carried out regularly against western entities.Analysts prdict that if a war with China takes place in the future,China will launch pre-emptive cyberwarfare coupled with anti-sat attacks.China's secret nuclear and missile proliferation assisting Pak is too well known to be repeated here.Suffice it to say that it is the most dangerous nuclear power on the planet,that has no scruples whatsoever,willing to from its track record,sacrifice millions in preserving the hegemony of its leadership and elite and ever ready to seize every opportunity to dominate the globe.
Rye

Post by Rye »

Understanding the PRC is pointless -- we are well aware how bloodthirsty dictatorships work. Understanding the chinese people, via their language and their worldview is a different and more long-term and way more useful undertaking. When the wall came down, the east germans and west germans conversed in German. Are India and China supposed to communicate in english at that point? why?
kancha

Post by kancha »

http://www.southasiaanalysis.org/papers ... r2701.html
... Another factor with important strategic dimension arises from the fact that many of China's steel and defence----particularly aero-space--- industries are located in the province ... In May,1998, when Pakistan faced some unspecified technical difficulties in carrying out its nuclear tests in response to the Indian tests, a team of Pakistani nuclear scientists flew to Chengdu to consult their Chinese counterparts on the technical problems faced by them ... It is not known whether road and rail links to Tibet have been affected. The "China Daily News" report cited above refers to the rupture of "a major railway line to the north-east", but does not identify it.
kancha

Post by kancha »

How do you pronounce 'Uighur' ?
Is it pronounced we-gur or is it something else?
Thanx

Its pronunced weeghers. Its the idosyncrasies of English which gave them the spelling Uighers. IOW Ui = wee
Just like French Oui = wee :)

To understand Chinese art, one has to understand Chinese brush stroke caliigraphy for same brush is used and the depth and intensity of the strokes conveys feelings. Add to that most paintings have poetry written on them to amplify the feelings of the painter. The one constant theme in Chinese painting through out history is landscape.

The arts tell a lot about the people more than hundreds of written opinions.
Rye

Post by Rye »

The simplified character set is what a majority of china knows, unlike the traditional character set which has many more characters than necessary to follow the chinese press. The character set for chinese characters comes in Taiwanese and Big-5 (mainland) flavours, but both of them have a smaller number of characters in the character set.

The simplified character set for the chinese seems to follow similar rules to Indian languages in terms of character combinations, though the interpretation/vocalization of the composite character is not phoenetic as it is for indian languages but it is more "abstract", which is why Indians find it hard to understand the construction of the chinese language....not to mention that the chinese have trouble "getting" phoenetic languages which are a whole lot more in number.

JMTs

Have been getting mails from mainlanders who are sending out mailings for donations for the chinese....this particular email I got was particularly tugging at the heart strings with a bulldozer and asking for generous donations with a list of Chinese banks.

CRI English site

Look at its learn Chinese section for starters.

China’s force & diplomacy

[quote]China’s force & diplomacy

The Need For Realism In India

By Subroto Roy

It is almost as large an error to overestimate Chinese military aims and capabilities as it has been to underestimate them. On 8 May 2008 in Tokyo’s Waseda University, China’s President Hu Jintao declared in a speech broadcast live “China has taken a defensive military policy and will not engage in any arms race. We will not become a military threat to any country and we will never assert hegemony or be expansionisticâ€

Re: Let us Understand the Chinese

thread unlocked.

Please post topical opinion pieces here alongwith relevant discussions.

there are already two other PRC related threads in this forum, so kindly
keep the posts here relevant to the title.

thanks.

On the matter of 'China being ethnically homogeneous' this assumption is false.
For instance, the Akha (a subgroup of the Hani) were originally an indigenous ethnic group from China. Due to various factors - not all of them pleasant, IIRC - many of them migrated to neighbouring hilly regions in Thailand, Laos, Burma and thereabouts.

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/254347/Hani
Hani people also called Woni or Houni

Main
an official nationality of China. The Hani live mainly on the high southwestern plateau of Yunnan province, China, specifically concentrated in the southwestern corner. There are also several thousands of Hani or related peoples in northern Thailand, Laos, and Vietnam and in eastern Myanmar (Burma). Altogether they numbered some two million in the early 21st century.

Thirteen subgroups of this official classification call themselves by other names, but they speak mutually intelligible Tibeto-Burman languages of the Sino-Tibetan language family. Classified as tribes of the larger Yi ethnic group, the Hani are believed to be a branch of the ancient Qiang from the north, appearing in the Dadu River region in Han times. They were slightly infiltrated by Thai who were fleeing the Mongols. Contemporary Hani are mostly farmers who produce two excellent types of tea and are also known for their remarkable terraced rice paddies.

A distinct subgroup of the Hani known as the Akha live in China, as well as parts of Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia. They are believed to be of Chinese origin, though, for a variety of reasons, they have lived a wandering life. A notable feature of female dress is an elaborate headdress made with silver or white beads and silver coins. This and other features of the Akha culture are dissipating under pressure of both missionary work and other outside forces.

