Indo-UK News & Discussions- June 2017

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussions- June 2017

Tanaji wrote: 06 Nov 2023 01:22 Saar link please, this is too good to miss.
https://x.com/dschwammenthal/status/172 ... W8B8GjYjWA
sanman

Post by sanman »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2-3CdTuKL4

Home Secretary Suella Braverman Sacked In Cabinet Reshuffle

UK's PM Rishi Sunak Sacks Home Secretary Suella Braverman Over Controversial Comments

British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has fired Home Secretary Suella Braverman, who drew anger for accusing police of being too lenient with pro-Palestinian protesters. The government says Braverman has left her job as part of a Cabinet shuffle on Monday. Sunak was under growing pressure to fire Braverman, a divisive figure popular with the authoritarian wing of the governing Conservative Party.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Whatever Rishi does imo won't change the fact that Tories are about to be hammered in the next general election. They are facing the double whammy of Liberals and their own support base being angry about the piss poor implementation post Brexit.
And there is no Jeremy Corbyn to scare people off with this time.

For Rishi's sake I hope he understands that and finds a way to keep his base and stay relevant so that he can come in power with an actual majority if/when the labour government also collapses
madhu

Post by madhu »

Home Secretary Suella Braverman Sacked In Cabinet Reshuffle
i still do not know why every one in the world go head over heel in appeasing the Muslims. Why is whole world bend there back for the Muslims. What do they bring to table other than riots, disgrace to country. yes some votes for the party, but for that reason how can white push there country to dogs? today they want to sack Home Secretary, tomorrow change the constitution and day after to declare UK to be Muslim kingdom.

looks like this is the same pattern be it India or Europe sadly.

More than Suella Braverman's departure, isn’t the coming back of former PM David Cameron as foreign secretary interesting? Eff-tee-A or pre-election hiring?

Hope Sunak uses Kohli signed bat to beat the sh!st out of troublemakers :)
Jaishankar meets Rishi Sunak on Diwali, gifts him Kohli-signed bat, Ganesha statue

madhu wrote: 13 Nov 2023 17:05 ...
i still do not know why every one in the world go head over heel in appeasing the Muslims. Why is whole world bend there back for the Muslims. What do they bring to table other than riots, disgrace to country. yes some votes for the party, but for that reason how can white push there country to dogs? today they want to sack Home Secretary, tomorrow change the constitution and day after to declare UK to be Muslim kingdom.

looks like this is the same pattern be it India or Europe sadly.
You make some excellent points here, and I am afraid I have no way to disagree with this gloomy assessment or offer some kind of cheerful counter-point. There doesn't appear to be a hopeful "other side" to this - at least not that I can see.

The firing of Braverman is an act of huge political cowardice and appeasement, and it seems that the same thing is happening throughout the free world. Just hope and pray that the same psychological sickness doesn't infect India.

She has been anti-Rushi for a long time. So, she was kicked out at the first opportunity. If Conservatives lose in the next elections, then labour party with its full paki mode will ensure BIF will get more support in britshitland then the present levels.

As long as the future rulers of UK are pragmatic. I will not be worried. Because we should be able to reach an accomodation.

However, if they are ideological in there position. Then, we will be annoyed and the UK will go down the tubes, faster than UK can inflict any harm to India.

Yagnasri wrote: 14 Nov 2023 10:00 She has been anti-Rushi for a long time. So, she was kicked out at the first opportunity. If Conservatives lose in the next elections, then labour party with its full paki mode will ensure BIF will get more support in britshitland then the present levels.

Yagnasri garu,

sunak seems much like a temporary stop gap arrangement, who, even if he suffers political damage during his tenure, is not worthy of saving.

He has come in like a night watchman, taking stance, even as the light is fast fading. It's well and good for the party if he clicks, otherwise no one really expects him to do well anyway because a night watchman is expendable.

He may not be a contender worthy of any significant position in the next cabinet, if at all even considered for a berth following a win in the next elections

Furthermore, he is brown, rich, and comes from a privileged background and those "virtues" are significant enough red flags to sabotage his chances.... the common or garden variety of britshit voters are racist and vengeful.

