Tejas Mk2 Medium Weight Fighter: News & Discussion - 23 February 2019

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Tejas Mk2 Medium Weight Fighter: News & Discussion - 23 February 2019

rajsunder wrote: 03 Apr 2024 23:42We paid French for integrating these addons to F3 variant, the newer one is F4. We will still have to pay French once again to integrate them to the new variant.
Some of the components in the F4 variant came from the F3R(I) variant that the IAF operates.

The money India spent on the ISE for the Rafale was used to fund the development of the F4 variant :)

Karan M wrote: 01 Apr 2024 20:07
srai wrote: 01 Apr 2024 04:12 ^^^
IMO, repeat of MMRCA 1.0 GoI will get a sticker price shock. Looking at upwards of $30 billion plus for triple digits Rafales. To put in context, 36 Rafales costs $8 billion and that was without ToT/license assembly.

First order of the day will likely go for 97 follow-on Tejas Mk1A. That itself will be around $8 billion deal.

Tejas Mk2 MWF and AMCA are still on the drawing boards so to speak. GoI doesn’t have to spend large amounts on those just yet. Maybe only after the next election cycle in 5-years at the earliest.

So there is a room for “some” type of deal for Rafales for the IN and IAF, but doubtful if it exceeds beyond $10 billion. Quantities will be limited.
There is no appetite in GOI to spend more on defence. They are even going after DRDO to try and move it's core capabilities to the pvt sector whom they think will spend on R&D on their own for assured orders abd hence the R&D budget can be directed towards the usual political stuff. Sadly, even this Govt will not wake up until and unless there is conflict at its doorstep. ABV in 1999 was quite similar in his own way.
The pace of orders has been so disappointing. It makes no difference which govt is in power, none can seem to order. Parrikar was the only breath of fresh air in many decades.

One can only hope that the 24 Election brings the MMRCA Drama to an end. We will see finalization and execution of the Naval Rafales. Plus the final Air Force order.

Until the above does not happen, I am sorry to see but our IAF will continue to choke and strangle the desi babies till the phoren baby deal is signed in ink and blood.

Rakesh wrote: 04 Apr 2024 03:04
rajsunder wrote: 03 Apr 2024 23:42We paid French for integrating these addons to F3 variant, the newer one is F4. We will still have to pay French once again to integrate them to the new variant.
Some of the components in the F4 variant came from the F3R(I) variant that the IAF operates.

The money India spent on the ISE for the Rafale was used to fund the development of the F4 variant :)
The India specific enhancements doesn't mean that the planes come ready integrated with Indian weapons. It means that the French will offer us access to APIs so that we can integrate our own weapons if required. All the testing for the same would have to be carried out and in some cases we would still need help from the OEM to integrate some specific weapons system and we would have to pay for the same. If we run into trouble while integrating some weapons system (e.g. like the flutter issue with the Python-V on the Tejas), we would still need help from the OEM and would have to pay them for the same.

The French themselves have to spend a fair bit to integrate new stuff on the planes. I have written in the Rafael thread, how the French had to run a new dedicated fiber optic line from the pylon to the cockpit to integrate the Talios targeting pod in place of the old Damocles pod, as per of the F4.1 upgrade. Integrating the Litening-IV pod would have also involved some such additional work, which we had to pay for.

Khalsa wrote: 04 Apr 2024 14:47 One can only hope that the 24 Election brings the MMRCA Drama to an end. We will see finalization and execution of the Naval Rafales. Plus the final Air Force order.

Until the above does not happen, I am sorry to see but our IAF will continue to choke and strangle the desi babies till the phoren baby deal is signed in ink and blood.
When Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria (retd) recently joined the BJP, many were elated as he is a strong proponent of Atmanirbhar Bharat. The Indian defence community on Twitter was jumping up with joy. This same community - I am afraid - will be disappointed when the dice is finally rolled by Bhadauria Sir. IMVHO, Sir is being brought on board to handle the messaging.

The 2024 Elections will indeed spell the end of the MMRCA/MRFA saga. The second tranche of 97 Mk1As will be ordered, the 26 Rafale Ms will be ordered, there will be a firm commitment on the Tejas Mk2 by Air HQ and to tie these up, will be the MRFA. And who better to drive that message home than Sir himself. You really have to hand it to the Govt and especially the PM. NaMo plays chess 10 steps ahead of everyone else.

Time will tell!

Too many years of high hopes ending in disappointment :((
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Mk2 is coming so is Rafale 72+ 26(M) just enough to start local production for India and exports.

I remember someone in this forum guaranteeing Modi GoI will sign the MMRCA (SE) in the last election cycle. More that 5-years have gone by fast!

https://idrw.org/tejas-mk-2-set-for-fir ... e_vignette

IDRW, is quoting ADA chief, that the first flight of the MWF will take place in 2025.

Since 2025 is till the end of 31st of December. The timeline, if met, is extremely aggressive.

But i just wish that the various responsible Babu log to keep there mouths shut in such things.

They should simply say that the program is on schedule and is expected to perform XYZ operation in due course.

Pratyush wrote: 06 Apr 2024 07:48 But i just wish that the various responsible Babu log to keep there mouths shut in such things.

They should simply say that the program is on schedule and is expected to perform XYZ operation in due course.
Exactly. We have heard all kinds of highly optimistic timelines in the past. And then we came to know that the funding wasn't even being released in full till the engine negotiations had been completed. So on what basis were these rollout and first flight dates being given out? I don't know.

https://x.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1779389129283002525 ---> HAL CMD on LCA AF Mk2: Certain parts being manufactured. HAL expects first prototype to roll out by the end of 2025. Expects to deliver first aircraft by 2029. Ambitious timeline, requires extremely smooth coordination and of course, satisfactory trials.