Mangalyaan: ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Mangalyaan : ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

440N Liquid Engine completed firing successfully to raise the apogee to about 1.92 lakh km in this 5th Manoeuver

Image[/quote]

It was supposed to be 199k+ kms after the fifth firing. It is now around 192k+ kms. Will it have much of an effect on transferring to the Mars orbit?

^^^ There are some discrepancies with that chart.

indranilroy wrote:^^^ There are some discrepancies with that chart.
..........................? Waiting.
Will it have much of an effect on transferring to the Mars orbit?
I was under the understanding that it first went into an orbit around the Sun (the transit between Earth and Mars) and then Mars. No? do I have that wrong?

putnanja wrote:
It was supposed to be 199k+ kms after the fifth firing. It is now around 192k+ kms. Will it have much of an effect on transferring to the Mars orbit?
FB announcement sometime before the maneuver said "This manoeuver, scheduled at 01:27 hrs IST, will take the spacecraft to - almost half the way to moon - about 1.92 lakh kilometers." and looks like that's what was achieved.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

NRao,

The next orbit raising maneuver (on December 1) will take the spacecraft outside the sphere of influence of the earth - it will then essentially be in an orbit around the Sun that intersects with the orbit of Mars in September next year at the precise moment when Mars arrives there. At that point, it will be within the sphere of influence of Mars, and appropriate firing of the spacecraft's engine will slow it down sufficiently for it to be captured by Mars and enter an orbit around it.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

This image from the mission's website explains it like no words can.

manoba

Post by manoba »

From N2YO Real Time Satellite Tracking site:
NORAD ID: 39370
Int'l Code: 2013-060A
Perigee: 853.1 km
Apogee: 194,683.1 km
Inclination: 19.4 °
Period: 5,574.2 minutes
Semi major axis: 104139 km
Launch date: November 5, 2013
Source: India (IND)
It says the apogee is 1,94,683.1 km. But ISRO's press release says apogee is 1,92,874 km.
The fifth orbit raising manoeuvre of Mars Orbiter Spacecraft, starting at 01:27 hrs(IST) on Nov 16, 2013, with a burn Time of 243.5 seconds has been successfully completed.The observed change in Apogee is from 118642km to 192874km.
Which one is correct? Will the around 2,000 km makes a big difference or it's negligible, especially with such an elongated orbit?

N2YO source

ISRO Press Release

Do we have fuel status now for the next green line traversal?
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Hello. I am a new "active member" of BF(I used to just read the posts because I did not have a "non free email address"
I had sent an email regarding the tracking data at N2yo as it showed wrong values during the perigee burn (It showed an altitude of 22 Kms !!) and the owner of the website and I discussed this issue. He said it could be due to some issues with the AFPSC data. The Satflare sight calculated a higher value. He suggested that I see the values in different calculators based on the orbital elements. He will be removing the tracking of MOM shortly as the highly eccentric orbital path makes it difficult to track.I requested him to keep it till at least Dec 2nd so that we can continue to track it.
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

Mangalyaan altitude at 1 hr interval from 17th Nov to 2nd Dec in a graphical manner

Generated with follwing Values

MARS ORBITER MISSION
1 39370U 13060A 13319.85296673 -.00001668 00000-0 00000+0 0 188
2 39370 19.4167 122.9551 9306301 288.8779 2.1288 0.25833433 156

Which yields: ( Rounded up for clarity )

Ap=194676
Per=846
Period : 92.9 Hrs
S Maj A : 104139
S Min A : 38111

prasannasimha wrote:Hello. I am a new "active member" of BF(I used to just read the posts because I did not have a "non free email address"
I had sent an email regarding the tracking data at N2yo as it showed wrong values during the perigee burn (It showed an altitude of 22 Kms !!) and the owner of the website and I discussed this issue. He said it could be due to some issues with the AFPSC data. The Satflare sight calculated a higher value. He suggested that I see the values in different calculators based on the orbital elements. He will be removing the tracking of MOM shortly as the highly eccentric orbital path makes it difficult to track.I requested him to keep it till at least Dec 2nd so that we can continue to track it.
Welcome Prasannasimha ji,
And thanks for your efforts.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Thanks for the Welcome Lilo. I am a cardiac surgeon.
Lot of good discussion also going on the ISRO Mars Orbiter Mission page .Good for learning a bit of Orbital Astronomy.