Braverman called it right when she red flagged the jihadi crowds. The mayor of london sadiq khan, a deranged and khattar paki, controls the police and he is the one to be blamed.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/20 ... -braverman
Braverman plots Tory rebellion on Rwanda plan after stinging attack on PM
Sacked home secretary urges Rishi Sunak to change course in letter and accuses him of breaking ‘pledge to the British people’
Pippa Crerar and Rajeev Syal, Tue 14 Nov 2023

Suella Braverman has launched an astonishing personal attack on Rishi Sunak, describing the prime minister as weak and dishonest and claiming he reneged on promises to push through a series of controversial policy pledges.
In a brutal three-page letter published a day after she was sacked as home secretary, Braverman warned Sunak that she now intends to spearhead a Tory rebellion over the government’s Rwanda plan.
“Someone needs to be honest: your plan is not working, we have endured record election defeats, your resets have failed and we are running out of time. You need to change course urgently,” she wrote.
Dozens of Conservative MPs are poised to demand that the government quits the European convention on human rights, a move resisted by senior cabinet ministers, if the UK’s highest court rules against sending asylum seekers to Rwanda on Wednesday.
Home Office insiders said the government had no plan B in the event of losing in the supreme court, suggesting that ministers were “panicked” over the potential outcome. They warned it was highly unlikely that flights to Rwanda would be able to take off before February even if they won.
In her letter, Braverman said that Sunak had failed to prepare a credible backup plan and had ignored her suggestion – believed to be emergency legislation to change domestic law so that the government could ignore the ruling and the flights could go ahead.
“I can only surmise that this is because you have no appetite for doing what is necessary, and therefore no real intention of fulfilling your pledge to the British people,” she added.
Sunak vowed to continue working to tackle small boat crossings regardless of the supreme court verdict. No 10 advisers believe that only a dozen or so backbenchers are prepared to fall in behind Braverman, while some Tory MPs feel the viciousness of her attack will make it harder for them to publicly back her.
The prime minister has also been accused by a group of “red wall” and rightwing Conservatives of abandoning the voters who brought the party to power in 2019, as anger among some backbenchers grew over Braverman’s sacking and the surprise return of David Cameron.
(Kolkata, West Bangla Desh)

WA
if suella was relying on notwithstanding clauses she can hardly complain if rishi promised her the keys to the kingdom but had his fingers crossed behind his back.

braverman might also reflect that a man promising to pull out can't always be trusted.**

**unless of course, it's nitishwa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLF_ZkIpVrQ&t=113s
The Truth About Brexit: Britain BETRAYED | ULTIMATE DOCUMENTARY 2023
Byline TV
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

BBC staff 'lost for words' after comedian Guz Khan is announced as host of Have I Got News For You after weeks of calling Israel 'genocidal' on social media

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... srael.html

g.sarkar wrote: 25 Nov 2023 21:01 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLF_ZkIpVrQ&t=113s
The Truth About Brexit: Britain BETRAYED | ULTIMATE DOCUMENTARY 2023
Byline TV

Gautam ji,

If one were to say what one truly felt after watching this video, it would earn one a permanent ban almost instantly......

but one can and will say this: karma never forgets, nor forgives....

and the word "sun", would probably be removed for good from their vocabulary
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

'The problem is, Brits have got it too cushy. We're not hungry enough,'

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... r-comments

^ Two - Three hundred years of looting all over the world gave them the luxury of slacking off for a gen or two.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Is this a Taliban-run school in Kabul? No, one of our top comprehensives: Death threats to staff for stopping Muslim pupils praying, a girl forced to quit the choir because 'her religion bars singing' and another pressured to wear a hijab

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... hijab.html

Just about seems to sum it up

@madhukishwar· Dec 9

Indian origin Samir Shah has been chosen as chairman of @BBCNews

https://bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-67635447

You know the main reason why Samir Shah got this job?

Because he is a converted muslim !

https://www.ahmkhabar.news/dr-samir-sha ... who-is-he/
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

When will they realise why they are not trusted ??

