Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Ok, Chicken Littles, you can relax now. Sky is safe. Newsom vetoed the bill.

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 01:05 Ok, Chicken Littles, you can relax now. Sky is safe. Newsom vetoed the bill.
saip-ji,

The most perfect and most excellent president - early this morning said he would ban most mortgages for undocumented immigrants, unless they were beautiful. Newscum was Trumped, so the veto is meaningless.

Trump Says He Would Ban Mortgages for Undocumented Immigrants.

Or you could have added 'married to him" :rotfl:
"The most perfect and most excellent president" and a convicted FELON. :rotfl: :rotfl:

saip-ji,

Felon is only when sentenced. Merchan knowing his pee-pee getting slapped pushed it out to 12 November.

The greatest president in world history is an equal opportunity equity man who has stated that “Never underestimate first rate pu$$y”. See below his fairness to all: :mrgreen:

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 05:08 Or you could have added 'married to him" :rotfl:
"The most perfect and most excellent president" and a convicted FELON. :rotfl: :rotfl:
Going too far with this will likely invite moderator actions, unfortunately.

Instead, I have simply designated nuisance posters as "foes" (which effectively blocks them when signed in). Now I watch with amusement as they go to great lengths to copy-paste my posts (which are visible to them when signed out) and then reply to them. It's hilarious and pathetic at the same time. :mrgreen:

BRF - of all places - has oddly become host to a curious set of posters that have thrown in their lot with the last vestiges of "white privilege" . They think they will be somehow benefited/protected to a greater extent. These (mostly) foreign posters are extremely anxious to impress on Indians the need to do the same, with blatant political partisan posts. There is even one Indo-Canadian ("begaani shaadi mein abdulla diwana") in the mix. Together, these posters have bombarded multiple threads with a steady drone of "US deep state is destroying everything". There is nothing much else to be read in the BRF these days.

I question why that is the case, and hence what is the value/purpose of the forum to Indians then?
sanman

Post by sanman »

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 01:05 Ok, Chicken Littles, you can relax now. Sky is safe. Newsom vetoed the bill.
And why not? He has to retain his governor gig -- especially after PartyHighCommand™ vetoed his presidential candidacy for not ticking enough identity checkboxes for VoteBankery.

KL Dubey wrote: 07 Sep 2024 06:34 They think they will be somehow benefited/protected to a greater extent. These (mostly) foreign posters are extremely anxious to impress on
I question why that is the case, and hence what is the value/purpose of the forum to Indians then?
As opposed to benefitting l33t PRCA Indian-Americans who keep sending Ro khanna to COTUS every two years term after term. :rotfl:

KL Dubey wrote: 07 Sep 2024 06:34
Instead, I have simply designated nuisance posters as "foes" (which effectively blocks them when signed in). Now I watch with amusement as they go to great lengths to copy-paste my posts (which are visible to them when signed out) and then reply to them. It's hilarious and pathetic at the same time. :mrgreen:

BRF - of all places - has oddly become host to a curious set of posters that have thrown in their lot with the last vestiges of "white privilege" . They think they will be somehow benefited/protected to a greater extent. These (mostly) foreign posters are extremely anxious to impress on Indians the need to do the same, with blatant political partisan posts. There is even one Indo-Canadian ("begaani shaadi mein abdulla diwana") in the mix. Together, these posters have bombarded multiple threads with a steady drone of "US deep state is destroying everything". There is nothing much else to be read in the BRF these days.

Many people read almost all posts, all you have to do is click to read a post - you need not sign out. If you don't like it, then shoo. The US's intentions are coming out in the open, and it's a good thing. Calling out nonsense posters who promote US establishment policies is a needed thing. Eventually, such posters shall be chased out of BRF, then other places.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Isn't it a strange coincidence that these DOJ announcements about election interference indictments are coming out exactly on the same day that the President's own son Hunter Biden is pleading guilty to tax fraud charges? This is known as "managing the headlines" -- ie. you create a distraction to divert attention from your own scandals -- and these election interference announcements are that distraction. What would America do without the Russians to serve as their scapegoat of convenience? No different than Bangla accusing us of opening dams to deliberately flood them.

Last edited by sanman on 07 Sep 2024 08:52, edited 1 time in total.

Vayutuvan wrote: 07 Sep 2024 06:55 As opposed to benefitting l33t PRCA Indian-Americans who keep sending Ro khanna to COTUS every two years term after term. :rotfl:
Even Ro Khanna is calling out Kamala devi's scam of an unrealized capital gains tax.
https://nypost.com/2024/09/04/us-news/h ... tal-gains/
“Let’s say you’re an entrepreneur, you create a company, it gets to $100 million or $200 million on paper. Now if you’re taxing that, you’re probably going to force that person to sell it,” Khanna, whose Silicon Valley-based district is the wealthiest in the US, told CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

“Do you really want the entrepreneurs to be forced to sell their companies to larger institutions and to decline in value? I don’t think that’s what you want for a startup ecosystem,” added Khanna, who did not mention his fellow Californian by name.

