INS Arihant (ATV) News and Discussion -2

Re: INS Arihant (ATV) News and Discussion -2

IF that was the Arihant they would have taken care to at least place a tarp over that half of the dry docks.
pkudva

Post by pkudva »

Guys, its not Arihant.

The Arihant is at a secret location in Vizag where it is under going preparation the preparations for the Trails. More Over it is being covered from the top to ensure, no satellite images are taken.

Anyways, Good Googling.

Cheers!!!
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Arihant does seem to have a cover in its dock while the google maps pic doesnt show any cover area.

SagarAg wrote:^^ I can't say how recent are these pictures by the Google Satellite Images..but it definitely carried the white design in front of it like that of Arihant..so I thought of putting it up.
These images are from Feb 2011, I have seen these and "I did not think these were Arihant or its cousins". Anyway, as this is a sensitive matter i did not post the images. let us not go into these matter please...
Last edited by Shrinivasan on 25 Jul 2011 02:24, edited 1 time in total.

Guys, Arihant would not be in a Open Dry dock, definitely not with a Veer-Class Corvette also undergoing some work near by. Actually the nesting lair of these bad boys is not in the location specified.

The Arihant is at a secret location in Vizag where it is under going preparation the preparations for the Trails. More Over it is being covered from the top to ensure, no satellite images are taken.
Duva-ji,
Undergoing preparations for sea trials? Would assume harbour trials are done by now!
pkudva

Post by pkudva »

Duva-ji,
Undergoing preparations for sea trials? Would assume harbour trials are done by now!
As this is a sensitive matter, i cannot comment. But i can only say the pic is not of INS Arihant!!!

But yes, It looks awesome.....than it looks in the snap.....

Cheers.

Shrinivasan wrote:
SagarAg wrote:^^ I can't say how recent are these pictures by the Google Satellite Images..but it definitely carried the white design in front of it like that of Arihant..so I thought of putting it up.
These images are from Feb 2011, I have seen these and "I DID NOT THINK THESE WERE ARIHANT OR ITS COUSINS". Anyway, as this is a sensitive matter i did not post the images. let us not go into these matter please...
Beg your pardon, but why on earth are you quoting yourself and that too in CAPS? It only makes you look like you're trying to cover up this photo being of Arihant. It probably isn't, for obvious reasons of security, but why should we have to take your diktat for it?

PratikDas wrote:
Shrinivasan wrote:These images are from Feb 2011, I have seen these and "I DID NOT THINK THESE WERE ARIHANT OR ITS COUSINS". Anyway, as this is a sensitive matter i did not post the images. let us not go into these matter please...
Beg your pardon, but why on earth are you quoting yourself and that too in CAPS? It only makes you look like you're trying to cover up this photo being of Arihant. It probably isn't, for obvious reasons of security, but why should we have to take your diktat for it?
I did not quote anyone, I just stressed the statement. I am just trying to state let us not dwelve into this, and I states "let us not go into these matter please..." with a PLEASE as an entreaty and defenitly not a diktat. Here I am quoting myself. Before you all went gaga over this image, did you pause to think why it is in the open, that too in a dry dock? Last post from me on this topic.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

pkudva wrote:Guys, its not Arihant.

Anyways, Good Googling.

Cheers!!!
Well I Googled this pic from Vizag Ship Building Center where Arihant is being build..and yes I agree with you that being a top secret project the Navy will not be careless in ensuring that its being covered from the top at all times so that no satellite images are taken.

And yes I just like to Google around military bases around the world, you never know what might pop up just like this pic :D . Thanks :)

Well we had some interesting discussion and I enjoyed it.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

Shrinivasan wrote:
These images are from Feb 2011, I have seen these and "I DID NOT THINK THESE WERE ARIHANT OR ITS COUSINS". Anyway, as this is a sensitive matter i did not post the images. let us not go into these matter please...
I did not got the sensitive matter in posting these pictures.
tejas

Post by tejas »

No way that dinky sub on the left is Arihant. My guess is a Foxtrot on the left and a Kilo on the right.
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

Y'know, there was a pic somewhere of one of the upg Kilos, and the silvered sonar done was redone in black. Here's a thought though - the sub on the right of the image did look a little longer than the one on the left, but the sail doesn't have Arihant's dive planes and doesn't generally fit the bill. But it could fit the description of a 636 - aren't the 636's supposed to have an extended hull and rather larger displacement? And aren't our subs undergoing rather long refits (up to 2 years )?

