The Bharatiya - Identity, Vision, Agenda, Proposition

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Bharatiya - Identity, Vision, Agenda, Proposition

harbans wrote:Rajesh Ji, for a person that just a few days ago realized the potency of how uniting under the Dharmic banner and not under 'Hinduism' can be a rallying point this is what i wrote in Feb 2012.
"Hinduism" is a useless word. Perhaps you refer to "Aastikmat of Sanatan Dharma"!

But I have strongly advocated the use of the "Hindu" identity as a collective identifier, and not just "Dharmic".
harbans wrote:
The textbooks claim that Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism are not religions proper, but "dharmas". The term religion is restricted to Semitic religions like Christianity and Islam.
harbans wrote: I have been saying this for some time here too now. That is correct. All our Indic and their rooted Asian 'religions' come under the Dharmic banner. When we lay out the basics of Dharma, enshrine them people tend to follow and conform. This is an evolutionary thing. If the value systems of people improve, the nation improves too. Dharma gives the rallying point. Also importantly is it gives personal freedom to explore Godhead by meditation, Bhakti, through Guru's, through practice of non-violence, through a middle path, through austerity, through Nyaya, Dvaita , Advaita or if you are interested in starting another meme, go ahead. Dharma provides the framework to religious and spiritual freedoms, some thing excluvist religions don't provide for. By giving Dharmic religions an excluvist hue wrt each other, colonialists have tended to divide us on religious lines..
This is where i was a year and more ago. This is where you came about just a few days ago on this very thread. Don't you think it's a bit rich of you to talk about shame and Tamas.
Let's be clear here about one thing.

As I have understood, the only thing you have been advocating are context-free "moral values" under a Dharma banner! Nothing more than that!

That is very different from my Dharma understanding.
harbans wrote:I did not rubbish Chanakya.
The forum is replete with your use of "Chanakya Niti" in contempt.
harbans wrote:I clearly said i rubbish those that think the judgement should be passed before the due process. That is your shame Rajesh. You said that not me.
harbans ji,

how can a judgment be passed in India without due process? If a court has to pass judgment, there would of course be a due process.
harbans wrote:Anyways i think i have wasted quite some time on you. Possibly you are not worth that effort. Good day.
Please also think of the time others have wasted on you as well!

As I have understood, the only thing you have been advocating are context-free "moral values" under a Dharma banner!
While you have asked me to quote context i acknowledge i also asked you same number of times to quote what context does Chanakya for example mean when he says:
Kshamayaa dayayaa premnaa soonritenaarjavena cha
Vasheekuryaajjagatsarvam vinayena cha sevayaa

One can bring the whole world under one’s influence (power) by such sterling qualities as patience (or forgiveness), kindness, love, truth, straightforwardness, humility and service
I have not got the answer to that still. But then i got the answer here long time back why you will not give context:
how can a judgment be passed in India without due process? If a court has to pass judgment, there would of course be a due process.
But then this is what you demands:
There should be only one sjudgment that the courts should pass on those Italians - Guilty! And the sentence should be capital punishment for those Italians - death by hanging!
So without asking for the due process you want them hanged, you have clearly already decided in the above have you not. You have already negated the fundamental principle under which the constitutional justice system works. If it's just the random hyper nationalist wish list then why not also accept the equation with those hyper nationalist Paki yahoos that burn houses etc and rage on the streets demanding death at the drop of the hat.

As for time, yes i don't have the whole day sitting and making random wishlists and hyperventilating at the drop of a hat. But anyways Good day. :)

harbans wrote:

One can bring the whole world under one’s influence (power) by such sterling qualities as patience (or forgiveness), kindness, love, truth, straightforwardness, humility and service
I have not got the answer to that still. But then i got the answer here long time back why you will not give context
Well you are the one quoting! Shouldn't you be providing the background! In fact you haven't even provided which text the above is from!

Pranav wrote: But then the question comes where do motivations come from. Why would one person be motivated by sensual indulgence, a second person motivated by the idea of running a big business and a third motivated by spirituality? Beyond environmental influences, it is the inherent Gunas which are expressed through thoughts, motivations and outwardly through actions. And certainly there is a some of each Guna in each person.
Not necessarily. I don't know the answer in a clear manner, but I can point the model.

Imagine Sri Chakra. The point is Atman/Shiva. The first triangle is Trigunas. The next layer is 9 indriyas (5 indriyas + Mano, Buddhi, Chit, Ahamkara) and so on.

Our actions are like light emenating from atman thru the combination of these prism angles.

But our Upanishads say Atman is not attached to our actions. If that is right, our actions are embodiment of our Aham interacting with the universe thru Mano, Buddhi, Chit and Jnana and Karma indriyas,

An action may have all three gunas as well.

The real culprit is Aham/Ego, not gunas. That is why we can attribute the resultant action to individual and not some absolute aspect such as gunas.

harbans wrote:

I have not got the answer to that still. But then i got the answer here long time back why you will not give context
Why would anyone with those qualities want/will to get the whole world under his/her influence?

This is the state of Advaita. One cannot be absolutely forgive/love/service the other unless one sees the other as him and him only.

This is called 'metta' Vedantam in Telugu. It is a very dangerous thing for the individual and society.

RamaY wrote: But our Upanishads say Atman is not attached to our actions ... The real culprit is Aham/Ego, not gunas. That is why we can attribute the resultant action to individual and not some absolute aspect such as gunas.
It can be said that the Gunas are characteristics of the Ego. The pure Atman would be beyond the Gunas, beyond Varna and beyond Karma.

But that does not negate the proposition that individuals think and act the way they do because of their innate characteristics.

Mano Buddhi Ahankara Chitta Ninaham
Nacha Shrotra Jihve Na Cha Ghrana Netre
Nacha Vyoma Bhoomir Na Tejo Na Vayu
Chidananda Rupa Shivoham Shivoham

I am not mind, nor intellect, nor ego,
nor the reflections of inner self (chitta).
I am not the five senses.
I am beyond that.
I am not the ether, nor the earth,
nor the fire, nor the wind .
I am indeed,
That eternal knowing and bliss, Shiva,
love and pure consciousness.

Sushupti wrote:Hinduism finds no mention in tax-funded univ form

There is a need to discuss
  1. what is religion?
  2. what belongs to religion?
  3. what constitutes freedom of religion?
  4. how the Hindus should specify their religion?
  5. whether "Hinduism" is to be the name of a religion?
Some thoughts on this!

I think more and more the Nehruvian-Secularists are using our lack of thorough definition of our religion as a means to deny our existence now!

A Definition Suggestion:
Aastik Mat of Sanatan Dharma is the default religion of all Indians, who do not explicitly reject the authority of the Vedas!
The Freedom of Spiritual Experimentation within the Aastik Mat gives its adherents the freedom to develop and live by many variations in dogma and icons.

Of course one can also use: Vaidik Mat, Arya Mat, etc. Though it has its uses, I am not sure whether we should use "Hinduism", because the term distorts the meaning of "Hindu"!

- Mat means path!

self deleted
Last edited by Atri on 13 Mar 2013 23:13, edited 1 time in total.

The Colors of Hindu

I am cross-posting some posts by Atri garu on the differences within the "Hindutva" camp. This is not an invitation to discuss politics here, but rather to find out what the ideological differences are and whether these can be bridged and whether removing such differences are even desirable, not at the level of players but at the level of ideology.

Atri wrote:
Atri wrote:
Swatantrata party is the only genuinely right wing party of India.. Its a shame that it did not take off..
Sushupti wrote:
Are you saying BJP isn't a genuine right wing party?
Of course not.. BJP is Indic Socialist (so is RSS). The entire world-view of DD Upadhyay is socialistic but firmly rooted in indic sanskriti. It is difficult to put Indic outlooks in western categories. If we look at global perspective and view things from absolute scale, BJP is left to the center. I personally too tilt towards leftism. We have a strong Indic socialist movement in India in form of RSS. We actually do not need CPM and INC type henchmen (which are exactly that - Henchmen of the communists, west and islamist network). RSS backed BJP asIndia's left and Swatantrata Party like party as India's Right will be the time when India's ascent will begin in full flow.

