India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Letter is well worded and to the point. I agree. I was just stating my opinion of Clinton, lest we may mistake him for India friend.

Also this - Paris liberation made 'whites only'
Many who fought Nazi Germany during World War II did so to defeat the vicious racism that left millions of Jews dead.
Yet the BBC's Document programme has seen evidence that black colonial soldiers - who made up around two-thirds of Free French forces - were deliberately removed from the unit that led the Allied advance into the French capital.

In January 1944 Eisenhower's Chief of Staff, Major General Walter Bedell Smith, was to write in a memo stamped, "confidential": "It is more desirable that the division mentioned above consist of white personnel.
"This would indicate the Second Armoured Division, which with only one fourth native personnel, is the only French division operationally available that could be made one hundred percent white."
At the time America segregated its own troops along racial lines and did not allow black GIs to fight alongside their white comrades until the late stages of the war.
Morocco division
Given the fact that Britain did not segregate its forces and had a large and valued Indian army, one might have expected London to object to such a racist policy.
Yet this does not appear to have been the case.

CRamS wrote:Guys, unless I missed it, have you all noticed that among everyone in DDM, Arnab Goswami of TimesNow made the most noises in the immediate aftermath of DK's rape. But of late he has been very silent on this issue. I would have thought he would have picked up Anmol's good work in bringing to light, the ugly American diplomats' rants. Wonder why?
True. Conspicuous!

Anmol saar,
wow! Amazing! Thumbs up. :D

Vina saar,
nice write up. Yep, the turning point seems to be UN posting that which may not have been gamed by the amirkhans.

chaanakya wrote:Letter is well worded and to the point. I agree. I was just stating my opinion of Clinton, lest we may mistake him for India friend.

The letter by making ref to Clinton brings out the fact that bothe Democrats and Republicans had supported good relations with India. A subtle unstated thing is Hillary Clinton who ran against Obama is not in current admin anymore.

It lets the mind do the connections.

As usual 'best is enemy of good'.

Prasad saar 2 of your last posts are "Understanding US" kind of post. Hope you will cross post.

India US relationship have its engines on fire and now it is on a glide path, eventually it will obey laws of gravity.

:D Anmol saar bahout khoob. Ju are realy anmol. Anmoluddin bin Khozi

While the thread brought out the stupidity of some of the US diplmats posted in India, it also brought out the mendacity of Indian press stalwarts who still do not disclose how they got to see the tumblr site.
Well their credibility is also tarnished.

anmol or someone else: please copy all of the expose pages into multiple non-US domain sites too. We need them on .in domain URLs, not just US based ones. Even tumblr (owned by yahoo) can be asked to delete your site for any reason they want.

ramana wrote:While the thread brought out the stupidity of some of the US diplmats posted in India, it also brought out the mendacity of Indian press stalwarts who still do not disclose how they got to see the tumblr site.
Bang on. Their credibility was negative even before this. I get my news from BRF! As for watching the news, I AM A NOTA! :mrgreen:

This piece from NY journalist (posted in December) used the same words as I used "poured gasoline"
but I liked the title picture and caption which accompanied it.

Preet Bharara Pours Gasoline on the Fire

Protests continue in India over diplomat's arrest. Thank you, Preet Bharara!
Here are some of the excerpts:
The raging diplomatic incident that has breached relations between the U.S. and India--the arrest of a deputy counsel general on visa charges--continued to simmer on Wednesday. TV reports showed images straight out of the sixties, with protesters burning American flags and an effigy (above). Secretary of State John Kerry issued a statement of regret, and the furor lead off Erin Burnett's CNN broadcast (hosted by Chris Cuomo) at 7 p.m.

It seemed that cooler heads were prevailing--for a few minutes. Then a not-so-cool head, U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara, stepped in, and proceeded to pour a gallon of Exxon Unleaded on the raging fire.

