Re: Indian Education System
Posted: 27 Oct 2009 21:33
After reading the Kota thing I was like
All I can ask : Is it really worth it?

Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
When folks whine about 80% cutoffs in PCM, this is precisely the point. The coaching centres are 24/7 muggo joints, no school, no play, no nothing. Sure, it is the student's life and he/she can do what he/she wants with it, but then when people go around the system and try to beat it, it is incumbent on the IIT folks to do what they should to re-engineer the system. The whine is because stable equilibrium is affected. Surely, people will try to beat even the new system, but then JEE has always been a horse and pony show. First, they had interviews, then they brought exams, then they brought preferences among PCM, then they brought pre-exams, then they brought MCQs, then they brought optionals/randomizers, then now school marks, it is an evolving system and it will continue to evolve as people get smarter and try to beat the system. The rate of evolution has become so crazy these days, for a long time there was just exams and preferences, the rest of the caboodle all came in the last 8-10 years. People are throwing fancy ideas like interviews for 1000+ ranks into the ring, it is so bizarre. Surely, JEE is no utopia, it has become more miss than hit these days, but what else do we do in this country?Tanaji wrote:After reading the Kota thing I was like![]()
Two things, Mtech vs PhD. There is always a big contingent that wants to do Mtech, even from armed forces. In general, the quality of students is random, you have real smart cookies and so-so also. But to coax the smart cookies to persist with a PhD is essentially an Indic problem, not just an IIT problem. Then there is the other aspect, if someone is keen on doing a PhD, why would he/she prefer IITs over IISc, assuming they want to do it in India? From what I hear, folks are trying hard to project the IITs as research-oriented. But they could take in far more candidates than candidates are willing to do research. Apparently, there is a ton of cash from GoI unused, meant as stipends for PhD folks. And the idiots doing Btech get GoI subsidies. In jest, GoI should probably subsidize only those who persist with at least a basic postgrad degree (IIM or engg). Does nt make sense to subsidize it-vity education esp when they can make a ton of cash. Actually read somewhere that IITs are planning on increasing the tuition to conform with IIMs in the next 2 years, telegraph may be.Bade wrote: That leaves one nuke option, make the exit from an IIT not easy. This can be implemented for the older ones of the current IITs. It should no more be a traditional BTech centered institution.
Ayyo rama, dont get me started. The greenhorn IITs dont even have a campus worthy of name, most of them. Plus they dont have faculty flocking to them either. Even the metro IITs have a big issue. Kanpur is getting left behind because new hires are not keen on living in a "class-B city". Bangalore, Hyd IITs etc make perfect sense, but they put the "Hyd IIT" so out of city limits that they have shot themselves in the feet. GoI mandate was to make the IIT accessible to an aiport (?!), so they put the IIT closer to the airport than the city centre. May have to do with land issues also. But most faculty have spouses who have a job, wont it be a pita to travel 20 kms everyday for work and back. M B & D have no issues as they are right in the centre. K G are slowly losing out. W and the new ones need lot more mentoring. It is a stretch that these greenhorns can chip in any time soon. In India, long-term planning is something that will bringThat role can be taken over by the new upcoming ones, to fill in the entry levels for industry jobs. Why not make the 5 campuses for real misfits to society.![]()
Boss, folks dont turn up to classes onlee. The class strength is 100+ and if 20 turn up, fac are happy. And these are the old cookies fond of teaching. The new ones, many I know, say "fck Btech, who cares about them." Kya karen, janaab? Begging for E+ grades has become such a mess. With net culture booming, vid game wars etc is the norm. The spate of suicides in IITs did not come from nowhere. If you ask me, Bansal is evil. Folks setting question papers are at their wit's end to come up with googlies. And every alternate year they throw maaajor googlies in JEE. But it is relative grading, every dork does relatively bad. They need new criteria for picking people. JEE has become such a mess that EIQ + JEE + interview wont be a bad idea, and thats not a joke. It is worth the investment. Or it is better to ditch the IITs altogether and take the better among the research-y ones from the IITs and take them to the NU plan. In either case, MHRD has a big issue on its hands. Truly at a fork-point.
