Israel-Hezbollah-Iran War

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Israel-Hezbollah-Iran War

partha wrote: 29 Sep 2024 23:26
chetak wrote: 29 Sep 2024 22:56 partha ji,
what ever the method, here are the results of a bunker buster
note the size of the crater and compare it with the size of people standing close to the crater
I agree. Result is what matters. I am in awe of Israel's capability and will.

partha ji,

some reports are suggesting that these bunker busters are of a new type not known before

MASSIVE airstrikes on terror infrastructure in Yemen.

Israel fighting on 4 fronts at the same time - Lebanon, Yemen, Syria and the Gaza Strip.
Oil reservoirs, refineries, power plants, and airport in Yemen are up in flames right now.
sanman

Post by sanman »

chetak wrote: 29 Sep 2024 22:56
what ever the method, here are the results of a bunker buster

note the size of the crater and compare it with the size of people standing close to the crater
That's one helluva crater. Does India have similar capabilities? Or can we only look on in Shock & Awe?

We never seem to be able to do such things.
sanman

Post by sanman »

After Israel took out Nasrallah, the Houthis apparently hit Ben Gurion airport while Netanyahu was landing there

In response, Israeli F-15s hit Yemen's port

Now Houthis are hitting Israel's southern port of Eilat with UAVs

sanman

Post by sanman »

Comments from Jonathan Pollard, whom you may remember was an American Jew working for US Naval Intelligence, who was convicted for passing state secrets for cluster munitions technology to Israel. After serving a portion of his sentence, he later emigrated to Israel.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Pollard

Below he does some blunt speaking - very informative - worth a listen

Last edited by sanman on 30 Sep 2024 14:42, edited 1 time in total.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

No wonder most Indian Jews have settled in Israel. Even their blood sacrifices are worth it unlike in India! Indian generals have become babus !
sanman

Post by sanman »

S_Madhukar wrote: 30 Sep 2024 13:40 No wonder most Indian Jews have settled in Israel. Even their blood sacrifices are worth it unlike in India! Indian generals have become babus !
When I talk to General Shankar on his channel, I feel that he and other generals of his ilk have sort of become babus.
He's experienced but too easygoing and full of appeasement (ie. "let's not overreact, you have to see it from other side's viewpoint", "let's not respond prematurely, we can wait to see how things play out", etc) He is quite sekoolar

Meanwhile, when I talk to General Narayanan, he is the opposite - he is staunchly pro-nationalist and full of prescriptions on how to stop the bleeding inside and out
I enjoy talking to both men - both have their respective wisdom, even while having distinct viewpoints. But I prefer nationalism for my solution set.

American Jews are more pro-Israel than Indian-American NRIs towards India

Do you think there could ever be an NRI like Pollard? Impossible -- sepoy mentality predominates

As an NRI, I feel that India should charge a head-tax or premium on NRIs who want to visit India.
That premium could vary depending on various factors (just like how your car insurance premium can vary due to your personal factors - age, gender, location, etc)
NRI premium can be higher if you live in a district which has an anti-Indian congressman, MP, etc.
It can be higher if you go to a college or university which is a hotbed of anti-Indian activism, etc.
Premium can be lowered or waived for those who have engaged in pro-India activities.

India should turn the thumbscrews on those who harass India, or even those who consort with harassers of India.

When sepoys have to face head-tax or surcharge, then that will give them a sharp slap across their faces & bring them to their senses right away.
That will teach them that India is not their vacation hotel, for them to take for granted at their convenience and leisure
sanman

Post by sanman »

New Paki show

sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

sanman

Post by sanman »

Israelis are calling all the shots

sanman

Post by sanman »

Jonathan Pollard on what Israel should do against Iran:

I was reading about few things not easily covered/discussed in the mainstream media. Reading the obvious in the mainstream media is so boring.
  • Ever since the massive blast of ammonium nitrate in 2013, the emigration out of country has seriously hollowed out Lebanon. By one estimate over 500,000 people have left Lebanon over 10 years, that is approx. 10% of population of Lebanon. Who are the beneficiaries of this emigration? Countries in the west with falling TFRs (Same places where displaced Ukies have taken refuge??)
  • Estimates of the percentage of Christians in Lebanon vary, but range from 32% to 43%. If this waar escalates causing another round of displacement of population who benefits the most from the emigration of Lebanese Christians (and Muslims)?
Study warns of ‘drastic change in Lebanon’s demographic fabric’

Oil and Gas
  • If the border between Israel and Lebanon changes, who benefits the most?
Lebanon and Israel’s historic maritime border deal (Feb 2023)
Israeli Gas Field Near Lebanon Starts Production (March 2024)
sanman

Post by sanman »

Israel is now launching into Lebanon its... how shall we say... Special Military Operation

sanman

Post by sanman »

Alistair Crooke:

sanman

Post by sanman »

US Govt Has Announced That Iran Is Preparing An Imminent Missile Strike on Israel

sanman

Post by sanman »

Israel says Iran has launched over 100 missiles.

