Indian Autos Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
nikhil_p

Re: Indian Autos Thread

Post by nikhil_p »

^^^^^^
Ditto for the Skoda L&K COMBI...A friend, who incidentallly works with the Skoda factory as a Manager or something, has this. His kids sit the cavernous 'boot' and play when papa is driving with mom by his side from Nagar to Pune...

vik, what's the story on the compressed air powered car project we heard about sometime back ? tata was supposed to have bought the tech from an euro firm.

RayC wrote:Fiat Millicento!
Yes the original Premier Model was the Fiat 1100 aka millicento! (Milli = 1000, cento = 100)

VikB, What is the progress on Electric vehicles? Please update us.
VikB

Post by VikB »

Rahul M wrote:vik, what's the story on the compressed air powered car project we heard about sometime back ? tata was supposed to have bought the tech from an euro firm.
Sorry but no clue. I will ask my paanwallah to enquire.
VikB

Post by VikB »

ramana wrote:VikB, What is the progress on Electric vehicles? Please update us.
This my paanwallah knows well as he is directly responsible for this project only!!!!

But sigh!!! as is typical Indian tragedy, Tatas were the first off the block a few years back but then they seem to have faltered now. They bought the majority stake in a company in Norway - Miljo Innovasion/Grenland through their 100% subsidary - TMETC (Tata Motors European Technical Centre) located at Coventry, Warwick University (it was essentially the college's auto hub bought by Tatas a few years ago. I fantasize the day their will be one Indian Univ/college that will be on par with the industry in terms of research and knowledge).

This company - Miljo is supposed to be 'experts' in conversion of cars to electric cars. It turns out they are no better than 'experts' with an s in front.
Well the problem is that everyone is struggling with getting a battery - Li-ion to give the desired specs - 200km on single charging and half hour of fast charging upto 80% capacity. Li ion battery technology is what is the crux of the whole damn electric car concept. The one who controls this, will take away the market.

Read my previous posts about the oldies in organisations sitting like hens sit on an egg. (no more ranting)
The only company in view of my paanwallah who seems to be well poised to take leadership in the electric car space is - Mitsubishi. They have started taking orders for iMiEV. One of their sister concerns - through the Mitsui umbrella (much like our Tatas) is leader in battery technology. The awesome bit - this Mitsui battery company has a JV with Tatas in the 'Tata Green' company which has become aggressive in Indian market recently with their lead acid batteries. Because the Mitsui company is related to Mitsubishi - hence it cannot sell the Li ion tech to its JV in India for use by Tatas!!! What twisted ways of this world.
========
added later

Ramana ji, I dont know if I answered your question. In a nutshell , they are struggling (like others, to be fair) with the battery technology. They were tying up with a Canadian firm earlier but that has fallen through. A new firm has been contacted and the results are awaited.
Drevin

Post by Drevin »

I heard honda india tried to sell a civic hybrid (petrol-electric) in 2007-08 and it was a commercial dud. they ended up making a loss on the endeavor. we are still very much a petrol/diesel based car industry.

I did hear rumors of toyota plannin to bring a petrol-electric car to india in 2010-11. cant seem to find the link to the news snipet.

So bl00dy difficult trying to learn a manual transmission after gettng used to massa's automatic one only..... :(( And the traffic outside convinces me I'll not be able to venture cityside on weekdays for yrs perhaps.

Hariji,
The best way to turn the psyche is to ride as pillion rider with a well versed driver at the helm for few days. With buses barely few inches behind you, the fear of traffic is going to disappear. The psyche will truly turn from minding and following what one does, to honing the true yindoo skill of anticipating how other road users are going to behave. An amazing feat onlee. After couple of weeks of this treatment, then driving on the roads will look like cake walk, except for the frustration of waiting in traffic jams.
All maya onlee.

VikB wrote:
ramana wrote:VikB, What is the progress on Electric vehicles? Please update us.
This my paanwallah knows well as he is directly responsible for this project only!!!!

