Transport Aircraft for IAF

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
JyotiSRC

Re: Transport Aircraft for IAF

Post by JyotiSRC »

rohitvats wrote: 18 Sep 2023 21:10 C-295 - Enhancing the IAF's Airlift Capability
Excellent coverage vis-à-vis the HS-748.

However, as compared to AN-32, I was looking for the following :
1. STOL capabilities
2. Handling unprepared airfields
3. Service ceiling
4. Self protection features.

Can we have the experts opinions on these features?

drnayar wrote: 18 Sep 2023 22:15 Wonder how the IAF is looking to expand its airlift capabilities., are they looking at

C 295 -> 7 to 9 tons ;
C 130J -> ~ 19 tons
IL 76 -> 60 tons

God knows how long the IL 76 can soldier on with parts availability in question !

A400 -> 47 tons payload does not look like the optimum replacement ? , given the cost and payload capability IAF would need more numbers of a significantly lesser capable aircraft compared to IL 76

What aircraft would fill in the higher end strategic lift capability for the IAF ?
Where is the figure of 60 tonnes for the IL-76 from? The figure I have seen is around 47 tonnes. The figure for the A400M also seems high. Should be 37 tonnes not 47.
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

JyotiSRC wrote: 18 Sep 2023 22:30
rohitvats wrote: 18 Sep 2023 21:10 C-295 - Enhancing the IAF's Airlift Capability
Excellent coverage vis-à-vis the HS-748.

However, as compared to AN-32, I was looking for the following :
1. STOL capabilities
2. Handling unprepared airfields
3. Service ceiling
4. Self protection features.

Can we have the experts opinions on these features?
Its not going to do any STOL in himalayas, considering its service ceiling is only 30K feet.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

nachiket wrote: 18 Sep 2023 23:07
drnayar wrote: 18 Sep 2023 22:15 Wonder how the IAF is looking to expand its airlift capabilities., are they looking at

C 295 -> 7 to 9 tons ;
C 130J -> ~ 19 tons
IL 76 -> 60 tons

God knows how long the IL 76 can soldier on with parts availability in question !

A400 -> 47 tons payload does not look like the optimum replacement ? , given the cost and payload capability IAF would need more numbers of a significantly lesser capable aircraft compared to IL 76

What aircraft would fill in the higher end strategic lift capability for the IAF ?
Where is the figure of 60 tonnes for the IL-76 from? The figure I have seen is around 47 tonnes. The figure for the A400M also seems high. Should be 37 tonnes not 47.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Military_ ... t_aircraft

^^^ Dr Saab, the tonnage of 60 is for the latest IL-76MD-90A variant. This variant has the PS-90A-76 turbofan bypass engines which provide significantly more power than the Soloviev D-30KP turbofan that is on-board the IL-76MD variant which the IAF has. The -90A does indeed do 60 tonnes, but the MD variant does only around 47 - 48 tonnes.

What we should have done is order more C-17 Globemasters when the line was open. But that would mean easy and we don't like to do easy things. Only when we do complicated (i.e. catch the bull by the tail) things, will our decision makers consider it time & money well invested :)

Rakesh wrote: 19 Sep 2023 00:01...

What we should have done is order more C-17 Globemasters when the line was open. But that would mean easy and we don't like to do easy things. Only when we do complicated (i.e. catch the bull by the tail) things, will our decision makers consider it time & money well invested :)
Maybe the IAF will now consider the C-5 Galaxy.. when is that line shutting down :wink:
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

Is it feasible /realistic to get some C5 / C141 from US boneyard ? I believe C 141 was fairly problematic

No need to do that.

The next transport aircraft to be procured for the IAF can either be the A400 or the C 290. They are both very capable aircrafts. As many as 80 aircraft are to be procured in this program.

Plus, the IAF is also planning to replace the An32 from 2030 onwards.

This basically means that India will have an extremely capable airlift capacity going forward.
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

Pratyush wrote: 20 Sep 2023 12:31 No need to do that.

The next transport aircraft to be procured for the IAF can either be the A400 or the C 290. They are both very capable aircrafts. As many as 80 aircraft are to be procured in this program.

This basically means that India will have an extremely capable airlift capacity going forward.
I am talking about the big big boys

I think we could do with about 20 30 C 130s, simple ones not necessarily C 130J
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

Pratyush wrote: 20 Sep 2023 12:31 No need to do that.

