prahaar wrote:I would be interested to see if you have any pointer to substantiate your claim about NM repelling one vote for gaining another vote. About his electoral winnability; 50% vote percentage is NOT needed in most assembly and parliamentary seats. I agree to the fact that his model governance is disruptive to the existing power structure in India, which relies on thekedars of vote based on minority status, sub-identities, etc. The political model is more like Labour gang leaders negotiating with a contractors on which site he will take his gang. The gang leader only has to deliver a bottle of liquor by EOD, he will not take the labour gang to a contractor that demands more disciplined work but compensates with a day-care for the labourer's children. That is the sad state of affairs, but that does not mean if someone is try to bypass these self-serving gang leaders is not desirable.
NM vote is also based on identity politics. So far I have seen no over arching theme or idea all can subscribe to. He attracts a certain type of Indian, not all.
While GJ is put up there as a ideal model so far not a single other state has been willing to sign up. Those of us who have gone to look at the details come back a little perplexed WRT the claims being made. I think NM should be careful before taking all the credit for the people of his hard working state. There is still a heck of a lot of work remaining to be done in GJ.

Calling the politics of others with unprintable names only guarantees more negative vibes.
------------------------------

SwamyG,

Then why did you say ..a good read before...
That implies the writer lost his way at the end.

Still I don't disagree with you that in his zeal to demonize NM government he did seem to throw the baby out with the bath water.

He does have a point however that NM is using his personal power to force through development, a la China. Some of us have noted this before. It remains to be seen how effective this will be.

Theo_Fidel wrote: NM vote is also based on identity politics. So far I have seen no over arching theme or idea all can subscribe to. He attracts a certain type of Indian, not all.
While GJ is put up there as a ideal model so far not a single other state has been willing to sign up. Those of us who have gone to look at the details come back a little perplexed WRT the claims being made. I think NM should be careful before taking all the credit for the people of his hard working state. There is still a heck of a lot of work remaining to be done in GJ.

Calling the politics of others with unprintable names only guarantees more negative vibes.
Yes, his politics is based on identity which is the broadest category I have seen in Indian politics. Sabka Saath, Sabka vikaas, India First, the only reason some people do not like it is that it is devoid of any appeasement of special treatment. His track record in Gujarat is not without social upliftment schemes.

Your response does not add any more information than your own preferences. Please elaborate on what type of Indians he attracts? Is there any politician who attracts ALL individuals in his political domain? Do not raise straw-man criteria and to try and justify your claims. Modi has always mentioned that there is a lot of work to be done, it is work-in-progress, if you do not dig data with proper care, you will find what you want.

Please mention "who are those of us" and what data you have seen, before I even try to indulge your claims. The statement I made about the dirty politics of using sub-identities, I see the same sentiment in your post about NM's politics.

What is bad in my example of bad politics? Is it inaccurate, it does not happen in India? Is the type of politics I mentioned not prevalent in large parts?

If you do not have the time to respond to my post, at least respond to the question in bold.

^^ The ones whose loyalties lie with their ancestors, their ways and within the confines of India.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 924768.cms

Brown Saheb - Amethya Sen continue his rant against Indian opposition parties and continue leftist ideas on free food and destroction of Indian economy. All the major press fellows are going to town with leftist ideas.

Narayana Rao wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 924768.cms

Brown Saheb - Amethya Sen continue his rant against Indian opposition parties and continue leftist ideas on free food and destroction of Indian economy. All the major press fellows are going to town with leftist ideas.
And note many of the Newspapers, Journos, NGO spend foreign holidays and have deep foreign connections.

It is the Indian People who vote UPA, many in India benefit from them like Govt Babus to Agents commission agents. Everybody takes advantage of this and will keep us backward.

Theo ji,

A large part of the reason for not catering to every taste is that it truly cannot be done. 20% of Indian Janata is 'minority' who may or may not at different times have the same priorities. The the East has only recently opened up. South still remains an enigma for most. It makes sense not to force certain considerations on these states and instead to work with local leaders. This coalition arrangement is working fine or has worked great, in Punjab, Bihar and Bengal will most likely subscribe to it. TN itself will be happy to work on the national level with somebody they can trust. Trust will per force require BJP and NM to back off, out of avoidable friction and instead to focus on opening up new pastures. I would rather they not claim to be the panacea for special cases within India.

The Gujarat model can work in west and north easily and will have to be adapted for use in other parts. There is an element of wager involved too, though with the condiment of track record to make it palatable. A challenge on the details right now has its corollary in a simplistic view of this continent sized country. 'One size fits all' attitude is what drives your criticism of the Chicoms on your threads. Why do you want to force fit NM into this failed model.

NM is fit for the national role. His track record suggests he is above fear and favour. And if despite the track record we fail in him, then perhaps there is no need to be worked up in the first place since it would all be ==.

By the way what is Gujarath Model??? The word Gujarath model is being used in insultingly by INC paid media and people like Katju, Amathya US Sen and other traitor leftists and alleging that Modi sold his state to Big Businesswalas.

But no one is ready to discribed what is this Model???

Modi simply told that with the same files, same office, same working conditions, same staff etc still development is possible. He time and again told the same thing. I think he is mainly saying that there should be WILL for doing something good. That alone make growth possible. When there is will there will be all other things possible.

Theo_Fidel wrote: NM vote is also based on identity politics. So far I have seen no over arching theme or idea all can subscribe to. He attracts a certain type of Indian, not all.
Not picking on Theo_Fidel, but wanted to comment on this idea, since its bandied about quite freely.

IMO NM's model is the only one I see which is not based on identity politics. I am actually of the belief that his is the only truly secular vision that I have seen from anyone at his level.

Seperate his personal beliefs from his responsibilities as a public servant. Point it out if they interfered in his assumed duties. His model is based on the belief that everyone has equal rights, ergo, no pampering and no societal divisions which have been the bane of us. That dastardly virus was sired by some one else. The dynastic Congress being the queen bee and now milked by sickular credentialed goons.

NM will attract the hindutva crowd for multiple reasons (none of which are because he bestowed any favors to that crowd).

As for a lot of work that remains to be done...sure absolutely and theres no point beyond that. Just for kicks, can anyone show one state which doesnt.

Regardless of what NM does the Media crowd will keep the hatred for him blowing especially amoung minorities, any reform in education will be called saffronisation of education.

