Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Delhi Rape Victim Dies-Express your outrage.

Sushupti wrote: Just now Arnab was saying that Govt's ministers didn't want to spoil their New Year week-off and hence no special season of parliament. I fully agree with above tweet of Albatrossinfligfht.
And Govt ministers are Indian or Italian?
Patni

Post by Patni »

It is a very sad day for we as a society and nation. Feel very shamed that we cant protect our sisters and daughters in our country. And to think our own government locking capital down, not against any external danger but against its own people! This UPA government acts like as if they are ruling in pre-1947 India like British overlords! I so wish the Delhi police show of strength on streets of delhi now in happen every night to give sense of safety to our sisters and daughters rather then be used to chase away very people the police is suppose to work for!

Cannot change other people; can we make BRF more hospitable to women?

partha wrote:
Sushupti wrote: Just now Arnab was saying that Govt's ministers didn't want to spoil their New Year week-off and hence no special season of parliament. I fully agree with above tweet of Albatrossinfligfht.
And Govt ministers are Indian or Italian?
They are amoeba of the Antonia's toilet bowl. last post on this.

Most of you guys are IT experts. Why not write a web crawler to collect every rape news from all over India and gather the info in one place say a blog and tweet the info till there is awareness of the extent of this male disease?

partha and sushupti please take it up in OT thread. Not here. Thanks, ramana

Rest In Peace, child.

What sickness walks among us that those men could do what they did.

A_Gupta wrote:Cannot change other people; can we make BRF more hospitable to women?
BRF is probably one of the most hospitable places for women. Don't understand what you mean?

Darshann, let it go. Some people see their pet monsters in BRF.

A_Gupta wrote:Cannot change other people; can we make BRF more hospitable to women?
I am flabbergasted, Madame/Sire, at such an apparent uninformed statement. Firstly, How do you know that there are no women participating? and secondly what is the basis of this insinuation? May be you do have some inside information which we hoi polloi do not :-?

Their is some thing very wrong with our society. When a life can be snuffed out in this manner. We see this every day on the roads. With the way people drive. Withe the way people act with one another. It seems that as a society we are headind towards a cliff. At full speed. We need to step back and reflect. Hoping that the government will bring about the necessary chamges is foolish. We must change the way we conduct our selves. As we can only change our selves and not any one else.

I beg to differ. Some thing is wrong with the UPA govt and not the people. The people elected them to give good governance and what they are getting is goonda raj.... So please rethink your ideas....

Below is new meaning to Dill Billis....
Hari Seldon wrote:Image

One's most sincere and heartfelt condolences to the family members and Indian women at large.Today,we are all relatives of the affected family.As for the braveheart,as a nation we hang our heads in shame,we should've come out onto the streets a long time ago.mMy you truly find peace in the afterlife.

While man's bestiality to women appears to be with us for time to come,it is a national outrage and shame that in Independent India,women are more vulnerable to attack than during the days of colonial rule.The manner in which the rapists are allowed to often get off scot free and victims commit suicide because of the lack of justice,is appalling.The apathetic and indifferent attitude of the police forces only adds insult to the grievous injury that crimes against women truly are.If you add the asinine and sexist statements of Indian politicos,beginning with the son of our current President,who should've resigned in shame for spawning and rearing such a misfit without any human values whatsoever,the mouthings of the politicos is far worse than the rape itself.

This is the real story of Man Mohan Singh and Sonia Gandhi's India.Loot the nation to the extreme by your cronies in power and allegedly by family members too,and secure dynastic rule for the first family.As for the rest of the people of India,"the devil take the hindmost"!
Last edited by Philip on 29 Dec 2012 11:03, edited 1 time in total.

Philip. I said that Nehru showed India the tryst with destiny.
UPA under Dhritrastra MMS and Satyavati Sonia disrupted the destiny.

No Ramanna,they have "raped" our destiny won by such valour and sacrifice by those who participated in the freedom struggle.We need another one to rid us of the parasites in power today.Perhaps we are seeing the beginning of such a movement.

Re: Nukkad 67

how cynical the govt has to be to send the girl to her death in S'Pore...absolutely disgusted.

They cannot face the people and these are all tactics to keep things under control. They know they are rotten inside.

Can't sleep: haunting memories of other violent rapes have kept me awake the whole night. Cross posting, if it gives any pointer to anyone to use:

The first culprits in thsi are the political class - the party systema nd leadership - which virtually protect such rapists in many cases out of electoral and muscle-preservation considerations. The cadre - or associates/friends/networks of the cadre too use such connections to get away after committing things.