Ro Khanna has tons of VCs in his district… he needs to ensure their voice is heard! I don’t think the policy applies to companies, but would love to see proper wording on this policy.. on personal tax issues, most founders file 83(b), so even if it gets to 200 million, you get to asses taxes as on the date of 83(b) filing date… so a lot of them will be exempt from this…

Corporate tax code is at 28% according to KH proposal.

It’s the personal tax code that this applies to..
sanman

Post by sanman »

Mort Walker wrote: 07 Sep 2024 07:49 Even Ro Khanna is calling out Kamala devi's scam of an unrealized capital gains tax.
She even recently blurted support for price controls. Good grief. Her spin-doctors quickly stepped in to say that she didn't mean it, and that she did understand economics, and was merely speaking "symbolically". WTF? (No, she said those stupid things because she genuinely is that stupid, and genuinely does not understand basic economics. I don't think that lady can multiply 2 single-digit numbers in her head without a calculator.)

She is truly unfit for the presidency of the most powerful country in the world. She is only fit for the needs of the donor class who want the most pliable puppet who can get the idiot Vote Bank vote.

The Bill Clinton presidency sharply lowered the bar on who can become president. Then the Bush & Obama presidencies lowered it further.
Biden broke the glass ceiling for senile geriatrics.

Nixon did price controls in 1971 when unemployment and inflation were >6% (old method of calculation was more realistic). It was a disaster as it locked down wages employers could pay, but at the same time the inflation rate remained high.

Cybaru wrote: 07 Sep 2024 08:04 Ro Khanna has tons of VCs in his district… he needs to ensure their voice is heard! I don’t think the policy applies to companies, but would love to see proper wording on this policy.. on personal tax issues, most founders file 83(b), so even if it gets to 200 million, you get to asses taxes as on the date of 83(b) filing date… so a lot of them will be exempt from this…

Cybaru-ji,

Ro is correct on this one.

Most businesses are pass through entities (LLCs or S-corporations) and are not subject to corporate tax rates, but at individual tax rates. With Kamala devi being a chameleon and changing her position on a weekly or daily basis, we simply don't know what her policies are. Companies will not re-invest and move capital out of the US. The proposed corporate tax rate of 28% puts it higher than the average of developed countries. This puts an incentive to move businesses out of the US.

I know private owners of two engineering firms that I work with that have between $100-$200M/year gross profits, with some years exceeding that amount. They're reluctant to make any big investment or changes until after Jan. 2025. They want clarity on tax policy. With Orange Esamasi, they know tax rates for small & medium size companies will remain low.

Mort Walker wrote: 07 Sep 2024 10:00
Cybaru wrote: 07 Sep 2024 08:04 Ro Khanna has tons of VCs in his district… he needs to ensure their voice is heard! I don’t think the policy applies to companies, but would love to see proper wording on this policy.. on personal tax issues, most founders file 83(b), so even if it gets to 200 million, you get to asses taxes as on the date of 83(b) filing date… so a lot of them will be exempt from this…

Cybaru-ji,

Ro is correct on this one.

Most businesses are pass through entities (LLCs or S-corporations) and are not subject to corporate tax rates, but at individual tax rates. With Kamala devi being a chameleon and changing her position on a weekly or daily basis, we simply don't know what her policies are. Companies will not re-invest and move capital out of the US. The proposed corporate tax rate of 28% puts it higher than the average of developed countries. This puts an incentive to move businesses out of the US.

I know private owners of two engineering firms that I work with that have between $100-$200M/year gross profits, with some years exceeding that amount. They're reluctant to make any big investment or changes until after Jan. 2025. They want clarity on tax policy. With Orange Esamasi, they know tax rates for small & medium size companies will remain low.
Sure, but her tax policies will help hundreds of the employees of these firms.. If they feel their interest as owners/ceos is best served in another region/country, they should do it...

Trump, whether people like it or not IS a COVICTED FELON (34 times over). The sentencing part is only relevant for voting purposes. The very fact that shysters in his employ are not sending out cease and desist letters left, right and center to all those calling him a felon (and suing them for defamation) proves my point.

Deep state this, deep state that? What is the name of the person who is actually running the executive branch of the United States of America? Pause to think about this.

The Judiciary/FBI/CIA all come up with trumped up charges and Business man Trump not being a crooked US legal honcho is charged with ridiculous and frivolous charges (they are all laughable crap). The ones who would have hung on the gallows are traitors like Hillary Clinton, Bill Clinton, Obummer, Bidenwa son Hunter and more dumbocrats. They all sold secrets to China, to Ukraine, etc. Hillary's debauchery with elections is enough to lock her up in prison for good. These are real crooks, all lawyers. I don't when the World would rid itself of lawyers as a profession.

