LCA News and Discussions

member_19648

Re: LCA News and Discussions

Post by member_19648 »

A Deshmukh wrote:Can ADA split the LCA manufacturing and give different components to multiple private parties?

HAL can continue doing - assembling of parts to build the final LCA.
There was a recent report where the HAL chief, while answering to a question whether HAL should be split up, had said that the plan is to integrate all the sources together so that time taken would be reduced. If a private-public conglomerate can be established all under a single roof (here close by area), that would be better, otherwise the production time would increase. That would take some time and is quite a distant possibility.

PratikDas wrote:
Deccan Herald: Tejas induction only by mid-2014
Answering queries from the media after inaugurating a conference here, Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal N A K Browne said the IOC-2 is expected only by mid-2012 and the final operational clearance could be scheduled only two years after that.

Pointing out that there are some delays in its development, he said: “The delay is caused by the active monsoon during which not many flights could be undertaken. But there are also some technical issues that have to be resolved as we go along.
I stand by the non-Eureka moment that despite the pride Bangloreans must have in the Indian aviation epicentre being in their backyard, climate-related delay in Bangalore is a systemic risk given your artistic description of local weather and one that must be addressed with an alternate facility in a contrasting climate for uninterrupted testing and greater testing capacity.
Pratik I can see two reasons given in the statement by NAK Browne. Monsoons and technical issues. Solve the weather problem and we are still left with technical issues.

I don't know if other Bangaloreans are proud of this imaginary distinction but you do me a disfavor if you are suggesting that I am in any way "proud" of that. It is merely an indicator of how technologically hobbled India is that all its military aviation resources stem from one place. Admittedly the place is good to live and has many advantages, but I think the point that is missed is the Nehruvian system of setting up branches of HAL in way out places in India where no one really wants to live.

May I point out that a forum member, earlier in this discussion stated that handing the project to the Tata or Mahindras would have done the trick. Once again we have a person who has no idea about the skills, time and investment required to start manufacturing state of the art combat aircraft and almost hopes that a jeep and railway carriage manufacturing industry can deliver fighter aircraft.

May I point out that the idea "putting up yet another branch of HAL in a place where the weather is good all year round" is a suggestion somewhat similar in terms of practicality in the development of Tejas. To me both suggestions reveal only "high hopes" that India somehow already has the technical expertise/human resources to deliver the goods (advanced combat aircraft) on time and that it can be done by merely fiddling with little specifics like handing it to a private industry or getting the weather right. That is as far from the truth as it gets - the news is much worse than that.

All I am trying to point out is that it takes an extra level of expertise and industrial development to be an aerospace leader as opposed to being aerospace enabled like India). India is just not there yet. If a 20 plus year process of development of Tejas has not given an observer a hint of exactly what level India's aerospace expertise lies, hanging on to every word stated in the media about weather, IOC, FOC, 2012, 2014 etc imagining that they indicate some new ability to move things is, like I said 'high hopes". If India had 2 or 3 competing aviation firms and labs set up 40 years ago things might have been different - but as someone said "If my aunt had a di*k she would have been my uncle"

In my opinion, it they start setting up a new aviation expertise center in say Pune one hour from now it will still be 20 to 25 years at best before they can come up with an AMCA. But given the expertise in India now, they might be able to make an LCA level aircraft in 10-15 years.

In the 1960s Britain had dozens of combat aircraft designs and a few commercial aircraft. France did not have so many designs but they had some good exportable combat aircraft. It also had some commercial aircrfat. By the 1960s Britain and France were both exporting aircraft with HF-24 level technology. The US overtook Britain and had become world Aerospace leader in design and development. The US also quickly outplayed everyone else with their Boeing series of commercial aircraft. The US had the size and trained manpower to do that and Britain and France fel behind. The USSR was in a separate "box" but I will not talk about it just yet.

Very early on Britain and France realised that they would never be able to compete with the US in commercial aircraft designs and maybe even combat aircraft, so they started collaborating. The Concorde was a niche product, but until the Airbus consortium came up the US was undisputed civil leader.

