Page 218 of 364

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:02
by Prem Kumar
I have a sneaking suspicion that the MEA (& the media) will downplay the PNG declaration & expelling of DK. They will instead claim victory by stating that the US "agreed" that she had immunity & "both" India and the US agreed that a tranfser to India was the best possible course of action. MEA will also claim that the fact that she wasnt tried is a victory for its diplomacy. Bottomline, they will not treat this as "expelling a diplomat"

All this will imply that India wouldnt expel any US diplomat

I hope I am proved wrong

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:03
by vic
Kati wrote:Now that one curtain is coming down on the DK matter, there are some valid questions -
As an IFS officer DK's spouse was/is supposed to take the Indian citizenship. Their kids are about 7 and 3 years old, i.e., they have been married for 8 years. How come the 'filojophy proofsaar' still dilly-dallying with the citizenship issue? Or, was DK trying to
keep her two feet in two boats for as long as possible? If so, then it must be papa Khobragade trying to help her keep the status quo after getting her the adarsh flat.
This is indeed a serious issue we need to talk about openly, and should write scathing letters in various desi newspapers. I know one desi IFS person who took early retirement after spending a few years at a plump post in an european country. There is a possibility (just my speculation) that DK could have followed the same path after her US tenure. In a way, this amounts to give a slip to the MEA rule.
She learned from the waitress who kept her Italian citizenship for a longtime.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:18
by g.sarkar
My closing thoughts on the topic of Dr.K.: I am truly happy that she has returned with only some damage. We at BR forum had many a good laugh in the past when Sher Khan administered a jhapad to our good neighbors the Pukes. Nobody pays the green moolah like the Sher Khan. So, for every jhapad Sher Khan deposited billions. Of course none of this bounty was ever seen by the Aam Puke janta, it was kept by the junta. These were parked in Western accounts, as far from the Aaam eyes as possible, to be enjoyed by the jernails and the kernails for the shabab and the kabab. Now that the wise Dr. MMS brought India and the USA close together in his wisdom, and made us underwear buddies, we see the administration of the first ever Jhapad, just to show who wears the pants in this relationship, and forget the ==. Keep a stiff upper lip as the Brits say and have a good laugh at ourselves. In this path of togetherness with the US more sudden jhapads are sure to come, because we Injuns tend to get uppity and Massa will put us in our place. Regarding taking revenge, maintaining the pressure etc., who will do all that? Dr. MMS? Madamji? Shahzada Pappuji? Khujliwala?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:20
by sivab
Prem Kumar wrote:I have a sneaking suspicion that the MEA (& the media) will downplay the PNG declaration & expelling of DK.

Technically, US cannot declare a person with UN diplomatic immunity, PNG. They can only "request" him/her to leave US. This is what happened in this case as well and so MEA is right in saying that she was "transferred" back to ND. So don't hold your breath for any retaliatory action by MEA, as depressing as that may sound.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:44
by Yayavar
US embassy put up the barriers unilaterally *and* Delhi Police/MEA/GoI kept quiet? amazing ...Is Shashi Tharoor right in this claim?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:46
by Vayutuvan
ramana wrote:The trap was sprung in June 2013 with that letter from 170 Congressmen.
ramana garu: Another complicating factor is that President Obama made up his mind already that the jobs are getting "Bangalored". May be the letter was like adding more fuel to the fire. We need to explain DoS and Secy Kerry and his organization's part in the la affaire de Khobragade.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:56
by sivab
http://in.reuters.com/article/2014/01/1 ... GW20140110
According to documents provided by Arshack, the U.S. mission sent a letter to Khobragade on Wednesday granting her diplomatic status as of 5.47 p.m. (2147 GMT) that day.

On Thursday, the Indian mission to the United Nations rejected the State Department's request that her immunity be waived. Then in a diplomatic note, the U.S. mission requested Khobragade's immediate departure from the United States and said it would take steps to prevent her from obtaining a visa in the future. It also said Khobragade, 39, who is married to an American, risked arrest if she tried to return.