To exit with a degree be it B Tech or MS/MTech something out of the ordinary has to be done, beyond the minimum credits and class work to get the basic foundation. The bar has to be raised a lot to get out with a degree at every level. That will be a deterrent for the 'coasters' through the system.
Singhaji,that is not a joke it's the reality. If you do your phd in chemistry it will take minimum six years in IISC that too especially in oganic chemistry.....Singha wrote:problem is IISc profs are supposed to be real terror in timelines to award Phd. the joke a decade ago was if you enter into Phd pgm there after Btech, you can forget about the next 7-8 yrs,
Does nt it depend? If there is something, the issue is at both ends. Fact is some students are lazy bums who would nt get cracking till they hear the "shape up or ship out" message. Some sadistic advisors do exist, but these are more of an exception than the norm. Esp the new youngistani brigade that is getting hired is hardly this type, just my biased perspective. And many students who want to do PhD flock to the youngistanis because of the timeliness of the problems studied, etc., and more. Sure, I have also heard of horror stories about how students have to do home service for prof's family outings etc., and I know of intellectually dishonest people aplenty too. Bottomline is that PhD has little to do with smartness, it is more of sustained hard work. Research was/is/will be rarely a sprint, mostly a marathon. Some problems are just plain hard and it takes an age before people mature and make decent contributions.Singha wrote:problem is IISc profs are supposed to be real terror in timelines to award Phd. the joke a decade ago was if you enter into Phd pgm there after Btech, you can forget about the next 7-8 yrs, while if you go to massa you could put in the same work and get in 5.
not sure if its still true today. most yindu do have some other goals in life than simply slogging on campus on a stipend for the big guy who constantly moves the bar.
Why do you think so? The guys are eligible for inflation-adjusted government pension, which is enough to put them over the top. The total package here is hard to beat for most people, but sure there will be some exceptions where the private sector will pay more.negi wrote:Fwiw
Came across this blog ,writer is a Professor in IISc
Pay scales in IISc
I have to admit though the 6th pay commission recommendations have increased the pay stubs by a significant margin ; the final figure is still no where close to what a guy with similar experience in private sector would make . Don't know what to say .
I thought pension has stopped for all central govt recruitment since the year 2000 or so. So anyone entering now at DRDO/ISRO/IITS/CISR etc is not going to get any pension except the equivalent of the 401k type plans in massa.Why do you think so? The guys are eligible for inflation-adjusted government pension, which is enough to put them over the top.
Blasphemy!. Off with his head!.That leaves one nuke option, make the exit from an IIT not easy. This can be implemented for the older ones of the current IITs. It should no more be a traditional BTech centered institution. That role can be taken over by the new upcoming ones, to fill in the entry levels for industry jobs. Why not make the 5 campuses for real misfits to society
Information science degrees are often offered by schools that are closely related with Library Science.Tanaji wrote:^^^^ Post graduate Diploma in Library Automation and Networking? WTF???
Vina, I know exactly what you mean. But sorry to prick the bubble, your days are gone, lamentably so. The IIT we have today is not the IIT you knew of. Some call it ageing, some call it maturation, some call it development, I call it degradation. Sure, twenty years down the line, this generation of iitians will call the future generations doofusi just as I freely label them now. The big problem is diversity as you witnessed in your days and I saw a bit in my days are NO longer there. It has become uni-dimensional in the sense of chalta-hai, coasting, bindaas, you find a name for it. If a robot gets made in a campus, that must be a rarity not a norm. If people sit around and fix things, that must also be a rarity not the norm. If people take books and study, it must be quiz time. Diversity in your days came because people came from different backgrounds, it is no longer the case now because automatons from kota etc., with exactly the same profile land in almost all the iits. Problem sir, big problem. Over the last five years, three people (!) have went to the US for postgrad in one discipline that has say ~50 people per year. And I am not kidding you, this is the exact line I heard from a prof now in iitm, he hardly gets reference requests from students!! The number who apply for postgrad stuff is a bit more, bt many decide NOT to go prefering the easy cash of it-vity.vina wrote:
Just make sure that you get a whole range of smart people other than one dimensional geeks who manage to ace an exam and have nothing else in life. The IIT hostels were simply exciting because of the who range of extra curricular and social activites that I am sure not many campuses in India (including St Stephens etc) can hold a candle to. That kind of multiple interests and diversity gets reflected in the final career choices that get made as well.