Now the gov and congress leaders are putting up prompt and shrill and profound promises. But they have been sitting over on this in Delhi - and I know that women complained, from my acquiantances , while I was in Delhi in the late 90's, and when I visited it often before and after on org connections. People whos efaces I now see on TV channels, shedding croc tears, and their juniors I know personally - all have a share in the responsibility for this continued atrocity. They and their mosahibs and courtiers and lackeys have protected their courtiers and lackeys in turn down the feeding chain for decades.

In a certain level of decisionmakers, the proposal was brought that at least half of Delhi's police be women, that women officers fully armed lethally with shoot at sight orders be put out at night, in singnificant numbers on night patrols, that sufficient women officers be present on night duty at each station, that more women be brought in as drivers of public transport, that daaru-theks be closed compulsorily earlier, that more cars be stopped and checked not for hafta and bribes but for breathalyzer tests. More cameras, speed cameras as well as surveillance ones, police copter flights at night, and more light - for ishwar's sake!

The proposal for more lethally armed women officers and women drivers was simply laughed away. That women only patrols at night was dismissed as unsafe for the "women officers".

I still wish, if ever my "kind" gets to power, to turn internal policing almost etirely over to women. And keep more of men in the army at the borders.

Students and youth will not be able to sustain what needs political persistence. Soon they will be drawn back to colleges and unis. Thats what the parties are calculating on. Then their respective student fronts will quietly manipulate and take over.

I would urge them to form a platform, even on a social-network basis - to maintain the momentum. Convert this into an electoral issue - frame outline laws, put up proposals. Run at least online referendums. Bring out an online newspaper. It will not reach many in the non-urban areas, but the words and ideas can at least spread out from those who have access to the net - to those who havent, by word of mouth - one of the best possible ways of propagation. Do not fall into the trap of believeing the sweet talkers from the centre-left. The ladies from the parties are on TV - but when it comes to reality, they will still be under the strings of their respective High Commands and Politbureaus. All interests are subject to the supreme interests of the "party". Please get out of this mode of political organization.

The old order of politics needs to go. We have to wait until by natural laws of demographics the current minority of overall electorate - grow dominant in proportion in time, if they can draw in new youth who will join the age bracket in the decades to come. But the old order must go. Old way of politics must go. Old way of thinking - the legacy of imperialism from the west of our country - must go.

Ramana ji, i have no expectation fom the govt. Nor am i speaking of people who voted for this govt. I am speaking of society, as a whole. I am speaking of people. Who when in control of their senses discribe a woman as a guldasta. The same men when not in control of their senses go and assault the same woman. I am speakig of that. If you live in india. Regardless of where you live. You will find such men. It is of those men that i speak off. It is those people i speak off when i speak of reforming society. As unless men dont learn to respect women, and her freedoms, no woman can ever be truly be safe. The govt however, incompetent, can not change attitudes. The only thing they can do is act sensabily. And havs the courts dispense justice quickely. But i am a fool to expect sensable action from this GOI.

The Curse of Inferior Intellect Influence Inflicted on India after Independence by Nehru and His inbred Mullah has now reached its peak. To remove the Indian pain ,This require particular brain drain to be attained by trained specialist on isolated shooting range orr just Sign the strategic deal with France for 126 Guillotines on urgent basis.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lo5BBHtn4tM
Anantha

Re: Nukkad 67

Post by Anantha »

Gus wrote:how cynical the govt has to be to send the girl to her death in S'Pore...absolutely disgusted.

They cannot face the people and these are all tactics to keep things under control. They know they are rotten inside.
Sir
Consider the following facts
The girl had a rod inserted in her during the act, and had had 5 intestinal surgeries in 10 days and developed gangrene
She had a cardiac arrest. In an unconscious condition she was air lifted to Singapore in ventilators.
It is not hard to extrapolate that the girl was dead before she was sent to Singapore. She was forcibly kept alive with an ventilator. This was done to prevent rumors that she was killed by the high priests of Delhi. A doctor from Safdarjung hospital posted yesterday that she was already dead before being air lifted.
aak thoo...
Last edited by Anantha on 29 Dec 2012 11:25, edited 1 time in total.

Victim's 19 year old brother speaks.

‘It’s like the life we had never existed... every day now passes in a flash’

Pritha Chatterjee

“When a movement is happening, it is sometimes hard to know you are at the epicentre,” says the younger brother of the Delhi bus gangrape victim who continues to battle for her life.
Ironically, the 19-year-old adds, nobody lets you forget it either — not the protesters, not the eager internet rumour-mongers, not the politicians, not the police and certainly not the media. In the midst of all, their only concern is a woman who only partly knows the extent of her injuries but senses the worst as the buzz around her grows.

It’s been a week since the family has been at the bedside of the woman at Safdarjung Hospital. Since then, from the floor of Parliament to the doors of Rashtrapati Bhavan, the story of their tragedy is the only thing they have been hearing.

“It is like the life we had a week ago never existed. Every day is now passing by in a flash. When I switch on the TV or log on to a social networking site, I see these emotional outbursts about Damini, Amanat, Nirbhaya (the names some media organisations have given the victim). It’s hard to digest that this is my sister they are talking about,” says the brother.

The first time he saw a pseudonym flashing on TV, he says he raised the issue with doctors and some police personnel. “I thought the channel in question had got my sister’s name wrong, because they said ‘Damini’s condition is deteriorating’ — they addressed her like that. I was reassured from the first day that our names, my sister’s name would not come out. I was furious,” he says.

He has since learnt the ropes, even the terms for it. “Somebody explained to me it is a phenomenon known as personification. I don’t like it, but they say she is the face of a movement,” he says. However, the Net barrage was something he couldn’t take — he has blocked his Facebook account.

“Every two hours, there is a new rumour. On social networks, celebrities and many friends flash her obituaries every night. For them it is just an online status they correct in two hours. At the same time, media channels say she has had a two-hour conversation, she has walked, she has smiled, she has hugged UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi,” he says.

Last Friday, he saw claims on a TV channel of his sister having “taken a few steps, with brother’s help”, and “walking for the first time after the incident”. She was actually vomiting and complaining of a new abdominal pain that day.

“That night, my mother and sister hardly slept. It was a long and bad night for us, and TV channels were flashing that she was on her feet. I was tired and angry,” he recounts.

On Sunday, as the protests over the rape turned violent in Delhi, the family faced another pressure. Even as the victim went through one more operation, her brother says the police approached them.

“They told us more than 80 people had been injured, that people were getting violent in my sister’s name. They wanted us to make an appeal for peace. We wanted the movement to continue, but we did not want violence,” her brother says.

Towards the evening, when she was brought back to the ICU after her surgery, her father finally conceded to the demand. The father’s appeal to “Please help the police in maintaining law and order. Pray for my daughter, vandalism can serve no purpose”, rang out through media channels late on Sunday night.

A day later, the father does not want to interact with the media, despite repeated requests. “My father is scared that a wrong message has gone out. It seems like we don’t want the protests. We are suffering so much, why should we be against the movement? Now, he has decided against speaking to the media. There were more requests from the police, but we told them we don’t want to risk it again,” the brother says.

The flood of relatives and neighbours has not made things smooth either. “People want to know what she said, what she wrote in notes, how long she had known her male friend, who was accompanying her. Relatives want us to ask doctors if she will be able to get married and have children. My parents have become tired of answering questions,” he says.

Politicians have gone so far as to seek a meeting with the girl. “There is a risk of infection, we have said that repeatedly. But the requests continue to pour,” a senior administrative official at Safdarjung Hospital said.

While some politicians paid solitary visits, others have been calling the family and landing at the hospital every day. “They are protesting outside the hospital, calling us at odd hours, telling us they will pay us for her medical treatment. Each one speaks to the doctor, gets a new update, and calls us. While we appreciate the support, it gets scary sometimes,” the brother says.

Meanwhile, the family’s efforts are concentrated on keeping the victim as guarded from the hue and cry as possible. While she wants the accused to be hanged, the brother says, she is also scared.

“She does not know her intestines have been removed. She doesn’t even know the extent of the public outcry,” says the brother. “Even when her friends or relatives come to visit, she asks us how much they know. When she hears of politicians coming, she gets scared. She keeps asking my mother if she has told anyone what happened.”

http://m.indianexpress.com/news/%22-it- ... 2/1049876/

Ack thoo on UPA.

+1 B_ji.

Right. And how will now know how the girl's family feels now that their daughter is dead? BDutt and their ilk have unfailingly brought us this news over and over again in the past. They cannot neglect their duties now.