Bharara, whose ham-handed prosecution of the diplomat--charges carrying a fifteen-year prison term--touched off this entirely unnecessary diplomatic rupture with a key U.S. ally, was apparently feeling the heat. Or, perhaps, he didn't think that soothing U.S.-India ties were a good idea. Or something.

In a gratuitously nasty statement emailed to reporters at 7:25 p.m., Bharara defended not just his prosecution of the Indian counsel, Devyani Khobragade, but also the body-cavity search which so enraged Indians. It was not carried out by his office, but not to worry, Bharara was mad as hell and not going to take all the "inaccuracies" in the media anymore.

The New York Times called it "an unusual and robust public defense," and reported that "the tone of Mr. Bharara’s statement, issued in the evening in New York, seemed in marked contrast to an expression of 'regret' made earlier in the day by Secretary of State John Kerry." That's putting it mildly.

In a way, you have to admire Bharara for stepping up to the plate and slamming one into the stands (albeit, the ones behind him) with quite so much vigor. A more astute prosecutor, or one desiring to repair this international incident, would have either kept silent or leaked to the media about how Khobragade was allowed to keep her cell phone and was given a cup of coffee by the arresting officers, etc.

Bharara ended his statement by saying that "this Office's sole motivation in this case, as in all cases, is to uphold the rule of law, protect victims, and hold accountable anyone who breaks the law - no matter what their societal status and no matter how powerful, rich or connected they are."

He might have added: "... unless they are major bankers who precipitated the financial crisis of 2008. In that case, I'll find an excuse not to prosecute them."

Predictably, India did not react favorably to Bharara's statement. The Indian Ministry of External Affairs issued a response. CNN-IBN reported: "Taking a dig at the US Attorney prosecuting the case, MEA spokesperson Syed Akbaruddin said, 'The statement issued by Preet Bharara that the procedure followed in the Indian diplomat case is a standard practice for every defendant, rich or poor is a rhetorical remark and that is not conducisve in resolving inaccuracies.' " The Times of India reported further on the antagonism that Bharara generated by his statement.

There's no question that India has overreacted { IMO it did not} , and also that there is another side to this story {yes like some racist ugly people in US embassy} ..... But there's a deeper issue here, one of judgment and prosecutorial priorities. It's been my belief for quite some time that Preet Bharara's are way out of whack. This whole episode not only confirms that, but shows that there is something seriously wrong with his judgment and temperament.
Link: http://garyweiss.blogspot.com/2013/12/p ... -fire.html

Now patsy is being shown his place. He might have to retire as US Attorney in the end or go teach his lack of skills back to Harvard.

When one poster called him Uncle Tom and more, some folks were upset.
Time has shown the remark was accurate.

While wea all celebrate teh success of Indian Amercians in every field, we need to see if it aligns with their world view to do the right thing.

PB did not do the right thing and in the end had to ask for a plea bargain to misdemeanour charge from 15 years imprisonment which was refused.

I hope the Martoma case also comes to naught just because PB is using hsi powers selectively to go after Indian origin accused. Thanks AmberG for that blog link. It confirms the optics are not distorted!

The episode is an example of how well meaning legislators put laws inot place and over zealous, agenda driven officials mis-implement the laws in the books. When it is found out it leads to blowback and career ending moves.

Its in the book and hence I will throw it at the perpetrator without circumustances etc.

I still think DK had diplomatic immunity from July 26, 2013 when she was attached to UN mission and not because US SD recognizes it.

Int retrospect seeing how the evetn played out, even that delay could be malafide.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

May's racist ramble catches one more news outlet's eye:
The Mays: Noble diplomats or self-important racists?
anmol ji, awesome indeed. Very good show.

How can they authenticate fb postings when it is deleted if not for timely find? the outlets wouldn't even had a clue about these nobel diplomats' real faces.
Madhusudhan

Post by Madhusudhan »

@venug - They can question the Mays and they can get one of the following responses:
1. Confirm
2. Deny - In which case they'd be lying and it could elongate and deepen the scandal
3. Neither confirm nor deny - In which case it would be tantamount to a confirmation.

