Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Aug 21, 2013

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Aug 21, 2013

Anujan wrote:Fellows. This Dunya TV needs to be tracked -- is the mouth piece of talib sympathizers. Apparently people came on and said that in a country formed on the basis of religion such incidents (bombing of churches) should be expected.Also #PlotAgainstPeaceTalks is trending. Apparently PTI morons think the church bombing is a YYY conspiracy to prevent peace talks (and eventual GUBO to talibs).
How many here noticed that Church In Pisscity looked like Mosque ? islam is in full control of these ROLers who sided with RAPERs ( Religion Assisted Paap) in 47 citing the Qitabi factor.
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

harbans wrote:
Killing of even one human is like killing of humanity. Yes, but non-believers are not humans. And when a true human (Muslim) is killed the Islamic community will respond as if the non-believer declared war over entire Islam.
Ramay JI, i mentioned this to you before, but you just don't listen. You are regurgitating Islamic propaganda! This line is nothing to do with the way you are interpreting it. IT has everything to do with jews. Because in the HK Mohammed mentioned that this was specifally ordained for the Jews!!!! This was not ordained anywhere for the Muslims! So yes for the Jews killing one innocent human was like killing Humanity, it was not ordained for the Muslims, and every Mullah knows that. But you are regurgitating that this was indeed ordained for Muslis, but for Muslims Kufr are not humans. This is ridiculous and fallacious.
Since when did 'K' become 'HK'

-M

harbans wrote:
Killing of even one human is like killing of humanity. Yes, but non-believers are not humans. And when a true human (Muslim) is killed the Islamic community will respond as if the non-believer declared war over entire Islam.
Ramay JI, i mentioned this to you before, but you just don't listen. You are regurgitating Islamic propaganda! This line is nothing to do with the way you are interpreting it. IT has everything to do with jews. Because in the HK Mohammed mentioned that this was specifally ordained for the Jews!!!! This was not ordained anywhere for the Muslims! So yes for the Jews killing one innocent human was like killing Humanity, it was not ordained for the Muslims, and every Mullah knows that. But you are regurgitating that this was indeed ordained for Muslis, but for Muslims Kufr are not humans. This is ridiculous and fallacious.
:(( I am trying to be bin-brophet-al-yindus and you are pouring cow-urine on it.. :((

But destroying the walls with Quran quotes is pious onlee. Then why do musalmans go jeehard when a non-believer tears down Quran?

Does it mean only a Muslim can tear down Quran?

Idiots O Akbar onlee.

The Bishop of Lahore was :(( :(( that the Pakistani christian community in border areas opted for pakistan (when certain areas in Undivided Punjab were given the choice to choose either India or Pakistan) and that it was the decisive casting vote by the Christian Speaker of then Punjab which decided the issue and they are now being persecuted/discriminated against and targeted.

serves them right. they probably bought into the 'equality' of all under islam hype and better economic prospects in the tfta breakaway munna. missed the fine print that it applies to ashrafi sunnis only.

Singha wrote:serves them right. they probably bought into the 'equality' of all under islam hype and better economic prospects in the tfta breakaway munna. missed the fine print that it applies to ashrafi sunnis only.
Or they followed their true master's voice from Britain and Rome.

RamaY wrote:]serves them right. they probably bought into the 'equality' of all under islam hype and better economic prospects in the tfta breakaway munna. missed the fine print that it applies to ashrafi sunnis only.
Or they followed their true master's voice from Britain and Rome.
Remember, Pakistan was supposed to be true to the interest of the West. India was supposed to descend into chaos and break up onto pieces.
Rajdeep

Post by Rajdeep »

Splitting India
A bit schizophrenic article.

Posted in full from Yawn.com

A conversation between Pakistan and the TTP
Michael Kugelman

Shame on those who think talks between Islamabad and the TTP are a bad idea.

On the contrary, it’s the perfect time for a thoughtful exchange between uncompromisingly brutal fighters and the government they aim to annihilate.

Here’s what we could expect:
Setting

Imagine a hidden, bucolic venue — perhaps nestled in the Tirah or Swat valley, or ensconced on the rugged mountains of Waziristan. The two negotiating parties — the government of Pakistan (GOP) and the Pakistani Taliban (TTP) — enter a meeting room.

GOP team: [Silence.]

TTP team: [Silence.]

GOP: [Trying to make small talk] So, read any good European philosophy lately? Subcontinental colonial histories? Biographies of Bertrand Russell? :mrgreen:

TTP: [Silence.]