But sigh!!! as is typical Indian tragedy, Tatas were the first off the block a few years back but then they seem to have faltered now. They bought the majority stake in a company in Norway - Miljo Innovasion/Grenland through their 100% subsidary - TMETC (Tata Motors European Technical Centre) located at Coventry, Warwick University (it was essentially the college's auto hub bought by Tatas a few years ago. I fantasize the day their will be one Indian Univ/college that will be on par with the industry in terms of research and knowledge).

This company - Miljo is supposed to be 'experts' in conversion of cars to electric cars. It turns out they are no better than 'experts' with an s in front.
Well the problem is that everyone is struggling with getting a battery - Li-ion to give the desired specs - 200km on single charging and half hour of fast charging upto 80% capacity. Li ion battery technology is what is the crux of the whole damn electric car concept. The one who controls this, will take away the market.

Read my previous posts about the oldies in organisations sitting like hens sit on an egg. (no more ranting)
The only company in view of my paanwallah who seems to be well poised to take leadership in the electric car space is - Mitsubishi. They have started taking orders for iMiEV. One of their sister concerns - through the Mitsui umbrella (much like our Tatas) is leader in battery technology. The awesome bit - this Mitsui battery company has a JV with Tatas in the 'Tata Green' company which has become aggressive in Indian market recently with their lead acid batteries. Because the Mitsui company is related to Mitsubishi - hence it cannot sell the Li ion tech to its JV in India for use by Tatas!!! What twisted ways of this world.
========
added later

Ramana ji, I dont know if I answered your question. In a nutshell , they are struggling (like others, to be fair) with the battery technology. They were tying up with a Canadian firm earlier but that has fallen through. A new firm has been contacted and the results are awaited.
What the Tatas bought was simply company that had some experiance in lisence manufacturing batteries from a canadiam firm. It is far from anything cutting edge. The only way to get hands on cutting edge tech is to develop it self. In a way the Nano is probably more cutting edge then the battery company they bought.
bart

Post by bart »

Drevin wrote:I heard honda india tried to sell a civic hybrid (petrol-electric) in 2007-08 and it was a commercial dud. they ended up making a loss on the endeavor. we are still very much a petrol/diesel based car industry.

I did hear rumors of toyota plannin to bring a petrol-electric car to india in 2010-11. cant seem to find the link to the news snipet.
Honda's Civic Hybrid in India was exorbitantly priced as it was a CBU import and hence not a serious attempt at selling it, just a brand building exercise. I don't think they would have made any significant loss on it as the didn't invest anything much in the first place since all they did was import fully built cars.
VikB

Post by VikB »

^^^^ I think the hybrid was priced around 24 lakh per unit. Last year a strange thing happened. They had few of the lot left and they offered them at HALF the cost ie around 12 lakh. Needless to say people scooped up the lot in a flash. This happened in Delhi. I dont know about other places. Apparently world over they decided to exhaust the stock in preparation for a new hybrid car launch.

==================
Rishi ji, Miljo has NO battery manufacturing experience what-so-ever. They had a 'tie-up'/understanding for future manufacturing. Nothing on the ground. The only claim to fame of the company has been that over the last 10-12 years they have 'converted' about 300 normal cars to electric cars. More like conversion to a CNG kit, here they converted to electric car using Lead acid batteries. Reva is much better than them honestly. In-fact not many know that right now Reva is World's No 1 electric car!!!!

What Reva lacks (like Th!nk City in Europe) is that they are NOT car makers. I drove a Reva and it was worse than driving a bullock cart. The car almost felt like flipping on even small turns. The reaction to steering was horrible. The shape all of us know is masha-allah.

