India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
hemant_sai

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

Post by hemant_sai »

Prasad wrote:https://twitter.com/delhidefence/status ... 65697?s=19
WATCH: Chinese Vehicles seen entering Indian territory in Eastern Ladakh, at Changthang near Nyoma. Strong protests by locals backed by ITBP ensured a retreat by the Chinese, suspected to be PLA soldiers in disguise.
This is ridiculous !! Why locals even need to protest? Shouldn't those civilians be jailed? If India has such protocols that too in war time, why those big fellows talk about deterrent? Similar incident was reported in sikkim border few months back.

Why we are so much inclined to show how good we are? At one side chinese army detains & abduct our civilians and we need to protest to send them back?

These incidents tell a lot about our preparation.

m_saini wrote:The japanese and koreans have comparable sales in India and China. If we're to believe that Germany won't play favorites between US and China just because of their car sales, then we should also believe that Korea and Japanese won't play favorites between China and India.
No, it is not comparable. Japan exports more than 10 times more to Cheen than India ($150B to $12B.) The numbers for Korea are about the same. Cheen is their biggest trade partner, bigger than the US. China consumes their cultural exports which are far harder to sell in the US and Europe beyond a few niche markets. KPOP bands have chini members, you do not see desis or goras on them. Japanese manga and anime have China-based characters and stories. They are naturally more culturally in tune with one another.

Furthermore, they (Korea and Japan) both also depend heavily on access to american markets for their tech goods and both host american military along with american military bases. The article claiming that a "political alliance" between China, Japan and Korea would rule the world, while technically true, would never happen in a million years. It's just a thought experiment like saying a political alliance between China & India would be a super-duper-superpower and everyone would pay tributes to the union.
They are culturally and racially related to one another which creates a base for such an union. We are not. Just as the EU eventually came together despite fratricidal wars that killed millions, there is no reason to believe it won't happen in East Asia. As the article says, there are groups in China, Korea and Japan actively looking at this after RCEP.
Besides, it's extremely patronizing to think that anyone *let* the chinese grow or that they became a power *because* of any country. They grew because of their own volition. Their exports are growing because they produce stuff for cheap and the alternatives burn and loot factories over wage issues. Their industrial monster was never going to be tamed just because of a virus.
N0, it is not patronizing but fact. If you look at the history of their industrialization, the majority of investment came from Japan, Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong. Without that they would have NEVER plugged into the global supply chain. The West allowed Japan, Korea and Taiwan into their market post WWII as a strategy against the USSR. Those three then invested in Cheen to create an East Asian eco-system which dominates global manufacturing today. Vietnam will be the next one pulled into this system. Again, culturally and ethnically related.

Without those investments from Japan, Korea and Taiwan, the West would not have invested in China as well. East Asian money formed the scaffolding for Apple, GM, Airbus and Tesla to put plants in Cheen.

Think about this -- India's hourly wages are 5 times lower than Cheen's. Africa even more. So why didn't we or the Africans get those investments if low labor costs were the only factor? Infrastructure is a factor today but Cheen had poor infrastructure no better than India's when the Japanese investments began.

They are simply closer -- geographically, culturally and genetically -- that anyone else would never have had the same chances at this global supply chain because of Japan/Korea/Taiwan's predominance in it.

BTW, the bar we are talking about is much lower than an East Asian union. We are hoping that Japan and Korea as well as the non-Anglo Europeans would turn away from Cheen. IMO, it is unlikely, they are far more apt to play both sides of the fence which would be more than enough to allow Cheen to grow despite decoupling with the Anglo-sphere.

About the cultural affinity and invasion .....

When I first landed in Vietnam several years ago, the first thing my colleague asked me after exchanging pleasantries, is - "Do you like the show - ' Eight year old bride'?"
I was a bit confused by his question, but then realized after a while that he was talking about 'Balika Badhu' ('The girl bride') - a term first coined by Tagore in his writings.
I still didn't know at that time how entrenched the Indian soaps and regular TV shows have gotten in Vietnam, but over the years I see this unshakable in foreseeable future. At any given time, three channels in Ho Chi Minh City are running some Indian shows fully dubbed in Vietnamese.

