Physics Discussion Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Physics Thread.

Bade wrote:^ why would dislodging electrons require more energy than dislodging something from inside a nucleus ?
Digging self into a hole now :) On second thought, what I said is wrong as small potential difference across a conductor causes electric flow. The protons are held together with electrostrong forces, right? What causes the neutrons to stick together?

Protons (and neutrons) "stick" together because of strong interaction...

But why slow neutron do not cause fission in ..U232, U234 or , U238
But they do in U233 and U235 ...

matrimc wrote:The protons are held together with electrostrong forces, right? What causes the neutrons to stick together?
That would be an incorrect way to look at it.

Protons are electrically charged and neutrons electrically neutral. So protons will experience the electromagnetic forces, which would be repulsive.

Both protons and neutrons are themselves built up of quarks with gluons mediating the strong forces holding them together. But when protons and neutrons are very close to each other < 2fm distance they experience "residual" strong force, even though like a "electric charge" neutral atom the nucleons are also "strong charge" neutral themselves. One can look at this "residual strong force" as the equivalent of the polarization effect or the VanderWaals forces between neutral atoms.

It has the right amount of force to overcome the repulsive forces between two protons at distances < 2fm. At larger distances the electromagnetic forces will dominate, since it falls only as inverse square whereas the residual strong force drops exponentially with distance.

Bade wrote:
matrimc wrote:The protons are held together with electrostrong forces, right? What causes the neutrons to stick together?
That would be an incorrect way to look at it.
OK, "held together" is the wrong wording. Repulsive forces are overcome by ... . Rest of it has gone whoosh over my head. Will ruminate over it (and do some background reading, I guess?).

Coming back to the questions raised by AmberG ji, looks like some of them are empirical observations. Are you looking for some kind of "proof"?

^^ No not proof, rather understanding or insight ... it is an open ended question..

If one pretends one does not know enough nuclear physics then may be one can construct a toy model to explain the even and odd number differences in behavior. The hint is already in the discussion on nuclear force above.
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

I have a basic question here which I guess physics gurus will be able to answer...

When talking about physical principles such as Heisenberg Uncertainty etc. often I hear that they are not due to any "observational success or failure" but an inherent property of quantum mechanical systems. Well, I think I understand it to an extent in the sense of properties of certain operators acting on function spaces etc. or in general, based on mathematical formulation of quantum mechanics. However, when we say these as an "inherent property" or "nature" of things, are we not restricting it to the nature as explained by the mathematical laws which are based on certain axioms. In other words, they are not "truly natural" but "pseudo natural" as true nature cannot be confined to certain laws of logic. This is very similar to the generation of random numbers in a systems where we are quite comfortable with pseudorandom numbers as generating true randomness is difficult.

Please note that I am not questing these laws as far as the experimental validity or even the logic, are concerned. QM in general has proved right numerous times and the math we have now may be the better explanation to these observations. But to confine "true nature" to certain laws and axioms seems far fetched to me, especially in the light of probability having a strong axiomatic (and hence deterministic) basis...

^^^ If you can get a chance, (and if you have not done so), I will strongly urged you to check out Feynman's lectures. The book, IMO, gives an excellent perspective on what you are asking.

You may like to get a copy of the book "Six easy pieces" (which takes six "easy" chapters).. .. or since Bill Gates has bout Feynman on line, you may be able to use that.

Another good resource is Mr. Tomkins in Wonderland (By George Gamow)

(These books are old, and they made a very big impression on me)

Amber G. wrote:^^^ If you can get a chance, (and if you have not done so), I will strongly urged you to check out Feynman's lectures. The book, IMO, gives an excellent perspective on what you are asking.
You may like to get a copy of the book "Six easy pieces" (which takes six "easy" chapters).. .. or since Bill Gates has bout Feynman on line, you may be able to use that.
AmberG ji

I have the lectures (3 volumes - Indian edition). Are these a subset of the Lectures? thanks
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

Amber G. wrote:^^^ If you can get a chance, (and if you have not done so), I will strongly urged you to check out Feynman's lectures. The book, IMO, gives an excellent perspective on what you are asking.