Good to have you with us doctor .
When you come across snippets of interest from the discussion happening on ISRO MOM page , do cross post them here for us !
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

SSSalvi, How did you calculate the apogee and perigee from the two line element? (Using the first and second derivative of the mean motion ?)

Thanks for the Welcome Lilo. I am a cardiac surgeon.
Lot of good discussion also going on the ISRO Mars Orbiter Mission page .Good for learning a bit of Orbital Astronomy.

Welcome...I have an 'MIT' IQ. :lol:
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

I am unable to see the MOM satellite in the choices in the nasa iSat site.Where is the satellite mentioned ?(ie which drop down menu ?)

^^^ Your bowser needs updating. On the page, click on TEXT only
Or the link below. It has only one dropdown menu: Choose "Last 30 day launches"
http://science.nasa.gov/iSat/iSAT-text-only/
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

prasannasimha wrote:SSSalvi, How did you calculate the apogee and perigee from the two line element? (Using the first and second derivative of the mean motion ?)
Used to do calculations a few years ago. Now many multipurpose tools ( Online and standalone ) are available so stopped.

E.g. NOVA for Widows ( used for generating graphics uploaded in this thread earlier), SATSCAPE ( Heard about it but not checked )

Since you have already done calculations I am sure you must have visited following

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orbital_elements
http://www.satobs.org/tletools.html
http://satelliteorbitdetermination.com/ ... s_wiki.htm
kaldag

Post by kaldag »

SSSalvi wrote:Mangalyaan altitude at 1 hr interval from 17th Nov to 2nd Dec in a graphical manner

Which yields: ( Rounded up for clarity )

Ap=194676
Per=846
Period : 92.9 Hrs
S Maj A : 104139
S Min A : 38111
Lets say S Maj A = a and S Min A = b.
Then eccentricity e = sqrt(1 - b^2/a^2)

Apogee = a+a*e
Perigee = a-a*e

By my calculations that yields e=0.93063, Apogee=201053.823, Perigee=7224.2.
Where am I going wrong? Thanks a lot.
juvva

Post by juvva »

^kaldag: looks like the perigee and apogee being stated here, are distances from the surface of earth -not the centre, you may need to factor in the radius of earth.

Today Around 10:30 AM (Eastern Standard Time) NASA reported this which is approximately when LAM will be fired on Dec 1st. This is the closest point to the earth just when its height starts getting increased and velocity starts going down.

Velocity 10.056 (km/s)
Latitude -17.266
Longitude - 126.861
Height - 254.061 KM
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Still no luck with those sites .Can't imagine why.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/kids/f ... epage=true
At stake

Past missions to Mars include flyby missions like Mariner 7 (NASA), orbiters like Mangalyaan (ISRO), landers like Viking 1 (NASA) and rovers like Curiosity (NASA). Though more than half of all Mars missions have been failures, the mistakes made helped scientists evolve their design and plan future successful missions.

Why some missions failed:

Bad timing: Though the Russian Kosmos 419 (1971) reached Earth’s orbit, it never reached Mars’ orbit because of a wrong ignition time setting. Instead of being set for 1.5 hours after launch, it was accidentally set for 1.5 years after launch. The spacecraft soon re-entered Earth’s orbit and disintegrated.

Faulty software: Bad mathematics may not kill you, but they can kill spacecraft! NASA’s Mars Climate Orbiter (1998) disintegrated because at one instance, its software used the wrong units (pounds, instead of Newtons). This caused the spacecraft to be placed too close to Mars where atmospheric stresses destroyed it.

Solar flares and fuel shortage: The communication systems of Japan’s Nozomi orbiter (1998) were disrupted by powerful solar flares. It also damaged the heat control system causing the fuel to freeze. It was unable to attain Mars orbit and operation was terminated.