Once I was tuning in Channel-7, and Sony was advertising about their latest flat-screen TV model with special incentive which said (a Vietname colleague translated) - "Your last chance to grab this special sale before the next episode of the Indian program starts...."

... In a professional dinner party, many of my female colleagues donned the typical desi 'bindi' on their forehead either to impress me, or to show how impressed they have been with Balika Badhu. ....

... Da Nang, - one of the Vietnam's top tourist destinations - I was taking a stroll along the sea beach in the evening with several of my colleagues. The place is like Mumbai's Chowpatty, but at the strike of 7pm, pretty much the whole area came to a stand still - 'Balika Badhu show is starting at 7pm. ....
... and when Pratyusha Banerjee (Balika Badhu main character) allegedly committed suicide, entire Vietnam mourned.

Yes, the Kpop is somewhat popular among the teenagers, but anyone above 25 is more enamored with the Indian shows than anything else. Local jewelry shops are now having a hard time keeping up with the demands of "Ando (India)-style jewelry" .... :mrgreen:

Their cuisine is closer to China, but definitely their many other choices are closer to desi style.

Why pushback Chinese intruders in disguise? We should capture them for 1 year hard labour in Dharamshala and deindoctriate them.

The cultural affinity of Taiwan, Sk, Japan towards China is precisely the reason we need to fiddle in the troubles there to keep these 3 against the Chini.

Which is why we need to allied to them and along with US, push them to stand against the CCP. Which will in turn create a cyclical reaction....

US & India's market access lollipop should be used to keep these 3 on the opposite fence..

Talking about cultural affinity, our Bollywood joker's rona dhona stuff is quite popular in Indonesia as well. We should be doing more to remind Indonesia of their older cultural..

I see the Koreans have now hooked on to Bollywood dance numbers.

nam wrote:The cultural affinity of Taiwan, Sk, Japan towards China is precisely the reason we need to fiddle in the troubles there to keep these 3 against the Chini.

Which is why we need to allied to them and along with US, push them to stand against the CCP. Which will in turn create a cyclical reaction....

US & India's market access lollipop should be used to keep these 3 on the opposite fence..
The best way to ally with them is to take their exports. We are not going to do it sending them Bollywood films and hoping they watch the Khans. (Bollywood right now is not in good shape in India -- economically or politically -- anyways.)

Unless we can take another $100B from each, they will not cast aside Cheen for us. That's the purely economic side of things. Even without the cultural affinity, they profit far more from Cheen full stop.

Forget the US, their lollipop is not ours unless we brvome full fledge allies of the Anglo-sphere (which will include cutting ourselves off from Russia and Iran -- maybe not a bad thing) and sync our policies completely. We have to provide a much bigger market for potential allies not just the Far East but Europe too. Only the Anglo-sphere *might* be willing to accept the benefits of geopolitics alone because for them it is a civilizational conflict with the Hans. For everyone else, it is transactional.

With Biden -- and with Wall Street/F500 already pivoting to back to Cheen post-Trump -- even the Anglo-sphere or parts of it is transactional.

We tend to be blind to the fact even the US has sectors that are dependent on chini markets:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -than-ever

Hollywood is another. People in the US follow the chini box office closely. They don't follow India's. The take doesn't warrant it.

The harsh truth is we might need to work on weaning the US itself off of chini markets not just Japan or Korea by providing them another billion-plus alternative.

What do we get by allying with a country half our GDP? under heavy sanctions? We cannot hold our future hostage for the sake of SSBN tech or preventing weapon sales to Pak, which they can get it from China anyways. Russians need to understand, we interfere in their affairs, they shouldn't either. It is in their interest for us to be economically powerful, so that they can access to a large market.

If they have bit of sense, they will keep quiet.