Hundreds of Afghan special forces who fought alongside UK troops before fleeing to Pakistan after war face being deported back to their Taliban-controlled homeland

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... sage-field

A rare report

Whilst driving to work heard on the Radio:
UK/Italy?Japan to start a joint Aircraft Programme (6th Gen Programme)
Insteresting combo wonder what's driving this??
future of Euro fighter???
or a sign of cracks in the EU
me thinks that the Northern Germanic(ne Icemaidens) are ganging up hence the Med folks are rebelling???
Nor far before Spaniards join this or the French
French have Rafa going

The northern folks have become wokism and fallen in love with the jehadis but the Med folks face the brunt of the migrant problems

Did the BRits DO ANY DEAL with the Indians regarding 6th Gen or all tangled in the FTA

We need some specific engine tech, Rolls Royce is one of the possible sources. Apart from ejection seats from Martin Baker and an odd component here and there, everything else we can now do in house. By the next decade, even those wont be needed from outside.

So the question we should ask is why would India be interested in any 6th gen project from UK? FTA has nothing to do with strategic tech or procurement.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Haresh

Post by Haresh »

It’s time to rethink our relations with India. It is getting too close to Russia

It is behind a paywall

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2023/1 ... mir-putin/

Such a waste. There India was a 'Strategic Ally" of the UK and India just wasted the chance!

https://archive.ph/z6auD

It’s time to rethink our relations with India. It is getting too close to Russia

"However, the growing proximity between a country with whom we are effectively at war and a country we trust as a key strategic ally makes questions about the wisdom and desirability of a trade deal between India and the UK increasingly difficult to ignore." :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Think about this, UK has supplied and continues to supply a terrorist nation with not just aid but arms as well against a "key strategic ally".

https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/c ... eport.html

"To support this aim, Pakistan was the largest recipient of UK bilateral ODA from 2015 to 2019, despite bilateral aid steadily dropping from a peak of £463 million in 2016 to £305 million in 2019"
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

They never learn, picking another fight, this is laying the foundations for another attempt at regime change.
They don't want India to be an ally, they want a sepoy.

Isabel Oakeshott
@IsabelOakeshott
LOOK: India’s new best friend is Russia. They’ve just announced plans to develop weapons together. India is NOT a true democracy. If we want a trade deal, let’s be honest about who we are dealing with.

https://twitter.com/IsabelOakeshott/sta ... 6987557130
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Isabel Oakeshott
@IsabelOakeshott
TERROR and dirty money -why INDIA is a worry. Many bad things happening under Mod's hardline regime @FATRNews

https://twitter.com/IsabelOakeshott/sta ... 2278817241

She is on a mission.

https://www.politico.eu/article/biggest ... ael-hamas/

Relax - this Oxsh!t is just another version of a packee.

She and her ilk need to be called out, like it's being done, by Indians in India and abroad.

Social media is great in that aspect. Two way communication unlike the old print and TV media.

Which is why the governments across the world want to be able to control it, as much as possible.

She is on a commission

One of the least ethical journalists in the UK (and competition in that category is world class). She got one of her sources imprisoned (I kid you not).
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

eklavya wrote: 02 Jan 2024 14:16
She is on a commission

One of the least ethical journalists in the UK (and competition in that category is world class). She got one of her sources imprisoned (I kid you not).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isabel_Oakeshott

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mkk8-7NUdVg

Gravitas: Are the British biased against India and Hindus?

Are the British biased against India and Hindus from India?

Why do they dislike Indians so much? Is it because India is a rising power?

One survey has found that British Indians are experiencing prejudice because of the British media's biased reportage on India.

What gives?
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

chetak wrote: 04 Jan 2024 21:10 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mkk8-7NUdVg

Gravitas: Are the British biased against India and Hindus?

Are the British biased against India and Hindus from India?

Why do they dislike Indians so much? Is it because India is a rising power?

One survey has found that British Indians are experiencing prejudice because of the British media's biased reportage on India.

