Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
basant

Re: Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

Post by basant »

Anantha Krishnan https://twitter.com/writetake/status/17 ... 4560803275:
👉 The wait for #LCAMk1A production aircraft's first flight initially scheduled in Feb 2024 got longer, thanks to the miscommunication between the design and production teams.

👉 Sources now say that the first flight might happen in mid-March, likely to be witnessed by PM Modi in person or remotely. (Likely)

👉 Sources also confirm that the #TejasMk1A's maiden sortie will be one within a limited flight profile. Because the flight control software that flew on Limited Series Production aircraft didn't have the capability of a refueling probe, while all the production aircraft are equipped with the same.

👉 There are many systems that are still under various stages of certification. Perhaps not a great sign considering the production rate HAL needs to chase.

👉 So, the maiden flight will be one with planeloads of concessions...

(Comments under strict scrutiny.)

Don’t see a reason to delay production.

The delays are with software it seems. Software can be re-installed/upgraded.

There may be a need to have first batch as Mk1A IOC with some subsystems to be upgraded later.
titash

Post by titash »

srai wrote: 10 Mar 2024 06:42 ^^^
Don’t see a reason to delay production.

The delays are with software it seems. Software can be re-installed/upgraded.

There may be a need to have first batch as Mk1A IOC with some subsystems to be upgraded later.
I don't see anything in the comments that indicates the Mk1A induction is delayed by more than 15-20 days. If the hardware specs are finalized, assembly should go ahead full steam

1) Induct "IOC" production aircraft with concessions (e.g. AoA < 20 degrees) at the agreed upon schedule
2) Squadron pilots to fly aircraft with limited envelopes & system usage
3) Update software on all production aircraft as and when the test vehicles are certified
4) Squadron pilots to fly aircraft with increased envelopes & system usage
5) Loop over steps 3 & 4 till "FOC" is attained
titash

Post by titash »

As a fallback, postpone the retirement of MiG-21s for another year till "FOC" is obtained
basant

Post by basant »

Nothing surprising and, 'probably', issue are s/w related. The HAL MD said in Oct that only 3-4 subsystems were pending for certification. But given that the new DFCC was tested as recently as Feb, the issues related to it, ie, potentially almost everything related to flight testing, will probably done under scanner (though would be much faster than in Mk1). Hope that the production does not suffer due to this issue and any concessions are regarding the initial flights till the envelop is expanded post testing.
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Conflicting reports !
Someone tells me MK1A is waiting for PM Modi’s next Banglore visit so event can be a high profile event. They want him to be the “Tejas Mascot”.
A shining new bird is parked inside LCA Division.

https://twitter.com/alpha_defense/statu ... Lypdw&s=19

Full power ground run completed on 1st Mk1A while prototypes & trainers (4) flying in a combat formation of 5 to 6 aircraft, proving AESA radar, AESA jammer, Digital RWR, New Tactical Displays, A-A combat symbols, HMDS, DMG, Software Defined Radios as part of certification.

https://twitter.com/FighterPiloting/sta ... 9Pdxw&s=19

ashishvikas wrote: 12 Mar 2024 21:22 Yrsterday, TejasMk1A did its LSTT
LSTT = Low Speed Taxi Trial ?
basant

Post by basant »

Yes Admiral. EGR, LSTT, HSTT (High-speed) will be followed by first flight. The first two are done as per SM reports.

Thank You Saar.
basant

Post by basant »

Rakesh wrote: 12 Mar 2024 22:44 Thank You Saar.
No Sir pl! Ananthakrishnan says the tail number is LA-5020. See the currently live sream

basant wrote: 12 Mar 2024 22:40 Yes Admiral. EGR, LSTT, HSTT (High-speed) will be followed by first flight. The first two are done as per SM reports.
If LSTT & HSTT are happening now, then the 1st flight has not happened? I recall reading that Tejas-Mk1a's have been flying for a while

If not, how can HAL handover to IAF by March 31, if the 1st flight itself has not happened yet (the envelope expansion needs to happen - even if its the same plane as Mk1 structurally)?
basant

Post by basant »

As per the above video, HSTT is not deemed required and his sources indicate the first flight on March 18, ie next Monday. The Mk1As flying currently are 'rigged' versions, not the built-up from scratch Mk1As that are ordered.