Another good resource is Mr. Tomkins in Wonderland (By George Gamow)

(These books are old, and they made a very big impression on me)
Thank you Amber G for the recommendation. I have briefly read Feynman's lectures and believe me, he is one of my gods, probably the highest of them all. And honestly, the more I think about the interplay between math and physics, no doubt I will fall in line with "The Unreasonable Effectiveness of Mathematics in the Natural Sciences".
But the more I look into the inadequacy of the standard model and the patterns of ideas that biologists enjoy (currently I work very closely with them and I see they have the same passion as physicists have), it looks like there should be something higher than we all can perceive now, which is under explained by the existing formal representation.

Also, thanks for Mr. Tomkins. I will check it out...

matrimc wrote: AmberG ji

I have the lectures (3 volumes - Indian edition). Are these a subset of the Lectures? thanks
Yes, I think it covers 6 chapters taken from the original .. including class lecturers (on CD) and notes...which are more understandable for non-physics majors.

Amber G. wrote:But why slow neutron do not cause fission in ..U232, U234 or , U238
But they do in U233 and U235 ...
I remember from high school , something very vaguely of how the total Neutron to Atomic Mass ratio and there is a think band along which the stable atoms are and the others are unstable such that when hit by a neutron , the nucleus sort of fissions or when hit by a neutron get from being unstable to the table no of Nuetrons to Atomic mass ratio.

The deeper phyiscs of why that ratio is stable /unstable dunno.
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

Oh boy, I like this quote,

There is only one thing which is more unreasonable than the unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics in physics, and this is the unreasonable ineffectiveness of mathematics in biology. — Israel Gelfand

kasthuri wrote:Oh boy, I like this quote,

There is only one thing which is more unreasonable than the unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics in physics, and this is the unreasonable ineffectiveness of mathematics in biology. — Israel Gelfand
:lol: IMHO, this comes about due to the fact that things are almost mathematical. What I mean by that is that in bio there are a large number of special cases. Due to this abstraction is difficult leading to theorems becoming too specific and thus applicable to only a few (and in some cases only one) situations.

This may be a better place to discuss this ..
Very Important paper Environment Health Publication - Study by MIT
says that they found undetected DNA damage even when radiation was much higher..This study may surprise most of people here.
Integrated Molecular Analysis Indicates Undetectable DNA Damage in Mice after Continuous Irradiation at ~400-fold Natural Background Radiation
Abstract:
ACKGROUND: In the event of a nuclear accident, people are exposed to elevated levels of continuous low dose-rate radiation. Nevertheless, most of the literature describes the biological effects of acute radiation. Our major aim is to reveal potential genotoxic effects of low dose-rate radiation.

OBJECTIVES: DNA damage and mutations are well established for their carcinogenic effects. Here, we assessed several key markers of DNA damage and DNA damage responses in mice exposed to low dose-rate radiation.

METHODS: We studied low dose-rate radiation using a variable low dose-rate irradiator consisting of flood phantoms filled with 125Iodine-containing buffer. Mice were exposed to 0.0002 cGy/min (~400X background radiation) continuously over the course of 5 weeks. We assessed base lesions, micronuclei, homologous recombination (using fluorescent yellow direct repeat [FYDR] mice), and transcript levels for several radiation-sensitive genes.

RESULTS: Under low dose-rate conditions, we did not observe any changes in the levels of the DNA nucleobase damage products hypoxanthine, 8-oxo-7,8-dihydroguanine, 1,N6-ethenoadenine or 3,N4-ethenocytosine above background. The micronucleus assay revealed no evidence that low dose-rate radiation induced DNA fragmentation. Furthermore, there was no evidence of double strand break-induced homologous recombination. Finally, low dose-rate radiation did not induce Cdkn1a, Gadd45a, Mdm2, Atm, or Dbd2. Importantly, the same total dose, when delivered acutely, induced micronuclei and transcriptional responses.

CONCLUSIONS: Together, these results demonstrate in an in vivo animal model that lowering the dose-rate suppresses the potentially deleterious impact of radiation, and calls attention to the need for a deeper understanding of the biological impact of low dose-rate radiation.