Philip wrote:No Ramanna,they have "raped" our destiny won by such valour and sacrifice by those who participated in the freedom struggle.We need another one to rid us of the parasites in power today.Perhaps we are seeing the beginning of such a movement.
The freedom fighters who showed valor and made sacrifices were sidelined in 1947 itself or even before that. What happened in 1947 was just a transfer of power to the Nehru dynasty.

brihaspati wrote:Can't sleep: haunting memories of other violent rapes have kept me awake the whole night. Cross posting, if it gives any pointer to anyone to use:
Excellent post.

Deeply saddened. Rest in peace brave one.

As a nation we have failed our women. Until we acknowledge the apathy and cruelty we show to women and atone for our sins, we dont deserve to survive..

Gul Panag on twitter:

Gul Panag ‏@GulPanag
Because the police in India still protects the State from the people. Not the people from the State. The police- she lives in British times

Subramanian Swamy ‏@Swamy39
Nirbhaya by her plight, resolve, ultimately by death has emerged as our national tipping point.Either we go down to Rwanda or to renaissance

Vikram Sood ‏@Vikram_Sood
Maybe we ought not to be celebrating the New Year. Nothing to cheer about

( Dont Tell our Netas And Elites )
Comer

Post by Comer »

I don't trust this lady journo, there has to be some reason like not give coverage to protect this Govt from "bad" news.
While this venal Govt has to go, I think the horrible crime is a result so many issues that has to be fixed with the Governance and Society. If they start now, hopefully in 15-20 years we see the first results. This is a marathon not a sprint.

saravana wrote:I don't trust this lady journo, there has to be some reason like not give coverage to protect this Govt from "bad" news.
You have to understand that it is not news, it is reality-based entertainment. All news anchors are simply choreographers of this entertainment.

They will show you live telecast of NSG Havaldar Gajender Singh so the terrorists can then go and kill him and later pay tribute to his heroism and interview his wife during the funeral and cover her receiving a medal.

But they know their boundaries -- they will appeal for Sonia's privacy when she has a medical issue. Did you know that they followed the rape victim's ambulance with 45 vehicles to the airport? But knowing that they will be jailed and caned, nobody gathered outside the singapore hospital.

And today's Hindustan times has a photo (presumably shot with a concealed camera, given the angle) of the victim in a body bag!

Then they go back and declare with great solemness why they wont cover the funeral and pat each other on the back for being "responsible".

B*stards!

If this funeral is covered, the government is gone guys. No way in the world they will allow it. We have to see if the people can do something about it.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

On a personal level as citizen of Bharat I feel deeply disturbed and confused.
But one thing I am sure about
this is just the beginning of the slide of the nation.
Corruption unchecked
Loot unabated
Rape regular feature
Appeasement all over

We are witnessing the coalition a dharma germinate and take a root
No wonder in 1980s the congress weed took root in the country and has now become a parasite on the people....

Chalo our pride is dented and prestige is devalued and stand very close to our western neighbor in our value system.
Nothing surprises or shocks me about India any more...

Only the hidden hand can rescue us one more time...
I hope I pray

Om Saha naavavatu
Saha Nau Bhunaktu
Saha Veeryam Karavavahai
Tejasvinavadheetamastu Ma Vidhvishavahai
Om Shanti Shanti Shantihi

Om sarveshaam swastir bhavatu
Sarveshaam shantir bhavatu
Sarveshaam poornam bhavatu
Sarveshaam mangalam bhavatu
Sarve bhavantu sukhinah
Sarve santu niraamayaah
Sarve bhadraani pashyantu
Maakaschit duhkha bhaag bhavet

Om asato maa satgamaya
Tamaso maa jyotir gamaya
Mrityor maa amritam gamaya
Last edited by pentaiah on 29 Dec 2012 12:26, edited 2 times in total.

This is the blackest end to a sad year. And a bloody start of the new year.

Let this be the year of tsunami of reforms. Start with changing the system as suggested by Bji in his excellent post starting with
"I can't Sleep"

Sushupti wrote:Image

WTF Who is she to decide?

News just spoiled my day. Was having morning tea. UPA Dummies are really pathetic. Really not proud of India. First of all those maroons citing "provocative dresses by girls" be sent to some Chinese labour camps.

RIP dear beautiful girl. May your soul rest in haven.
Last edited by rsingh on 29 Dec 2012 12:32, edited 1 time in total.

Government has decided on her behalf. She is making it sound as though media has suddenly sprouted responsibility.