ashashi

Post by ashashi »

svenkat wrote:Dated article by TCA Srinivasa Raghavan from 2007.I found it interesting and relevant.
Modi and the Ramanujam Test
A K Ramanujam put forth a simple idea: while Westerners function on moral absolutes, Indians function on contextual morality.
Very good analysis, except the differences are not to be evaluated as Westerners vs Indian but Abrahamic cultures vs non-Abrahamic cultures.

vivek.rao wrote:

100% agree

India first. No appeasement of any group.

You can't let a caste/community/religious group to dictate the policies of nation.
Come to think of 'communal' violence bill ..
Why is there difference of behaviour based upon anything, and leftists-pretenders aren't saying a word; neither are those talking about social class/caste difference.

This change in behaviour would be legit, wouldn't it? How can this be allowed to occur, and only in India! And what happened to not passing guilt on a community with broad communal brush?

Something similar to partition riot time behaviour of police - lathi wielding police, .32 bore bandook wielding army men - the defense personnel could intervene in some situation but not called in other situation - difference in behavior based upon religion as it appeared!

+1 because a lot of contextual morality is derived from our notion of karma and not on the last day of judegement
rajithn

Post by rajithn »

[quote="svenkat"]Dated article by TCA Srinivasa Raghavan from 2007.I found it interesting and relevant.

[quote]

OT: Perhaps my comprehension skills are low, so forgive me if my position is due to that. Please help me understand if I am wrong.

Isnt morality as a concept contextual in any and all societies? The essay claims western thought is driven by 'moral absolutes'. Then what do you call the backing of Saddam when it suited them and annihilating him when it did not? What do you call the backing of unsavory characters in numerous such instances? Werent they driven by 'morality in context'? This type of 'contextual morality' also gets played out in the daily lives of western society. A simple example that comes to mind is the American support for Lucky Luciano during the Big War.

Isnt 'Moral Absolute' then a paradox?

P.S: the virtual keyboard on an iPad precludes me from elaborating. But i hope you get the gist. Else will find some time tomorrow to sit down in front of a proper keyboard.
Last edited by rajithn on 08 Dec 2013 00:43, edited 1 time in total.

rajithn wrote:Isnt morality as a concept contextual in any and all societies? The essay claims western thought is driven by 'moral absolutes'. Then what do you call the backing of Saddam when it suited them and annihilating him when it did not? What do you call the backing of unsavory characters in numerous such instances? Werent they driven by 'morality in context'? This type of 'contextual morality' also gets played out in the daily lives of western society. A simple example that comes to mind is the American support for Lucky Luciano during the Big War.

Isnt 'Moral Absolute' then a paradox?
Morality in West is Self-Interest Driven Morality and since self-interest is Absolute, you have Moral Absolutes.

RajeshA wrote:Short answer is Jāti is hereditary, Religion is predatory. Jāti subdivides the nation. Religion splits the nation.
not really.. we have jati like and religion likes in other advanced nations as well. but the fact is these largely does not play into governance, public policies, especially in the areas of business and commerce, gov functioning, education and jobs. that may not be a short answer to the problem.. it is a big correction where we need to have this jati and religion coexisting with good governance as other countries have done it. is it so hard to learn this for our village laymen?

+1 because a lot of contextual morality is derived from our notion of karma and not on the last day of judegement
Karam based on your Dharam

Karam = Action
Dharam = The right thing to do.

"Karam Dharam and Satyamev Jayate" <--- This is what we have to protect!

muraliravi wrote:
viv wrote:^^now that is real news...the above news wrt Ayodhya litigant and the news of chaiwallas' campaign in Agra linked earlier - are very positive symptoms of change. And not one based on rhetoric or breaking of public property either.
The last thing we need is muslims voting for BJP. I would much rather, they stay away from BJP and BJP stays away from them. This is their tested trick, when the chips are down, they invest on the opposite side also. So today they can give all fancy stats 10% muslims voted for BJP becos they did "blah ..." and did not speak about "xxx...". Whether they voted or not itself is suspect, but even if they did, I would prefer if they did not and BJP also should not seek their votes. The game is very simple

2014: 10% of the 14% (i.e) BJP got 1.4% vote from muslims which gave them incremental margin

2019: BJP netas amongst themselves get into a bidding war, lets do this so that muslims no longer oppose us and lets bump that number to 20%. So as a first step, lets ditch uniform civil code

2024: BJP neta: to get 30% of the muslim vote lets give voter ids to bangladeshis.

