West Asia News and Discussions

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: West Asia News and Discussions

But the Canadians haven’t pushed the original inhabitants of Canadian territory into refugee camps.

:oops:

I guess there are not that many canadians!
I am not sure who was living on the rich wheat fields of the western provinces and whether they were deftly removed and relocated...but perhaps it was too cold for most of the native indians when better warmer land was available down south.

the french led medicines sans frontiers also operated in the mujahideen held areas of afghanistan during the soviet occupation.

Singha wrote:I guess there are not that many canadians!
I am not sure who was living on the rich wheat fields of the western provinces and whether they were deftly removed and relocated...but perhaps it was too cold for most of the native indians when better warmer land was available down south.
OT here, but shouldn't massacre of natives south of current Canada have any effect? USA and Canada weren't then separated countries or modern nation states.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

Philip wrote:there is something quite sick when the Israeli retaliation is so severe that dozens of Palestinians,including children who have nothing to do with the conflict are killed in revenge by the state forces,peace will never take place in the region if such overkill becomes the norm.
To be fair, we'd do the same thing to Pakistan if we could get away with it.

If we possessed overwhelming conventional superiority and Pakistan didn't have nukes, you can bet we'd reply to every terrorist attack with a viscous bombardment, and I doubt we'd fret too much over civilian casualties either.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Y. Kanan wrote:
Philip wrote:there is something quite sick when the Israeli retaliation is so severe that dozens of Palestinians,including children who have nothing to do with the conflict are killed in revenge by the state forces,peace will never take place in the region if such overkill becomes the norm.
To be fair, we'd do the same thing to Pakistan if we could get away with it.

If we possessed overwhelming conventional superiority and Pakistan didn't have nukes, you can bet we'd reply to every terrorist attack with a viscous bombardment, and I doubt we'd fret too much over civilian casualties either.
Exactly. But the reality is we can do that even now. Our politicos dont have the spine. Pakis dont have nukes buddy. Its a royal lie that has been propagated by the world and the Indian govt is equally to blame for propagating this lie upon the Indian public. Whatever they blasted in 1998 were just chinese bumbs.

Madhusudhan

Post by Madhusudhan »

Israel's response may seem brutal, but they are 6 million Jews living in a region with more than 400 million Arabs who would like to see them gone. They are doing what they need to do to survive. They are making the consequence of any brutality from Hamas so unbearable to the entire Palestinian population that it keeps a temporary peace going for a few years after which they need to repeat the lesson. I do not blame them.

Check out #IndiawithIsrael hashtag that is trending number 1 in India. I think this is significant on two levels

1) Despite overwhelming global left of centre propaganda, common Indian netizens are rallying in favour of Israel. A lot of past instances of Israel helping India are being mentioned on twitter for the first time by Aam-Aadmi
2) First time in my life I am looking at cross-geography mobilization of opinion for a foreign cause that is not led by Left or Maino-rity folks

The usual secular political formulations are in deep takleef at this...
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

muraliravi wrote:Exactly. But the reality is we can do that even now. Our politicos dont have the spine. Pakis dont have nukes buddy. Its a royal lie that has been propagated by the world and the Indian govt is equally to blame for propagating this lie upon the Indian public. Whatever they blasted in 1998 were just chinese bumbs.
Ugh... not this nonsense again. :roll:

An Israeli Right view of the `collective punishment' being inflicted on the Palestinians.

http://www.frontpagemag.com/2014/dgreen ... unishment/

Of course, the Hebrew version is far more effective, so for those of you who can read Hebrew, here is the link to the Hebrew version.

http://mida.org.il/2014/07/10/%D7%9E%D7 ... %99%D7%AA/

Islamic State routs Iraqi armored column in Anbar

http://www.longwarjournal.org/archives/ ... _routs.php

The point is that Israel,a Jewish nation whose people suffered such abominable horrors under the Nazis is so blase about the deaths of innocent civilians especially children,with deaths now about 200 and rising.No problem for Israel eliminating the ungodly terrorist species who are firing rockets into Israel,but this offensive appears to be mass revenge upon the Palestinians in general,something that the international community cannot stomach but is powerless to do anything about.The great Middle East "peacemaker",anointed by the world,Tony B.Liar,is conspicuous by his absence.No doubt he is exceptionally busy gathering in his cheques from his very busy lecture circuit schedule and overseeing his most important work with consultancy co.,hobnobbing with world leaders,cutting deals for his clients,which makes the rich even richer with under the table handshakes.