No party in present India can afford to be seen as seriously economic right-winger (overtly capitalistic and free-market advocating). Swatantrata Party shows a hint of this. Read their manifesto and history. In long term, it will be swatantrata party type parties who will be demanding that Hindus be given preferential rights in India, banning conversion out of Hindu faiths, legally welcoming conversions into Hindu faith, Varnashrama system be calibrated and implemented in India, federalization and decentralization of polity, rethinking over universal franchise, abolishing current tax-structure and reforming it to "taxation at source" model, restarting ashwamedha type conquests to periodically sanitize the neighborhood of nefarious elements. some of them are agreeable demands (to my indic-leftist mind) and some of them aren't. But I recognize the need of these opinions to be voiced systematically in India.

BJP and RSS cannot even think of demanding these things.

Nothing to judge here. Hindu civilization, is in general, left of the center in comparison with abrahmic religions and civilization.
Atri wrote:
Atri wrote:Of course not.. BJP is Indic Socialist (so is RSS). The entire world-view of DD Upadhyay is socialistic but firmly rooted in indic sanskriti. It is difficult to put Indic outlooks in western categories. If we look at global perspective and view things from absolute scale, BJP is left to the center.

But no party can afford to be seen as seriously economic right-winger (overtly capitalistic and free-market advocating). Swatantrata Party shows a hint of this. Read their manifesto and history. It is basically party for elite men by elite men of royalty and their coterie.

Nothing to judge here. Hindu civilization, is in general, left of the center in comparison with abrahmic religions and civilization.
Arjun wrote: Atri, this is sheer BS.

Hindu civilization is left of center from a social standpoint because there are no conservative dogmas to enforce, but there is NOTHING to support the argument that it is leftist from an economics standpoint. And right-wing economics is NOT the same as economy for elites by elites, which is a complete misunderstanding. Right wing economics is for equitable growth of the whole of society - but it differs from the left on the prescription on how this can be achieved.

The Jagdish Bhagwati school is right-wing in the Indian context - and I would rate Modi as the best and most visionary right-wing politician in the country.
Arjun ji, I have already removed the sentence of elite men from the post long ago. I have put by thoughts in better words so I did not need "elite". So please consider my reconsidered position.

Yes, Namo is one right winger in BJP. But you cannot say such things about RSS and Integral Humanism of BJP, can you? Namo is one individual, not a party.

Yes, Hindu civilization is inherently free market based (reasons are many and from antiquity). But do we have a strong Indic Vaishya Lobby in India which controls and generates Indic capital and GDP. How much of the money of Ambanis and Tatas, is really Indic money eventually? There is a CT about IG and Dhirubhai's bonds which is mentioned in polyester prince book (and hinted in movie Guru). Gandhi family's money is eventually western and islamist money.

We had our own JP Morgans, Goldman Sachs, Warren Buffet, Rockefellers, Rothchilds type business houses (many of them). Read about the banking house of Jagat Seths which were few of the last ones to go. You may also want to read about Sindhi traders of Shikarpur and their financial guilds. The marwadi financial houses financed the military-Industrial complex of Marathas vanished after 1818. Last of them vanished after 1857. Parag Tope explains it beautifully in his book. We had control of money flow from east to west. Those who facilitated the flow of bullion in and out of india were Hindu traders. Who controls the international money flow today? It is few English+Dutch+American investors at the top.

Point being, there cannot be a Indic right wing party, because there isn't any Indic capital. it is slowly building up (first in form of human resources who will start generating value and capital from land in next 25-30 years as started in GJ). Until we have substantial Indic capital, Vaishya tradition of India cannot be revived.

So, in current times we live in (and next 50 years or so), Hindu civilization, India (and BJP, if she lasts that long) will be overtly leftists socialistic. Civilization and identity is continuous process Arjun ji. We have a capitalist core, but it is incapable of showing itself.
Atri wrote:
Arjun wrote:I think its this leftist streak in the RSS that Atri ji clearly mentions that has produiced nincompoops like Govindacharya and others...And what the eff is RSS doing with Togadia and Bajrang Dal types ? Can someone explain how they fit in the grand scheme of 'integral humanism'?

Probably makes sense, like Atriji mentions, for Modi and Jaitley to break away from the RSS at some stage in the next 10 years and head their own right-wing party.

That would be suicidal.. I do not wish OR expect that. I meant no such thing. I would be embarrassed if NM acted this rashly which I hardly think he will. Economic growth without unless all-rounded can make one a fat pig ready for slaughter. How much of our growth in past 10 years is "growth" and how much is "tumor", we need to ascertain that. We may not want to call tumor as growth, although it looks the same initially.

Why is being integral humanist OR a socialist a bad thing? Remember, it has always been the left (radicles as the center-right dwelling status quoists might say) who produce men of action. Even Namo, Shivraj Chauhan, Parrikar, Raman Singh and many others came up through this family. Same as Govindacharya, Kalyan Singh, Uma Bharti, ABV and LKA in their heyday.. It were the Indic leftist radicles of RSS and VHP who stirred the nation during Ramjanmabhumi movement. It is the idealists of VHP who are converting muslims and christians to Hindu faiths. It is the idealist socialists of Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram who have single-handedly kept the naxalite problem in central India under control. Without them, we would be no one. It were the same radicles who protected Hindus during every single riot.

Govindacharya, Togadiya et al have spent their lives for a cause. So have countless dharmagurus and their millions of disciples. It is the socialist and nationalistic leftist streak in Sangh Parivar which has produced millions of dedicated selfless workers who live and die for a cause. Hence I would desist from calling names to anyone who have lived their lives for a cause. It takes great deal of commitment.

They have held on to Dharma in most dire times and places. Why do you think the hindus in villages of Assam, Bengal and North Kerala still hold on their ancestral land, hain ji? It is same bajrang dal type people who are the sword arm of dharma when government is non-functional.

So, my brother, please do not insult them.. If you can, create new institutions and build new cadre in your image which is as nationalistic and dharmik as those belonging to Sangh Parivar, yet with diametrically opposite rightist socio-politico-economic world view about nation. Nation would be indebted to you. If you want NM and jaitley to do that, bid them goodbye politically. Then you would never see NM as PM. He will die watering the organization. And I do not think Jaitley has it in him. Not without RSS behind. You would need someone as committed and almost divine as Guru Golwalkar to see the fruits 2-3 decades from now.
Atri wrote:One example - We cannot have a hindu university in India, this is an example. UGC simply won't recognize it. Even in GJ. The system did not allow Namo to open a Hindu University. As I am told by a friend, Namo had to rebrand it as somnath sanskrit university.

serves the purpose to an extent but kills the point one is trying to make.

RSS cannot be both Indic socialist and Indic capitalist (which it is being forced to be). The current schizophrenic behaviour of BJP has its roots in this unfortunate dichotomy because there is no one who can free RSS to do the job she intends to do in social sector, by handling the portfolio of ideological Indic capitalism. To use massa terms, Sangh parivar is forced to be seen as both Democrats and republicans. Core-INC (DIEnasty) and others are simply foreign interests - The remnants of Mughals and British. But average Raamukaka of India is slowly beginning to understand this but has not fully understood this. Until this reality dawns upon our Average Ramukaka, BJP will appear schizophrenic. After it dawns, if Raamukaka does not find a swadeshi "right alternative" to sangh parivar and continues seeing parivar playing dholki from both ends, he will think that sangh parivar is stupid.

The fact that adanis, ambanis do not sponsor open newspapers, tv channels ityadi mean that it is not in their interest to do so.

we need a systemic change. for that Namo needs a solid majority. for that namo needs a huge wave in BJP's favor (similar to one in 1984 in Rajiv's favor).