This is how the rot starts, BJP does not need muslim vote. Muslims will never vote BJP and even if they did, it is on their own accord. For the nation's sake lets keep the center-right party the way it is. Never ever give credence to these theories that 10-20% muslims votes for BJP. This will take us to a situation where we will have no main stream party to bank on for our interests.

The last thing we want is the kind of sentiment you, and others who agreed with you are promoting.

Do you truly want to cast aspersions on every Indian who is a Muslim? Secondly, do you have so little faith in the very party you are supporting; that it will be easily swayed and deterred from its direction? Thirdly, do you think no Muslim voted for Modi/BJP in Gujarat?
Do rethink your statements and then post here.

+1 Thanks viv.

Problem starts with this statement - "10-20% Muslims vote for BJP." Such a statement should not even enter the vocabulary of a democratic populace in the first place. What fraction of Indians vote for BJP? That's all that matters.

I understand what muraliravi is saying. No political party should promise favors to one group of people, in exchange for votes. If they have legitimate concerns, that should be addressed in the proper democratic way. The problem isn't with Modi. It's with vested Islamic groups who think they can gradually hijack the agenda of the party on top of Indian politics, by incrementally encouraging them to pander to them. Such behavior is to be strongly discouraged and condemned.

Whether they're Indians first or Muslims first, or whatever - that's for them to sort out among themselves. Modi will and should keep Indian interests in mind.

Now in the case of the Ayodhya litigant, the ideal response should be (IMHO) - thank you for shedding your parochial religious identity, and thinking of the good of the nation. Your view will be honored in that sense. But your community will not get special favors on that score.

viv ji, well said.
Patni

Post by Patni »

What % raise in bip vote will confirm modi wave in state elections? Will +3 to +5% swing in favour of bjp be a good
Indicator?

one thing is for sure... if bjp had to do alliance mongering, then modi as pm could be doubtful.. there would be high energy politics to put a shame mark on our democracy itself.. either we correct the constitution to reflect the largest party rules if 51% vote can be shown at least... or set some rules like the largest party will choose the pm post, by definitions.. we are the only nation on the planet with greatest alliance experiences.. if we can't draft rules of engagement, then this bickering and stupid politics is going to continue on and on.. kangrez will ever play spoil sport sitting in the opposition.. and the governance will take south dive.. and they will go! see what happened to your modi! the fella can deliver.

modi needs 2/3rds majority to deliver. simple

The fact that the BJP is not getting a majority in Delhi, and is loosing in CG, will be a life line to the Modi bashers. As they will say that Modi effect is non existant in India.

Dated article by TCA Srinivasa Raghavan from 2007.I found it interesting and relevant.

A K Ramanujam put forth a simple idea: while Westerners function on moral absolutes, Indians function on contextual morality.
I think this author and Ramanujam should first try to understand Hindhuism's position on Dharma before trying to come up with comparisons with the west. Hindhuism is not as simplistic as this author portrays. It is quite clear and precise, yet takes into account all the complexities(in theory and practice) the application of morals can give rise to. So, Hindhuism divides Dharma into two parts: the general and special(i.e. contextual).

Compared to Hindhuism; the western or abrahamic ones are mostly impractical, hypocritical, and confused. Bji wrote an excellent post explaining how selectively the so-called morals are applied by the west or abrahamic society.
brihaspati wrote:Even Ramanujam and the author's own thinking is a reflection of their own failure to go beyond the superficial, and therefore getting confused.

(1) What appears as contextual application of values - and morals - is not unique to India, it is even more showed up by the so-called "west". The duo here show a complete lack of understanding of the reality of the records of western history - especially the combo of church+imperialism+racism. Starting right from the fundamentals of post-Mosaic versioning of the Judaic traditions - the records and narratives are a record of contextual and opportunistic application of morals and values. Moses himself ordered the culling of the women and children of the very peoples who had given him and his followers shelter after their Sinai trek.