Citation: Olipitz W, Wiktor-Brown D, Shuga J, Pang B, McFaline J, Lonkar P, et al. 2012. Integrated Molecular Analysis Indicates Undetectable DNA Damage in Mice after Continuous Irradiation at ~400-fold Natural Background Radiation. Environ Health Perspect :-. http://dx.doi.org/10.1289/ehp.1104294
This is also a main MIT news
http://web.mit.edu/newsoffice/2012/prol ... -0515.html
A new look at prolonged radiation exposure
MIT study suggests that at low dose-rate, radiation poses little risk to DNA.

Worth reading in full.. posting some excerpts..
A new study from MIT scientists suggests that the guidelines governments use to determine when to evacuate people following a nuclear accident may be too conservative.

The study, led by Bevin Engelward and Jacquelyn Yanch and published in the journal Environmental Health Perspectives, found that when mice were exposed to radiation doses about 400 times greater than background levels for five weeks, no DNA damage could be detected.

Current U.S. regulations require that residents of any area that reaches radiation levels eight times higher than background should be evacuated. However, the financial and emotional cost of such relocation may not be worthwhile, the researchers say.

There are no data that say that’s a dangerous level,” says Yanch, a senior lecturer in MIT’s Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering. “This paper shows that you could go 400 times higher than average background levels and you’re still not detecting genetic damage. It could potentially have a big impact on tens if not hundreds of thousands of people in the vicinity of a nuclear powerplant accident or a nuclear bomb detonation, if we figure out just when we should evacuate and when it’s OK to stay where we are.”

Until now, very few studies have measured the effects of low doses of radiation delivered over a long period of time. This study is the first to measure the genetic damage seen at a level as low as 400 times background (0.0002 centigray per minute, or 105 cGy in a year). { for perceptive, this is about 1000 mSV /Yr = 10000000 bed /yr - about 1000 times 1mSV insisted by some.. about 50 times the current limit when one is forced to evacuate .. about 4 times the limit allowable (which they increased to 250 mSV) for emergency workers in Japan..Amber G notes }

Almost all radiation studies are done with one quick hit of radiation. That would cause a totally different biological outcome compared to long-term conditions,” says Engelward, an associate professor of biological engineering at MIT.
<snip:
(Background radiation . add up to about 3 mSV per year in US)

“Exposure to low-dose-rate radiation is natural, and some people may even say essential for life. The question is, how high does the rate need to get before we need to worry about ill effects on our health?” Yanch says.

Previous studies have shown that a radiation level of 10.5 cGy, the total dose used in this study, does produce DNA damage if given all at once. { This is what I said in one of VERY early message - I said that below this one does not see any symptoms ... LNT predicts about 4% increased risk of cancer in life time } However, for this study, the researchers spread the dose out over five weeks, using radioactive iodine as a source. The radiation emitted by the radioactive iodine is similar to that emitted by the damaged Fukushima reactor in Japan.

At the end of five weeks, the researchers tested for several types of DNA damage, using the most sensitive techniques available. Those types of damage fall into two major classes: base lesions, in which the structure of the DNA base (nucleotide) is altered, and breaks in the DNA strand. They found no significant increases in either type.
<snip - Technical details about DNA damage >
... “My take on this is that this amount of radiation is not creating very many lesions to begin with, and you already have good DNA repair systems.
Doug Boreham, a professor of medical physics and applied radiation sciences at McMaster University, says the study adds to growing evidence that low doses of radiation are not as harmful as people often fear.

“Now, it’s believed that all radiation is bad for you, and any time you get a little bit of radiation, it adds up and your risk of cancer goes up,” says Boreham, who was not involved in this study. “There’s now evidence building that that is not the case.”

Most of the radiation studies on which evacuation guidelines have been based were originally done to establish safe levels for radiation in the workplace,.....

....“when you’ve got a contaminated environment, then the source is no longer controlled, and every citizen has to pay for their own dose avoidance,” Yanch says. “They have to leave their home or their community, maybe even forever. They often lose their jobs, like you saw in Fukushima. And there you really want to call into question how conservative in your analysis of the radiation effect you want to be. Instead of being conservative, it makes more sense to look at a best estimate of how hazardous radiation really is.”

