Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Prithwiraj wrote:
Even the basic cam corders come these days with full HD capabilities... if we are spending millions on air-power displays ..what stops us from recording them in full HD.. we can reduce the quality during editing ... these way we will have the option enjoying them both in HD and low definition if infrastructure is the limitation now..this is a fairly simple task and pretty much done out of box by any leading platforms like Flash or Silverlight.....the media departments are still manned by babus who has not come out of shell....
This is relevant to a pictures thread anyway.

Actually 35 mm film has higher resolution than the highest HD format today. But the problem is digitization and standardization between various formats. If we were looking at broadcast in India alone we could just stick to 35 mm film. But broadcast and distribution to other countries require standardization to a digital format that is suitable for 25 fps, 29 fps, 30 fps etc . The media and these standards are actually not set by Babus although they are a convenient scapegoat for everyone who lacks appropriate information. I think BRFites who call for privatization of defence companies should know how much of the media in India are privately owned and how much bandwidth those media own as well. If they don't know then it would be a real laugh.

Estimate the size of INS Deepak.
INS Deepak seen from INS Viraat Runway

it appears as big or sometime bigger than Viraat.

chacko that is a disappointing image because the text on the label is unreadable. Can you add that text separately or make the image bigger?

shiv, there is a limitation on that there. I will show you two of these pics in better rez on the forum. Wait.

More pics of hatch of PNS Ghazi

Shiv, I have enlarged the caption area too.

Other than the
chackojoseph wrote:INS Viraat Aircraft lift system

After this popular display of riding the lift, we also given a ride :D Its fun and an experience unlike your building lift :lol:
There is something called Bomb Lift and this is the pic from IM (former N) S Vikrant

INS Vikrant Bomb Lift

The Label is unreadable even in the original pic (hint: you guys use adblock, there by not allowing me to earn enough for a better equipment :p:).

^^^^ I had the pleasure of riding up on the lift of the INS Vikrant. It was awesome coming up from its cavernous depths as the deck came up to eye level. :D

chackojoseph wrote:More pics of hatch of PNS Ghazi

Shiv, I have enlarged the caption area too.
Many thanks Chacko. Something has blown a hole clean through that hatch from inside to outside. There has been an explosion inside the sub.

rajanb wrote:^^^^ I had the pleasure of riding up on the lift of the INS Vikrant. It was awesome coming up from its cavernous depths as the deck came up to eye level. :D
Hahahahha.... Indeed, its a funny feeling. I hpe this looks familiar to you INS Viraat Hangar

Yes, a Naval personnel was explaining what that blast could have been like for the hole on the hatch.
deepan gill

Post by deepan gill »

m mittal wrote:Just wanted to ask why is our military obsessed with a soldier coming down from a helo with a rope or being hung by a rope? This kinda pic always ends up in every celebration or documentary.....does anyone has any insight?
M Mitall, please let me respond to you.

You are incorrect, US Army does provide public shows. If you do not believe so, please travel to North Carolina or Nevada and you will see that US Armed Forces, Land Sea and Air do have public shows where they show such things.

I do recall when US Army released their video game AA version 3.1 they had helicopters and GIs roping down infront of a Vegas Casino. LOL

Now coming to the fact of why Indian Army? My young Jedi, before this boom of internet and information traveling faster than Brahma's blink of an eye, many Indians did not know their armed forces. Even today majority of Indians have no clue about the armed forces. They only take notice when there is a conflict, and then they quickly forget. Thus, Armed Forces are bringing itself to the people now. Who knows some young Indian may decide that he wants to join the armed forces and serve the nation and its people. There is no harm in marketing yourself.

Now regarding mistakes by Indian Armed Forces PR etc, hey Indians were never good at PR :-? So its understandable.

a collection of hi-res pics of the Viraat.

http://www.aame.in/2012/01/ins-viraat-i ... rrier.html

Don't recollect them being posted earlier. Apologies if done already

Is there any info about the dimensions of this vehicle?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Vishal Jolapara wrote:^ IHMO, Unimpressive! No 720p HD or 1080p Full-HD Video,
Please dont flame me for my criticism, i Love my country Dearly but ^ :(
Saar full HD is Amrica standard for Amrica internet lines..............In India there are possibly 200 million TV sets. hardly 1 million are likely to be "full HD" standard. So whom would the HD be served to when we are looking for recruitment from mango?
:) Hi Shiv, I paid Big money for a Big-Ass IPS Panel Monitor, also pay big money for a fat bandwith Interneyt Konneksun so i WANT paisa-vasool! :D
+ Prithviraj kind-of made my point:
Prithwiraj wrote:There is no harm in having full HD production now.. folks can always down-rate the resolution based on connection speed...
The major reason i was left unimpressed with that video is because it just fails to captivate me in anyway.
Negatives:
- the Dubbing is way-off
- Why hire Third-Class Image Hindi Soap actors?