In military aircraft again - European collaboration started in the 1960s with the Jaguar and followed on with the Tornado. It soon became apparent that it was getting uncompetitive and uneconomical for the romantic private design bureaus of the pre-WW2 era to remain. Gradually famous aviation names like AV Roe and company (AVRO), Hawker Siddeley, Bristol etc became consolidated in Britain under "BAe" - British Aerospace. In France, Dassault swallowed up everything. The US again which had multiple famous names like Grumman, McDonnell etc saw a lot of famous names being swallowed up into 2 or 2 huge aerospace conglomerates.

When it comes to small civilian aircraft there are hundreds of little private firms, but when it comes to the military and civil sector huge conglomerates are the only entities who can survive. To that extent a huge behemoth like HA makes financial sense. But when it comes to design expertise HAL never started with multiple private design labs like Britain, France, and the US whose designers were all absorbed into the conglomerate.

I think India really needs to sink money into multiple Aerospace development labs/universities. But who is India? The government already has its hands full with HAL. Private industry should be encouraged to set up such labs with some government help. They will not come in unless they smell profits. Only that will ensure a bright future for Indian aviation starting about 20 years from now. If any BRFite is in his 20s now - remember what I have said when you reach your 40s. A great industry in 2035 means setting up multiple design labs now.

Shiv ji, thanks for sharing your insight and for the historical perspective. These are a great couple of posts.

Lalmohan wrote:i think you are being unfair to the marut effort. we were denied critical engine (and possibly other) technologies or partnerships which set back that programme at a time of limited industrial capability. The lesson is that you have to build a large mil-eng complex (which we are now making real progress in), not just point technologies. this, plus the current discussion in the artillery thread on the lack of advanced metallurgical techniques explains why (OT) it is simply not credible that pakistan has single handedly developed its own nuclear weapons programme
No I'm not being unfair. Merely a denial of technology caused us to stop in our tracks and abandon all efforts to come up with an indigenous fighter aircraft or an indigenous fighter aircraft engine. Tell me, could we have not tested newer aircraft even with older engines and try to keep up with airframe design and testing techniques. Even with an underpowered engine we would have had some database of test points. Keep building on test points and the current envelope expansion efforts would have had a firmer base on which to move ahead.

merlin wrote:
Lalmohan wrote:i think you are being unfair to the marut effort. we were denied critical engine (and possibly other) technologies or partnerships which set back that programme at a time of limited industrial capability. The lesson is that you have to build a large mil-eng complex (which we are now making real progress in), not just point technologies. this, plus the current discussion in the artillery thread on the lack of advanced metallurgical techniques explains why (OT) it is simply not credible that pakistan has single handedly developed its own nuclear weapons programme
No I'm not being unfair. Merely a denial of technology caused us to stop in our tracks and abandon all efforts to come up with an indigenous fighter aircraft or an indigenous fighter aircraft engine. Tell me, could we have not tested newer aircraft even with older engines and try to keep up with airframe design and testing techniques. Even with an underpowered engine we would have had some database of test points. Keep building on test points and the current envelope expansion efforts would have had a firmer base on which to move ahead.
50 years down the line the information comes from former Marut pilots that the aircraft was great in many ways. Some of you may have seen the thread I started in the burqa romance forum, but I am certain it it attitudes of contempt/lack of confidence in Inda that caused a variety of politicians, babus and services people drop the effort and look abroad since "Foreign" instantly gives you what you need and more and reliably.

Remember Macaulay's minute:
http://www.columbia.edu/itc/mealac/prit ... _1835.html
It is, I believe, no exaggeration to say that all the historical information which has been collected from all the books written in the Sanscrit language is less valuable than what may be found in the most paltry abridgments used at preparatory schools in England.
When your great grandfather imbibed this wisdom and passed it to his children and thence to your parents and to you, you would be wrong to imagine that anything good can come from India.

not just that, but also budget realities and priorities. as a nation, we have always focused on the headline projects. other developing nations focused on the fundamentals first - s. korea being a prime example. after decades of building infrastructure, today they have genuine high tech industries AND good social and educational infrastructure that creates capable knowledge and technology industries. we have bits of these and hardly anything of the social infrastructure
member_20453

Post by member_20453 »

The LCa going to GOA is good news indeed, i am also glad to hear that the R-73 will fired at a real target this time. Coming to BVR missiles trials, Derby has been ordered and delivery of missiles is only expected in second half of 2012, hence BVR trails are some time away. In the mean time they should go ahead with testing Anti ship and air to surface missiles.

Bumble-bee, you need to change your handle in line with forum regulations...

