Islamic Sectarianism

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Islamic Sectarianism

brihaspati wrote:So now, discussing Sufis been reduced to "dissing" Islam? Good. The "pompous moniker" actually asked some questions about what the "Sufis" had to say about the four pillars - which automatically includes the Sunnah - which in turn includes whatever he supposedly practised in political/military/social terms. To which I now have the answer that we must take Aurobindo, Sai Baba, or RKP's "words" eulogizing "Islam" - and if they "eulogized" then all the questions I put about "sufism" automatically gets answered! Quoting these "gurus" is fine - and not selective "copy and paste"? They say a lot of other things too - do we have to accept all of those too as unadulterated truth?
Uh no, you don't have to accept anything - it is afterall, a matter of choice. And no doubt, truth comes in degrees, I just happen to feel that their arguments in this regard contain a lot more of it than your interpretation. I am sorry I could not answer your questions, to me at least, a simple adherence to authority is often enough, and sometimes there is little choice - there are too many questions in the world of phenomena that cannot be answered purely by words - a preponderant requirement of the modern viewpoint, which to some extent I too share - an unfortunate consequence of 200 years of colonialism I s'pose. But not entirely though, not enough to gloss over the words of some of the finest folk that have walked this earth. In any case, as far as translating a Sufi's following of the Sunnah into practice, there are far too many examples of Sufis being neighborly and all that. In fact there is evidence enough to suggest that there were/are Sufis who were/are rather accepting of Hindus and their practices, again it is a matter of choice that you prefer not to recognize this.
Both Chisti/Suhrawardyia and Naqshbandis claim themselves as "Sufis". So we have to handpick our "Sufis" now?
Can't be helped I s'pose - there are always choices unfortunately. Rather wrangle with difficult ones and withold judgement than paint the entire lot with one color. Even today, we have Naqshbandis, Chistis and Qadiris who do plenty towards interfaith dialogue, a place where India should rightfully lead the way.
As for "speculation", if the Thaparite speculation can neither be disproved nor proved, what is wrong in making another speculation - and in fact a speculation not based on "absence of narratives". My "speculation" was based on a narrative given by a "Sufi" about the "Sufi Muin-aldin" of Ajmer - which I have quoted in full.
Sure, I just wanted to make sure that your argument was understood as speculation. And no, the claim that non muslims visit Sufis purely out of fear for their lives did not have any narratives to back it up. As such, your speculation is little better than conjecture - not one that will stand upto much investigation imho. As you suggest yourself, maybe there is little truth to the narrative in the first place, which makes such speculation further off the mark.
As far as why such narratives found authorship in later periods, who can say? Perhaps they came about from those who curried favor with radical ulema? It is a possibility however, remote - just as your speculation is.
In any case, it remains that there is no such compulsion today, and non muslims continue to throng Sufis, assuredly there is no speculation here.
It is a standard response to avoid the pointed questions about the reality of Sufism and its doctrine and its complicated history in India - and bring in "authority" (in this case "Shivaji/Nanak/RKP/Aurobindo"). A lot of epithets and angry labels still does not wish away the problems with Islamist doctrine, Sufi representation and its twists and turns over time, and the reality of the Islamist experience in India.
Once again, your idea of Islamic reality conflicts with a large number of "authorities", patriots et al. Bottomline is that there are indeed issues that cannot be simply reconciled. Under such circumstances, I feel that a choice of patience and deference is far better than one of jingoism and prejudice - as pointed out by the many authorities that you cannot come to terms with. Can't blame a simpleton like me for choosing authority can you? AFterall, it is the rigueur de norm for masses of simpletons to follow authority for the most part - whether it be a Sri Krushna or a Mohammed.

CM

Cain Marko wrote
Sure, I just wanted to make sure that your argument was understood as speculation. And no, the claim that non muslims visit Sufis purely out of fear for their lives did not have any narratives to back it up.
I suggested that the practice started as such - not fear - but a hope that the "Sufi" who could not be prevented from slaughtering cows in Hindu temples, and who obviously had close support from Muslim commanders close by who would rush to fulfill his dreams of "Sunnah" required wife-gathering by raiding and abducting the local Hinduc chief's daughter - could act as mediator of protection from such kindnesses.

In time such a practice would transform into tradition - especially given that "miracles" were invented. Prof. Muhammad Habib has some comments to make about this "invention of miracle" angle too - do look up.
As such, your speculation is little better than conjecture - not one that will stand upto much investigation imho. As you suggest yourself, maybe there is little truth to the narrative in the first place, which makes such speculation further off the mark.
Do not put words into my mouth to suit yourself. I said even if it is claimed that all this did not actually take place and was all boasting/exaggeration - a line taken always in the Thaparite approach towards Islamic narratives of atrocities - it still leaves the question, as to why would a Sufi find none of this "objectionable" in a Sufi "icon", even after 240 years of "adapting" to the Indic. This is not suggesting that the "narrative" was not truthful or did not reflect actual events.

As for "investigating" we cannot do an "investigation" because we would need to travel back in time. I did quote Currie, who has done some research on this.
As far as why such narratives found authorship in later periods, who can say? Perhaps they came about from those who curried favor with radical ulema? It is a possibility however, remote - just as your speculation is.
Even if we accept your speculation, that generates further questions. So a Sufi would write false things about a revered Sufi icon to please the Ulema? What does it say about the character and reliability of your legendary "Sufi" as far as behaviour/attitudes towards the non-Muslim as and when the Ulema order something?
In any case, it remains that there is no such compulsion today, and non muslims continue to throng Sufis, assuredly there is no speculation here.
The thronging argument as justifying is interesting. Applying the same argument to non-Muslim instances is tempting but will go OT.

By the way - the two lines - Chistiya/Suhrwawardyia and the Naqshbandis both claim to be "Sufis", but both differ on some of the fundamental points, like the "Wujud", and "All is He" versus "All is from him". They were engaged in serious political conflict with each other too. Do people consider them as two different sects within a supposed single sect? Should we treat their conflict as a "sectarian" conflict within Islamism? [They are both within Islamism - because both keep the "four pillars" beyond questioning].

The question that is being bypassed here repeatedly, is that as long as any Sufi line keeps the "four pillars" beyond questioning, including the "Sunnah" - it leaves the door open for future Sirhindis to arise. Since the Sunnah and the core texts leave items and concepts as "valid" that can be revived and used for imperialist and genocidic purpose. Mere clamour of "Sufism" does not prevent or rule out such an eventuality - from within the very ranks of Sufis.

This quote from Aurobindo is so tempting :
All fanaticism is false, because it is a contradiction of the very nature of God and of Truth. Truth cannot be shut up in a single book, Bible or Veda or Koran, or in a single religion. The Divine Being is eternal and universal and infinite and cannot be the sole property of the Mussulmans or of the Semitic religions only, – those that happened to be in a line from the Bible and to have Jewish or Arabian prophets for their founders. Hindus and Confucians and Taoists and all others have as much right to enter into relation with God and find the Truth in their own way. All religions have some truth in them, but none has the whole truth; all are created in time and finally decline and perish. Mahomed himself never pretended that the Koran was the last message of God and there would be no other. God and Truth outlast these religions and manifest themselves anew in whatever way or form the Divine Wisdom chooses.
(On Himself, p.483.)

Wonder if this also has to be accepted at face value! Better, what would the Muslims and of course Sufis themselves see the bolded part as? The statement about "Muhammad" himself "never pretending" is most interesting - for it goes against one of the fundamental claims of Islam. If everything that Aurobindo said in connection to Islam is to be accepted as supreme unchallengeable truth - should we also accept this bit about Islam?

Another exalted man whose words on "brotherhood in Islam" is bandied about : but he also had other things to say about this brotherhood - should we accept those other bits as unchallengeable truths too?
Swami Vivekananda:
Mohammedans talk of universal brotherhood, but what comes out of that in reality? Why anybody who is not a Mohammedan will not be admitted into the brotherhood; he will more likely have his throat cut. (Vol II, p 380)
Further, such harsh words on "brotherhood theology"
"The Mohammedan religion allows Mohammedans to kill all who are not of their religion. It is clearly stated in Koran, "Kill the infidels if they do not become Mohammedans". They must be put to fire and sword. (vol II, p 335).

Think of the little sects, born within a few hundred years out of fallible human brains, making this arrogant claim of knowledge of the whole of God's infinite truth! Think of the arrogance of it! If it shows anything, it is this how vain human beings are. And it is no wonder that such claims have always failed, and , by the mercy of the Lord, are always destined to fail. In this line the Mohammedans were the best off; every step forward was made with the sword - the Koran in the one hand and the sword in the other: "Take the Koran, or you must die; there is no alternative!". You know from history how phenomenal was their success; for six hundred years nothing could
resist them, and then there came a time when they had to cry halt.
So will it be with other religions if they follow the same methods." (vol II, pp 369-70)

OMG. B-ji...those quotes are dynamite. And coming from one who knows what he is talking about, having looked moksha in the eye. wow again.

Hari Seldon ji,
Swamiji's one particular passage is always quoted. He had plenty more to say about this theology - which are always always kept in the shadow of silence. Selective copying and pasting seems to work both ways!

brihaspati wrote:This quote from Aurobindo is so tempting :
All religions have some truth in them, but none has the whole truth; all are created in time and finally decline and perish. Mahomed himself never pretended that the Koran was the last message of God and there would be no other. God and Truth outlast these religions and manifest themselves anew in whatever way or form the Divine Wisdom chooses.
NOw that you have boldened certain parts, look again - it refers to "all" religions - Indic included, unless of course you want to exclude these? What part of the esoteric and exoteric did you not understand? Common ground cannot be reached based on exoteric statements - there are far too many differences, but surely an esoteric understanding can bring people together - as difficult as this might be for you to accept, it is precisely what Carl was getting at in his analysis, and what the aforementioned sages put forth when they praised Islam. But alas, the very thought of comparison seemed to have brought out some deep rooted angst vs. Islam/Sufis.

Re. Sw. Vivekananda's statement that you have put up as an "opposite" paradigm of what I had previously quoted - now that we have both his positions nicely juxtaposed how do you reconcile them? Nowhere in this do I see a contradiction - yes, there was violence involved, no denying it, yes it was short sighted etc, but the philosophy did produce certain gems, it also served the noble purpose of any religion, and as such cannot be rubbished for the sake of petty, communal one upmanship. This latter seems to be your only angle - my idea is to see both - no false halos but definitely no bile for the sake of it either.

Btw, this will probably be one of my last posts, if not the very last one on this topic- it is rather time consuming, and tiring.

CM.

Whenever word Allah is used by Indic spritual teachers , they assign all the divine attributes of "God" as understood/experienced by Indics. The Allah of Quran have been denied these atributes like 'Samdarshi, Sachidananda" etc and list is long. There is reason that there hardly a mention of Muhamamd word in SGGS while many spiritual personalities are mentioned and when some one asked Swami Vivekananda about Prophet Muhamad, he kept quiet and after great prodding said "think about all the good and all the bad things Muhammad did and decide yourself". as the man said , islam must be discussed as it is and not with Indic philosphical glasses to avoid the mistake of making it relevant to indian mileu.

Bji!

Henry Corbin, "Alone with the Alone: Creative Imagination in the Sufism of Ibn 'Arabi"
Princeton University Press | 1998 | ISBN: 0691058342 | 454 pages

"Henry Corbin's works are the best guide to the visionary tradition.... Corbin, like Scholem and Jonas, is remembered as a scholar of genius. He was uniquely equipped not only to recover Iranian Sufism for the West, but also to defend the principal Western traditions of esoteric spirituality."--From the introduction by Harold Bloom

Ibn 'Arabi (1165-1240) was one of the great mystics of all time. Through the richness of his personal experience and the constructive power of his intellect, he made a unique contribution to Shi'ite Sufism. In this book, which features a powerful new preface by Harold Bloom, Henry Corbin brings us to the very core of this movement with a penetrating analysis of Ibn 'Arabi's life and doctrines.

Corbin begins with a kind of spiritual topography of the twelfth century, emphasizing the differences between exoteric and esoteric forms of Islam. He also relates Islamic mysticism to mystical thought in the West. The remainder of the book is devoted to two complementary essays: on "Sympathy and Theosophy" and "Creative Imagination and Creative Prayer." A section of notes and appendices includes original translations of numerous Su fi treatises.

Harold Bloom's preface links Sufi mysticism with Shakespeare's visionary dramas and high tragedies, such as The Tempest and Hamlet. These works, he writes, intermix the empirical world with a transcendent element. Bloom shows us that this Shakespearean cosmos is analogous to Corbin's "Imaginal Realm" of the Sufis, the place of soul or souls.

brihaspati wrote:This quote from Aurobindo is so tempting :

All religions have some truth in them, but none has the whole truth; all are created in time and finally decline and perish. Mahomed himself never pretended that the Koran was the last message of God and there would be no other. God and Truth outlast these religions and manifest themselves anew in whatever way or form the Divine Wisdom chooses.
NOw that you have boldened certain parts, look again - it refers to "all" religions - Indic included, unless of course you want to exclude these? What part of the esoteric and exoteric did you not understand? Common ground cannot be reached based on exoteric statements - there are far too many differences, but surely an esoteric understanding can bring people together - as difficult as this might be for you to accept, it is precisely what Carl was getting at in his analysis, and what the aforementioned sages put forth when they praised Islam. But alas, the very thought of comparison seemed to have brought out some deep rooted angst vs. Islam/Sufis.
You are ignoring my pointer that Aurobindo has a different understanding - genuine/or as you are trying to hint at - as a tactic - of Islam and Islamic teachings, which is completely different from practitioners of Islam. The fundamental point where Sufis and Salafists both agree - and think it unchallengeable , is exactly on the "final prophethood" and the "Quran" being the last message. There are explicit injunctions included within the text warning against future attempts at altering the text.

When you highlight "favourable" phrases onlee in posts and suppress their equally dubious or hostile comments on the same, it is creating a false impression of the complicated views that they have about Islam. Moreover their "positive" statements are being isolated and grouped together to lead and extend to a conclusion that they might have never actually condoned.
Re. Sw. Vivekananda's statement that you have put up as an "opposite" paradigm of what I had previously quoted - now that we have both his positions nicely juxtaposed how do you reconcile them? Nowhere in this do I see a contradiction - yes, there was violence involved, no denying it, yes it was short sighted etc, but the philosophy did produce certain gems, it also served the noble purpose of any religion, and as such cannot be rubbished for the sake of petty, communal one upmanship. This latter seems to be your only angle - my idea is to see both - no false halos but definitely no bile for the sake of it either.
This is the fundamental problem. You are dragging this discussion into a phase where I will have to question those lofty declarations coming from the two of you - simply based on speeches/writings taken out of context by some "great men" - about how "noble/great contribution/gems" were produced by "Islam". This cannot be done here because it will lead to discussion of religions. What philosophy? What particular "philosophy" is laid out in the Quran and the ahadith or the Sira? There are onlee injunctions about running a military endeavour to grab land and women. Or regulations about whom you can marry and whom you can bed. Or quoting some earlier Judaic tradition/claimed historical event to justify some action. At best the injunctions can be separated out into two categories - what in Indian terms would amount to "grihya-sutra" and "puranas". But there is nothing there to create a "darshan". And if you had really read up on the collected works of the "masters" being quoted you will see - that what they ever write about approvingly in Islam - is a particular "action" feature, the apparent "unity of purpose and action towards achieving politico-religious goals".