We have to ally with the eastern countries and US and control the supply chain and market. 95% 0f Chini's 440B trade surplus is provided by 2 countries: US & India. We need to be with US and replace Chinis as the preferred suppliers.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

chola wrote:They are culturally and racially related to one another which creates a base for such an union. We are not. Just as the EU eventually came together despite fratricidal wars that killed millions, there is no reason to believe it won't happen in East Asia. As the article says, there are groups in China, Korea and Japan actively looking at this after RCEP.
Saar those cultural similarities you can find in almost in any pair of neighbors. North korea and south korea share a lot of culture too and groups in those countries often talk about a union, how realistic do you think that is, considering all the cultural similarities? The EU idea was floated around for a century before it all came crumbling down in 1915 and again in 1939. Their "cultural similarity" is all but a delusion in their minds of being the next Roman empire while being held together by American largesse.

N0, it is not patronizing but fact. If you look at the history of their industrialization, the majority of investment came from Japan, Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong. Without that they would have NEVER plugged into the global supply chain. The West allowed Japan, Korea and Taiwan into their market post WWII as a strategy against the USSR. Those three then invested in Cheen to create an East Asian eco-system which dominates global manufacturing today. Vietnam will be the next one pulled into this system. Again, culturally and ethnically related.
Those investments came only after Nixon had his beer with Mao. The Americans weren't going to allow Japan, Korea etc to invest in Mao's china just because they all eat with chopsticks and have slanted eyes.
Think about this -- India's hourly wages are 5 times lower than Cheen's. Africa even more. So why didn't we or the Africans get those investments if low labor costs were the only factor? Infrastructure is a factor today but Cheen had poor infrastructure no better than India's when the Japanese investments began.
India's hourly wage isn't 5 times lower than China's. Our PPP adjusted hourly is $1 while it's $1.68 in China (List of minimum wages by country). The ease of doing business in India could actually be 5 time worse than that in China. There are no worker unions there, no media to report on harsh working env. or on worker suicide and CCP won't let people revolt and burn down factories. So why should companies invest in other countries and decrease their profit margins? Vietnam is getting investment because it's creating such environment for it.
They are simply closer -- geographically, culturally and genetically -- that anyone else would never have had the same chances at this global supply chain because of Japan/Korea/Taiwan's predominance in it.
Imo this just sounds like excuses. "Oh we can't grow because Japan and Korea won't invest in us". Aren't Japanese literally paying companies to move production out of China? What have we done to attract those? It's not like we're the ideal destination for investment and Japanese and Koreans just don't invest in us simply because we don't eat sushi or kimchi.
BTW, the bar we are talking about is much lower than an East Asian union. We are hoping that Japan and Korea as well as the non-Anglo Europeans would turn away from Cheen. IMO, it is unlikely, they are far more apt to play both sides of the fence which would be more than enough to allow Cheen to grow despite decoupling with the Anglo-sphere.
Saar those non-anglo europeans alongwith Japan and Korea would run away from cheen if the Anglo world turns the screws. Look how the americans showed the japanese and germans their "aukaad" with the Plaza Accord.

I say it again, it really is patronizing to say China grew because of this country or that. Their growth didn't come free, nobody's does.

^^^ Saini ji, I am not patronizing them and certainly not giving an excuse for not getting India into the supply chain. I've been an advocate for India to grab a slice of global manufacturing for years. As I said in order to grab that supply you also need to open yourself up as a market which was what Cheen had done. The East Asian (and Western) MNCs in Cheen had always supplied both the Chinese and the Western markets. That is what made things efficient therefore profitable for them. Vietnam is the next hot spot because it is being a conduit for their parts from their Chinese plants until the local Vietnamese eco-system is built up which over time might even supply Cheen itself. This is is impossible for us which is why Vietnam will the lion's share of the move from Cheen.