Wish Tatas and Reva would have joined hands. The former could have given the 'shell' and the latter the technology to fit in the electric wares. But then, it is too simple logic. Senior people know better than my paanwallah who is a mere paan supplier to the bigwigs.
bart

Post by bart »

VikB wrote:^^^^ I think the hybrid was priced around 24 lakh per unit. Last year a strange thing happened. They had few of the lot left and they offered them at HALF the cost ie around 12 lakh. Needless to say people scooped up the lot in a flash. This happened in Delhi. I dont know about other places. Apparently world over they decided to exhaust the stock in preparation for a new hybrid car launch.
The original buyers who paid full price (probably some Chi-Chi environmentalist types) must be fuming :rotfl:
VikB

Post by VikB »

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 934549.cms

"It would also be exploring the possibility of selling electric cars in India, if prices are viable, said Mr Tata. However, he did not say when these cars would enter India. JLR had recently acquired a 50.3% stake in Norwegian company Miljø Grenland/Innovasjon, which specialises in electric vehicles. " :rotfl:

Guys DDM strikes. I am emotional now. It gives me hope in life. I used to think that DDM is DDM only in covering defence news presuming that they dont have interest in it and no knowledge. The SOBs dont seem to know anything else either.

Miljo was bought over by TMETC, a 100% owned subsi of TML. And 50.3% is old story. The stake has been raised. I really wonder, do the DDM even move their thick a*ses to get their stories or are they fictional writers masquerading as reporters! One more reason that they should read BRFs 8)
nikhil_p

Post by nikhil_p »

You gotta give it to Maruti...first they blame the brand name Zen for the failure of the pathetic Estilo. Then they redesign the car to make it even more Hideous...

TMETC (Tata Motors European Technical Centre) located at Coventry, Warwick University (it was essentially the college's auto hub bought by Tatas a few years ago. I fantasize the day their will be one Indian Univ/college that will be on par with the industry in terms of research and knowledge).
vickB>> I had volunteered many times to test(subject) drive and comment on improvements and got paid $20.00 for 1 hr driving on I 75 and I 275 while working for UM.

I drove adaptive cruise control experimental cars which would apply brake and warn the driver if his vehicle comes too close to the car in front while in cruise mode.
Car with Blind spot warning,.
Lane changing warning if another vehicle is in vicinity and trying to change into same lanes .

All this in 1997, which are now standard features in Mercedes cars (high end).

It was great fun to be doing.
Yes I wish Indian universities also start programs like these.

http://www.umtri.umich.edu/news.php

here is the link of the UM facility,
Note there is research paper on road safety China India and Brazil in the current page of the portal.
VikB

Post by VikB »

John Snow wrote:
vickB>> I had volunteered many times to test(subject) drive and comment on improvements and got paid $20.00 for 1 hr driving on I 75 and I 275 while working for UM.

You actually test drove those things and got paid for it :eek: :shock: awesome boss. I am giving the great tribal salute - two hands in air and a continous bow-up-bow cycle accompanied by kabila wala sounds :D

I have test driven near-future cars of Indian manufacturers on test tracks here in India. Driving at 120-140 is really kool.(I am sure you must have done that ordinarily in US but in apna Hindustan, it is a dream) And then braking to test the ABS is uber kool. Also gave the car huge left-right-left steering to see the roll. Feels better than a roller-coaster ---because you are driving yourself !

The technologies that you have spoken about are not there in our cars even now. VW, BMW and Merc are making huge investments for future techs.

Yup I really hope and wish that some of our universities do something like UM. We hear once in a while about some F1 car made by DCE or an electric car proto at IIT Powaii, something at Anna univ but that is it. No consistent univ-industry interface. Let's hope things change. Ameen

John Snow wrote: I drove adaptive cruise control experimental cars which would apply brake and warn the driver if his vehicle comes too close to the car in front while in cruise mode.
Car with Blind spot warning,.
Lane changing warning if another vehicle is in vicinity and trying to change into same lanes .

All this in 1997, which are now standard features in Mercedes cars (high end).
Then you would be interested in the Merc I drove (or rather it drove itself on US-101) 2 months or so back :mrgreen: Now I have one of 'em Audis this month.

So bl00dy difficult trying to learn a manual transmission after gettng used to massa's automatic one only..... :(( And the traffic outside convinces me I'll not be able to venture cityside on weekdays for yrs perhaps.

why did you buy a Mig29A then ? should have gone for verna automatic (F-solah-IN) or i20 auto.

bravery doesnt count, only cockpit automation and bvr weapons do. and the winner writes the history.

why did you buy a Mig29A then ? should have gone for verna automatic (F-solah-IN) or i20 auto
REAL MEN DONT DRIVE AUTOMATICS! .