Could it be that we're conducting deep upgrades from 877EKM to 636 level?

tejas wrote:No way that dinky sub on the left is Arihant. My guess is a Foxtrot on the left and a Kilo on the right.
Not a Foxtrot. The Foxtrot doesn't have the teardrop shape that both subs in the picture are seen to have. They are both probably Kilos and the one on the left looks smaller because the red paint on its sides is faded at the back.
SagarAg

Post by SagarAg »

tejas wrote:No way that dinky sub on the left is Arihant. My guess is a Foxtrot on the left and a Kilo on the right.
Its definitely not a foxtrot class submarine. They both might be Kilo Class submarine. Its not dinky btw. Arihant or not Arihant they both are definitely the Submarines of The Indian Navy. :)

SagarAg wrote:
pkudva wrote:Guys, its not Arihant.

Anyways, Good Googling.

Cheers!!!
Well I Googled this pic from Vizag Ship Building Center where Arihant is being build..and yes I agree with you that being a top secret project the Navy will not be careless in ensuring that its being covered from the top at all times so that no satellite images are taken.

And yes I just like to Google around military bases around the world, you never know what might pop up just like this pic :D . Thanks :)

Well we had some interesting discussion and I enjoyed it.
Looks like you and me have a few common interests, I "just like to Google around military bases around the world, you never know what might pop up" Can you contact me on k e r s i k d o t i w a l l a aatt r e d i f f m a i l ddoott c o m ?

Shrinivasan wrote: ...
I did not quote anyone, I just stressed the statement. I am just trying to state let us not dwelve into this, and I states "let us not go into these matter please..." with a PLEASE as an entreaty and defenitly not a diktat. Here I am quoting myself. Before you all went gaga over this image, did you pause to think why it is in the open, that too in a dry dock? Last post from me on this topic.
I'm sorry, you don't get to end the discussion with a question. If you ask, you will get an answer. Your post in CAPS was about what you thought, not about you asking to end the discussion, both of which are uncalled for. What you think is of no greater importance than what anyone else here thinks unless you want to declare your affiliations, past or present. If you don't want to do that, or if you have none to declare, then your opinion is only as valid as anyone else's.

This thread had seen no activity for 11 days until SagarAg posted the photo, and speculating on what it could be was better than nothing at all.

a note on internet etiquette, all caps is considered shouting and is to be avoided at all costs. a single word MAY be capitalised to convey emphasis, as I have done here but complete sentences in caps are unacceptable. moreover, there is no need to come down hard on people for minor issues.
thx.

p.s. and kindly drop this issue.

SagarAg wrote:
Shrinivasan wrote:These images are from Feb 2011, I have seen these and "I DID NOT THINK THESE WERE ARIHANT OR ITS COUSINS". Anyway, as this is a sensitive matter i did not post the images. let us not go into these matter please...
I did not got the sensitive matter in posting these pictures.
I knew this was not the Arihant based on multiple reports in the press by REPUTED JOURNALIST. Also there was an incident recently about a collapsing dock gate (which was probably the latest news about the Arihant). You realize many of the oldies / gurus has not jumped in, because they realize it is best left unexplored. I am only a rookie, but i know where not to rush in with speculations.
Edited: Removed some speculative content.

Rahul M wrote:a note on internet etiquette, all caps is considered shouting and is to be avoided at all costs. a single word MAY be capitalised to convey emphasis, as I have done here but complete sentences in caps are unacceptable. moreover, there is no need to come down hard on people for minor issues.
thx.
p.s. and kindly drop this issue.
Done... I also changed the case as there was never an intent to shout.. understood the message. editing my subsequent posts
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

^no takers on the 636 theory?
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

Out of all our kilos 2 are under repair and one is in Russia for refitting, if i am not wrong? So how many kilo's we have in active service now?
pkudva

Post by pkudva »

Yes-Shrinivasan, you are right this is the reason why people dont speak much on the subject.....because it is the cream of India and it is in the interest of not to speculate or discuss on the matter.

Although, i dont want to be speculative.....what i would like to convey is ....On the reports related to the failure of dock gates , It had nothing to do with "INS Arihant".....It is safe and doing well...as confirmed by Navy!!!

Cheers.
bksahu

Post by bksahu »

thats a good news pkudvaji!!! :)

pkudva wrote:....On the reports related to the failure of dock gates , It had nothing to do with "INS Arihant".....It is safe and doing well...as confirmed by Navy!!!
Perfectly right, Arihant was not there but its sibling was there near by, and that location is not this... which is why I said, this is not the location where Arihant takes his nap. Also Arihant like to be in the shade and not get tanned in the scorching summer heat... he sometimes goes for a swim, also he likes to take deep dives outside Dolphin nose... his sibling is also getting ready to take a swim. Next year Arihant will be able to go for longer swims and visit sunny beaches...go figure...