I think #2 is unlikely so it's either #1 or #3 - So the Facebook site archives will be assumed to be true as far as media is concerned
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Madhusudhan ji, it is going to be 2 all the way. Who wants to get branded racist? US gov would have done lot better right from the start of this episode if only their intentions are pure and clean even if PB bungled, but they didn't. US will not cooperate, they will not make anything public. Already Dean Nelson says fb page is hacked, they will run with it. US doesn't want to be branded racist, it is land of honey and milk.

Now the accusation of Human Trafficking has fallen on the way side (it was not one of the charges returned by the Grand Jury) the question is how a T3 visa was granted. To get that visa I am sure Mr.Richards has filled out the form DS160 effectively lying on it. So should he not be prosecuted for Visa fraud?

ramana wrote: I still think DK had diplomatic immunity from July 26, 2013 when she was attached to UN mission and not because US SD recognizes it.

Int retrospect seeing how the evetn played out, even that delay could be malafide.

I wonder what made GOI not to press this point. The Indictment would have to be dismissed on this ground alone and arrest would be illegal and in contravention of VCDR. US can very well apologise and close the chapter for now else sword of someone getting arrested in ND would be hanging over their diplomutts

By being against foreign multi-brand retailers, Aam Aadmi Party upsets Umrikans.
http://blogs.cfr.org/asia/2014/01/14/aa ... nvestment/

ramana wrote:While the thread brought out the stupidity of some of the US diplmats posted in India, it also brought out the mendacity of Indian press stalwarts who still do not disclose how they got to see the tumblr site.
The number of disclaimers in Chidanand Rajghattas report and his labeling those who were pointing the issue out as trolls, was notable.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1560961
putnanja wrote:'Kerry was aware of Khobragarde's arrest'

The State Department has not received any communication from the Indian government about the transfer of the Indian diplomat to the United Nations, she said.
[/b]

"We have seen these media reports, but we at the State Department have not received any official communication regarding a possible change of credentials," she said.

"In terms of the process, if and when such a request is made to the UN, it would be made to the UN Secretariat, who would then inform the Department of State. If, again, such a request is made, which we have not received any communication on such a request, it would have to be reviewed by all appropriate authorities at the UN and at the Department of State.

"It's not an automatic thing by any means. But again, we haven't received such a request,"
she noted.

"Since no request has been made to us, I don't know what that would look like in practice. I've been very clear about what her diplomatic status was at the time of the arrest and currently is, which is, of course, consular immunity," she said.
India was clear and informed that She had diplomatic immunity by virtue of Adviser status at the time of arrest. And Marie Harf was clear that she had consular immunity. This contradictory statement needs to be resolved and her immunity status at the time of arrest needs to be made clear.

I still think DK had diplomatic immunity from July 26, 2013 when she was attached to UN mission and not because US SD recognizes it.
What is more important, IMO,is too see what US courts (and Juries) think WHEN (not if) DSS is sued for unlawful arrest in US court. Unlike prosecutors, who have lot of immunity against civil cases, investigative units like DS or DSS, and USMS do not enjoy that kind of immunity. So even if some guys in ND, many enjoy diplomatic immunity in Indian courts, they do not in US courts. I hope for not only a successful massive civil case, for deterrent purpose onlee 8) (and of course not for revenge :idea: ), but criminal investigation being also conducted and culprits brought to justice. (India, of course should see if any Indian laws were broken and indict PB and co,-- they will have no immunity in India.
Last edited by Amber G. on 15 Jan 2014 00:23, edited 1 time in total.