We can debate PPP and Nominal as academics. But for global business is about 5 times less, it is in the first graph here:
https://m.economictimes.com/news/econom ... 291747.cms

Logically we should be more attractive to MNCs vis a vis Cheen. In fact, multi-nationals do a combination of US dollar based cost for currency conversion (global trade is based on USD) and employment insurance/social security cost based on the local currency. Cheen, believe it or not, has fairly strong unemployment costs that the MNCs need to pay into on top of hourly wages. We are not more attractive mainly because of things like geographical and cultural distance from the major players. We win hands down on labor cost.

So yes, I want us to grab a bigger piece of the global pie but in order to grab it we need to offer more than Cheen.
Saar those non-anglo europeans alongwith Japan and Korea would run away from cheen if the Anglo world turns the screws. Look how the americans showed the japanese and germans their "aukaad" with the Plaza Accord.
The Plaza Accord and the unilateral crippling of Bretton Woods by taking the USD off the gold standard are the very reason why non-Anglo powers like Germany and Japan would rather ride the fence unless the nuclear option is declared (total ceasing of trade for any one trading with Cheen.)
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Thanks for the link chola sir. It seems i was mistaking the hourly wage of all sectors vs the hourly wage of manufacturing sector. Their manufacturing sector wage indeed is 5 times ours.

Regarding the importance of cultural ties in determining whether investments are made, I just don't think they play that big of a role that we need to concern ourselves with. But I could very well be wrong here too.

m_saini wrote:Thanks for the link chola sir. It seems i was mistaking the hourly wage of all sectors vs the hourly wage of manufacturing sector. Their manufacturing sector wage indeed is 5 times ours.

Regarding the importance of cultural ties in determining whether investments are made, I just don't think they play that big of a role that we need to concern ourselves with. But I could very well be wrong here too.
We can't change these things so it is not something to be "concerned" with per se. But we should know that they exist so you can overcome them.

It is business 101. If the other more established tibal enterprise has certain advantages, you need to overcome them with more features and incentives of your own.

The East Asians coming to India won't be here for the sake of distance, language and culture. The wage savings are not enough since we've had much cheaper labor costs for quite some time and they've never came. We have access to the US but so does Vietnam, Thailand and the rest of ASEAN plus with RCEP they can potentially supply Cheen itself.

The one trump card we have is our billion-person market. But if we do not open it up then it is not a card we can wield.

Without opening our market wider, the Japanese, Koreans and Taiwanese won't be abandoning the market and system they've created in Cheen. And whatever they move out of Cheen in response to the US trade war will go mainly to ASEAN. Actually TBH, they are not moving out but employing a "China plus 1" strategy to bifurcate manufacturing for the US -- no one is leaving the number one consumer market in Cheen that also has the greatest potential growth for consumption growth.

India is the only place in the world with the same growth potential but when the East Asians are seeing barely a 10th of the exports they send to Cheen then there is no way they will abandon China for India. These are export dependent trading nations.
Vidur

Post by Vidur »

You won't find a better assessment in public domain of Air Power deployment in context of India, China, Pak. Have had the pleasure of interacting with some of the panelists and will say without hesitation that they are some of the sharpest and clearest thinkers I have come across.

Must see. Please also note note AVM Subraminam's conclusion about how India can EXPONENTIALLY improve outcomes. May I request moderators to see if its possible to have a controlled discussion on this with members who have subject knowledge and tactical and operational experience and knowledge. Groupie Nair, Akshay, Doctor Shiv, and others. I know Akshay is no longer here but I can ask him to join for this if a discussion between professionals can be held.

https://youtu.be/xww9g2o1rpg
brvarsh

Post by brvarsh »

Vidur wrote:You won't find a better assessment in public domain of Air Power deployment in context of India, China, Pak. Have had the pleasure of interacting with some of the panelists and will say without hesitation that they are some of the sharpest and clearest thinkers I have come across.

I wonder if we missed the hidden message from such senior panelists to China that we know the details of their capabilities in detail with eyes all around it. Not that Chinese didn't know it but publicly coming out with such an assessment gives them a clear signal against any misadventures they may have in their brains.

nam wrote:The cultural affinity of Taiwan, Sk, Japan towards China is precisely the reason we need to fiddle in the troubles there to keep these 3 against the Chini.