I will mail you finest Namkeen and Mithais from my region, Muppalla ji, if you win.. I wish you win..
Atri wrote:Muppalla ji,

Regarding Mullahs, I am not talking about 2014, dada.. I am talking post 2019.. It would be unwise to neglect. And there is no point in talking about LS seats. It starts with municipal elections and MLAs.. there are districts where Muslim population is hovering close to 50%. Same region which threw up abu ala maududi.. So, I will not call mullah factor as insignificant in MH..

regarding NG, Bhagwat et al, I do not know why you are turning it into caste related issue. Gopinath Munde belonged to Pramod Mahajan and hence ABV camp. He flourished (along with his business enterprise) when SS-BJP ruled state and then in center. NG was no one as compared to Munde (who was deputy CM of MH). Munde had 10 years to rise and fix the problem, at least rally the votes of OBCs and NTs before Bhagwat and Gadkari even came in radar. Munde could not do it. it is not about caste, as much as it is about coziness with C-system. The Mahajan-Munde duo had their balls firmly in the hands of C-system. Gadkari, OTOH, managed to free himself (relatively) from this ball-grasping diplomacy. Even he could not run long enough, although his business is million times more clean and legitimate than NCP-INC landlords.

Now, i do not want to feed speculators here, but there is a large section of RSS which considered Mahajan as someone who brought in immense corruption in the parivar. You may call that faction as puritanical OR whatever.

There is no brahmin lobby OR brahmin vote-bank in MH. MH-brahmin vanished from politics since 1920 (death of lokmanya tilak). Manohar Joshi and Mahajan and now Gadkari were the only figures who actually rose up temporarily but were removed promptly. So attributing the MH-BJP mishap to brahmin-non brahmin relation is misleading. Yes, top echeleons of RSS is made up of particular subcaste of brahmins, but this has been the case since inception of RSS. No one has had this problem when BJP actually rose and fell (1985-2004). this meme started becoming popular post 2008/09. Quite frankly, it is shame that MH-brahmin were thrown out of polity - They were the last sociological groups who were actually ruling almost entire India until 1818 and then in 1857. The tradition of shakti exists (at least existed until few decades ago until death of Savarkar) in this group.

Yes there is some discrepancy in mental setup of NM types and MGVaidya types.
RSS cannot be both Indic socialist and Indic capitalist (which it is being forced to be). The current schizophrenic behaviour of BJP has its roots in this unfortunate dichotomy because there is no one who can free RSS to do the job she intends to do in social sector, by handling the portfolio of ideological Indic capitalism. To use massa terms, Sangh parivar is forced to be seen as both Democrats and republicans. Core-INC (DIEnasty) and others are simply foreign interests - The remnants of Mughals and British. But average Raamukaka of India is slowly beginning to understand this but has not fully understood this. Until this reality dawns upon our Average Ramukaka, BJP will appear schizophrenic. After it dawns, if Raamukaka does not find a swadeshi "right alternative" to sangh parivar and continues seeing parivar playing dholki from both ends, he will think that sangh parivar is stupid.
Now coming back to your original point. It is not about caste. Any dyed in wool RSS man will not have caste in their mind. The problem is much deeper.

Similar problem existed between Savarkar and Hedgewar (which is the practical difference between Hindu Mahasabha and RSS).

You see, RSS and HMS (Hindu MahaSabha) had some major differences in methodology of approaching problem - Similar to INC's Garam Dal and Naram dal (only difference being, unlike INC, none of them were compromised, it was genuine disagreement). The scenario and times were such that they shared a common cadre base and most of the workable definitions. But simply check the thoughts of Savarkar (and KP Jayaswal and Sitaram Goel and Ram Swarup and Francois Gautier etc) on Hindu sociopolity with that of Golwalkar and DD Upadhyay, Tarun Vijay, Govindacharya, MG Vaidya, Dattopant Thengdi etc. You will get the difference that I am talking about in the three posts that I cited above.

NM represents the resurgent Savarkaraite meme of HMS. He may not say so explicitly, but the cadre which backs him fervently is from that stream. Savarkaraite stream is that of Shivaji which is much more threatening to C-system than RSS (which belongs vaguely to stream of Peshwas). RSS was reigned in (and was amenable to reign itself in) on three occasions (1948, 1975, 1992). HMS was exterminated in 1948. In times and places where 1947 like conditions are approaching and are present, these two sword arms of Dharmik purusha will come together. In stable times, this is not the case always. This does not mean that there is clear antagonism between two. No, things are much more complicated than this.

Why do I think NM represents resurgence of Savarkaraite model of hindutva? Firstly, he is the only national leader within parivar who pays shraddhanjali to Savarkar on his birth and death anniversary. Secondly, he does not make a big deal out of emotive issues like cow-slaughter, temples etc. Remember Savarkar's thoughts on all this and you will see the difference. His recent decision encourage to train dalit children to be priests and be performed upanayanam upon, is in line of savarkar's vision of eradicating Varna-Bheda.

Now, those belonging to RSS school (Hedgewar/Golwalkar) of Hindutva are much more traditionalists (Sanatani people). Savarkar's school tends to thrash most of the traditions (temple worship, brahmin priest, cow-reverence etc) which traditionalists are attached to. Many people sympathizing with RSS (Hedgewar himself) opposed Savarkar's definition of Hindu (one who considers india as fatherland and holyland). RSS avoids this question.

Also, Savarkaraite model of Hindutva idolizes heroes. Shivaji, Sambhaji, Savarkar, Ram and krishna (as heroes, not devatas), Ranjit Singh, LKA (for some period in late 80s and early 90s) and now NM. RSS model of Hindutva desists from idolizing individuals. It avoids scenarios where people start rallying around a hero, than a cause OR institution. Whatever problem that some sections of RSS have with NM is precisely here. According to RSS, it is unwise to let individual rise so high that his fall results in fall of entire structure. Instead of having one tall figure, lets have million midgets, all of them thinking in right directions and taking small steps in coherence.

I am not making case for OR against RSS. In course of time, it is RSS which survived and HMS which vanished. All type of dharmik individuals rallied under the saffron of RSS. As the number of such young people with hindutva mindset is growing, it is natural that a large section will gravitate towards the HMS pole. But RSS survived precisely because there were no heroes OR icons which could be brought down. RSS can own and disown anyone which is a very desirable trait to have, given the hostile environment they had to thrive in past 80 years. Savarkaraite HMS could never do that - They chose Johar and Kesariya of Rajputs over slimy cunning of Ghanimi Qavvait of Marathas.

But it must be noted that times are changing. Although we might be gradually approaching 1947 like situation, Hindus are much more prosperous, strong, rallied and focused this time. Shivaji-Savarkarite model may not fail so dramatically this time. It may go much farther this time.

Let this samudra manthana happen. Do not color it based on caste. Eventually, both models will throw up good dharmik men, and this is what Bhaarata needs.

Atriji, Please read the posts by Surasena in the NWW thread.
And summarize for us what is India's "Kokutai"

RamaY wrote:Carl garu, which god are you talking about?

The Hindu God of Purushasuktam is formed when you combine the head (Brahmana) shoulders (Kshatriaya) Weist (Vaisya) and Feet (Sudra), making Bharatiya society the Virat Purusha.
No, the Purushasukta God is not a part by part "combination" of varNas. That's just your theory of what it is. But AFAIU, what brihaspati ji and others are suggesting is that it is holographic - which means that while the resultant projection seems to have form with discrete 'parts', the actual data is distributed holographically. Each part contains the whole.

Holonomic brain theory
Pribram and Bohm posit a model of cognitive function as being guided by a matrix of neurological wave interference patterns situated temporally between holographic Gestalt perception and discrete, affective, quantum vectors derived from reward anticipation potentials.
1. Wave interference patterns.
2. Holographic
3. Gestalt
4. Quantum vectors
5. Reward anticipation potentials

Just research these 5 and then we can have a meeting of minds. Otherwise brihaspati ji, RajeshA ji etc are going to go on and you are going to go on and on.