Those conservative estimates are based on acute radiation exposures, and then extrapolating what might happen at lower doses and lower dose-rates, Engelward says. “Basically you’re using a data set collected based on an acute high dose exposure to make predictions about what’s happening at very low doses over a long period of time, and you don’t really have any direct data. It’s guesswork,” she says. “People argue constantly about how to predict what is happening at lower doses and lower dose-rates.”
“It is interesting that, despite the evacuation of roughly 100,000 residents, the Japanese government was criticized for not imposing evacuations for even more people. From our studies, we would predict that the population that was left behind would not show excess DNA damage — this is something we can test using technologies recently developed in our laboratory,” she adds.
Pay attention to the following quote from Jacqueline Yanch, MIT
"Instead of being conservative, it makes more sense to look at a best estimate of how hazardous radiation really is."
(I have some thoughts on
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

^^^ Interesting...especially since I am researching on the effects of radiation and chemo in brain tumors. I think there is an unnecessary fear in the public about radiation. If it is that bad, why should it be used in cancer treatments? Mutations are only part of the story. There is this whole world of epigenetics (methylation, chromatin remodeling etc.) which is increasingly becoming hallmark of certain cancers. Agreed, DNA damage could be potentially bad, but dying out of radiation is a very, very rare event. When *bad* mutations happen, there is this two-hit hypothesis and even if one passes that, usually the aberrant cells will commit suicide (apoptosis) and there has to be mutations in tumor suppressors for the neoplasm to continue growing. In other words, the cells has to be *positively selected* to the micro-environment. It is not that easy and it is actually an evolution that happens in the micro-world.
Also, DNA damage could mean a whole lot of things - almost 99% of our genomes are intergenic and intronic regions and even if they code for amino-acids, there is synonymous mutations which don't really contribute to anything. Only missense mutations (of course indels etc) has the potential to make things worse and again it is not that easy - there are single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNP) which are perfectly fine. Seriously, what are the odds of radiation hitting a gene and having a mutation that is missense and not a SNP out of 1.2 trillion bases? It is a mad, mad world out there...

Kasturiji Thanks.

Also, you may already know this but CRITICAL difference between above study and say radiation for tumors is the RATE ... is the dose given in a short time or distributed over long period.

For typical cancer therapy the dose is of the order of 2000 mSv (effective total body)..It could be of the order of 100 Sv for the organ.. all in a very short time.

LNT assumes, dose is additive and total dose matters, not the time period it is given.. but - People are living in Kerala (or in Iran where one gets of the order of 200 mSv per year) for centuries and many studies have shown no increase rate of cancers etc..

AmberG, what is the answer to your question on why certain nuclei undergo fission while others dont on neutron absorption ?

Vina ji - I may put something here to share my thoughts .. meanwhile any introductory nuclear physics book can help (look under nuclear fission, nuclear shell structure, "Liquid drop model" "pairing tern" etc..)..

Also , one can check out, say "pairing term" in google / wiki

Wiki has this:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fissile
According to the fissile rule, heavy isotopes with 90 ≤ Z ≤ 100 and 2 × Z – N = 43 ± 2, with few exceptions, are fissile (where N = number of neutrons and Z = number of protons).
{ One can become instant guru..what kind of isotope may be good nuclear fuel :) }
In general, most actinide isotopes with an odd neutron number are fissile. Most nuclear fuels have an odd atomic mass number (A = the total number of protons and neutrons), and an even atomic number (Z = the number of protons). This implies an odd number of neutrons. Isotopes with an odd number of neutrons gain an extra 1 to 2 MeV of energy from absorbing an extra neutron, from the pairing effect which favors even numbers of both neutrons and protons. This energy is enough to supply the needed extra energy for fission by slower neutrons, which is important for making fissionable isotopes also fissile.
More generally, elements with an even number of protons and an even number of neutrons, and located near a well-known curve in nuclear physics of atomic number vs. atomic mass number are more stable than others; hence, they are less likely to undergo fission. They are more likely to "ignore" the neutron and let it go on its way, or else to absorb the neutron but without gaining enough energy from the process to deform the nucleus enough for it to fission. These "even-even" isotopes are also less likely to undergo spontaneous fission, and they also have relatively much longer half-lives for alpha or beta decay. Examples of these elements are uranium-238 and thorium-232. On the other hand, isotopes with an odd number of neutrons and an odd number of protons (odd Z, odd N) are short-lived because they readily decay by beta-particle emission to an isotope with an even number of neutrons and an even number of protons (even Z, even N) becoming much more stable. The physical basis for this phenomenon also comes from the pairing effect in nuclear binding energy, but this time from both proton-proton and neutron-neutron pairing. The short half-life of such odd-odd heavy isotopes means that they are not available in quantity and are highly radioactive
Last edited by Amber G. on 20 May 2012 18:45, edited 1 time in total.
kasthuri