They will try and organize Godhra type riots

prahaar ji, theo does not respond. He will just mouth some vague mumbo-jumbo, shoot from the left field and run.

In likes of theo., in their mind, hindus == bad, NaMo == hindu hence bad. NaMo == baby killer, hence bad. NaMo belongs to BJP and BJP are hindoos, hence bad.

Never - never in this thread CONGi supporters has criticized on point to point what they do *not* like about Sonia. Never pointed out what they like about Sonia.

They think they are "intellectual and secular", in reality they are shallow, crass and "communal". Yes, BJP is bad and all that., I do am expecting a CONgi supporter to come here and discuss on point to point basis what makes CONgi good. Winning election by divide and rule does not count.

Waiting for the economy to sink into negative territory and GOI to sell gold. I will be glad if Man Mohan is at the helm when that happens. A full circle. Sorry, but I am depressed.

disha wrote:They think they are "intellectual and secular", in reality they are shallow, crass and "communal". Yes, BJP is bad and all that., I do am expecting a CONgi supporter to come here and discuss on point to point basis what makes CONgi good. Winning election by divide and rule does not count.

Its like Hindustan-pakistan waartalap.

These guys will not speak. If we address them, they just cry 'rant' and run. Then we get to the point where we can speak only among like minded people, that too is a problem since the forum quality goes down.

Then some strange line of argumentation would come up. Something to the effect that 'my part of woods are like that only, leave us alone'. Then we bend over backwards to support that stand considering it may have some value somewhere coming as it does from our own countrymen who are diverse in vesha-bhusah. Then another line of argumentation will start - 'Namo has not universal enough'. Then we will start to wonder if some universal qualities need to be cultivated while providing for diversity. Probably with some esoteric mix of democracy and authoritarianism. By then somebody would say 'Namo has no heart he is authoritarian'.

If beyond a Catch 22 there is a Catch 33/44/55, then it is hamiaste hamiaste hamiaste. :rotfl:

So that makes them bakis? Anyway, I have a burning question - for all the NaMo baiters., did they do any research on "Atrocities during Emergency?"

There are no surviving reports. As far as I know. I do have a close personal account though - one day when I have guts will recount it.

disha wrote:So that makes them bakis? Anyway, I have a burning question - for all the NaMo baiters., did they do any research on "Atrocities during Emergency?"

There are no surviving reports. As far as I know. I do have a close personal account though - one day when I have guts will recount it.

No that makes it fruitless. Like those apples we get in the market. The ones without seeds.

Emergency saw young men from nearby my village get 'family planned without consent'. Saala every sorry sob has run experiments on Indians. Its incredible this country even survives. Could be all the modernity BS is just some sort of analgesic+depressant rolled into one for people who just do not have it in them to be outraged.

Waiting for the economy to sink into negative territory and GOI to sell gold. I will be glad if Man Mohan is at the helm when that happens. A full circle. Sorry, but I am depressed.
Indians should buy more gold.. Let this C-system designed economy collapse.. Never give away your gold to ROI... It is a blackhole.. nothing ever comes out of it.. everything magically flies to swiss bank, onlee..

ravi_g wrote:
disha wrote:So that makes them bakis? Anyway, I have a burning question - for all the NaMo baiters., did they do any research on "Atrocities during Emergency?"

No that makes it fruitless. Like those apples we get in the market. The ones without seeds.

Emergency saw young men from nearby my village get 'family planned without consent'. Saala every sorry sob has run experiments on Indians. Its incredible this country even survives. Could be all the modernity BS is just some sort of analgesic+depressant rolled into one for people who just do not have it in them to be outraged.
Did you read the recent news that some 2000+ people died due to Medical trials in India?
What kind of evil scum allow that to happen to your own countrymen?

Cong response to recent (daily) scam revelations is "so what? We won't resign, what can you do anyway?"
Crass brazen-ness that can only be fueled by arrogance bordering on megalomania.

Winning polls != mandate to govern but is instead == license to loot, unhindered.

That Cong may yet again by default divide its way back to a respectable 3 igit figure in the LS polls is saddening only.

Hari Seldon wrote: That Cong may yet again by default divide its way back to a respectable 3 igit figure in the LS polls is saddening only.
No congress does not win by default, congress wins because Indians want it to win. I think that lesson is often a hard pill to swallow on BRF for many, but does not make it any less true.

Sanku wrote:No congress does not win by default, congress wins because Indians want it to win. I think that lesson is often a hard pill to swallow on BRF for many, but does not make it any less true.
OK. Whatever. How does anything matter any more anyway?

Fact is c-system is simply way too strong. I'm ready for disappointment in the next polls. Just hoping that disappointment's magnitude isn't too great only.

http://www.greatandhra.com/viewnews.php ... =1&scat=26

interesting that this cartoon made to a telugu gossip site, which has always focused almost exclusively on andhra politics and film gossips.

Hari Seldon wrote:
Sanku wrote:No congress does not win by default, congress wins because Indians want it to win. I think that lesson is often a hard pill to swallow on BRF for many, but does not make it any less true.
OK. Whatever. How does anything matter any more anyway?

Fact is c-system is simply way too strong. I'm ready for disappointment in the next polls. Just hoping that disappointment's magnitude isn't too great only.
It is not strong or weak, saar ji.. it is simply about wrong timing and wrong medicine..

Most of string holders in India (and almost most of us, people) believe in these three sentences

1. sab chalta hai (everything is acceptable)
2. milke looto, baantke khaao (rob together, divide and eat)
3. cake katega, sab me bategaa.. (when cake is cut, it is distributed to everyone) Another version of this is Hindusthaani shaadi me dulhe ke saath saath puri baaraat bhi khaati hai (In marriage in India, entire marriage party eats, along with the groom)..

The trick is to time the strategy of thousand cuts. The problem is, it is will unravel (it is unraveling) the very fabric of ROI.. ROI is built by C-SYSTEM... Unraveling C-system means unraveling ROI (not bhaarat, but the nation-state of ROI, current avatara of Bhaarata).. Now, this thought gives jitters to many patriots, doesn't it? :)

Bhaarati is slowly positioning herself against ROI... As I said in future strat dhaga, all this will not go in vain.. It creates plenty of turbulence which is beginning to manifest itself. coupled with turbulence around and without confines of ROI, a perfect maelstrom is being engineered. Let Gandhis steer this ship of ROI into that maelstrom and get jhaapad.. This is what Indian Janta wishes. For something like RSS to succeed, they need to be able to speak freely using Indic languages, Indic memes, Indic metaphors, Indic frame of reference. not possible in frame of reference of ROI...