You mean C 390 ?

Yes.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

I do not think more medium lift aircraft can do the job of the heavies like a C5 galaxy., its not just the wieght but volumes as well. There is no alternative to a heavy other than another one. Bit concerning why IAF is not thinking long term !!.. either collaborate with Russia or Airbus in building a new generation heavy aircraft., its not a question of whether we need it ..we will and it becomes more important to plan for an alternative if nothing exists !!..

For eg: A c17 can carry an Abrams tank, 10 up-armored Humvees, two tractor trailer trucks, or 100 paratroopers and all of their gear. The jet can land on short dirt runways in austere locations with loads up to 170,000 pounds.

Now that's almost an operational company incl equipment at short notice

Perhaps, Nither the Indian Army nor the IAF foresee a situation where they will need the capacity that a very large airlifter provides.

They are confident of the forward deployed forces and prepositioned materials.

Along with the adequacy of the road network to provide reinforcement and replenishment of stocks.

There may never be a need to emergency airlift tanks (that need heavy capacity).

IAF then have must learned from PAF - let IA fight it’s own war.

https://x.com/livefist/status/1704482795928588495?s=20 ---> The Indian Air Force's first C-295 being escorted in to Vadodara by two Su-30MKI Flankers earlier today.

CCS approved the deal in September 2021 and the first aircraft has arrived in India, exactly two years later.

Kudos to Airbus, the Indian Air Force and the Government of India.

https://x.com/BharatShaktiBSI/status/17 ... 93629?s=20 ---> IAF's first C-295 aircraft landed in Vadodara.

Kersi wrote: 20 Sep 2023 14:17You mean C-390 ?
viewtopic.php?p=2601565#p2601565

I got these numbers from Wiki (so FWIW)...please correct if I am wrong.

C-130J: 19 tons
C-390: 26 tons
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

fanne wrote: 20 Sep 2023 16:55 There may never be a need to emergency airlift tanks (that need heavy capacity).

Then guys we have a problem here in the making., as the services move to theatre commands ., there will be requirements for global strategic reach .. didn't want to mention the Chinese airlift capability growing exponentially by fielding its Y20s [ ~66 tons over 7800km : wiki]

India needs a home grown solution at the earliest and needs to field this in at least a decade !! The foreign A400s and C130 s can only do so much in their limited numbers esp when $hit hits the fan.

Is India still thinking of local conflicts ? ..it has a global diaspora that is increasingly under threat from radical elements.. force projection is the need of the hour !!.. can you depend on the navy given their response times ?!

fanne wrote: 20 Sep 2023 16:55 There may never be a need to emergency airlift tanks (that need heavy capacity).

fanne saab,

Given the distances, nature of the terrain, the two front logistics requirement and moreover, our propensity to provide disaster relief outside of our national borders, the requirement of a strategic heavy lifter is a given.

It needs a judicious mix of heavy and medium lifters to efficiently balance and service the tactical and strategic objectives

Soft and hard power projection is the nature of today's geopolitical game
Last edited by chetak on 20 Sep 2023 20:54, edited 1 time in total.

Sir ji - How they say it - irony, or I just googled a word -Antiphrasis. Please read the second line also.

https://x.com/BharatShaktiBSI/status/17 ... 70702?s=20 ---> Airbus anticipates a surge in demand: forecasts 100 more C-295 for India. @RRaviishankarr speaks with Jorge Tamarit Degenhardt, Head of C-295 India Program.

fanne wrote: 20 Sep 2023 20:53 Sir ji - How they say it - irony, or I just googled a word -Antiphrasis. Please read the second line also.

fanne saab,

touché !!!

me gavar onlee

Pratyush wrote: 20 Sep 2023 16:24 Perhaps, Nither the Indian Army nor the IAF foresee a situation where they will need the capacity that a very large airlifter provides.

They are confident of the forward deployed forces and prepositioned materials.

Along with the adequacy of the road network to provide reinforcement and replenishment of stocks.

Actually, post-Galwan, we airlifted T90s to Ladakh using C17.

Indian Air Force Delivers Additional Firepower To Army In Ladakh, Airlifts Tanks Including T-90s
The Indian Air Force (IAF) has delivered additional firepower to the Indian Army in the form of dozens of tanks and armoured vehicles in recent days using transporter aircraft like Boeing C-17 Globemaster-IIIs and Ilyushin IL-76,
As per the report, the transport aircraft carried out multiple sorties from bases like Chandigarh carrying additional tanks and armoured vehicles to provide a firepower boost to the Indian Army.