The first thought that comes to mind upon seeing those Image is the Make-up Overload, Wardrobe-Malfunctioned, Ekta Kapoor Rona-Dona BS of the Highest Order and ^ that really isnt the first-impression I as IAF/AD Director want.

I for one atleast think, they scarcely need anyone else when they have a Living GOD as their Group Captain.
In this country, his word is the Gospel! No other man/woman's stature or influence comes even close to his, devise an ingenious AD campaign around HIM.

I Loved the Indian Army ADs which used to end with a Masculine voice questioning Authoritatively, "Do You Have It in You? (mother******) "
That to me makes you question your purpose in life & ask oneself meaningful questions.

Anyways, until the Senas learn proper PR, here's a new photo for today:

VayuSena MiG Untees after upgradation somewhere in the Roosi Thannd with the anti-ship Kh-35E (AS-20 Kayak) missile
(adhik jaankaari in the photographer remarks column)

Vishal Jolapara wrote: The major reason i was left unimpressed with that video is because it just fails to captivate me in anyway.
Negatives:
- the Dubbing is way-off
- Why hire Third-Class Image Hindi Soap actors?

The first thought that comes to mind upon seeing those Image is the Make-up Overload, Wardrobe-Malfunctioned, Ekta Kapoor Rona-Dona BS of the Highest Order and ^ that really isnt the first-impression I as IAF/AD Director want.

I for one atleast think, they scarcely need anyone else when they have a Living GOD as their Group Captain.
In this country, his word is the Gospel! No other man/woman's stature or influence comes even close to his, devise an ingenious AD campaign around HIM.
Vishal - it's a matter of taste. I hate cricket. I absolutely detest the game and prefer other sports, especially shooting and football. But I do fall for family values.. :D
vivekmehta

Post by vivekmehta »

can anyone guess what they are. size was approx 35 to 40 fts .diameter 7-10 fts of front. loaded on soviet left hand drive flat bed truck.
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

SA-3 units packed for transport?
vivekmehta

Post by vivekmehta »

may be .. as it was entering a AFB.....

AFS Rajokri?? Delhi.
vivekmehta

Post by vivekmehta »

yes.. second pic gives it away........... :)

Actually that road is familiar.
abhinavjo

Post by abhinavjo »

What do the two badges above the chief's nameplate signify. I believe one is an ATGM badge, which one though?

(courtesy: Livefist)
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

abhinavjo wrote:Image

What do the two badges above the chief's nameplate signify. I believe one is an ATGM badge, which one though?

(courtesy: Livefist)
Red and Gold: ATGM Qualified
Black and Silver: Cannon Launched Guided Missile (T-90) Qualified

Is it mandatory for the General to wear all those medals most of the time ? I have seen Indian and Pakistani General wearing those medals in many function , but similar medals are not seen on US and NATO generals.

^^^I've always loved the RED colored headgears (pagaris/safa) of the Rajput Regiment. True color synonymous with the Warrior code in India.

austin, they don't wear it all the time but everyone wears the medals at ceremonial functions, including americans, or russians for that matter.

Rahul what i stating was just an observation and not a statement of fact , you are right every one wears medals but here is something different to see

JJ Singh with US Army Chief

Chief of Staff Japanese Self Defence Force with Indian Naval Chief Arun Prakash

both cases the Gen and Adm are hosts at a reception ceremony.

True but there are cases where they dont wear at all in similar function , this is Indian Naval Chief with Russian counterpart

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_QKkSf03VuFY/T ... 1600/B.jpg

so they don't wear it all the time !

This giant multi color fruit cup cake is Indian Navy Submarine Position Indicator :lol:

Disclaimer: I don't own any of the pics. While I can't find the source of each of them, most seem to be taken by Dilip Muralidaran:
http://www.flickriver.com/photos/dilipm/tags/army/
Last edited by Gaur on 09 Jan 2012 17:19, edited 1 time in total.

you took the photos ? great shots.

Yeah nice pics.

Rahul M wrote:you took the photos ? great shots.
No saar, I haven't shot any of these pics. I just uploaded them from my HDD. You can even see BR watermark on one of the pics. I came across them while surfing different sources but I will try to post the names of the respective photographers if I can manage to find them.