GOP: How about we take a break? Some fresh air would be nice.

TTP: Good idea. While you do that, we’ll take the opportunity to launch an attack. :rotfl: See you in five minutes. [Both negotiating teams step outside. TTP representatives disappear].

[Explosions are heard in the distance].

[Five minutes later, both teams reconvene].

GOP: Let’s get down to business. Negotiating gurus emphasise the importance of “getting to yes.” So how shall we proceed to —

TTP: Have you freed our prisoners, withdrawn every soldier from the tribal belt, and essentially afforded us the opportunity to intensify our insurgency to the point that we now pose an existential threat to the Pakistani state?

GOP: Sorry, not yet. We had hoped instead that you would settle for accepting the ambassadorship position in Washington. :shock: That’s why it has remained vacant for so long.

TTP: The possibility of relocating closer to our purported patron is tempting, but we’d rather keep our eyes on the immediate prize. To wit: The destruction of the Pakistani state.

GOP: Yes … let’s talk about that; we were hoping you might be willing to make some concessions on that point. Could we negotiate the parameters of that goal?

TTP: What do you mean exactly?

GOP: Well, could you agree to destroy the state several decades from now — or even a century or two from now? We’d prefer a long-term rather than short-term timeframe. And could you agree not to destroy Punjab? This would all be much appreciated.

TTP: You make strong demands. We’d like to take a break and think it over. You go puff on your peace pipe; we’ll go blow up a girls’ school.

[Both teams step outside. The TTP team disappears briefly. Explosions are heard in the distance.]

[Both teams return.]

TTP: We’ve considered your audacious offer. Fortunately for you, we are responsible stakeholders. Here’s what we propose: In lieu of our earlier demand to obliterate the state, we now ask instead that you cede to us all of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. We anticipate provincial authorities there will not object.

GOP: Excellent. And you will, of course, disarm?

TTP: [Breaks into loud, uncontrollable laughter.] But of course. [Guffaws repeatedly.] But of course.

GOP: Good to hear. And as added sweeteners for this deal, we’re happy to make available free laptops, a fleet of buses, and perhaps a new superhighway to allow you to compensate for the absence of arms.

TTP: That’s kind. But as responsible stakeholders negotiating Pakistan’s future, we don’t wish to accept bribes. Haven’t you heard of the great British jurist Sir Edward Coke? “Though the bribe be small, yet the fault be great,” he once declared. [Smiles]. It never hurts to name-drop. It makes the decadent West think we’re sophisticated.

GOP: Fair enough. So, have we gotten to yes?

TTP: Yes. Let’s take one more break before we issue a joint statement for the press. There’s one more attack we’d like to launch.

GOP: Actually, we’ll stay here and wait for you.

TTP: In that case, we’ll stay here as well. Our weaponry is sufficiently state-of-the-art that we can easily detonate our explosives remotely.

[Explosions heard in the distance.]

GOP: Let’s wrap up this process. We have other important business to attend to, once we remember what it is.

TTP: We also have other important business to attend to, and we know exactly what it is. Indeed, let’s wrap up.

[Explosions heard further in the distance.]

TTP: [Looking furious.] We did not order that explosion. Could it be —

[Frantically checks Twitter timeline.]

GOP: Have you lost more followers this week? That’s been happening to us lately as well. Mention “One Pound Fish” or “Eye to Eye.” That will help recoup your losses. Guaranteed.

TTP: No, something more significant has happened. Our timelime has just lit up with 456,323 furious tweets, all posted by users with Imran Khan avatars.

GOP: [Cringes.] We know what that means.

TTP: Yes. [Glowering with rage.] It means there’s been another drone strike.

GOP: Oh, that’s dreadful. But we can overlook it, no?

TTP: Absolutely not. These talks are off. [Stands up abruptly.] Ta ta.

[TTP team storms out of room.]

From the BBC:
IPL: Asad Rauf charged in IPL spot-fixing scandal
Pakistani umpire Asad Rauf has been charged by police in relation to the spot-fixing scandal in this year's Indian Premier League.

Can this be verified

Mukul Mishra ‏@MukulKMishra 5h
Dunya TV of Pakistan on Peshawar Church blast:Jo kachra saaf karte hain, aaj unka hi safaya ho gaya.|| Imagine Paki mindset about minorities

News.com.pk
Sickular good nuej instead of the horrific church bombings

PISHIN: A bomb targeting police killed at least five policemen and wounded three others in the restive Balochistan province on Monday.

The attack was staged on Saranan Road in Pishin district, 40 kilometres (25 miles) north of Quetta, the capital of Balochistan province.

The bomb was planted underneath the police van, which exploded while the officials were performing routine checks.

After the blast, police and levies force cordoned off the area and started a search operation.
RCase

Post by RCase »

The irony of peace talks ....

Pakistan seeking strategic depth in Afghanistan, the TTP seeking strategic depth in Pakistan and unkil worried about the strategic assets of Pakistan falling into the hands of the Taliban. :rotfl:

Murugan wrote:Can this be verified

Dunya TV of Pakistan on Peshawar Church blast:Jo kachra saaf karte hain, aaj unka hi safaya ho gaya.|| Imagine Paki mindset about minorities

Why is this surprising at all? The channel later apologized - here it is from the horses mouth.

https://m.facebook.com/dunyatvnetwork/p ... 1263135249

It is not just the TV channel. The chief minister of the province suggested that minorities should do their "traditional" jobs like sweeping.

http://www.charismanews.com/world/40410 ... er-comment

Anujan wrote:
Murugan wrote:Can this be verified
Dunya TV of Pakistan on Peshawar Church blast:Jo kachra saaf karte hain, aaj unka hi safaya ho gaya.|| Imagine Paki mindset about minorities.
Why is this surprising at all? The channel later apologized - here it is from the horses mouth.
It is not just the TV channel. The chief minister of the province suggested that minorities should do their "traditional" jobs like sweeping.
Those who want to understand Riots etc
The Narcissism of the Muslim Civilization . Khotte Trying To Pose as Peacock,

He is Madudi son.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Pakistan accuses India of violating Indus Water Treaty Agreement
Pakistan military's official monthly magazine has accused India of indulging in water offensive by violating Indus Water Treaty Agreement.

Even as it emphasized on peaceful relations, the editor's note in the magazine 'Hilal' said the situation has the potential to ignite tensions.

"The natural flow of water is essential for Pakistan's agricultural economy. Any willful obstruction of water thereof has the potential to ignite tensions between the two states.

"Pakistan had always looked for peaceful relations with India and it is keen to resolve all outstanding issues. It is now up to India to come forward and take concrete steps to maintain peace in South Asia," the note said.

The magazine, published by the military's Inter Services Public Relations, notes that after "literally" converting river Sutlej and Ravi into "sewers", India is now eyeing other water resources of Pakistani rivers.

The editorial, titled 'Games They Play ? India's Water Infringement', claims that India is in the process of building as many as 67 dams on Pakistani rivers in violation of Indus Water Treaty (IWT).

"India has built and is in process to construct big and small dams, hydropower projects and reservoirs, numbering as many as 67, on the principal rivers - Indus, Jehlum and Chenab - that were allotted to Pakistan under the IWT," it says.

It adds, "These projects include Kishanganga dam, Tulbul dam (Wullar barrage) and Uri-II hydroelectric plan on River Jhelum; Baglihar, Salal and Bursar dams on River Chinab; and Kargil dam, Nimmo Bazgo hydroelectric project on River Indus and Chutak hydroelectric plant on a tributary of Indus."

The military's September 2013 publication, Defence Day special, says India's building of dams on Pakistani rivers could cause major water shortages in Pakistan in future.
member_26255

Post by member_26255 »

Afghan cross-border shelling kills two in N Waziristan
GHULAM KHAN TEHSIL: Six mortar shells fired by Afghanistan fell in Ghulam Khan Tehsil of North Waziristan Agency killing two people on Tuesday, Express News reported.
One of the shells landed on a house, killing two unidentified people inside.
On September 18, Afghan security forces killed at least five Pakistani citizens close to the Pak-Afghan border in Balochistan.
Islamabad had lodged a strong protest with Kabul on the same day.
According to Pakistani security officials, three vehicles of the Afghan border police had infiltrated Pakistani territory on August 17 and opened fire on tribesmen living close to the border. The incident took place in the Qamar Din Karez area near Zhob city.
On August 1, ten mortar shells were fired from Afghanistan in South Waziristan, injuring a woman and two children.

Massive earthquake in bakistan, but in remote areas. tremors felt in Dhilli
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

Another gem from Taliban Khan.

Taliban are Not Our Real Enemy: Imran Khan
Mianwali: Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has said that Taliban are not real enemy of Pakistan and the process of negotiations with them should continue to restore peace in country.

He said that those who take money from US, India and Israel to carry out bombing in Pakistan are not Taliban and once government reached settlement with real Taliban, the fake Taliban will be left alone.
Imran Khan said what Pakistan cropping today is the fruit of US war and segregation from this war is the key to peace.
http://www.pakistantribune.com.pk/5232/ ... -khan.html

Cross post from US India relations thread

Guys, if you want to get a glimpse of the sick cold-war mentality against India that pervades DC, check this out. Many months ago, our fellow BRite Abhishek as he diligently does, posted this new book by Princeton Professor Gary Bass called "Blood Telegram" about TSPA genocide against Bengalis in 1971 and US allying itself with the killers and supporting them (all the arms used to butcher Bengali Hindus were of US origin) while threatening India.

Now the book has come out, and here are 2 reviews. First, I was surprised to find Economist, a US ruling establishment mouthpiece actually agreeing with Prof Gary Bass, and calls that episode a "shameful moment" (perhaps because Prof Gary Bass was a former Economist reporter :-))

http://www.economist.com/news/books-and ... licy-blood

Now, here comes the other review by some nut job called Peter Kann, a "Pulitzer prize winner" for his 1971 reporting. Even ISI could not have done a better job. Just look at his contempt and disdain for Indian claim on humanitarian crisis. Just look at the casualness with which he dismisses the racist contempt Nixon and Kissinger have for Indians and Bangladeshis. And look at how he actually justifies the 7th fleet and encouraging Chinese troop build up that prevented India from attacking west TSP. Ad finally, this choot says that Gary Bass did not take into account the opinions of TSPA who was only fighting a battle for territorial survival, while India used the crisis to dismember TSP. BTW: Uneven recommended this review to me :-).

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... %3Darticle

Finally, I read the reviews of the book on Amazon. Man, the US consul general in Daaca at that time, Archer Blood is indeed a principled tall man. Hats off to him

http://www.amazon.com/The-Blood-Telegra ... 55&s=books

For the United States, as Archer Blood understood, a small number of atrocities are so awful that they stand outside of the normal day-to-day flow of diplomacy: the Armenian genocide, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia, Rwanda. When we think of U.S. leaders failing the test of decency in such moments, we usually think of uncaring disengagement: Franklin Roosevelt fighting World War II without taking serious steps to try to rescue Jews from the Nazi dragnet, or Bill Clinton standing idly by during the Rwandan genocide.5

But Pakistan’s slaughter of its Bengalis in 1971 is starkly different. Here the United States was allied with the killers. The White House was actively and knowingly supporting a murderous regime at many of the most crucial moments. There was no question about whether the United States should intervene; it was already intervening on behalf of a military dictatorship decimating its own people.

Murugan wrote:Massive earthquake in bakistan, but in remote areas. tremors felt in Dhilli
Unfortunately, it is in Balochistan.

Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - Aug 21, 2013

Nawaz Sharif must act and Manmohan Singh must engage the beleaguered premier in New York
There is still some doubt on whether Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will actually be meeting with his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly meet in New York later this week. Both PMs, however, have been transparently sincere in their desire to see their two nations move closer together and resolve their differences, which would amount to a giant leap for South Asia. Manmohan Singh, therefore, must pull out all the stops to make sure the meeting happens, disregarding if necessary the advice of security hawks.

Sharif has cultivated a peace constituency in Pakistan and his intentions cannot be doubted. There is, however, room for some tough questions pertaining to whether he can get his own house in order. Sunday's horrendous attack on a church service in Pakistan's Peshawar province — which has killed 81 and wounded 131 so far — is only the latest reminder of the deadly Taliban spectre looming over Pakistan. Sharif has, no doubt, made bold overtures to India. But they are unlikely to see the light of day if he is unable to contain Islamist forces in his own country, which threaten not only neighbouring countries but democracy in Pakistan as well, perhaps even its future as a nation-state.

At the same time, the Mumbai-style attack in a Nairobi mall should be a sobering reminder that the spectre of global terror continues to be a threat to peace and security in the subcontinent. Keystone Cops-like events in Mumbai where Afzal Usmani, suspected of serial terror bombings on behalf of Indian Mujahideen, was allowed to get away from a sessions court, bode ill for the level of security preparedness in major Indian cities. This needs to change, if overtures from Pakistan's civilian rulers are not to be followed by spectacular reverses such as 26/11.

While bilateral steps to restart the dialogue process must be taken, the two countries should keep in mind that stalemate situations have often been overcome in the backdrop of disasters. Sharif will be able to address Indian concerns only when he gets a grip on domestic turmoil. But it is incumbent upon Indian authorities too to not appear lethargic to challenges posed by terror outfits at home, while also curbing communal violence which can be a source of recruitment for terror groups.
Being "transparently sincere in their desire to see their two nations move closer together and resolve their differences," is not sufficient. The Pakistani PM must show his sincerity by ensuring that Pakistani Terrorist stop their Terrorist Attacks as also the Pakistani Army must stop its "Attacks" on India along the LOC.

The Pakistanis have run out of their "Promises" to Act. They must deliver on their promises by bringing the Terrorist and PA Attacks to an end.

Possible : YES.

Will NS Deliver : PIGS WILL FLY!

AlHamdulillah
Explosive
Zaid Hamid Exposed, Must watch, many other linked info about bakistani set up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... 9witYL6fqE

Meanwhile back at the looney bin:

Whilst the earthquake was unfortunately in Balochistan, here from yawn .com:
Island near Gwadar

Meanwhile, a 30 to 40 feet high mountain like island has also emerged at western coast of Gwadar as result of the earthquake, Mozzam Jah, Deputy Inspector General Police Gwadar said.

He said a large number of people are gathered to witness the island.

:shock:

Jazzakoolallah.

djin_geo_graphy onlee

40 feet high mountain like island emerged next to Gwadar port only - so people don't have to go too far to see a miracle at doorstep! This earthquake therefore isn't YYY conspiracy and DG police can handle this. However how do people differentiate between good djinn and bad djinn? Is any djinn more powerful than a certain religious figure and how much. What if the island is symbol of some jaahil forces emerging from falsehoods like spherical earth.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

gjinn is good, bjinn is bad(note both are pronounced djinn onlee, english is funny), similar to bad taliban and good taliban...bjinn brings urinated and hydro-power depleted water from India and sometimes earthquakes, while, gjinn creates strategic depth in Afghanistan, gives TSP Ghazwa-e-behind and yes gjinn is always more powerful onlee. one gjinn == 10 bjinn.

vishvak wrote:40 feet high mountain like island emerged next to Gwadar port only - so people don't have to go too far to see a miracle at doorstep! This earthquake therefore isn't YYY conspiracy and DG police can handle this. However how do people differentiate between good djinn and bad djinn? Is any djinn more powerful than a certain religious figure and how much. What if the island is symbol of some jaahil forces emerging from falsehoods like spherical earth.
Yes, http://www.dailykos.com/story/2013/09/2 ... n-Pakistan

Does it help render Gwadar port inoperable?

A_Gupta wrote:Does it help render Gwadar port inoperable?
They're saying it doesn't -

http://www.pakistantv.tv/2013/09/24/sma ... Wyt5L.dpbs

Last line reads: "In an interview with Geo News, (DIG Gwadar Moazzam Jah) said that the hill-like island was about 350 feet away from Gwadar Port, and it doesn't come in the way of ships coming into or going from the harbour."

Pigs blaming YYY for the attack at Church in Peshawar

http://dawn.com/news/1045081/page-from- ... a-muslim/2

Peter Kann is ex CEO of Dow Jones. He won the Pulitzer in 1972 for his coverage of the Bangladesh War

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_R._Kann

http://books.google.com/books?id=rkJ13y ... ry&f=false

Some excerpts:

Peter R.Kann
Dacca Diary

The Wall Street Journal
14 December 1971

[When the Indo-Pakistan war broke out in December 1971, Peter Kann was stranded in Dacca until Indian troops took over the country. Due to the difficulties of transmission he kept a diary of the events taking place. They were reprinted by the Wall Street Journal at the end of the hostilities and earned Kann a Pulitzer Prize in 1972.]

Dacca, East Pakistan: FRIDAY, DEC. 3: Entering elevator in Intercontinental Hotel when another reporter runs up to ask,’ Have you heard the war is on?’ It’s just before 8 p.m. Happen to notice sign by elevator: Happy Hours 6 to 8 p.m. Except Fridays. Rest of evening spent with other journalists clustered around shortwave radio.

Evidently, fighting broke out along border between West Pakistan and India this afternoon. India says Pakistan started it; Pakistan says India. Who knows? But India has been launching limited attacks on East Pakistan border for past ten days. What are you supposed to do when a war starts and the cable office is closed? Play poker. Go to sleep.

SATURDAY, DEC. 4: Day starts early. About 3 a.m. sky lights up with fantastic fireworks display by Pak antiaircraft batteries out by airport. Indian air raid or jumpy ack-ack gunners? Moot question because by breakfast time, Indian MIG’s making regular rocket runs on airfield. Makes you wish you were a photographer. MIG’s diving through clear blue sky. Little white puffs from the ack-ack. Even couple of inconclusive dogfights above the hotel. Several Indian planes shot down. But every observer has different count. ‘Better than Pearl Harbor,’ one of the television types says. Air strikes continue almost hourly rest of day."

He and Sidney Schanberg outed the PA

http://www.rediff.com/news/2007/jan/04spec.htm

cross posting.

vishvak, CosmoJi et. al,

If any of you guys have access to the New Yorker, can you post Pankaj Misra's review of "Blood Telegram"? Just curious to see if he also does a Sarmila Bose, admiring Gen Niazi's "manhood".

BTW: I corresponded with Professor Bass. He is a gentle guy, didn't quite agree with my wholesale dissing of that Peter Kann clown, but did say his review was awful.

Indian MIG’s making regular rocket runs on airfield. Makes you wish you were a photographer. MIG’s diving through clear blue sky. Little white puffs from the ack-ack. Even couple of inconclusive dogfights above the hotel. Several Indian planes shot down.
Peter R Kann. Time to banish you to the Aircraft Recognition thread. :mrgreen:

How much more foolish can ToI and (most Indians) get than the above ?

There are three issues in the above headline.

One, 'Nawaz Sharif must act'. How can he act against his nation's interests. Clearly, his nation's interests are diametrically opposite to those of India. He generally subscribes to Islamist jihadism, antagonism to India, the jugular vein necessity, the strategic depth, the enduring hostility, using non-state actors against India & Afghanistan, the need to be equal-equal with India, joining hands with China to contain India etc. etc. I do not understand why do we Indians expect Nawaz Sharif to act any differently ? Since he subscribes to the state policy of using terror, which to a lay person like me appears to emanate from his religious beliefs and requirements, he would naturally defend the actions of LeT in 26/11. No Pakistani has shown any interest or instinct to act otherwise. It is therefore woolly headedness of Indian newspapers, and analysts to demand 'Nawaz Sharif to act'. He is indeed acting to further his country's interests. Now, somebody may say that Pakistan's policies have pushed that country further into abyss etc. But, then, to a man (or a woman), Pakistanis believe that they have generally succeeded in the last 66 years. Their success is measured on a scale which is different from ours. This is where the disconnect comes even for those even otherwise well-intentioned patriotic Indian analysts who assume that the ultimate goal of Pakistan is the same as any other 'normal nation-state' which is the well-being of its citizens.

Two, "Man Mohan Singh must engage". Mr. Singh has been engaging with various Pakistani PMs with a tearing hurry, especially now as he hurtles towards his inevitable political eclipse. Man Mohan Singh's engagement with Nawaz is not going to alter the ground realities in Pakistan. It is an exaggerated notion that Indian influence may turn the wayward younger brother around or at least stop the rot. In the immediate aftermath of the Partition, this might have been true to some extent; but, Pakistan ensured that such an eventuality would not befall it by creating fences that successfully staved off Indian influence. It is not as though Nawaz Sharif is desperately looking for some assistance from India to defeat Islamist jihadists etc. So, what can MMS offer to NS by engaging him ?

Three, "Nawaz Sharif is beleagured". Looks to me like a condescending tone to me. How did ToI come to this conclusion ? NS has a comfortable majority in the National Assembly. He rules the Punjab, the most important state in the country. There is no possibility of an Army coup in the current circumstances. Pakistan has secured huge loans from the IMF (the stringent conditions do not matter; Pakistan knows how to successfully violate all these conditions and yet live to recall proudly its achievements), the Afghan denouement is going in its favour, it is once again firmly in the good books of the US and massive arms and equipments are about to come its way from Afghanistan, the China relationship is progressing smoothly etc. Even personally for him, his most visceral enemy, Gen. Musharraf, is being prosecuted on several counts. OTOH, it is Singh and his India which are 'beleagured'. Indians must give up this patronizing attitude towards TSP and learn to deal with it realistically.

From DT Editorial,
The TTP, after killing Major General Sanaullah Niazi, stated that it was still in a state of war with the Pakistani authorities, there was no ceasefire so far, therefore their attacks such as the one that killed Major General Niazi will continue. {So, TSP is dar-ul-harb, Mash'a Alla'h}

Is the Major General Niazi who was less pious and embraced martyrdom from the more pious any way related to anther famous Paki general Niazi??