Throughout the Judaeo-Christian traditions, every absolutist commandments and morals had been trumped on various excuses. One simple tool was invocation of angels/messengers/firishtas/burning bushes/direct voices from the supreme headquarters to trump supreme headquarters own earlier pompous declarations.

The record of that whole trajectory and spectrum of morals is a sordid tale of using the morals to extract benefits and power and obedience from the larger powerless section of society, create guilt on every possible natural dilemmas faced by the ordinary human - as a means of psychologically subjugating a population and creating legitimization of authority who can use a myriad transgressions through a legalistic exploitation mechanism.

(2) Any absolutist value - that does not acknowledge itself as a certain viewpoint from a small subgroup that is either loud enough or coercively powerful enough - has always been forced to create exceptions and contextualizations on various excuses when in practical terms of pursuit of power and dominance they have had to break their own rules and laws and morals.

Now coming to the topic of Hindhu position:
johneeG wrote:There has been a serious debate on Dharma on this thread.

In Hinduism, there are 2 types of Dharma:
a) Samanya Dharma (General)
b) Vishesha Dharma (Special)
(Contextual)

Samanya Dharma(General):

It seems, according to Manu:

ahimsa satyam asteyam shaucham indriyanigraham
etam samasikam dharmam chaaturvarnye abhravin manuh

Ahimsa(Non-violence), Satyam(Truth), Asteyam(Non-Stealing), Shaucham(Cleanliness) and Indriya-nigraham(Control of senses) are the Dharma of all the 4 varnas.

The general Dharma applicable to all are:
Ahimsa(Non-violence),
Satyam(Truth),
Asteyam(Non-Stealing),
Shaucham(Cleanliness) and
Indriya-nigraham(Control of senses)

The priority is also clear. Ahimsa(Non-Violence) has the highest priority(over and above Satya/Truth also).
Ahimsa Paramo Dharmah.
Ahimsa is the highest Dharma.

So, when there is a conflict between Ahimsa(Non-Violence) and Satya(Truth), then Ahimsa get higher priority.

Ahimsa(Non-violence) can cover topics like: Murder, genocide, harassment(of any kind), injury(direct/indirect), abortion(killing of foetus), ...etc.
Satya(Truth) is self-explanatory. It can cover topics like: Cheating, scams, misrepresentations(specially in public discourses), breaking the agreements, adulterating the items ...etc.
Asteya(Not-stealing) can cover topics like: stealing, bribes, extra-marital affairs(stealing others' wives/husbands/girl-friends/boy-friends ... etc).

The above three are guarding against the wrong actions.
Shaucha(cleanliness) is a quality that is to be encouraged and inculcated.

Shaucha can cover topics like: personal hygiene, keep the environment clean and safe, pollution(air/water/land/sound...etc).

Finally, the bonus quality which is to be respected, admired and rewarded.
Indriya Nigraha: Control of senses(including mind). Indriya Nigraha forms the basis for all other Dharmas. One who is hankering after the sensual enjoyments would hardly care about law or dharma.

These 5 are the general rules for all.
Then, there are special rules. The special rules are based on the time, place, circumstance and subject. It varies from person to person, from gender to gender, from place to place and time to time.

The Special rules have higher priority than the General rules. So, a soldier, whose special duty is to kill, is exempted from the general rule of Ahimsa.

What happens when a person is forced to perform one himsa(violence) or the other?
This is not a hypothetical question, it is based on the reality of life. Ahimsa is a huge topic, so briefly: The reality of the world is that there is conflict and violence in all dealings directly or indirectly. So, no one can abjure violence completely. So, the rule is that as long as one is acting with in one's own needs/duties, himsa(violence) is alright. For example, when a tiger kills a deer, its alright. Similarly, when a soldier kills an enemy, its alright.

A person must not harm anyone(even a plant or animal or insect) beyond one's need/duty. There is a story of Vidura's past life in MB. If one harms even insects, unnecessarily, then it accounts as severe violence. If one kills other men also, as part of duty/need(self-defense), then such a violence is negligible.

Killing oneself(suicide) is considered highest himsa(violence). Suicide is a bigger offense than the Murder. Murder/injury of a close relative/friend is a bigger offense than killing a stranger. Killing/harming someone who helped you in the past is a great offense.

