Military Multimedia - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Military Multimedia Content

Surya Kirans & Sarang at MAKS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYeAqEqoAtI

looks like the Russians tried to pull off a PAF F-16s in Belgian roundels here
Gaur wrote:SKAT performing in Russia during MAKS.
the video is no longer there :|

pandyan wrote:National Security Convention Dr. Nahid Sheikh

Can some kind soul provide a translation of this speech. I picked up bits and pieces...Dr. Nahid Sheikh was speaking with full of passion and I didn't get the whole meaning :(( ...would love to hear the entire content. thanks!
The lady starts with the role of the mother in moulding children and asks for the involvement of women in national security. She says that empowering fisherwomen in coastal areas to keep a lookout for alien boats and vessels should be done. She also says that children should be taught about national security from school days. She says that the organization FINS will conduct seminars that include women and youth. She ends by joking that she is a lecturer who is accustomed to talking for 45 minutes at a stretch and that her 3 minutes is hardly enough.
Mayurica

Post by Mayurica »

Hi

Im not sure if this is the right place to post this. Please do let me know if the content is inappropriate for either this topic, or this forum. Basically, almost 5 years, we had created a show called 'Line of Duty' for Times Now, which captured life along India's front-lines. I have just posted on my blog my team's experience of spending a week with the Lightenings in Lohegaon - Pune. Here's the link - http://mayurica.blogspot.com/2011/06/se ... ts-of.html.
Have also blogged about what it was like to sail on the Viraat for about 5 days - http://mayurica.blogspot.com/2011/05/sa ... iraat.html
Please do visit, read and replug if you find the posts interesting.
Mayurica

Mayurica,

Isn't there any follow up to "Line of Duty"?

IIRC, most of BRF used to eagerly used to look forward to the next episode when you had opened a thread just to cover the show and the episode content etc were pretty impressive.
Mayurica

Post by Mayurica »

Unfortunately no. Times Now was then a young news channel, and realised that shows like Line of Duty were branding it as more of a long-format/ docu / features channel, instead of hard core 'breaking news'. We did about 20 episodes across the length and breadth of India and then we were asked to slowly ease out of it. Anyway, it was an experience of a lifetime for us. Lets hope, one day Times Now decides to revisit this soon :)

@Mayurica

M'am, could you please make them available on YouTube? Would do an immense service in raising awareness about the Indian Armed Forces amongst the people.

You could watermark them with your company's logo/name/URL in a visible yet unobstrusive manner. That way, word too spreads about your company, ownership established and people get to view the amazing show. Unfortunately missed the show then as the cable guy wasn't providing Times Now. If you do agree, then please upload the highest resolution videos possible

Please consider

TIA

a Bhutanese cadet from at one of the institutes - NDA i think

http://www.youtube.com/user/MrTshetum
Mayurica

Post by Mayurica »

Dear Hiten

Thank u very much for ur interest. However, much as i would like to upload the episodes on youtube, im not authorised to do so, due to issues of intellectual copyright. Also, i am no longer with the channel and so I dont have access to the shows. But will definitely pass on the message to the people at Times Now.

In the meanwhile, if u search youtube with the keywords 'line of duty' and times now, u will find that some episodes have been uploaded - including (sukhoi - also on my blog), desert commandos (10 paras) and suryakirans, apart from clips of siachen, submarine and viraat.

Hope this helps.

that's just too bad, about uploading the episodes I mean.
it would be really good to have the whole set on youtube, as natgeo has done with the recent mission army episodes.
LoD was one of the best series covering India's armed forces and all your episodes were closely followed by the enthusiasts here.
congrats once again.

btw, any chance of an encore ?
Mayurica

Post by Mayurica »

@ rahul i wish :) coming from you, its a huge compliment. Will try and take it up with people who can make it happen again... in the meanwhile, inspired by the number of hits i see on the sukhoi post today (and mostly from bharatrakshak), im going to revisit all the episodes again and blog about life out there, the way we saw it.

^^^First and foremost, many thanks for the taking the pain of filming the series in the first place. It was simply amazing! Filled with proper content with-out too much jingo-giri...just the right mixture of information and visuals.

As for the blog thing, please pen all that you can and I'm sure, the whole BR will be reading through it. Much appreciate your contribution.
samsher

Post by samsher »

Mayurica wrote:a Bhutanese cadet from at one of the institutes - NDA i think

http://www.youtube.com/user/MrTshetum

The language is quite "colorful" to put it mildly :)

Perhaps not a good idea to post in the public domain. IMHO it depicts the cadets in poor light. That being said there are quite a few "goofy" videos posted by NDA IMA and even Navac cadets out on the "interwebs".