More interestingly, Ananthakrishnan says that DFCC tests are done!

I don't mind a delay of few weeks to get all certifications and all ground trials completed. This will be first airframe with all 43 changes incorporated. M2K upgrade crash comes to mind.

Prem Kumar wrote: 12 Mar 2024 23:14
basant wrote: 12 Mar 2024 22:40 Yes Admiral. EGR, LSTT, HSTT (High-speed) will be followed by first flight. The first two are done as per SM reports.
If LSTT & HSTT are happening now, then the 1st flight has not happened? I recall reading that Tejas-Mk1a's have been flying for a while

If not, how can HAL handover to IAF by March 31, if the 1st flight itself has not happened yet (the envelope expansion needs to happen - even if its the same plane as Mk1 structurally)?
Tejas Mk1A PROTOTYPES have been flying for a while. But this is regarding the first SERIAL PRODUCTION Tejas Mk1A. There hasn't been a single fully from ground up Tejas Mk1A built that has flown yet.

It does not mean that the LRUs that are to be flown on the Tejas Mk1A have not been individually certified on all the Tejas Mk1A prototypes (which were converted LSPs and FOC fighters). The new DFCC was test flown recently on LSP-8.
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

HAL planning to deliver before March 31, work on for delivering a twin seater trainer aircraft too.

https://twitter.com/ajitkdubey/status/1 ... P_03g&s=19

https://x.com/writetake/status/1769982211800150455?s=20 ---> To all those you fellows chasing me crazy for an update on TejasMk1A first flight, here's an update. Tomorrow 99.998% pakka, else the day after 99.999% for sure. Now, please spare me and go have some chilled beers.

Rakesh wrote: 19 Mar 2024 18:57 https://x.com/writetake/status/1769982211800150455?s=20 ---> To all those you fellows chasing me crazy for an update on TejasMk1A first flight, here's an update. Tomorrow 99.998% pakka, else the day after 99.999% for sure. Now, please spare me and go have some chilled beers.
Can we expect a mithai box the weight of tejas if you are 99.99% wrong? :D

Cain Marko wrote: 20 Mar 2024 07:33
Rakesh wrote: 19 Mar 2024 18:57 https://x.com/writetake/status/1769982211800150455?s=20 ---> To all those you fellows chasing me crazy for an update on TejasMk1A first flight, here's an update. Tomorrow 99.998% pakka, else the day after 99.999% for sure. Now, please spare me and go have some chilled beers.
Can we expect a mithai box the weight of tejas if you are 99.99% wrong? :D
https://x.com/FighterPiloting/status/17 ... 43980?s=20 ---> LA-5033 8)

ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Amid Push For Self-Reliance In Defence, HAL's Stock Rises

basant

Post by basant »

LCA Mk1A load carrying capacity has been increased as per CMD of HAL.
Source: Nitin Gokhle on Youtube

Did I miss CCS clearance on MK2? OR is this more wishful thinking on dates?
basant

Post by basant »

Cybaru wrote: 24 Mar 2024 07:49 Did I miss CCS clearance on MK2? OR is this more wishful thinking on dates?
CCS clearance was obtained in September 2022.
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

#WriteTake
#TejasMk1A update

The LSTT of #TejasMk1A happened on Friday, 22 Mar '24. All the system clearances are in full swing and getting reviewed by @HALHQBLR Chairman on a daily basis. The first flight is now expected to be in the coming week (don't curse me). HAL-ADA teams are working 7 days a week, says a source. HSTT might happen tomorrow and the first flight is on... (pl don't stone me. )

#TMH #AKM #DYL #IIF #avgeeks #Tejas #LCA @IAF_MCC @DrSianProctor @tarmakmedia

https://twitter.com/writetake/status/17 ... eT9BA&s=19

Thank you Ashish Saar for posting this.

Anantha needs to stop self flagellating like this. The Mk1A is coming. Let it take whatever time is needed.

Reporters are fueling the fire, over the March 31st deadline...

https://x.com/rahulsinghx/status/177210 ... 39806?s=20 ---> Question mark hangs over the delivery of the first LCA Mk-1A jet to the IAF as the March 31st deadline looms. Maiden flight, some key certifications still awaited. The IAF ordered 83 Mk-1A fighters for Rs 48,000 crore in February 2021.

https://x.com/FighterPiloting/status/17 ... 99554?s=20 ---> Happy Holi beautiful people. The last time LCA Mk-1A was seen in color. IAF grey for FF.

basant wrote:...
ashishvikas wrote:...
@basant and @ashishvikas and others --> I have added a new sub-heading - titled Tejas Mk1A Squadron Inductions - in the first post of this thread.

