Why is "Hindu Nationalism" spoken of in a pejorative sense?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
peter

Re: Why is "Hindu Nationalism" spoken of in a pejorative sen

Post by peter »

peter wrote:
Lastly genetics is also supporting that the aryan subdivision into four groups brahmin, kshatriya, vaishya and shudra have almost identical genes. Not sure if Virendra is still around but he can perhaps help dig out some papers which contain this data. What this implies is that aryas had a society divided into 4 groups and people could move from group to group. Our Sanskrit texts have ample evidence of it and is supported by modern science and genetics.
I have all the papers myself. Archived on my hard drive, and quoted on BRF several times
Great!
shiv wrote: i asked you how varna was part of the Hindu "religion".
What is this? Brahmins , Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and Shudras are vedic concepts.
shiv wrote: Religion means mandatory rules that everyone must follow.
That is your definition. And is false. We have already established you could be a Hindu even if you did not pray to gods, cow , the dung or the urine. Where is the ambiguity?
shiv wrote: If people could change varna (as proved by the genetic record), then varna was not a mandatory rule that everyone had to follow - how does varna become "Hindu religion".
Hindus were the only group who had this four fold division .
shiv wrote: It was only social stratification.
True.
shiv wrote: Not religion. It was not a mandatory religious law. How did you make varna a part of Hindu religion as if it is religious law?
Varna became an identifier of Hindus. If you study Vedas there was a concept of Aryavrat. People who did not believe in the practices of Aryas that is in Vedas were pushed out of the Aryavrat. And division of Aryas into four groups is mandated in Rg Veda.

shivji,
Its all nice to have sense of dharma.But the need for smrithis and dharma shaastras arose because not everyone has the wisdom of a manu and things needed to be codified.

The Ambdekar Smrithi or the gentoo laws too were need of times-the foremost being the need to enact and administer laws over a large area which was coming in contact not just with a christian west but a 'democratic' west which invested 'considerable' rights for its merchants,innovators,technical people,educators and workers working in hazardous conditions.This nation was not one having a maharaja at the apex but rather societies with multiple and conflicting power centers.

While Shri Balu has useful insights he himself is in Belgium in an abstract academic position.The problems facing the activist Congress party were different.There was a wing in Congress working for empowerment which meant discarding what were thought to be outdated and restrictive customs,practices and traditions while another wing was worried about stability and continuity.

One thing the Hindu nationalists were paranoid about was a strong central govt.The Hindu nationalists rightly or wrongly inferred that much of Indias travails over the past 1000 years was because of weak governments which had resulted in inertia and paralysis.They thought without that organisation India would be caught in a backwardness trap.Swami Vivekananda writes glowingly about European organisation and efficiency and discipline.

Hindu orthodoxy and say Justice party opposed the Congress stand for different reasons.The Hindu orthodoxy saw Congress stand as fluffy and superficial while Justice Party saw it as artificial centralisation.It was the Congress which 'won' the day as both orthodoxy and provincialism seemed to be futile resistance to modernisation.

While Hinduism is indeed multifaceted,when it comes to the issue of political power and authority and legitimacy,the hindu thinkers are not obtuse at all.I will cite our forum.People like 'svenkat' are allowed to pontificate in "HAF" but even svenkat knows uninformed opinion has no place in MIF.Politics and 'Religion' are no no in that forum.The brahmanas have dreaded anarchy and they have revolted against due authority only when things become intolerable.

You cited cow slaughter and 'beef'.These are not mainstream Hindu practices.Theres a reason why we call a large part of India as 'cow belt'.Crores of hindus in non hindi speaking India worship the cow.Maybe things will change in 10 years.Do they allow beef in Army/AF/Navy mess?The diversity of Hinduism should not blind us to the fact theres an ancient orthodoxy within Hinduism.
Last edited by svenkat on 18 Nov 2014 08:47, edited 1 time in total.
peter

Post by peter »

peter wrote: Question was whether Bhishm and Dron knew Dharma during Draupadis disrobing. And the answer is according to Krishna they both did not and hence had to be slayed. What is the confusion?
They did not know dharma at that time. But they knew dharma at other times. What is your confusion?
No confusion. The claim that some know Dharma "absolutely" is false. Which is what some posters here seemed to be suggesting and I am opposing that.

peter wrote:
That is your definition. And is false. We have already established you could be a Hindu even if you did not pray to gods, cow , the dung or the urine. Where is the ambiguity?
That is your theory. What you are saying is that Hinduism is a religion where you can do some things and you need not do those things if you don't want. You can change from day to day. That is ambiguity by definition unless you change the meaning of ambiguity like you changed the meaning of the word "religion".

