Re: Levant crisis - III
Posted: 21 Jun 2016 16:23
turkey is a major chum of hamas which rules the gaza strip.
Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
Reminds me of the pictures from June 1967, of the Mighty Egyptian Air Force, lined up all ready with bums to finish off Israel. Just before the Che Din started. The nice rows are to make it convenient for a single bombing run on each row.Singha wrote:the mighty 4th armour div of the Egyptian army - this is probably more tanks than entirely in syria in all hands
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClFIArmXEAAQGZC.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClFIArmWgAAWGwB.jpg
All M1 AbramsSingha wrote:the mighty 4th armour div of the Egyptian army - this is probably more tanks than entirely in syria in all hands
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClFIArmXEAAQGZC.jpg
About 60 tanks the image. By 6 AM tomorrow morning they will need 90,000 liters of fuel - i.e 1000 standard Desi tankersA tank will need approximately 300 gallons every eight hours; this will vary depending on mission, terrain, and weather. A single tank takes 10 minutes to refuel. Refueling and rearming of a tank platoon--four tanks--is approximately 30 minutes under ideal conditions. 0.6 miles per gallon.
They don't, but the US military industrial complex needs Egypt to keep buying them with US foreign aid. From the US taxpayer to Egypt and then right back into the pockets of General Dynamics; corporate welfare at its finest.IndraD wrote:Singha ji thanks for valuable inputs through out, that pic from Egypt is stunning, why do they need so many tanks? +1001 for all posts!
The Pentagon posts aggregate data on the number of wounded on its website. But Pentagon officials admit the information may be out of date and incomplete.
For example, as of Tuesday, the site indicates 16 personnel have been wounded in the fight against ISIS, but that does not include four other troops lightly wounded in an attack on June 9. The Pentagon has not disclosed details of that incident, but CNN learned the injuries came when a vehicle near the U.S. military advisers exploded after being hit by an anti-tank round. The statistics also do not include a U.S. soldier in Afghanistan who suffered a gunshot wound to the leg earlier this month.
Russia is emerging from an internal debate over whether the U.S. is truly interested in an entente or only in bloodying Russia’s nose. And what do we see? Skepticism. Russia is skeptical that NATO’s new missile shield in Poland and Romania, plus military exercises right up near its border, are purely defensive actions.
Iran, meanwhile, is studying the entrails of the nuclear agreement. As one well-informed commentator put it to me, Iran is “coldly lethal” at the gloating in the U.S. at having “put one over” Iran. Because, while Iran has duly taken actions that preclude it from weaponizing its nuclear program, it will not now gain the financial normalization that it had expected under the agreement.
What do we see? Skepticism.
It’s not a question of slow implementation — I’ve heard directly from banks in Europe that they’ve been visited by U.S. Treasury officials and warned in clear terms that any substantive trade cooperation with Iran is closed off. Iran is not being integrated into the financial system. U.S. sanctions remain in place, the Europeans have been told, and the U.S. will implement fines against those who contravene these sanctions. Financial institutions are fearful, particularly given the size of the fines that have been imposed — almost $9 billion for the French bank BNP a year ago.
In principle, sanctions have been lifted. But in practice, even though its sales of crude are reaching pre-sanctions levels, Iran has found that, financially, it remains substantially hobbled. America apparently achieved a double success: It circumscribed Iran’s nuclear program, and the U.S. Treasury has hollowed out the nuclear agreement’s financial quid pro quo, thus limiting Iran’s potential financial empowerment, which America’s Gulf allies so feared.
Some Iranian leaders say that the U.S. should never have been trusted in the first place.
And Damascus? It never believed that the recent cease-fire would be a genuine cessation of hostilities, and many ordinary Syrians now concur with their government, seeing it as just another American ruse. They are urging their government to get on with it — to liberate Aleppo. “Just do it” is the message for the Syrian government that I’ve heard on the streets. A sense of the West being deceitful is exacerbated by reports of American, German, French and possibly Belgian special forces establishing themselves in northern Syria.
The Russians evidently thought they could make an honest deal with [U.S. Secretary of State John] Kerry [and President] Obama. Well, they were wrong. The U.S. supported jihadis associated with [Jabhat al-Nusra, al Qaeda’s Syria wing] ... merely ‘pocketed’ the truce as an opportunity to re-fit, re-supply and re-position forces. The U.S. must have been complicit in this ruse. Perhaps the Russians have learned from this experience.
Lang goes on to note that during the “truce,” “the Turks, presumably with the agreement of the U.S., brought 6,000 men north out of [Syria via the] Turkish border ... They trucked them around, and brought them through Hatay Province in Turkey to be sent back into Aleppo Province and to the city of Aleppo itself.” Reports in Russian media indicate that Nusra jihadists, who have continued to shell Syrian government forces during the “truce,” are being commanded directly by Turkish military advisers. And meanwhile, the U.S. supplied the opposition with about 3,000 tons of weapons during the cease-fire, according to I.H.S. Jane’s, a security research firm.
thats also the reason for the perpetual annual arms aid to Israel. even if the israelis wanted the Elta2032 on their Sufa F16I, they were forced to install only the raytheon OEM set only.Y. Kanan wrote:They don't, but the US military industrial complex needs Egypt to keep buying them with US foreign aid. From the US taxpayer to Egypt and then right back into the pockets of General Dynamics; corporate welfare at its finest.IndraD wrote:Singha ji thanks for valuable inputs through out, that pic from Egypt is stunning, why do they need so many tanks? +1001 for all posts!
Shivji,shiv wrote:All M1 AbramsSingha wrote:the mighty 4th armour div of the Egyptian army - this is probably more tanks than entirely in syria in all hands
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ClFIArmXEAAQGZC.jpg![]()
from GoogalAbout 60 tanks the image. By 6 AM tomorrow morning they will need 90,000 liters of fuel - i.e 1000 standard Desi tankersA tank will need approximately 300 gallons every eight hours; this will vary depending on mission, terrain, and weather. A single tank takes 10 minutes to refuel. Refueling and rearming of a tank platoon--four tanks--is approximately 30 minutes under ideal conditions. 0.6 miles per gallon.
Get the tankers..
oops yes.Imagine. I typed 1000 instead of 10 x 9000 liter tankers! Talk about madarsa mathhabal wrote:1 tata truck tanker is 17,000 litres, so roughly 5 trucks can do the needful.