Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 1 Feb 2
Posted: 14 Feb 2015 12:04
MEA Q&A session dealing with upcoming visit of our Foreign Secretary Mr. Subrahmanyam Jaishanker to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:
Transcript of Media Briefing by Official Spokesperson (February 13, 2015) ………………………..
Question:The Prime Minister tweeted this morning that he would be sending the foreign secretary on a SAARC yatra. Will he go to Pakistan and what is the timeline?
Official Spokesperson: Let me try and place this in perspective. You know, cricket is a metaphor for connectivity at the people to people level in those SAARC nations where cricket is popular. You are also aware that the Prime Minister practices multi-layereddiplomacy that is engagement at different levels. There is public diplomacy, there is people to people engagement and of course there is diplomacy at the leadership level. Therefore, Prime Minister’s interaction today with those other south Asian leaders from the SAARC was in pursuit of this cricket as a metaphor for connectivity between our people. In this context, he did contact, as he has himself said, the President of Sri Lanka, the Prime Minister of Bangladesh, the President of Afghanistan and the Prime Minister of Pakistan. He did indicate to them the priority that he places on SAARC and mentioned that the foreign secretary would undertake a yatra. Now, this is not new, because the priority that the government of India places on its relationship with SAARC is not new. The Prime Minister on his first day in office had invited a host of SAARC leaders, all the SAARC countries to be present at his swearing in ceremony. The external affairs minister Smt. Sushma Swaraj has visited 5 of the 7 SAARC members other than India so far. She is expected to undertake a visit to another neighbor and therefore, when a new foreign secretary has takenoffice, the directive of the Prime Minister that he undertakes a SAARC yatra is in continuity of a policy that has been set on day 1. Now, if your question is, does that include Pakistan? My answer to that is, of course it does. The foreign secretary will visit all SAARC countries, including Pakistan.
Question:When Mr. Jaishankar goes to Pakistan, so are we looking at a resumption of dialogue process which was cancelled off in August?
Official Spokesperson:I think all that I said, you didn’t seem to hear. I understand that. Let me repeat it again. I said this was a SAARC yatra. This was engagement or re-emphasis on SAARC. This was a directive by the Prime Minister about India’s engagement with the SAARC. You are aware, when Prime Minister was in Kathmandu, he had listed out a series of efforts that India will make towards SAARC. Let me recollect some of them for you. A SAARC’s satellite, whose utilitI satin is available to all South Asian nations, partnership between South Asian university and one university each in various countries, medical visas for patients from SAARC along with their companions, vaccines for children in South Asia, SAARC business travelers card. I could list out several others. These are the agenda with which the foreign secretary will go to each of the SAARC countries. If your question is that in addition to this would he utilize the opportunity to discuss bilateral issues, obviously nobody misuses an opportunity which is available.
Question:But, there is resumption of dialogues, isn’t it?
Official Spokesperson:Again, let me explain to you, thisis a SAARC yatra. Let me also indicate to you, when diplomats meet, they have met before on sidelines of various events. This is a SAARC yatra in pursuance of Prime Minister’s initiatives at the Kathmandu summit last year. I listed out to you a series of areas that India is interested in pursuing and if you say that opportunities may arise for discussion of other elements other than what I’ve listed, sure, we have a bilateral agenda with all the SAARC countries. We will pursue that bilateral agenda too, given what is possible within the constraints of a short visit to each of these countries.
Question:When is he going to Pakistan in particular?
Official Spokesperson: If your question is, is he leaving this week, my answer is no. If your question is, is he going next week, my answer is no. If your question is, is he visiting Pakistan first, my answer is no. If your question is, anything beyond that, my answer is my vision is limited to two weeks. As you all know, I always announce these just a few days before.
Question:Afghanistan ke President ki Bharat Yatra ke baare me koi abhi vichar ho raha hai kya? Aisi bhi kuch soochnayein aa rahi hain ki Afghanistan ne Bharat ke saath ek bada Arms sauda cancel kar diya hai, to kya iss baare me aapko lagta hai ki Afghanistan Bharat ki bajay China aur Pakistan ko jyada preference de raha hai?
(Is there any news about the upcoming visit of President of Afghanistan? There are some news that Afghanistan has cancelled a big arms deal with India, so do you think that instead of India, Afghanistan is preferring China and Pakistan?)
Official Spokesperson: When Prime minister and President Ashraf Ghani met at the Kathmandu summit of the SAARC, Prime Minister did invite President Ashraf Ghani to visit India at an early date. We are right now, working on modalities for that date. I can assure you that it is our intention that President Ghani visits India at an early date. We are interested in that. President Ghani is interested in that. As there is a proverb in Hindi –jab do taraf razi hain to kya krega koi aur.
Official Spokesperson: India desires a stable, peaceful and independent Afghanistan. To that end, we have a strategic partnership with Afghanistan. Integral to that strategic partnership with Afghanistan is cooperation in the defence sector. That cooperation, the way its proceeds, is based on requests from Afghanistan and our own ability to meet those requests in a manner which we can sustain. That’s where we are. Now you are saying that there were requests, you are saying those requests are withdrawn. I am not aware of those. But I would like to give you the framework of our equation with Afghanistan. We desire a peaceful, stable and independent Afghanistan. Our cooperation in defense is geared towards that.
Question:Today the Press Secretary to the Prime minister of Bangladesh briefed the media there that when Prime minister Modi talked to the Prime Minister Hasina, they talked about (inaudible) many unresolved bilateral issues. So, my question is whether Prime Minister tried to understand about the internal situation of the Bangladesh?