Nobody really knows: Just three days away from Mars, all communication was suddenly lost with NASA’s Mars Observer (1992). For months, scientists could not explain what became of the spacecraft, but investigations finally concluded that a fuel and gas leak had probably sent the spacecraft into an uncontrollable spin damaging critical electrical circuits.

SriKumar wrote:^^^ Your bowser needs updating. On the page, click on TEXT only
Or the link below. It has only one dropdown menu: Choose "Last 30 day launches"
http://science.nasa.gov/iSat/iSAT-text-only/
Mangalyaan not listed here
http://s017.radikal.ru/i442/1311/d3/140e1ab6b44c.jpg

Tried it on Firefox & Chrome, all updated to the latest version

Mon Nov 18 2013 23:50:31 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)

Name ID Velocity Latitude Longitude Height (Km) Height (M)
SHIJIAN-16 (SJ-16) 39358 6979 18.882 22.621 603.278 374.860
CZ-4B R/B 39359 6890 14.027 -149.876 513.377 318.998
SIRIUS FM-6 39360 42167 0.074 -120.645 35788.987 22238.239
BREEZE-M R/B 39361 29840 -17.944 48.609 23463.498 14579.537
BREEZE-M DEB [TANK] 39362 11461 -49.545 70.792 5095.497 3166.194
YAOGAN 18 39363 6883 73.985 -130.783 524.140 325.686
CZ-2C R/B 39364 6935 57.916 -115.740 572.228 355.566
CZ-2C DEB 39365 7023 -45.579 -95.599 655.686 407.425
CZ-2C DEB 39366 6881 -3.456 75.062 502.618 312.312
CZ-2C DEB 39367 6724 -82.615 -2.813 366.899 227.980
CZ-2C DEB 39368 6695 -69.972 56.507 335.742 208.620
MARS ORBITER MISSION 39370 121066 15.242 -240.263 114689.598 71264.790
PSLV R/B 39371 23279 8.481 -218.806 16901.760 10502.263
SOYUZ-TMA 11M 39373 6800 -51.770 -163.616 434.867 270.213
RADUGA-1M 3 39375 41958 -0.056 86.940 35579.706 22108.198
BREEZE-M R/B 39376 41953 0.075 -210.038 35574.690 22105.081
BREEZE-M DEB [TANK] 39377 22801 32.572 69.456 16429.453 10208.786

^^ is it a Geo-Location thing?
list it shows when accessed in India

I would be surprised if there is an explicit ban in India to display MOM data. Or has it something to do with regulations ?
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

I think it is related to some Browser issue. I saw MOM on my Mobile phone the first time but could not access it again whereas I caould not access it at all from my desktop.
member_28026

Post by member_28026 »

:) Thankyou ISROImage

:mrgreen: Bhy eye see MALE sign onlee.........

^I think that is the astronomical symbol for Mars.
juvva

Post by juvva »

^For sake of completeness, the Venus symbol:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Venus_symbol
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

deleted
Last edited by member_28108 on 20 Nov 2013 18:20, edited 1 time in total.

Satellite ID
Velocity (km/s)
Velocity (mi/s)
Latitude (°)
Longitude(°)
Height (km)
Height (mi)

it looks like 2/3rd distance from perigee.
iSat site
manoba

Post by manoba »

rsingh wrote::mrgreen: Bhy eye see MALE sign onlee.........
As the old saying goes... "Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus".

It's a decent logo for MOM. Shows ISRO's PR is maturing.
Also, now they are interacting with the public with their Facebook pages, it's a good sign.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

From the f MOM ISRO FB page All health checks are OK and so for a Go on Dec 1st
So far so good:
On November 05, MOM was put into an orbit of 247 km by 23,567 km around the Earth, by PSLV-C25. Thus began MOM’s geo-centric phase of its journey to Mars! In the last two weeks, the spacecraft has been moved to higher apogee height of almost 2 lakh km in six manoeuvres. The spacecraft is now preparing for the final burn planned on Dec 01, 2013 targeted to achieve the velocity required to escape from Earth's gravity. We have also been evaluating various subsystems and payloads on-board MOM. Performance of all the spacecraft subsystems and payloads is normal.