"Upon her departure a warrant may be issued for her arrest and should she seek to enter the United States she could be arrested," the note said.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 09:58
by Vayutuvan
Mort Walker wrote:No problem. She can send them to the American School in Delhi. :)
Sir, You made my day.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:01
by symontk
viv wrote:US embassy put up the barriers unilaterally *and* Delhi Police/MEA/GoI kept quiet? amazing ...Is Shashi Tharoor right in this claim?
lets not tar people based on some unbaked knowledge, its not easy to get Indian citizen ship. (Bolded part mine)

Citizenship by naturalisation
A foreigner who has resided in India for twelve years may naturalise as an Indian citizen. The applicant must have lived a total of 12 years in India in a period of 14 years, and must have lived in India for 12 months uninterrupted prior to applying for citizenship

Sonia Gandhi was out most part of 70's and so if you look at the dates, she could have applied only by 80's which she did. Also Devayani's husband will have to go thru similar process (may be less years), which I don't think he has and so he may not be granted citizenship in near future

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:10
by Arjun
So Devyani has been made to leave the US on charges of visa fraud !

Ball is now clearly in GOI's court....Hope there are appropriate retaliatory steps both for DK's humiliation & expulsion as well as for the spiriting away of SR & husband by the US.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:16
by Yayavar
symontk wrote:
viv wrote:US embassy put up the barriers unilaterally *and* Delhi Police/MEA/GoI kept quiet? amazing ...Is Shashi Tharoor right in this claim?
lets not tar people based on some unbaked knowledge, its not easy to get Indian citizen ship. (Bolded part mine)

Citizenship by naturalisation
A foreigner who has resided in India for twelve years may naturalise as an Indian citizen. The applicant must have lived a total of 12 years in India in a period of 14 years, and must have lived in India for 12 months uninterrupted prior to applying for citizenship

Sonia Gandhi was out most part of 70's and so if you look at the dates, she could have applied only by 80's which she did. Also Devayani's husband will have to go thru similar process (may be less years), which I don't think he has and so he may not be granted citizenship in near future
good clarification but you were responding to a different comment by someone perhaps. The above comment was on ST's claim.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:20
by pankajs
I think now that action has been taken to allow us to judge the cursed and GOI on their promise the politics can start on this issue in earnest.

Hope to hear from NaMo soon on this issue and would expect him to tear into the UPA appeasement policy towards Us as being responsible for the humiliation of our diplomat.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:32
by pankajs
If GOI has any shame left it should keep the pressure on US embassy and consulates in India.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:33
by Arjun
pankajs wrote:I think now that action has been taken to allow us to judge the cursed and GOI on his promise the politics can start on this issue in earnest.

Hope to hear from NaMo soon on this issue.
I would give a week or so more for signs of action from GOI. Elections around the corner might yet make a difference...

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:36
by member_28352
Question now is do we have the guts to make PB an accused in SR kidnapping/removing from due process of law case. In addition some US diplomutts should also be made accused and Interpol RCN should be issued. Since we follow Vienna convention in letter and spirit diplomutts involved in this incident should be asked to leave. That shouldn't preclude us however from arresting a diplomutt on a fraud/tax-evasion/excise evasion case post withdrawl of consular immunity. One great Indic character failing is that by nature we aren't very process oriented and which is why we swallowed the insult of APJ and GF's patdowns and later incidents on Massa "important relationship" verbal calisthenics. BTW how do we prevent GOI from giving back the privileges to the US embassy. Invariably over a period of time the MEA/GOI will give it back to them. Can aam admis file RTIs?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:41
by vina
Oh well, this is how it ends. So, Devyani gets to fly out free, can enter US as long as she has diplomatic immunity (theoretically, the govt of india can post her right back to UN and New York and the US is treaty bound to honor it, nothing anyone can do about it, but I guess both sides have agreed to withdraw her), and now, we can expect an arrest in New Delhi in a short while of a equivalently ranked US consul officer/associate officer, briefly incarcerated , passport impounded and served a deportation notice after 2 weeks . Both sides call it quits after that and get on with life.