Suraj wrote:anmol or someone else: please copy all of the expose pages into multiple non-US domain sites too. We need them on .in domain URLs, not just US based ones. Even tumblr (owned by yahoo) can be asked to delete your site for any reason they want.
On similar lines and not to belabor the point, Mays and US Gov could not disown the comments as "fabrication" as doing so will pitch them against FB - a battle not in the interest of US Gov.

However, what is the protection the social media users (on FB, TWTR, and many other portals) have if the new or past comments are doctored by either host company or US Gov (with or without collusion)?

a. On or about September 27, 2012, an electronic form DS-l60, which is a visa application, was submitted through the website for the US Department of State's Consular Electronic Application Center, for an visa for Devyani Khobragade, the defendant. The visa application for Khobragade stated that nobody assisted Khobragade in the preparation of the application, which was electronically signed by the applicant, Khobragade, and filed from a computer or digital device with an identified IP address (the "Khobragade IP Address") .

b. On or about October 15, 2012, an electronic form DS~16O was submitted through the website for the US Department of State's Consular Electronic Application Center, for an visa for Witness~l. The application for Witness-l (the "Visa Application") indicated that the preparer was Khobragade, and that the Visa Application.was submitted.from a computer or digital device assigned the Khobragade IP Address.

c. The Visa Application stated that an visa was sought for Witness-l, who was to be the personal employee of Khobragade beginning in November 2012 at an address in New York, New York.
I wondered where I read about DK filling the form. This is the original complaint of Smith where he also states both the applications, one for DK's visa and the other for SR's Visa, were made from the same IP address. So obviously when you log into State Dept site, they do log your IP addresses and retain them. One quibble -- why does he refer to 'an visa' (he does it at many places)?

If India took reciprocal action against some US consular Official, US could not have transferred him to UN Office in India. Such opportunities are not present to diplomats in India. Hence US should be careful in its conduct as there would be no safety valve to vent the pressure.

But then, they can transfer them to their Embassy in New Delhi with full diplomatic immunity, can't they?
Last edited by saip on 15 Jan 2014 00:39, edited 1 time in total.

Appeal to all US citizens, residents, or those people from India who believe in good mutual relationship with India. Please help US state department by helping them to report VISA fraud.

It is now very clear that SR and her accomplishes like Mays' and possibly others willfully participated in Visa fraud, please help the US depart of state and ask them to investigate.

Please write to:

Department of Diplomatic Security
Washington Field Office
2222 Gallows Rd, Suite 300
Dunn Loring, VA 22027
Phone: (571) 226-9300
Fax: (571) 226-9382

(Fax or snail mail is more effective, you may or may not request anonymity as you wish)

For your information per their site Visa fraud is a serious offense.
http://www.state.gov/m/ds/investigat/
DS Special Agents in the United States and overseas conduct criminal investigations into passport and visa fraud. These federal felonies are often committed in connection with more other crimes, such as international terrorism, drug trafficking, organized crime, alien smuggling, money laundering, pedophilia, and murder. These investigations are critical to secure American borders and protect the national security of the United States.

. DS conducts investigations involving the fraudulent issuance, acquisition, and use of U.S. passports. DS Special Agents cooperate with other State Department bureaus, other federal agencies, state and local law enforcement authorities, and foreign police partners, {We know that New Delhi police will be all too glad to help you - If need be remove immunity from suspects if you need their help :) } to pursue passport crime suspects.

The U.S. visa permits an alien to travel to a port of entry and apply for entry to the United States for a specific purpose, such as work or tourism. Thousands of people illegally attempt to obtain U.S. visas each year. DS personnel stationed around the world conduct investigations pertaining to the fraudulent application, issuance, procurement, counterfeiting, or forgery of U.S. visas. DS works with the Bureau of Consular Affairs on cases involving allegations of corrupt American Embassy employees, fraudulent document vendors, and the use of visas by terrorists, and those smuggling and trafficking drugs and human beings.