Some reports say that what will ultimately happen is that this will strengthen Hamas even more,making it easier to recruit more fighters.The international community is also partly to blame for not making enough efforts to defuse the situation while taking sids in the Syrian conflict funding and sending money,material and mercenaries into an already ultra-volatile region. With the emergence of ISIS,the threat to Israel in the long term has become even greater.
Western media reports also has it that the Saudis have been planning for a decade the capture of Iraq by using Sunni fanatical militias like ISIS.

For the first time ever,Hamas tried to attack the Dimona nuclear reactor complex with rockets. With no peace in sight in the ME,it appears that another round of large-scale bloodletting is about to happen.
Last edited by Philip on 14 Jul 2014 16:28, edited 1 time in total.

Israel will keep killing without mercy as long as its action gets US/UK support via its Veto in UN.

There is nothing to worry for them , Use the biggest weapon on the weakest people and claim hamas has hidden rocket in the basement. No one can verify it and no one will do.

Eventually Israel will end up paying for this as all they will end up with more Palestinian being terrorist.
Absolute security for one is Absolute insecurity for the other.

30 percent of Israeli airstrikes victims on Gaza are women and children
Of the 172 Palestinians killed in seven days and nights after Israeli airstrikes on the Gaza Strip, around 30 percent are women and children. The count by dpa is based on a list of the fatalities provided by Gaza Health Ministry spokesman Ashraf al-Qedra.

The dead include 29 women, of whom seven are under the age of 18. They also include 24 men under 18. About half are small boys aged 10 or under, the youngest an 18-month-old baby. It is not immediately possible to independently verify how many of the 119 men killed are civilians. Two of them are aged 75 and 80.

What is the point of having weapons with pin point accuracy if you can't hit the bad guys without hurting civilians? You can't claim to have those weaponsa nd then go and carpet bomb schools and hospitals. This is where I feel Israel is over stepping. There is absolutely no justification for killing those kids. If you are best of the best then find a way to get the job done without hurting innocent kids. Otherwise there will be no fig leaf to cover when people accuse them of deliberately doing it. JMT
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Paris recently saw a violent protest of faithfools on Israeli action .. pics doing round on internet.

Paris protest.
Instead of Resistance, the appropriate word must be hatred.

Pro-Palestinian march turns violent in Paris, synagogue attacked
http://rt.com/news/172492-france-march-pro-palestinian/

The demonstration turned violent at the end of the march on Bastille Square when some protesters started throwing projectiles at police officers, who in turn responded with tear gas, AFP reported.

Police also blocked off a group of protesters from entering two synagogues, according to AP. One of the synagogues was attacked during a service, with worshippers briefly blocked inside. Police successfully pushed back the protesters, and those stuck inside were then able to leave, according to a police spokeswoman.

One of the people trapped in the synagogue told Israel’s Channel 2 News that protesters threw stones and bricks at the building “like it was an intifada,” The Times of Israel reported.

The French branch of the far-right Jewish Defense League said that one person was seriously injured and three were slightly hurt. However, this claim could not be verified.

Religion of peace

Philip wrote:The point is that Israel,a Jewish nation whose people suffered such abominable horrors under the Nazis is so blase about the deaths of innocent civilians especially children,with deaths now about 200 and rising.No problem for Israel eliminating the ungodly terrorist species who are firing rockets into Israel,but this offensive appears to be mass revenge upon the Palestinians in general,something that the international community cannot stomach but is powerless to do anything about.The great Middle East "peacemaker",anointed by the world,Tony B.Liar,is conspicuous by his absence.No doubt he is exceptionally busy gathering in his cheques from his very busy lecture circuit schedule and overseeing his most important work with consultancy co.,hobnobbing with world leaders,cutting deals for his clients,which makes the rich even richer with under the table handshakes.