Mayurica there is a "media watch" thread where you can post blog updates if you like. The link is here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... ?f=3&t=808
Mayurica

Post by Mayurica »

thanks shiv.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Deadliest Warrior: Roman Centurion vs. Rajput

Silly but entertaining episode from Spike TV
anirban_aim

Post by anirban_aim »

Paging @Gaur and other enthusiats.......

SOS

Please guide to a working link of Nat Geo Mission Army Ep 8. Couldn't find a working link anywhere.

TIA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uynmApj ... r_embedded

Old Russian prototype of off-road vehicle with screw type drive

Then PM Vajpayee announcng Pokhran-II

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIi1U--FzC0

anirban_aim wrote:Paging @Gaur and other enthusiats.......

SOS

Please guide to a working link of Nat Geo Mission Army Ep 8. Couldn't find a working link anywhere.

TIA
Yes, I never understood why that particular ep was removed by NatGeo. However, that ep is uploaded in parts by some other channels. Here are the links: :D

If you are interested in seeing the tasks of the participants:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HD4_wR7 ... re=related

anirban_aim

Post by anirban_aim »

Gaur wrote:
anirban_aim wrote:Paging @Gaur and other enthusiats.......

SOS

TIA
Yes, I never understood why that particular ep was removed by NatGeo. However, that ep is uploaded in parts by some other channels. Here are the links: :D

If you are interested in seeing the tasks of the participants:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HD4_wR7 ... re=related

Much Obliged!!! :D

Thank you very much!! :)

Actually Nat Geo could have included atleast small 1-2 min capsules on other support elements like the Pioneer Corps, RMV Corps, CMP, Army Postal Corps, Army Education Corps.And probably a mention of the dental corps along with the part on AMC.

Or am I now asking for too much eh? 8)

Yeah, I guess they could have. However, I am not complaining. :-)
I had never expected a Indian television show on Army to be this brilliant. To say that Mission Army exceeded my expectations is an understatement. Watching it was an amazing experience. :-D
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

INterview with Mr. Puneet Kaura, Executive Director, SDS on 'Young Turks', CNBC-TV18
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tqvoAhT ... r_embedded

An interesting documentry on Red October: NATO excercise in which USAF Hornets were pitted against Luftwaffe's Mig-29s.

4 parts available in HD:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHXbkgpg ... detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lys0OG3X ... detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCBq6LWP ... detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEtuDvBg ... detailpage

A Sharma wrote:INterview with Mr. Puneet Kaura, Executive Director, SDS on 'Young Turks', CNBC-TV18
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tqvoAhT ... r_embedded
Thanks for posting. I didn't knew that Samtel was venturing into Avionics (including electronic warfare suites). An interesting interview.

Discovery Channel - Nuclear Powered Airplane

[youtube]xb7uZQ1_n4w&feature=related[/youtube]

Cheers....
anirban_aim

Post by anirban_aim »

Tributes to one of the world's finest and my favourite soldiers.

[youtube]2ojK3e0CCVM&feature=related[/youtube] Part 1

[youtube]FuTsU3B6Utk&feature=related[/youtube] Part 2

[youtube]sT17MmpMcHs&feature=related[/youtube] Part 3

[youtube]jVg2PpStif0&feature=related[/youtube] Part 4

Apologies as this is a very old video but is still very true in essence. Would have loved such a video about Gurkhas in the Indian Army.

To dear Newbies and all enthusiasts born post Indian Economic Liberalization, Please see these extraordinary fighters. I might be wrong but as far as I know this is the only video I've seen of Tul Bahadur Pun. People like these are not men. They are Lion Hearts in Human Skin. Please pay your obeisance. Today we might know "Prachanda" and Girija Prasad Koirala but these Lion Hearts are the ones truly worthy of remembrance.

Jai Mahakali, Ayo Gorkhali!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A good program on IA featuring Garhwal Regiment. Want to see IA jawans play electric guitar? Watch the video below:

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/fit-ra ... ory/187944

PS: I sometimes get a feeling that I sound very much like a paid promoter of the videos I am posting. :mrgreen:

Thanks Gaur

Its a nice view intothe changing characteristics of the jawan.

The newer lot are more educated and more articulate\vocal.

good for them

Gaur wrote:A good program on IA featuring Garhwal Regiment. Want to see IA jawans play electric guitar? Watch the video below:

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/fit-ra ... ory/187944
Nice. 4000 calories a day. 5 km in 25 min carrying 15 kg, shakhahari khana in the bhojanalaya at 9:15

Did someone say vegetarian surrender monkeys?

^^^heh heh vegetarian surrender monkeys indeed. I remember 400% vegetarian food being served in the NSG mess onlee - try asking the 9 paki meating eating ghazis who are now worm food, what they thought of those surrender monkeys. :mrgreen:
anirban_aim wrote:Tributes to one of the world's finest and my favourite soldiers.