Taiwan is actually where the 'real Chinese' culture survives. What remains in the mainland is basically a distorted version, whatever the party has allowed to survive. The Chinese know this. The Taiwanese know this and they hate the party. Even many chinese who arent party members dislike the party. We will need very little to have the Vietnamese, Taiwanese and the Japanese stand against the CCP at a political/diplomatic level. Economic ties are real and we need to sort out our house here.

India’s island diplomacy gains momentum.
On April 19, 2016, China’s officiating Ambassador at a discussion about South China Sea in New Delhi, during deliberations between various think tanks commented that “Someone in, future may dispute the ownership of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands”.
Chinese lizard browning his pants at the thought of India choking the movement of chinese ships in the IOR :((

Vidur wrote:You won't find a better assessment in public domain of Air Power deployment in context of India, China, Pak. Have had the pleasure of interacting with some of the panelists and will say without hesitation that they are some of the sharpest and clearest thinkers I have come across.

Must see. Please also note note AVM Subraminam's conclusion about how India can EXPONENTIALLY improve outcomes. May I request moderators to see if its possible to have a controlled discussion on this with members who have subject knowledge and tactical and operational experience and knowledge. Groupie Nair, Akshay, Doctor Shiv, and others. I know Akshay is no longer here but I can ask him to join for this if a discussion between professionals can be held.

Vidur, Thanks for posting the link. Will go through and understand it.
We can have discussion but the panel knowledge can't be matched!
One thing we can do is note down key points and bring them here.

Kati wrote:About the cultural affinity and invasion .....

When I first landed in Vietnam several years ago, the first thing my colleague asked me after exchanging pleasantries, is - "Do you like the show - ' Eight year old bride'?"
I was a bit confused by his question, but then realized after a while that he was talking about 'Balika Badhu' ('The girl bride') - a term first coined by Tagore in his writings.
I still didn't know at that time how entrenched the Indian soaps and regular TV shows have gotten in Vietnam, but over the years I see this unshakable in foreseeable future. At any given time, three channels in Ho Chi Minh City are running some Indian shows fully dubbed in Vietnamese.

Once I was tuning in Channel-7, and Sony was advertising about their latest flat-screen TV model with special incentive which said (a Vietname colleague translated) - "Your last chance to grab this special sale before the next episode of the Indian program starts...."

... In a professional dinner party, many of my female colleagues donned the typical desi 'bindi' on their forehead either to impress me, or to show how impressed they have been with Balika Badhu. ....

... Da Nang, - one of the Vietnam's top tourist destinations - I was taking a stroll along the sea beach in the evening with several of my colleagues. The place is like Mumbai's Chowpatty, but at the strike of 7pm, pretty much the whole area came to a stand still - 'Balika Badhu show is starting at 7pm. ....
... and when Pratyusha Banerjee (Balika Badhu main character) allegedly committed suicide, entire Vietnam mourned.

Yes, the Kpop is somewhat popular among the teenagers, but anyone above 25 is more enamored with the Indian shows than anything else. Local jewelry shops are now having a hard time keeping up with the demands of "Ando (India)-style jewelry" .... :mrgreen:

Their cuisine is closer to China, but definitely their many other choices are closer to desi style.
In mid 1980s , SHQ's study buddies were Vietnamese students. One of them wanted Ramro movie video tape! I got to talk to him to understand what he was saying!

Turns out N.T. Rama Rao movies with French subtitles are quite popular in the 70s.
So lent him a few old tapes for enjoyment.

@Vidur ji,

Thanks for the link.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

ramana wrote:One of them wanted Ramro movie video tape!
I thought that was a reference to the Rambo films !!!