That is why! Automatics are for wimps and Amirkhani wimmins. Even European wimmin drive stick shift (they dont get a license unless they can drive a stick)
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Time for some real news...

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/art ... 3356.cms[b]

Nissan to shift production of small car from UK to India[/b] :mrgreen:
After production of the Micra begins here, Nissan plans to manufacture four more models in India, involving a total investment of over Rs 2,000 crore.
The company’s Chennai plant will start production from May next year, and export markets would be catered to from autumn, Tokuyama said. Nissan, he said, plans to meet Micra’s requirements for the entire European region as well as some other markets like West Asia from the Chennai plant. “We plan to start with export volumes of 1.1 lakh units, which would be gradually scaled up to 1.8 lakh units as demand goes up,” Tokuyama said.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 849916.cms

JK Tyre looks to set up radial unit in TN

The project would entail an investment of Rs 1,600 crore in phases.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 943212.cms

Harley Davidson to zip on Indian roads by 2010

American brand will be available from early 2010 and although it is yet to announce price tags, the vehicles are expected to be priced in the band of Rs 7-15 lakh.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 943214.cms

Hyundai Motor to step up i20 exports

Hyundai aims to increase export volumes manifold and enhance its presence in Europe as well as non-European markets. In the first half of 2009, it had exported over 6,500 units of the premium hatchback i20 per month and this is likely to go up to 10,000 units per month with the addition of these new export destinations. It has already received initial orders from new countries like South Africa, Isreal and Indonesia.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 920844.cms
Maruti to build its R&D unit in Haryana
MSIL will complete phase 1 by 2012, which will see an investment of Rs 400 crore, while the balance Rs 600 crore will be invested by 2015.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 907137.cms

Ford to start full exports from Chennai Port next year

CHENNAI: Car manufacturer Ford intends to accelerate exports even as it gears up for the small car launch in 2010. Ford, which presently uses

Mumbai Port to route exports, proposes to use Chennai port as its transit point to commence complete exports early next year, according to a top company official.

Ford which has started export of fully-built cars from the Chennai Port, has shipped out around 170 vehicles to South Africa. "It is cheaper to ship from Chennai and it is a sensible option for us," Ford India MD Michael Boneham said.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/New ... 892458.cms

Tata Motors readies 8,000-crore capex

The proposed plans notably cover its car division’s future products such as the new Indigo sedan due by 2009-end , the Indicruz crossover—a vehicle that derives from a car platform while borrowing features from a sports utility vehicle (SUV)—set to debut in 2010, and next-generation versions of its utility vehicles such as the Sumo and Safari.

The Rs 8,000-crore plan will also cover any future models from the World Truck programme that was launched in May this year.

why did you buy a Mig29A then ? should have gone for verna automatic (F-solah-IN) or i20 auto

That is why! Automatics are for wimps and Amirkhani wimmins. Even European wimmin drive stick shift (they dont get a license unless they can drive a stick)
Not true, in UQueendom, you can get a license on an automatic car... it is a different license, and you cant use it to drive stick shift.

Whats with the snobbery of stick shift? Yes, you are in "control" yada yada, so by that definition we should all be driving cycle rickshaws hain? No power steering for you.... Get more control and "feel of road" all you want...

Fact: only really really accomplished drivers can shift better than a CVT.

why did you buy a Mig29A then ?
Moi mistook the A in Mig29A to mean Automatic onlee...

More seriously, it ain't all D&G. I have only driven a bike in India, never a car and that was what was causing some transitionary pain. But am picking up quite fast. Better than I had expected. Should put downtown in mere months, not yrs as originally estimated. :)
should have gone for verna automatic (F-solah-IN) or i20 auto.
Why stop at verna then. go phor Honda city onlee. Will upgrade in 1-2 yrs. Will have figured out desi roads by then, I reckon.