Somebody said this in some other dhaga - this is like ganesha throwing flowers at Mamasura.. ROI is current avatara of Bhaarati, and not Bhaarati herself..

As Krishna said in BG - वासांसि जीर्णानि यथा विहाय नवानि गृह्णाति नरोऽपराणि । तथा शरीराणि विहाय जीर्ण: अन्यन्यानि संयाति नवानि देही ।।

यह वस्त्र अब फट चुका है... जीर्ण हो चुका है... १९४७ मे फिरसे जन्मी भारती अब बड़ी हो गयी हैं, अब ये बचपन के वस्त्र उनके शरीर के लिए काफी नहीं हैं..
Last edited by Atri on 07 May 2013 15:31, edited 2 times in total.

Neela wrote:Did you read the recent news that some 2000+ people died due to Medical trials in India?
What kind of evil scum allow that to happen to your own countrymen?

That and much worse actually. But seculars simply do not realize the mind boggling nature of their claims.

There was a time when Shastri ji, Indira Gandhi lead INC and people across the board supported them. Indira is understood to have stopped suspected cases of bio-terrorism originating from Umrikhans. She had a dubious personal sense of propriety which involved unbridled politics within the country but she at least had a healthy contempt for Umrikhans. What kind of crazy man feels thankful to Umrikhans except the current crop of Dilli Billis. As if we weren't already exposed enough some imbecile somewhere allowed some random Umrikhan university to study epidemiology at Kumbh of all places. Hud ho gayi yaar. And this is just one aspect.

BJP in cahoots with govt, says Ram Jethmalani; Party wants him out

The BJP is likely to expel noted lawyer and Rajya Sabha MP Ram Jethmalani from the party, sources said on Tuesday. Jethmalani's defiance had forced the BJP to act against him. He had accused BJP of being soft on UPA government.

The decision was taken at the BJP parliamentary board meeting held at L.K. Advani's office. According to sources, Jethmalani spoke at BJP parliamentary party meeting. He alleged that the top leadership is hand in glove with the government. The noted lawyer also dared the top leadership to throw him out of the party.

Jethmalani was suspended on November 25 last year after he attacked the party for its criticism on the appointment of the new CBI director and had been at the forefront of the 'Narendra Modi for PM' chorus in the party.

The noted lawyer was also vocal in his opposition to Nitin Gadkari and had pushed demanded that Gadkari should immediately step down in the wake of charges of dubious funding of his Purti Group.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/ram- ... 69720.html

Few people know what has happend to Snehalatha Reddy and others sir. But you are true that very few incidents are recounted and remembered. When we hear about the Dynasty "sacrifice for the nation" blood boils. Disgusting chamchas of INC have no shame.

Ananth Kumar for back channel talks???? No one else is avaliable at all in BJP??? D4 really needs a kick in the back side.
Last edited by Yagnasri on 07 May 2013 16:56, edited 1 time in total.

Arun Shourie on D4
I don't see the difference between the two. I feel they (the BJP and the Congress) are one party. They are jointly ruling. It is a dinner party. They meet at dinners. They meet socially. They decide on what has to be done about issues.

http://www.rediff.com/news/report/inter ... 101201.htm

Correctly put. That is why they are afraid about an outsider like Modi.

Theo Saar, I never knew one could arrive at the conclusion younarrived. My usage was to leave it up to the users to throw that article in the dust bin, or house it in the anti-Modi rant bin, shred it, dismiss it, shred it ityadi. The author has good credentials, and works in Gujarat. However, unfortunately for him Modi has not been found guilty in spite of all the efforts. Gujarat is doing good, is it the best ? I don't care, as long as its people are happy, prosperous and have justice.

Yup, I have noted that a lot happens because of Modi's efforts. Sometimes I too think if it is all authoritarianism. But then a man driving growth and progress, is better than another man just driving corruption, division, neglect and maintaining status quo.

----------------------------------------

read from bottom up -

Narayana Rao wrote:Correctly put. That is why they are afraid about an outsider like Modi.
How is Modi an outside to this? He meets as many congressmen at dinner parties as anyone else.

Does one forget that he was one of the few invited to Ambani wedding? It does not get more inner circle than that.

One needs to have a balanced view of such things, as long as congress has power, people will have to interact with them, and if Arun Shourie really thinks BJP and Congress are like one party, he should try and find a place in Congress. :P

Narayana Rao wrote: Ananth Kumar for back channel talks???? No one else is avaliable at all in BJP??? D4 really needs a kick in the back side.
If there are back channel talks that is.

Narayana Rao wrote:Cross post from Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections:

EC has already told that paper trail is not possible in 2014 general elections. It is not required to manupulate all the EVMs. Tamper selectively and you will win. We need to remember the win and lose % is many times is very small. You need to "manage" to the extent of that %. Diggiraja did this in one election to rule MP for 5 more years. It was horrible rule and no one knows how he has won. In the end it was found that starting to voters list every thing was "managed". It did not work the next time though and he lost and INC never recovered in MP. This time I am told they are trying their level best there.
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

Modi on the move, his minders run digital war room for next big shows

Amazing how Modi uses technology to plan his day.

And R Jagannathan has given a very strong rebuttal to Sen.

http://www.firstpost.com/economy/stuck- ... 57879.html
member_23629

Post by member_23629 »

After hearing S. Swamy's interview, what more arguments do people need to understand that EVM magic is very much real?

ASG Letter full text. Not proper forum but relavent to know the level institutions have falled in India

Learned Attorney General Sir,

Sir, as a leader of the Bar and our team of Law Officers, I had expected guidance from you Sir, in discharge of my professional duties, notwithstanding the fact that we deal matters entrusted to us independently. Having reflected upon what is being debated in public domain for a past couple of days and more particularly since the morning of last Friday, with a very heavy heart, I am constrained to address this letter to you to make the record straight and take the liberty of reminding you of the facts which are within your knowledge and of which corroboration exists.