Vips wrote:India’s island diplomacy gains momentum.
On April 19, 2016, China’s officiating Ambassador at a discussion about South China Sea in New Delhi, during deliberations between various think tanks commented that “Someone in, future may dispute the ownership of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands”.
Chinese lizard browning his pants at the thought of India choking the movement of chinese ships in the IOR :((
That someone will be Burma, pushed by the Chinis. We know this, that's why the kilo have gone to Burma.

If nobody agrees, China will be the one who will first stop recognizing the island, joined in by their rent boy Pak.

Chinis will make an attempt on A&N, at the least a siege.Which is why we need to have loads of AShM & ASBM to knock off any Chinese invasion/ LHD or capital ships laying siege on the island.

That someone will be Burma, pushed by the Chinis. We know this, that's why the kilo have gone to Burma.
It will likely be multi-pronged.. Myanmar laying claim to the Andamans and Indonesia to the Nicobars

CDS apparently mentioned that we should except some sort of joint play by Chini & Paks ..

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 26433?s=20 ---> Statement by Commander of US Pacific Air Forces:

"We’ve gotten close with India this year, mainly due to situation occurring on their NE border with China. So we’ve been doing quite a bit of intelligence sharing, as much as we can, with them to help out our great friend India."

Rakesh wrote:https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 26433?s=20 ---> Statement by Commander of US Pacific Air Forces:

"We’ve gotten close with India this year, mainly due to situation occurring on their NE border with China. So we’ve been doing quite a bit of intelligence sharing, as much as we can, with them to help out our great friend India."
Great friend also does this..
(Gustaki maaf kijiye, Rakesh ji)
Rakesh wrote::lol: :rotfl:

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 89218?s=20 ---> US to give Pakistan $10 million aid for gender studies program.

https://twitter.com/manupubby/status/13 ... 82177?s=20 ---> Army Chief, General Naravane meeting frontline troops in Eastern Ladakh, including at the sensitive Rechin La that was occupied in late August.

https://twitter.com/Amitraaz/status/133 ... 28321?s=20 ---> The strategic Ladakh region will get 36 new helipads by April 2021. The new helipads will add more teeth to the armed forces in the region where India has been engaged in a protracted stand-off with China.

"Having resorted to military methods to settle issues, all that China has gained is sinking a fishing boat and gaining a few square km of barren territory. In Eastern Ladakh it is in a military stalemate with India. Loss of the Kailash Range to India opens vulnerabilities which were non-existent till date. Which means that PLA has to be defensively oriented and cannot vacate the area in a hurry. "

LtGen Ravi Shankar assessment.

ramana wrote:"Having resorted to military methods to settle issues, all that China has gained is sinking a fishing boat and gaining a few square km of barren territory. In Eastern Ladakh it is in a military stalemate with India. Loss of the Kailash Range to India opens vulnerabilities which were non-existent till date. Which means that PLA has to be defensively oriented and cannot vacate the area in a hurry. "

Ramana ji, I think its a bigger Chinese miscalculation than that.
Tactically PLA has gained a few km of barren AND strategically useless territory, in exchange for being vulnerable south of Pangong Tso.
Strategically, it's at the cost of losing India's friendship (or even neutrality) in years. China being the principal enemy is a view that now cuts across the political divide.
More than being defensively oriented, the PLA is now required to permanently base 2 (or more) divisions in East Ladakh. Our own redeployment
is something we'd have to do at some time and amounts to removing a division from the East, where we are possibly overmanned and redeploying
it where we are weakest (Ladakh) relative to the PLA. It has also fast-tracked our infra development across the LAC.
The trade deficit with China reduced by $20 billion between Jan-Nov. The Rs 150,000 cr reduction in the trade deficit is more that the entire Capital expenditure of the services in 2020 (approx. 105,000 cr)

And it won't change, even if China goes for war. PLA would still need to man the LAC all through the year after the war. At the same time, completely loosing access to Indian market.

It doesn't matter if we win or loose in a war with China. They will need to guard the line, until we want them to.

nam wrote:And it won't change, even if China goes for war. PLA would still need to man the LAC all through the year after the war. At the same time, completely loosing access to Indian market.