Some reports say that what will ultimately happen is that this will strengthen Hamas even more,making it easier to recruit more fighters.The international community is also partly to blame for not making enough efforts to defuse the situation while taking sids in the Syrian conflict funding and sending money,material and mercenaries into an already ultra-volatile region. With the emergence of ISIS,the threat to Israel in the long term has become even greater.
Western media reports also has it that the Saudis have been planning for a decade the capture of Iraq by using Sunni fanatical militias like ISIS.

For the first time ever,Hamas tried to attack the Dimona nuclear reactor complex with rockets. With no peace in sight in the ME,it appears that another round of large-scale bloodletting is about to happen.
It seems there is an agreement between Israel and ISIS (with the help of Unkil, Aunty and false beards). Israel is ignoring ISIS which is on its doorstep and is most cruel. ISIS has never said anything against Israel.

So much for their children dying claims. When they fire rockets at Jews, then Children and women dont get killed? The murder of three youngsters started all this. Look at attacks by Islamists world over and you see children and women being targetted and then none of the human rights bogie ever raise a single voice. We all know in all attacks by Islamists world over like Mumbai attack, Varanasi attacks or the attacks that has happened after Independence. Better not speak those before that time. The religion of violence and hatred.

Push comes to shove - we back the Israelis - in pvt we can give our lectures or arguments

we cannot have it both ways - expect help from them during our conflicts and moralize

Tomorrow when we are attacked all these buggers will support cashmere

Surya wrote:Push comes to shove - we back the Israelis - in pvt we can give our lectures or arguments

we cannot have it both ways - expect help from them during our conflicts and moralize

Tomorrow when we are attacked all these buggers will support cashmere

+108.

Starting with US.

I saw a clip of the protest in Delhi. Looks like unemployed US returned fellow speaking to the reporters.
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

Guru's sorry if it seems very noobish one. What exactly does this article conveys?? Is it that this would be the 1st batch of armymen after service was made mandatory or??

Young Emiratis Signing Up for Military Service for First Time in History

Wiki says UAE defence forces consist of 70K people
Vashishtha

Post by Vashishtha »

^^Yeap, this will be the first batch after the service is made mandatory.

uddu wrote:So much for their children dying claims. When they fire rockets at Jews, then Children and women dont get killed? The murder of three youngsters started all this. Look at attacks by Islamists world over and you see children and women being targetted and then none of the human rights bogie ever raise a single voice. We all know in all attacks by Islamists world over like Mumbai attack, Varanasi attacks or the attacks that has happened after Independence. Better not speak those before that time. The religion of violence and hatred.

That does not make it right because children don't know religion and frankly the Muslims are using these deaths for propaganda. Only the kids are caught in the crossfire and they do not deserve it.
Not sure why everyone is justifying Israels actions and wishing that India would do the same. Perhaps we don't do the same not because we are weak but we are following a code of Dharma. It is possible to follow code of dharma without doing foolishness like Prithviraj Chauhan.
Even Shivaji who practiced guerilla warfare followed code of dharma appropriate to the time.
Perhaps our civilization survives because we kind of sort of followed dharma.
To our BRFites bedazzled by an eye for eye logic and quid pro quo, it is OK to be called "aurat (nuttin wrong there)" weak and spineless if we follow our code of dharma. Nothing wrong with being compassionate and no one gives a damn about what these desert folks who will destroy the world if they have their way thinks of us.

Dilbu wrote:What is the point of having weapons with pin point accuracy if you can't hit the bad guys without hurting civilians? You can't claim to have those weaponsa nd then go and carpet bomb schools and hospitals. This is where I feel Israel is over stepping. There is absolutely no justification for killing those kids. If you are best of the best then find a way to get the job done without hurting innocent kids. Otherwise there will be no fig leaf to cover when people accuse them of deliberately doing it. JMT
What do you do when the bad guys hide amongst the civilians and shoot rockets from there? Maybe the civilians should be pissed off at Hamas for putting their lives at risk. Hamas can't survive without local support.