They do not say anything about the "philosophical" contribution of "Islam or Sufis", in the much deeper and broader sense of philosophy/darshan that Indics understand about. Since people are so much in love with context, it is strange that "context" is not allowed when turning "masters" utterings into propaganda material. Aurobindo or Vivekananda's statements should be taken in the context of the period they are writing about, their own perceptions of priorities or tactics, and their cumulative experience of society up to that point. Many of Vivekananda's comments about supposed historical events were obviously based on historiography available to him at that time. Just as the case was for Aurobindo. We cannot use their quotes out of their social/life/political context and try to use it in a blanket application to push a particular political agenda.

The most important point in this use of their quotes is pointed out by Prem ji - who seems to have the clarity of vision to see through without quoting elaborately, that many of us don't. Prem ji catches on to the essence that - the "Indic" side often tries to grasp the "Islamic" in terms of models it is familiar with, and that is its own philosophy. They see some overt linguistic similarity in some terms, and think "oh they are talking of so-and-so from my philosophy". Modeling the other by self is potentially disastrous.

Further, in all their "quotes" - the "masters" are only pointing out a small set of "features" (in fact only one) they feel are attractive or worthy of emulating, but they are never, ever, identifying the underlying philosophy as "Indic" or proposing that we become "Islamics", or even proposing that we somehow contribute towards further Islamization or help it to flourish or grow.

Aurobindo makes one rare and strange statement about each religion transforming into the others. But I am not sure that he meant it seriously given the tenor of the paragraph. People also make statements at different parts of their lives which when taken together may turn out to be inconsistent and contradictory. Nothing wrong in that - it only shows that "masters" are humans too.

What their words are being used to lend fuel to - is that we must promote/help one school within Islam against others. But if we are not convinced about the utility of the whole theology itself, why should we waste time and resources to preserve or promote a system, that has not really given up on the most disturbing and dangerous aspect - the commitment to the five pillars, which preserves the tactical opening in the future for a renewed onslaught on the non-Muslim.

Prem ji,
pranaam. You have said in a few words what we have been struggling about to convey in volumes. My long association with several close Sikh associates in my political life, made me aware of some aspects of the Sikh panth. But I am no master of it. As far as my impression goes, very few quotes from Guru Nanak ji- directly shows approval of Islam, and on the whole he seems to have avoided making such comments - positive or negative. He had Muslim followers, but was it possible to remain both a Muslim as well as a Sikh? I know of several aspects - even practice wise, which would clash. any comment would be helpful.

Sikhs have suffered from the sectarian conflicts within Sufi factions, so it would be interesting to know the Sikh POV about Islamic sectarianism, especially that among the Sufis.

ramana ji,
I studied "Sufism" some 20 years ago, a time when I began to explore the reality of the cultural milieu in GV. I was forced to face up to Islamism in various forms because I was sent into areas where it predominated, and for some unknown reason I was apparently more acceptable for org tasks. My realization was that both westerners as well as non-Muslim Indians most of the time are actually looking at Islamism from what they understand [or wish to view as] of their own culture and philosophy. Thus it becomes a case of inappropriate modeling almost every time.

I was still trying to apply "Marxian" understanding at that stage - so thought of the line "the philosophers before have all tried to understand the world/the task is to change it" highly. But my stay with actual populations, quickly showed me the futility and falsity of that understanding. Most of the studies of "Sufism" from the west or "west-inspired" East, go gaga over "Sufism" to the point of almost mythifying it. It becomes a mirror of their own wishful mysticism. Underlying this mythification, is a failure to see that the movement actually conflates two social/theological/spiritual drives - one, a search for something beyond what five pillars offer, and this is the insignificant minority of genuine intellectual quest, two - an attempt at making the five pillars more absorbing and fulfilling as focus of life - which is the majority.

The Salafist hatred of Sufis can be watched in India , and we dont have to go to Egypt for it. Many areas of upper GV witnesses a three cornered struggle, between anti-Sufis, and opposing sufi sects. Problem with the Sufis is that their search for "something more" bases itself on the five pillars as the anchor which can never be abandoned. This leads to an intense inner struggle and inability to resist Sunni/Salafist demands - which are again based on the very same five pillars. Sufis will always be subject to this dichotomy and hence a doubtful ally in any fight against militant islamism.

Whenever word Allah is used by Indic spritual teachers , they assign all the divine attributes of "God" as understood/experienced by Indics. The Allah of Quran have been denied these atributes like 'Samdarshi, Sachidananda" etc and list is long.
Exactly!. Take for example following from Guru Granth Sahib
http://www.srigranth.org/servlet/gurban ... 707#l57707

ਅਵਲਿ ਅਲਹ ਨੂਰੁ ਉਪਾਇਆ ਕੁਦਰਤਿ ਕੇ ਸਭ ਬੰਦੇ ॥
अवलि अलह नूरु उपाइआ कुदरति के सभ बंदे ॥
Aval alah nūr upā▫i▫ā kuḏraṯ ke sabẖ banḏe.
First, Allah created the Light; then, by His Creative Power, He made all mortal beings.

ਏਕ ਨੂਰ ਤੇ ਸਭੁ ਜਗੁ ਉਪਜਿਆ ਕਉਨ ਭਲੇ ਕੋ ਮੰਦੇ ॥੧॥
एक नूर ते सभु जगु उपजिआ कउन भले को मंदे ॥१॥
Ėk nūr ṯe sabẖ jag upji▫ā ka▫un bẖale ko manḏe. ||1||
From the One Light, the entire universe welled up. So who is good, and who is bad? ||1||

ਲੋਗਾ ਭਰਮਿ ਨ ਭੂਲਹੁ ਭਾਈ ॥
लोगा भरमि न भूलहु भाई ॥
Logā bẖaram na bẖūlahu bẖā▫ī.
O people, O Siblings of Destiny, do not wander deluded by doubt.

ਖਾਲਿਕੁ ਖਲਕ ਖਲਕ ਮਹਿ ਖਾਲਿਕੁ ਪੂਰਿ ਰਹਿਓ ਸ੍ਰਬ ਠਾਂਈ ॥੧॥ ਰਹਾਉ ॥
खालिकु खलक खलक महि खालिकु पूरि रहिओ स्रब ठांई ॥१॥ रहाउ ॥
Kẖālik kẖalak kẖalak mėh kẖālik pūr rahi▫o sarab ṯẖāʼn▫ī. ||1|| rahā▫o.
The Creation is in the Creator, and the Creator is in the Creation, totally pervading and permeating all places. ||1||Pause||

ਮਾਟੀ ਏਕ ਅਨੇਕ ਭਾਂਤਿ ਕਰਿ ਸਾਜੀ ਸਾਜਨਹਾਰੈ ॥
माटी एक अनेक भांति करि साजी साजनहारै ॥
Mātī ek anek bẖāʼnṯ kar sājī sājanhārai.
The clay is the same, but the Fashioner has fashioned it in various ways.

ਨਾ ਕਛੁ ਪੋਚ ਮਾਟੀ ਕੇ ਭਾਂਡੇ ਨਾ ਕਛੁ ਪੋਚ ਕੁੰਭਾਰੈ ॥੨॥
ना कछु पोच माटी के भांडे ना कछु पोच कु्मभारै ॥२॥
Nā kacẖẖ pocẖ mātī ke bẖāʼnde nā kacẖẖ pocẖ kumbẖārai. ||2||
There is nothing wrong with the pot of clay - there is nothing wrong with the Potter. ||2||

ਸਭ ਮਹਿ ਸਚਾ ਏਕੋ ਸੋਈ ਤਿਸ ਕਾ ਕੀਆ ਸਭੁ ਕਛੁ ਹੋਈ ॥
सभ महि सचा एको सोई तिस का कीआ सभु कछु होई ॥
Sabẖ mėh sacẖā eko so▫ī ṯis kā kī▫ā sabẖ kacẖẖ ho▫ī.
The One True Lord abides in all; by His making, everything is made.

ਹੁਕਮੁ ਪਛਾਨੈ ਸੁ ਏਕੋ ਜਾਨੈ ਬੰਦਾ ਕਹੀਐ ਸੋਈ ॥੩॥
हुकमु पछानै सु एको जानै बंदा कहीऐ सोई ॥३॥
Hukam pacẖẖānai so eko jānai banḏā kahī▫ai so▫ī. ||3||
Whoever realizes the Hukam of His Command, knows the One Lord. He alone is said to be the Lord's slave. ||3||

ਅਲਹੁ ਅਲਖੁ ਨ ਜਾਈ ਲਖਿਆ ਗੁਰਿ ਗੁੜੁ ਦੀਨਾ ਮੀਠਾ ॥
अलहु अलखु न जाई लखिआ गुरि गुड़ु दीना मीठा ॥
Alhu alakẖ na jā▫ī lakẖi▫ā gur guṛ ḏīnā mīṯẖā.
The Lord Allah is Unseen; He cannot be seen. The Guru has blessed me with this sweet molasses.

ਕਹਿ ਕਬੀਰ ਮੇਰੀ ਸੰਕਾ ਨਾਸੀ ਸਰਬ ਨਿਰੰਜਨੁ ਡੀਠਾ ॥੪॥੩॥
कहि कबीर मेरी संका नासी सरब निरंजनु डीठा ॥४॥३॥
Kahi Kabīr merī sankā nāsī sarab niranjan dīṯẖā. ||4||3||
Says Kabeer, my anxiety and fear have been taken away; I see the Immaculate Lord pervading everywhere. ||4||3||
First of all, above one was a scolding to Jihadi thugs of his time by Kabir where he is telling True nature of Allah for the hatred displayed by them towards non-Muslims. Second, bolded parts would be considered blasphemy as per Quranic understanding of Allah.

THE SUFI AS A FANATIC

My studies in Sufism also brought back to my mind another encounter with another sufi at about the same time. He was an elderly man. He was quite learned in his own way, and could discuss various religious and philosophical doctrines with some knowledge. He could also manage some English in which language he also wrote an occasional pamphlet. The incident which I shall now relate took place when I met him for the first time, though I had heard a lot about him from a close friend.

I was staying by myself in the house of this friend when this sufi dropped in one day. I requested him to stay with me for a few days and give me the benefit of his company. He agreed and we had quite a few fruitful sessions during which we talked about mysticism and the rest, without touching the subject of Islam or Hinduism. I was impressed. His language was quite forceful, particularly when he made fun of atheists, materialists, and mere philosophers.

One day I was reading an Urdu translation of Sarmad’s Persian poems when the sufi came into my room and sat down by my side. I put away the book and had another long talk with him. Then I left the room because I had a few other things to do. When I returned after about half an hour, I found the sufi reading the same book by Sarmad. A few days earlier I had heard him talking about Sarmad with reverence and in a language of fulsome praise. So I sat down quietly in a corner and waited for him to read out and explain some significant lines from that book.

But I was taken aback when he suddenly threw the book against the opposite wall with some violence and shouted, “Harãmzãdã kãfir hî thã (The ******** was an infidel indeed)!” I picked up the book, brought it back to the sufi, and asked him to show me the lines that had enraged him so uncontrollably. He leafed through the book and finally put his finger on two lines almost towards the end. I cannot recall the exact words of the couplet but I remember very well the message that was conveyed. Sarmad had addressed himself as follows: “O Sarmad! What is it that goes on happening to you? You started as a follower of Moses. Next you put your faith in Muhammad. And now at last you have become a devotee of Rãm and Lachhman.”

I could see nothing wrong or improper in this couplet. Sarmad was only telling the story of his seeking which had led him from Moses to Muhammad to Rãma and LakshmaNa. I had not read the book as fast and as far as the sufi had done. Nor did I know the real reason for which Sarmad had been beheaded in Delhi by the order of Aurangzeb. All I had heard was that Sarmad used to roam about naked on the roads of this imperial city. I had supposed that he had been punished for his impudence in the midst of a polished society which placed immense importance on being properly dressed. It was years later that I learnt the real nature of Sarmad’s “crime”. It was apostasy which is punishable with death according to the law of Islam laid down by the Prophet himself during the days of his tussle with the polytheists of Mecca.

I have never lost my respect for this second sufi. He is a man of character endowed with a keen mind and a good knowledge of what passes for mysticism in Islam. But he becomes absolutely impregnable, indeed an insufferable fanatic, when it comes to the dogmas of prophetic Islam. His contempt for everything Hindu comes through clearly whenever he publishes a pamphlet. Hindus, he says, are worshippers of kankhajûrãs (scorpions), khaTmals (bugs), gãy kã gobar (cowdung), and Kãlî. How he has worked out this combination of four “filthy” things has always defied my imagination. But one thing becomes obvious whenever he opens him mouth, namely, that he derives immense satisfaction by portraying Hinduism in this picturesque manner. Sometimes I feel that the very vehemence of his language against Hinduism helps him keep the fire of his fanaticism burning. Whenever he is in this mood, it is impossible to have a word edgewise with him, or make him realize that he is being downright ridiculous.2

http://voiceofdharma.org/books/hindusoc/ch8.htm

A young Muslim sufi from Kashmir was telling us about the teachings of his guru (this was the word he used for his teacher) who had died some years earlier. Prããyãma was a prominent part of these teachings. This again was the term he used, though he did not know even the Hindi language, not to speak of Sanskrit.

The sufi was a very simple and unassuming person. He had had no schooling. And he made his living by the humble occupation of a tailor. But we were fascinated by what he told us about the techniques used by his guru for his spiritual training. His language was straightforward without the slightest touch of pedantry.

As the conversation drew to a close someone from among us started to play a record of padãvali kîrtan by one of the few famous female specialists from Bengal. The sufi was visibly moved by the pathos in Radha’s pining for Sri Krishna who had left Vrindavana for Mathura. Soon after the music stopped, he exclaimed, “Aisã gãnã hamnê êk hazãr baras bãd sunã (I have heard this sort of music after a thousand years).” His eyes were brimming with tears which he was trying to hide.

We were amazed. He was in his thirties. He could not have been in this world a thousand years ago. What did he mean by that statement? We requested him to explain. He said in a voice full of innocence:Pahle janam mêñ sunã hogã (I must have heard it in an earlier life).”