But I am sure that behind the scenes a few heads will roll shortly in the US SD, especially the person who authorized prosecution of DK, and once they did, NOT mark her for "special handling" (fragile , handle with extreme care) by the US Marshals (who just did what they always do to everybody) and the US diplomats lives will be made miserable here for a long time to come , while the GOI circumvents US SD and goes on to build relations with the other arms of the US Govt.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:42
by pankajs
Election is our only hope .. not that it will lead to any significant action on the US side .. but just to keep the issue alive and simmering till the next government takes over. This is to put a stop to whatever last minute "gifts" our dear leader had in mind for massa.

Munna's outburst against NaMo should be seen in that context. If not for the threat of NaMo walking away with this issue it would have gone just the way Krittika's case had.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:47
by Philip
Our IAS babus and their ilk,love foreign jaunts,postings,sabbaticals,etc.Many do not return,or fix up lucrative posts after doing favours and tricks for firang masters,the US being the prime example.Seats and jobs for kids,kith and kin,are rampant.These should be stopped at once.Some time ago we were told that many govt. servants are playing truant and have been abroad for a few years without official sanction.It is past time that these odious practices were ended.The ease with which the US has sprinted out RAW agents,and others like the Richards fly.,is appalling.Without connivance at the top level,these incidents would not be possible.There should be a huge clean up of the "iron frame" by the new dispensation,the first priority.Otherwise it will be business as usual.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:50
by pankajs
ShankarCag wrote:Question now is do we have the guts to make PB an accused in SR kidnapping/removing from due process of law case. In addition some US diplomutts should also be made accused and Interpol RCN should be issued. Since we follow Vienna convention in letter and spirit diplomutts involved in this incident should be asked to leave. That shouldn't preclude us however from arresting a diplomutt on a fraud/tax-evasion/excise evasion case post withdrawl of consular immunity. One great Indic character failing is that by nature we aren't very process oriented and which is why we swallowed the insult of APJ and GF's patdowns and later incidents on Massa "important relationship" verbal calisthenics. BTW how do we prevent GOI from giving back the privileges to the US embassy. Invariably over a period of time the MEA/GOI will give it back to them. Can aam admis file RTIs?
By all means make a case against PB/US diplomat stationed in Delhi and file charges. Just like in the case of DK, arrest and apply Indian SOP. Follow it up by asking US gov. to waive immunity, etc leading up to expulsion of the India based US diplomat. That should be sufficient .. no need to issue Interpol RCN or take the issue beyond what has happened in DK's case.

However, publicize that PB or any other party to the court case that land in India without diplomatic status will be arrested on Arrival.

NaMo and elections are the best way to ensure that reciprocity for US embassy and staff is maintained at the levels granted to Indian diplomats.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:55
by member_28352
^^^^You will agree that any solution has to be independent of whoever comes to power. If that is not the case then no country will take us seriously. Also your insistence on a completely mirror image response will not really have the Americans quaking in their moccasins. We should do whatever is needed according to the full limits of our law. Only if we respect our law can we expect others to respect us and our laws. Lastly this line of thought is perhaps OT in this thread.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 10:57
by merlin
The following should be done immediately by the napunsaks in Dilli (oops, thats an oxymoron now)

1. File charges in a Dilli court against Preet Bharara, unnamed US marshals (or named ones if we know their names) and others for custodial rape of DK. Try them in absentia.
2. File charges in a Dilli court against the US officials in the US embassy who gave visas to the maids family members when an Indian court had restrained them from leaving. Ty them in absentia if they have fled the coop.
3. Arrest a US diplomat of equal rank and then expel him/her.
4. Immediately move into a transactional mode in any and all dealings with the US.

To not do the above will forever brand India in my eyes as a US lackey.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:01
by Arjun
vina wrote:... and now, we can expect an arrest in New Delhi in a short while of a equivalently ranked US consul officer/associate officer, briefly incarcerated , passport impounded and served a deportation notice after 2 weeks ....
True...but the GOI also has a duty to bring that warm, familiar feeling of being back in the US, to some of these diplomats who are in India on a 'hardship posting', by conducting a full-fledged cavity search on them. This should be an exception solely for the benefit of American diplomats - taking into account their native culture and preferences.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:04
by pankajs
Not a victory: What India must learn from the Khobragade case
India's decision to bring Devyani Khobragade back after the US granted her diplomatic immunity is actually a near defeat for us - assuming we are going to let it rest there. Khobragade's return merely removes the immediate threat of her facing charges in court, but the charges remain and Khobragade cannot obviously return to the US without diplomatic immunity. And there is little chance the US will ever gracefully give her that, even though her husband and children are American citizens.