Post by kasthuri »

Also, you may already know this but CRITICAL difference between above study and say radiation for tumors is the RATE ... is the dose given in a short time or distributed over long period.
Very true. Rate does matter, but looking *purely* from genomics perspective, tumor occurrence due to radiation is relatively a rare event even with modest levels of radiation. I am not sure if the LNT model incorporates any genomics, leave alone biology (and mechanistic cell cycle) roles. One can die of secondary smoke than due to radiation, in a high probability. I think people who campaign for radiation safety will serve a better purpose if they rather do for quitting smoking. World will be a far better place that way...

On a funny note, whenever I catch up a secondary smoke right on my face, I tell the person (of course to myself) that "I am going to analyze your data". I work in a cancer institute by the way!

As I understand gravity is universal property of mass. Weight is due to gravity. Sun is millions times bigger then Earth and therefore Earth revolves around sun. That is simple for amm Abdul like me. Now the question : do we weigh less during day (because of Sun's gravitational field) and more during night. There has to be a difference. The difference may be very small ( may be 1/10000000th of a gram but there has to be. And if we can find that difference it will be a big thing. I want to design an experiment but I do not have access to very sensitive balance.

Please let me know if I made some wrong assumptions.

This story (both in ndtv and dailymail where it is taken from) looks like written by some ddm who has no idea about the related field ...no details are are given a comment in dailmail puts it aptly
You realise you're a newspaper? Say atleast vaguely what it is that he's solved! "His solutions mean that scientists can now calculate the flight path of a thrown ball and then predict how it will hit and bounce off a wall." No they don't. That has been doable for hundreds of years using very simple vectors and conservation of momentum and every child doing A level maths or physics will know how to do it. What has he done? Made it more accurate? Is it even related to that at all, because since it definitely isn't that I don't see why I would believe that the story is even close to accurate
I tried to look at the article, it is not published but just written and submitted to school so I couldn't even tell.
I suspect it is all hype.

so low rate, appropriate dose, does help in actually keeping a healthy mutant rather unhealthy cancer at different dose larger than normal radiation level in kerala, and inconsistent periods of exposure.

btw, what type of radiation also matters right?

Thanks, Amber G. I was also wondering what the hell it was the he actually did.

SaiK wrote:btw, what type of radiation also matters right?
Yes, not only the type of radiation (energy and type) but which organ of the body.. Radiation of toes is less dangerous than, say stomach or bone marrow cells..

Gray is unit of radiation absorbed .. (It is simply energy absorbed per unit mass).

You multiply it by a factor depending on the type of radiation... For gamma rays it is 1.. for Alpha (which is more dangerous) it is 20 .. etc..(Beta rays are similar to gamma .. neutrons are less than alpha but more dangerous than gamma)

Then you multiply (actually integrate over human body) by a factor which depends on the type of organ .. (stomach/gut etc are more important than fingers or toes)..

This gives equivalent total body dose which is measured in sievert.

So, when one gives a dose in sievert, type of radiation is already factored in.
When the dose is given in Gray, one has to factor in the type of radiation and part of the body which is exposed to radiation to calculate/estimate risk to human body.

Hth.
Last edited by Amber G. on 31 May 2012 20:51, edited 1 time in total.

rsingh wrote:As I understand gravity is universal property of mass. Weight is due to gravity. Sun is millions times bigger then Earth and therefore Earth revolves around sun. That is simple for amm Abdul like me. Now the question : do we weigh less during day (because of Sun's gravitational field) and more during night. There has to be a difference. The difference may be very small ( may be 1/10000000th of a gram but there has to be. And if we can find that difference it will be a big thing. I want to design an experiment but I do not have access to very sensitive balance.