With the first flight of the Production Variant being any day now, I thought it would be a good idea to keep track (just like in the Tejas Mk1 thread) of them. Please check and let me know if anything seems amiss. Thank You.

Rakesh wrote: 25 Mar 2024 00:24 Thank you Ashish Saar for posting this.

Anantha needs to stop self flagellating like this. The Mk1A is coming. Let it take whatever time is needed.
It seems he is going through a lot

https://x.com/alpha_defense/status/1770 ... 88266?s=20
If you can support monetarily it will be great but if you can’t then subscribe and support. Because experience sir will share will be gold.
Last 3-4 year I have seen how health issues can ruin everything.. Mom fought
Leukemia and wife is fighting Multiple Sclerosis.. I know what it takes..
keep fighting sir !! You will bounce back.
basant

Post by basant »

Rakesh wrote: 26 Mar 2024 19:47 @basant and @ashishvikas and others --> I have added a new sub-heading - titled Tejas Mk1A Squadron Inductions - in the first post of this thread.

With the first flight of the Production Variant being any day now, I thought it would be a good idea to keep track (just like in the Tejas Mk1 thread) of them. Please check and let me know if anything seems amiss. Thank You.
Sure, Admiral. Would you also consider adding the first flight of the first 'prototype' on 20 May 2022?

Kakarat wrote: 26 Mar 2024 20:30
Saar, who are we talking about - Ashish Saar or Anantha?

basant wrote: 26 Mar 2024 20:56 Sure, Admiral. Would you also consider adding the first flight of the first 'prototype' on 20 May 2022?
Thank you in advance for your help.

A one liner was already in the Milestones Achived sub-heading, but I just added some more info to it.

One prototype flew, but I believe two LSPs were used if I am not mistaken. Do you have more info?

BTW, in the list of Mk1A squadrons...you will notice that the fourth squadron shows a strength of 19 SP single seater and 4 SPT twin seater aircraft. I am using the fourth squadron as a place holder, to account for the 73rd SP aircraft and the two SPT aircraft from the 83 Mk1A contract (first tranche). Once the 97 Mk1A order (second tranche) is signed, I will move those three aircraft to the next (fifth) squadron.
basant

Post by basant »

Rakesh wrote: 26 Mar 2024 21:44
basant wrote: 26 Mar 2024 20:56 Sure, Admiral. Would you also consider adding the first flight of the first 'prototype' on 20 May 2022?
Thank you in advance for your help.

A one liner was already in the Milestones Achived sub-heading, but I just added some more info to it.

One prototype flew, but I believe two LSPs were used if I am not mistaken. Do you have more info?
Admiral, I do not have details and have to dig again, but I remember that there were 3 a/c, one FOC and two LSPs. I will try to find sources again.

basant wrote: 27 Mar 2024 11:48 Admiral, I do not have details and have to dig again, but I remember that there were 3 a/c, one FOC and two LSPs. I will try to find sources again.
Thank You Saar. Greatly appreciated.

Rakesh wrote: 26 Mar 2024 21:43
Kakarat wrote: 26 Mar 2024 20:30
Saar, who are we talking about - Ashish Saar or Anantha?
Its about Anantha

Sorry I should have been more specific

https://x.com/writetake/status/1773029191254180091?s=20 ---> Good news folks! Finally, Tejas Mk1A production aircraft underwent LSTT (Low Speed Taxi Trials) followed by HSTT (High Speed Taxi Trials) today. If everything goes fine tomorrow and the certifying agencies are confident, LA-5033 *SHOULD* undertake the first flight *TOMORROW*. Today's flight was piloted by the ever-inspiring HAL Chief Test Pilot (FW) Group Captain KK Venugopal (retd). Wishing the very best to Team Tejas.

Group Captain KK Venugopal (retd)

^^ is it just me or do we see a bulge in the canopy. there was paper linked abt it on the forum but not sure if it made it to mk1A
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

The production fit and finish looks awesome .

Looks bit different to this study. Front view does look enlarged like in the study.