Cams in Jerusalem show a whole bunch flying through the sky

Former Iranian president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad:

“Iran's Secret Service had established a unit to target Mossad agents within Iran. However, the head of this unit turned out to be a Mossad operative himself, along with 20 other agents."

Iran firing missiles
There will be a Isreali response.
Now will this lead a wider conflict : i.e., wider Muslim-Non/Muslim war.
I somehow feel that this is unlikely
There will be Isreali response but what will it be??
There will be probably major chaos in Iran (regardless of the bravado) and maybe a regime change!!

Why I say that is because somehow i get a feeling that : Isrealis/Deep State/ to some extent Indian Triumvarate want to separate Arabs from Non-Arabs (regardless of Ummah or Dummma).
Small item that BiBi mentioned in his UN speech (IMEC) yes IMEC and talked about benefits.
EAM spoke about manufacturing hub/global south etc.
No major noise/optics from true Arabs i.e., KSA/UAE/Kuwait/Oman except for Qatar
See the non-arab faithfuls and leader is Iran (even though they are Shia) and to some extent Napa'ks are making noise but given their Kashgol state wont amount to much.
And the Wider Sunni world is happy if the shia are taken care by Isreal rather than themselves.
Two birds with one stone

Ramanaji ( a very vocal IMEC supporter) do you think economics ( and to smaller extent Shia/sunni conflict) will trump the wider Muslim/Non-muslim conflict.
Even Eastern muslim blocks are quiet (not frothing at the mouth street protest and looting in the name of Jihard)

sanman wrote: 30 Sep 2024 14:32 As an NRI, I feel that India should charge a head-tax or premium on NRIs who want to visit India.
That premium could vary depending on various factors (just like how your car insurance premium can vary due to your personal factors - age, gender, location, etc)
NRI premium can be higher if you live in a district which has an anti-Indian congressman, MP, etc.
It can be higher if you go to a college or university which is a hotbed of anti-Indian activism, etc.
Premium can be lowered or waived for those who have engaged in pro-India activities.

India should turn the thumbscrews on those who harass India, or even those who consort with harassers of India.

When sepoys have to face head-tax or surcharge, then that will give them a sharp slap across their faces & bring them to their senses right away.
That will teach them that India is not their vacation hotel, for them to take for granted at their convenience and leisure
Arre wah...like a true desi babu, cannot implement any good solutions, so we will tack on another useless rule to create more nuisance value because apparently that will teach them and we are surprised why everyone, including defense officers wants to behave like a bureaucrat :rotfl:

One thing I am seeing on the TV is Israel is able to defend their cities pretty well with Iron Dome / David's sling / Arrow etc.

When it comes to India wonder how the armed forces will defend Delhi /Bombay / Bangalore and other cities when the Chines empty their rockets on Indian cites and strategic centers.

What is concerning is when it comes to numbers (for weapons) Indian armed forces order extremely limited numbers, hope I am wrong and the answer is not "we will defend with what we have" :evil:
Arima

Post by Arima »

till now there is stoic silence from Isreal about the actual damage caused by this missile barrage. i am surprised by videos of actual hits on ground. were these hypersonic which Iron dom and David sling could not intercept?

there will be response but will US also get involved openly is a big questions.
tough days ahead for oil markets.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Experienced and insightful analysis from Scott Ritter

sanman

Post by sanman »

Arima wrote: 02 Oct 2024 07:45 till now there is stoic silence from Isreal about the actual damage caused by this missile barrage. i am surprised by videos of actual hits on ground. were these hypersonic which Iron dom and David sling could not intercept?

there will be response but will US also get involved openly is a big questions.
tough days ahead for oil markets.
Apparently, Biden/Democrats absolutely do NOT want any war during October in the run-up to the elections, where Americans would be sent overseas to a war theater during this sensitive period.
sanman

Post by sanman »

https://www.politico.com/news/2024/09/3 ... h-00181797

US Officials Quietly Backed Israel’s Military Push Against Hezbollah
sanman

Post by sanman »

VinodTK wrote: 02 Oct 2024 07:19 One thing I am seeing on the TV is Israel is able to defend their cities pretty well with Iron Dome / David's sling / Arrow etc.

When it comes to India wonder how the armed forces will defend Delhi /Bombay / Bangalore and other cities when the Chines empty their rockets on Indian cites and strategic centers.