I became agog with curiosity. He was talking of transmigration. So I asked him, “Ãp kyã is zindgî sê pahlê janam kî bãt mãnatê hain (Do you believe in a birth before this present life)?”

The sufi seemed to be somewhat annoyed. He asked a counter-question in a tone which had a touch of temper: “Ãp mazhab kã sawãl kyoñ uThãtê hain (Why are you raising a theological controversy)?”

I was puzzled by his reply, as was everybody else. I had not the slightest intention to annoy him. He was our guest. I had asked the question out of sheer curiosity. So I came forward with a clarification, and said, “Sûfîjî, ãp musalmãn hain. Islãm êk hî janam mãnatã hai. Ãpnê pahle janam kî bãt kahî, isliyê sawãl uThãyã thã (You are a Muslim. Islam recognises only one life. You talk about an earlier life. That is why I had asked the question).”

He relaxed and explained: “Mazhab tõ wahî bãt kahtã hai. Lekin maiñ tõ rãz kî bãt kah rahã thã (It is true that theology says that. But I was talking of the esoteric way).”

We were surprised by this distinction. This was a new revelation to us - this separation of esoterism from theology. The sufi continued: “Rãz kî bãt ham sab kê sãmanê nahîñ kahtê. Yeh tõ maiñ ãp logoñ se kah rahã thã (We do not talk of the esoteric way before everybody. It is only to you people that I was talking about it).”

All of us asked simultaneously: “Kyoñ (Why)?”

The sufî said, “Woh log (those people)”… and without completing the sentence he put the edge of his outstretched palm on his throat and moved it across. He was trying to convey that “those people” would cut his throat.

We asked him about “those people”. Who were they? He did not name any. But he became gloomy. It was obvious that he did not like to continue the dialogue, which we dropped immediately.

I was sure in my mind that nobody was going to cut his throat these days even if he proclaimed publicly what he believed privately. Times had changed. Moreover, he was a citizen of India, not of an Islamic theocracy. Yet the alarm in his voice was unmistakable.

I knew how Mansur al-Hallaj had been tortured to death by an Islamic state prompted by Islamic theologians for saying that he himself was the Haqq (Truth). But that was all. I had not yet read any detailed history of Sufism, nor compared or contrasted the doctrines of Sufism with the dogmas of prophetic Islam. It was years later when I made such a study and came to know of the rishi tradition in Kashmir Sufism, that I was suddenly reminded of that talk with the young sufi that day. He was obviously referring to the tradition of terror which had silenced the sups of the rishi tradition, and forced them to keep in their breasts the best of their knowledge. The memory of that terror, it seemed, was still intact in the mind of this sufi.

http://voiceofdharma.org/books/hindusoc/ch8.htm

MOST SUFIS WERE HARD-HEARTED FANATICS

Many Hindus have been misled, mostly by their own soft-headed scholars, to cherish the fond belief that the Sufis were spiritual seekers, and that unlike the Mullahs, they loved Hindu religious lore and liked their Hindu neighbours. The Chishtiyya Sufis in particular have been chosen for such fulsome praise. The orthodox among the Muslims protest that the Sufis are being slandered. But the Hindus remain convinced that they themselves know better. Professor Aziz Ahmad is a renowned scholar of Islam in India. He clinches the matter in the following words: “In Indian sufism anti-Hindu polemics began with Muin al-din Chishti. Early Sufis in the Punjab and early Chishtis devoted themselves to the task of conversion on a large scale. Missionary activity slowed down under Nizam al-din Auliya, not because of any new concept of eclecticism, but because he held that the Hindus were generally excluded from grace and could not be easily converted to Islam unless they had the opportunity to be in the company of the Muslim saints for considerable time.”6

Of course, the Auliya who lived in a sprawling khãnqah and received rich gifts out of plunder was convinced that he himself was such a Muslim saint. His temper and teachings can be known easily from the writings of Amir Khusru, the poet, and Ziauddin Barani, the historian. Both of them were leading disciples of the Auliya. Both of them express a great hatred for Hindus, and regret that the Hanafi school of Islamic Law had come in the way of wiping out completely the “curse of infidelism” from the face Hindustan.

A similar Sufi saint who died a mere 79 years before Waliullah’s birth, was Ahmad Sirhindi (1564-1624). He was always foaming at the mouth against Akbar’s policy of peace with the Hindus. He proclaimed himself the Mujaddid-i-alf-i-sãnî, ‘renovator of the second millennium of Islam’. Besides writing several books, he addressed many letters to several powerful courtiers in the reign of Akbar and Jahangir. His Maktûbãt-i-Imãm Rabbãnî have been collected and published in three volumes. According to Professor S.A.A. Rizvi, “‘Shariat can be fostered through the sword’ was the slogan he raised for his contemporaries.”7

A few specimens should suffice to show the quality of this man’s mind. In letter No. 163 he wrote: “The honour of Islam lies in insulting kufr and kafirs. One who respects the kafirs dishonours the Muslims… The real purpose of levying jiziya on them is to humiliate them to such an extent that they may not be able to dress well and to live in grandeur. They should constantly remain terrified and trembling. It is intended to hold them under contempt and to uphold the honour and might of Islam.” In Letter No. 81 he said: “Cow-sacrifice in India is the noblest of Islamic practices. The kafirs may probably agree to pay jiziya but they shall never concede to cow-sacrifice.” After Guru Arjun Deva had been tortured and done to death by Jahangir, he wrote in letter No. 193 that “the execution of the accursed kafir of Gobindwal is an important achievement and is the cause of the great defeat of the Hindus.”8

Sirhindi ranks with Shah Waliullah as one of the topmost sufis and theologians of Islam. Referring to his role, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad has written in his Tazkirah that “but for these letters Muslim nobles would not have stood by Islam and but for the efforts of Shaikh Ahmad, Akbar’s heterodoxy would have superseded Islam in India.”9 Later on, when K.A. Nizami published a collection of Shah Walilullah’s letters addressed to various Muslim notables including Ahmad Shah Abdali, he dedicated it to Maulana Azad. The Maulana wrote back, “I am extremely happy that you have earned the merit of publishing these letters. I pray from the core of my heart that Allah may bless you with the felicity of publishing many books of a similar kind.”10 That should give us a measure not only of ‘Muslim Revivalism’ but also of many Maulanas who masqueraded as ardent nationalists in order to fight the battle for Islam from within the Indian National Congress.

APPENDIX

It is strange that most of the present-day Muslim scholars refuse to cite the actual statements made about Hindus and Hinduism by their heroes such as Ahmad Sirhindi and Shah Waliullah while praising them to the skies as saviours of Islam in India. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad and Allama Iqbal are shining examples of this intriguing silence. The late Professor Ishtiaq Husain Qureshi published two significant books on the history of Islam in India - Ulema in Politics (1972), and The Muslim Community of the Indo-Pakistan Subcontinent (1977). He has devoted many pages to Ahmad Sirhindi and Shah Waliullah in both the books. But he has not cited a single sentence written or spoken by the ‘great sufis’ on how they looked at Hindus and Hinduism. I have no doubt that Nizami has also suppressed those letters of Shah Waliullah in which the latter has poured out his heart about kufr and the kãfirs. It is only Professor S.A.A Rizvi who has taken us into the secret chambers so to say. Professor Rizvi is a Shia. And the venom which characters like Ahmad Sirhindi have poured on Hindus and Hinduism is quite comparable to that which they poured out on Shias and Shiism.

Professor Rizvi has cited select passages from the original Persian of Ahmad Sirhindi’s letters. It is only recently that the letters have become available in Urdu translation. Ahmad Sirhindi wrote to many Muslim notables in the reign of Akbar and Jahangir. Some of these letters were in strong protest against Akbar’s policies vis-a-vis Hindus. One of Sirhindi’s patrons was Abdul Rahim Khan-i-Khanan whom many Hindus cherish as a Hindi poet and a devotee of Sri Krishna. It is unfortunate that quite a few recipients of these letters cannot be identified straight away because they are addressed by their titles and not by their names. As the letters are not dated, it is difficult to say whether the bearer of a particular title belonged to the reign of Akbar or Jahangir. The same title was given to several persons in succession. I reproduce below some passages from these significant letters in order to show how the mind of this great sufi functioned. He was the leading light of the Naqshbandi sufi silsilã, and the foremost disciple of Khwaja Baqi Billah who brought this silsilã to India in the reign of Akbar. I may add that the Prophet appeared quite frequently to both Baqi Billah and Ahmad Sirhindi in their dreams or states of trance, and gave guidance to them. We reproduce below some of his statements.

1. It is said that the Shariat prospers under the shadow of the sword (al-Shara‘ tahat al-saif). And the glory of the holy Shariat depends on the kings of Islam…11

2. Islam and infidelity (kufr) contradict one another. To establish the one means eradicating the other, the coming together of these contradictories being impossible. Therefore, Allah has commanded his Prophet to wage war (jihãd) against the infidels, and be harsh with them. The glory is Islam consists in the humiliation and degradation of infidels and infidelity. He who honours the infidels, insults Islam. Honouring (the infidels) does not mean that they are accorded dignity, and made to sit in high places. It means allowing them to be in our company, to sit with them, and talk to them. They should be kept away like dogs. If there is some worldly purpose or work which depends upon them, and cannot be served without their help, they may be contacted while keeping in mind all the time that they are not worthy of respect. The best course according to Islam is that they should not be contacted even for worldly purposes. Allah has proclaimed in his Holy Word (Quran) that they are his and his Prophet’s enemies. And mixing with these enemies of Allah and his Prophet or showing affection for them, is one of the greatest crimes

…The abolition of jizyah in Hindustan is a result of friendship which (Hindus) have acquired with the rulers of this land… What right have the rulers to stop exacting jizyah? Allah himself has commanded imposition of jizyah for their (infidels’) humiliation and degradation. What is required is their disgrace, and the prestige and power of Muslims. The slaughter of non-Muslims means gain for Islam… To consult them (the kafirs) and then act according to their advice means honouring the enemies (of Islam), which is strictly forbidden…

The prayer (=goodwill) of these enemies of Islam is false and fruitless. It should never be called for because it can only add to their numbers. If the infidels pray, they will surely seek the intercession of their idols, which is taking things too far… A wise man has said that unless you become a maniac (dîwãnah) you cannot attain Islam. The state of this mania means going beyond considerations of profit and loss. Whatever one gains in the service of Islam should suffice…12

3. Ram and Kirshan whom Hindus worship are insignificant creatures, and have been begotten by their parents… Ram could not protect his wife whom Ravan took away by force. How can he (Ram) help others?… It is thousands of times shameful that some people should think of Ram and Kirshan as rulers of all the worlds… To think that Ram and Rahman are the same, is extremely foolish. The creator and the creature can never be one… The controller of the Cosmos was never called Ram and Kirshan before the latter were born. What has happened after their birth that they have come to be equated with Allah, and the worship of Ram and Kirshan is described as the worship of Allah? May Allah save us!

Our prophets who number one lakh and twenty-four thousand have encouraged the created ones to worship the Creator… The gods of the Hindus (on the other hand) have encouraged the people to worship them (the gods) instead… They are themselves misguided, and are leading others astray… See, how the (two) ways are different!13

4. Before that kãfir [Guru Arjun Deva] was executed this recluse [meaning himself] had seen in a dream that the reigning king had smashed the skull of idolatry. Indeed, he was a great idolater, and the leader of the idolaters, and the chief of unbelievers. May Allah blast him! The Holy Prophet who is the ruler of religion as well as the world, has cursed the idolaters as follows in some of his prayers – “O Allah, demean their society, create divisions in their ranks, destroy their homes, and get at them like the mighty one.”

It is required by religion [Islam] that jihãd should be waged against the unbelievers, and that they should be dealt with harshly… It is obligatory on Muslims to acquaint the king of Islam with the evil customs of false religions… Maybe the king has no knowledge of these evil customs… Some Ulama of Islam should come forward, and proclaim the evils present in their (unbelievers’) ways… It will be no excuse on the Day of Judgment that they did not proclaim the tenets of the Shariat because they were not called upon (to do so)…14

5. The Shariat prevails under the shadow of the sword (al Shara‘ tahat al-saif) - according to this (saying), the Shariat can triumph only with the help of mighty kings and their good administration. But for some time past this saying has been languishing, which means inevitably that Islam has become weak. The unbelievers (Hindus) of Hindustan are demolishing mosques, and erecting their own places of worship on the same sites. There was a mosque in the tank of Kurukhet (Kurukshetra) at Thanesar, as also the tomb of some (Muslim) saint. These have been demolished, and a huge gurudwãrã has been constructed on the same sites. Besides, the kafirs are holding many celebrations of kufr…

It is a thousand pities that the reigning king is a Mussalman, and we recluses find ourselves helpless. There was a time when Islam stood glorified due to the might and prestige of its kings, and the Ulama and the Sufis were honoured and held in high regard. It was with their help that the kings made the Shariat prevail. I have heard that one day Amir Taimur was passing through the bazar at Bukhara when, by chance, the inmates of Khwaja Naqshbandi’s khãnqah were beating the dust out of the mats used in that place. Because Islam was intact in Amir Taimur, he stopped at that spot and regarded the dust of the khãnqah as musk and sandal. He met a good end.15

6. Therefore, it is necessary that infidelity should be cursed in order to serve the faith (Islam). Cursing unbelief in the heart is the lesser way. The greater way is to curse it in the heart as well as with the body. In short, cursing means to nourish enmity towards enemies of the true faith, whether that enmity is harboured in the heart when there is fear of injury from them (infidels), or it is harboured in the heart as well as served with the body when there is no fear of injury from them.

In the opinion of this recluse, there is no greater way to obtain the blessings of Allah than to curse the enemies of the faith (be impatient with them). For Allah himself harbours enmity towards the infidels and infidelity…

Once I went to visit a sick man who was close to death. When I meditated on him, I saw that his heart was layered with darknesses. I intended to remove those darknesses. But he was not yet ready for it… When I meditated more deeply, I discovered that those darknesses had gathered due to his friendship with the infidels. They could not be dispersed easily. He had to suffer torments of hell before he could get purged of them…16

7. Every person cherishes some longing in his heart. The only longing which this recluse (meaning himself) cherishes is that the enemies of Allah and his Prophet should be roughed up. The accursed ones should be humiliated, and their false gods disgraced and defiled. I know that Allah likes and loves no other act more than this. That is why I have been encouraging you again and again to act in this way. Now that you have yourself arrived at that place, and have been appointed to defile and insult that dirty spot and its inhabitants, I feel grateful for this grace (from Allah). There are many who go to this place for pilgrimage. Allah in his kindness has not inflicted this punishment on us. After giving thanks to Allah, you should do your best to ruin that place and their false gods… whether the idols are carved or uncarved. Let us hope that you will not act slow. Physical weakness and severity of the cold weather, comes in my way. Otherwise, I would have presented myself, and helped you in doing the job. I would have liked to participate in the ceremony and mutilate the stones…17

http://voiceofdharma.org/books/muslimsep/ch6.htm

Carl ji,

There are two sides to the conundrum of Islam for Indics: what is its true nature, theologically, historically, socially, culturally, politically and militarily; and what strategy to use in dealing with it!