Passport and visa crimes are federal offenses punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $250,000. The maximum prison sentence is increased to 15 years if the offense is connected to drug trafficking, and to 20 years if connected to terrorism.
Please help us root out corrupt American Embassy employees. !!!!
Last edited by Amber G. on 15 Jan 2014 00:42, edited 1 time in total.

saip wrote:But then, they can transfer them to their Embassy in New Delhi with full diplomatic immunity, can't they?
There is no agreement that makes India accept the transfer unlike agreement of US with UN under which they can not refuse . India can refuse as well.

Thanks, Amber. I don't know if you saw my post on the previous page where I wondered if Mr Richard committed visa fraud by falsely claiming he is a victim of human trafficking.

chaanakya (Did I get the spelling right!), Arent we assuming too much? Who knows what non-reciprocal stuff the MEA babucracy has been hanging on to?

They still need to come clean as to how the US Embassy was allowed to Occupy the Delhi Street and what did the govt do about it till the DK arrest?
And even here why did they do that?
How come there was no communication that the safety and security was never compromised and in fact augmented?
Is this all below the line for the MEA spokeman to handle?

The perception in US was that somehow the security was reduced and that it was tit for tat for DK arrest when it was not so.

saip wrote:Thanks, Amber. I don't know if you saw my post on the previous page where I wondered if Mr Richard committed visa fraud by falsely claiming he is a victim of human trafficking.
Err the Mays committed the visa fraud by issuing T-2 &T-3 visas and booking air tickets on diplomatic travel agency account and gross misuse of funds.

Richards are victims onlee.

BTW, reading the archived pages (seems creepy, but they were up on a previous page) does show some people commenting in the FB list who liked and appreciated India. Their kid/s also appear to be happier than these two were.

The lady diplomat in particular seems to have almost completely disliked India - stuff like water, air pollution, anything & everything, basically. She was happy about Starbucks opening in India!

And all the usual siege mentality reports are avidly posted wimmen mistreated/bad air/this that. Pics are posted, and others say great stuff - response is "heat"/"sucked"/"want peace and quiet, wish I was back" etc.

The US should be open about these issues and not send folks across who won't or can't handle a different culture, or even the weather for that matter.

I wonder whether the Richards used these folks by piling on all the stereotypes and pretending to be the poor oppressed sorts. That might have made anyone local roll their eyes but worked with these folks who were clearly unable to handle the complexity of living in a developing country.

ramana wrote:chaanakya (Did I get the spelling right!), Arent we assuming too much? Who knows what non-reciprocal stuff the MEA babucracy has been hanging on to?

They still need to come clean as to how the US Embassy was allowed to Occupy the Delhi Street and what did the govt do about it till the DK arrest?
And even here why did they do that?
How come there was no communication that the safety and security was never compromised and in fact augmented?
Is this all below the line for the MEA spokeman to handle?

The perception in US was that somehow the security was reduced and that it was tit for tat for DK arrest when it was not so.

Yes :oops:

Well I think I am. But MEA has not been too transparent about non reciprocal stuff. It has been unsatisfactory response in BRF members opinion going by the views expressed.

And no, MEA spokesperson is fairly high official, remember , Jaishankar was also Spokesperson and was considered for FS post before being given US amby post since Sujata Singh was senior. So yes , he could have handled it well , but for political direction of not antagonizing US too much, I again assume.

Long time back me and my amrikki GHQ were travelling through India. In Rajasthan we found a really good driver who took us from point A to point B fast and I really got to like him the first couple of days. He figured that since I was with a gori chick, I also held the same world view as most of his gora passangers. Soon the talks and narrative changed to issues with Gujjars, untouchables etc and how they get mistreated every second of the day. The man took us through "special routes" through jaipur where no "upper caste" person goes.

I was too deracinated to react at that point. I did change the driver as soon as I got a chance though. Surprisingly my GHQ wanted to keep him and when I insisted that I wanted to get rid of him because he might just be blowing smoke up our behinds, she reluctantly agreed on the one condition that I give him "something extra" coz of the hardship he has to go through everyday.