China is far from being ethnically homogenous. It officially recognises a vast number of minorities (i forget how many) - who are exempt from the one child policy. even within the Han there are various groups and languages - with quite a wide diversity. It is only the script that is common amongst the Han, so Cantonese and Mandarin are written using the same characters, but quite different in nature. Most of the Han live within the 'traditional' boundaries of China, i.e. NOT including Turkestan, Tibet, Mongolia and Manchuria - where most of the minorities live. There are also many minorities amongst the hills between the Han lands and India, Myanmar, Vietnam, etc.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Stunning Venue's for Olympics in China:

http://en.beijing2008.cn/cptvenues/

France summons Chinese envoy over Tibet comment
"We were very surprised by the Chinese ambassador's statement this morning and I have asked him to come and see me :oops: ... so that I can understand and that he can explain his position which seemed difficult to accept from France's point of view," Kouchner said.
So Kong tried to play a silly game after the French announcement of participation. Boy, they have some real juveniles in their diplomatic services.
The ambassador's warning about "serious consequences" appeared in newspapers on the day Sarkozy finally announced he would go to the opening ceremony of the Olympics in Beijing next month, ending weeks of speculation about his attendance.
Sarkozy should have known better than to deal with such childish entities as the PLA/CCP :roll:
doordarshi

Post by doordarshi »

'Ha-pi-tu-mi-te-yu:' Beijing welcomes the Olympics
First-timers and those who've not been here for a while may, like me, find the new Beijing a bit of a jolt. Who knew that the world had so many construction cranes, or produced so much concrete, glass and steel?

The shock of witnessing such voracious change leaves an unsettling feeling about whether the rest of the world can compete with a waking power as hungry as China. The immense scale on display seems designed to impress; the new Terminal Three at Beijing International Airport, where many tourists will arrive, is the world's largest.

The modernization makes Beijing easier to visit. Cash machines on many blocks. Cool art galleries in old Soviet factories. Hangouts for backpackers, swanky hotels for the well-heeled. Late-night shopping. More clubs than even the most insomniac reveler could get through in a weekend. Clean taxis. New buses. More subway lines. While the bicycle once ruled the roads, cars do now, and traffic is often snarled. If you're brave, rent a bike. The city's largely flat; you have nothing to lose but your chain.

The food: Don't miss a meal. Restaurants are plentiful and generally clean, offering all varieties of Chinese cuisine and many foreign ones -- a turnaround from a generation ago when food was scarce and eateries few and dingy.

A nice touch: many now display color photos of their dishes. No more point-and-hope ordering from menus that often used to be only in Chinese, and far fewer comical English mistakes. A favorite from the old days: a hole-in-the-wall that served fried carp, but got the "A" and the "R" in the wrong order. Like many old haunts, it is now gone, replaced by a new office building.

For sightseeing, new landmarks compete for time and attention with older marvels, like the sprawling and ancient Forbidden City -- still a must-see.

The Olympic architectural jewel is the 91,000-seat, $450 million National Stadium. It's a knockout to look at. Bravo Switzerland-based architects Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron. Beijingers call it the Bird's Nest because of the latticework of steel beams wrapped around the exterior. It will host the opening and closing ceremonies and track and field events.

Visitors without Olympic tickets will only be able to admire it from afar. Venues and the areas around them will be sealed off for the August 8-24 games.

The massive security Chinese officials are rolling out poses an Olympic-sized question: will it kill off the fun, feel like prison, seeing guys in uniform across the city? Could be. If you are not coming for the sport or for the Olympic experience, August may not be the most relaxed period to visit.

The upside is that if a police officer does ask you to move on, there's a fair chance he'll be polite and understandable.

A pre-Olympic "Good Manners Campaign" promoted courtesy and orderly queuing and frowned on swearing, spitting and littering in public. One of the Beijing government's slogans, according to state media, was: "Spitting kills even more than an atomic bomb." Paper spit bags have been passed out. In three weeks here in May and June, I didn't hear anyone noisily clearing their throat in public -- a once common sound.

Beijing authorities have also given English lessons to 400,000 people, state media say. Most taxi drivers, hotel employees and all Olympic volunteers have received etiquette and English training. More than 10,000 police officers received basic work-related "police English" and even some Japanese, Russian and Arabic training.

Among the phrases taught: "Welcome to Beijing, the host city of the 2008 Olympic Games. I recommend visiting the Great Wall; it is one of the seven wonders of the world."

Got that right. It was among seven new wonders of the world chosen in a global poll last year that elicited about 100 million votes via the Internet and text messages. The wall -- really a series of fortifications built over 1,500 years -- makes for an inspiring day out of the city. Take good shoes and water, so you can hike at least a little way from the crowds. Admire the way the wall hugs the hillsides as far as the eye can see. Take a bus or taxi there.