As far as understanding Islam's nature goes, at least the nature that is and was of relevance to Indics, I believe in Satyamev Jayate, and would want to see, figuratively speaking, the beast without the lipstick, naked of all pretensions, bereft of all jewelry. Who knows, I may still like the beast?!

I consider that Islam and Humanism are two completely antithetical ideological forces, and Muslims being both, i.e. adherents of Islam as well as humans, have a mixture of both, each Muslim endowed with a different mix. "Mystic Sufism" I see as an effort to build a bridge between the Humanism (and cultural traditions) and the Islam of the Muslims. It is an effort by the Humanism side of Muslims to buy peace with their Islam side. The mediation between the two becomes Sufism.

Islam in its pure form is Talibanism, that we saw in Afghanistan. Sufist tendencies dilute that pure form and make it bearable for the Muslim society.

The question of interest is how does Sufism in fact buy peace with Islam! It is by feeding non-Musllim souls to Islam. It uses its "humanistic narrative" as a fish net to catch the souls. At any given time, one would always find some non-Muslim souls caught up in the fish net.

So one may walk into a Sufi's showroom thinking that humanistic values are being pitched, and when one asks the salesman, who is the nice looking guy in the photo hanging on the wall, the salesman says that is the owner of the showroom - Islam! It is the Sufi's job to photoshop the true nature of Islam, so that the customers get enticed into wearing the "humanistic dresses" sold in the showroom under the brand Islam.

Recently, in the context of Pakeezahs, I believe you know of what I speak of, I was reading a paper on Bangladeshi brides who were sold in India through the medium of these nice neighborhood aunties in 70s and 80s. Now these were brides, but it could just as well have been being sold into prostitution. This is what Sufism is - the nice neighborhood aunties, who will play friendly and trustworthy and take your innocence and sell you to somebody, to whom you would have to prostitute your soul, and nice as these aunties are, they will also show protectiveness towards you, and ease the torment your soul may have to go through.

Sufism is just another herald of Islam, which goes out into the world and looks for new souls for its master to feed upon! Reminds one a little of Silver Surfer! No?! :wink:

So yes Sufism tries to save some of a Muslim's Humanism from avarice and hunger of Islam's Absolutism, but as far as those outside Islam are concerned, they are all potential fish.

For example,
In Egypt, Islam has decided that, it does not need the services of its herald, Sufism, any further and hence is terminating the compact. The Sufi fish nets are not catching any more non-Muslim souls in Egypt, so what is the need for Sufism. Hence it would stop being the moderating force between Humanism and Islam, and society would simply become more Talibanic.

When you speak of using Sufism to weaken Islam in the Muslim countries, IMHO you are falling prey to the well-known good cop - bad cop routine, if you think that just because the good cop every now and then stops the bad cop from indulging in some police brutality on the inmates of the cell, you would be able to use the good cop to knock off the bad cop! IMHO, it ain't happening!

Sufism was not intended to go to war with Islam, just to put off the day of its full manifestation.

You probably may not agree with my views on Islam, but then having two views about something is normal in the world. :)

Carl ji,

What brihaspati garu, here is saying, is that we stop the erosion in Indic ranks, that we stop Indic fish being caught up in Sufi fish nets, and for that it is necessary to be fully informed about the nature of Islam as it has manifested itself in the Indian Subcontinent till date. Considering that India is not ruled by some Islamic rulers, and that they cannot just barge in into India and force conversions at the tip of the sword anymore, local intimidation, Sufi fish nets and higher fertility rates remain the avenues of growth of Islam in India.

The second aspect is of course how to devise a strategy in dealing with Islam, within India, within the Indian Subcontinent and beyond!

I presume this is the area you wish to address, with your proposals.

If I understand you correctly, you are of the opinion that the Sufi fish nets do not deplete the ranks of the Indics, but that we should rather consider the Sufi outreach towards the Indics (which I refer to as fish nets, for the outreach has a purpose IMO) as bridges, and using those bridges we should influence, encourage and indeed strengthen Sufism to take on Islam internally within the Muslim societies (which I believe cannot take place, due to Sufism's contract with Islam in which Islam has written down the red lines Sufism may not cross).

I commend your efforts to look for strategies to increase the Indic footprint in Muslim domains. BRF pages are witness to my own thoughts on this, and my proposals and suggestions have also received their fair share of grilling and critique on BRF. That is how BRF works! :)

I am sure most BRFites wouldn't object to the prospect of increasing Indic footprint in Muslim domains. But BRFites will certainly examine any strategy on its soundness, on its feasibility, on its downsides. Calling others bigoted, narrow-minded, etc. would hardly win more approval for your suggestions!

brihaspati wrote:ramana ji,
I studied "Sufism" some 20 years ago, a time when I began to explore the reality of the cultural milieu in GV. I was forced to face up to Islamism in various forms because I was sent into areas where it predominated, and for some unknown reason I was apparently more acceptable for org tasks. My realization was that both westerners as well as non-Muslim Indians most of the time are actually looking at Islamism from what they understand [or wish to view as] of their own culture and philosophy. Thus it becomes a case of inappropriate modeling almost every time.

I was still trying to apply "Marxian" understanding at that stage - so thought of the line "the philosophers before have all tried to understand the world/the task is to change it" highly. But my stay with actual populations, quickly showed me the futility and falsity of that understanding. Most of the studies of "Sufism" from the west or "west-inspired" East, go gaga over "Sufism" to the point of almost mythifying it. It becomes a mirror of their own wishful mysticism. Underlying this mythification, is a failure to see that the movement actually conflates two social/theological/spiritual drives - one, a search for something beyond what five pillars offer, and this is the insignificant minority of genuine intellectual quest, two - an attempt at making the five pillars more absorbing and fulfilling as focus of life - which is the majority.

The Salafist hatred of Sufis can be watched in India , and we dont have to go to Egypt for it. Many areas of upper GV witnesses a three cornered struggle, between anti-Sufis, and opposing sufi sects. Problem with the Sufis is that their search for "something more" bases itself on the five pillars as the anchor which can never be abandoned. This leads to an intense inner struggle and inability to resist Sunni/Salafist demands - which are again based on the very same five pillars. Sufis will always be subject to this dichotomy and hence a doubtful ally in any fight against militant islamism.
Bernard Lewis also says that Sufis are part of the bigger Sunni movement and cannot and will not separate from it. They are no reform Muslims. He suggests that Sufis are non-Arabic mullahs. The Salafists object to the Sufis' worship of mazars or graves of saints as being idolatory and the use of music which is verboten in Quran.

To me Sufis are Sunni lite and once you get entrapped then the Salafists take over.

A whole bunch of useful idiots aka intellectuals in India are into sufi music and thinking how can it be bad as they project their own ideas on to sufis.

Guys who never listened to bhajans want to listen to Sufi wails to rabba on Ipods!

Very interesting and enlightening discussion on the whole.

@Rudradev, you say, in response to the idea to turn the sufi corridor into a two-way street for humanizing anx dharmicizoing the Arabo-Islamic belt, that we are not yet ready, due to not having rediscovered and regained comfort with, our identity.

Can you go into 1. what it means to be ready 2. What will it take to become ready 3. What are the risks if we venture on this communications venture without (acccording to you) being quite ready 4. are there ways of managing and mitigating those risks.

All, thanks for a stimulating discussion.

Rudradev ji, Rajesh ji, Ramana garu,

Thanks for succintly articulating your concerns and priorities without flying off the handle. Makes it much easier to develop the subject.
I hear what you're saying, its not that I disagree.

I think Rudradev ji's premise is integral to this thread, since there is the matter of managing India's civilizational recovery along with our exposure to and engagement with the rest of the world.

I hope to collect some thoughts and respond later when I have some time on my hands.
Last edited by Agnimitra on 22 Jun 2011 00:44, edited 2 times in total.

Bsir ji and other Gurus,
Koti Kti Parnam
I am just a lad in this field , Bajwa Sahib have much more Gyan than me and can explain better. To my little understanding Indics are perfectly happy if Allah of Quran exhibit the attributes of Attributeless as 'experienced" in our spiritual traditions. Suffies uses this loophole to entice Kaffirs singing similar glories of Supreme and claiming similar experiences.
AFAIU , the real tussle ( this is where they/Suffis fail) is to establish the Glory of Muhammad and not of Allah as we understand. Prophet Muhammad might have been a Good Guru but what we know of him from current sources,the case become very doubtful. This is why he keep getting rejected as part of high spiritual hierarchy . The spirituality cannot be held prisoner to Man, Book or Dogma and Indic are Spritual animals and not particularly of religious variety.
Hindus , Sikhs and other Kaffirs will continue to enjoy the "Rasa: of singing the glory of Godhood using all available name like Ram,Shyam, Waheguru,Allah, Parbrahm etc because the "rasa" comes from their inner essense , soul experiences. Last night i listned to Pandit ji singing "Allah Meharban" which ended with Allah Om, Allah Om thus affriming what i was thinking . This is Desi Allah and not Arabic Allah ever ready to flip the button of gas chamber or making Man Kabab in hell for the pleasures of few Momins. Muahmad and many of his actions remain Arabic and cant be made Indic ( this is why any one deliberately showeing Indicness on him is just indulging in sneaky suffie snakeness and naat a particlualry a friendly force)

RajeshA wrote:I consider that Islam and Humanism are two completely antithetical ideological forces, and Muslims being both, i.e. adherents of Islam as well as humans, have a mixture of both, each Muslim endowed with a different mix. "Mystic Sufism" I see as an effort to build a bridge between the Humanism (and cultural traditions) and the Islam of the Muslims. It is an effort by the Humanism side of Muslims to buy peace with their Islam side. The mediation between the two becomes Sufism.
Rajesh ji, here's an attempt to make two substantive points:

1. The conditions for symbiosis and conflict between the Islamofascist body politic and what you call "humanistic" Sufism.

2. The hybridization of original Arabo-Islamist cultural memes with more sophisticated cultures, and the consequences of this hybridization for the expansion or unraveling of Islamism.

Compared to what Indic civilization has been through, Islamic civilization is still a bachcha. But it has been around long enough for us to get some insights into its parts, some of which are integral to it, some of which are acquired, and some of which is a patchwork. With this history, and with our own experience as a civilization, we should be able to understand the nature of the Islamist animal.
RajeshA wrote:When you speak of using Sufism to weaken Islam in the Muslim countries, IMHO you are falling prey to the well-known good cop - bad cop routine
No, my argument was not this naive. I have been drawing a distinction between "malleable" and "established" groups within Sufism itself. But I will try to explore it further here.

I've been around and observed different types of Moslems, and different types of Sufis. I know, for example, the "Sufi" Naqshbandi tariqats HQ'ed in the mohallah of Chaharshanba in Istanbul. Its always been like a little Islamic Republic in the middle of Ataturkist Turkey! Turbaned men, women in hijab, holding out till the day Ataturkism falls. Turkish secularists carried out occasional assassinations of Sufi Sheikhs there. But Chaharshanba is in a pretty good mood these days with the new turn of events there. I've interacted with Gulen followers, who use Rumi as a poster boy and organize whirling dervish dances as PR in the West. But they themselves have a far different attitude.

So I'm aware of the "good cop bad cop" routine. I'm not a naive starry-eyed yuppie Indian Sufi who wants to hold hands with wolves in sheep's clothing and sing Kumbaya. I mentioned the old "missionaries followed by guns" tactic used by the Christian West in a previous post, too.
RajeshA wrote:Islam in its pure form is Talibanism, that we saw in Afghanistan. Sufist tendencies dilute that pure form and make it bearable for the Muslim society.
That's a useful way of putting it. If it were possible to create a condition where Islamism loses its Sufi heart-space, it will culturally implode on itself, and many will abandon the ship. This can be done by magnifying the cognitive dissonance between the Islamofascist objectives and training-routines versus the values of humanistic Sufism. Make the two move in opposite directions.

Historically, after Muhammad's passing, gradually this heart-aspect became a separate sect of Sufis, and they were initially almost an outcaste from Islamic society. It was Abu Hamed Ghazali who brokered a marriage of the two, making Sufism feed the demographic objectives of Islamism.

Islamism's First Marriage: Saints and Sociopaths

From the time of the prophetic career of Muhammad himself, there have been two seemingly contradictory social strands within Islam's body politic - one based on monopolizing and expanding a new political-religious dispensation, and the other based on the intrinsic human quest for discovery and devotion to God. Let's call the first one "Islamofascism", and the second "Sufism". Since the very beginning, these two had a tension between them.

During Ghazali's time, there were many theological and philosophical sects. Moreover, relations between the Sufi types and the Islamic mainstream society, ulema and governments were very bad. The ulema accused the Sufis of not being loyal to shari'ah. The Sufis despised the ulema as living on the surface of a shell ("qeshr"). Sufis then were irreverent towards shari'ah, towards any duties of expansion, etc. They were drop-outs from society.

Shari'ah is the ritual glue that holds Islamic society together. It is a training-routine. It consolidates and regulates, it is political and centrepetal. OTOH, tasawwuf is a personal journey, it is individual, subjective, contemplative, and naturally tends to go off at a tangent from all norms.

Most spiritual teachers taught that ritual systems merely serve the individual's journey. This is the dominant view in most spiritual traditions within different world religions. But Islam seems different. Most Islamic scholars seems to hold that the individual journey must start with obedience to shari'ah and end with realizing its absoluteness. This is the dominant view within Islam, including Islamic Sufism (though there are plenty of verses in the Qur'an which can challenge that).

All religious-cultural systems are beasts that want to subsume everything else into a nexus that feeds itw own stability and growth. Disseminate, convert, engage and retain humans. What Ghazali did was to circumscribe Sufism and cause it to serve the Shari'ah body in all aspects. Ghazali arrived at a powerful merger.

Its a more sophisticated game now, no doubt about that. However, that doesn't change the basic fact of the cognitive dissonance. Ghazali even touches upon this in his book Al-munqidh min ad-Dalaal, and tries to impress upon the reader that God opens the heart of the chosen one to obedience to shari'ah and sunna.

Yet, from time to time, the ulema establishment has still turned on Sufism and persecuted them, to "discipline them". Each time, someone came back and re-did what Ghazali did. E.g.
Sheikh Ahmad Sirhindi of the Indian subcontinent re-did what Ghazali did in Persia. Said Nursi's legacy is the fuel of the Gulen movement in Turkey today. Etc.