Official Spokesperson: What you are saying is right because I told you when leaders or diplomats talk, they also utilize opportunities. Every opportunitiy should be used. And yes, they did talk about other issues. I will not get into those details of what other issues because this is privileged communication. My job here is to give you the drift of the discussions and the approach that we follow. I can’t be a fly on the wall because then I will be swatted.
Question: You talked about cricket diplomacy. So, is there any SAARC cricket tournament? Something like that is being planned?
Official Spokesperson:I think those of you who follow cricket at the world cup are aware that the five nations from SAARC are playing among themselves four cricket matches. All of you are interested only in the first match. I understand that, but beyond that while India and Pakistan are in one pool, there are three other SAARC nations who are going to play among each other in the other pool. That is Afghanistan plays Bangladesh, Bangladesh plays Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka plays Afghanistan. So, in a way, it’s already underway.
Question: One of the paper carried the story today that the Prime Minister is likely to visit Sri Lanka, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles and Bangladesh in course of next three weeks. Can you please confirm it?
Official Spokesperson: Let me tell you again, I have answered this question, but I will answer it again. All the countries that you listed, we consider as neighbours. Some maritime neighbours, some with who we have a land boundary. Prime Minister is on record as having said that he would like to visit all our neighbours at an early date. I have also said that beyond the frame of ten days, I suffer from short sight.
Question: Is foreign secretary of India going to hold bilateral talks with the foreign secretary of Pakistan when he visits Islamabad?
Official Spokesperson:Let me again try and explain to you. Perhaps my skills at explanations are pretty weak and I understand that I am not able to communicate well to you. But let me tell you. Let’s put it another way. When the Prime Minister of India invited SAARC leaders here, there were discussions relating to SAARC. There were also discussions relating to issues of a bilateral nature among them. Diplomats and leaders utilize every opportunity to push their agenda. So, India will push its agenda.
Question: Again back to the SAARC yatra, is it going to happen in alphabetical order in that case? Do you have some kind of sense how it is going to proceed?
Official Spokesperson: I understand your intention to know how it is. No alphabet is not the basis, neither was it this morning nor is it going to be for the foreign secretary's yatra. These are based on logistical requirements, timing, availability of counter parts etc. So factors other than alphabetical order will determine his visit. Incidentally it may be alphabetical. I will not get into that.
Question: How soon is the yatra going to begin? I mean is it going to be this month or next month?
Official Spokesperson: Once the Prime Minister of India announces it, it is imminent.
Question: There were reports of India denying visa to two people from Vatican. Is it a fact that those were people having minister stage rank and we have tendered an apology?
Official Spokesperson: I have no idea. I have answered this question previously to you. The external affairs ministry is not the place to provide answer to Visa issues. There are other organisations in the government of India, who handle this. I suggest you direct these questions to them and not to the external affairs ministry. You may think we are all powerful, like I see there. All of them seem to repose a lot of confidence in us. We are a small niche ministry handling very specific areas of responsibility.
Question: Again come back to Pakistan Sir. Do you safely assume that India wants to talk to Pakistan but by proxy?Milna to chahte hain magar chupke-chupke! (They want to meet but don’t want to disclose it!)
Official Spokesperson: Isme chupke-chupke kya hai?(There is nothing to hide). Everybody knows that the Prime Minister of India has publicly announced that the foreign secretary of India is undertaking a SAARC yatra.Isme chupke-chupke kya hai? Khullam-khulla hai. (We aren’t hiding anything, we are being very open about it).
Question:Sir, jis tarah se Pradhanmantri beech-beech me Pakistan ke Pradhanmantri se Cricket ke naam pe ya pehle bhi baat karte rahe hain, kya hum maanein ki SAARC ke alawa bhi Bharat aur Pakistan bilateral issues par baat kar rahe hain? Officially jisko aapne August me khatm kar diya tha?
(As our Prime Minister spoke with the Prime Minister of Pakistan on cricket or had been talking on other issues also, so should we believe that India and Pakistan are talking on bilateral issues beyond SAARC, which are officially not being discussed since last August?)
Official Spokesperson: India and Pakistan or India and Bangladesh or India and Sri Lanka, when our leaders talk, they utilize opportunities to discuss other things. Cricket was today’s main item on the agenda. Other issues, when we talk, we will share it with you. If it is a subsidiary issue, this is separate. But today, world cup is starting tomorrow on the fourteenth. Please get ready. Cricket is in the air. It overtakes foreign policy.
Question:India was said to have set the bar pretty high last year in August, when we cancelled the talks because of the high commissioner’s meeting with Hurriyat leaders. So is that condition still there? Will it be there when the FS goes to Pakistan?
Official Spokesperson: I think you haven’t heard a word of what I said. I said and the Prime Minister said that the foreign secretary is travelling on a SAARC yatra. I don’t know whether the SAARC yatra is what we set the bar on. I will give you a list of things that were in SAARC. I also said, if there are other issues on the agenda, we push those issues on the agenda, but this is a SAARC related yatra which is proceeding from a country which will start off with another SAARC country, I have made it very clear. It will include all SAARC countries, I have made it very clear. It will also include Pakistan. India is focused on the SAARC agenda. I will give you a list. Yes, if there are opportunities, we will push our agenda everywhere.
[url=http://www.mea.gov.in/media-briefings.h ... ry_13_2015]Ministry Of External Affairs