That incident gave me a rare view on what happens when these folks are alone with gora admis. They know that goras like the hear their stories about being mistreated (as a way to feel superior and also get the "white man's burden" thing). As a pittance these goras usually give them 'something extra'. This is a small cottage industry. The drivers know the piskology of the goras very well, they just tell them what they want to hear about India.

I am willing to bet that is what happened with SR, her husband and her in-laws. They took the Mays for a ride and thereby achieved the unique feat of compromising and already shaky India-US 'relationship' as a result of their actions. The Mays might have wanted to save a fellow Christian from the heathens of India, filled with filth, cows and what not. They were just performing their "white-man's-burden" in effect working against the interest of their parent country.

What did not help the situation was MUTUs like Bharara and the general intransigence of the DoJ, DoS and especially USMS when dealing with people of color.

LokeshC, interesting.

I recently had a similar experience in that a family member visited with an American friend who was having a good time (heavy shopping at cheap prices, good food, friendly people), but then she says "of course, when you read the newspapers, you know how things really are".

Going by our media, 24/7 about caste-oppression, identity politics, 2002 "pogrom" etc & similar rubbish, with very little about the positive facets of India, its easy to imagine how the more cautious will end up reinforcing their basic impressions which are built around crowded/overpopulated/cities with some parts that are not exactly hygienic to ---> gawsh, primitives oppressing each other all out to get me as well.

The JNU type literati crowd which infests our "elite" media circles is of course this type as well. Net, am reminded of A-Gupta's post - until & unless India develops, we will continue to have parasites amongst us playing to the fears of others who expect a certain narrative & when given that skewed narrative, buy it easily. Even then, there will be folks who continue to make hay and those who walk with predecided views about India, but hopefully, it won't be so easy to sucker them either and nor will there be a mass narrative based on the kind of rubbish that currently passes for understanding India (often propagated by Indians of the left leaning variety).

saip wrote:Thanks, Amber. I don't know if you saw my post on the previous page where I wondered if Mr Richard committed visa fraud by falsely claiming he is a victim of human trafficking.
Err the Mays committed the visa fraud by issuing T-2 &T-3 visas and booking air tickets on diplomatic travel agency account and gross misuse of funds.

Richards are victims onlee.
But the form DS160 must have been signed by Mr. Richards in both the cases (T2&T3). So he would be the prime accused. He might have been advised/encouraged to file this app by Mays who then would be accessories to the crime. Mr Richards could turn state's witness be absolved of any wrong doing. Another question, can there be T2 and T3 Visas without a T1 Visa? Then how did SR get that visa? Who then started all this deception and caused these visas to be issued?

I wish Indian new paper writers right only from the location they are posted. The mixing of sources to economise or to balance the issue is furstrating. Whose POV are they reporting?
I would valaue if they report the US perespective all in one article and those in India report the Indian perespective. By having them mix the news it makes for confused reading.
Ashwin B

Post by Ashwin B »

Alicia May's post on FB mentions a "text book" which purportedly paints non-vegetarians as rapists.
Does anyone know which text book she's referring to? Why or who would ever put that kind of garbage in school textbooks?
Wonder which paki textbook she read.
Of course, desi newspapers (like this one here) have to pick up on that to connect to the bad hindus.
Last edited by Ashwin B on 15 Jan 2014 02:42, edited 1 time in total.

That text book was written by a Seventh Day Adventist Christian and it was withdrawn by the publishers.

saip wrote:That text book was written by a Seventh Day Adventist Christian and it was withdrawn by the publishers.

Are you sure? Any back up to refute the blige in Sify report?

The book itself was written by David S Poddar and I heard (I could be wrong) he belongs to Seventh Day Adventist church which encourages vegetarianism. The book " New healthway primer (health, hygiene, physiology, safety, games and exercise)" was published by S Chand's.