Today I pray to cows. Tomorrow i sell them to a butcher. In fact you could behave like a Hindu one day and like a Muslim or Christian the next day.

This is not the behavior expected of the Abrahamic religions - the people who brought that word "religion" to us. Recall that Bheeshma and Drona and the Vedas do not have any reference to or definition of the word religion. The word was defined for us by the Brits. You are simply changing the meaning and making it seem that you can do any damn thing and belong to Hindu religion.

I say that if you can do any damn thing, it is not a religion by definition. Religion demands that everyone follow rules consistently - and not have a cafeteria approach - "I take this you take that". That is not religion unless you change the meaning. If you are going to change the meaning of words I will say "Hindu means follower of Christ". After all words need not have any set meaning. One meaning for you and another for me.

peter wrote:Varna became an identifier of Hindus. If you study Vedas there was a concept of Aryavrat. People who did not believe in the practices of Aryas that is in Vedas were pushed out of the Aryavrat. And division of Aryas into four groups is mandated in Rg Veda.
Varna may be an identifier of Hindus, yes. But that does not make Hinduism into a "religion"

In fact the words "Hindu" and "religion: are not mentioned in the vedas. You should know that. How do you so easily say Varna is Hindu religion? What is this Hindu religion?
Last edited by shiv on 18 Nov 2014 08:52, edited 1 time in total.

peter wrote: No confusion. The claim that some know Dharma "absolutely" is false. Which is what some posters here seemed to be suggesting and I am opposing that.
Then you are doing nothing to answer the question that this thread started with.
peter

Post by peter »

peter wrote: Have you been reading the examples of Rajput kings and beef eating from medieval India? Do you have some confusion on them?
Rajput kings do not represent all Indians or all Hindus. Are you confused in that regard? If Bheeshma and Drona can forget Dharma at times why not Rajput kings?
Funny. Are you suggesting that rajput kings opposition to beef and abhoration of beef eaters is adharmic?

Anyway the only reason we are still having this debate on Hindus is because of these rajput kings and their armies. If they were not there and did not think of beef eaters as adharmic and had not fought against them tooth and nail and in the process got annhiliated then most of us would be doing azaan in mosques.

So I say we all rise up and say thank you to these brave souls.

And yes whatever "dharm" they established or fought for was very valid.

All of us have the luxury in 21st century to pooh pooh anything we feel like.

peter wrote: Anyway the only reason we are still having this debate on Hindus is because of these rajput kings and their armies. If they were not there and did not think of beef eaters as adharmic and had not fought against them tooth and nail and in the process got annhiliated then most of us would be doing azaan in mosques.

Stop changing the subject. Rajput kings are only one set among a line of Indians over 5000 years who have protected India. Dont pretend that only they knew dharma and you can recognize it better than others.

If you can stick to the subject please contribute - or else we can keep derailing the thread until admins step in
peter

Post by peter »

peter wrote:
shiv wrote:That is your theory. What you are saying is that Hinduism is a religion where you can do some things and you need not do those things if you don't want. You can change from day to day. That is ambiguity by definition unless you change the meaning of ambiguity like you changed the meaning of the word "religion".

Today I pray to cows. Tomorrow i sell them to a butcher. In fact you could behave like a Hindu one day and like a Muslim or Christian the next day.
No . If you sold your cow to a butcher then you would have been made an outcaste. You would have lost your jaati and your place in the hindu division of the society. I have given you examples of this in earlier posts.
peter wrote:Varna became an identifier of Hindus. If you study Vedas there was a concept of Aryavrat. People who did not believe in the practices of Aryas that is in Vedas were pushed out of the Aryavrat. And division of Aryas into four groups is mandated in Rg Veda.
shiv wrote:Varna may be an identifier of Hindus, yes. But that does not make Hinduism into a "religion"

In fact the words "Hindu" and "religion: are not mentioned in the vedas. You should know that. How do you so easily say Varna is Hindu religion? What is this Hindu religion?
Hmmmm. Can you please read the bold part again? Aryvarata was land of Aryas. Arya society has a four fold division mandated in Rg Veda. If you do not follow Arya principles you are routinely pushed out of the varna system. These are facts. What is it that you are not following?
Last edited by peter on 18 Nov 2014 09:00, edited 1 time in total.
peter

Post by peter »

peter wrote: Anyway the only reason we are still having this debate on Hindus is because of these rajput kings and their armies. If they were not there and did not think of beef eaters as adharmic and had not fought against them tooth and nail and in the process got annhiliated then most of us would be doing azaan in mosques.