Does anyone have any Paanwala news about when Arihants cousin sister Natasha is coming from Russia. Ari is eagerly awaiting her, so am I. Ari and Natasha will go snorkeling and diving together, they may also hunt for prey together.

Rear Admiral to oversee submarine acquisitions
In an effort to step up submarine production and acquisition programme, the Navy has appointed a senior officer of the rank of Rear Admiral to oversee all acquisition programmes. India proposes to acquire 24-25 submarines as part of its 30-year programme initiated 10 years back. At present, India has 16 submarines.

Rear Admiral MT Moraes will take over as the Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Submarines) at Naval Headquarters here on Friday. He will look after perspective planning, operations and acquisition, Navy spokesman Commander P Satish said here on Thursday. He also said the appointment assumes importance as the Indian Navy is pursuing vital submarines acquisition plans.

^^^ Natasha, will come when her plastic surgery has been completed. The only trouble is that there is no money for the surgery.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

Not much info on when it will be joining IN . but went through a article today ,same news "Joining Soon" :shock: :shock:

Indian Navy to get a Russian nuke attack submarine soon

October is not that far away.

karan_mc wrote:Not much info on when it will be joining IN . but went through a article today ,same news "Joining Soon" :shock: :shock:

Indian Navy to get a Russian nuke attack submarine soon
It also says: "it wouldn’t be accompanied by nuclear tipped ballistic missile, a capability that India is building separately with help from Russia."

Are the Russians helping us with a SLBM? :)

What credibility does IDRW whatever have?

It all depends on how the twist can turn your mind. If I give you a platform to launch, you may require my technical help to overcome certain launching issues if the platform does not come with exact shoe size fittings.

Now assess the credibility.
pkudva

Post by pkudva »

It is of no doubt that Russians are helping in every stream of our Indegenous Programme but at a " High Cost". But our options are also limited especially in strategic areas. Remember they have been with us at all times.

Cheers.

One Akula-2 will not be enough.The IN requires at least 5-6 SSGNs to complelent the 5-6 SSBNs being planned/built.The sad state of affairs with our sub inventory should make it mandatory that the options for the second Akula be confirmed immediately.What our new ACS suggests remans to be seen.The sooner it is given the shorter the induction time.

Instead of second Akula, we will prefer more Arihant series (may be 6 or more).... why to pay for build, rent and at the end return after 10 years when we can build these in house. As per the latest chaiwalas as well as news reports second Arihant is in advance stages... by 2013-2014 we will have 3 nuke subs ... at least one always at sea.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

SSGN - primarily attack submarines tasked with escorting carries and boomers. They carry guided cruise missiles in order to attack land or sea targets.
SSBN - Submarines which carry ballistic missiles. They are the nuclear deterrent of the nation. They petrol deep oceans and carry out the strike with nuclear missile when required.

So we need both SSBN and SSGN's. Its better to get Akula's for our temporary need and to come up with a ingenious SSGN design.

Vishnu - Thanks for corrections :)
Philip - Sorry for my comments :oops:

vishnu.nv wrote:SSGN - primarily attack submarines tasked with escorting carries and boomers. They carry guided cruise missiles in order to attack land or sea targets.
SSBN - Submarines which carry ballistic missiles. They are the nuclear deterrent of the nation. They petrol deep oceans and carry out the strike with nuclear missile when required.

So we need both SSBN and SSGN's. Its better to get Akula's for our temporary need and to come up with a ingenious SSGN design.
Vishnu ji , A slight correction.Attack submarines are SSNs.For eg.Akula ,Los Angeles class etc.They are the ones which escort carriers.Their primary role is anti submarine and anti surface warfare.

SSGNs are primarily cruise missile carrying submarines like Oscar class or the newly converted Ohio class.They are primarily tasked with land attack.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

darshhan,

The US can afford to have the true SSGN's which can attack land targets 1000's of km's away. In Indian context we may define SSGN's as the Bhramos/Klub/Nirbahay carrying SSN's. The missiles can be used for land attack as well as Anti Ship Missiles.

1 question to guru's. The Wikipedia states the Nerpa will be carrying nuclear capable Klub 3M/54 missiles. So can we arm these missiles with nuclear weapons?

vishnu.nv wrote:darshhan,

The US can afford to have the true SSGN's which can attack land targets 1000's of km's away. In Indian context we may define SSGN's as the Bhramos/Klub/Nirbahay carrying SSN's. The missiles can be used for land attack as well as Anti Ship Missiles.

1 question to guru's. The Wikipedia states the Nerpa will be carrying nuclear capable Klub 3M/54 missiles. So can we arm these missiles with nuclear weapons?
To me it appears to be too small. Brahmos could/should carry nukes

Kersi