What is concerning is when it comes to numbers (for weapons) Indian armed forces order extremely limited numbers, hope I am wrong and the answer is not "we will defend with what we have" :evil:
One thing's for sure -- Iran has suddenly leapfrogged India in hypersonic missile technology (thanks to help from Russia, of course)
Even Houthis have leapfrogged India with hypersonic missile technology (thanks to aforementioned 2)

Supersonic Brahmos is now totally outclassed by our regional neighbors.
sanman

Post by sanman »

tandav

Post by tandav »

sanman wrote: 02 Oct 2024 11:00
VinodTK wrote: 02 Oct 2024 07:19 One thing I am seeing on the TV is Israel is able to defend their cities pretty well with Iron Dome / David's sling / Arrow etc.

One thing's for sure -- Iran has suddenly leapfrogged India in hypersonic missile technology (thanks to help from Russia, of course)
Even Houthis have leapfrogged India with hypersonic missile technology (thanks to aforementioned 2)

None of the missiles appeared hypersonic. Most seemed subsonic/ballistic to me. Many seemed to have been taken out by some type of lasers or directed energy weapons, some did appear to hit the ground and some seeming fell into the sea.
sanman

Post by sanman »

tandav wrote: 02 Oct 2024 11:44 None of the missiles appeared hypersonic. Most seemed subsonic/ballistic to me. Many seemed to have been taken out by some type of lasers or directed energy weapons, some did appear to hit the ground and some seeming fell into the sea.
It's possible that these were HGVs (Hypersonic Glide Vehicles) but they seemed to have plumes, so I think they were full-blown hypersonic missiles like the Brahmos-2 that we're still trying to develop.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

sanman wrote: 02 Oct 2024 11:00

All ballistic missiles are "hypersonic" . It's the hypersonic cruise missiles that are difficult to target. And no , irans missile tech or noko s tech has not leapfrogged Indian missile tech.
sanman

Post by sanman »

drnayar wrote: 02 Oct 2024 13:32 All ballistic missiles are "hypersonic" . It's the hypersonic cruise missiles that are difficult to target. And no , irans missile tech or noko s tech has not leapfrogged Indian missile tech.
When I say "hypersonic", I'm referring to missiles traveling at hypersonic velocity while having aerodynamic maneuvering capability.

Otherwise, by your definition, we can also call V2 rocket from WW2 as "hypersonic weapon"

I'm talking about either Hypersonic Glide Vehicles or else Hypersonic Cruise Missiles.

It seems to be the ones fired at Tel Aviv were Hypersonic Glide Vehicles, and not necessarily Hypersonic Cruise Missiles.
So perhaps in that case, I'll concede that our Brahmos-2 would then still be more advanced (not that it's ready yet)

However, Israel doesn't seem to have had much luck in stopping the Hypersonic Glide Vehicle weapons thusfar.
Bear in mind that these missiles can maneuver during descent.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Oh he grinning full-on now - "abh maza ayega"

From news sources: Indian Army Chief praises Israel.
He called Israel's move to set up a shell company to make "explosive pagers" and derail Hezbollah terrorists a MASTERSTROKE

He said "The war does not start the day you start fighting, it starts the day you start planning"

"Pager operation required years and years of preparation by Israel"..
sanman

Post by sanman »

Amber G. wrote: 02 Oct 2024 20:51 From news sources: Indian Army Chief praises Israel.
He called Israel's move to set up a shell company to make "explosive pagers" and derail Hezbollah terrorists a MASTERSTROKE

He said "The war does not start the day you start fighting, it starts the day you start planning"

The problem then is that once you weaponize supply chains in this way, then doesn't it open up a whole can of worms?
We have a huge supply chain dependency on China. What if they weaponize this?
sanman

Post by sanman »

isubodh

Post by isubodh »

sanman wrote: 02 Oct 2024 20:55
Amber G. wrote: 02 Oct 2024 20:51 From news sources: Indian Army Chief praises Israel.

The problem then is that once you weaponize supply chains in this way, then doesn't it open up a whole can of worms?
We have a huge supply chain dependency on China. What if they weaponize this?
As if our goodwill hold them back from doing what they can. Same mindset we apply to Pak.
China has already done what it wanted, bugging telecom and other equipments though not explosives(or no one yet discovered)
If it helps they have done it.
We are reactionary, the proactive mindset is not there with Indian defense planners or for that matter any planner.

Per many sources:Opposition leaders of Iran reveal that missiles fired by Iran hit two Iranian cities.
Opposition leaders & public slamming Iran's Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei.
"Misfired" missiles have caused MASSIVE damage in Iran.

BTW: Per some news paper reports: Only person killed in Iranian missile attack against Israel was a Palestinian.