Apologies as this is a very old video but is still very true in essence. Would have loved such a video about Gurkhas in the Indian Army.

To dear Newbies and all enthusiasts born post Indian Economic Liberalization, Please see these extraordinary fighters. I might be wrong but as far as I know this is the only video I've seen of Tul Bahadur Pun. People like these are not men. They are Lion Hearts in Human Skin. Please pay your obeisance. Today we might know "Prachanda" and Girija Prasad Koirala but these Lion Hearts are the ones truly worthy of remembrance.

Jai Mahakali, Ayo Gorkhali!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Couldn't help notice that the technical advisor for the videos was Charlie Beckwith of massa Delta Force. Rasha Drakovitch has made many such quality documentaries on armed forces during the late 80s and 90s iirc.

The saying that they mention in the last video is originally a Nepalese one: Kayar Hunu Bhanda Marnu Ramro.

Going a bit OT but here is an account of Gurkhas in action during the Kargil War sending TFTA ghazis fleeing - account is by their CO Lalit Rai who was awarded a VrC for his actions.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... &start=160

A few choice snippets to show what these real men are made of.
But my Gorkha boys really proved their worth in gold and were unstoppable; I have to doff my hat to my boys! Where normal guys would have had a tough time even walking in those altitudes, my boys sprinted! They charged up and when we were at close quarters with the enemy, my boys did what they had been dying to do for so long, they removed their khukris and started chopping enemy heads. As we charged up, I could see the heads rolling down. When the Pakis saw that - they couldn't hold themselves any longer. They just got up and started running away. It was a sight to behold! 5 ft tall Gorkhas jumping up and chopping off the heads of these strapping, 6 ft tall Pathans, who were fleeing in sheer terror.
My boys also looked at me for some reaction, I could feel the palpable tension in the air. I have always believed: a dash of humour can really relieve a lot of tension in your life. I had to alleviate their tension quickly and firm their resolve to fight to the end. The Pakis - were cursing and using the choicest of abuses even as they advanced, I gave it back to them in equal measure, with all the Punjabi that I knew. I turned to my boys and said, ' Dushman tumhare commanding officer Saab ko gaali de rahe hain aur tum log chup-chaap baithe ho?!' Now funny thing is that a Gorkha Johnny doesn't know how to give gaalis, and as far as discipline and obedience goes, he is unmatchable.

So they looked at each other and I could read the look in their eyes, it said, 'Saab ne hukum diya hai toh gaali dena hi padega. They looked around and wondered, who could perform this difficult task, and finally nominated one amongst them to give the gaalis. He got up and bellowed seriously, Pakistani kutta, tum idhar aayega toh tumhara mundi kaat degaa! I turned around and told him, 'The Pakis will surely die…but they will die laughing that Gyan Bahadur can't even give proper gaalis !' They all broke into laughter and that kind of revved them up and got their josh back up again…and they all said, 'Abo tah kukri nikalera taeslai thik paarchhu… (We will take out our khukris now and sort him out) we'll fight…'

Knights and Swifts

A bit OT: About the Gurkha and Pathan comment in Lalit Rai's excerpt - the Gurkhas were feared warriors even in the days of frontier wars and skirmishes. The Pathan knew what was coming when he saw the unsheathed Khukri.

lectures from the UAV-1 session at Aero India 2011

aircraft mfg using LPC
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyiP8jDOqqM

overview of Indian UAV projects
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOyA4FKfDHs

operating multiple UAVs through co-operative control
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9VzMM9UK1I
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Interesting documentary on Lockheed Martin's Skunkworks (from 2004).

A good program by NDTV Hindi on Su-30MKI:
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-i ... 4092?hphin

I am actually starting to like the anchor of this show. I remember that he had also covered INS Viraat previously. That was a particularly excellent show.
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

Old video but lot of men with Tavor. Sorry if posted before
Five Militants Killed in Indian Kashmir

Ammunition cooking off inside the tank after it got hit by a missile. Truely scary!

[youtube]dMr5u6wvQgA&feature=fvwrel[/youtube]

Cheers....

lectures from the Airborne surveillance session

BEL on Electronic Warfare [EW]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZO_Il6-Puw

IAI on special mission aircrafts
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHY4rzfErqw

Air Vice Marshall Katarki on India's AEW&C programme
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EL6y55-a2kg
Anuj A

Post by Anuj A »

A Sharma wrote:Old video but lot of men with Tavor. Sorry if posted before
Five Militants Killed in Indian Kashmir

Thanks for the watch, are these IA SF or J&K SOG?

+ I think I spied a Galil in the vid also.