It doesn't matter if we win or loose in a war with China. They will need to guard the line, until we want them to.
Sir, we are doing everything possible to win the war. We are confident and there is no ounce of doubt regarding it. There are challenges and it is not easy but hey, it is the same for Sino-Napak. Heck, fundamentally they are different races with 180 degrees believes. This bond and marriage id of convenience born out of pure hatred against India. On the other side, our cause is just and pure to defend our motherland and liberate our n others occupied areas by the invaders, tortures and murders.

If our MIC manufacturing houses take ownership of the products n quality, it will make our services live comfortable and missions less dangerous. I hope they try to understand what is at the stake and look beyond their petty ego n benefits.

This is from a EU/German meet with Chini this year.
The main topic was supposed to be trade, but one hour in, Charles Michel, one of the EU’s top two officials, pressed China on human rights. Mr. Xi started rattling off statistics, noting a 10% increase in anti-Semitic incidents in Germany. He also alluded to the Black Lives Matter movement spreading from America, and mentioned migrants drowning at sea, according to two officials on the call.

“We don’t take any lectures,” China’s president told them, according to attendees and China’s state news service. “Nobody has a perfect record.”
The Xi boy is fundamentally a online troll. This is brilliant. I hope he continue burning places

https://www.wsj.com/articles/pushback-x ... re_twitter
RajeevK

Post by RajeevK »

The more things change, the more they remain the same.
A new thinktank called Council for Strategic and Defense Research founded by Lt Gen D S Hooda and Happyman Jacob, a JNU professor has come up with the usual Congress solution to deal with the threat of a two front war.
Engage with Pakistan diplomatically. Increase Kashmiri Outreach, i.e. give more concessions to Kashmir.
The article which is published in 'The Hindu' is poorly written and rehashes all the usual old stuff.

Dealing with India’s two-front challenge

Diplomacy is crucial
Diplomacy has a crucial role to play in meeting the two-front challenge.

To begin with, New Delhi would do well to improve relations with its neighbours so as not to be caught in an unfriendly neighbourhood given how Beijing and Islamabad will attempt to contain and constrain India in the region.
Outreach to Kashmir
Politically, the stark military reality of a two-front challenge, one that is likely to grow stronger over the years, must serve as a wake-up call for the political leadership in New Delhi, and encourage it to look for ways to ease the pressure from either front. Easing pressure on the western front requires political will more than anything else. From a long-view perspective, therefore, a well-choreographed political outreach to Kashmir aimed at pacifying the aggrieved citizens there would go a long way towards that end.
-----

The thinktank's website appears to be horrendous to browse through But going through, you come across usual stuff such as Track II Diplomacy with Pakistan to avoid war, regional economic connectivity of course with Pakistan primarily, Seminar on Jammu and Kashmir, Indo China etc.
sreerudra

Post by sreerudra »

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 9RwhN.html

It looks like PLA gave up and their Airforce is providing backup.

Rajeevk Garu while I dont agree with the solution proposed by Lt.Gen Hooda et al one thing is for sure status quo is not going to solve it, either we go the appeasement route(appease Pakis and kashmiris) or take Pakis ability to create trouble(dismember etc)

RajeevK wrote:The more things change, the more they remain the same.
A new thinktank called Council for Strategic and Defense Research founded by Lt Gen D S Hooda and Happyman Jacob, a JNU professor has come up with the usual Congress solution to deal with the threat of a two front war.
Engage with Pakistan diplomatically. Increase Kashmiri Outreach, i.e. give more concessions to Kashmir.
The article which is published in 'The Hindu' is poorly written and rehashes all the usual old stuff.

Dealing with India’s two-front challenge

Diplomacy is crucial
Diplomacy has a crucial role to play in meeting the two-front challenge.