You are afraid Bharateeyam will lose something if "modern" ideas are applied to understanding Purushasookta. Whereas I and RajeshA ji are afraid that pre-modern problems will grow again if medieval ideas are applied to understanding Purushasooktam. Let's be more trusting of one another's intentions and try to understand.
RamaY wrote:There is no God ordained in Hindu Dharma, where we understand everything as a God-aspect.
Well again this is sophistry. K says "mayA sRshTam", so in one way it is created or ordained - via prakRti. And since that is the case, it means that we have to understand the patterns of nature - especially the correlation between structural form and function:

1. Structure in mathematics:
(a) in terms of pattern recognition,
(b) structure and ontology,
(c) the identity problem for realist structuralism

2. Structure and Identity in metaphysics
(a) causal structuralism,
(b) identity and indiscernability

3. Structure in epistemology
(a) causal theory of perception

4. Structural realism in the philosophy of science

5. Structure and Identity in quantum theory

Carl garu,

If every part of it is a whole, how can the whole be different from whole? When all these parts are combined, they should become whole, right? How can Bharatiya society be different from the whole sum of all Bharatiyas?

Remember "Purnamada: purnamidam...."?

Purusha Sukta is said to be the main motivation why people (mis)interpreted Varna system to be what it is. To be fair the Viraat Purusha of Purusha Suktam is more than the whole (स॒हस्र॑शीर्षा॒ पुरु॑षः । स॒ह॒स्रा॒क्षः स॒हस्र॑पात् । स भूमिं॑ वि॒श्वतो॑ वृ॒त्वा । अत्य॑तिष्ठद्दशाङ्गु॒लम् ॥).

The truth will not stop because I am confident or afraid.

I do not see any difference of understanding between myself and Bji/RajeshAji. The difference is whether an individuals inherent or spiritual Varnas can be harnessed by the society in a reliable, repeatable and reproducible manner. Random streaks of wave patterns or holography cannot be a reliable social structure.

Coming to the God and creation topic, you got it wrong.

An Abrahamic god created the creation separate from himself and even accepted that there exists other gods. Hindu God on the other hand created the creation from and as himself and there exists nothing separate from this God consciousness.

That is why there is hastikamasantara (Elephant and Maquito) difference between Sri Krishna saying "Chaturvarnam Maya Sristam" and a Christian god saying "let there be light, let there be earth and so on".

This is our problem. First we do Hindu Gods = Abrahamic gods. Then we do Hinduism == Abrahamic faiths. Then we do Hindu society === Abrahamic societies.

No wonder we cannot come up with any other solutions than copied Abrahamic solutions to Hindu resurgence.

I think Hindus need to start a Ban TTD (Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam) movement.

Today's Eenadu news paper has a small news item that says
TTD to offer 5 free Laddoos to women who offer long hair which is >31 inches long.
TTD makes lot of money by selling the hair every year (few tens of crores).

What a shame!

RamaY wrote:If every part of it is a whole, how can the whole be different from whole? When all these parts are combined, they should become whole, right? How can Bharatiya society be different from the whole sum of all Bharatiyas?
Its more than just the sum of its parts. That is what the 'Gestalt' term meant. And this is true not just of Bharateeyam, but also of the individual human being. Bharateeyam survives even though large parts of its biophysical parts and resources have been sawed off threw time, or even turned against it. How? Similarly, in one sense, the whole of humanity is also Bharateeyam.
RamaY wrote:I do not see any difference of understanding between myself and Bji/RajeshAji. The difference is whether an individuals inherent or spiritual Varnas can be harnessed by the society in a reliable, repeatable and reproducible manner. Random streaks of wave patterns or holography cannot be a reliable social structure.
Yes they can be harnessed. the difference between your PoV and that of mine or RajeshA ji's is that you want to tie varNa to birth and parents, whereas what we are suggesting is that is should be determined tentatively after at least the first 2 samskaras from the 16. The discussion ought to revolve around the proper understanding of those 16 samskaras in its physical, psychological, metaphysical and other aspects. But we haven't even begun that here because of your insistence on tying varNa to parents and birth. what if you find an orphan (there are about 20 million of them in Bharat) whose parentage is unknown?

Secondly, I don't know what you mean by "random streaks" of wave patterns or holography. It sounds rather dismissive of something that you basically don't care to learn about or discuss.
RamaY wrote:Coming to the God and creation topic, you got it wrong.

An Abrahamic god created the creation separate from himself and even accepted that there exists other gods. Hindu God on the other hand created the creation from and as himself and there exists nothing separate from this God consciousness.

That is why there is hastikamasantara (Elephant and Maquito) difference between Sri Krishna saying "Chaturvarnam Maya Sristam" and a Christian god saying "let there be light, let there be earth and so on".

This is our problem. First we do Hindu Gods = Abrahamic gods. Then we do Hinduism == Abrahamic faiths. Then we do Hindu society === Abrahamic societies.

No wonder we cannot come up with any other solutions than copied Abrahamic solutions to Hindu resurgence.
where did you get the idea that I was speaking of "mayA sRshtam" from this "abrahamic" perspective? I said it was "via prakRti", which K says has a higher and lower aspect within His Self. So I was pointing out that it is about relationship between purusha(sooktam) and the higher and lower prakRti. Its that simple. That's why I posted about science and metaphysics that tries to flesh out some of the tattvas of lower/physical and higher/metaphysical prakRti.

Why this constant fear and obsession about not being "Abrahamic" and using it as a diversion, or to cast doubt on anyone's PoV? Do I have to now prove here that my understanding is not "abrahamic"?

Let me make few things clear, so we are not running in circles.

1/ Birth is a reality and it sets the initial conditions. It gives the initial Varna, which can be changed by the individual whenever s/he wants. It can be after 2 Samskaras or every Samskara.

By the way, fixing Varna at any point, be it birth or after a nth Samskara is same. At least birth based varna is Hindu compliant for it accepts the fact that a given birth is a small project in the overall life of an Atman. That wouldn't make fixing Varna after a given Samskara right or wrong.

All orphans are Brahmins because all Bharatiyas are Brahmins to begin with. They move in to other categories based on their choice. We all are Amrutasya Putras starting from Chaturmukha Brahma.

2/ No dismissiveness is intended. Random streaks is said because when an individual can be any varna at any given monent of time, the selection of Varna (here we are using the Varna to understand what decision the individual makes) is near random for the observer.

3/ The whole discussion of debating Hindu identity, Varna Vyavastha and so on came to existence ONLY because people are using Abrahamic memes to understand Bharatiya problems and resolve them.

In the absence of this Abrahamic memes, all of Bharatiya problems will be simple Rule of Law and Governance Issues; they were never Hindu problems.

The problem is not whether Varna came by birth or after 18.18.18 days. The problem is the perception that varna is hierarchical and exploitive.

Like I said before, just give us 2 decades of good governance and right education and Bharat can face another 1000years of Abrahamic onslaught.

RamaY wrote:... just give us 2 decades of good governance and right education ...
Nobody is going to give you anything out of charity. If you are clueless about how to dismantle the colonial system, then it is perfectly lawful and legitimate that you should be enslaved or culled.

It is called Darwin's law.

:) Saar...

WE give ourselves 2 decades of clean governance, before worrying about Hindusim and it's ills.

RamaY wrote::) Saar...

WE give ourselves 2 decades of clean governance, before worrying about Hindusim and it's ills.
Right ... but we have to begin by accepting that there is a problem. Break the lazy, comfortable assumption that we have "independence" and "democracy". After that, diagnose how colonial control is maintained. Then see what can be done to achieve independence. Finally put the plan into action.

Long way to go, we are not even at the first step.

Anyway sorry for the OT :) Pray continue.

Anyone born in the country,except to an expat family, should be told that he or she should love the country and all its peoples,and support,protect it right from birth.This is the duty of parents,God parents,and teachers.The entire history of India from the earliest days should be taught not in std. 6 or 7,but in simple language from earlier classes as part of GK classes,whatever.The Pledge and singing of the Natl. Anthem should be compulsory every morning if not done already.In senior classes,the key aspects of the Indian Constitution should be explained and how our leaders are elected and bills passed,how parliament and state assemblies functions.

