Director for Geo-economics and Strategy, IISS &
Hon. Senior Fellow, CPR
Saturday, April 7 at 7:00pm
Gulmohar Hall
Habitat World, India Habitat Centre,
Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110003
Ideal entry is from Gate No. 3 on Vardhman Marg
Please join us for tea at 6:30pm
I am not a mechanical engineer, but i do know that this is not what a wheeled infantry carrying vehicle should look like, looks like they wanted to make a plane towing tractor out of a BMP :YUCK:Surya wrote:thanks Jamwal
Is there a clearer shot of the wheeled BMP!!!![]()
anyone - some more details please
This could be a battlefield tourism vehicle - judging by the size of those windows.rajsunder wrote: see some photos for your self
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3697/dsc02667p.jpg
http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/289/dsc02666ha.jpg
Here is link to for BMP wheeled workaround video I had post it in multimedia sectionrajsunder wrote:I am not a mechanical engineer, but i do know that this is not what a wheeled infantry carrying vehicle should look like, looks like they wanted to make a plane towing tractor out of a BMP :YUCK:Surya wrote:thanks Jamwal
Is there a clearer shot of the wheeled BMP!!!![]()
anyone - some more details please
see some photos for your self
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6209/dsc02668a.jpg
http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/1020/dsc02671i.jpg
fixed axles?? was the engineer too drunk???
Thanks - is there any way to zoom them up?
yes...quite true... what a big joke ..this vehicle with horrendous finishing and everything ...just some lazily put together piece of metal....more like result of inbreeding between an airplane tug and some cheap BMPshiv wrote:This could be a battlefield tourism vehicle - judging by the size of those windows.rajsunder wrote: see some photos for your self
Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.shiv wrote:This could be a battlefield tourism vehicle - judging by the size of those windows.rajsunder wrote: see some photos for your self
MN Kumar wrote:Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.
Dear whole concept is flawed Because weight issue. let me give you one hint that wheel of Chakra rath is regular one which is use by indian truck + suspension is also same and Tyre cant hold such a weight and look deflated if look at my video carefully you can also see two set of fresh pair which is their i think to replace deflated one, also ground clearance is very poor you can see it yourself + old Indian suspension.Bala Vignesh wrote:Can't the chakra rath be used for second line dutie like ambulances, mobile C2 centre, comms relay, etc???
How many pictures do you need ?tejas wrote:Jamwal, thank you for taking the time to post those pictures. I was saddened by the overall lack of pics from jingos here on BRF
According to it's designers, it's meant for urban warfare and peace keeping missions. I don't think they intend to use it in a conventional battlefield role like it's tracked version.Singha wrote:I have a different view of the chakra rath. its faster and cheaper than a tracked BMP in opex.
could be use for force and base protection duty.
You can never have too much eye candy, boss.How many pictures do you need
Singha ji "Chakra rath" per ek kaahwat yaad aati hai "dobi ka kuta na ghar ka na ghat ka"Singha wrote:I have a different view of the chakra rath. its faster and cheaper than a tracked BMP in opex.
could be use for force and base protection duty.
Remove the turret and put a JCB shovel on top and space inside can accomodate a garbage compactor. Can be used for urban cleaning operations. Name can be changed from chakra rath to kachra rath.MN Kumar wrote:
Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.
Don't take me wrong Sabarpalji, but a deflated tyre could be because of a multitude of reasons.sarabpal.s wrote:Dear whole concept is flawed Because weight issue. let me give you one hint that wheel of Chakra rath is regular one which is use by indian truck + suspension is also same and Tyre cant hold such a weight and look deflated if look at my video carefully you can also see two set of fresh pair which is their i think to replace deflated one, also ground clearance is very poor you can see it yourself + old Indian suspension.Bala Vignesh wrote:Can't the chakra rath be used for second line dutie like ambulances, mobile C2 centre, comms relay, etc???
Bha.aaaa
Dear First my name is Sarabpal.Bala Vignesh wrote:
Don't take me wrong Sabarpalji, but a deflated tyre could be because of a multitude of reasons.
Based on your video, I am guessing that the Chakra rath is basically a modified body of a BMP-2 mounted on the chassis of a stallion 6*6. Now if that is true, the chassis of the Stallion is designed to carry a gross weight of 14.5 tons, which is around the total weight of the BMP2. If we are to subtract the weight of the tracked drive, say around 500-600 Kgs, it becomes lighter than the original BMP, which weighs in at 14.3 tonnes.
Based on the above, IMO, the Chakra Rath, ugly as it is, could be quite useful in urban warfare, base protection and many other second line roles.
Gurulog, please correct me if I am wrong.
References:
BMP-2 Wikipedia Page
http://www.ashokleyland.com/sites/defau ... NAL_v3.pdf
Dear who is mocking???shiv wrote:
So I would stop my mocking at some laxman-rekha.
The Chakra Rath is definetly not 6x6. The third axle (from front) is for sure not powered. Seeing how low the vehicle is, i am not sure if the second one is powered either. Cannot be sure about second because there is no clear pic of the underside.Bala Vignesh wrote:
Based on your video, I am guessing that the Chakra rath is basically a modified body of a BMP-2 mounted on the chassis of a stallion 6*6. Now if that is true, the chassis of the Stallion is designed to carry a gross weight of 14.5 tons, which is around the total weight of the BMP2. If we are to subtract the weight of the tracked drive, say around 500-600 Kgs, it becomes lighter than the original BMP, which weighs in at 14.3 tonnes.
Based on the above, IMO, the Chakra Rath, ugly as it is, could be quite useful in urban warfare, base protection and many other second line roles.
Gurulog, please correct me if I am wrong.
References:
BMP-2 Wikipedia Page
http://www.ashokleyland.com/sites/defau ... NAL_v3.pdf