Harin Raval in his letter has alleged that he has been made a scapegoat in the coal scam case. The trigger point of this letter is the remark made by you to me, on Friday 26th April, 2013 inside the Gentlemen’s Cloak room of the 2nd floor, when you asked me “Harin, Why are you so angry with me” and I politely replied to you. You further remarked that “you did not contradict me in Court”. Sir, you are aware that on the contrary, the truth is otherwise. It was I, who did not contradict you in Court.

You will kindly recall the sequence of facts during hearing that took place on 12th March, 2013 in respect of Item 11 in Court 5. I had entered the Court room a little late as I was on my legs before some other Court. During the hearing when you were on your legs, certain queries were put to you on basis of the facts stated in the Status Report filed by the CBI in a sealed cover. You will also kindly recall that you had remained present even for mentioning on 8th March, 2013, when permission was sought for filing status report in a sealed cover instead of filing of an affidavit as per my statement recorded in the order dated 24.01.2013.

During the course of hearing when you were called upon to respond to certain paragraphs of the Status Report as regards the decision of the Government and the Screening Committee in the matter of allocations of coal blocks, you had not only exhibited ignorance of the facts stated in the Status Report which you had earlier perused, but had made a statement that what is stated in the Status Report was not to your knowledge and same was not shared with the Government. In fact, during the course of hearing, I was also called upon to show you those relevant paragraphs from the copy of the Status Report that was made available to me during the course of hearing by the CBI officials instructing me in the matter. The same was shown to you in Court.

The order dated 12.03.2013 records a prayer made by you Sir, for grant of some time to enable the Central Government to file an additional affidavit on the aspects which were earlier not dealt with in the counter affidavit already filed.

I am to further request you to recall your memory that I was asked to attend a meeting in your presence with the Hon’ble Law Minister to consider whether the CBI should disclose the status of investigation on an affidavit in compliance of the order dated 24.01.2013 or should a Status Report be filed. This meeting was attended by you Sir, besides Director CBI and Joint Director O P Galhotra amongst others. You will also recall that I had reiterated my position namely that the statement made and recorded in the order dated 24.01.2013 to make known to the Court the status of the investigation through an affidavit of a competent officer was made not only after due consideration and discussion held with me by the CBI officials only on 23.01.2013 prior to the hearing, but also on instructions received by me from them as well as the instructions reiterated to me in Court. Having reiterated my stand, I was a silent spectator when a decision was taken to file a Status Report instead of an Affidavit, which was to be shown to you as was decided in the meeting.

You will also kindly recall that on 6th March, 2013, while I was in Court, I received a message from your end, asking me to see the Law Minister at 12.30 with the Status Report. The message received by me was forwarded to the Joint Director, CBI by me. You were already present there when I reached slightly late. You would also kindly recall that at the said meeting, during the course of discussions, the draft of only one of Status Report of one of the preliminary inquiries was shown to the Hon’ble Law Minister and was perused by him as well as by you. Certain suggestions were made, including by you, to the CBI, some of which were accepted. No suggestions emanated from me. You will kindly further recall that as you wanted to leave, to attend Court for a mentioning matter, other status report of the investigations of the 9 regular cases were requested to be shown to you in the evening at about 4.30 p.m. I was also asked to be present at your residential office. After you left, I left shortly thereafter as I also had to attend hearing of amentioing matter at 2 P.M. In compliance of the above, the CBI officials brought the drafts which were perused and settled by you Sir. I was present in your residential office.

You had also asked me to mention the matter on 7th March, 2013 which was not possible for me on account of personal reasons. The matter was mentioned on 8th March, 2013 by me to seek permission to file Status Report in sealed covers. You had remained present during the mentioning. As a matter of fact, if my memory does not fail me, it was submitted by you that, the Status Report contains much more details than what could be made known to the Court by an Affidavit to be filed in compliance of the order dated 24.01.2013.

Despite the above facts while replying to the queries on 12.03.2013, as regards what was contained in the Status Report, you had deemed it appropriate to take a stand that the contents of the Status Report were not known to you, which fact you knew to be incorrect. On account of your statement, I felt embarrassed and was forced to take a stand, in Court, consistent with your submission made as Attorney General for India, that the contents of the Status Report were not known to you and that they were not shared with the Government.

It has constantly pained and anguished me that I have had to face unnecessary indignation on account of your intolerant temperament towards the conscientious discharge of duties especially in high profile cases. I have held you in great esteem as leader of our team but your flip flop attitude towards me has always put me under unnecessary pressure.

I have retained a copy of this letter in my office for my records. I have also deemed it appropriate to simultaneously send a copy of this letter to Hon’ble Law Minister.

I have a feeling that I am sought to be made scapegoat but I am confident that truth will always prevail.

Thanking you,
Yours faithfully,
(Harin P Raval)

ravi_g wrote:

Digressing ever so slightly and apologies in advance.

The whole idea perpetuated by western interests in media is 'the cause of problems within India are due to the population'. I think that is a poorly thought out explanation. Even in Herodotus times, we have had huge population. So things have not really changed much.

The truth is was it not for the huge population, the Islamic invaders and European colonisers, would have exterminated Hindu population. The population of India is a blessing, was a blessing and will hopefully be a blessing. The liberals wants equality for all and they believe huge population cannot allow this. I think that is a wrong equation. The idea that everyone can remain equal is flawed. Its utopian thought. Hopefully smart politicians can use it to the advantage of the nation.

Sorry to digress.

Sushupti wrote:Image
IBNLive is doing a hack job for CONgi. Sonia *never* hugged Sushma, she just put her hand on Sushma's shoulders to "talk about the FSB". IBNLive is using that opportunity to divide BJP. Very effective.

disha wrote: IBNLive is doing a hack job for CONgi. Sonia *never* hugged Sushma, she just put her hand on Sushma's shoulders to "talk about the FSB". IBNLive is using that opportunity to divide BJP. Very effective.
I used to rave and rant at people in India falling for media, but BRFites ? Here ?

Atri wrote: Indians should buy more gold.. Let this C-system designed economy collapse.. Never give away your gold to ROI... It is a blackhole.. nothing ever comes out of it.. everything magically flies to swiss bank, onlee..
Some interesting pointers:
johneeG wrote:Amartya Sen's connection to Rothschild:

Amartya Sen married Emma Georgina Rothschild in 1991(Wiki) and was awarded Nobel in 1998. His Ex-wife Nabaneeta also occupies quite an influential role in India. She has been awarded Padmashri.