Nevertheless, conditions can occur where this marriage finally breaks apart. After all, there's a chapter in the Qur'an which says that after 3 failed attempts at reconciliation, talaq occurs! :wink:

The most significant threat from Indic civilization is what gave the likes of Sirhindi and Aurangzeb nightmares - the gravitational pull away from the absoluteness of shari'ah, of something that they can touch, feel and see.

I'm not a fan of Huntington, but one could say that Islam failed to completely kill Indian civilization. They left unfinished business behind; in fact, they actually helped effect a new form of an old civilization. Plus they are currently facing the West in renewed confrontation.

Indic civilization has already been through the process of seeing that tension between ritualistic and social rigidity and spirituality, undergoing spiritual movements that resolved the conflict, and even had our traditions forcibly broken, and so developed the capacity to accommodate different outlooks. Indic civilization has demonstrated that forms can wither away, but new forms can emerge that will still make the same God accessible.

Islam doesn't get this yet. Some of them get it philosophically, but they haven't been through it yet. Islam has been overrun by semi-nomadic peoples, and it has over-run more civilized peoples. But the opposite hasn't yet happened -- it hasn't yet been overwhelmed by more civilized peoples. The modern era beginning with the colonization by the West is still a work in progress, and so far their reactions have exposed their weak spots - civilizationally, and ultimately theologically.Today it is faced by Western philosophical, military and economic domination. It is paranoid that God is best represented by only a particular juristic form that must be preserved at all costs. This is India's point of entry into the game, because the West doesn't not have the ability to give something acceptable to Moslems in this respect, IMHO. We are culturally much closer and better able to interface.

To give a practical example of the consequences of Islamic belief paradigm versus India's: Guru Gobind Singh knew the Qur'an by heart, but he wasn't practicing Islamic form. Most Moslems cannot accept him as Moslem, even if they like Guru Nanak and other Gurus. Guru Nanak sacrificed deer (or goats?) at Kurukshetra and fed the assembled people meat as prasaad. The Brahmins of Kurukshetra threw a fit as expected -- but many Hindus will not doubt the Guru's elevated spiritual status. You can see the difference in understanding here. This is subtle, but crucial.

Psychology shows that deeper than the human need for possessions, deeper even than sex, deeper than social status, is the need for a sense of direction in space and time (what we call sthaana-prakalpana). Shari'ah is the box that holds all of these. Unfortunately or fortunately, real spirituality begins after these are irrelevant. What is vyavaharika and what is paramarthika? But Moslem scholars don't know if spiritual access can survive the overturning of tradition. This is the soft spot in the region of Islam's encounter with modernity.

In this globalized environment, where education across cultures is converging to a great extent, there is more scope for a renewed penetration of ideas. In fact, when some Moslem countries go the extra mile to brainwash and shield their people from other cultures, even that sooner or later becomes apparent to their people. Aam aadmi is not stupid.

When I speak of engaging with Sufism, it is because that is the locus of the cognitive dissonance at the heart of Islamism's nervous need for jeehard.

There is nothing Chankian about my thinking either - I consider it an open act of assistance to help them mature past the tribalistic model. To confront them at the heart of their religion and raise the question - without arguing unnecessarily. Their own minds will unravel. They can then ask questions about my religious beliefs, or they can check it out on the internet or other pervasive media these days!

Many middle-class Indians had historically converted to Islam because Islam at that time was internationalist, it gave them a wider perspective even in a material sense, wider opportunities. By encouraging Moslem students from Moslem countries to come to our universities, their artists to interact with ours, their businessmen to come to us, etc., we are creating an impact. Note that business classes are frequently the core of the Islamist movements today - Turkish business networks behind the Gulen group, the bazargan in Iran, etc.

Theologically, there are two types of psycho-spiritual profiles in Sufism:

1. One, where the adherents are motivated by awe and obedience to God and fear of being disobedient to scriptural injunctions. This group is the one that can be easily manipulated and used by the Islamist ulema, since they provide or influence the interpretation of scriptural injunctions via the norm of "taqlid". The fact is that in the very beginning, Shi'ism emphasized personal contemplation of meaning of verses, which they called "ijtihaad". However, modern Shi'ism has merely solidified into another taqlidi church, where ijtihaad is only possible by the Shi'a ulema!

2. Second, where the adherents are motivated by a deep desire to be in the proximity of the companions of God or his servants. This group are much less amenable to manipulation by "religious authorities" and communal regimentation.

Both these categories are discussed in Indic spiritual literatures. I hope the Tejo Mahalaya Naga Babajis here don't go ballistic if I quote Indic literature now. :mrgreen: I just want to put down the way I'm thinking about it, and make a point out the original resources India has at her disposal. So say the Goswamis of Vrindavan:

bhaktau pravRttir atra syAt tach-chikeerSha sunishchayA |
shAstrAl lobhAt tach-chikeerShu syAtAm tad-adhikAriNau ||

“According to devotional scriptures,an exclusive desire to engage in the practices of bhakti is the cause of engaging in bhakti. Bhakti of two different natures is born from fear of scriptural injunctions and from intense spiritual greed respectively; accordingly,there are two kinds of candidates for bhakti-sadhana .”

In Indic traditions, both these are accommodated, with a minimum of friction, hatred and persecution. Its not that its absent, or that historically we haven't had our crazy episodes of sectarian conflict, but we have grown from it. Now its time to give the "gift" to the mid-East. Its time they grew up!
Rudradev wrote:I agree with you that the Islamic world is in crisis today, and may even be ripening for influence by the agents of non-Islamic psycho-spiritual traditions. However, we Indics are nowhere near ready to exercise the necessary quantum of influence abroad.
History shows that when Europe was coming out of the dark ages:

1. They competed with the Islamic world for access to the real engines of wealth, such as India, while defending their borders and making claims to lost civilizational land in the Levant.

We, too, have legitimate claims to land in TSP, etc. We will also be increasingly competing for influence in Islamic Africa, SE Asia, etc. We have to find room for positive engagement with one part of the Islamic world while we are simultaneously in a position of conflict in another part of the Islamic world (TSP). This is a geopolitical imperative, IMHO. We have no time for every Indian to become a twice-born Brajbasi.

2. They imbibed education and culture from Islamic sources, leading to their own renaissance.

We have alrady received whatever is needed. We only need to re-organize, which is already happening.

There is good evidence that we also broke out of some cultural degradation due to exposure to the Islamic and Western threat over centuries. Those old cultural forms actually prevented what you want -- the widespread access to and ownership of Indic heritage by mango Indians.

Also, we have seen and developed the ability to hybridize and propogate our culture. This is important for our flexibility and agility as we move into a cultural encounter, without losing balance. There was definitely a cultural rennaissance in N. India that saw this happen. Same thing is again happenning after our contact with the West, and this time we're arguably ahead of the curve compared to the rest of the Islamic world. Note to others: Acknowledging positive outcomes from our historical engagement with Islam doesn't mean I came out of Romila Thapar's musharraf. Its just a fact used in assessing strengths and vulnerabilities.

3. Another section of European propoganda openly criticized and attacked some of the core despicable tendencies of Islamism, even demonizing them.

Dandavat pranaams to the TMahalaya folks here for their great work in this regard. No really, I'm serious! The only problem I have with Brihaspati ji is that he attacked me as a p-sec and whatnot before even hearing me out - just because he disagreed with the opinion that there is space for positive non-fascist interpretations of the Qur'an, which is how many Sufi groups happen to see it.

4. Later, as their power grew, they started injecting new ideas and manipulated Islamic sects. (In Iran, the growth of Bahai'ism is considered a British plot).

This is the subject of this thread. You are right that India is not ready to do much of this right now. But IMHO, I have argued that we can engage with Islamic sectarianism in a different manner from Western mischief, at a totally different level - a level that ultimately helps everyone, rather than just creating mischief.

All these happened not one after another, but somewhat in parallel as far as European containment of Islamism was concerned.

Also, at a popular level:

1. I agree that by and large, most Indians today are ignorant of their heritage, or lack the motivation to benefit from it themselves, much less propogate it. However, there is a significant section people emerging, as people move up Maslow's pyramid.

2. Such people are bound to look around, Indians tend to be naturally open-minded, and some Bangalore yuppies may listen to Sufi pop instead of Thyagaraja. I don't even think its necessarily a bad thing, but its upto us to also create popular culture. Ramana-garu, that I've seen many, many practicing Sufi Moslems get into kirtan groups, also doing hatha-yoga. Some Sufi-inclined women marry Indian men. I think this intersecting social space is a more important focal area for us than for them, because of our strengths that need to be mined and used.

Rudradev ji, the lack of Indic organization could actually be a strength in this space. Guru-shishya parampara is actually an ideal method. We already see some Xian and Moslem groups prohibit their followers from doing yoga, because of their fears! But they're not so effective in preventing most followers. It would be much more difficult if everything was openly affiliated with Hindu cultural nationalist groups, especially given that some of them openly air views such as Brihaspati ji, etc.

3. Fourthly, we need to recognize and appreciate the potential for good in Islam, and not blindly demonize them. Even the greatest spiritual leaders India produced over the last few centuries acknowledged the good, even when there was no political compulsion to do so. This is important because it leaves the door open. A caged tiger is a more dangerous foe. As I said, we need to create space for positive engagement with Moslems in one part of the world while we simultaneously engage in conflict with Moslems in another part of the world. In order to do this without feeling that we are forced to, I say let's do it candidly, going to the heart of the matter, at the level of people-to-people contacts, and sponsor art, philosophy and music symposia!

Islamism's Second Marriage: Tribalism and Urban Civilization

Islamism is a primal, political, colonizing force that has brough it thus far. It has proved incredibly viable, adapting and surviving in different environments, among different older civilizations.

1. Although it emerged from a primitive society and immediately encountered sophisticated civilizations, it wrested control, adapted, hybridized and thrived.

2. Although it was, in turn, overrun by other semi-civilized hordes, it survived genocides and near extirpation, only to bounce back with greater puissance.

3. Although periodically riven by factionalism within, it has united in the face of a non-Islamic foe, due to a type of brotherhood inculcated by its shari'ah and communicated to all converts to the faith.

Point (3) is due to the work of people like Ghazali and Rabbani, as indicated above.

Points (1) and (2) are due to the memetic combination achieved between the tribalistic primitives of Arabic culture, and the sophistication of mainly Persian culture, augmented by Westernization today.

The dynamics of Islamism derive from the tribalistic memetic primitives of the Arab culture and mindset. These memes were/are shared by other semi-nomadic cultures such as the Mongols, Turkic peoples, several African peoples, and Afghans.

No wonder Islam was a neat fit for their minds. Because Arabo-Islam was combined with Persian civilization, it became a potent civilizing force, bringing vast human populations into the light.

Consider the following. When the Russians first annexed the steppe, they had lots of trouble with Kazakhs and other Turkic trbes there. These tribes were not Moslem at the time. Finally, after failed attempts to subdue them by various inducements and their religion, they made a decision. They imported Persian preachers to convert the Kazakhs to Islam. That did the trick. They became a lot easier to govern. Similarly, it was Persian Moslems who propogated Islam to Mongols and Turks, not Arabs. Same with India, which then developed an Indo-Islamic culture.

The point is that Islam has survived and thrived by latching onto larger more sophisticated cultures. By doing this, it made itself useful as a civilizing medium to some human groups, at the expense of other more civilized groups. However, a saturation point for that mode of development has arguably been reached at this point in history, IMHO. Islamism has to evolve and move up the value-chain in order to remain competitive. If it doesn't then it will stop and move backwards, regress and unravel - like Talibanism in Afghanistan. Large sections of their own population will not find it useful anymore.

Today, Turkey is trying to emerge as an Islamic Sunnni leader. They certainly are leaders in all the CA stans, apart from Hizb-ut-Tahrir. They are also emerging as Islam's channel to the West. This is again because, apart from their Persianization, they are now Westernized. The West is the new "host" for them. So they're still benefitting. Will the new Turkish Islamism move up the value chain? I dunno. Personally interacting with Turks, I find that although they have an external patina of Persian and Western culture, they're still very tribal underneath. There's a clear difference between the mango Turk's mentality and the mango Pesian's mentality.

In order to prevent the reinvigoration of Islamism, it has to be separated from its cultural feeding grounds.

1. This can be done by widening the gap between the those who root for greater implementation of Arabo-Islamic primitives of shari'ah, and the culture-seeking educated masses in Moslem countries. As calls for "more shari'ah" increase, we should be prepared to provide an alternative space for those who would prefer it.

Then the decision becomes stark. Talaq is round the corner, or they have to evolve their ideas and dilute Ghazali and Rabbani. Also ,by allowing many Moslems the ability to move up civilizationally through interaction with us, it decreases the deeper drive for conquest.

2. This can be done by engaging more deeply with Persia, at least culturally, in order to draw them into our cultural space -- just like they did to us during the prime of Perso-Islamic civilization. That means not just Iran, but also the Kurdish cause. Note that Kurds are are interesting composite. Some are Sunni, some Shi'a, and some are in non-Moslem offshoots like Ahl-e-Haq and Yazidi. Some are even Zoroastrians!

Persian culture, often not acknowledged by Arabs and Turks, is the historical pride of Moslems. That has to be given prominence. I am confused why the US is cooperating in isolating and defacing Iran's footprint on Islamic history, moving the locus of Shi'ism from Qom to Najaf, etc.

The point of this post was to highlight that it is the internal tensions within Islamism that we are targetting. Just by tinkering with the balance of these forces, a lot can be achieved.

Options for Islamism:
1. Evolve, or
2. Implode

Sorry for the longwinded post. Just some thoughts.

I have searched for where I have labeled "Carl" ji as "p-sec", and could not find it. Maybe I missed where I have written it.

What I have written about was noting the obsession in repeatedly referring to "Tejo-Mahalaya" in a sarcastic manner, which is onlee done by Congress-Centre-Left eminent "historiography" school. Who or what was being targeted here gratuitously? My crime seems to have been challenging claims of

(1) Islam has a "philosophy" in the sense Indic understands "philosophy" as
(2) That Islamic philosophy ==Indic philosophy
(3) Islam is anti-sectarian
(4) Sufism represents an essential departure from the core of Islamism which is essentially about military coercive, genocidic, culture erasing, biological greed given a rashtryia form.
(5) Muhammad's "ministry" was not secret in the first years at Mecca
(6) Any violence in that first "sectarian" conflict was onlee from the non-Muslim side or provoked by them
(7) Pointing out the standard patttern of "Sufism" as just a very old tactic within Islamism - shown by Muhammad himself. Pretend to "show" commonality of beliefs/elements with the non-Muslim when the Muslim is militarily weaker, and then throw away that commonality and go for coercion when sufficiently strong. I illustrated this from the core texts of Islam, and subsequently went on exposing this exact sequence followed in Indian 'Sufism" - with the transition from Chistyia/Suhrawardyia [with the interesting peaceful story of Muinaldin of Ajmer fame] to the Naqsbandi Sirhindis.