Real men dont drive. They get driven by others who believe they are the real ones. They are called The Man..... Anything else can be blamed on Maya-akkan....

Personally, I dont like giving no mechanical horse a handjob. Nor do I like the idea of auto. Semi-auto with paddle-shifters, now that is Louis XIV territory - kick the horse in the nuts remotely, while still being dressed (with accessories) ornately. 8)

Harley Davidsons at 7-15 L?? :eek: You can buy a higher segment car for that price.

I really doubt their utility in India, of course granted that it will be targeted at higher segment buyers. But then again if you own a Merc, you can park it in a crowded street come back in 5 mins and have a good chance of finding it intact. What abt the Harley, see that happening? :x Specialized parking facilities will also be required for these vehicles with watchman in sight all the time.....

And then there comes the itch to take such a beauty for long rides, you will have to figure out where you are going to park the thing if you are going to stay overnight in such trips, decisions decisions.

Whatever the owners do, they shudnt bring it anywhere near the Pudupet area in Chennai :mrgreen: Of course dont ask me what the thieves will do with the stolen parts, there are only going to be so many Harley owners in India

harley will be a flop. young people who can ride dont have $$$. older people who can afford it can afford a major big car and driver.

>> REAL MEN DONT DRIVE AUTOMATICS!

I was waiting for someone to say that. my SIRIUS IRST was all warmed up to spot the heat plume
and respond with aster15 salvo.

the "real men" is clutching to find chankian straws in a state of backwardness somewhat similar to
the nook nanga thread. brave men no doubt flew the Serbian Mig29s and got shot like flies from
F16/18/15s prowling around.

time to stop being such stickshift troglodyte and adapt/change/network with the times....let technology serve human needs.

there's no good reason why atleast a paddle shifter and clutchless combo cannot be mass produced
and introduced into most of indian cars.
VikB

Post by VikB »

Singha wrote:harley will be a flop. young people who can ride dont have $$$. older people who can afford it can afford a major big car and driver.

>> REAL MEN DONT DRIVE AUTOMATICS!

there's no good reason why atleast a paddle shifter and clutchless combo cannot be mass produced
and introduced into most of indian cars.
....and few reasons are
1. The automatic gear tech is held by very few companies in the world
2. It increases the cost majorly. I think in India right now NO company is mass producing these. Things changing in next 3 years. In India a price change of few thousand Rs affects majorly (like all other markets of the world, btw).
3. The start-stop conditions of Indian roads still favours the old 'joy stick' :P The efficiency of the hydraulic type automatic drive is very low for such conditions. The electronic one is better but expensive and complex. The gear box changes and so does the ECU

And hey give the person some air to breathe. We all romance things of our own liking. If someone likes the manual shifter then so it be. In Hindustan, in depth peneteration of automatics is still atleast 10 years away.
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Singha wrote:harley will be a flop. young people who can ride dont have $$$. older people who can afford it can afford a major big car and driver.
The percentage of such buyers might be low, but the absolute figure is not even slightly disappointing, let alone be a flop.

There are already many imported bikes in the same price category, which can be easily spotted on city roads these days. If in small city like Chandigarh, one can feast his eyes on, from 6 lakhs' Honda CBRs and yamahas to 3 crore's lamborghini, all driven by young lads, then I dont think it would be too tough for Harley either to get it right.

Just in case if anyone hasn't seen a harley on indian roads.

http://cricketgallery.oneindia.in/d/384 ... vidson.jpg
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_597Km39HXAk/S ... son-01.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/69/21482 ... 13450e.jpg
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attachme ... harley.jpg

The desi made Alto is now being sold in Oz and overall receives good reviews. After the TATA's not so happy foray a few years earlier selling the 207 its time to start punching again.

Big on surprises http://www.smh.com.au/cgi-bin/common/po ... 80447.html

Baby Suzuki a big surprise http://www.smh.com.au/news/motoring/new ... 80682.html

That depends on who you define as a Real Man....a person caressing the gear-shift's B@ll or a person having one hand free to caress his own B@lls? :twisted:

hnair wrote:[Semi-auto with paddle-shifters, now that is Louis XIV territory - kick the horse in the nuts remotely, while still being dressed (with accessories) ornately.
Never liked those in-betweeners...it costs more..and you are not getting what you really want - a full blooded manual.