Moreover, the US has not even apologised for failing to respect Khobragade's diplomatic immunity - which ultimately led to her arrest and strip and 'cavity search'. The US marshal service has denied any cavity search but there is no reason why we should believe them rather than our own diplomat.

The situation as it stands now is a mere stalemate - and totally unsatisfactory from an Indian point of view.There is clearly more we need to do to set Indo-US relations on a foundation of respect and reciprocity. We cannot let the matter rest here and there are lessons to learn from it.

First, we have to go after every US diplomat who breaks our laws with the same diligence the US does even after Khobragade is back. We have to get them booked and brought to court, though we can spare them the "cavity searches." It does not matter if the offences relate to traffic violations or underpayment of Indian staff. If we do not have a US citizen facing arrest here, we cannot have a bargaining chip to get the charges against Khobragade dropped.

Second, the measures taken against US embassy staff and others - withdrawal of liquor permits, removal of the road barriers outside the Delhi embassy, etc - should remain. These were unilateral benefits we gave without any need to do so. The US does not give us any such concessions on its territory. Nor should we. Unlike what US commentators have said, this is not about compromising security since the vigil has actually been enhanced after the removal of barriers.

Third, we have to now develop our own capabilities to track US spies operating in India under the guise of diplomacy. In Pakistan, the CIA and other US spies are tracked and checked at every point. They are watched all the time. While it is true that they (the Pakistanis) have much to hide (their terror outfits, etc), if we do not do the same it will give us no leverage. The reason why the US will not help us bring David Coleman Headley to justice for his role in 26/11 is because he was a double-agent - he spied for the US and helped the jihadis. This is the price we pay for harbouring a naïve belief that US spies operating in India have nothing but our best interests at heart. We cannot be so foolish.

Four, we have to ensure that the Richard family - which was spirited away from India under the plea that Khobragade was indulging in human trafficking and her family was under threat here - continue to face trial in Indian courts. If they can keep Khobragade away from her US husband, we should ensure that the Richards can never return here - unless it is to face justice.

Five, the special entry and freedom from frisking that we offer US officials should be withdrawn. And remain so, unless there is complete reciprocity.

Six, there is this business about maids. Perhaps we have to abandon the idea in future, or pay our diplomats more, so that they can afford creches and maids at US rates for their children. Or we may have to negotiate a deal with the US that dependent nannies need not be paid local wages - just as Indian employees of US consular staff need not be paid US wages.

However, we should continue to insist on US consulate staff giving us all the details of the staff they employ, the wages they pay, and the hours they work - to check if they are in contravention of our laws. We must rigorously pursue this even after the Khobragade affair is buried.

Seven, a complete eyeopener to us should be how the US media behaved with regards to Khobragade. Barring a few stray voices, almost all US newspapers had no sympathy for India's side of the story, even though there was huge criticism in our media - even bitter and insulting ones - on Khobragade. Many on our side actually stood with the US against our own diplomat. Almost no US journo did so on their side. What does this tell us about our fawning attitude to the US?

Eight, the diplomatic immunity and maid underpayment issues have been needlessly conflated in the Indian media. Quite apart from the fact that Sangeeta Richard was not ill-treated in any way by Khobragade, and that she was a willing partner in the visa misstatement (she went along with it as she wanted to emigrate to the US), we cannot use Khobragade's alleged local standing (she was apparently a beneficiary in the Adarsh Society flat allotments) to conclude that the US can violate her diplomatic status.

To give a more extreme analogy - should we condone a molestation just because the woman concerned may not be all that squeaky clean in her financial dealings? The two crimes have to be dealt with separately. She may be a victim in one crime and a perpetrator in another. But that does not give us the freedom to abandon her in the crime where she is the victim.