I have attacked the arguments given [or absence of arguments] where they have been in common with official Islamo-phile historiography/politics in India. The labels game is something I cannot hope to match as shown here:
The fact is that you allow a small group of paranoid, touchy and outrageously communal folks to unjustly narrow the scope of discussion, which is actually counter-productive in the following ways:

3. It is hypocritical and based on a b!tching, moaning inability to come to terms with a significant part of India's history and heritage that goes beyond dhoti-and-tilak. Do some of these guys also think that the Taj Mahal was Tejo Mahalaya? :eek: The same aggressively communal folk will also be paranoid about importing Pakistani brides because they don't believe Indian men can cast any influence on the offspring! Apparently the only scenario of engagement and influence that cuts through the density of their small-hearted hatred is a post nuclear armageddon where Indians supposedly swarm and take over the mid-East!! You consider this a healthy and useful influence on "strategic" discussions??

4. It is not dharmic in any sense that I can see, though it most vocally pretends to protect dharma. Madhvacharya said that the word "raakshasa" is a derivative of "rakshati" (preserves, protects), applicable to a conservative, closed-minded person whose obsession is with preserving an outward form at the expense of an evolving, expanding and all-embracing essence. Ravana was supposed to be a great enthisiast of Vedic artifacts and technologies in Lanka. :lol: I am astonished that even a mention of "similarity" between Sufism and Vedic definitions is intolerable to them! They cannot see the positive upshot of any historical "manthana" in their self-professed posturing on "daiva-asura sangraama"!
As for concrete questions I raised about Sufis/Sufism - early Islamism and its sectarianism, I still have had no concrete answer. I am repeating them here:

There are some strange claims being made without concrete data:
(1) Sufism is "growing" - [quantitative estimates, where, how, who - the devil lies in the details.]
(2) Sufism is "open-ended" - [about what exactly? Islam? what has been its record in going against the Prophet's Sunna which is sourced from the Hadiths, as well as the Quran which always of course needs the Sira and the Hadiths to make sense of it. I raised a pointed question - for example about the injunctions on the practice of slavery. Did the Sufis, then and now, move against Islamics enslaving non-Muslims?]
(3) Sufism can be "used" [to do what, on whom, and for whose benefit?] India will use Sufism to do what - dilute the non-Sufi component where? within India? outside India? does bringing in more of the Sufi outside India change the basic imperialist and proselytizing attitudes of the Islamic establishment?

(1) Do Sufis want to Islamize the non-Muslim or not?
(2) Do they find any revelation of the Quran and the Sunnah of the prophet in the Hadiths "unacceptable" or "to be rejected"?
(3) If the answer to (2) is "yes", are they prepared to declare such items as "anti-Islamic"?

The theological argument that is being bypassed here, and is at the core of the Sufi-non-Sufi debate, lies exactly in the immunity of Muhammad and his Sunna as central pillar.

Because most non-Islamic people are kept away from the details of Islamic practice, its history, its political maneuvers, and the consistent trend of worming through towards state power and elimination of the non-Muslim - the emergence of "Sufism" as a tactical line, that uses non-Muhammadian elements in wholly or partially conquered cultures, as a tool of political deception - is not noted or dismissed.

Because most of us are not aware of the details of Islamic history, and a simultaneous exposure to the Islamic texts, we fail to see the pattern that matches - the texts do get reflected in long term strategic action by the mullahcracy and any expansion of any Islamic institutional framework, Sufi hijab or not. Only if the history in details is checked out against practice as expounded in the literature, can the deception be realized and exposed.

Engaging the Sufi can only be started after there is a core of the Indic formed that has a rashtryia character, which means Indic does not remain only a collection of "open-source" philosophy, but also a "state", that can mobilize men and material towards expanding that philosophy. It requires a prior consolidation that has more or less come to terms with its own identity, confident that most of its identity is something that is worth holding on to and preserving even at the cost of life, and has a clear sense of distinction from other ideologies and identities it faces - including any or all shades of Islamism or EJ-ism.

If we start out with seeing "overlaps" and "equalities" the need to transform and propagate the Indic will become unimportant. Compromises on the identity will appear to be the easiest way out for many for whom their own identity is ill-defined and nebulous.

We cannot piously hope that the world outside will transform according to our needs and wishes, and that we can bring about such transformations - when we are not that sure about what we already have, and we are under the illusion that "that outside" has elements we appreciate highly.

If the "Sufis" do not come to the Indic, feeling that Indic is superior to what they have within Islam, we have failed in our mission. We will not help the emergence of that feeling by agreeing to the demand that they already have elements that are == with the Indic, and that they can continue to keep the Muhammadan elements in their system and still be acceptable in the Indic fold. Transformation of the Islamic is crucially dependent on removing Muhammad and his Sunna from the Islamic. That is the only lock that ties up Islam with 7th century Arabia and its reproduction - for all else can be amenable to exploration and transformation. The historical link however keeps the mullahcracy alive and Islam as a transnational rashtra.

B-ji,

While I agree with everything you say in the context of the prevailing scenario in India, Carl's views may be of interest as applied to Islam in the ME and specifically Iran.

I am highlighting a section of Carl's post that I found particularly insightful:
Carl wrote:In order to prevent the reinvigoration of Islamism, it has to be separated from its cultural feeding grounds.

1. This can be done by widening the gap between the those who root for greater implementation of Arabo-Islamic primitives of shari'ah, and the culture-seeking educated masses in Moslem countries. As calls for "more shari'ah" increase, we should be prepared to provide an alternative space for those who would prefer it.
I think what Carl is saying is that if Iranians can be made to have greater affinity for their historical Persian roots and culture that predate Islam, that would ultimately lead to the downfall of Islamism in the region. And the way to do that would be to leverage the opening provided by Sufism.

Sufism is as much a baggage (actually much much more) as much as it is an entry point. Why go through this partisan "broker"?

If anyone is following events in Iran, I believe the opening will be from revulsion to Islamism (and no, it will not be tomorrow) where overt identification with Sufism could be a burden. When in doubt go back to the root, talk directly about the parsi culture in India.

Sufism had started as a Sunni "back to roots" movement, against the overt display of wealth of then caliphs. As the roots of this movement are different for a Iranian Shia background, why wear this chain around the neck? (Dont confuse Iranian persian literature with Sufi literature. They are circles having some intersection, but divergence as well. ).

Brihaspati ji,

Earlier, I had stopped reading your posts because of your blanket dismissals of a host of personalities and philosophical ideas, which required me to get into philosophical details and facts that would have taken me away from the main point I wanted to explore. In addition, you insisted on muzzling my own mode of expression on this board by insisting that I am promoting some "==" agenda. I hope my previous post has convinced you that I don't see any "==" in the big picture at all.

Rather, I see points of congruence that we can use to engage and capitalize. The positions of the features of Islam need to be rearranged w.r.t. one another -- unka huliya badalna hoga. Some other features will automatically become vestigial once their significance is lost - just like we have seen in the repeated evolutions of our own traditions. In that endeavor, its not a problem to identify each part of Islamism and assign it a new significance, which it already potentially possesses. The fact that we have many such elements of doctrine in our systems, but interpret it so differently is a fact that we can show them directly.

Let's move the argument forward here on. I will attempt to address some basic questions briefly.
brihaspati wrote:The theological argument that is being bypassed here, and is at the core of the Sufi-non-Sufi debate, lies exactly in the immunity of Muhammad and his Sunna as central pillar.

Here's a subtle point -- there is a provision even in fiqh that says that....even if a statement has not been uttered by Muhammad directly, but if it is not antithetical to Islam, it can be attributed to Muhammad (who can appear in dreams) and be accepted on par with hadith and sunna! A historical example of this is a Sufi anecdote that Muhammad was once asked by someone, "Should I be like this or that, etc." To which Muhammad is supposed to have closed his eyes and asked Allah, and then replied, "You be you." The consensus is that this is not an actual hadith at all. Yet, it can be accepted as hadith because it is not antithetical and is actually at the core of the Qur'an. It is often quoted by Sufis. Now, what remains is to show that something is "not antithetical" to Islam. As explained, that is a matter causing a meltdown of Islamofascist pride and ambitions, and secondly by bringing the humanistic aspect to the fore.

Another example, it is also acknowledged that while all Prophets are "sinless", it doesn't mean they don't make mistakes in a material sense. The divisions in understanding are already there within Islam itself, with the concept of "ma'asumeen" (innocance) in Shi'ism being refuted by Sunnis and justified by Shi'as to apply to awliya (saints) too. You see? There are plenty of cracks for us to enter through. In like a needle and out like a plough!

There are many such subtle points directly in Islam, many such handles that can be used, but which have to be known and understood. These points are usually not advertized by ulema because it could undermine their authority and make Islamism a soft target, but on gaining their trust they will share it with you.
brihaspati wrote:(1) Do Sufis want to Islamize the non-Muslim or not?
Anyone would like to convert you their sect, its a human game. The point is to change the very definition of "Islam" itself, to defang it, to separate it from its tribalistic mode and the Persian culture is rides on, and to allow its imperialistic past to become vestigial.
brihaspati wrote:(2) Do they find any revelation of the Quran and the Sunnah of the prophet in the Hadiths "unacceptable" or "to be rejected"?
(3) If the answer to (2) is "yes", are they prepared to declare such items as "anti-Islamic"?
There are several points considered pillars of Sunnah which Sufis at various times have challenged. Let's just take the most famous of the dogmas, the claim that "Muhammad is the Last Prophet" (khatm-un-nabovvat). The most famous Sufi, Molana Jalaleddin Rumi, challenged even this idea!! He rejected it, and explained it away for all practical purposes. He also called his own Masnavi "Qur'an dar zabaan e Pahlavi" - The Qur'an in Pahlavi (Middle Persian). Most Moslems would find that heretical.

Ibn Arabi, that doyen of Sufism, the one who first theoretically justified the existence of tasawwuf for mainstream Moslems, also rejected the idea of "Last Prophet", or that revelation could not come to others after Muhammad. He does so in the Futuhat. However, he says that technically there will not be need of any new book of Law in future, therefore such revelations will be of the status of Wali. These are all technical arguments about hierarchy. To take a parallel, in Indic tradition, Madhvacharya also talks of a hierarchy (taratamya) where terms like Rishi, Muni, Drashtaa, etc have specific missions and purposes.

People like Rumi and Attar even say that the use of deity forms ("idols") by some cultures is not necessarily wrong. Both forms, objectless worship and deity worship can lead to the next stage.

This is just a glimpse of what has emerged from Sufism - at a time when Islamic ulema's power was at its highest and fast expanding. Today that's not the case anymore - its under pressure. It is embarrassing itself with its Talibanism, it is being humiliated by others like the West. Today there are large sections of Moslem populations (in countries like Iran, for example) who think that Islamic shari'ah is outdated. Don't you see the potential for further change? Its time for the horse to bolt out of the stable.
If the "Sufis" do not come to the Indic, feeling that Indic is superior to what they have within Islam, we have failed in our mission. We will not help the emergence of that feeling by agreeing to the demand that they already have elements that are == with the Indic, and that they can continue to keep the Muhammadan elements in their system and still be acceptable in the Indic fold.
1. Firstly, no one said its going to be a pappi-jhappi affair for India to walk in on the scene and start playing Jagadguru to a thankful and admiring Moslem audience. Its going to be a war of ideas. We have to prepare for a fight and strategize for it with, both, head and heart. If God sends an acharya in this crucial time and milieu, then all glories to that. But even without that, we have to engage, aggressively but fairly and in an enlightened manner.

2. Secondly, as mentioned earlier in this post and my previous post, its mainly a question of re-arranging the relative positions and priorities of elements within Islam, removing obsessions with certain elements and letting them settle to the bottom, while re-arranging other elements around a new center and allowing them to exist in that new configuration. Blanket condemnation of all Islamic elements is of no use, and even nonsensical. Philosophically, you surely understand that any theological element gains its significance and effect depending on its relative position in a particular philosophical matrix. Mahayana Buddhism also has deity worship, but they see it simply as a tool. A Gaudiya Vaishnava sees it as absolute after prana-pratishtha. These are psycho-spiritual subjects, but you can see the point.

Most humans instinctively understand these things, and will admit to this understanding if they are provided a social milieu in which they feel culturally comfortable and have ownership of the new idea, along with various cultural and material opportunities.
ravi_ku wrote:Sufism is as much a baggage (actually much much more) as much as it is an entry point. Why go through this partisan "broker"?
No one is talking about a broker. I was referring to a "cultural space" within the Islamic world known as Sufism. We can and should speak for ourselves in that space.

Revulsion to Islamism in Iran does not mean Indian Parsi culture can fill the void. Lots of young Iranis today wear the Fravahar around their necks, but that's just a political and ethnic symbol. Even if Zoroastrian culture were to fill a void, it cannot do so without help from Indic mainstream. Indian Parsis are heavily Indicized anyway, with an Anglicized topping. In Iran, from a spiritual point of view, I find that underground Bahai'ism is more effective that Zoroastrianism, even though Bahais are heavily persecuted. Bahai'ism is a Sufistic outgrowth.

Carl ji,
I protested the equation or identification of elements of Islamic sayings with elements of the Indic, as (1) a possible linguistic similitude (2) as potentially dangerous modeling of the "other" by one's own model of self. I also protested what I felt were factual inaccuracies or falsities about aspects of early Islam, as well as its continued politically deceptive long term strategic behaviour institutionally.

I am not convinced about any philosophical "contribution" from the Islamic side, over and above that the Indic already had. The philosophy bit is snot there at all in the Quran, which is primarily about life-style and practice, and devotes an extraordinary amount of space towards dealing with "enemies" at a practical level. The Hadiths - that of Shahi Bukhari, or Muslim, or Abu Dawood offer rarely if any - "philosophical" utterings, but are much connected to incidental narratives providing clues for future behaviour. The Sira's do not provide any philosophical material or world view that is not concerned about war/battle/slavery/looting and the practical side of organization.

There are two aspects of the "subtle" fiqh that you mention. First, there has not been any real challenge against Muhammad within all of the Sufi tradition, especially where it concerns the tactical approach to the non-Muslim. For example, the thing about tolerance of "idols" in other cultures - is actually firmly within Muhammadian tradition, and I have already quoted the "satanic verses" issue. What it merely shows, is that Islam will talk about "idols are okay" as a tactical approach where it does not feel itself strong enough to coercively impose its own theology.

If you had really gone through the history of early Islam, you would find many such treaties/"liberal/tolerant" utterings which is used to coopt the cooperation or neutrality of this or that faction of the non-Muslim against another instantaneous non-Muslim target [in some case even Muslim factional targets]. Once that target is eliminated, Islam simply waits until it can repeat the tactic against the erstwhile ally. The twists and turns of policy or tactics applied against the Meccan "polytheists" is an uncanny parallel of what happened from the two-phase Sufi strategy in India.