With the DOJ filing this week around handles peddling conspiracy theories, this is so valid.. Waiting on the other shoe to drop...

Mort Walker wrote: 07 Sep 2024 23:35 Deep state this, deep state that? What is the name of the person who is actually running the executive branch of the United States of America? Pause to think about this.
I am unsure what you are saying, maybe we agree?

Deep State: where speculation meets fantasy, and fact-checking goes to die. Just like Moriarty's clever schemes, it sounds convincing until you realize there's no actual evidence. At BR, we used to dismiss unnamed sources in news reports; now it's time to apply the same skepticism to this Deep State nonsense.

Cybaru-ji,

I posted a response in the deep state thread.
sanman

Post by sanman »

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 23:01 Trump, whether people like it or not IS a COVICTED FELON (34 times over). The sentencing part is only relevant for voting purposes. The very fact that shysters in his employ are not sending out cease and desist letters left, right and center to all those calling him a felon (and suing them for defamation) proves my point.
In Left-ruled America, every political opponent will be declared a felon and a criminal.

Tulsi Gabbard, a Hindu-American politician, military veteran, and prominent critic of Kamala Harris has been put on a terror watchlist and is now continually subjected to constant harassment and surveillance by the security state. And Tulsi herself was until recently a Democrat who ran for president under that party's banner. She's being punished for daring to attack the puppet-designate Kamala Harris.

Mort Walker wrote: 07 Sep 2024 23:35 Deep state this, deep state that? What is the name of the person who is actually running the executive branch of the United States of America? Pause to think about this.
3-letter agencies (CIA, FBI, IRS, etc) wield huge power, and are far more relevant for exercising control over the population compared to the Railroad Retirement Board.

But these organizations are just acting as henchmen after being infiltrated by the special interest lobbies which have planted their loyalists there.

It's the lobbies who connive and coalesce together to push for a certain agenda. It's these state organs which come under their control to make that agenda happen.

Mort Walker wrote: 08 Sep 2024 02:20 Cybaru-ji,

I posted a response in the deep state thread.
Oh goodness! There is a deep state thread!?! :shock:

Okay let me go find that now..

Update: found it, not sure its my cuppa thing... So will skip that..

Mort Walker wrote: 07 Sep 2024 07:49 Even Ro Khanna is calling out Kamala devi's scam of an unrealized capital gains tax.
“Let’s say you’re an entrepreneur, you create a company, it gets to $100 million or $200 million on paper. Now if you’re taxing that, you’re probably going to force that person to sell it,” Khanna, whose Silicon Valley-based district is the wealthiest in the US, told CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

“Do you really want the entrepreneurs to be forced to sell their companies to larger institutions and to decline in value? I don’t think that’s what you want for a startup ecosystem,” added Khanna, who did not mention his fellow Californian by name.
Yeah. I saw him talking about it on FNN. Thanks for posting this link. That said, he is still scummy.

sanman wrote: 07 Sep 2024 09:08 [(No, she said those stupid things because she genuinely is that stupid, and genuinely does not understand basic economics. I don't think that lady can multiply 2 single-digit numbers in her head without a calculator.)
I suspect even with a calculator. One needs to know what a number is and what is multiplication and its arity. :wink:

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 23:01 ... right and center to all those calling him a felon (and suing them for defamation) proves my point.
To prove defamation, The bar for a public persona to prove that somebody defamed them is very high indeed in the US. Correctly so, IMHO.

Is this an endorsement or part of the continued gaslighting of Harris by Republicans claiming to vote for her?

Dick Cheney says he’s voting for Harris in November

Dick Cheney and all of his followers - a grand total of two - his daughter and his wife.

saip wrote: 07 Sep 2024 23:01 Trump, whether people like it or not IS a COVICTED FELON (34 times over). The sentencing part is only relevant for voting purposes.
Could you please list the 34 counts on which he found guilty in simple terms, off the top of your head? It would be educational in more than one ways. :mrgreen:

MSNBC probably supports Lula and the Chief justice of Brazil. Mindbogglingly commie these people turning into are.

https://californiaglobe.com/fr/eric-gar ... is-career/

Eric Garcetti Perjury: He lied About #MeToo Allegations to Save His Career

The story does carry with it a sense of vindication for those who stood up and told the truth

By Thomas Buckley, September 7, 2024 3:25 am

“Mom, can I have ten bucks to go the movies?”

“And where did your allowance go?”

“Um, well, you know…”

“Mom, can I have $100,000 to be ambassador to India?”

“And where did your moral compass go?”