Nine, too much nonsense has been written on the subject of maids and their treatment in India just because Khobragade's case involves a maid and her underpayment. Richard was well looked after by Indian standards, and this case has nothing to do with the general issue of ill-treatment of maids in India. Khobragade's crime is underpayment by US standards - which is a legal lapse but not an ethical or moral one. The ethical or moral one relates to Richard, who used Khobragade to realise her dream of settling in the US.

So the key lesson for us Indians is this: we have to stand by our people when they are targeted abroad. It does not matter if those Indians may not be so well thought of here. The US stood by a man - Richard Davies - who killed two people in Pakistan but the Americans bailed him out even though he was not a diplomat and had no immunity.

This is what we should learn from the US: stand by your own people when they are in trouble. And fight your local battles locally.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:05
by member_28352
^^We aren't jerks, perverts or rapists. Technically any Indian officer doing the above could be tried under Sec 377 :mrgreen: And yes we also don't have biased "grand juries" who invariably let off police officers. There are other Indian ways to achieve the same end. I say leave it to the experts, the Indian police, to decide on the appropriate course of action.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:11
by amit
The final charge did not include "trafficking" which probably was the most serious of the allegation since SR's ticket was paid for by the GoI. Now that raises the issue of SR's husband and children who, if I recall, were given T2 and T3 visas which are reserved for the families of victims of human trafficking who get the T1 visa. (See link

Now if the actual charges do not include trafficking then I think that makes it a interesting case to pursue regarding the spiriting away of the Richards family.

Of course one needs to see if the GoI has the b**ls to follow up on this.

PS: Was hearing Karl Inderfurth on BBC. He was scathing in his criticism of the handling of the case. Though he chose his words carefully, it was obvious that he though there was no case in the first place. I point this out as it may be wrong for us to think that the whole of the US institutional hierarchy was behind this move. I think, with the Dec holidays on, some low level guy with a pro-Paki bias in SD got to call the shots on this one and boy what a screw up! Recall that initial reports indicated that SD was cooperating with DK to trace SR and deport her.

It's a pity that the case did not go through. I would have loved to have seen how the Preet bhaiya and his ilk would have explained way the fact that it was, in fact DK who first went to the police.

Let's see how this pans out. Hope there are more morchas in Delhi over this incident.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:18
by amit
Bravo,

Great article. I hope more such articles are written in the media to keep the pressure up. The temptation to drop things now that DK is back home would be too great.

Amit

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:21
by pankajs
That is why NaMo needs to take it forward else the establishment will go into forgive and forget mode.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:34
by Prasad

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:37
by Mahesh_R
pankajs wrote: .. no need to issue Interpol RCN or take the issue beyond what has happened in DK's case.
Yes..they had slapped us once we should also slap ONLY once not more...right sir ?
We cannot slap harder than them or more than what they have done..sending out the msg yes we will ONLY do what you have done to us and we do NOT have guts to more than that...

well to be frank even if goi does what you have mentioned I would be happy but expectation is the slap should be much harder than what they have done to us...

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:40
by SSridhar
amit wrote:PS: Was hearing Karl Inderfurth on BBC. He was scathing in his criticism of the handling of the case. Though he chose his words carefully, it was obvious that he though there was no case in the first place. I point this out as it may be wrong for us to think that the whole of the US institutional hierarchy was behind this move. I think, with the Dec holidays on, some low level guy with a pro-Paki bias in SD got to call the shots on this one and boy what a screw up! Recall that initial reports indicated that SD was cooperating with DK to trace SR and deport her.
amit, I am unable to concur with the conclusion that it was a rogue operation by a low-level guy in the SD which led to this massive incident. There are many reasons. The SD spokesperson had clearly stated that Kerry was very much in the loop over this affair. If it had been a low-level action, the higher levels in the GotUS must have resolved the matter quickly and in a more amicable manner than simply allowing the Indian Consul to escape on a technical point of post-incident immunity. Remember that they did not clear her under VCCR immunity or they did not think the charges had no merit and they did not drop charges. They are rubbing salt into the wound by advising her not to return to the US at all in future. These would not have happened had the upper levels not supported the lower levels in their actions. The highest levels such as Kerry and Obama knew that the so-called 'strategic' relationship was taking a big hit but did not bother to resolve the issue especially when a 'maid' could be the cause of such an acrimonious rift.