Second, are the Sufis really against the "ulema" and for "what purpose"? So far Sufis have never won against the "ulema", and I will take up the case of non-Indian regions in subsequent posts, to show what the reality of this supposed Sufi-ulema struggle is. I will avoid discussing the Indian situation currently, since it will reveal too much about the means by which I keep track of it. On the ground, I am known as "sympathetic".

The "purpose" bit is even more uncomfortable. What do the "Sufis" want for their "Islam"? The question of power over the "ummah" has also been a central piece of Islamist polemics for centuries. A long time ago, I had proposed a model of Islam evolving as a wider imperialist movement that seeks to control large tracts of the world to monopolize the collective resources. Within this empire, different ex-principalities try to manage two contradictory forces.

On the one hand the subregional elite realizes the benefits of an empire that stretches beyond their ancestral limits and the corresponding resources it can bring. On the other hand, they also want to monopolize this collective resource for their own sub-regional consumption or power. Thus they need to promote pan-Islamism/ummah to mobilize the imperialist drive, while they need to capture the leadership or control over that ummah and keep it within the subregional grasp.

So there are limits to which they can go out of the "commonality" bit in the "ummah", and if you really think about it, it is only "Muhammad" and "Muhammadanism" that is the only purely transnational component of Islam - since it is based on a claimed supra-human authority as manifested in a single individual [somewhat like the necessity of a dicator/emperor as the national focus of an otherwise diverse and competing polity]. Sufi or non-Sufi, they lose out on the sought for dominance over the Ummah, if they weaken the position of "Muhammad" in their version of the doctrine.

This is concretely reflected in the history of all sects of Islam - including that of the various groups who call themselves Sufis, or the Shias. The Shias' main dispute is actually over the claim over the legacy of Muhammad, not really about the legitimacy of "Muhammad" or his "sunnah". The Iranian Shia support Mutah marriage for example while the Arab Sunnis are against it. But both claim support for their respective positions from supposed statements from Muhammad, and both have no opposition or denial to Muhammad and his revelations about enslavement/use of captive women for sexual purposes.

In the end, Sufis are trying to spin Islam into a form that makes it apparently more acceptable for coexistence in modern societies, while not really giving up the core aspects of the theology that are the source of anxiety in the non-Muslim. I am in fact yet to see concrete denials of the procedures recommended against non-Muslims in the Quranic and hadithic literature, from the sufi side and any open acknowledgment that such procedures coming from Muhammad's own mouth or Gibrail's conveyance - to be rejected as anti-Islamic. This fundamental weakness allowed both Dara as well as Sirhindi to arise, and also shows the balance of forces within the movement - that led to Dara's decapitation, and Sirhindi's triumph.

For me, and many like me who started out with "urban/upper-class" fantasies created by Indian educational system and media propaganda, about models of Islam that really have nothing to do with the reality, but more a false projection of Indic liberal/philosophical concepts onto Islam - both Sufis and Ulema [well they do overlap to a significant extent, I am sure you know this in the context of UP, and parts of J&K and MP] are ultimately working on tactical approaches to extend the longevity of Islam. It is an internal power struggle within an imperialist ideology, that however shows little sign of having given up on the core objectives of that imperialism.

I would encourage them to fight with each other as much as possible, but I would enhance that fight in such a way that they mutually destroy each other. Both are equal enemies for me, and I would not do anything that uses our resources to bolster one faction to the point that it triumphs over the other. Whichever faction wins will continue the task of Islamization. In this sense, it is easier to fight and destroy the ulema because they provide a much more obvious target for focusing outrage from the non-Muslim. Sufi pretensions confuse and disorient this focus and makes the task of ultimate elimination of this ideology much much more difficult.

Arjun ji,
the case about Iran should be illustrative. It is not just about "Sufi" trends against the "Ulema". The Islamic world, I have written before - long before the Arab spring - need not remain unchanged for ever into the future. A lot of us then calculated on such a never-changing view. My objection to that was based on Iran, and I did not have the wider Arab world in mind then.

But my change-expectation was based on a modernizing trend that went against the ulema in general and not because of Sufism. In fact for the section I had in mind, they think of the Sufis as equally an obstacle to what they want to achieve.

The Islamic world is under pressure no doubt, and where there is some hope for change - it should be encouraged to change the fundamental legitimacy of the theology in its totality, and not get stuck with this or that claim of a different "version". If you leave any of the septic core, it will come back in opportune moments.

brihaspati wrote:But my change-expectation was based on a modernizing trend that went against the ulema in general and not because of Sufism. In fact for the section I had in mind, they think of the Sufis as equally an obstacle to what they want to achieve.
Brihaspati ji, could you expand further on what section you had in mind?

Sufism especially in the Iranian context was often a rebellious space. When Islamic power reigned supreme, this was always curbed and dovetailed, as a means to keep the masses within the fold and even convert many. However, with the beginning of the decline of Islamic power and Western colonialism, things did show signs of changing. For example, Bahai'ism is an outgrowth of Sufism. Do you consider that acceptable?

Bahai'ism is attracting underground followers in Iran because:
1. It provides the comfort of cultural continuity with their Islamic heritage
2. It is an indigenous production
3. It is a breath of fresh air, releasing them from the stifling condemnation of all other traditions and imposing an end to prophecy
4. Most importantly, it creates for them a viaduct out of the Islamic world's love-hate relationship with Western modernity. It provides a passage to Westernization and modernization. Even materially, a large number of Iranians migrating to the West do so via Baha'i networks. They risk their lives in Iran by affiliating with this sect. But eventually some of them make it out.
brihaspati wrote:I would encourage them to fight with each other as much as possible, but I would enhance that fight in such a way that they mutually destroy each other.
This was the thrust of my argument. The point is to upset the balance in this internal tension by creating a thriving constituency within Islamic society that is tired and wary of any further "Islamization".

But such a constituency can thrive only by some cultural and even economic support from outside the closed system. Otherwise they will become
1. Just another sect, or
2. A compromised sort of Sufi, or
3. Simply a constituency of discontents that has no morale or power to actually do anything to the motivated force of Islamism.
brihaspati wrote:Both are equal enemies for me, and I would not do anything that uses our resources to bolster one faction to the point that it triumphs over the other. Whichever faction wins will continue the task of Islamization.
Does an outcome such as Baha'ism appeal to you?

Carl wrote:
brihaspati wrote:But my change-expectation was based on a modernizing trend that went against the ulema in general and not because of Sufism. In fact for the section I had in mind, they think of the Sufis as equally an obstacle to what they want to achieve.
Brihaspati ji, could you expand further on what section you had in mind?

Sufism especially in the Iranian context was often a rebellious space. When Islamic power reigned supreme, this was always curbed and dovetailed, as a means to keep the masses within the fold and even convert many. However, with the beginning of the decline of Islamic power and Western colonialism, things did show signs of changing. For example, Bahai'ism is an outgrowth of Sufism. Do you consider that acceptable?
Carl ji,
Sufism has a rebellious space against monarchy & materialism, not against ulema.

When ulema and monarchy co-opted each other, Sufism combined them as well. but at its heart, it's theology doesnt try to actively discredit the ulemas. Infact many of the Sufi "Saints" are ulemas themselves.

^^^ Ravi ji,

That's too simplistic. At best we could say that the sufis were a competing theological power center vis a vis the ulema.

Sometimes, the ruling class becomes affiliated with Sufistic movements. At such times, the ulema is a resentful enemy. A recent, relevant example for Iran would be under the Shah. He often consulted Sufi Pirs at the expense of the akhoond. Then the akhoond (ulema) formed a nexus with the baazargaan (the Iranian bania class) in order to fund and engineer a revolution. A historical exmaple: Akbar, Dara Shukoh, who patronized Sufis due to their interest in creating a benign popular image or due to genuine interest, while sometimes choosing to ignore ulema.

At other times, and most often for Islamism, the ulema is already in a nexus with the ruling class. In those cases Sufistic disobedience is directed at both, the rulers and the ulema. E.g. the current dispensation in Iran. Historical example: Aurangzeb's time in India -- of course Sirhindi created a new class of Sufis allied to the fanatical ulema. I think this is what folks like Esfandiar Rahim Masha'ie are trying to engineer.

So, whether it is a "brahmin-kshatriya" nexus or a "brahmin-bania" nexus, the Sufi is always in a tension with the ulema priesthood!

In any case, my point is not to prop up Sufis against ulema, but to use Sufism as a way to bring down the system itself, or reform it totally.

Carl wrote:^^^ Ravi ji,

In any case, my point is not to prop up Sufis against ulema, but to use Sufism as a way to bring down the system itself, or reform it totally.
Ofcourse it was a simplistic assumption, but the general trend holds, note their theology which stands, not the songs.

The problem with your above statement is, you are actually reinforcing the system when you use Sufism, as it doesnt have the threads which are against it.

Unless the "wavering thread"(Sufi) EXPLICITLY disassociates itself from the system(ulema), the system(ulema) will it pull it back and strengthen itself adding to the system, the newly gained strength of the "wavering thread" (Sufi). Otherwise the natural progression of a Sufi system is from anti-system (usually monarchy) to Sirhindi. This is where Bji's opposition to us trying to co-opt Sufi comes from.

Sufis lack this explicit disassociation thread in them and thus cannot be the key driver for "total reform"/"bring down the system". As the saying goes, "what does not kill you, only strengthens you".

True fact that ,They aint one of us ought to be the first rule of engagement to clear the mist, dust and smell in the air .
Bottomline is Suffi , Sunni,Dhunni or Shias , they dont belong to Indic social spiritual mileu hence irrelevant in indian context in the real sense of meaningful purpose . "Allah' in true sense have been already molded to the Indian taste by our spiritual masters but the simple true fact is Muhammad centric doctrine/person/ group can exist onlee on/in the dead body of its Host society. Coloring /cloning this virus with indian masala will spell onlee slow death and eventual doom. No good has or will come out of this. Just take a look into Paki psyche. IMHO, The efforts ought to be in reinterpreting Muhamamd's non Indic behaviour and acts in sync with 6th century : Most of his actions as we know from islamic sources are in violation of Indic ethos disqualifying spiritual authority and reverence .It is here where exist huge room to manouver for brining sanity, humanity and remove vanity,innananities and insanity in big chunk of humanity.

Carl ji,
I will come to the Iranian case within a sequence of posts. But first here is a first post on the assessment of "Sufism" and its "role" beginning with India.

Can Monotheism Be Taught?: (Further Considerations on the Typology of Monotheism): Alessandro Bausani, : Numen, Vol. 10, Fasc. 3 (Dec., 1963), pp. 167-201, BRILL

[pp 185-186]
Muslim India is like a great laboratory in which we can study different aspects of conversion methods with their cultural results. The most efficiacious for Islam has been the typically primary monotheistic system of mass conversion through the assumption of power by a Muslim elite. The first generation of converts may be rather lukewarm "inwardly", but their adoption of the new outward law and customs is too easily controllable, and no penetration of pre-monotheistic habits is therefore possible: the second and third generations are staunch and firm Muslims. It is the way followed in the great sunni conquests by Mahmud of Ghazna (X-XI cc.) and by the Mughal conquerors (Babar, end of XV c.) that islamized North-India. Conversion was often "perfectioned" in a second time by the influence of the sufis, generally striving rather to strengthen the internal faith of the (new and old) Muslims than to get new adepts from Hinduism through personal preaching 52). The result of this double system has been, from the Muslim point of view, excellent and made of the Muslims of the northern part of the Pak-Indian Subcontinent perhaps the best specimens of Muslims in existence, generally extremely orthodox and showing no inclination at all to Hindu customs 53), though

[(52) Ikram, in the useful book mentioned in note 50, follows T. W. Arnold's
theory of the generally pacific spread of Islam only in part, showing with many examples that the chief task of many Indo-Muslim sufis was rather that of deepening the faith of Muslims than that of spreadingit amongst Hindu through preaching (see pp. 85, 212-219, 226-227, and passim). It must not be forgotten, moreover, that the majority of the cases of conversions referred to in Arnold and Ikram's books happened in zones already politically under Muslim rule.

(53) One often hears (and reads) the repeated and generic statement that Indian Islam, due to its Hindu "substrate"has "special"characteristicsetc. A deeper and nearer study seems to show (at least for what concerns Islam in Northern India) contrary results and Indian Muslims, even in recent times when, say, in Persia, a Europe-inspired form of romantic nationalism brings people to "reconstruct"more or less imaginary ties with the pre-Islamic past, consider themselves "heirs" not of Hindu Indians but of the Arabs, and Arabian customs their "old-Testament". (See, for instance, the famous Musaddas by A. H. HALI, the poet of the Indo-Muslim risorgimento, and his praises to the Arabs). The Hindu influence exerced itself, one could say, in a negative way, rendering the Indian Muslims more "conscious" of their Islam. See also note 57.

(54) In some cases also (as it happened with the conversion of Syria and Egypt) the pre-Islamic language practically disappears completely, substituted by Arabic. Artificial (and failed) attempts to declare A r abic the language of the young Muslim state of Pakistan has been made repeatedly since its creation.

(55) Another proof of the greater "Islamic consciousness" of Indian Muslims (see note 53). In Turkey and Iran, where the "Islamic consciousness" seems to have been weakened under the impact of Western secularism, the contrary attempts (often, also in this case, exaggerated) are done, viz. that of insisting on the respectively Turanian or Aryan linguistic backgrounds, and on radical "purism" (struggle against Arabo-Persian words in Turkish, and against Arabic words in Persian).
]

more ready than other "older" Muslims to discuss religious matters even with foreigners (perhaps led to this by the habitual presence of "pagans" in their milieu). The linguistic results are also interesting. A conversion of this type generally creates a so called mixed-language, like New Persian in Iran and Urdu in India 54). In the Muslim languages of Northern India, as in New Persian, the entire or almost entire lexical suprastructure is foreign (Arabic or Arabo-Persian) whereas the infrastructure (morphology, numerals, terms of everyday life) remains "local". In an Urdu sentence like this, taken at random from a modern Urdu book: "Gradually the fame of his asceticism and piety began to be widespread and people came in crowds", all the words in italics are of non-Indian origin, the rest only (expressing the dynamic infrastructure of language) is Indian. This archaic substratum is felt so (culturally) unimportant by the average Muslims of North India that sometimes we can find strange linguistic theories put forward to demonstrate the non-Indianity of this and that Muslim language 55).
Further, even for the "saintly" Nijamuddin Aulya, conversion remains the ultimate aim of the "Sufi":
In the Fawa'id al-fu'dd of Amir Hasan Sijzi (d. I337) a tazkira of facts and legends referring specially to the great Cisti saint of Muslim India Nizamuddin Auliya' (1238-1325) 49) it is related that one of his disciples came one day to him with his brother, a Hindu. Nizamuddin asked him whether his brother showed any inclination towards Islam. The disciple answered: "It is just for this reason that I brought him to you, in the hope that he may become a Muslim under your influence (nazar-i iltifat). With tears in his eyes Nizamuddin answered: Speaking (i.e. conversion through preaching) does not have any effect on these people. If he frequents some pious man;however, perhaps he may become Muslim through his holy influence (baraka)" 50).
The author mentions the method of the Sufi and what "Sufi" teachings generally set the mind as : [pp 192-193]
In India, the situation was somewhat different, as the pre-monotheistic Hindu rites and practices were continuously reminded by the presence of the contemporary Hindus, Pre-monotheism was destroyed in the Muslims' consciences but was still alive around them. This particular situation gives to Indian (Northern) Islam its characteristically orthodox and at the same time enthusiastic aspect: the shariat (canon law) has been for the Muslims of India something to be lived mystically, something not felt as a stern and rigid fetter, but as a spiritual "protection" of living utility, and even the mystics -in other Muslim countries often rather unattentive to shariat 73) -show there a somewhat passionate love for the Law, comparable to that of the Jewish mystics for the Torah.