IMHO, the number(and frequency) of awards & honors for Amartya Sen and his ex-wife seem to have increased after 1991.
Link to original post

Emma Rothschild (U.K.)

Emma Rothschild is a professor of history at Harvard University. She was born in London in 1948, graduated from Oxford University in 1967, and was a Kennedy Scholar in Economics at MIT. From 1978 to 1988, she was an associate professor at MIT in the Department of Humanities and the Program on Science, Technology and Society. She has also taught at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales in Paris.

She has been a member of the United Kingdom government’s Council for Science and Technology and the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. From 1999 to 2005 she was chairwoman of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development. She has written extensively on economic history and the history of economic thought. She is married to Amartya Sen, 1998 Nobel Laureate in Economics.

It seems she is a scholar in history and economics. It seems she was a scholar in economics at MIT and teaches history at Harvard.
Nobel laureate's life on silver screen
KOLKATA: After a long seven years, a film directed by economist Dr Suman Ghosh is all set to be screened in the city on Monday. Ghosh's directorial debut on Nobel laureate Amartya Sen was made in 2004-05 but will get screened well after his commercial releases 'Padakhep' (Footsteps) and 'Dwando'. The documentary will be screened for the first time in Kolkata in presence of Amartya Sen, Kaushik Basu, chief economic advisor to the Indian government, and Sugata Bose, professor at Harvard University.
the so-called Nobel Prize in economics is not one of those prizes endowed by Alfred Nobel. It came in 1968 and the endower is the Central Bank of Sweden. It's a bank prize. It is not given to someone who questions the efficacy of irredeemable paper ticket money or the legitimacy or the honesty of central banking.
There Is No Nobel Prize in Economics
It's awarded by Sweden's central bank, foisted among the five real prizewinners, often to economists for the 1% -- and the surviving Nobel family is strongly against it.

It’s Nobel Prize season again. News reports are coming out each day sharing the name of the illustrious winner of the various categories — Science, Literature, etc. But there’s one of the prizes that’s a little different. Well, that’s putting it lightly… you see, the Nobel Prize in Economics is not a real Nobel. It wasn’t created by Alfred Nobel. It’s not even called a “Nobel Prize,” no matter what the press reports say.
The five real Nobel Prizes—physics, chemistry, literature, peace, and medicine/physiology—were set up in the will left by the dynamite magnate when he died in 1895. The economics prize is a bit different. It was created by Sweden’s Central Bank in 1969, nearly 75 years later. The award’s real name is the “Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.” It was not established by Nobel, but supposedly in memory of Nobel. It’s a ruse and a PR trick, and I mean that literally. And it was done completely against the wishes of the Nobel family.
Sweden’s Central Bank quietly snuck it in with all the other Nobel Prizes to give free-market economics for the 1% credibility. One of the Federal Reserve banks explained it succinctly, “Few realize, especially outside of economists, that the prize in economics is not an “official” Nobel. . . . The award for economics came almost 70 years later—bootstrapped to the Nobel in 1968 as a bit of a marketing ploy to celebrate the Bank of Sweden’s 300th anniversary.” Yes, you read that right: “a marketing ploy.”
“The Economics Prize has nestled itself in and is awarded as if it were a Nobel Prize. But it’s a PR coup by economists to improve their reputation,” Nobel’s great great nephew Peter Nobel told AFP in 2005, adding that “It’s most often awarded to stock market speculators .... There is nothing to indicate that [Alfred Nobel] would have wanted such a prize.”
Members of the Nobel family are among the harshest, most persistent critics of the economics prize, and members of the family have repeatedly called for the prize to be abolished or renamed. In 2001, on the 100th anniversery of the Nobel Prizes, four family members published a letter in the Swedish paper Svenska Dagbladet, arguing that the economics prize degrades and cheapens the real Nobel Prizes. They aren’t the only ones.
Scientists never had much respect for the new economic Nobel prize. In fact, a scientist who headed Nixon’s Science Advisory Committee in 1969, was shocked to learn that economists were even allowed on stage to accept their award with the real Nobel laureates. He was incredulous: “You mean they sat on the platform with you?”
That hatred continues to simmer below the surface, and periodically breaks through and makes itself known. Most recently, in 2004, three prominent Swedish scientists and members of the Nobel committee published an open letter in a Swedish newspaper savaging the fraudulent “scientific” credentials of the Swedish Central Bank Prize in Economics. “The economics prize diminishes the value of the other Nobel prizes. If the prize is to be kept, it must be broadened in scope and be disassociated with Nobel,” they wrote in the letter, arguing that achievements of most of the economists who win the prize are so abstract and disconnected from the real world as to utterly meaningless.
The question is: Why would a prize that draws so much hatred and negativity from the scientific community be added to the Nobel roster so late in the game? And why economics?
To answer that question we have to go back to Sweden in the 1960s.
Around the time the prize was created, Sweden’s banking and business interests were busy trying to ram through various so-called "free-market" economic reforms. Their big objective at the time was to loosen political oversight and control over the country’s central bank.
According to Philip Mirowski, a professor at the University of Notre Dame who specializes in the history of economics, the “Bank of Sweden was trying to become more independent of democratic accountability in the late 60s, and there was a big political dispute in Sweden as to whether the bank could have effective political independence. In order to support that position, the bank needed to claim that it had a kind of scientific credibility that was not grounded in political support.”
Promoters of central bank independence couched their arguments in the obscure language of neoclassical economic theory of market efficiency. The problem was that few people in Sweden took their neoclassical babble very seriously, and saw their plan for central bank independence for what it was: an attempt to transfer control over economic matters from democratically elected government and place into the hands of big business interests, giving them a free hand in running Sweden’s economy without pesky interference from labor unions, voters and elected officials.
And that’s where the Swedish Central Bank Prize in Economic Sciences came in.