Please let me know if I made some wrong assumptions.
Few comments:
1 - The weight on earth is mainly due to gravitational pull of earth (and not sun).

2. There are many other factors which effects weight on earth..
a) You weigh more on a pole than on equator because polar radius is smaller (pole is closer to center of earth than a equator.. earth is not perfectly spherical)

b) Centrifugal force (or pseudo force) is also a factor (you weigh less on equator)
c) Many other factors .. (eg elevation, or even atmospheric density)

3. Effects due to sun is small (about 0.00000005 part in 1)..

As to:
do we weigh less during day (because of Sun's gravitational field) and more during night.
4. But the effect of sum makes you weigh less at noon as well as midnight .. (you weigh more in Evening or morning.. why? :?:

And yes, there is an easy experiment to confirm it..(And I suspect many here have seen this experiment )

thanks for the amberfull posts.

Amber G. thanks for the comments. I do understand that wt on earth is mostly due to gravitational pull of Earth. Sun's gravitational pull is very very small but it is there . Sun itself is under gravitational pull of center of Milky Way. When we talk about designing an experiment ....it means "when all other conditions are unchanged. So all talk of altitude, latitude,temperature,humidity etc are meaningless.
4. But the effect of sum makes you weigh less at noon as well as midnight .. (you weigh more in Evening or morning.. why?
To simplify let's take 1kg Iron........why it would weigh more in Evening?

Which experiment are you talking about?

Sir during noon and midnight all three masses will be in a straight line I.e. shortest possible distance between centre of mass of the three objects .

Btw you might have to factor in Moon's position too as it is a much bigger influence than the Sun.

rsingh wrote:Amber G. thanks for the comments.
To simplify let's take 1kg Iron........why it would weigh more in Evening?
If we forget (ignore) effects due to everything else.. (that is assume earth is a perfect sphere .. no spin - hence no centrifugal force --- no air, no moon .. nothing else.. just earth and sun)

Then at midday and midnight 1Kg will way about .99999995 Kg..!

(For most, it is intuitive that at midday it will weigh less but why at midnight ? . I remember Feynman explaining this in very simple non-mathematical way. I was just amazed how he can make complex things easier to understand .)
Which experiment are you talking about?
Can you guess?
Hint: It is possible many here in this forum may have seen/heard/or google for the experiment. :mrgreen:

For most, it is intuitive that at midday it will weigh less but why at midnight ?
AmberG is it because during the midnight Moon's gravity actually adds up with the earth's gravitational pull whereas during the noon it actually adds up to the Sun's gravitational pull ?

^^^ we are not considering the effects due to moon (or anything else)... see above:
If we forget (ignore) effects due to everything else.. (that is assume earth is a perfect sphere .. no spin - hence no centrifugal force --- no air, no moon .. nothing else.. just earth and sun)

Then at midday and midnight..

Ok then , during noon if g2 is the acceleration due to gravitational pull exerted by Sun on an object of mass m on earth and 'g' due to the earth , then net weight of the object will be |mg-mg2| during midnight the two will get added.

negi wrote:Ok then , during noon if g2 is the acceleration due to gravitational pull exerted by Sun on an object of mass m on earth and 'g' due to the earth , then net weight of the object will be |mg-mg2| during midnight the two will get added.
Then, If I understand you correctly at midnight one will weigh more.. (which is different than what I said)

^Well I made a mistake there the acceleration due to gravitational pull from the Sun will change basically reduce at midnight due to increased distance between object and sun. I think to simply this one could approximate the increase in distance to about say diameter of earth.

So in the second case during midnight the value say g3 will be less by a factor of 1/(d+2r)^2 where r is the radius of earth and d distance between sun's centre to Earth's surface
SSSalvi

Venus transition in front of solar disk on 6th June 2012

Post by SSSalvi »

Solar System planets are almost aligned in one plane ( see Table below ) except Mercury, Venus and Pluto.