The episode of the hindu tahsildar Nawahuinis typical not so much in itself (similar episodes happened often in India) but because its Muslim protagonist is a mystic famous for his rigid penitence and his other- worldly asceticism. At the death bed of the well known sufi saint Makhdum-i Jahaniyan (real name Jalal Husain Bukhari, d. 1384), the unfortunate Hindu tahsilddr (sub-collector of revenue) of Ucch, probably as a compliment to the great saint, said to him: "In the same way as Muhammad is the Seal of Prophets you are the Seal of Saints !"

This statement was considered by those present, and especially by the enthusiast mystic Raju Qattal as equivalent to the shahada (Muslim profession of faith: "there is no god but God and Muhammad is His Prophet") the simple utterance of which in front of witnesses makes of a man a Muslim."Now- he said to the Hindu- you are a Muslim and you must follow the Law of Islam, otherwise you will be condemned to death, as a murtadd (apostate)".

The tahsildar, whose Hindu mentality did not understand why he should have been killed for having said words of praise to the Prophet of Islam, fled to Delhi where the military Muslim authorities showed much more comprehension for his awkward position than the pious mystic. But Raju Qattal, not content of prayers and protestations, left his place and undertook the rather troublesome travel to Delhi for the sole purpose of defending his contention that the tahsildar had to be put to death, if he was not ready to confirm by facts (law) his purely "spiritual" acceptance of Islam. In spite of all opposition (including even "legal tricks") the poor Hindu was executed 74).

Btw, this will probably be one of my last posts, if not the very last one on this topic- it is rather time consuming, and tiring.

CM.

Cain Marko ji,

you have many valid point. but let me ask one question. regardless of all the positives of Islam, whatever and however great they are ( :roll: ), was the invasion of Islam into India worth the agony that India has experienced? are the supposed "gems" worth all the territory India has lost? are the "gems" worth the death, poverty, loot, and rape? are the "gems" worth the desertification of Northwestern Bharat, which was once agriculturally rich, but has now become a vast desert of marauders filled with poverty (i'm sure you know of the "gem" where irrigation systems and canals were systematically destroyed by fanatical invaders)?

Almost every "Sufi" order that survived through the European colonial phase, have seemed to come under the dominance of the Naqsbandyia one way or the other - doctrinal or practice. Here is a piece on the Kuftaryia of Syria:

Sufi Brotherhoods in Syria and Israel: A Contemporary Overview : Itzchak Weismann: History of Religions, Vol. 43, No. 4 (May 2004), pp. 303-318, The University of Chicago Press.
The leading Naqshbandi branch in Syria today is that of Ahmad Kuftaro (b. 1915), son of one of oIsa al-Kurdi’s principal deputies in Damascus.30 This is the only Sufi organization in the country to be allowed freedom of action by the regime, with whom it is closely associated. Despite claims to early beginnings, the Kuftariyya seems to have emerged following the Bath takeover in 1963 and the election of Kuftaro a year later to the highest religious position in Syria, that of the Grand Mufti.31 In 1971, after the rise to power of Hafiz al-Asad, who sought to appease the Sunni population, Kuftaro’s mosque in north Damascus was made the basis of the Abu al-Nur Islamic Foundation. The first recognized college within this trust, the College for Islamic Propagation, was inaugurated in 1982, at the height of the Islamic uprising. The Kuftariyya appeals to social strata generally higher than other Sufi brotherhoods in Syria, especially to small merchants and junior functionaries. It has a female wing under Kuftaro’s younger daughter, Wafaa, who propagates his message among women in weekly lectures at the Abu al-Nur Foundation, where she also conducts the dhikr, and in various mosques in Damascus.32 In addition, Kuftaro regards himself as the spiritual father of the more in- dependent female Sufi organization, the Qubaysiyya, which directs its attention to women from higher social classes. Members of this organi- zation run highly esteemed private schools in Syria, and it has lately spread to other countries of the Middle East.

Faithful to the reformist tradition of the Naqshbandiyya, Ahmad Kuftaro seeks to adapt its path to the modern situation by propagating a learned and discreet form of Sufism that is based on the Quraan and the sharia. Apparently under the inspiration of the Indian scholar Abu al- Hasan al-Nadwi, he also stresses engagement in social affairs and rejects monastic mysticism (rahbaniyya) as a major cause of the social and cultural weakening of Islam.33 The focus of Kuftaro’s reformist activity lies in the sphere of education. On the basis of the Abu al-Nur Foundation, where he himself continues to deliver a weekly lesson in front of thousands of people, Kuftaro has founded numerous religious institutions, from private schools for boys and girls to an Islamic center of higher education, which since 1992 has provided Ph.D. degrees in Islamic law. To enhance the prestige of the foundation, he formed connections with various universities in the Muslim world—in Libya, Pakistan, and Sudan—as well as in North America, where an Abu al-Nur Institute was opened in 1993 in Baltimore. In view of the great importance that Kuftaro attaches to modern technology, the foundation also supports students training for high-status professions, while inculcating in them its religious values. Some of his close relatives are themselves engineers trained in the West, and they helped him develop the Abu al-Nur Foundation beyond its strictly religious functions into an effective economic, social, and political organization.

Yet in face of the fierce Salafi critique of Sufism, Ahmad Kuftaro has proved ready to go beyond the traditional reformism of the Naqshbandiyya and eventually adopt much of the discourse and argumentation of his rivals. In this endeavor, he downplays his relation to the great Naqshbandi masters of the past, including Shaykh Khalid, while stressing his good relations with most moderate Islamists.34 Moreover, once again in the footsteps of Nadwi,35 Kuftaro suggests doing away with the Sufi terminology in favor of a strictly Quraanic vocabulary. In this scheme of “spiritual education” (tarbiya ruhiyya) the Sufi terms tasawwuf and tariqa themselves are to be substituted by the less controversial ihsan (spiritual excellence) and tazkiyat al-nafs (purification of the soul), which appear in the Scriptures.36 Kuftaro explicitly follows the Salafis in denouncing legal school partisanship and the practice of imitation (taqlid) in favor of individual reasoning (ijtihad). He likewise stresses the need to interpret Islam in relation to the present and to be guided by reason, often declaring that religion is nothing but “mature reason.” On the other hand, Kuftaro and his associates are keen to demonstrate to the Salafis that the Sufis’ inner search for God has not diverted them from active participation in jihad.37 [For a widely acclaimed historical exposition of the Sufi’s contribution to jihad struggles, see Asoad al-Khatib, Al-Butula waal-fidaa oinda al-sufiyya (Damascus: Maktab al-Ghazali, 1995).]
Here is a pointer to the motivation to spread around "Sufism" - now it s also about the "non-Muslim".
Another aspect in which Ahmad Kuftaro departs from the traditional way of the Naqshbandiyya, in this case even beyond the reformism of the Salafis, concerns his propagation of the religion. As already mentioned, the Abu al-Nur Foundation has an active daowa department, which uses modern devices—from videotapes and audiocassettes to the Internet—to spread the shaykh’s message among both Muslim and non-Muslim audiences. For the latter, a collection of lectures translated into English was published in 1993 under the title “The Way of Truth” and was expanded in a second edition in 1997. Kuftaro himself has exploited his extensive travels in an official capacity, using them as opportunities to present Islam and Sufism to non-Muslims, his earliest visit being as early as 1966 to the United States.40 His dawa is nevertheless characterized by an intentional ambiguity. On the one hand, Kuftaro adheres to the orthodox position, held by Naqshbandis and Salafis alike, that Islam is the final and most perfect religion; on the other hand, however, he points out that the three monotheistic religions stem from a common source, and further maintains that all denominations are different traditions of the one universal religion. In harmony with the latter position, also indicated in the title of his official website—Abrahamic religions—Kuftaro has been long engaged in interfaith dialogue, taking part in various conferences around the world and hosting delegations of clergymen, particularly Christian, at the Abu al-Nur mosque. In recent years his interests have expanded to include other issues of international concern, notably those of human rights and the environment.41
Basically, it simply shows that the "inter-faith" approach from the Sufi side is based firmly on the "Abrahamic" threads. Elsewhere, material exists that shows that almost every Sufi posture of "inter-faith" towards traditions outside of the Abrahamic - in particular - Indic, is about reducing them to Abrahamic constructs, and not in the reverse direction. [The latest studies on representation of "yoga" in Sufi lines - would illustrate this if taken up in details].
Students of the Syrian religious scene assess differently the special relations between Ahmad Kuftaro and the Asad regime. Thus the more affirmative Geoffroy counts the shaykh among those resilient men of religion, mostly from Damascus, who have sought to assuage the hostility of the Bath and avoid complete rupture. The accusations against his compromising stands are, according to this interpretation, nothing but the age-old claim about the corruption of ulema in the service of rulers.42 Stenberg, on his part, stresses the fact that although Kuftaro may be allied with—or even controlled by—the Syrian regime, he can also influence the political leadership through his position as the highest religious authority of a large religious movement.43 However, he concurs with Blottcher’s view that Kuftaro acts as a tool in the Islamic policy of the regime44 and with De Jong’s assertion that the cultivation of the Kuftariyya seems to have been designed to weaken the position of the politically unreliable Naqshbandi shaykhs of the North and Northeast.45 In my view, its cultivation was more specifically aimed at offsetting the influence of Said Hawwa, the foremost ideologue of the Islamic opposition in Bathist Syria, who was deeply attached to Sufism in general and to the northern branch of the Naqshbandiyya in particular.46

The affinity between the ideas and discourse of the Naqshbandi brotherhood of Syria and its Salafis-Islamists, which has been noted even in the case of the state-backed Kuftaro, was much more pronounced in the North, where disciples of Abu al-Nasr Khalaf were instrumental in founding local branches of the Muslim Brothers in the 1930s and 1940s. Out- standing among these Naqshbandi-oriented Brothers were Muhammad al-Hamid (1910–69) in Hamah and oAbd al-Fattah Abu-Ghudda (1917– 97) in Aleppo.47 Under the rule of the Bath, Abu-Ghudda emerged as the leader of the Islamists’ northern faction, while Saoid Hawwa (1935–89) perpetuated Hamid’s work on the national level. Sufism permeates Hawwa’s entire oeuvre, one of the express aims of which was to familiarize the Islamic movement with the reformist Sufi tradition and thus provide it with a spiritual “depth.” In a series of books he dedicated to the subject, notably Tarbiyatuna al-ruhiyya (Our spiritual education) and al-Mustakhlas fi tazkiyat al-anfus (Experts on the purification of the souls), Hawwa in all probability preceded Kuftaro in deemphasizing the Sufi vocabulary.48 Indignant, though, at the Damascene shaykh’s complicity with the un-Islamic Bath, he went beyond the latter’s rejection of rahbaniyya (monastic mysticism) to elaborate upon Nadwi’s complementary concept of rabbaniyya, making it the basis for a sociopolitical alternative. Through this concept Hawwa conceived of a grassroots organization, a popular suprabrotherhood as it were, that would unite all the Islamic forces in the country and lead them in the struggle for religious revival in general, and against the secular tendencies of the Baoth in particular.49 The Hamah uprising of 1982, and its brutal suppression by Asad’s regime, left Kuftaro’s accommodating collaboration the only alternative open before the Syrian Naqshbandiyya.
Note that several things come together here. The Muslim Brotherhood movement spanning both Egypt and Syria, through its various twists and turns had its roots in the Naqsbandyia, especially on a conflation of the Salafist position with that of the Naqsbandyia sufism. But significantly it has also an Indian connection, especially that of Nadwi - which I had repeatedly drawn attention to in the context of the Lucknow based Nadwatul ulama.

It can also provide an insight into the ongoing struggle within Syria for current watchers. The Sufis, in their more popular and powerful or widespread form - is currently dominated globally by various forms of the Naqsbandyia - the same that triumphed in India through Sirhindi. Thus in its essence it represents political Islam of the modern times, which has only changed its tactical approach in the ultimate objective of global Islamization. It represents a more sophisticated modern and politically savvy face that is indeed a more difficult to destroy enemy than the Talebs.

Islamic revival in modern Turkey: The Gülen Movement
Positive program on PBS about the Gulen Movement, which BRFite shyamd says has CIA-backing.
SEVERSON: For the time being, those who follow Gülen, both critics and admirers, seem to agree that he is leading one of the most important movements in Islam.
Fethullah Gulen's movement and Sufism
Sufism has known antinomian (bi-shara) Sufis who claimed that following the exoteric (zahir) regulations of the shari’a were unnecessary for those on the esoteric (batin) path, but Gülen’s position comes down clearly in the ba-shara camp of those who stress the importance for the Sufi to not abandon the shari’a. Gülen would appear to be in continuation with the long line of shari’a-oriented Sufis, represented most strongly by the Qadiri and Naqshbandi traditions, and in modern times by Said Nursi, who regard tasawwuf as one facet of the life of the sincere Muslim who seeks to live fully the message contained in the Qur’an and sunna.

In fact, Ozdalga sees three “positive reference points” which have shaped the thought of Fethullah Gulen: 1) orthodox Sunni Islam, 2) the Naqshbandi Sufi tradition, 3) the Nurculuk movement, that is, those Muslims influenced by the writings of Said Nursi.[16] The Naqshbandis have always insisted on the careful performance of the prescriptions of the shari’a, so there is no contradiction between the first two points. Gülen differs from the Naqshbandi Order, however, in that the Naqshbandi disciple is presented with an explicit program of spiritual development, which is closely monitored by the shaykh, whereas Gülen’s program is more open-ended and stresses good deeds or service to humanity (hizmet) more than spiritual exercises and devotions.[17]

Bji,
So Urdu is a smattering of foreign words (like nuggets) in a layer of Hindustani (like the dough) written in Persio/Arabic script! So why cant it be written in Devnagari script as a first step?