The fundamental is that history textbooks should freef rom propaganda to suit pol. parties and should be drawn up by a team of scholars of outstanding repute.

ramana wrote:Atriji, Please read the posts by Surasena in the NWW thread.
And summarize for us what is India's "Kokutai"
Ramana ji,

Savarkar has written one entire booklet on India's "Kokutai".. We call it Hindutva..

आसिन्धुसिन्धुपर्यन्ता यस्य भारत भूमिका
पितृभुः पुण्यभुः च एव स वै हिन्दुरीति स्मृतः

One who considers this entire Indian subcontinent as one Bhaarat and who considers this Bhaarata as his most revered land and his forefatherland, he is a Hindu.

This is India's Kokutai. This is what NM means when he says "India first".. this is what Subbu Swamy means when he talks about acknowledging Hindu ancestors of all those living in Indian subcontinent (Pitrubhu).

Everything else is negotiable. We have tradition of eliminating our Asuras (who are adharmik but consider this land as their motherland and revered land).

Bharatiya Nationalism viz-a-viz Indian Nationalism

Philip ji,

thanks for your take.

Bharatiya Nationalism and Indian Nationalism are by no means mutually exclusive and certainly not opposing to one another. But there are differences.

The worldview is totally different. First some salient aspects of Indian Nationalism:
  • Indian Nationalism sees its origins in the cooperation forged between the Hindus and Muslims in the Rebellion against the British in 1857 and later in the founding of Indian National Congress in 1885.
  • Indian Nationalism sees the Struggle for Independence under the stewardship of INC as its character defining history and considers the stalwarts of this struggle as India's heroes.
  • Indian Nationalism sees its finest moments when Pandit Jawarlal Nehru gave the "India's Tryst with Destiny" speech shortly before midnight of August 15, 1947 in the Constituent Assembly of India and the adoption of the Constitution of India on January 26, 1950.
  • Indian Nationalism sees its role as the guardians of the sovereignty, unity and integrity of Indian Union having as its goal the upliftment of India's poor to a life of dignity.
  • As its foreign policy, Indian Nationalism was guided by Panchsheel and Non-Alignment. The subsequent wars with China and Pakistan further united the people, strengthening the foundations of Indian Nationalism.
Indian Nationalism is bound to both the Westphalian nation-state concept and to secularism concept.

Bharatiya Nationalism on the other hand sees the world in civilizational terms, because it acknowledges that
  • The Islamics have their concept of Ummah and even though there are multiple states, with regard to Non-Muslims, Islam as a civilizational structure usually shows cohesion and consistency of purpose.
  • The West has tried to unitedly build and manage a world order which provides it with primacy and the Westerners have often asserted a cultural unity based on Judeo-Christianity, Roman-Hellenism and Enlightenment.
  • The Sinics have tried to create an expansionary ethno-centric state.
Historically speaking, Bharatiya Nationalism considers the whole of Bharatiya Civilizational History of tens of thousands of years as relevant to the discourse and feels the overly focus only on the freedom struggle detracts one from Bharat's great past.

Bharatiya Nationalism simply sees India as the latest political structure useful for sustaining and nurturing Bharatiyata and considers the whole Indian Subcontinent including Afghanistan, Myanmar and Tibet as part of Bharat but some parts temporally outside Bharatiya political and civilizational sovereignty, something which needs to be changed.

Bharatiya Nationalism also does not consider "Secularism" as the appropriate guiding principle for India, but "Dharma".

Both "Westphalian nation-state" and "Secularism" are concepts Bharatiyas feel are imported and grafted onto India which have worked against Bharatiya interests, especially as even the principles of these have been thoroughly abused by the non-Bharatiya regimes in Indian history after 1947.

The third difference between Indian and Bharatiya Nationalism is that Bharatiyas feel that the spirit and agenda of Indian Nationalism is too defensive and not adequately fired for civilizational renewal and expansion, deeming minimum dignity, survival and neutrality as sufficient goals, thus rendering India incapable of competing with the Islamic, Western and Sinic Civilizations.

Again it is important to reiterate that Bharatiya Nationalism is not against Indian Nationalism, in fact Bharatiya Nationalism considers Indian Nationalism to be a part of it, within it but feels the scope needs to be broadened.
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Mar 2013 18:17, edited 1 time in total.

RamaY wrote::) Saar...

RamaY ji,

Sanatan Dharma has absolutely no ills! It is perfect in its beauty! However the application of Sanatan Dharma has had many imperfections!

I am not saying this the same way people show apologism for Islam, where all the bad publicity is explained as the handiwork of Muslims who do not understand or live by Islam. There one can provide mathematical proofs how the social memes are a direct result of the doctrine.

No, here I speak of the application projects that were undertaken in Bharatiya samaj based on misinterpretations of Sanatan Dharma. Varna as Divisions of Society is one major project based on false reading of the Sanatan Dharma, specifically Purusha Sukta. We have already discussed that.

I see it as of paramount importance that Bharatiyas establish a clear ideological foundation for Bharat which establishes us as the primary upholders of the predominant civilizational ideology and agenda for mankind.

Economic upswing in India especially under a Bharatiya leadership would facilitate Bharatiyas to sell this vision internally as well as externally.

^ A good post Rajesh ji. You have bought out the differences between Bharatiya and perceived Indian nationalism as propagated by the INC model quite well without recourse to anything but the factual part. However i would ask you if you would agree with the following:

A close scrutiny of the Vedas as well as the Muslim Quran, the Christian Bible and the Jewish Old Testament and the Book of Moses makes it clear that the so-called divinely written or sent religious scriptures are man-made. No doubt, these scriptures have unprecedented historical and literary value. It is also admissible that these scriptures are a treasure house of words, worthy of respect and deep study…But they are not literally true. Several stories (in them) are purely imaginary! What does not stand the test of scientific reason ought to be verily discarded even if it appears in the Vedas, Avesta, Quran, Bible, Book of Moses and the like. It is not true that an age of yore is necessarily an age of truth! It is incorrect to think that everything that is ancient is necessarily sacred and worthy of worship.

Savarkar wrote:A close scrutiny of the Vedas as well as the Muslim Quran, the Christian Bible and the Jewish Old Testament and the Book of Moses makes it clear that the so-called divinely written or sent religious scriptures are man-made. No doubt, these scriptures have unprecedented historical and literary value. It is also admissible that these scriptures are a treasure house of words, worthy of respect and deep study…But they are not literally true. Several stories (in them) are purely imaginary! What does not stand the test of scientific reason ought to be verily discarded even if it appears in the Vedas, Avesta, Quran, Bible, Book of Moses and the like. It is not true that an age of yore is necessarily an age of truth! It is incorrect to think that everything that is ancient is necessarily sacred and worthy of worship.
harbans ji,

Savarkar is entitled to his views. He was not an Āstika. Jains and Buddhists too are not Āstika. {Correction: please see Atri's post below}

Whereas other books have a historicity and try to establish the claims of certain human intermediaries to speak for God, and through authority thus empowered, establish laws for society, Vedas does no such thing.

Āstikas claim Vedas are eternal and apaurushya and are considered to carry divine knowledge. Vedas are not meant to establish someone as the arbitrator between man and God.

Bharatiya Civilization has many samhitas which expresses truths at different levels using metaphors and symbology to code insights.

How can one say for example that our mythology is false? Our mythology is a knowledge base for cultural symbology, psychohistory, past tribal dynamics, astronomical phenomena, abstract concepts, adhyatmik vidya, fusion of narratives, scientific and historical knowledge encoding, etc. Anybody trying to prove anything false about it "through scientific means" wouldn't even know how to express the question scientifically much less be able to prove something wrong!

Whereas Abrahamic texts mentioned above express history and laws without any layers of symbology, and the only difficulty in interpreting them is the uniqueness of semantics of the various words, but if that is acceptable than the knowledge quality in them can be tested or be declared as not testable.
Last edited by RajeshA on 15 Mar 2013 01:16, edited 1 time in total.

RajeshA garu

I think we all are agreeing on few things

1/ The current constitutional and political dispensation is not in the interests of Bharatiya Civilization. It is a compromise for given circumstances. But this has to be changed at the first opportunity.

2/ Such an opportunity comes when Hindu majority of Bharat conquers (a) Poverty (b) secularism (c) self-hatred
>> a) Poverty - Can be defeated using economic progress (with/without Govt help) and good governance at a national scale.
>> b) Secularism - Good governance. The behavior of Abrahamic followers in India will also be a factor.
>> c) Self-hatred - Right education

3/ The real Bharatiya independence is achieved when Bharatiyas write their constitution, social contracts founded on true Hindu foundations. This is the ultimate goal.

IMO we are trying to debate step 3 in this thread. For that phase is the premise is that first 2 phases are complete, meaning all the participants of this debate must at least demonstrate that
a) They do not bring poverty and exploitation in to debate for their proposals (we already solved it in Phase 2.a)
b) Unnecessary == between various world faiths (we already solved it in Phase 2.b)
c) That all the people in the debate have right perspective on our history (especially the affects of Nastika schools, Bhakti/Kshatriya schools and Islamic and Christian colonialism) (which was addressed in Phase 2.c)

The real problem, IMHO, is that people make proposals in Phase 3 based on current situation, which will not be the initial condition to this phase in reality.

That is the main reason for the obvious 'cognitive dissonance' in this thread.

JMHT!

Savarkar wrote:A close scrutiny of the Vedas as well as the Muslim Quran, the Christian Bible and the Jewish Old Testament and the Book of Moses makes it clear that the so-called divinely written or sent religious scriptures are man-made. No doubt, these scriptures have unprecedented historical and literary value. It is also admissible that these scriptures are a treasure house of words, worthy of respect and deep study…But they are not literally true. Several stories (in them) are purely imaginary! What does not stand the test of scientific reason ought to be verily discarded even if it appears in the Vedas, Avesta, Quran, Bible, Book of Moses and the like. It is not true that an age of yore is necessarily an age of truth! It is incorrect to think that everything that is ancient is necessarily sacred and worthy of worship.
harbans ji,

Savarkar is entitled to his views. He was not an Āstika. Jains and Buddhists too are not Āstika.
Savarkar was very much Astika. He was Nirishwar-vaadi (Non-theistic). He followed Patanjali's Yogsutras and Kapila's Saamkhya Sutras in his personal quest for Moksha.

Aastika does not mean one who proclaims Vedas are Apaurusheya and Ananta. Aastika only means one who considers "Shabda" as a valid Pramaana in argument. Aastika Nirishwarvadi schools consider Veda-Vaakya as valid pramana only after scrutinizing an argument against three other proofs (pratyaksha, anumaana, Upamaana). In terms of importance, Shabda pramana comes last in all Aastika schools. The only difference is in Naastika schools, Shabda is not the last pramana.

All the literature of Savarkar is written only from Dharmaarthik Perspective. For Dharmaarthik Matters, the Apaurusheyatva and Anaaditva of Vedas do not matter. In medieval times, this tendency to segregate the Dharmarthik and Mokshik pursuits diminished. All the literature by Savarkar is about forcing people to segregate the dharmaarthik issues from Moksha related issues. The above paragraph, when seen from Dharmaarthik perspective, makes sense.

It is foolish to frame the socio-politico-economic policies based on the assumption that Vedas are apaurusheya and Anaadi. This is a Adhyatmik position. While speaking on material sphere, we too show this dichotomy (reference - our own Out of India thread where we interpreted Vedas through strictly materialistic prism and managed to see a material narrative). Why did this happen? Because we knew that we were talking about dharmaarthik issue (reclaiming our history) and not Moksha related issue and hence we viewed at our resources accordingly. Dharma provides this flexibility. There was time in medieval era when indic society was framing their dharmaarthik policies from this mindset that Vedas are eternal and infallible etc. And all sorts of misdeeds were performed by our own biraders on our own biraders. What was the reason of this? Ignorance.. Ignorance of tradition which sees four purusharthas of a nation and individual separately. They cannot be totally segregated, but can be mostly segregated. (lets arbitrarily say, 90%). Absence of tradition which says there are different shaastras for different purusharthas and privileges in one sphere do not necessarily extend to others by default. One has to earn those privileges.

Savarkar's personal adhyatmik views are seen very rarely and only through few of his poems. This is one poem which he composed when serving Kalapani. He contracted Cholera, TB and Malaria (simultaneously and back to back) and was forced to extract 30 pounds of oil from coconut in spite of these diseases. Furthermore, he was given no medical care OR medicines whatsoever. This is one of the occasions he came closest to death. He wrote this poem addressing death, which is proof enough to show his "Aastikatva"..

अनादि मी अनंत मी, अवध्य मी भला,
मारिल रिपु जगति असा कवण जन्मला II धृ II

अट्टाहास करित जई धर्मधारणी
मृत्युसीच गाठ घालु मी घुसे रणी
अग्नि जाळि मजसी न खड्ग चेदितो
भिउनि मला भ्याड मृत्यु पळत सुटतो
खुळा रिपु l तया स्वयें
मृत्यूचाचि भितिने भिववू मजसि ने II १ II

लोटि हिंस्त्र सिंहाच्या पंजरी मला
नम्र दाससम चाटिल तो पदांगुला
कल्लोळी ज्वालांच्या फेकिशी जरी
हटुनि भंवति रचिल शीत सुप्रभावली
आण तुझ्या तोफांना क्रूर सैन्य तें
यंत्र तंत्र शस्त्र अस्त्र आग ओकते
हला हला l त्रिनेत्र तो
मी तुम्हांसि तैसाची गिळुनि जिरवतो ! II २ II

Without beginning nor end am I, Inviolable am I.
Vanquish me? In this world no such enemy is born!

Resolutely, as the Upholder of Dharma,
Challenging very Death I charge into the battlefield.
A sword cannot slice me nor can fire burn me,
Craven Death itself shall flee in fear of me!
And yet, O Foolish Foe,
By fear of Death you dare to scare me!

Fling me into the cage of a ferocious lion, you may---
Reduce him to a cowering servility, I will!
Fling me into the blaze of a roaring inferno, you may---
Remove it! For wrap myself with gentle coolness, I will.

Come! Bring on your mighty, skilled armed Legion,
Bring on your weapons and missiles spewing deadly fire!
Ha! Like Lord Shiva consuming the poison Halahal,
Gulp down and digest all of you, I will

RamaY wrote:Let me make few things clear, so we are not running in circles.

1/ Birth is a reality and it sets the initial conditions. It gives the initial Varna, which can be changed by the individual whenever s/he wants. It can be after 2 Samskaras or every Samskara.

By the way, fixing Varna at any point, be it birth or after a nth Samskara is same. At least birth based varna is Hindu compliant for it accepts the fact that a given birth is a small project in the overall life of an Atman. That wouldn't make fixing Varna after a given Samskara right or wrong.
RamaY ji, thanks for clarifying. However, there is nothing particularly "Hindu compliant" about birth-based varNa that makes it more valuable than other objective determinants of varNa. Birth factor being given more weight is merely a defining feature of its application in a particular socio-technological era of human society, not of Hinduism as a theory. IMHO you are repeatedly confusing space-time based application with the abstract theory. Hinduism makes a distinction between tradition (Agama) and abstract theory (shruti, etc), and each is given its own due importance.

A fundamental discussion of varNa would have to discuss how it is defined in the context of a spiritual process. This is where the segregated dharmaarthik limbs that Atri ji emphasizses intersects with the other purushaarthas.

Of course this spiritual process transcends lifetimes. The velocity of the process depends not just on the individual but his society. E.g., in history we find that nations that failed to recognize the genius of some of their individuals (even if they become celebrities!) and hence failed to capitalize on it - whereas others had a national genius for abstracting that individual genius and making it all-pervasive in society.
RamaY wrote:2/ No dismissiveness is intended. Random streaks is said because when an individual can be any varna at any given monent of time, the selection of Varna (here we are using the Varna to understand what decision the individual makes) is near random for the observer.
Randomity is a function of (1) knowledge and (2) one's position w.r.t. the historical time track (stuck nostalgically in the past, or averse to the past, etc.).

It appears random if many important factors remain hidden to the observer's insight (or lack of insight). Such an observer has two choices: (1) Gain deeper insight and discover other tattvas to reduce the randomity, or (2) Force something to behave in a way that does not seem random to him by reducing it's degrees of freedom and straitjacketing it.
RamaY wrote:3/ The whole discussion of debating Hindu identity, Varna Vyavastha and so on came to existence ONLY because people are using Abrahamic memes to understand Bharatiya problems and resolve them.

In the absence of this Abrahamic memes, all of Bharatiya problems will be simple Rule of Law and Governance Issues; they were never Hindu problems.
Could you make a list of these abrahamic memes? One aspect of "abrahamic" memes is to either completely merge dharmaarthic with kama-moksha (Islamist) or create a complete artificial segregation of the two (Western secularism versus church, reason versus faith, etc.). Both, this identity between the two as well as extreme difference (atyanta-bhinnam) are reproached by Indic philosophy. By reducing varNa to "objective" indicators that are either based solely on (1) pointing to an Agama, OR (2) based on some purely physical observation such as birth circumstance, etc...we fall into the "abrahamic" misunderstanding.

Varnashrama must be linked with a psycho-spiritual process whose indicators and end phenomena at every stage are well studied and agreed upon, with continuous research. Varnashrama is based on agreement. Right now most Indians don't have the time or inclination to discuss this fully. So we can talk about it in terms of the current socio-economic-educational policy that provides an infrastructure for varNashrama (but it is not the whole of varNashrama by itself). When Indians have a renewed interest in Veda or any other spiritual process, Astika or nAstika, then we can have a fuller discussion of varNashrama. Until then, economic expansion and Sanskrit education!
RamaY wrote:The problem is not whether Varna came by birth or after 18.18.18 days. The problem is the perception that varna is hierarchical and exploitive.
Personally, I have no problem with hierarchy. There is hierarchy everywhere. I have no problem with someone standing on my shoulders in a human pyramid for matka-phod. But everyone is united for a sense of mission, and contributes based on necessity level. Everyone benefits in some way from the makhan. :wink:

Atri garu,

Thank you for correcting me!

Savarkar should enjoy the status that MK Gandhi enjoys today!

RamaY wrote:The problem is not whether Varna came by birth or after 18.18.18 days. The problem is the perception that varna is hierarchical and exploitive.

This perception has been created by the Indian Marxist. This Marxist narrative in India is influenced by the British and their long association with Indian society and Indian social and cultural knowledge. This needs to be completely scrapped and all these false narrative have to be thrown out.

First is to change the Name of Delhi Airport to Savarkar's Name.Second all that go under Juhawar Lal to be renamed with the names of Indian Krantikaris, the real Adhikaris of respect and honor.

MKG is one of the very important leaders of India, Rajesh ji.. I have immense respect for him. He was a game changer, in spite of all the drawbacks. He managed to carry the flame ignited by Lal-Bal-Pal and stopped INC from becoming a Calcutta-Bombay socialite group. Brits giving the power to Gokhale-Jinnah's upper-class DIE-INC would have resulted in India's fate worse than Zimbabwe. MKG removed the monopoly of DIE on Indian freedom struggle and facilitated the participation of average Raamukaka amongst Hindus in their dharmaarthik struggle.

Yes, Savarkar deserves much much more respect than what he gets. Savarkar was the PVNR (in terms of neglect, unlike PVNR he never got actual chance to do anything) of that era. But, MKG was need of the hour. A more educated and economically stable and reliant society will understand the importance of Savarkar (this is the same reason again, why NM has such a great pull amongst middle class and upper class). He is usually perceived as arrogant by people of faith. MKG never had such problem. MKG was obstinate but was not perceived as arrogant by people. Savarkar's sharp intellectual rebuttals did both good and mostly bad for his political career. To give a crude analogy, MKG represents Bhaktimaarga, whereas Savarkar represents Jnanamaarga and karmamaarga.

MKG's Graama-Swarajya is sheer genius. But where were we placed in 1920s and 30s? A society like that (that poor and hungry and phucked up) will naturally gravitate towards MKG and not Savarkar.

I possess no respect for JLN at all. MKG is totally different altogether. One simply cannot hate MKG for long, even if one disagrees with him on all counts and spheres of life.

RajeshA wrote:The Colors of Hindu

Atri wrote:You see, RSS and HMS (Hindu MahaSabha) had some major differences in methodology of approaching problem - Similar to INC's Garam Dal and Naram dal (only difference being, unlike INC, none of them were compromised, it was genuine disagreement). The scenario and times were such that they shared a common cadre base and most of the workable definitions. But simply check the thoughts of Savarkar (and KP Jayaswal and Sitaram Goel and Ram Swarup and Francois Gautier etc) on Hindu sociopolity with that of Golwalkar and DD Upadhyay, Tarun Vijay, Govindacharya, MG Vaidya, Dattopant Thengdi etc. You will get the difference that I am talking about in the three posts that I cited above.

NM represents the resurgent Savarkaraite meme of HMS. He may not say so explicitly, but the cadre which backs him fervently is from that stream. Savarkaraite stream is that of Shivaji which is much more threatening to C-system than RSS (which belongs vaguely to stream of Peshwas). RSS was reigned in (and was amenable to reign itself in) on three occasions (1948, 1975, 1992). HMS was exterminated in 1948. In times and places where 1947 like conditions are approaching and are present, these two sword arms of Dharmik purusha will come together. In stable times, this is not the case always. This does not mean that there is clear antagonism between two. No, things are much more complicated than this.

Why do I think NM represents resurgence of Savarkaraite model of hindutva? Firstly, he is the only national leader within parivar who pays shraddhanjali to Savarkar on his birth and death anniversary. Secondly, he does not make a big deal out of emotive issues like cow-slaughter, temples etc. Remember Savarkar's thoughts on all this and you will see the difference. His recent decision encourage to train dalit children to be priests and be performed upanayanam upon, is in line of savarkar's vision of eradicating Varna-Bheda.

Now, those belonging to RSS school (Hedgewar/Golwalkar) of Hindutva are much more traditionalists (Sanatani people). Savarkar's school tends to thrash most of the traditions (temple worship, brahmin priest, cow-reverence etc) which traditionalists are attached to. Many people sympathizing with RSS (Hedgewar himself) opposed Savarkar's definition of Hindu (one who considers india as fatherland and holyland). RSS avoids this question.

Also, Savarkaraite model of Hindutva idolizes heroes. Shivaji, Sambhaji, Savarkar, Ram and krishna (as heroes, not devatas), Ranjit Singh, LKA (for some period in late 80s and early 90s) and now NM. RSS model of Hindutva desists from idolizing individuals. It avoids scenarios where people start rallying around a hero, than a cause OR institution. Whatever problem that some sections of RSS have with NM is precisely here. According to RSS, it is unwise to let individual rise so high that his fall results in fall of entire structure. Instead of having one tall figure, lets have million midgets, all of them thinking in right directions and taking small steps in coherence.
Atri ji your posts are as informative as ever. Recently in a private exchange I had a similar idea of "Hindutva Left" and "Hindutva Right" to RajeshA ji, though I used religious orgs as an example. I guess I need to read more about the different "currents" that already exist within Hindutva.

RamaY wrote: 1/ The current constitutional and political dispensation is not in the interests of Bharatiya Civilization. It is a compromise for given circumstances. But this has to be changed at the first opportunity.

2/ Such an opportunity comes when Hindu majority of Bharat conquers (a) Poverty (b) secularism (c) self-hatred
>> a) Poverty - Can be defeated using economic progress (with/without Govt help) and good governance at a national scale.
>> b) Secularism - Good governance. The behavior of Abrahamic followers in India will also be a factor.
All this is well and good, but it does not do anything to counter the primary means of maintaining colonial subjugation, which is vote rigging.

Atri wrote:MKG is one of the very important leaders of India, Rajesh ji.. I have immense respect for him.

I possess no respect for JLN at all. MKG is totally different altogether. One simply cannot hate MKG for long, even if one disagrees with him on all counts and spheres of life.
Atri ji,

your sentiments mirror mine as well.

What I meant to say was that Savarkar should get a recognition in India at least on par with that of Gandhi.

RamaY wrote:RajeshA garu

I think we all are agreeing on few things

1/ The current constitutional and political dispensation is not in the interests of Bharatiya Civilization. It is a compromise for given circumstances. But this has to be changed at the first opportunity.

3/ The real Bharatiya independence is achieved when Bharatiyas write their constitution, social contracts founded on true Hindu foundations. This is the ultimate goal.

IMO we are trying to debate step 3 in this thread. For that phase is the premise is that first 2 phases are complete, meaning all the participants of this debate must at least demonstrate that
a) They do not bring poverty and exploitation in to debate for their proposals (we already solved it in Phase 2.a)
b) Unnecessary == between various world faiths (we already solved it in Phase 2.b)
c) That all the people in the debate have right perspective on our history (especially the affects of Nastika schools, Bhakti/Kshatriya schools and Islamic and Christian colonialism) (which was addressed in Phase 2.c)

The real problem, IMHO, is that people make proposals in Phase 3 based on current situation, which will not be the initial condition to this phase in reality.

That is the main reason for the obvious 'cognitive dissonance' in this thread.

JMHT!
RamaY ji,

I proposed a "Progressive Liberation of the Rashtra".

We need an economic revival under Bharatiya leadership to kick-start this process and make the message and its introduction acceptable to the people. Without the economic upsurge, Bharatiya Nationalism cannot make a convincing case for itself becoming an intrinsic part of people's lives.

In 25 years one gets a new biological generation. In 10 years perhaps a new technological generation. Things are moving very quickly.

One doesn't have the luxury to think in centuries. I have heard people here say, we will deal with Pakistan in a century's time. It doesn't work out that way. One's detractors do not give one the luxury of time to prepare. If one loses one generation, one doesn't know what can happen to them - they can become Marxists, Macaulayites, Yuppies, Dhimmis or Islamists.

Even in the international arena, in a couple of decades Europe would be lost to Islam. Islam would have become the main religion in Russia and Israel. Islam's demographic bomb is ticking. China would have become even more aggressive.

We cannot afford to waste time in consolidating Bharat and putting forward the Dharmic Proposition for the world.

I sincerely hope that in 2014 the Bharatiyas do get a chance to change the course of history, because I am not sure how much time we have left and when this world would make a fight back too difficult.

From Pakistan we know that once a region goes out of one's grasp, it's difficult to get it back. India does not wish to be the sole saffron outpost in Eurasia with vast blots of dark green within.

So I am strongly in favor of getting our act together. A clear Bharatiya, Hindu and Dharmic proposition would go a long way in knowing where we are going and should go!

Minimum Age for Marriage & Consensual Sex

Continuing from "Indian Interests" Thread
There is going to be a lot of social churning around this question. It is best to lead the change through some insight, then be on back-foot trying to manage the repercussions.

So some suggestions:
  1. As soon as a girl or a boy are in a position to procreate, they should have already been provided with sufficient information and guidance on contraception. They should know about early pregnancies, consequences, sexual diseases, contraception, hygiene, etc. There is no need to bury one's head in the sand. It should be taught at school in uni-gender groups.
  2. Minimum age for marriage should remain 18. Only when the girls and boys are mature can they really make such decisions.
  3. In case of pregnancy, the girl should be allowed to marry the father of the unborn child, regardless of her age.
  4. As far as consensual sex goes, it is less important what the minimum age of the person is, what is far more important is what is age difference between those who have sex.

For example:
    • Between 12-13, age difference 1 year
    • Between 13-16, age difference 2 years
    • Between 16-18, age difference 3 years
    • Between 18-21, age difference 10 years
    • Between 21-25, age difference 15 years
    • After 25, does not matter
    If the age of the sex partner is more than these prescribed, then there should be punishments, because then it can be argued to be a case of exploitation of innocence of the other. If the older partner is above 18 there should imprisonment also, regardless of the fact whether there is a resulting pregnancy and/or decision to marry. The punishment should be based on the age difference above the maximum prescribed.
  5. Similarly for marriage also even though the minimum age is 18, one should still keep these requirements
    • Between 18-21, age difference of fiancee 10 years
    • Between 21-25, age difference of fiancee 15 years
    • After 25, does not matter
  6. Prostitution should not be allowed for girls below 21 years of age. They should be obligated to do regular health checkups. They should all insist upon contraception.
  7. What one doesn't want is 50 year old men marrying 6 year old girls.
  8. I think there is a need for an extra Samskara, besides the 16+ Samskaras one has in Sanatan Dharma. Before marriage instead of having a bachelor's or bachelorette's party (stag party), one could have a Samskara, where one cleanses oneself of feelings for others and makes oneself worthy for marriage!
JMTs

Manusmriti says
Chapter 9, Shalok 94 wrote:A man, aged thirty years, shall marry a maiden of twelve who pleases him, or a man of twenty-four a girl eight years of age; if (the performance of) his duties would (otherwise) be impeded, (he must marry) sooner.
Chapter 9, Shalok 98 wrote:Even a Sudra ought not to take a nuptial fee, when he gives away his daughter; for he who takes a fee sell his daughter, covering (the transaction by another name).
Shalok 94 tells us that the age difference is important, and the man could not be arbitrarily older than the girl.

RajeshA wrote:As soon as a girl or a boy are in a position to procreate, they should have already been provided with sufficient information and guidance on contraception. They should know about early pregnancies, consequences, sexual diseases, contraception, hygiene, etc. There is no need to bury one's head in the sand. It should be taught at school in uni-gender groups.
Yes, in a sex-ed program one can certainly dwell at length on various STDs with various graphic photos of deformed genital organs etc.

But what is being left out in all that is the effect on the emotional health of an individual of sex without any serious commitment.
Last edited by Pranav on 15 Mar 2013 19:49, edited 1 time in total.

RajeshA garu

If you notice I am not talking about timelines. Yes I suggested we need 2 decades of good governance. But the point of that post is that as and when the nation is ready and willing to write a new constitution, it will have a different perspective on majority of these issues we are running in circles about.

As a matter of fact the ground work for a new Constitution would be to remove these very wrong interpretations and perspectives and make the society ready to be a Hindu-identity based, Hindu-confident, Hindu-Assertive world view and future.

Bharatiyata & Social Policies

Economics
We have free market capitalism which leads to higher growth rates but also wealth inequality. The competition in the labor market, which pushes the wages lower.

We have socialism which leads to lower growth rates and insists on dividing the pie more equally. There is little competition and little motivation.

There are a few models in between.

What one needs in Bharat is a model which empowers the people the most, especially economically. Both government controlled Licence Raj as well as Corporate Consolidation inhibits people from exploiting fully their productive potential. So even though competition in the market is fierce, with a new idea, new service or a new product, a new entrant should have the ability to establish oneself.

What one should not have is a few corporations which own the whole market, e.g. in retail, and no new entrant has any chance of competing with them, so market consolidation should not be allowed unhindered. Entrepreneurship should be given maximum support.

Also the emphasis should be on self-employment, small and middle enterprises, etc. The big is beautiful is a message one one should try to curb.

The duty of the Rashtra is to provide a market environment which enables an easy entry into it either as entrepreneur or as a job seeker with one's success dependent mostly on one's merit.