This includes new T-90 tanks deployed in the Western Sector. Incidentally, it is the first time since 1962 that armoured tanks have been urgently airlifted to Ladakh.
Behind massive build-up at LAC is the IAF’s never-seen-before airlift capability
he most significant aspect of the air effort perhaps is airlifting of India’s newest and most powerful tanks, the T-90, which now spearhead the Army’s strike formations, from the plains to Ladakh. Chinese deployment across the LAC, including concentrations in depth, reportedly includes a mix of light and heavy tanks, including new variants.

Besides through air, heavy induction has also been taken through the Srinagar-Leh and Manali-Leh road axis.

According to an IAF officer, airlifting the T-90 was possible due to the payload capacity of the C-17, which is about 77 tonnes. A T-90 weighs about 46 tonnes, which is more than the capacity of the IL-76, which can airlift about 45 tonnes. The operating environment of high-altitude airfields like Leh further restricts the load that can be carried.
The Army had three regiments of the older T-72 tanks, which weigh around 40 tonnes, deployed in this sector. Many of these tanks, along with BMP-2 mechanised combat vehicles, have been airlifted to Ladakh by the IL-76 since the early 1990s. Given the weight and length of the tractor-trailer, it is not practical to negotiate the high mountain passes, hairpin bends and narrow stretches that lie on the road link from the mainland to Ladakh. Tank transporters can only be used on some road stretches within Ladakh.
So, the takeaways ...
- We do need heavy transport aircraft that can airlift tanks.
- We desire more C17s, but we should have placed the order when the manufacturing line existed. We missed the bus - but that's the story of our procurement circus anyway
- I don't see any tank-lift capable aircraft on the horizon. I don't see C17 replacement coming along soon. We need to settle for less for now.

sorry without satire let me make my case - We need heavy lift capability - in very high numbers. These are all IL-76 ++ capacity aircraft (and associated range). If you look at the number, we should try indigenous effort.
1. Transportation - some 30-40 numbers ( We have 11 C-17 towards it and should go for IL-76 upgrade, new engines and avionics or get new planes)
2. Refueler - IAF some 15 + 6 IN (for optimal utilization, these can also double as transport plane)
3. AWACS - 15
4. EW AND SIGNIT -6
5. Airborne command and control - 6
7. If laser takes off, laser based anti-ballistic systems -20-30
8. Anti SUB - 30-40 (Japan has near 100)
9. VIP transport - 3
10. Civilian Airlines - 100s

Either way you cut it, a desi effort is needed. But we are very very far behind, we can barely make very light transport planes, forget medium or heavy.

fanne wrote: 20 Sep 2023 21:33 sorry without satire let me make my case - We need heavy lift capability - in very high numbers. These are all IL-76 ++ capacity aircraft (and associated range).

Either way you cut it, a desi effort is needed. But we are very very far behind, we can barely make very light transport planes, forget medium or heavy.

Aside from military requirements, when the stuff hits the fan is the IAF which is called upon to evacuate hundreds of thousands of civilians from the hell holes.

For a indigenous bird, the weak point remain the engines.

The body structure parts, the internal systems (electrical and non electrical), flight assist and control systems all can be accomplished in-house.
prashantsharma

Post by prashantsharma »

Let's get a simple Saras right before asserting that structure, internals, controls etc for a heavy airlifter can be done. Sure it can be done, but in what time frame, during which IAF will suffer and requirements will change / increase as happened with Tejas. Let's remember that IAF will want Leh on summer day with X tons in Y rnwy length and rough field capability. Easier said than done.
Saras, IJT, Ajeet trainer, even HPT32, should teach us that even seemingly simple aircraft can present challenges. Hence, need to master technologies gradually starting bottom up. Between Marut and Tejas, there was no intermediate step in terms of technologies (also during the gap expertise was lost) ,and not even an attempt to upgrade the mig21 was made.Bison took shape much later. No wonder we couldn't get the radar or engine right on time for LCA. During the 80-95 period, other than Darin, I can't recollect any major Desi avionics project. We never developed a turbojet or turboprop of our own, not even for a trainer, but then wanted to straight away go for Kaveri. Result was predictable.