Read somewhere that if driving is a chore you should pick auto and if driving is a passion then you should go for stick.

Guess people on both sides of the spectrum cannot understand why the hell would somebody chose the other side.

I simply like to press the clutch and change the gears. There's no denying that. Having realised that...I did not hesitate to pick a stick in massaland..heck I did not even bother to look for colors..the salesmen said we have only one stick and i said i'll take it..only later found out that it was silver..SHQ was horrified at this...that men would be so nonchalant about the color..but then that's another topic..

That depends on who you define as a Real Man....a person caressing the gear-shift's B@ll or a person having one hand free to caress his own B@lls?

incorrect! the free hand may be used to caress the torso of other occupant in front seat. :oops: :twisted:

^^^ Well a B**b in hand is definitely worth more than 2 B**ls in the Bush, as one wise jingo once put it. But what happens if the person on the front seat is your regular driver who has been temporarily shunted aside so that Bade sahab can drive like the proletariat?! :twisted:

Rumor has it that the Tatas are planning to intro the latest under-wraps JLR technology.... remote controlled gear+clutch+brakes.... gives a whole new (literal) meaning to backseat driving ... just hope the remote batteries are well charged.....

Gus-saar, manual has its use if the terrain is such. Driven some weird stuff in the past with and without manual. and I like them all. But other than in a speedway, the manual in a passenger car is like driving a Ferrari to daily work. I mean it does give you some mijjile relief to hear that unhealthy roar, but it is unfair to the design at so many levels. What I dont get is this "manuals are for men" thing that detroit tries to peddle. A car is just a tool and not to be mistaken for the tool.

Singha/RB-saars, stick-shifters gets some complaints from wimmens who have navel piercings and is nothing but an impediment for everyone, especially when enjoying remote areas of massaland having under-staffed law-enforcement :oops: <putting back oxygen respirator and shoving my wheelchair downhill>

Raja Bose wrote:^^^ Well a B**b in hand is definitely worth more than 2 B**ls in the Bush, as one wise jingo once put it. But what happens if the person on the front seat is your regular driver who has been temporarily shunted aside so that Bade sahab can drive like the proletariat?! :twisted:
Only you wont get arrested as article 377 has been repealed :mrgreen:
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

http://in.biz.yahoo.com/090828/50/bau3sk.html
Toyota Fortuner a sell-out; bookings closed for 7 months
Toyota Kirloskar Motor Private Limited has closed bookings for the next seven months for its newly launched sports utility vehicle (SUV) Fortuner. The SUV has already built up a backlog, with 3,100 orders booked in.
The company will also be launching a small car, a hatchback, by the end of 2010 or early 2011. It expects to sell 70,000 units of the small car in the country and eventually scale it up to two lakh units

Not true, in UQueendom
Ah, But UQueendom is really NOT Europe!

Guys face it. Autos is for Americans and Wimmins who really cant drive /dont enjoy driving. These are basically back seaters who somehow are being forced to drive.

Think of it. Mercs are sold primarily as autos (for most merc models, stick is not even an option) in USA. What can I say about such people huh? . If you can actually drive a stick, you will never go for an auto unless you are daft.

Pssssssstt. The ONLY desis who pine for autos are US returned folks who learnt driving in the US and hence could NEVER drive a stick before (I know a lot such cases . mayhaps.. Singha too sounds like one such case), or wimmins past their early teens and twenties and approaching thrities and trying to get behind the wheel.. :roll:

For both cases. too bad, you guys are too old anyway to get to know the real deal! :P

I like Auto, but I don't have a problem with stick. I drove exclusively autos in massa.

I never drove when I came on vacation. After R2I, I had a concern that I might have "lost the touch". The first time I took my BIL's car, I was a bit scared.

But the left hand instinctively dropped down and shifted to second. Then I realized that I will be fine. No need for spending money for Auto here.