The details of how the deal went down are still very murky. What is known is that in 1969 Sweden’s central bank used the pretense of its 300th anniversary to push through an independent prize in “economic science” in memory of Alfred Nobel, and closely link it with the original Nobel Prize awards. The name was a bit longer, the medals looked a little different and the award money did not come from Nobel, but in every other way it was hard to tell the two apart. To ensure the prize would be awarded to the right economists, the bank managed to install a rightwing Swedish economist named Assar Lindbeck, who had ties to University of Chicago, to oversee the awards committee and keep him there for more than three decades. (Lindbeck’s famous free-market oneliner is: “In many cases, rent control appears to be the most efficient technique presently known to destroy a city — except for bombing.”)
For the first few years, the Swedish Central Bank Prize in Economics went to fairly mainstream and maybe even semi-respectable economists. But after establishing the award as credible and serious, the prizes took a hard turn to the right.
Over the next decade, the prize was awarded to the most fanatical supporters of theories that concentrated wealth among the top 1% of industrialized society of our time.
In 1974, five years after the prize was first created, it was awarded to Friedrich Hayek, one the leading "laissez-faire" -- enrich the rich -- economists of the 20th century and the godfather of neoclassical economics. Milton Friedman, who was at the University of Chicago with Hayek, was not far behind. He won the prize just two years later, in 1976.
Both Hayek and Friedman were huge supporters of the political independence of central banks. In fact, they built their careers on bashing government intervention in economic matters. Hayek developed a whole business cycle theory that blamed government and government-controlled banking systems for all economic ills. He also equated all government intervention will inevitably lead to totalitarianism. Friedman with a whole new subsection of neoclassical economics called “Monetarism” that had a scientific formula worked out, specifying e xactly how much money central bankers needed to keep floating around in the economy to keep inflation low and unemployment high enough to keep big business happy. No democratic control over banking policies needed, just let the free-markets do its thing! The Swedish central bankers couldn’t get better spokesmen for their cause.
But Hayek and Friedman’s usefulness went way beyond Sweden.
At the time of the prizes, neoclassical economics were not fully accepted by the media and political establishment. But the Nobel Prize changed all that.
What started as a project to help the Bank of Sweden achieve political independence, ended up boosting the credibility of the most regressive strains of free-market economics, and paving the way for widespread acceptance of libertarian ideology.
Take Hayek: Before he won the award, it looked like Hayek was washed up. His career as an economist was essentially over. He was considered a quack and fraud by contemporary economists, he had spent the 50s and 60s in academic obscurity, preaching the gospel of free markets and economic darwinism while on the payroll of ultra-rightwing American billionaires. Hayek had powerful backers, but was out on the fringes of academic credibility.
But that all changed as soon as he won the prize in 1974. All of a sudden his ideas were being talked about. Hayek was a celebrity. He appeared as a star guest on NBC’s Meet the Press, newspapers across the country printed his photographs and treated his economic mumblings about the need to have high unemployment in order to pay off past inflation sins as if they were divine revelations. His Road to Serfdom hit the best-seller list. Margret Thatcher was waving around his books in public, saying “this is what we believe.” He was back on top like never before, and it was all because of the fake Nobel Prize created by Sweden’s Central Bank.
Billionaire Charles Koch brought Hayek out for an extended victory tour of the United States, and had Hayek spend the summer as a resident scholar at his Institute for Humane Studies. Charles, a shrewd businessman, quickly put the old man to good use, tapping Hayek’s mainstream cred to set up and underwrite Cato Institute in 1974 (it was called the Charles Koch Foundation until 1977), a libertarian thinktank based on Hayek’s ideas. Even today, Cato Institute pays homage to the Swedish Central Bank Prize’s role in the mainstreaming of Hayek’s ideas and Hayek’s influence on the outfit:
The first libertarian to receive the Nobel Prize was F.A. Hayek in 1974. In the years leading up to the prize announcement, Hayek had reached a professional and personal nadir. Unable to maintain an appointment in the United States, Hayek had returned to Austria to take up a position at the University of Salzburg, Austria. With the announcement of the prize in 1974, however, Hayek’s work, and the fortune of Austrian economics, took a remarkable turn.
Hayek’s influence on Cato is profound. Two of Cato’s first books were by Hayek: A Tiger by the Tail: The Keynesian Legacy of Inflation & Unemployment and Monetary Policy: Government as Generator of the “Business Cycle.” Perhaps more than any other intellectual in the twentieth century, Hayek has inspired Cato and its researchers to develop policies that ensure a free society. When Cato moved into its current location in 1992, its auditorium was named in Hayek’s honor.
Friedman’s Nobel Prize had a similar impact. After getting the prize in 1976, Friedman wrote a best-seller, got his own 10-part PBS series Free to Choose and became President Ronald Reagan’s economic advisor, where he had a chance to put the society-crushing policies he developed in Chile under Pinochet.
Friedman would spend the rest of his time denying it, but he was deeply involved and invested in the Pinochet’s totalitarian-corporate economic experiment. Chilean economist Orlando Letelier published an article in The Nation in 1976 outing Milton Friedman as the “ intellectual architect and unofficial adviser for the team of economists now running the Chilean economy” on behalf of foreign corporations. A month later Letelier was assassinated in D.C. by Chilean secret police using a car bomb.
Friedman’s monetary theory was used by Federal Reserve Bank Chairman Paul Volcker to restrict the money supply, plunging American into a deep recession, doubling the unemployment rate and had the added bonus of getting Reagan elected President. . . . And Hayek and Friedman were just the beginning.
For instance, in 1997 two economists won an award for their derivative risk models that minimized risk, just before the derivatives would explode in the 2000s real estate bubble.
The award was shared by economists Robert Merton and Myron Scholes for their work in figuring out how to value derivatives so as to minimize risk. The two economists used their Nobel-worthy economic models to run “the world’s biggest hedge fund,” which was called Long Term Capital Management (LTCM). And the fund really lived up to its name. Nine months after winning the Swedish Central Bank Prize in Economics, LTCM went belly-up, racking up over $1 billion in losses over a period of just two days. It was of course bailed out by then-Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan, who considered LTCM “too big to fail.”
Then there’s Vernon Smith. In 2002, Vernon Smith, adored and funded by Libertarians like Charles Koch, won the “Nobel” — his patron looked at the money he spent funding Smith’s academic career as a good investment, saying simply: “The Koch Foundation’s gift was an excellent investment.”
Smith’s research basically entailed setting up theoretical “wind tunnels” to test how, for example, the privatizations of markets would respond in various conditions all in a way that has nothing to do with reality.It will take a brave act to bring this sham to the attention of the public.
One year, one of the prize winners will have to speak out, and explain this ruse to the public as he wins the award.
Has the Nobel Prize Become an Elitist Tool?
Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf's interest in hosting in Liberia a base for the United States Africa Command (AFRICOM) appears to have had more to do with protecting the George Soros and Rothschild mining operations in West Africa than in championing stability and human rights, reports AllAfrica.com.

The report indicates that "for the sole purpose of protecting Soros and Rothschild mining operations in West Africa, President Johnson-Sirleaf and her friend Leymah Gbowee received the 2011 Nobel Peace prize (gold medals) to help the Rothschild/Soros team control all the gold metal," adding, "A little gold for all the gold."

In light of the awarding today of the Nobel Peace prize to the bankster construct, the European Union, it fascinating that AllAfrica.com wrote, last year, in its report:

As with so many international constructs that started out with good intentions, the Norwegian Nobel Committee, like the International Olympic Committee, has become contrivances for global corporations. It is now clear that the decision by the Nobel committee to award the Nobel Peace Prize to two Liberian women, along with a female Yemeni human rights campaigner, was to engage in a bit of influence-peddling in mineral resource-rich West Africa while also attempting to recognize the "Arab Spring" democracy movement... While the awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize to Yemeni human rights activist seems appropriate, considering the work she has done to oust Yemen's brutal dictator Ali Abdullah Saleh from power, the awarding of the Peace Prize gold medals to Liberian President Johnson-Sirleaf and Liberian human rights activist Leymah Gbowee, just before the Liberian presidential election in 2011, appears to be a blatant act of trying to influence the outcome of the election and rewarding the Liberian leader for her support for the U.S. Africa Command.

Sweden has been having a welfare state for sometime now(atleast from 70s). At the time, people had high living standards and excellent benefits. It was mostly sponsored by Govt welfare scheme. In 1990s, the situation started unraveling. People also started living on debt money that they could not payback. The banks in Sweden are in bad shape as they have given bad loans. Moody downgraded three Sweden Banks in 2012. Taxes have steadily increased, mostly indirectly to make the Govt run. But the welfare state was not given up. Unemployment has been very high, but the figures don't necessarily show it. Young people are emigrating in droves to the foreign locales in search of jobs.

I am posting an article. IF Amartya Sen is recommending Swedish Model be applied in India, then it is important to understand that model.
The Crumbling Swedish Welfare State

There is a mysterious obsession with Sweden among American libertarians. They superficially glance at some isolated piece of legislation and suggest America follow the Swedish example. Having grown up in Sweden, and having escaped its oppressive tax system, its depressing social collectivism and cultural mediocrity, I am baffled by these Swedeophiles. The country I left for good 14 years ago had deteriorated pretty badly already then, and things have not gotten better.

If anything, Sweden is a prime example of what happens when you go out of your way to try and save a welfare state that is sucking the life out of its host organism, the private sector. From deteriorating schools to a health care system in real crisis, Sweden serves only one meaningful role: as a scarecrow in the cornfields of big government, deterring the sane, common-sensical observer from ever setting his foot there.

In previous articles I have explained how Sweden’s “successful” welfare state, recently praised by The Economist, is little more than an attempt at selling welfare-state snake oil; I explained that young Swedes are not only unemployed by the masses, leaving the country in desperate pursuit of a life, but those who stay are stuck living with their parents at alarming rates; I have pointed to the explosive problem with mass immigration of welfare-dependent illiterates from the poorest corners of the Third World; how the Swedish police is literally capitulating before the onslaught of organized crime; I have asked why such friends of liberty as Freedom Works are so appreciative of the grotesquely big Swedish welfare state, and I dispelled the myth that the Swedish treasury secretary, Anders Borg, is some kind of low-tax crusader.

In fact, On February 13 Mr. Borg explained in a tax policy debate in the Swedish parliament that he opposed flat income taxes and favors a steeply marginal, multi-bracket income tax code because, he said, it is an important income redistribution instrument.

In other words, Sweden is still the full-fledged, “democratic” socialist welfare state it has been since the 1970s. The fact that the treasury secretary has a pony tail and knows folksy-talk does not make a tangible difference.

What does make a difference, but for the worse, is that yet another hallmark of the Swedish welfare state is now crumbling. The retirement system, overhauled 20 years ago in a reform praised as “free market based”, is under such severe pressure that the parliament may have to raise the retirement age to 75. Euractiv reports:
Swedes should be prepared to work until they are 75 and to change careers in the middle of their work life if they are to keep the welfare standards they expect, Swedish Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt said. The retirement age is being debated in the Swedish parliament ahead of an expected pension reform package in April. In its proposal, the government wants to give people the right to remain at work until 69 instead of the current 67 cut-off age.
Let’s just make a brief stop here and notice something. The government in Sweden bans you from working when you turn 67. It is illegal for you to seek employment above that age. People get around that by starting small consulting businesses, but the law is still a good example of how the big, Swedish nanny state operates: anything that is not explicitly permitted is forbidden by default. Back to Euractiv:
Meanwhile, the right to early retirement would be delayed by two years, to 63. However, Reinfeldt said in several interviews over the weekend that Sweden must consider taking the step even further by raising the retirement age to 75. “This is a time of changes in the global world economy. The nations we meet in open competitions don’t have our welfare ambitions. They don’t put taxes on production to finance the pension system or welfare solutions. Therefore the question remains, is our equation correct?”
The man is delusional. This has nothing to do with saving the export industry. The big corporations that have characterized the Swedish private sector since at least the 1950s are either dead (SAAB Automobile), gone abroad (ABB; Pharmacia), gobbled up by foreign corporations (Ericsson; Volvo Cars; Scania) or in the process of leaving Sweden (Volvo Heavy Trucks). This is part of a natural industrial cycle, where big, mature corporations lose out to new, more dynamic business models. Just look at how the Japanese car manufacturers capitalized on the stale, bureaucratic inefficiency that characterized the Big Three in Detroit back in the ’80s.

Mr. Reinfeldt’s problem is instead that his welfare state has suppressed private-sector activity outside of the big, old manufacturers. Up until a few years ago the corporate landscape in Sweden looked almost exactly the same as it did half a century earlier. Since about 2007, the big old dinosaurs have been in an increasingly ailing condition, unable to function as the “engines” of the private sector. But since Swedish tax policies, labor market laws and other regulations have been tailored to the needs of those big corporations, they have made it very difficult for small, new, dynamic businesses to grow.

Therefore, what Mr. Reinfeldt is really seeing is that his country’s private sector can no longer feed the welfare state because it is dominated by over-subsidized, under-challenged industrial behemoths with bureaucratic arthritis. And he is utterly incapable of dealing with the situation, because he wants to protect the welfare state at all cost. Including this ridiculous retirement reform, of which Euractiv has more to say:
Reinfeldt, who leads a centre-right government, also said half of today’s children in Sweden can expect to become 100 years old and there has to be a change in the way the Swedes view their work life. “Therefore, Sweden must as a society ask ourselves the question: are we ready to meet these changes? The changes are basically positive. But if we want good pensions and welfare then we need to start discussing what our work lives should look like,” the prime minister said in a radio interview.
To begin with, I would seriously question the suggestion that half of Sweden’s children will live to be 100. Given how their health care system has deteriorated over the past 15 years, and such socially destructive factors as widespread depression and serious levels of alcohol consumption among the young, I would question if the average life expectancy will in fact stay where it is today. It is more likely that it will actually decline over the next couple of decades.

More importantly, though, is the fact that Mr. Reinfeldt – an alleged conservative – adamantly believes that it is the business of government to dictate when people are allowed to retire, and when they are allowed to work. All this shows is that Mr. Reinfeldt is just another statist European social democrat.

A far better approach would be to say that “we see such dramatic changes in the ability of the economy to support today’s retirement system that we will allow everyone to keep their own money and invest for retirement as they see fit”.

Some would rightly point out that Sweden already has a system of private retirement accounts within the government-run model. This is correct, but the ability of that system to fund future retirement is entirely dependent on an ailing economy. The pay-as-you-go part suffers from the same problems as our American Social Security system, while the private account part can only give good returns on investments if the Swedish economy is doing well. Which it is not. More on that later. For now, back to Euractiv:
To be able to work until the age of 75, the Swedish prime minister says he envisions at least one career change during a person’s work life as the job one may have as a young person could become too tough or stressful later on. Reinfeldt acknowledges that this will require a huge change of mindset among the Swedish population. “It’s a very challenging idea. Our whole life is affected by the fact that we speak to a career counselor, make a decision, and then think we will work with the same things for the rest of our lives,” the prime minister stated.
The real issue here is that Sweden has a serious under-employment problem already as things are today. Youth unemployment is among the highest in Europe, and laid-off 40-somethings have enormous problems landing a new job. The work force is being expanded by up to 100,000 immigrants each year, yet the labor market can only add a net of 60-70,000 new jobs annually (and that is in a strong growth year).

On top of that, Sweden has very rigid labor market laws compared to other “free” economies. Unions are exceptionally strong, with all the negative consequences that follow. Firing workers is a significant undertaking, which makes employers balk at hiring people for full-time positions. Labor-based taxes put a steep price on new jobs, as do the responsibilities that employers have for income replacement when workers are home sick.

The bottom line is that the Swedish economy does not suffer from a shortage of labor. It suffers from a shortage of jobs. To force people to stay in the work force up to the age of 75 under such circumstances is – forgive my repetitive use of the term – delusional. I can only see one logical motive: to try to cut the cost of the retirement system while keeping it in place.

In other words: the purpose of the reform is to make people pay taxes in to the retirement system for several more years and take benefits out of it over a shorter period of time. But there will be no attempt to give people a chance to opt out entirely. A classic example of how a government applies austerity measures to save a welfare state it does not want to let go of, come Scylla or Charybdis.

And they will come. Sweden is on a downbound path that sooner or later will hurl the country into social chaos. The fact that this has not happened yet is entirely due to Swedes still believing that their country is a stable, functional welfare state.

They are like the famous bumble bee, which can’t fly but does not know it can’t, so it does it anyway. And just like the bumble bee, once the truth dawns on them, the Swedes will fall flat to the ground. From a cynical viewpoint, it will offer us an opportunity to study the last stages of the deterioration of a welfare state in a full-scale laboratory.

From a human viewpoint, though, it is going to be one big tragedy, brought upon an entire people by simple-minded socialist politicians, determined to shove their ideological construct down people’s throats. I can only thank my lucky star I left that place 14 years ago.

Read it in full.

It seems these nordic countries are also active in EJ activities in desh and lanka. There are also connections to separate eelam project to these countries.
While I was searching the net for this material, came across interesting pointer: Switzerland.

Switzerland is a small country that lies between France, Germany and Italy. Switzerland is recognized as neutral and it does not participate in any wars or factions. It is not part of EU. It joined UN recently by referendum. Yet, it hosts many international organizations.

Wiki:
Traditionally, Switzerland avoids alliances that might entail military, political, or direct economic action and had been neutral since the end of its expansion in 1515. Its policy of neutrality was internationally recognised at the Congress of Vienna in 1815.[62][63] Only in 2002 did Switzerland become a full member of the United Nations[62] and it was the first state to join it by referendum. Switzerland maintains diplomatic relations with almost all countries and historically has served as an intermediary between other states.[62] Switzerland is not a member of the European Union; the Swiss people have consistently rejected membership since the early 1990s.[62]

An unusual number of international institutions have their seats in Switzerland, in part because of its policy of neutrality. Geneva is the birthplace of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and the Geneva Conventions and, since 2006, hosts the United Nations Human Rights Council. Even though Switzerland is one of the most recent countries to have joined the United Nations, the Palace of Nations in Geneva is the second biggest centre for the United Nations after New York, and Switzerland was a founding member and home to the League of Nations.

Apart from the United Nations headquarters, the Swiss Confederation is host to many UN agencies, like the World Health Organization (WHO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and about 200 other international organisations, including the World Trade Organization.[62] The annual meetings of the World Economic Forum in Davos bring together top international business and political leaders from Switzerland and foreign countries to discuss important issues facing the world, including health and the environment.

Furthermore, many sport federations and organisations are located throughout the country, such as the International Basketball Federation, in Geneva, the UEFA (Union of European Football Associations), in Nyon, the FIFA (International Federation of Association Football) and the International Ice Hockey Federation, in Zurich, the International Cycling Union, in Aigle, and the International Olympic Committee, in Lausanne.
Of course, Swiss banks are famous... 8)