Unbelievable. Is this IIT-M as in IIT Madras and not the newfangled one in Maharashtra ?. In my days, in a batch of 50, say 6 people would stay back in India, with one of them going to say IISc or something, the others into industry and one or two to do YumBeeYea from Eye Eye Yum.Over the last five years, three people (!) have went to the US for postgrad in one discipline that has say ~50 people per year. And I am not kidding you, this is the exact line I heard from a prof now in iitm, he hardly gets reference requests from students!!
You heard me right, it is Madras. Very similar trends are seen across Bombay, Delhi and Kanpur, a bit here and there. Similar trends across the branches. There is also the trend of folks earning a bit of cash from it-vity and applying for post-grad, but that number is minuscule at best. You miss the flow of doing post-grad, coming back and doing one is gonna be hard as hell, that is the rate determining step here.vina wrote: Unbelievable. Is this IIT-M as in IIT Madras and not the newfangled one in Maharashtra ?
Most take CAT or go to it-vity or basic engg companies. Recent trend is "consulting" (!), which makes me feel amused at the best and ack thoo at the worst, but happens sir. Some are going for IAS also, more so than before, but the trend is iits have become truly a localized resource generator. If anyone says brain drain from iits these days, I must find a special icon for "wtf are you talking about?" Campus placements are full, I dont know how the downturn has messed things up, but till the time when it-vity were hiring left-right-and-center, all was fine and dandy, internal circulation onree.
In my days, in a batch of 50, say 6 people would stay back in India, with one of them going to say IISc or something, the others into industry and one or two to do YumBeeYea from Eye Eye Yum.
That changed ages back, AP used to be the highest % just because AP population is far higher and Ramaiah-types set the trend in early days. In my days, AP pop used to be ~50% somuchso that they would win the sac-elections happily and without a fight. The other SI states used to be here and there, random at best, but also correlated with population profiles. These days, the Kota group has swamped the system, I dont have trends or numbers, but hearsay is that AP \approx Kota \approx 30%. If you go to some of the newer iits, Kota >> local populace. Thats why I say Bansal is evil. Of course, I am also white-washing all of Kota as "Kota", but Kota coaching classes in general attract people from all over India, mostly North. Still, when you have internal pollination of ideas and backgrounds, there is hardly any new ideas or diversity as you were speaking of.
How is the B.Tech student body like these days? Back in my days,there used to be a strong contingent from TN (mostly Mylapore/Mambalam types and rest of TN) and Tams who were from Dilli, Mumbai , Calcutta and other places who made it thru JEE, but whose parents dutifully
Bindaas activities still are fine, but creative pursuits are visibly taking a beating. The JEE has become a horrendous mess, more so with increasing the number of seats and number of iits without fixing issues on how to pick the right students, let alone find nuff faculty members. Truly IIT as a system you knew and I knew is NOT what it is today. It is more democratized in some sense, but then a truly democratic system is only rarely going to produce gems, most of it follow the fat middle of the Gaussian. Even in our days, I could see that our batch was not Mt. Everesty-stud types, most were aas-paas-ki-types, including yours sincerely.
And what wide range of interests in everything. These guys would simply crush all other colleges in all events in anything (other than sports of course, where we would get crushed, which is understandable).. There were guys interested in music, poetry, writing, debating, jam, quiz, crosswords, carving, painting . you name it, in addition to their academics.
RM is amply qualified to fix this mess if he can. He is from the same place, he knows the ladaai in the system
Why folks like Rahul The Mehta will put forth dark conspiracy theories of NBJPrie and Elitemen conspiring to keep "commons" out of the IITs .
Pipe dreams.Misfits in society should be secluded and sequestered away from sight and civilization in the new IITs that come up in places like Kota and other random places. The current IITs should be left as they are and made better, sort of like a UC B or Stanford, MIT etc.
I thought so too, but the prof who wrote the blog says -Bade wrote:I thought pension has stopped for all central govt recruitment since the year 2000 or so. So anyone entering now at DRDO/ISRO/IITS/CISR etc is not going to get any pension except the equivalent of the 401k type plans in massa.