Never mind, I did it myself :)

Septimus P. wrote:The LCa going to GOA is good news indeed, i am also glad to hear that the R-73 will fired at a real target this time. Coming to BVR missiles trials, Derby has been ordered and delivery of missiles is only expected in second half of 2012, hence BVR trails are some time away. In the mean time they should go ahead with testing Anti ship and air to surface missiles.
Can't a Derby from Navy stockpile be used.

I don't think we needed to allocate large budgets and make it a national project or something like that. But a continuation of efforts would surely have given a big boost to current testing effort. Envelope expansion is where the risks like and not being an expert I feel that prior experience in this area would have been helpful, even if just to give confidence to proceed at a faster pace.

If I say, LCA RCS is near Raptor RCS.. how many will believe that here?

SaiK wrote:If I say, LCA RCS is near Raptor RCS.. how many will believe that here?
I will... NOT!

We first need to know RCS of Raptor to compare with :roll:

P.S. is some chai wala high or something?

SaiK wrote:If I say, LCA RCS is near Raptor RCS.. how many will believe that here?
Very very few would believe that, People here are educated enough to know, LCA is not specially shaped like Raptor, does not use those sensitive skin, does not have AESA radar with LPI and list goes endless.
member_20453

Post by member_20453 »

Can't a Derby from Navy stockpile be used.[/quote]

Navy stockpile is very limited, just a few numbers to maintain effectiveness of the Harriers. I doubt they'll want to use that.
pralay

Post by pralay »

has any chaiwala told you about special skin for YellSeaA ?
that can be the only way it may happen,
and yet the stealth may not be sustained in all the bands.

I had last year declared LCA Mk2 as Raptor Killer :evil:

JE Menon wrote:Bumble-bee, you need to change your handle in line with forum regulations...

Never mind, I did it myself :)
Bumble B is not allowed but Septimus P is! :eek:
My son is not going to be pleased with biased forum guidelines.

hey, septimus is a real name.

^^True dat Jethro.

I know a BR member who would be happy to change his handle to Octopus.

I think specialised divisions like engines and radars should be split from HAL
arunsrinivasan

Post by arunsrinivasan »

Update on LSP-7, Naval Version, & AMCA.

Tejas LSP-7 to be flown in next month
It will be in the final configuration of the fighter plane

The Light Combat Aircraft, ‘Tejas' LSP-7 to be flown in the first fortnight of December will be in the final configuration of the fighter plane and “almost close” to series production, scheduled to begin by the middle of 2012.

Earlier, there was an update in each of the Limited Series Production (LSP) aircraft. LSP-7 will have all the functionalities and the aircraft has been earmarked for user evaluation by the Indian Air Force (IAF), P.S. Subramanyam, Director, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Programme Director (Combat Aircraft) told The Hindu here on Friday.

He was here to attend the 22 {+n} {+d} annual conference of Indian Nuclear Society- INSAC 2011.

He said so far 11 Tejas aircraft had performed 1,740 flights and crossed 1,000 flying hours. After the Initial Operational Clearance (IOC), the LCA was in the “intermediate milestone' stage — between IOC-2 and Final Operational Clearance (FOC). In the meantime, it had more achievements as some more weapons were being integrated and flying envelope expanded to a higher degree of angle of attack.

Weapon trials were successfully completed in Jaisalmer recently and were currently underway in Goa, where tests on functionality of the radar were also being conducted.

Mr. Subramanyam said the first naval variant of LCA would be test-flown before year-end and ground runs have already started. There was a lot of challenge with the landing gear for naval variant as it had to land on the short runways of an aircraft carrier as also take off from there. It had features of ski jump takeoff and arrested landing.

The preliminary design had been completed for the Mark-II variant of LCA for both Air Force and Navy. It would be more maintenance-friendly, its acceleration, climb rates would be faster, turn rates better with small take-off distances. It would be fitted with a high-powered GE 414 engine, which would be integrated on both Air Force and Naval variants.

On the plans to build fifth generation medium combat aircraft, Mr. Subramanyam said the feasibility studies would be completed by March 2012. It would be a low-observable stealth aircraft and have the capability to go deep into the enemy territory undetected by long-range radars. It would be equipped with advanced avionics and conformal weapons within the fuselage.