What gives?
I have lived in England for over 50 years including all my adult life. Prior to that I was in Kenya where I was born. In both countries Indians were discriminated against. The discrimination was greater against Hindus and Sikhs than against Christians and Muslims; as a "Christian" I can say I was told many times in both countries that christians were acceptable. However the average Joe or Njoroge cannot tell the Christian or Muslim from the masses as we "all look the same."

Much of what the article says is true. Indians were looked down on because they were poor, had a poor command of English (!) and of course, did menial jobs (in the UK). There were exceptions of course but that was the general perception and the press reinforced them. It was not unknown for adverts for accommodation in London to say "No children, pets or Coloureds". I was something of a wonder, as not only did I have finished school (A Levels) at seventeen, but I also had admission to a leading college of London University. Later on people assumed that I was a doctor as they were one of the few areas where Indians had some standing.

The press were hostile. An example I have personal experience of was there were attacks on Indian students in the East End. The Police did nothing, the Indian High Commission said "be like Gandhiji - turn the other cheek", so the students collected hockey sticks, cricket bats and wickets and soon enough were alerted by an English student that one of their number was being assaulted in the street. They rushed out and administered a hiding to the "skinheads" who included a couple of girls. Next day the press reported it as a fight between Asians and English over women!

The BBC as always has been anti Indian. They hardly ever have a negative report from Pakistan while the reports from India are mostly negative especially political stories involving the BJP. The terrorists in Kashmir are "militants" (in Ireland the IRA are terrorists not "militants").

Oh yes, the average Brit, thinks India is receiving tons of "aid" from Britain. In fact there is no aid. There is some money given to NGOs, mostly British, operating in India. Much of it is used to sponsor children of British parents doing "charitable" things in India as it looks good on their CVs.

I am sure most Indians knew this already.

Anyone not knowing what UK AID is should watch this brilliant explanation by Shiv Aroor

https://x.com/ShivAroor/status/1694684 ... qfomw&s=09
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Aldonkar wrote: 05 Jan 2024 17:34
I have lived in England for over 50 years including all my adult life. Prior to that I was in Kenya where I was born. In both countries Indians were discriminated against. The discrimination was greater against Hindus and Sikhs than against Christians and Muslims; as a "Christian" I can say I was told many times in both countries that christians were acceptable. However the average Joe or Njoroge cannot tell the Christian or Muslim from the masses as we "all look the same."

Much of what the article says is true. Indians were looked down on because they were poor, had a poor command of English (!) and of course, did menial jobs (in the UK). There were exceptions of course but that was the general perception and the press reinforced them. It was not unknown for adverts for accommodation in London to say "No children, pets or Coloureds". I was something of a wonder, as not only did I have finished school (A Levels) at seventeen, but I also had admission to a leading college of London University. Later on people assumed that I was a doctor as they were one of the few areas where Indians had some standing.

The press were hostile. An example I have personal experience of was there were attacks on Indian students in the East End. The Police did nothing, the Indian High Commission said "be like Gandhiji - turn the other cheek", so the students collected hockey sticks, cricket bats and wickets and soon enough were alerted by an English student that one of their number was being assaulted in the street. They rushed out and administered a hiding to the "skinheads" who included a couple of girls. Next day the press reported it as a fight between Asians and English over women!

The BBC as always has been anti Indian. They hardly ever have a negative report from Pakistan while the reports from India are mostly negative especially political stories involving the BJP. The terrorists in Kashmir are "militants" (in Ireland the IRA are terrorists not "militants").

Oh yes, the average Brit, thinks India is receiving tons of "aid" from Britain. In fact there is no aid. There is some money given to NGOs, mostly British, operating in India. Much of it is used to sponsor children of British parents doing "charitable" things in India as it looks good on their CVs.

I am sure most Indians knew this already.

My experience is pretty much the same as yours, same age group, I am 58, I was born here. Southall boy.
I still remember when we were at Primary school, the teachers would tell us we should be grateful for school lunch, because we would be starving in India and living in a mud hut !! They used to call us pagans and heathens.
I would say they despised us. Told us to know our place and not aim to high.
It must be painful for them to see the country and people they despised and ruled over, surpassing them.