The retirement age for all purposes is now 70. However, if I retire (hopefully !) from IISc in 2019 after 20 years of service at the age of 50, I will get pension for the rest of my life at 50% of the basic that I get at 2019. The pension will increase with increase in DA.
The blogs says that CTC after 14 years of experience would be 25-30 LPA. That's not very different from the private sector especially after you add in the present value of the pension. Of course, if the gripe is that some other government employees get this kind of money for working 40hrs a week (the blogger mentions that humanities faculty gets paid the same), then that's a different issue. Another issue is that there will always be exceptions to the rule in the private sector who make far more than the median compensation - don't know if the government has a similar mechanism.negi wrote:While the numbers look attractive at first glance you need to also see the amount of experience required to become a Professor/Asst. Professor in institutes like IISc . I just think for that amount of experience and nature of job (this does not look like a typical 40hrs a week job to me) the remuneration should be higher , how to achieve this and whether it is viable in the current system are different topics altogether.
...if one back calculate, he started his IISc tenure in 1999, so he is grandfathered into the pension system. I think the transition to the new pension less system was sometime in 2001-2.if I retire (hopefully !) from IISc in 2019 after 20 years of service at the age of 50, I will get pension for the rest of my life
Interesting you should mention that coz my father says the same thing (PS: Maybe you are as old as my father? (....runs away....)). The problem is that IIT has been conveniently reduced to just IIT-JEE by the myopic desi mentality where exams are end-all and be-all. So the average abdul today thinks that acing the IIT-JEE is what it is all about - when in fact the actual training only begins once the abdul gets into IIT. Thus, you see the robotic Kota types prevail which also has a backlash on the enthu profs. (esp. young ones and the star old ones) who after a few attempts at resuscitation just give up - I know 3 new faculty in IIT (Powai and D), all massa returned, all graduated around the same time as me and none of them had anything good to say about the general BTech intake in their first year on the job. And with all these cram schools grinding them 24/7/365*2, the fellas (even if they were good to begin with) are too tired after the JEE effort to be creative or innovative. Tired minds can rarely afford to be innovative.vina wrote:There were guys interested in music, poetry, writing, debating, jam, quiz, crosswords, carving, painting . you name it, in addition to their academics. When I look back at some of my hostel mates and what they are doing today (many are absolute top stars in their chosen careers) and think back on what kind of multi facted personalities they were and talents they had, it is just amazing.
For an institution like IIT, using Lego mindstorms to teach robotics is like using a HotWheels car to teach an adult driving. Plus those Mindstorms kits are really expensive. In khanate, most good places have intelligent machine design type classes where you build your own robot from scratch (i.e. using servos, MCU, sensors, etc.) and write your own software to control it. You even design and build your own housing (usually the most expensive part if custom built). While one does not need to go all TFTA like the massa courses and put all sorts of bells and whistles in it (stereo vision, ultrasonic gee gaws, solar panels), making a student design and build something like this on his/her own teaches him basic engineering, design skills and solid concepts. Doing drag-and-drop on some shiny Mindstorms kit is not going to teach him anything except turn him into another Java programming cubicle monkey - for that you dont need IIT (heck you dont even need a 4 year engineering degree college). IIT profs have enough contacts with massa colleagues to source some of the stuff cheap from them (CMU cams etc.) but all the other basic hardware stuff you can easily get cheaply on the likes of Bhagirath Place/Chandni Chowk in Delhi/Calcutta.Singha wrote:do robotics courses in qakhanate use custom designed and ordered kits or COTS ?
I have first hand info in iit-guwahati, they used a lego mindstorm kit as of now. some kinda
basic stuff like taking video input and coding obstacle avoidance algorithms etc were done as term projects.
thats way more than we were exposed to 14 yrs ago.
If they take apart the RCX computer brick then there is probably no force in the world that can put it back together again - Lego bricks are pretty hardy. BTW if any jingo knows how to open up the RCX brick, let me know - I want to get at the ARM inside which probably has lot more stuff which hasn't been pulled out to the toy sensor/actuator connectors on the outside.Singha wrote:that was what I was worried of. if someone disassembled the whole thing to nuts and bolts - they wouldnt be able to put it together, unless chankian concepts like taking a photo after every few steps used.