Since it was planned to have the first flight in seven years, certain concepts of the 6 {+t} {+h} generation combat aircraft would also be incorporated. It was likely to be 10 years for it to get into production for replacing MIG-29 and Mirage fighters.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

Wow Angle of Attack expanded and More weapons being integrated to Tejas.

history shows its very tough to get a modern fighter from concept to IOC even in 15 yrs, let alone a new domain like VLO stealth for us.

to be realistic and control risks, we need strong partners who can help both with data and components. kaveri-snecma is one leg of the table...other legs could be khan , russia & Rafael for munitions...., thales & elop, for optronic systems, thales and elisra EW, dassault & cassidian for general concepts...

we cannot afford to go completely 'Khadi' if we want this thing in service in parallel with expected appearance of chinese VLO fighters and bombers in the 2020-25 timeframe. 7 yrs more would end being a tactical victory but strategic defeat

even if Mk1 has more of imported or license made systems, we can shoot for more indigenisation in mk2...its going to be 300-500 airframe for sure...a long production run.

south korea and japan FX projects will surely pull in whatever help they need instead of fermenting all their own kimchi.

once the dimension of internal bay is frozen it is critical to ensure that bombs and missiles fitted to it are available during late stage of test pgm whether by mods to existing or upcoming weapons like ramjet adder with 'cropped fins' or entirely new 'slim' weapons.....ideally we should make these ourself by licensing the base designs which we might already have.

likewise AESA front and side radars is a major leg of the bed.

we need to avoid the overly optimistic timeline goals and repeated misses of the Tejas pgm. its better to be realistic from day1 than slipping the schedule in painful stages later.

Folks do all the LSPs get upgraded once a certain technology on an LSP matures ?
saptarishi

Post by saptarishi »

Singha wrote:history shows its very tough to get a modern fighter from concept to IOC even in 15 yrs, let alone a new domain like VLO stealth for us.

to be realistic and control risks, we need strong partners who can help both with data and components. kaveri-snecma is one leg of the table...other legs could be khan , russia & Rafael for munitions...., thales & elop, for optronic systems, thales and elisra EW, dassault & cassidian for general concepts...

we cannot afford to go completely 'Khadi' if we want this thing in service in parallel with expected appearance of chinese VLO fighters and bombers in the 2020-25 timeframe. 7 yrs more would end being a tactical victory but strategic defeat

even if Mk1 has more of imported or license made systems, we can shoot for more indigenisation in mk2...its going to be 300-500 airframe for sure...a long production run.

south korea and japan FX projects will surely pull in whatever help they need instead of fermenting all their own kimchi.

once the dimension of internal bay is frozen it is critical to ensure that bombs and missiles fitted to it are available during late stage of test pgm whether by mods to existing or upcoming weapons like ramjet adder with 'cropped fins' or entirely new 'slim' weapons.....ideally we should make these ourself by licensing the base designs which we might already have.
likewise AESA front and side radars is a major leg of the bed.
that is wht iaf seems to be considerate on the drdo scientists regarding the amca.initially the 2016-17 period was slated to be the time for first flight .now this has been extended to 2020-21.because development of modern stuff requires time

JE Menon wrote:^^True dat Jethro.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-VDTifJdy7JM/T ... %2Bcdf.jpg

Livefist has obtained this screengrab of AMCA sw model studies being done at NAL presently. I am sure they are fine tuning the model showed in AI-2011.
the difference I see in this screenshot is the presence of LERX while model did not have it.

ofcourse we might know the final design only around April next year when concept study is done and they might not release it to public until the 1st proto is ready for ground taxi trials...or better yet, release a false model to mislead enemies.

^^^ Don't break too much of sweat over this.

This is drawing of the model displayed in AI09 and definitely not the one displayed in AI11.

So either Shiv Aroor has reproduced (or has been handed down an old drawing) OR the model in AI11 was an eyewash.

Eitherways, we won't know much till it breaks the daylight.

when they are modeling and remodeling on the computer, they could also consider prevalent models like f-22 and sr-71 and compare certain benefits in each of those, and how those models compare.. so, there is nothing stopping us with coming up with a number of wind tunnel models.
Nair

Post by Nair »

arunsrinivasan wrote:Update on LSP-7, Naval Version, & AMCA.

The Light Combat Aircraft, ‘Tejas' LSP-7 to be flown in the first fortnight of December will be in the final configuration of the fighter plane and “almost close” to series production, scheduled to begin by the middle of 2012.