Btw, there is a potential option ... and that is to convert the Boeing 747-8 and 777F freighters (or Airbus freighters) to military usage. I'm not sure if the cargo door width would accommodate an MBT, and they wouldn't have the rough airfield capabilities of a dedicated military airlifter but the spares would be widely available and economical

prashantsharma wrote: 21 Sep 2023 09:09 Let's get a simple Saras right before asserting that structure, internals, controls etc for a heavy airlifter can be done...
You misunderstood the point. What I meant was simply that indigenous engine development continues to be the most challenging aspect as compared to the other constituents.
prashantsharma

Post by prashantsharma »

Noted.
Engine development seems the toughest because we haven't even attempted to make a Maruti 800 yet, but aspire to make a formula 1 race car. Why didn't we try to make a home grown engine for the HPT or dornier or avro or Sitara or Kiran before dreaming of the Kaveri?
Is there any nation in the world that has managed it?

fanne wrote: 20 Sep 2023 21:33 sorry without satire let me make my case - We need heavy lift capability - in very high numbers. These are all IL-76 ++ capacity aircraft (and associated range). If you look at the number, we should try indigenous effort.
1. Transportation - some 30-40 numbers ( We have 11 C-17 towards it and should go for IL-76 upgrade, new engines and avionics or get new planes)
2. Refueler - IAF some 15 + 6 IN (for optimal utilization, these can also double as transport plane)
3. AWACS - 15
4. EW AND SIGNIT -6
5. Airborne command and control - 6
7. If laser takes off, laser based anti-ballistic systems -20-30
8. Anti SUB - 30-40 (Japan has near 100)
9. VIP transport - 3
10. Civilian Airlines - 100s

It's very hard to get a good economical airliner from a cargo jet, especially a military one. The technologies and knowledge and supply chain can be leveraged to develop one from the other, yes, but cannot be from the same design. The requirements are too different between them.

https://x.com/DefenceChamber/status/170 ... 22440?s=20 ---> Wingtip RWR on the newly procured C-295Ws of the IAF.

C-295 Aircraft Project: India's Quest Towards Aerospace Dominance

Manish_P wrote: 19 Sep 2023 08:06 Maybe the IAF will now consider the C-5 Galaxy.. when is that line shutting down :wink:

https://x.com/alpha_defense/status/1705 ... 49367?s=20 ---> When the C-17 looks small.

https://x.com/ReviewVayu/status/1706211 ... 07655?s=20 ---> The Indian Air Force No. 11 Squadron (Charging Rhinos) gets a new asset- the Airbus C-295MW, at a ceremony at Hindan Air Base in Uttar Pradesh's Ghaziabad on 25 September 2023. The Squadron will be part of the South Western Air Command.

https://x.com/livefist/status/1706255131417964993?s=20 ---> The IAF’s first C-295 inducted today.

Rakesh wrote: 25 Sep 2023 21:14 ...
https://x.com/alpha_defense/status/1705 ... 49367?s=20 ---> When the C-17 looks small.
And not just from the outside... :wink:

<Beg pardon sir... couldn't resist this one OTP in the IAF transport thread>

https://x.com/zone5aviation/status/1706 ... 18388?s=20 ---> The C-295 formally entered service with the IAF today. The ‘Charging Rhinos’ of No.11 Squadron are the first to operate the new type.

IAF Squadron The Rhinos gets First C-295 transport aircraft
https://www.rakshaknews.in/en/military- ... -aircraft/
26 September 2023

https://x.com/zone5aviation/status/1707 ... 39157?s=20 ---> The Dornier 228 saw wider domestic adoption than its Avro 748 predecessor, but never had the export success it was capable of. I write for @orfonline on expanding the buy & promoting exports of the new C-295 to get the most from it.

C295 for India — Third time’s the charm?
https://www.orfonline.org/expert-speak/ ... the-charm/
27 Sept 2023
Despite a long history of licence-building transport aircraft, India has failed to leverage its buying power. The induction and production of the C295 might finally buck that trend.

https://x.com/BharatShaktiBSI/status/17 ... 86203?s=20 ---> IAF has inducted the first of 6 new Dornier Do-228 aircraft manufactured by HAL. This version is equipped with new engines, composite propellers, upgraded avionics and a glass cockpit.