Stop changing the subject. Rajput kings are only one set among a line of Indians over 5000 years who have protected India. Dont pretend that only they knew dharma and you can recognize it better than others.

If you can stick to the subject please contribute - or else we can keep derailing the thread until admins step in
There is no changing of the subject. The kings who defended India were ancient lineages of Surya and Chandra vansh. Their descendants are medieveal hindu kings of India who defended against the Islamic tide.

You seem to be denying the obvious.

If the Rajput kings were united instead of constantly feuding among themselves, no one east of the Indus would be following the Azaan today.

See, this can go both ways.

svenkat wrote: You cited cow slaughter and 'beef'.These are not mainstream Hindu practices.Theres a reason why we call a large part of India as 'cow belt'.Crores of hindus in non hindi speaking India worship the cow.Maybe things will change in 10 years.Do they allow beef in Army/AF/Navy mess?The diversity of Hinduism should not blind us to the fact theres an ancient orthodoxy within Hinduism.
There is orthodoxy. Orthodoxy per se is not religion

We need to understand that the laws of our country are secular laws.

For secular laws to be put in place you first need to define "religious laws". Before defining religious laws you need to identify "religions"

What proof is there that Hindu-ism is a unitary, monolithic "religion"? What evidence is there that "caste" (whatever it is supposed to mean) is a law in the Hindu religion.

Aftyer defining religion and religious laws, the secular constitution then deals with everything that is not religion.

if defnitions of what is Hindu and what is not is so controvesrial, is it any surprise that our "secularism" is nonsense.

Dharma is not defined. Hindu-ism becomes a "religion" and "caste" is part of that religion

This is all utter nonsense.
peter

Post by peter »

A_Gupta wrote:If the Rajput kings were united instead of constantly feuding among themselves, no one east of the Indus would be following the Azaan today.

See, this can go both ways.
Be glad with what you have not what you could have had. It is easier said then done. I hope India realises what these brave souls did and followed by Marathas and then Sikhs and jats.

It is not clear whether the Rg Veda is trying to explain an existing situation, or is mandating it. Only a person with religion on the brain would be jumping up and down, saying, see, see, a "scripture" (if the preserved-by-oral-tradition Rg Veda can be called a scripture) has a mandate about varna.

peter wrote:No confusion. The claim that some know Dharma "absolutely" is false. Which is what some posters here seemed to be suggesting and I am opposing that.
Peter, everybody here understands that. There are some situations where the response is easily determinable under the principles of Dharma. There are others where Dharmics would come up with contradictory responses to the same situation. Its a bit like Strategy Consulting.... In some cases, the same case study would lead to different responses from different strategy consultants. Does that mean that Strategy is worthless - since noboby can agree on what the correct 'strategic' response to a given situation should be ? Not in the least. A 'strategic' outlook or mindset is still far superior to not having a strategic outlook at all. Same with Dharma - Its the Dharmic mindset and process of constantly questioning whether ones actions are Dharmic that is important. The application of Dharma for a particular situation can vary depending on both the context and the person applying it.

Here is what you said earlier
peter wrote:In the time of vedas aryan society was divided in four entities:
kshatriya: rulers/fighters
brahmins: teachers
vaishya: vaaniya business
shudra: serve others.

Total inter movement in these four divisions allowed. You got into any group based on your choice and what you learnt or not learnt. Each of these is further subdivided. Kshatriyas into Surya and Chandra vansh and so on so forth. With the passage of time these vansh further got subdivided based on an eponymous king. Thus kuru vansh, raghu vansh, panduputra etc.
Now you say:
peter wrote: Aryvarata was land of Aryas. Arya society has a four fold division mandated in Rg Veda. If you do not follow Arya principles you are routinely pushed out of the varna system. These are facts. What is it that you are not following?
First you say that varna could be changed at will. Now you say varna is mandated by the vedas and you can get pushed out

What is the difference between being pushed out and pushing yourself out?

