RamaY wrote:I voted NO.
Instead India should invite HH Dalai Lama as the chief guest on Jan 26 from Tibet.
RamaY wrote:Venkarl wrote:jingoistic thoughts apart....what we can do in our capacity to make dragon cough some smoke is to invite HH DL as an honorary guest to our upcoming Republic Republic Day. This is achievable AFAIK.
This is my preference too (read my post in previous page).
RajeshA ji, this will do multiple things -
1. It shows that India recognizes Tibet as a separate (will enrage PRC) and independent soverign state (Beijing will have a b*chfit).
2. It shows that HH DL as the leader of that soverign Tibet
3. It shows that India, united with all its might, stands by HH DL and Tibet
Shiv-ji is right on this point (I still disagree with him on POK - which was claimed by Parliament of India as undeniable part of India). We never claimed Tibet as part of our nation. It is a different thing if/when Tibet and its people decide to join Indian Union.
RamaY ji,
thanks for the feedback.
There are some aspects, I would like to touch on.
1) The proposal to make HH DL is a process with several phases. One of the earlier phases would involve bringing him into the limelight by the GoI, and then asking him to be the Chief Guest at the Republic Day parade would be a very good idea.
2) Recognition of Independence in the beginning by the GoI is a must. At the moment India considers Tibet to be part of China. How can a part of some country simply decide to join another country?! So recognition of Independence of Tibet is a precondition to any further plans. At that point HH DL would be recognized by as the sovereign of an independent nation.
3) If we let go at Recognition of Independence, we have to see what we have achieved. Our achievement has been that we have made some news, PRC is furious, there is some unpleasant Chinese reaction to us, and our relations nose-dive. More than that it doesn't change much.
The other countries would continue to do normal business with China, and wouldn't really hop on this anti-Chinese vendetta by India. They will just watch it from the sidelines. If India tries to go on a diplomatic offensive, we will be making a big fool of ourselves. We remember how Taiwan went around the world asking for recognition until almost every country recognized PRC as the true China. So going around the world beating Tibet's drum would not bring anything. Every country would tell us, that the Chinese are sitting on Tibet, and it is not really bothering anybody, at least not enough to pick a fight with PRC. It would become a human-rights tamasha, nothing more than it is now.
On the ground in Tibet nothing would have changed, and China would feel emboldened, and then the pressure would increase on India on the boundary. In fact before GoI exchanged letters of recognizing Tibet as part of China and Sikkim as part of India, India did not consider Tibet as part of China. So we have been there before.
So any Recognition of Independence of Tibet should not be followed by any diplomatic offensive in pushing for the same by the other countries. It should be closely followed by the Tibet Parliament in Exile passing the Accession to India Bill, and signed by HH DL.
What we need is a game changer. If Tibetan Parliament in Exile accedes Tibet to India, it becomes a dispute between India and China. We become a party to the dispute. That is serious.
How would the other countries react to it? They would continue to get their visas for Tibet from PRC embassies. Sure. But on their atlas maps, they will start showing Tibet in a slightly different color as the rest of China. That is when the fun begins. Every time some far off country, say Latvia or Montenegro brings out an atlas with a disputed Tibet, we win and PRC goes angry.
If we name Tawang as Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) as well, then we will be having a real territorial dispute. Everywhere including Wikipedia, people would try to explain that a part of Tibet is in China and the other part is in India. That dilutes even more the Chinese assertion, that it controls Tibet and as such it is a part of China.
And then every once in a while we start talking about the human rights violations in Tibet, and bring the world's spotlight on Tibet.
That is how we build up psychological pressure on China little by little, without even firing a shot.
China gives us a disputed boundary. India gives them a disputed region.