Me thinks Hamas is desperate for a ceasefire, thye probably dont have more 500 rockets left. Last they want want is to run out of rockets before ceasefire, that will be a total blow to H&D.

Other than benefiting Arab states, can anyone tell what benefits do the Palestinians get from the rocket attacks in Gaza. NO way inspite of propoganda Hamas is building those rockets in Gaza, they are clearly importing them from Egpt.

Aditya_V wrote: Other than benefiting Arab states, can anyone tell what benefits do the Palestinians get from the rocket attacks in Gaza. NO way inspite of propoganda Hamas is building those rockets in Gaza, they are clearly importing them from Egpt.
The Arab states will fight Israel down to the last Palestinian. The Palestinians don't seem to get this.
gunjur

Post by gunjur »

Vashishtha wrote:^^Yeap, this will be the first batch after the service is made mandatory.
Thanks. I was not sure what exactly it meant as the heading said "for first time in history".
arminius

Post by arminius »

It seems I have missed it, but has there been an official statement by GoI concerning the recent incidents in Gaza strip?
I haven't noticed anything other than nanga nautch by usual suspects on the streets of New Delhi. I hope
we don't see that syed whatever-uddin fellow sermonising on the behalf of MEA
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

Jarita wrote:That does not make it right because children don't know religion and frankly the Muslims are using these deaths for propaganda. Only the kids are caught in the crossfire and they do not deserve it.
Not sure why everyone is justifying Israels actions and wishing that India would do the same.
That way each and every war is wrong. More than being about right or wrong, this is about what needs to be done and what not, for survival/defense of the society.
You don't follow Dharmic rules of war when the enemy is Adharmic to the core.
Jarita wrote:Perhaps we don't do the same not because we are weak but we are following a code of Dharma. It is possible to follow code of dharma without doing foolishness like Prithviraj Chauhan.
PrithviRaj Chauhan used to lead night attacks on his enemy :D
Jarita wrote:Even Shivaji who practiced guerilla warfare followed code of dharma appropriate to the time.
Among other well known things, Shivaji never hesitated from plundering Surat again and again. One would think, that was an aggressive and greedy thing to do. But hey, everything goes when you're up against the devil himself and it needs preparation.
Jarita wrote:Perhaps our civilization survives because we kind of sort of followed dharma.
Our civilization is teetering on its feet, exposed against serious threats now. Exactly because we followed dharmic rules against enemies specialized in adharma. That luxury is only for those who're extremely powerful than their (adharmic) enemy and aren't fighting for self-defense.
Jarita wrote:To our BRFites bedazzled by an eye for eye logic and quid pro quo, it is OK to be called "aurat (nuttin wrong there)" weak and spineless if we follow our code of dharma. Nothing wrong with being compassionate and no one gives a damn about what these desert folks who will destroy the world if they have their way thinks of us.
Nobody enjoys collateral damage and nobody is looking for it. But if it comes along as mandatory side dish whatever way you place your order for "self-defense" main course .. then ???

Virendra

And dharma does not mean you don't use all means to defend yourself or beat the enemy. Dharma changes and is contextual. In this particular case killing children is unnecessary
And also one is not proposing one does not support Israel. We support those that will ensure the sustenance and continuation of our civilization. We do whatever it takes. We do not however emulate them in all aspects.
Infact dharma would be for India to actually take an offensive stand against nations infringing upon our territory to the extent capability allows (foolish to take up cudgels when you can't).
Somehow our definition of dharma has become similar to western notions of right and wrong. That is not what it is. Targeted warfare within our neighbors territory with the purpose o retaining our sovereignty would be most dharmic.

Hitting those directly responsible for attacking you is entirely justified,but whole scale indiscriminate bombings that maim and kill innocent women and children is simply not on.Such an attitude from whichever side practises it,will only ensure that the flames of hatred lives on and is well stoked from time to time.