Planet distance revolution eccentricity inclination
(A.U.) (deg)

Mercury 0.387 87.969 d 0.2056 7.005
Venus 0.723 224.701 d 0.0068 3.3947
Earth 1.000 365.256 d 0.0167 0.0000
Mars 1.524 686.98 d 0.0934 1.851
Jupiter 5.203 11.862 y 0.0484 1.305
Saturn 9.537 29.457 y 0.0542 2.484
Uranus 19.191 84.011 y 0.0472 0.770
Neptune 30.069 164.79 y 0.0086 1.769
Pluto 39.482 247.68 y 0.2488 17.142

So the chances of these planets getting aligned with Sun and Earth are rare ( It can happen only when these planets cross the Sun near Ecliptic plane. )
This alignment makes the transit of Venus to occur in pairs. Each pair is 8 years apart BUT the subsequent pair happens after more than a century. ( with a gap of 122 years )
Last occurance in this century was on 8th June 2004 so second one is on 6th June 2012 ( for India ).
And the reason why astronomers are more interested in this year's randezevious is that it is that this transition occurs when the Sun has its solar activity at its peak and so astronomers may be able to observe Venus Outer periphery for atmospheric studies.

If you miss this opportunity now then wait for December 2117 and December 2125 !!

In India we will see this event from about 0702 IST to 1022 IST.

The Venus will enter Sun's disk from about NNW ( equivalent to about 10 o'clock position of Hour hand of a clock ) and transit in front of Sun for abot 3Hrs20Mts and Venus will exit the solar disc at about ENE, i.e. 2:30 position of Hour hand of clock.

DO NOT WATCH THE SUN DIRECTLY. ( Karna was said to have that ability but you are not Karna ).

Precautions and directions of how to observe the Solar eclipse are reproduced below from http://www.rasnz.org.nz/2012Transit/Venus2012.html

Whenever the Sun is to be observed safe viewing methods must be used. Any attempt to view the Sun directly could result in instant blindness.

The safest way is to project the image of the Sun onto a suitable screen. Alternatively a suitable, specially designed, Solar filter may be placed in front of the telescope.

It is NOT safe to use a filter at the eyepiece as the focussed heat from the Sun could shatter it.

Unquote

[edited. ramana]
Last edited by ramana on 02 Jun 2012 10:37, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: ramana

del.

thanks Amber ma'm for the gyan.

^^^ To watch solar eclipse directly , welders glasses (protective # > 10), are the best. --- Mylar film (plastic) coated with a sufficient amount of aluminium (to make it almost totally reflective) (Such films are relatively fragile but can be adequately protective but must be gotten from reliable places) are also used.

Strongly advise not to use film ( definitely not exposed color film or x-ray but even B&W films, IMO), smoked glass, sunglasses etc..

In any case, do not rely on any unmarked filter. One's vision is too precious to risk..

More important , June 6, 10 transit is not a solar eclipse but a transit of a planet and you will not be able to see (Venus is much smaller than moon - it will last several hours) much with welders glass the tiny dot.

To best see it, IMO... (Unless you already have filters and telescope etc)

1 - Use pin hole method (this can be rigged in home) (See wiki or any standard source)
2 - Local viewing at astronomy club
3 - Online viewing.

( Key element about film used as filter is considered safe if it contains a silver emulsion...Color films don't, old B&W films did (but not sure if all B&W films do)..so unless you know what you are doing better be safe.
Last edited by Amber G. on 02 Jun 2012 19:13, edited 1 time in total.
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

1. Request Site Management/Webmaster to delete the last para from my post.

2. Approx Times of Transition at other locations out of India:

Transit times for US ( all local times ) on 5th June 2012

CA and neighbouring states : 1506 to 1524
UT area : 1605 to 1623
TX area : 1705 to 1723
PA area : 1804 to 1822

Transit times for other countries / Cities :

Germany,Russia,France ( most of Europe ),Cairo : 6th June / 0637 to 0654
Adis ababa : 6th June / 0437 to 0455
Algeria : 6th June / 0538 to 0555
Asia Minor,Nairobi : 6th June / 0737 to 0655
Istanbul : 6th June / 0837 to 0855
China and Neighbouring countries : 6th June 0629 to 1231 ( one of longest visibility in Northern Hemisphere)

Southern Hemisphere has the longest visibility:

Adelaide 6th June 0804 to 1357
Brisbane,Sydney 6th June 0833 to 1426
New Zealand 6th June 1033 to 1625
Tahiti 6th June 1230 to 1526