Earlier, there was an update in each of the Limited Series Production (LSP) aircraft. LSP-7 will have all the functionalities and the aircraft has been earmarked for user evaluation by the Indian Air Force (IAF), P.S. Subramanyam, Director, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Programme Director (Combat Aircraft) told The Hindu here on Friday.

He was here to attend the 22 {+n} {+d} annual conference of Indian Nuclear Society- INSAC 2011.

He said so far 11 Tejas aircraft had performed 1,740 flights and crossed 1,000 flying hours. After the Initial Operational Clearance (IOC), the LCA was in the “intermediate milestone' stage — between IOC-2 and Final Operational Clearance (FOC). In the meantime, it had more achievements as some more weapons were being integrated and flying envelope expanded to a higher degree of angle of attack.

Weapon trials were successfully completed in Jaisalmer recently and were currently underway in Goa, where tests on functionality of the radar were also being conducted.

Mr. Subramanyam said the first naval variant of LCA would be test-flown before year-end and ground runs have already started. There was a lot of challenge with the landing gear for naval variant as it had to land on the short runways of an aircraft carrier as also take off from there. It had features of ski jump takeoff and arrested landing.

The preliminary design had been completed for the Mark-II variant of LCA for both Air Force and Navy. It would be more maintenance-friendly, its acceleration, climb rates would be faster, turn rates better with small take-off distances. It would be fitted with a high-powered GE 414 engine, which would be integrated on both Air Force and Naval variants.

On the plans to build fifth generation medium combat aircraft, Mr. Subramanyam said the feasibility studies would be completed by March 2012. It would be a low-observable stealth aircraft and have the capability to go deep into the enemy territory undetected by long-range radars. It would be equipped with advanced avionics and conformal weapons within the fuselage.

Since it was planned to have the first flight in seven years, certain concepts of the 6 {+t} {+h} generation combat aircraft would also be incorporated. It was likely to be 10 years for it to get into production for replacing MIG-29 and Mirage fighters.

They have been saying "close to final stage" from LSP 4 onwards..
saptarishi

Post by saptarishi »

arunsrinivasan wrote:Update on LSP-7, Naval Version, & AMCA.

patience and perseverance will pay off.initially lca programme might have looked to be a failure,but with mk2 and 5th gen amca.indian indigenous fighter efforts are back on track
venkat_r

Post by venkat_r »

First flight in 7 years and replace 29s and Mrages in 10 years!! Wow! seesm like my son would be having similar discussions on MCA in 20 years that LCA attracts today.

Either the plane should be put together now or better have flown atleast once for things to work out in the timeframe being mentioned or the realistic time frames and alternatives should be planned for. This is like setting up the project for failure even before it starts.
saptarishi

Post by saptarishi »

venkat_r wrote:First flight in 7 years and replace 29s and Mrages in 10 years!! Wow! seesm like my son would be having similar discussions on MCA in 20 years that LCA attracts today.

Either the plane should be put together now or better have flown atleast once for things to work out in the timeframe being mentioned or the realistic time frames and alternatives should be planned for. This is like setting up the project for failure even before it starts.
developing indigenous techologies requires time and patience,so it is important we give the scientists time

It is entirely possible that the first flight may come in 7 years if that s just a proof of concept. But the final integration of systems will take a another 7 to 10 years. Looking at the development scales of modern designs.
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

saptarishi wrote:developing indigenous techologies requires time and patience,so it is important we give the scientists time
Don't forget MONEY. Very important because if you don't have this the other two don't matter

Flight test update

LCA-Tejas has completed 1741 Test Flights successfully. (25-Nov-2011).
(TD1-233,TD2-305,PV1-242,PV2-211,PV3-315,LSP1-67,LSP2-195,PV5-36,LSP3-46,LSP4-41,LSP5-50)

from

LCA-Tejas has completed 1735 Test Flights successfully. (21-Nov-2011).
(TD1-233,TD2-305,PV1-242,PV2-211,PV3-310,LSP1-67,LSP2-194,PV5-36,LSP3-46,LSP4-41,LSP5-50)

PV-3 seems to be the favourite vehicle for bulk of testing, wondering why. Is it because they dont want to eat up the airframe life of the LSPs?

^^ I recall PV3 had the radar installed. Might be mistaken though