The Badaling section is easiest to reach, and therefore the most crowded. Sections at Mutianyu or Jinshanling are farther away but offer more spectacular mountain scenery. Both have cable cars, for those for whom hiking is difficult or who maybe ate too much crispy Beijing duck the night before.

The Forbidden City is worth taking time over, too. Meander through its courtyards, some huge, others small and cozy, like secret gardens. Chinese emperors once lived shut off from the outside world behind the vast palace's blood-red walls, amid eunuchs and concubines. A detail to look out for: the fierce Chinese dragons finely embossed on the copper window frames of some of the palace buildings.

Then leap from concubines to communism, by walking through the front gate of the palace to Tiananmen Square, where five-starred red Chinese flags make snapping sounds when there's a strong breeze.

Mao Zedong gazes across the square from his portrait hanging on Tiananmen gate, at the north end, toward his mausoleum where his body lies encased in a glass coffin.

Tiananmen is a must-see for Chinese visiting Beijing. That makes it a great place to people-watch. Tibetan monks, ruddy-cheeked peasants from some far-flung village, southerners with singsong accents throng the square.

It's one place you may also attract stares. Foreigners are still novelties for out-of-towners from China's more remote regions. Not so for more worldly-wise Beijingers, who will likely be more than ha-pi-tu-mi-te-yu.

If You Go...

WEATHER: Beijing's summers are hot and humid, with average highs around 86 degrees and lows of 68 degrees. Rain is frequent and often heavy.

METRO: Five lines run throughout the city; Line 10 takes you to Olympic venues while the Beijing Airport (L1) runs from Airport Terminals 2 and 3 into the city to the Dongzhimen metro stop (Line 2).

TIANANMEN AND FORBIDDEN CITY TOURS: Exit Tiananmen East or West metro stops for Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, open from 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. during the summer; tickets are $8.70 per person and half price for children and students. Audio tours are available for $6.80 with a $14.50 deposit.

Tours can be found at http://www.chinatourdesign.com.

BICYCLE RENTALS & TOURS: http://www.utc88.com/ and http://www.cyclechina.com/

ECONOMY ACCOMMODATIONS: Peking Youth Hostel, http://www.hihostels.com/dba/hostel024648.en.htm. Kelly's Courtyard, http://www.kellyscourtyard.com. China Youth Hostels Association, http://www.yhachina.com

HIKING THE GREAT WALL: The best way to get to the Great Wall is with a tour group. The Badaling section is an hour drive outside of the city; tickets cost $6.80, open 6:30 a.m.-6 p.m. Mutianyu is 1.5-hour drive outside of Beijing; tickets cost $5, open 7 a.m.-6:30 p.m. A scenic and less crowded Great Wall experience is the four-hour-long Simatai to Jinshanling hike; a 2.5-hour drive outside of the city, it is open 5 a.m.-7 p.m. Tickets for Simatai cost $6.80, and $4.50) for Jinshanling. Tour information can be found at http://www.tour-beijing.com/great_wall/.

NATIONAL STADIUM: The National Stadium, also known as the Bird's Nest, is a 30-minute taxi ride, if there is light traffic, or by the Line 10 metro from downtown Beijing. Exit at the Orympic Palk area.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Chinese people are as diverse as any other country in Asia ethnically and racially. They are lovely people but unfortunately it is the red army and particularly their worship of this funny ideology and kill their own chinese for keeping this ideology and exploit their own using such ideology is what is the problem. To control different ethnic group revolting against their ideology the red army has used Chinese identity to hide behind. There are clear evidence of ethnic cleansing and negative attitude towards religious minorities. Even the high rank officers would hate red army rules as some of them having two children hide one of them or allow one to grow with another person as their child so that they would not loose their jobs. At times each officer is afraid of the other officer thinking whether he would find fault and make his life miserable in someways. So in a way this communist ideology is very similar to religious fundamentalist ideology which is as threatening as any other fundamentalist mindset. The best way is to allow people to critically engage with this fixed antihuman ideology and consider some of the democratic values as well. Communist party has its own democratic practices but no criticism and no space for human error and corrections. So if an officer takes bribe shot him to death then what others do it so secretly risking their lives but cooperate with each other so that no one dies. In no way this is helpful though in India too we could not control the corruption in every form of life having got the democratic system. It is time for Chinese to respect all ethnic diverse people and give respect all diverse languages besides Chinese. Give up the present system for a democratic system Chinese people have potential ability to develop themselves regardless of who is in the power. If Chinese select to be democratic then it has the potential power to become a model nation and superpower in the world. But at present red army makes sure that Chinese people and their culture are completely destroyed diversity is not preserverd rather a few people's ideology is imposed on everyone. Chinese in majority are not certainly happy with this power mongering groups in red army. But the young people could not do anything against this ruthless fellows.
If it is democratic country India is the first country to benefit in manyways. Many of the surrounding countries however small they are will be very much benefited in terms of development and also of cooperation in this part of the world.