To begin with, New Delhi would do well to improve relations with its neighbors so as not to be caught in an unfriendly neighbourhood given how Beijing and Islamabad will attempt to contain and constrain India in the region.
Outreach to Kashmir
Politically, the stark military reality of a two-front challenge, one that is likely to grow stronger over the years, must serve as a wake-up call for the political leadership in New Delhi, and encourage it to look for ways to ease the pressure from either front. Easing pressure on the western front requires political will more than anything else. From a long-view perspective, therefore, a well-choreographed political outreach to Kashmir aimed at pacifying the aggrieved citizens there would go a long way towards that end.
-----

The thinktank's website appears to be horrendous to browse through But going through, you come across usual stuff such as Track II Diplomacy with Pakistan to avoid war, regional economic connectivity of course with Pakistan primarily, Seminar on Jammu and Kashmir, Indo China etc.
Yes, this is a new think tank post-Galwan attack. Its a gathering of all Congress supporters to provide advice to Rahul Gandhi as he is considered weak on defence matters. Gen Hooda wrote the Congress manifesto part on Defence matters. And claimed to be an independent person.

sreerudra wrote:https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 9RwhN.html

It looks like PLA gave up and their Airforce is providing backup.
Incorrect conclusion. The PLAGF has moved a lot of troops (way more than Tibet can support and the PLAAF is part of that.

Also Chief should not talk of Ayni gratuitously.
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

nam wrote:And it won't change, even if China goes for war. PLA would still need to man the LAC all through the year after the war. At the same time, completely loosing access to Indian market.

OT and not intended to be offensive.

Pls consider using the word "lose" instead of "loose". It has become quite a bit grating to see so many brfites making such spelling errors repeatedly.

Admins, pls consider a one week ban for spelling errors for
"loose", "their", "quite(quiet)", unwanted apostrophes etc.

Deans wrote:
ramana wrote:"Having resorted to military methods to settle issues, all that China has gained is sinking a fishing boat and gaining a few square km of barren territory. In Eastern Ladakh it is in a military stalemate with India. Loss of the Kailash Range to India opens vulnerabilities which were non-existent till date. Which means that PLA has to be defensively oriented and cannot vacate the area in a hurry. "

Ramana ji, I think its a bigger Chinese miscalculation than that.
Tactically PLA has gained a few km of barren AND strategically useless territory, in exchange for being vulnerable south of Pangong Tso.
Strategically, it's at the cost of losing India's friendship (or even neutrality) in years. China being the principal enemy is a view that now cuts across the political divide.
More than being defensively oriented, the PLA is now required to permanently base 2 (or more) divisions in East Ladakh. Our own redeployment
is something we'd have to do at some time and amounts to removing a division from the East, where we are possibly overmanned and redeploying
it where we are weakest (Ladakh) relative to the PLA. It has also fast-tracked our infra development across the LAC.
The trade deficit with China reduced by $20 billion between Jan-Nov. The Rs 150,000 cr reduction in the trade deficit is more that the entire Capital expenditure of the services in 2020 (approx. 105,000 cr)

Gurus please comment on my thoughts.
LAC is some 8-900 km away from any large Chinese city and 3-4000 km away from the main centres. Compared to India, which as 2 advantages. 1 being the landscape which is simpler to defend ? and 2 the LAC is closer to Indian population/troop centers (once the tunnels are complete). By air, LAC is very close to the largest Indian airbases. So now the Chinese will have to keep a permanent troop concentration on 100K plus solders ? Because India will be able to bring on large troop concentrations within very short time (once the road infrastructure is complete).

must serve as a wake-up call for the political leadership in New Delhi, and encourage it to look for ways to ease the pressure from either front. Easing pressure on the western front requires political will more than anything else. From a long-view perspective, therefore, a well-choreographed political outreach to Kashmir aimed at pacifying the aggrieved citizens there would go a long way towards that end
Some times I wonder if they actually belief what they say, or want to mislead people.

Pacifying aggrieved citizens :rotfl: :rotfl: Easing pressure on the Western front by diplomacy :shock: :shock: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: