Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Theo_Fidel wrote:India was unable to move beyond 1984 and the sikh question kept coming up again and again. It only now that the state and India has been able to move beyond. I think the majority did not care about that either.
TheoSar:
It took a LOT of gut and gore to settle to Sikh question.

India did not move beyond Bluestar still hasnt, but the media and all the secularists never cared about the riots of 1984. They lie conveniently buried and forgotten.

Read the article from the Tribune linked in this storify. In 1984 Army was on standby and asked to help, but was told to back off till 4000 were murdered.

http://storify.com/Victor_47/modi-face- ... uslim-veto

You will immediately get into an argument about how NM has untrammeled power in GJ. Quick answer me this , how many portfolios does NM hold in GJ. I suspect most NM supporters do not know the answer to this question. It used to be the top 10, but now IIRC it is merely the top 6. NM has not just marginalized the opposition, he has even marginalized the BJP and the RSS.

This is not the American model either. I think it is closest to a Chinese model with Indian characteristics.

Funny. There was a time when TOI was bashing Modi for being anti-Kurian (dairy guy) because Kurien asked Modi why his govt. too big. And now you hold him in contempt because his govt. was small?
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes ... revolution

Heads I win, Tails you lose.

Face it Theo Sar, there is a huge amount of intellectual dishonesty & double standards when it comes to dealing with Modi.

And when it comes from a patriot like you, it scares me what may be going on for those who are on the other end of the pendulum.

Theo_Fidel wrote:The problem with the GJ model is 2002. Every time Modi brings up GJ, 2002 will up.

This is why I have said he needs to articulate a model for India, speak to economic and social requirements. Don't bring up the GJ model at all, everyone knows what it is. Talk about what his plan for a India would be. Esp. an India that still looks a little skeptically at Neta's promising the moon.
Bhai, you have been going all over this forum flapping your lungi desperately trying to score a point against NaMo. Either you are deaf or you are Hahakar Patel in disguise if you did not find NaMo talking about a model for India in his IT conclave speech.

You have a problem when he brings the GJ model and when he doesn't people like you will lift your lungis and say he is promising the moon.
Theo_Fidel wrote:India was unable to move beyond 1984 and the sikh question kept coming up again and again. It only now that the state and India has been able to move beyond. I think the majority did not care about that either.

You will immediately get into an argument about how NM has untrammeled power in GJ. Quick answer me this , how many portfolios does NM hold in GJ. I suspect most NM supporters do not know the answer to this question. It used to be the top 10, but now IIRC it is merely the top 6. NM has not just marginalized the opposition, he has even marginalized the BJP and the RSS.
People have moved on from 2002. They see & have got a closure. 1984, not sure, what is the closure on 1984?
This is not the American model either. I think it is closest to a Chinese model with Indian characteristics.
Yes, Modi is a dictator, Hitler & he will eat young babies if he comes to power. Aak thoo.

Images via kanchan gupta who attributes them to AP.
https://twitter.com/KanchanGupta/status ... 68/photo/1
https://twitter.com/KanchanGupta/status ... 44/photo/1

Seems like these protests are the usual eelam protests, more than anything about srilankan tamil rights.

Protests are about the rajiv gandhi killer Prabhakaran, his son and about a seperate eelam in sri lanka.

Even after 1984 elections Congress continued to win Punjab state elections, even congress MPs kept winning from Punjab, even Delhi sikhs continued to vote for congress, I remember in Delhi Keerti Nagar, Moti Nagar areas Madan Lal Khurana was out in streets to save sikhs, but later BJP people used to admit still sikhs didn't vote for them in coming years.............

Sanjay Gandhi has samadhi with nehru, indira and rajiv although he was not even a Prime Minister ever, while for Prime Minister Charan Singh , Ajit Singh had to bring truckloads of farmers to fight with rajiv gandhi so charan Singh can be given a place there too.

The point is we have Dynastic System worse and most outdated then all other systems, but do majority of people in this country make this issue? No rahul gandhi son of ex-pm rajiv gandhi, grandson of ex-pm indira , great-grandson of ex-pm nehru gets to be first general secretary then vice-president of congress , while his mother the d in law of indira, wife of rajiv is the president. Are people making an issue of it?

So American model (Chinese model doesn't come in picture as Modi wins by election) is an improvement over this DYNASTIC SYSTEM !!! If Rajiv Roberto Gandhi can hold both Defence and PM post then it becomes a number issue, rajiv is ok to hold 2 or 3 portfolios while Modi can't hold 6? who will decide that 2 is ok but 6 is bad? Not that people are even aware, they just see Gujarat has no corruption while Dravid Munetra Kadadham dynasty family azhagiri, stalin, karunanidhi are corrupt to core, dynastic to the core , yes worse than American model, still they get voted.

So these matters don't cross aam nagrik's mind, even if Evangelist Jihadi Funded NGOs, con-media raise these matters , it'll go over voter's head, in fact it shows the partiality that 2G scams, Coal-gate, Augusta westland vs. no corruption in GJ and the desperation to show that Modi holds so many portfolios.

Manish_Sharma wrote:Even after 1984 elections Congress continued to win Punjab state elections, even congress MPs kept winning from Punjab, even Delhi sikhs continued to vote for congress, I remember in Delhi Keerti Nagar, Moti Nagar areas Madan Lal Khurana was out in streets to save sikhs, but later BJP people used to admit still sikhs didn't vote for them in coming years.............
Somehow the Congressias were able to sell to the Sikhs that the "Hindus" (aka Hindutvavadis) were responsible for the 1984 massacres and to the Hindus in Punjab, that Congress was "Hindu" and had their interests at heart, especially after the whole Khalistan movement.

The media, beauracary, cinema, INC could pull such tricks. I think people are more educated now to falll for such tricks.

educated by whom??? JNU and other such universities? or paid media. Only internet is left and some media houses like Piooneer etc. Entire info people getting day in and day out is lies. But for internet people are not informed but brainwashed. Otherwise nothing explains the UPA-2

Narayana Rao wrote:educated by whom??? JNU and other such universities? or paid media. Only internet is left and some media houses like Piooneer etc. Entire info people getting day in and day out is lies. But for internet people are not informed but brainwashed. Otherwise nothing explains the UPA-2
Obviously nations which are happy with non-transparent voting deserve to get kicked around.

UPA-3 / Khichdi sarkar will also happen unless a suitable BJP leader can be found who will cater to foreign interests.

IBNlive is reporting that DMK has demanded "International independent Investigation" in 2G scam. WTF??

DMK is expected to join back Govt within a week.

Sushupti wrote:DMK is expected to join back Govt within a week.
And what is the Quid pro quo?

Sachin wrote:
And what is the Quid pro quo?
Election preparation and undo 2G damage among TN people and get ready to enjoy UPA-3

they better or they can expect the top brass leaders like Azhagiri to go behind bars. For all of Amma's fury and retribution the congress danda was what kept them safe. a la Jagan.

Dr Artiste knows he doesnt have much time and his party will break the minute he departs. He wants to leave behind a legacy and do this quitting from UPA even if it brings about CBI probes and Madurai king going behind bars. People will not blame him when he is gone. We have to wait and watch what his planning has been.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Theo_Fidel wrote:The problem with the GJ model is 2002. Every time Modi brings up GJ, 2002 will up.
Majority population doesn't care about 2002, neither they appreciate nor they condemn Modi jee for it.
2002 is one more riot in the sorry history of Bharath because of Cong appeasement politics. The sickulars are crying hoarse this time because the other side showed its muscle in 2002

MARCHING BACKWARDS By N.V. Subramanian
MARCHING BACKWARDS
With foes like Nitish Kumar, Narendra Modi scarcely needs friends. :mrgreen:
By N.V. Subramanian (18 March 2013)

New Delhi: As Narendra Modi consolidates his national position, his rival, Bihar’s Nitish Kumar, is falling behind, getting shrill, and making mistakes. The extension of Nitish Kumar’s “Adhikar Yatra” to Delhi, resulting in a show of force of 50,000 of the Bihar chief minister’s supporters from the Capital and elsewhere, was a tactical misstep. Delhi understands the power of numbers but of a different kind, the quantum of Lok Sabha seats won, and Nitish Kumar is vulnerable there. He is scarcely his own man, being head of a coalition government in Bihar which has the Bharatiya Janata Party as the principal partner. Rather than nesting with the bird in hand, metaphorically speaking, Nitish Kumar is chasing phantom Aves in the poison bush.

Sadly for him, Nitish Kumar has lost his way.

In contrast, Narendra Modi is working the ropes organically. Whilst Nitish Kumar has drafted perfumed networkers like N.K.Singh and Pawan Verma to open doors in Delhi, Modi is his own ambassador, letting no one and nothing beyond his work to speak on his behalf. A friend casually informed this writer of Aajtak channel’s breathtaking build-up of Modi in the past week, and not being a television-watcher, there was only his lavish praise to go by. The friend is not a journalist but in the corporate sector, sensitive and as middle-class as you and I, and concerned about the country’s precipitate decline under Sonia Gandhi and Manmohan Singh. He couldn’t cease in his laudation of Narendra Modi’s spectacular achievement.

Do you think the Gujarat chief minister has somehow managed and manipulated this rapid rise outside his state?

Not a chance.

Modi is on his own. Neither is the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangha assisting him nor the Vishwa Hindu Parishad, and certainly not the Central leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party. To look for orthodox reasons for his wondrous growth is to court bewilderment and defeat. Narendra Modi has done what has to be done in Gujarat, he craves to do more, and that is his sole advertisement. He doesn’t need to show force with a rally in Ramlila Ground to prove his worth. His work speaks for him.

On the other hand, Nitish Kumar has reached a plateau. After Laloo Prasad Yadav, he represents a change. He has improved law-and-order in Bihar and incentivized girls’ education; highway and road connectivity within the state is praiseworthy. But electricity and water shortages are endemic, and the state has been unable to recover from the separation of industrialized and mineral-rich Jharkhand. Yet, the solution is not special status. If any province needs extra care and attention, for being so wronged and blighted by history, it is West Bengal. If Bengal returns to high growth and prosperity, and Calcutta flourishes once again as a major port city, the rising tide will lift Bihar, Orissa, Eastern Uttar Pradesh and the North East. It cannot be gainsaid, however, that Bihar needs to stand on its feet, and be responsible for its future. No amount of special funding will help. Indeed, doles will dissuade Bihar from undertaking the struggles that bring success.

India’s salvation lies in turning more and more entrepreneurial, in becoming the cat of all colour, culture, caste and creed, to twist Deng Xiaoping’s famous aphorism, which catches the mice. India needs to manufacture not just to supply to the vast domestic market, but to become a net exporter to the world, which Narendra Modi’s political economic genius will make happen. Modi’s success does not come from textbooks of economics, in which case Manmohan Singh should have been a grand success, not the gross failure he is. Narendra Modi’s model is the Gujarati/ Indian prototype of self-help and self-respect{Here is the simple definition of NaMo/Gujarat Model for S.TN-vasis}, whereas Nitish Kumar bases his politics on whingeing. Indians will sacrifice for a good cause, but Nitish Kumar has metamorphosed into a scary and repulsive redistributionist. Bihar is not the first state to be discriminated by the United Progressive Alliance regime at the Centre. Look at J.Jayalalithaa’s Tamil Nadu or Punjab or Karnataka. Gujarat is the particular target of the Centre’s step-motherly treatment. It is denied natural gas, a fair share of coal, but manages splendidly by raising its own resources and by innovation. What prevents Nitish Kumar from doing the same?

If Nitish Kumar wants to truck with the Congress, that is his call. If he ends up a political cipher like Laloo Yadav, he is to blame. If he breaks with the Bharatiya Janata Party in Bihar, he faces ruin. But like it or not, Narendra Modi is on a winning track. India is getting around to accepting the idea of Modi as prime minister. If Nitish Kumar wants to be part of the trend, that is to the good. If not, he should prepare for a life in the political wilderness{Same advise for S.TN-vasis}. It may even make him sensible.

BJP needs to impress upon people everywhere that a vote for a party not in NDA is a vote for Congress - SP, BSP, RJD, etc...

From Abhishek_Sharma's transalation of Mahasamar by Narendra Kholi
Krishna: I love everyone, but I am not attached to anyone. I am only attached to dharma. I know that if Yadavs achieve more success, it will neither benefit them nor dharma. Don't think about love narrowly. Love is different from moh or attachment. That is why I say that only those people are suitable to rule others who are not attached to power or luxury. People should rule to establish dharma and they should be willing to sacrifice everything for it. I don't think anyone is more qualified than dharmaraj to handle this responsibility.

Fits PVNR to a tee. Totally nishkama karma despite all the scams that were foisted on him.

ramana wrote:From Abhishek_Sharma's transalation of Mahasamar by Narendra Kholi
Krishna: I love everyone, but I am not attached to anyone. I am only attached to dharma. I know that if Yadavs achieve more success, it will neither benefit them nor dharma. Don't think about love narrowly. Love is different from moh or attachment. That is why I say that only those people are suitable to rule others who are not attached to power or luxury. People should rule to establish dharma and they should be willing to sacrifice everything for it. I don't think anyone is more qualified than dharmaraj to handle this responsibility.

Fits PVNR to a tee. Totally nishkama karma despite all the scams that were foisted on him.
There were articles by PVRK Prasad, his media advisors about how he had to take loans from others for his medical and legal bills, at the end of his days. The thing was all that corruption was for filling congress party coffers, not his personal.

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/121224/n ... laims-book
Last edited by Virupaksha on 19 Mar 2013 22:15, edited 1 time in total.

Virupakhsa can you dig up those articles please?

ramana wrote:Virupakhsa can you dig up those articles please?
I remember to have read those articles in swati telugu magazine, where PVRK prasad had a column running describing his various tenures as an IAS officer under various regimes. He also had a book "asalem jarigindante", i.e. what really happened.

His penury is mentioned below by PVRK.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/121224/n ... laims-book
According to P.V.R.K. Prasad, soon after obtaining a clean chit in the JMM cash for votes scam from the Supreme Court, the former PM had asked him to help him to find a buyer for his house in Jubilee Hills. The book quotes PV as saying, “I still owe lawyers lakhs of rupees.

I am afraid I may die without paying my dues to the lawyers”. However, Prasad notes in the last line of the book that PV ‘passed away on December 23, 2004, even before I could arrange the sale of the house’.
Even Vir Sanghvi here says the same.
http://www.rediff.com/news/jan/04vir.htm
Colleagues say that it was the Harshad Mehta episode that was the turning point. Nobody in Indian politics seriously disputes that Rao took the suitcase. But there were two saving graces. One, the money was not a bribe; it went straight to treasurer Sitaram Kesri who used it for a by-election in Punjab. And two, fortunately for Rao, Harshad got the date wrong.

Rao seems to have been perturbed that nobody took his side during this crisis, even those who knew that the money was a party contribution.

His personal conflicts with his sons over the same issue.
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?201598
Narasimha Rao was shocked to see the suitcase with Rs 2 lakh in crisp currency notes that Ranga carried about with him on his mission. He was quick to admonish his errant son. He asked him to stop his ridiculous campaign and return the money to whoever gave it to him. It is not known what Ranga did with the money, but Reddy was ousted and Narasimha Rao replaced him as chief minister in September 1971.

It was not Ranga alone who had problems with his father. Rajeshwar Rao, the second son who is now a Lok Sabha MP, also went through a patch in the '70s when he was alienated from his father. The misunderstanding was over a petty sum of few thousands which Rajeshwar had collected for the party and which Narasimha Rao felt he had not handed over to him. The two did not speak to each other for almost two years.

http://d.scribd.com/ScribdViewer.swf?do ... 4i0&page=1

For those who read telugu, there is an article by PVRK on narasimha Rao and Chandra Swami.

Free translation, all mistakes mine with apologies to PVRK
http://d.scribd.com/ScribdViewer.swf?do ... 4i0&page=1

Title: PV in 'Chandra'jal

The 'magic-mantra-tantra' specialist Chandraswami who was said to be very close to Prime Minister, PV cornered me with questions.

"How much did I do for PV? You know that right! How can he now do this? How can he leave me to my fate? Is this justice?...." said ChandraSwami who was known as Godman. I stood there speechless and helpless to answer him.

What really happened...

There have been many critics and explanations for the relations between Chandraswami and PV. In this regard, I had the oppurtunity to understand more than many others. C also was from hyderabad, so his acquaintance with PV was not from today.

PV by nature never kept anyone far nor anyone near... He used to listen to anyone and anything. But he used to do what he wanted to do. Also he did not have the habit of going out of the way to help anyone.

However right from the start, he had a bit. Even if he didnt do anything, he didnt care if somebody did anything using his name. However he used to make sure that everyone knows that he did not have anything to do with it, if others did anything with his name, it is their responsibility and he will not support.

How many can we stop? All we have to do is to make sure everyone knows that if others uses his name, he did not have responsibility. He was a little shy. He never use harsh tone to say to some one not to come to him. Due to this one criticism was even if somebody used his name, he did not keep them seperate.

When he was PM, his reply when some of his family used his name was "They are responsible for their own fate. I will not criticize nor support them. If they get caught, they will be responsible for the fate. I will not interfere. However from my side, sometimes keep given ads in papers that 'I did not give right to use my name. If somebody uses it, people should not get cheated and I will not be responsible' ".

I used to give such ads in the paper.

With regard to C, the criticism on PV was of this nature. How did this C person needed to be given such priority by PV?

My acquaintance with C started when for Ayodhya deal, some swamijis were to be joined into a newly started ram temple construction institution. It grew more during the PM's US trip.

US trip of PM was important. The roots of reform were still being sown. There was a huge requirement for FDI. Our doing reform was one step, that FDI would come by keeping faith in us was another.

Politically US was near to Pakistan while we were close to RUssia. Even though following Nehru, we were non-aligned- with respect to US we were close to Soviet Union.

During PV's regime, the antimony in the relationship was brought to a neutral level. For investment, that was not sufficient, it would come only if the situation became favorable.

There is a lot of difference between US and India's politics. Even though both are democracies, in US there was open influence on politics and politicians by industrialists, investors and business men.

The system in US was that every country had to spend money to get lobbying company which was selected to used as an inbetween them and the US leaders. This was the responsibility of the local embassy.

PV had experience as foreign minister. He believed that even though embassy was good for some thing, for these things he did not have belief on the embassy.

Even if a lobby was selected, there was a doubt whether it would be effective for the money spent. Even then a lobbyist was selected.

PV's wish was to have a chat with US president Clinton in a very good environment and create a firm stamp on Indo-US relations.

He tried to do somethings separately. He sent some ministers, some MPs and some industrialists. He called me, gave me their details and said "I told them to contact you. I told them that if they bring anybody to meet me, you will be arrange it with me". The list was short and C was one of them!

1-2 of them met me and arranged to meet 1-2 US elite. in Houston, and Washington, C brought another two and gave PM a very busy schedule. I got around 30 industrialists, 16 of them in Fortune 500, 8 senators and 8 former senators and few others to meet him.

Everybody else including Embassy, lobbyist were one step, while C alone was quite another. Due to this PM's US trip's picture completely changed. There was a considerable influence on US-India relations.

Our embassy failed to get PM's family members and Clinton's wife hillary for a dinner. C stepped in at the last minute. I dont know how he did it using his connection. One thing became clear that he had relations with the very elite of US.

After some days, C in half knowing telugu said, "Please tell PV that we should arrange our rooms when there is light. He cannot sit outside without touching anything. If he stands like a bystander, he will get into trouble, and those who are his 'team' will also. During VP Singh's regime, there was an attempt to defame me. In some, even PV was dragged.

We can do anything only as long as we are in power. I already said to him 2-3 times. He doesnt seem to care. Please remaind him once again."

I mentioned the above to PV saying that C seems to be sympathetic.

PV said,"He said the same thing to you as well. He is eating my brain. That we got power is not for us getting better and richer, it is to do something to the country.... He has so many wishes. We can do 1-2 which dont harm anyone. If we start doing such things for his or our selfishness, what will be the difference between us and others?"

"So what should I tell if he asks once again."

"Say that you brought it to my attention and that I will take it into consideration."

I told C the same thing. C showed frustration.

"If he keeps doing this, our time will be lost. Even if we tell him he will not do. It is not now when he is PM, I know when he was CM 20 years ago- He will not do for himself and will not do for us.

See Indira Gandhi. For her coterie and her people, she gave the choicest positions of power. Without even going to her, their work and their people's work used to be got done.

Even when power is lost, for her and for her family, many people are ready to do stuff even today. What can I say about this man, there is no one for him even when he is in power! Is power permanent? He will know when he loses it. For that reason, people like you should give him advice at right oppurtunity. I am telling it for his benefit only...", C said harshly.

I said, "I will tell PM one more time."

I mentioned this to PM during a holiday morning.

"What he said is very very true. They used to do that in that fashion also! However, for whatever reason, I never had any interest in that. I never got into the habit of showing the difference between you and I. Except God, there is no one to do anything for us. If we have fruit of fate (Praptam), it will happen otherwise it will not. That we can think somebody is ours is only an emotion. I learnt it the hard way in politics that no one is ours. That is why I always go according to my heart irrespective of what others think.

He wants to get officers in positions according to his wishes and using them, he wants to gain control. He want some IAS officer as Enforcement Department Director. What are these IAS officers, man? Those who got posting due to him, will they not listen to his wishes? How can such gluttony be their at such senior levels? He has mentioned his name four times, I didnt listen. He is trying to get him through you.

However, however, he has the ability and cleverness to do some things which we cant do officially but which are necessary for our country politically. For that reason, we have to maintain our relations with him. However given a chance, he can eat temple and the shiva lingam with it. So we should make sure that we get from him only which are absolutely necessary.

Wherever possible, which can be done legally, we should do for him. Rest we should skip those which we dont want to do and those which we should be doing... Never say that we wont be doing something directly." PV said.

In 1996, after PV govt fell within few weeks, situation changed. C got stuck in CBI cases and PV along with him became an accused. Everything went according to what C forewarned.

C became an accused in St. Kitts case. According to that day's situation, PV was also fixed into that case. C and PV were also cornered in Lakhu bhai cheating case. These cases hit C pretty hard.

He was more beaten because these cases when there was popular press going around saying that C and PV were close.

The accusation in St. Kitts was that - in 1988-89, during Rajiv Gandhi govt, PV was the foreign minister and Rajiv's main opposition was VP Singh. There were forged documents in VP Singh son's name, Ajay Singh saying that "In carrabian islands in St. Kitts Island, first trust Corp bank, he opened an account with 21 million dollars". The accusation was that with these forged documents, it was attempted to show that VP Singh was the beneficiary.

CBI accused PV, his minister KK Tiwari, C whose real name was Nemichand Jain, his private secretary, KN Agarwal in that case. The case was registered in 1990 may. However the pressure to prosecute PV and others only increase in 1996.

In the second case, London resident Lakhubhai Pathak accused that C and his private secretary KN Agarwal cheated him for 1 lakh dollars in the name of PV. That he was promised help in supplying India paper juice and for that he spent 30,000 dollars on C and KN and so he dragged them all to court.

During these times, one day I met C accidentally. He questioned me.

"Did you see? He didnt listen to me. Now he is running around courts along with me. If he did what I said, wouldnt he not have got into this state?" C said. There was clear anger and frustration in his tone.

I got a doubt at that time. It is true, regarding these cases, if PV thought, he could have changed records to make sure that his and C's name would not be in any records. Why didnt he do it?
1) I didnt do anything wrong, is it his honesty to ask why should he be doing this wrong thing now?
2) Is it his karma siddanta of believing, whatever will happen will anyway happen and who are we to stop it.
3)Is it his attribute of standing firm even in the face of a cyclone?
4) Is it his lack of courage where even though he wanted to get these cases kicked out?

From 1972, when PV was CM and I was working as his personal secretary, till his last breadth, my relation with him, I gained some understanding of PV's working. It is definitely the first.

(In all the cases, PV was acquitted.)

Stalin hand in exit

G.C. SHEKHAR
Chennai, March 19: DMK leader M. Karunanidhi’s hand was forced by three factors that came into play after his parleys with a UPA team on Monday night.

During his talks with the three Union ministers, Karunanidhi himself had suggested a resolution in Parliament against Lanka. He had contended that such a move would satisfy the DMK’s political compulsions since it had been accused of being a silent witness to the final war in Lanka against the LTTE in 2009 in which over 40,000 Tamils had been killed.

But after the Congress team left Karunanidhi’s residence, he was buttonholed by his son and party treasurer M.K. Stalin for two hours.

Stalin insisted that only a DMK pullout would restore credibility to the party’s line on Lanka and that he would not settle for anything less. As he will be spearheading the DMK’s Lok Sabha campaign in 2014, Stalin felt any association with a weak and unpopular Congress would only be detrimental at the hustings, especially in view of the recent spurt in public anger in Tamil Nadu against the Centre’s inaction on Sri Lanka.

Second, Karunanidhi learnt on Tuesday morning that the US had diluted its resolution against Sri Lanka considerably, suggesting only an internal inquiry instead of an international and independent probe into alleged human rights violations.

Third, there was no mention about a parliamentary resolution in Sonia Gandhi’s speech to the Congress parliamentary party. The DMK veteran felt let down and called a hurried meeting where it was decided to move out of the UPA.

“We cannot accept the Indian government allowing the dilution of the US resolution against Sri Lanka at the UNHRC and its continued refusal to heed the amendments suggested by us. Under these circumstances, it would cause great harm to the Tamil race if we continued to be part of the Union government and the UPA,” Karunanidhi said.

But he had left some room for manoeuvre in the morning by stating the party would reconsider its decision if the Centre introduced the resolution in Parliament and supported an independent probe into war crimes.

DMK cadres celebrated by bursting crackers and distributing sweets, exactly what they had done in March 2011 when the DMK had announced its decision to quit the UPA after trouble over seat-sharing with the Congress ahead of the Assembly elections. Eventually, the DMK had to eat humble pie and accept the Congress’s demand for 63 seats.

Since the DMK’s recent past is strewn with examples of flip-flops whenever it has threatened the Centre with a pullout, it remains to be seen if it will travel the entire distance this time.

The party’s executive, which meets on March 25, is expected to take the final call on lending outside support.

Personally, Karunanidhi feels that remaining with the Congress would prove beneficial in a Lok Sabha election. But Stalin and others want the party to tie up with Vijayakanth’s DMDK.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1130320/j ... UkGtRe7IR0

Virupaksha ji,
I can read telugu but many thanks for the link and its translation - went straight to my web clipper.

Deep new insights into a PM few really KNEW .

Manish_Sharma wrote:Even after 1984 elections Congress continued to win Punjab state elections, even congress MPs kept winning from Punjab, even Delhi sikhs continued to vote for congress, I remember in Delhi Keerti Nagar, Moti Nagar areas Madan Lal Khurana was out in streets to save sikhs, but later BJP people used to admit still sikhs didn't vote for them in coming years.............
Somehow the Congressias were able to sell to the Sikhs that the "Hindus" (aka Hindutvavadis) were responsible for the 1984 massacres and to the Hindus in Punjab, that Congress was "Hindu" and had their interests at heart, especially after the whole Khalistan movement.
Rajesh ji it was such a mystery for me too in Delhi all the way from Moti Nagar, Patel Nagar to Tilak Nagar I had many Sikh friends and many more aquaintances who would go in fits of anger at the mention of rajiv, indira or dynasty but for some reason won't be very supportive of BJP, after few years they openly started saying on the lines of "I voted for congress...... because of good canditate....." but won't give even verbal praise to BJP or even Khurana. This has been such a puzzle for me.

Second part is spot on, most of my relatives are in congress camp in punjab while very few in BJP camp.

Cross post ----

LTTE is resposible in killing our Ex PM and the present shouts are all from the same gangs which are long time supporters of LTTE. It is the most brutal of terror gangs for decades. Tamilnadu politicos from DMK all have no national or civilizational feeling of anykind. If any one AIDMK is only somewhat better but DMK is totally against any civilizational link with rest of India. I went to Sriramgam resently and DMK people installed Periyar statue infront of the Temple. Do you really think that they have respect of feelings Hindus??? What about Buddists in India who may have brotherly feelings about Srilanka what should they do??? They also start fighting on the streets.

Ligvistic Chavenisum of Tamil politicos is created an isolated area from which most of the people can not come out and live. For Tamil politicos of DMK and other gangs of their kind their language politics and Srilankan drama is only an emotional issue which is to be milked to the maximim extent at every election time.

Last 15 years of Indian politics has seen DMK managing to be in power in NDA and then in UPA and looking every ministry they have given. Ministers of DMK are most currupt of the currupt gang in UPA I and II. Their family is perhaps next richest after Italina mafia gang in India.

Just now in the afternoon I was driving in the road. There is a big poster in which Cheguvera, Nathaji Subhash Chandra bose and Prabhkarans son were all shown together. What more can be said about this sick minds.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

^^ The only hope is that the Great Leader will kick the bucket soon and DMK will disintegrate
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

Rajesh ji it was such a mystery for me too in Delhi all the way from Moti Nagar, Patel Nagar to Tilak Nagar I had many Sikh friends and many more aquaintances who would go in fits of anger at the mention of rajiv, indira or dynasty but for some reason won't be very supportive of BJP, after few years they openly started saying on the lines of "I voted for congress...... because of good canditate....." but won't give even verbal praise to BJP or even Khurana. This has been such a puzzle for me.

Second part is spot on, most of my relatives are in congress camp in punjab while very few in BJP camp.
This is the stockholme syndrome. Look at the number of Kashmiri Pandits who have become Hindu baiters and blindly support Muslims. Traumatised people with wet dhotis try their best to side with the thugs for safety.

Regarding PVNR, I was fortunate to meet him when I was quite young. He was not PM then. Distently related to us. He was some Cabinet Minister at Delhi at that time. He came to our House after visiting a local political leader who has a house next to us (we sold that house to him) and to inogarate a Kalyana Mandapam at my native place. First thing he said to my father is to change place of Mirror in the Hall. ha ha ha. he was there for few minutes and left. Some of household staff in Delhi is from our place and they all tell how simple etc was his conduct. Otherthings like money by his kids etc later.

Listen to @smarket Deepak Singh speak in English and Hindi as a simple, concerned BJP supporter

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/22389366/state ... blemds.mp3

Sushupti wrote:Image
At this point who really knows...If Nitish leaves he will eventually be chewed up by the same Congress and Lalu types. If he doesn't chances are his party will slowly cede ground to BJP but he will get a nice cabinet post.

Mulayam Is supposed to be biding his time to stop supporting the UPA govt per Hind Times.
Maybe after May11 TSP elections they will pull this govt down.
Could lead to instability in govt with a firm govt in TSP.
Same as during 1999 Kargil.

The pressure is on.

so the congress bureau of investigation did its master's bidding, what's new?
member_23658

Post by member_23658 »

whoa, thats pretty stupid of the CONgress ! DMK seemed to be ready for reconcilliation but this will definately harden their stand. seems to me like a strong case of vinasha kaale viparita buddhi

@ibnlive
I strongly disapprove of CBI raid on Stalin: Chidambaram