“Um, well, you know…”

It is a rare thing when the California Globe compliments NPR – a very rare thing.

But credit where credit is due as NPR just took a deep dive into the circumstances surrounding former Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti’s desperate, almost certainly perjury-filled, effort to deny the existence of the very nasty City Hall sexual harassment and bullying scandal involving his longtime political fixer Rick Jacobs.

NPR looked at hours of video taped depositions involving the legal matters that swirled around the allegations, allegations that resulted in a $1.8 million settlement payout of one of Jacobs’ primary targets

Now, one typically does not have to file public records requests to confirm that 2 + 2 = 4 and news that Garcetti lied under oath does not come as a surprise – at all.

But the story – from one of the most reliably leftist media organizations on the planet – does carry with it a sense of vindication for those who stood up and told the truth (the whistleblowers and, for that matter, the Globe) during Garcetti’s seemingly endless, definitely torturous Senate confirmation process.

“NPR’s in-depth investigation erases any remaining doubt that Eric Garcetti enabled a culture of sexual harassment and intimidation at Los Angeles City Hall and twice lied about it under oath,” said Naomi Seligman, Garcetti’s former communications director and a leading whistleblower. “He should not have been confirmed as U.S. Ambassador to India and is unfit to hold any future public office.”

If he lied under oath, there isn't much future for him... we will see.

Cybaru wrote: 08 Sep 2024 10:28 If he lied under oath, there isn't much future for him... we will see.

such guys never lie, Cybaru ji.

They are creatively erudite while ingeniously obfuscating the perception of ground reality to suit chosen personal aspirations

when placed in a socially complex scenario, they are aurally and optically challenged, as also severely afflicted by short term memory loss that tactically helps them to advance their career prospects by aligning their interests with a path of cultural cognition that is most advantageous to their future prospects

how many such people has anyone met, too many to count I guess

vera_k wrote: 08 Sep 2024 04:23 Is this an endorsement or part of the continued gaslighting of Harris by Republicans claiming to vote for her?

Dick Cheney says he’s voting for Harris in November
One of the most evil persons in the early 21st century is endorsing Kamala Devi speaks volumes as to the meddling a Harris administration will do. I’m still sifting through the details of Rahul Gandhi & other prominent INC leaders meeting with Kamala & Obama. On the face of it, it’s intense meddling in upcoming state elections in India. FRCA needs to be invoked where INC persons passports recalled and assets frozen.

chetak wrote: 08 Sep 2024 11:37
Cybaru wrote: 08 Sep 2024 10:28 If he lied under oath, there isn't much future for him... we will see.

such guys never lie, Cybaru ji.

They are creatively erudite while ingeniously obfuscating the perception of ground reality to suit chosen personal aspirations

when placed in a socially complex scenario, they are aurally and optically challenged, as also severely afflicted by short term memory loss that tactically helps them to advance their career prospects by aligning their interests with a path of cultural cognition that is most advantageous to their future prospects

how many such people has anyone met, too many to count I guess
Please no "Ji"

it depends on the questions. Sometimes, you cannot spin your way out of it. We will see how this plays out.. Also the transcripts will be available somewhere that NPR used. Might make sense to skim through it to see what caught their eye...

Also it seems like a staffer under Garcetti is the actual prepetrator rather than Garcetti... I haven't been following the story. if it is a staffer, then it has less to no weight... it may not mean much.. but he shouldn't have covered for his staffer... its best to get rid of idiots.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Vayutuvan wrote: 08 Sep 2024 04:43 MSNBC probably supports Lula and the Chief justice of Brazil. Mindbogglingly commie these people turning into are.
Vayutavan-ji, there's plenty more where that came from. All the Dem honchos have suddenly gotten their knives out for Musk.
Whereas they were grudgingly tolerating him before, it's as if their collective patience with him has now suddenly snapped.
Or else a new election campaign stunt is being rolled out, in targeting Musk.
I don't think this is really about Brazil or Venezuela - it's about Musk's willingness to serve in Trump cabinet in the role of cutting Deep State down to size.

sanman

Post by sanman »

sanjaykumar wrote: 09 Sep 2024 04:12 Apparently Kamlala Harris is beginning to look mighty fine to some folks. It is the proximity to power and our primate brains.
Kamala is even looking fine enough to Dick Cheney (US SecDef under Bush 41 and VP for Bush 43)

I thought Dick Cheney was a republican, I guess he finally put "country over party!". Something we keep asking a particular community in India and complain when we don't see enough evidence..
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cybaru wrote: 09 Sep 2024 05:16 I thought Dick Cheney was a republican, I guess he finally put "country over party!". Something we keep asking a particular community in India and complain when we don't see enough evidence..
Haha! I hope you were being tongue-in-cheek/sarcastic. :P