Not true any more. Now CSIR/UGC and other Institute scholarships for the PhD students has a cap of 5 years i.e. you have to finish PhD in 5 yeasr or else you will be not paid full stipend. They will be paid only honorary stipend of Rs 2500 or so against the full stipend of Rs 15,000. After this cap was introduced, many of my M.Sc classmates have finished PhDs within 5 years and some within 4 years depending on work. I hope they will reduce the cap to 4 years as the facilities in the IISc and other institutes increase and timelines required for doing experiments and finishing PhD also decrease.Singha wrote:problem is IISc profs are supposed to be real terror in timelines to award Phd. the joke a decade ago was if you enter into Phd pgm there after Btech, you can forget about the next 7-8 yrs, while if you go to massa you could put in the same work and get in 5.
not sure if its still true today. most yindu do have some other goals in life than simply slogging on campus on a stipend for the big guy who constantly moves the bar.
I am, only if you happen to be 4 1/2 years old!Bose Babu wrote:(PS: Maybe you are as old as my father? (....runs away....))
Nope I am closer to 4 1/2 - (you didn't mention mentally or physically and anyhow my GHQ will swear that I am closer to the lower bound as opposed to the upper bound).vina wrote:I am, only if you happen to be 4 1/2 years old!Bose Babu wrote:(PS: Maybe you are as old as my father? (....runs away....))![]()
![]()
Admit it. You are closer to 40 1/2 than 4 1/2![]()
Hey, that wont be too bad if they can get all the gopis in like the somehow manage to do with the MSc and M.S programs!. Life will be a lot more colorful and more emphatic and hopefully less of total argee at the madrassa!.Bade wrote:Pipe dreams.It will look more like IIM than IIT in a few years time.
I have to disagree with that. The "Kota types" were part of a diverse pool in those days. They were not the overwhelming majority in those days and tended to be a minority I think.The misfits I allude to are the ones who do not necessarily fall into the tight fits of the JEE system, Kota coached or not. The Kota ones are exact fits for the current IIT culture.
This has been true from what I noticed right from 1987 days too. This tooling around and doing nothing was quite common among BTech even then. (There was a EE guy called toolie, who was always found in the common room, evey hostel even had a guy named pondyin those days) In fact in our wing in Mandak, we had 3rd and 4th year BTechs who could be found in their hostel rooms at anytime of the day, discussing pee-lo-sopie of American constitution and graduate school admissions loopholes.
It was a rigged system with huge QBies to ace the GRE at 99.999999% level for most subjects.
In fact applying for fizziks MS/Pacchadi among the JEE geniuses from EE was common, as general RGing was high to get into good schools in EE with full scholarship, considering the inflated GRE scores. So a GRE physics score of 95% or so could get them to some good schools. Most have disappeared from the physics, which is true for MSc types too considering that the attrition is higher than engg to get a faculty position in a reasonable time.
Aww.. Mentally/Physically , doesnt matter !. Over 25 --> Over the hill.. Welcome to the middle ages broRaja Bose wrote:Nope I am closer to 4 1/2 - (you didn't mention mentally or physically and anyhow my GHQ will swear that I am closer to the lower bound as opposed to the upper bound).
while there's that cap, the institute's can continue the stipend of its own pocket beyond that time period. then there are students who are funded by overseas projects that don't have any time cap. I hear there's one person in IITK who has been there for 9-10 years.raghunath wrote: Not true any more. Now CSIR/UGC and other Institute scholarships for the PhD students has a cap of 5 years i.e. you have to finish PhD in 5 yeasr or else you will be not paid full stipend. They will be paid only honorary stipend of Rs 2500 or so against the full stipend of Rs 15,000. After this cap was introduced, many of my M.Sc classmates have finished PhDs within 5 years and some within 4 years depending on work. I hope they will reduce the cap to 4 years as the facilities in the IISc and other institutes increase and timelines required for doing experiments and finishing PhD also decrease.
Did I hear that right, mattaks and buttocks?!vina wrote: Muttuks and B.Techs