The tragedy is that for Israel,the scale and sophistication of anti-Israeli attacks has been increasing year by year.In the last spat with the Hiz,Israeli several much-touted Merkava tanks were destroyed .An Israeli naval warship was hit and almost lost by an Iranian supplied anti-ship missile.Syria now possesses Yakhonts (BMos equiv),some of which the Israelis destroyed in a special forces attack. Hamas regularly fires rockets into Israel,for the first time attempting to attack the Dimona N-complex.tel Aviv is not immune to attacks either. Unless a swift peace initiative is brokered by the UN/international community with firm focus and effort,the enemies of Israel will one day possess some kind of WMD.If they attack Israel with such weapons,who will Israel attack in return (with its N-arsenal) when the enemy is not a nation state? Iran? Syria? That would bring about a global crisis an a poss. WW3.

Within Israel there are sane voices calling for a better treatment of the Palestinians like this veteran soldier.Ignoring these voices increases the risk to Israel.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/com ... 07267.html
Avner Gvaryahu
Tuesday 15 July 2014
As an ex-soldier in the Israeli Defense Forces, I've seen how shockingly we treat Palestinians

There are moral red lines. Why do we keep crossing them?
I only knew Gaza from the stories. It was the military zone for which the Givate Brigade was responsible, but we all knew the stories about how they managed to kill several militants in one ambush. Honestly, we were a bit jealous. I was drafted into the Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) at the end of the Second Intifada into a special operations unit of the paratrooper brigade. From the start of my service I knew that Nablus and Jenin would be the areas for which we were responsible. Child’s play, seemingly, compared to the stories that came out of Gaza – but my child’s play. I’ll never forget the first time that I was shot at, the first Palestinian corpse I ever saw, and the fear and adrenaline during my first military operation.

My first mission involved the seizure of a Palestinian home. I had never before had the opportunity to be inside a Palestinian home, and my squad was surprised for a moment by the fact that within the home lived an entire family – spanning three generations. We woke everyone up, and took over the house. We put everyone in one room - women, men, children, and the elderly. One of the guys was stationed at the door to ensure that they didn’t get out. In the meantime, we took care of our business. I remember asking myself: what do they think about all of this? What would I do if soldiers broke into my home? But I immediately repressed these questions and carried on with the mission. As time passed, fear turned into boredom, adrenaline stabilized, and my doubts about the extent of the operational logic and its justification would return to gnaw at me. But the next day there were already new operations. This was our daily routine, and as a result, the next time I didn’t really think about how the family whose home we entered felt. My personal red moral line blurred very quickly. Every time I would tell myself – this is still okay. But it’s in the nature of red lines to move along an imaginary scale. I wasn’t bothered when we destroyed entire homes during search operations, and when my squad accidentally shot an innocent woman, and we quickly buried the incident and moved on. Today I know that my ability to distinguish whether a particular action crosses the line, didn’t really exist back then.

What happened to me is happening to the IDF and to Israeli society at large. During Operation Cast Lead I had been a civilian active with Breaking the Silence for over a year, but I was still shocked by the incidents I heard had occurred there. I remember a friend who had taken part in Cast Lead. He returned shaken by the fact that homes of “Hamas members” were deemed legitimate targets for bombing without any relation to the risk they posed to our soldiers in the field. That was the first time he had encountered such orders during his military service. This is what he testified:

"In the morning we identified four men, aged 25 - 40, with keffiyehs, standing outside the house talking. It was suspect. We reported it to intelligence, specifying the house they were about to enter. Intelligence passed this on to the Shabak (Israeli Security Agency) who reported that this was known as a Hamas activist’s house. This is automatically acted upon. I don’t remember what we used - whether it was a helicopter or something else, but the house was bombed while these guys were inside. A woman ran out of the house holding a child, and escaped southward. That is to say, there had been innocent people inside."

The same red line that was crossed during Operation Cast Lead has become the starting line for Operation Protective Edge. Homes of “Hamas members” were added to the IDF’s long list of potential targets in the Gaza Strip.