The punishments given for the same crime are not equal. The one with higher privileges gets higher punishment for the same crime.

A robbery by an uneducated poor hungry guy is not the same as the robbery by an educated rich powerful guy. That means the punishments for the rich and powerful(elites) would be more severe than the punishments for the ordinary.

The taxes are equal to all. 1/6th of one's earning. No indirect taxes. The good ruler must take care of the invalids in one's country. The ruler must encourage the entrepreneurs. He must create situations such that the loans are easily available. The ruler must take care that the farmers are provided by seeds and fertilizers. The farmers must also have the chance to sell their produce for fair amounts.

This is the Hindu system.

So, Hindhuism is neither strictly contextual nor totally ignorant of context. The problem that other systems generally suffer is when they are either totally contextual or totally devoid of context. Hindhuism has more elegant solution to this by dividing the Dharma into two parts one that is based on context and one that is absolute.

Since, it mentions 'varna', I am linking a post on 'varna' also:
johneeG wrote:Here, Sattva, Rajas and Tamas means spiritual, mental(or ego) and material. Those seeking spiritual endeavors are called Brahmans. Those seeking mental or ego satisfaction are called Kshatriyas. Those seeking both spiritual and ego satisfaction are called Vaishyas. And those seeking material comforts are called Shudras.

This is the chatur varna system(4 varnas). In BG, Sri Krishna clarifies that the varnas are based on Guna and Karma. Karma means actions. Actions flow from gunas and/or actions can transform the degree of gunas. So, one can perform sattvic karmas and acquire sattvic guna(even if he was not originally sattvic). One can perform tamasic Karmas and acquire tamasic guna(even if he was not originally tamasic). Similarly, if one is sattvic, then such a person is likely to perform(if left on his own) sattvic gunas. But, neither guna nor the karma are permanent attributes. They only denote the present situation of a being.

Infact, they do not even show the present situation. They are indicators of what happened in the past. It is like a report card after having written exams. Imagine that someone has to write exam every week on sunday. The marks for one exam are given one week later i.e. the marks for previous sunday are given today. But, one should not mistake the past sunday's marks for this sunday. That means even if you failed in the last sunday's exam, you can still write today(sunday's) exam very well. Similarly, the present gunas one is born with are the result of the past life. Strictly speaking, it is not even the past life, but accumulated result of many past lives. It is result of past. It is not an indicator of present or future. It is not even an accurate indication of the past. And it is not permanent or unalterable either.

Was the original chatur Varna system based on birth or not?
If the system was based on birth, then it should have listed the various clans/families that belong to the various varnas. As far as I know, there is no ancient Indian scripture that lists out all the the families/clans that belong to various Varnas. This is important point to understand that the system of Varnas are not based ONLY on birth. If birth was the only criteria, then the scriptures would have listed out all the families(sir-names) that belong to different Varnas. The scriptures don't do any such thing. Instead, time and again, the scriptures stress on the qualities/vocations/behaviours of the Varna.

Anyway, the chatur varna system is not followed by Hindus today. The system that is followed by Hindus is the same system that is followed universally: Jati system(system of clans/families). Each clan or family jostling to perpetuate its power(and social stature) and increase it(through nepotism, if need be).

Chatur Varna system, it seems to me, broke down long long ago. I think, towards the end of Dwapara Yuga varna system was gone. Gradually, the chatur varna system turned into a jati-kula system.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

viv wrote:
The last thing we want is the kind of sentiment you, and others who agreed with you are promoting.

Do you truly want to cast aspersions on every Indian who is a Muslim? Secondly, do you have so little faith in the very party you are supporting; that it will be easily swayed and deterred from its direction? Thirdly, do you think no Muslim voted for Modi/BJP in Gujarat?
Do rethink your statements and then post here.
I did not say "No muslim voted for BJP", I said BJP does not need their vote.

Second, please read muslim history and their tactics before asking me to rethink. I am not ready to live in your fancy cuckoo world. It is their standard strategy, first vote for party that shields them, next ask for appeasement, then ask for benefits specific to their community.

As far as BJP is concerned, it is good if they dont fall prey, I am just hoping that they dont even have to make that decision if they dont ever get into that situation.

muraliravi wrote: Second, please read muslim history and their tactics before asking me to rethink. I am not ready to live in your fancy cuckoo world. It is their standard strategy, first vote for party that shields them, next ask for appeasement, then ask for benefits specific to their community.

+1008

Pratyush wrote:The fact that the BJP is not getting a majority in Delhi, and is loosing in CG, will be a life line to the Modi bashers. As they will say that Modi effect is non existant in India.
Not really ! This result seems to be exactly on expected lines.

There's a confirmed Modi wave in the classes and geographies that form part of Aspirational India. Regressive and Feudal India as expected will be voting Congress. Naxal regions of Bastar have tipped the scales for the Dynasty and Jogi in Chattisgarh.

Clueless India will likely vote for AAP in the Lok Sabha. But the AAP as leftist alternative to BJP is probably a big improvement over the Dynasty. So, trends do seem promising.
Last edited by Arjun on 08 Dec 2013 11:54, edited 1 time in total.

INC is a de-facto muslim league + EJ party. they handle the tribal groups well - they rule the roost with the creamy layer of tribal elites in NE for example.

Standered headline templates for paid media - No Modi effect or wave, AAP is the real winner, Sonia will revitalize and win 2014. Third front this time. Hung parliament in 2014. Bjp not getting anti congress votes.

SECULAR POLITICAL PARTIES WILL WIN IN 2014.

Sheila Aunty resigned. :D

This results show that bjp has better record of governance. the party continue to produce good leaders. That is why they are winning. Mafia nominations are utter failures. They mess up things. Sheila Aunty was relatively fortunate as she has no powers and no responsibliity.

Had D4 did it's job there might not be upa3. Now

Rediff:
The celebrations at the AAP office are reaching fever pitch. Supporters are dancing to dhol drums waving brooms in the air and are shouting slogans, the most catching of which seems to be, "Sheila Ko haraya hai, Modi Ko harayange" ( We defeated Sheila, we will defeat Modi next). Meanwhile the BJP is stretching its leads. The latest trends show the party leading in 37 seats now.

Read more at: http://www.firstpost.com/politics/delhi ... ef_article

One of the tasks is to prevent fraud party division of votes like Delhi. NM has seriously plan for this. Lot of extreme left wing fellows, funded jholawalas will gather to divide anti mafia votes and take youngsters votes in 2014. Plan to defeat this should start now itself.

I am sure Modi planning for this.

also Yuvraj should not be allowed to hide his abject failure. both he and namo were campaigning in the 4 states.
two lists need to be prepared and publicized.
lists of namo meetings and location in the 4 states in this period
similar list of yuvraj

this will show up his abject failure to get votes despite leading the campaign.
manju

Post by manju »

Time to role up the lungi for Lok Sabha :eek: . I have a feeling that the highlight of the coming election will be role of citizen volunteers. That will be a big mile stone in the way elections happen.

I for one am willing to spare time if the local Bhajapa is smart enough to get its act to gether.

Singha wrote:also Yuvraj should not be allowed to hide his abject failure. both he and namo were campaigning in the 4 states.
two lists need to be prepared and publicized.
lists of namo meetings and location in the 4 states in this period
similar list of yuvraj

this will show up his abject failure to get votes despite leading the campaign.
no sirrrr :mrgreen:
RG needs to lead the party from the front and re-invigorate it. onlee he can do this. :mrgreen:
we need more speeches and more RG for INC to shine. :lol:

sum wrote:Rediff:
The celebrations at the AAP office are reaching fever pitch. Supporters are dancing to dhol drums waving brooms in the air and are shouting slogans, the most catching of which seems to be, "Sheila Ko haraya hai, Modi Ko harayange" ( We defeated Sheila, we will defeat Modi next). Meanwhile the BJP is stretching its leads. The latest trends show the party leading in 37 seats now.

Read more at: http://www.firstpost.com/politics/delhi ... ef_article
thats how these folks think and hence BJP should do whatever it takes to address this issue head on, including taking on kejriwal - if not directly by modi, then others.

BJP needed to exorcise the demon of secularism as long as it was imprisoned in the body of Congress. Now BJP has allowed the demon to find another host: AAP, all in the garb of clean white robes.

If the secularism demon is allowed to escape from Congress, Communists and Jativadis into yet another host, it would take many many more years to capture it!

After these elections Congress is finished, the main opposition on the upswing is AAP.

Post by Klaus »

^^^ RajeshA ji, I tend to buy the hypothesis that while SG's INC is heavily influenced by EU lobby, the AAP project is a work of the Great Khans, today's election has ensured that the baton has passed from the EU lobby to the Khans in a small but symbolic manner.

I have been saying this for some time. Arvind Kejriwal represents a grave threat to NaMo's rise as PM. AAP is a stargate :wink: using which all of the Congress mafia can escape to safety and retain power.

The whole #7M_CONgress alliance of Mullahs, Missionaries, Maoists, Macaulayites, Media, MNCs and Mafia can all go to safety using AAP. Dumping the dynasty and its close coterie may be a small price to pay.

As the saying goes, power lies there where the people see power! Congress's drubbing in Rajasthan, MP and Delhi has shown the other political parties that Congress is finished; BSP, SP, JDU, TRS, YSRCP, DMK, all of them know Congress has lost its teeth. BSP, SP, JDU may be willing to let Congress fall now, rather than later when Modi makes still more inroads into the hearts of the Indian voters.

That may also push the elections earlier. AAP will not have the time to build up its strength across the country. That I think is Modi's chance.

I don't know how far that would be possible for BJP to attack Arvind Kejriwal. It's here Internet Hindus would have to take up the challenge and attack Kejriwal.

Indians know him only as the Anti-Corruption warrior but know little about his appeasement of anti-national elements, Batla House, Tauqeer Raza, Kashmir separatism, etc. That is why I had proposed #HazratKejriwal.
manju

Post by manju »

The social media which helped AAP to get to its voters can be used by InternetHindus to educate the young voters and expose AAP for what it really is..

no sirrrr :mrgreen:
RG needs to lead the party from the front and re-invigorate it. onlee he can do this. :mrgreen:
we need more speeches and more RG for INC to shine. :lol:
From the last elections till date: this mantra has held true-
The star campaigner for BaJaPa is Drum rolls please: RG.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

Ram Guha saying on CNN-IBN -
Rahul Gandhi ke paas Dil hai par dimag nahi. This guy is a well meaning loser and sooner he is kicked out of Congress better it will be

Del-wrong thread
Last edited by Lilo on 08 Dec 2013 20:28, edited 2 times in total.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Partnership with BSP will be the deciding factor for INC, as has been said here before. INC may go for an overt agreement with BSP.

IBN

Harsh Vardhan should have been made the BJP CM candidate for Delhi six months back: Arun Jaitleyby IBNLive 8:50 PM

I take the blame for defeat of Congress in Madhya Pradesh: Jyotiraditya Scindiaby Ruhi.Kurele 8:13 PM

Rambir Shokeen, Independent MLA from Mundka, has said that he would speak to Narendra Modi and if BJP offered him Deputy Chief Minister post, he would join the party.
here is the background of the man http://myneta.info/delhi2013/candidate. ... ate_id=579

Today I also saw another thing, that kumar vishwas of aap was shouting "Bharat Mata ki jai", "Vande Matram" and channels were making a point of showing it. At one point in middle of this at one point kumar stops shouting and bends to kejri, whispers something...... but kejri doesn't comply.

Another thing to be noticed on channels was that only 3 or 4 times in last 2 weeks aap was pointed to be naxalites or maoists (once by Swapandas). And anchors really got uncomfortable and shhusshed it up. But to BJPs weakness they didn't point out "how come we are called communal or hourly basis without any objections by media...... so why such a panic to protect aap?"

Wish NaMo, starts new campaigning opportunity with some real people participation. Something big and something guaranteed to force the MSM into reporting it. Some big opportunity for confrontation.

Great to see CongressMuktBharat coming closer to reality. The question of course is how to manage the new savior of the Left. They will definitely make an impact in urban areas.

Will make it harder for Yeddi to come back.

One myth to demolish is the BJP Congress equal equal.

Hopefully at least some of the media will now help h.