No. To me at least, it is not so simple. We do not yet know well whether it is an internal rift at highest levels of the US Government (unlikely IMO), trade issues between us and them, Afghanistan etc. There is no convincing explanation so far. May be, time will tell.

In the meanwhile, we *have to* retaliate in kind and whatever we have done so far is peanuts. We should have a water-tight case when we do that.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:43
by merlin
pankajs wrote:That is why NaMo needs to take it forward else the establishment will go into forgive and forget mode.
IMO he won't. Needs a US visa in the future, he does.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:47
by Mahesh_R
merlin wrote:
pankajs wrote:That is why NaMo needs to take it forward else the establishment will go into forgive and forget mode.
Sir...why not AJ or RS can take the issue if not NaMo ?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:51
by shyam
SSridhar wrote:So, basically, the US has clarified that it does not go by Vienna Conventions on Consular Relations, 1963, though it has signed it (but not ratified it)
Talking about reciprocity, India need to give Vienna Convention Consular protections only to those countries that follow the same convention.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:52
by amit
Sridhar,

May be you're right when you say this was sanctioned from the highest levels. But I brought up the Karl's comments because it could be there's no broad bipartisan support for this action. It could even be that Democrats outside the immediate government may not have been totally behind this (folks like Hillary). The interesting point is that unlike previous cases this was treated as a "criminal" case from the very start and not a civil case like the Dayal case, despite the fact that there were initial sexual harassment allegations (which were subsequently dropped). As you say maybe the fact will come out later.

As to your other point, agree 400 per cent.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 11:55
by amit
merlin wrote:
NaMo is an unknown quantity in foreign affairs so we should give him the benefit of doubt in the positive sense - meaning we should hope and even expect that he'll follow a more robust India-first foreign policy.

However, the record of the previous NDA sarkar in foreign policy has been less than stellar. Remember: "My friend Talbot..."?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 12:07
by vic
I do not believe in “Conspiracy theory” but I do accept the “extreme arrogance” theory. Indians politicians, media, police and bureaucracy has been supplicating before US Embassy for small or big favors which gave them the illusion of being lords of India. As part of this arrogance, somebody like Urza Shamim Zeya decided to get our diplomat abducted and raped in order to teach us a lesson that we should not even disobey dictates of house servants of US Embassy personnel. Kerry may have been loop in a vague sort of way. I don't think he would have paid much attention to what he thought was a maid issue. The issue is what will munna do??

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 12:08
by SSridhar
On the question of fears of 'forgive and forget' by the establishment, I feel that bureaucracy which has long memory especially when one of its own is so badly treated, would not let it go easily but political leadership could, irrespective of party affiliations. That is a real possibility.

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 12:09
by RCase
shyam wrote:
SSridhar wrote:So, basically, the US has clarified that it does not go by Vienna Conventions on Consular Relations, 1963, though it has signed it (but not ratified it)
Talking about reciprocity, India need to give Vienna Convention Consular protections only to those countries that follow the same convention.
Can someone clarify what the nuance 'signed but not ratified' means? If it is not ratified, does it mean that other countries do not have to accord ANY immunity for US consular staff (not even consular immunity)?

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 12:12
by Mahesh_R
^^^ sir but can they over write what their political bosses ask them to do ?
Agreed there are many ways they can create minor irritants but nothing major...

Posted: 10 Jan 2014 12:14
by vic
SSridhar wrote:On the question of fears of 'forgive and forget' by the establishment, I feel that bureaucracy which has long memory especially when one of its own is so badly treated, would not let it go easily but political leadership could, irrespective of party affiliations. That is a real possibility.
Don't be too sure, bureaucracy is way more corrupt than politicians. They will throw anybody under the bus for student visas and scholarships for their kids etc