The politicians that send us to perform these tasks don’t even pretend to promise hope for a better future. Just further use of force and violence. Our doubts about logic and justice don’t even interest us anymore, as our red moral lines are constantly moving in the face of our reality - much like mine during my military service. 150 killed in Gaza in the first six days of the operation, the vast majority of whom were civilians, and a quarter of whom were children. Millions of Israeli and Palestinian people live in existential fear that a rocket or a missile will fall on their heads. The end of one bout of violence merely sets an alarm for the next.

The red line at which we stopped during Operation Cast Lead (2009), is the same line from which we commenced Operation Pillar of Defense (2011). The point at which we stopped during Pillar of Defense is the same place from which we’ve started Protective Edge. What will our next red line be? And when will we cross that one too? Only we can answer that question. It depends on us, and what we allow others to do in our name.

Avner Gvaryahu served in the IDF as a sergeant in special forces from November 2004-November, 2007
Read more: Why I'm on the brink of burning my Israeli passport
Israel’s reaction has been vicious and misdirected
War is war: Why I stand with Israel

Philip,

The aim of hamas is to provoke israel such attacks and then cry wolf.

Should we really care about those wolf cries?

If the tables were turned, how many israelis would have hamas killed?

Philip-ji,
You seem to be labouring under the impression that there is a substantial constituency that wants peace with Israel and by bombing the place, Israel is shooting itself in the foot. Having seen first hand the place, I can assure you there is no significant group in Palestine that wants peace. Israel's bombing or not bombing the Palestinians is not going to make a penny worth of difference for the peace process, simply because the end result of the peace, as visualised by most Palestinians, is the extinction of Israel. Hamas, Hezbollah, Fatah, Islamic Jihad - all these are mere names with similar aims, as far as Israel is concerned, even if they fight among themselves. It is like saying we can make peace with JuD, but not Lashkar, or Telebunnies, or any other of the Pakistani groups. At the bottom is the hatred of the Jew, and that has been around since the inception of Islam. Nothing the Jews can do - short of extinguishing their state and wiping themselves out - will bring them any favours.

Virupaksha wrote:Philip,

The aim of hamas is to provoke israel such attacks and then cry wolf.

Should we really care about those wolf cries?
ISIS and Saudi role in it were getting too much bad press. So, I guess the Hamas and the other alphabet soup of terrorist organisations were primed to attack Israel and take attention away from the ISIS. The aim of the Hamas is to do what their Sunni benefactors want them to do.
If the tables were turned, how many israelis would have hamas killed?
The intention of the Hamas has been to kill or ethnically cleanse every Jew from Israel.

Indiscriminate killing of children does not help Israel in any way. In fact it only helps the likes of Hamas to create more terrorists. I don't think anyone on BRF will deny the arguments in favour of Israel. But they can't just go in and kill kids. It is simply not acceptable. We all know rabid Paki terrorists will kill Indian kids without batting an eye lid if they get a chance but how many of us want IA to go in and bomb a Paki kindergarten in response to this. Kill the terrorist by all means but spare the innocent as much as possible. This attitude of indifference will not help Israel in the long run.

Dilbu wrote:Indiscriminate killing of children does not help Israel in any way. In fact it only helps the likes of Hamas to create more terrorists. I don't think anyone on BRF will deny the arguments in favour of Israel. But they can't just go in and kill kids. It is simply not acceptable. We all know rabid Paki terrorists will kill Indian kids without batting an eye lid if they get a chance but how many of us want IA to go in and bomb a Paki kindergarten in response to this. Kill the terrorist by all means but spare the innocent as much as possible. This attitude of indifference will not help Israel in the long run.

Dilbu, You are falling for wrong moral equivalence. To bring in rabid Paki terrorists with Israeli soldiers is incorrect.

Israel is not going out of its way to kill children. It is responding with same indiscriminate use of force as Hamas with its rockets.

So far media is shwoing the Israeli use of force but where is the outrage for the Hamas rocket attacks?

Its classic case of underdog cheering even when the dog is wolf.