If varnas can be changed in a minute how does it make a Hindu law. Laws cannot be changed at will. Everything you say about Hinduism - be it cow worship, name of God, or varnas can be changed voluntarily. So Hinduism has no laws?

What laws does Hinduism have? You have not given even one "law" that is there in Hinduism. Everything is changeable. Here today gone tomorrow. Religions have laws. Those laws cannot be changed. Hinduism that you talk about has no laws. it is not a religion.
Last edited by shiv on 18 Nov 2014 09:17, edited 1 time in total.

A_Gupta wrote:It is not clear whether the Rg Veda is trying to explain an existing situation, or is mandating it. Only a person with religion on the brain would be jumping up and down, saying, see, see, a "scripture" (if the preserved-by-oral-tradition Rg Veda can be called a scripture) has a mandate about varna.
This is too intellectual a question for the level of debate we have here. Too much thinking involved.

Peterji, you have made the following two statements:
peter wrote: If you sold your cow to a butcher then you would have been made an outcaste. You would have lost your jaati and your place in the hindu division of the society.
peter wrote:If you do not follow Arya principles you are routinely pushed out of the varna system. These are facts.
You have used the word "outcaste"

What does outcaste mean? Does it mean being pushed out of jaati, or being pushed out of varna.

Does selling of cows fail under Arya principles? If I sell my cow to a butcher would I lose my varna?

I believe the literature of the 1300s-1400s describes the fight against the invaders as "mlecha" and "turk", not as "mussalman" (or anything close). From the Hindu side, it was not a fight over doctrine, it was a fight of self-defence against aggression.

Quotes from Wiki:

Were these people ever astika?
In parts of India, such as Ladakh, with significant historical presence of Buddhists, a caste system existed in a manner similar to caste structure in Tibet. The upper castes belongs to sger gzhis, and they are called sgar pa. The priestly caste belonged to monastery, and are called chos-gzhis. Miser are the serf caste. Serfs, the majority of the people, farmed and paid taxes. An individual's social status and lifelong occupation was destined by birth, closed, and depending on the family one was born into, the individual inherited a tenure document known as khral-rten. Buddhist castes had sub-castes, such as nang gzan, khral pa and dud chung. Buddhist also had castes that were shunned by their community and ostracised, such as hereditary fishermen, butchers and undertakers. The untouchables in Buddhist regions, as in Tibet, are known as Ragyappa, who lived in isolated ghettos, and their occupation was to remove corpses (human or animal) and dispose of sewage.

Quotes from Wiki.
For centuries, through the modern times, the majority regarded Cagots of western France and northern Spain as an inferior caste, the untouchables. While they had the same skin color and religion as the majority, in the Churches, they had to use segregated doors, drink from segregated fonts, receive communion on the end of long wooden spoons. It was a closed social system. The socially isolated Cagots were endogamous, and chances of social mobility non-existent.

With the unification of the three kingdoms in the 7th century and the foundation of the Goryeo dynasty in the Middle Ages, Koreans systemised its own native class system. At the top were the two official classes, the Yangban that literally means "two classes." It was composed of scholars (Munban) and warriors (Muban). Within the Yangban class, the Scholars (Munban) enjoyed a significant social advantage over the warrior (Muban) class, until the Muban Rebellion in 1170 resulting in the 100 year Goryeo military regime. Muban ruled Korea under successive Warrior Leaders until the final Mongol victory in 1270. In 1392, with the foundation of Confucian Joseon dynasty, the full ascendancy of munban over muban was final.

Beneath the Yangban class were the Jung-in (중인-中人: literally "middle people"). They were the technicians. This class was small and specialized in fields such as medicine, accounting, translators, regional bureaucrats, etc.

Beneath the Jung-in were the Sangmin (상민-常民: literally 'commoner'). These were independent farmers working their own fields.

Underneath them all were the Baekjeong. The meaning today is that of butcher. They originate from the Khitan invasion of Korea in the 11th century. The defeated Khitans who had surrendered were settled in isolated communities throughout Goryeo to forestall rebellion. They were valued for their skills in hunting, herding, butchering, and making of leather, common skill sets among nomads. Over time their ethnic origin was forgotten, and they formed the bottom layer of Korean society.
See also: Baekjeong

Korea had a very large slave population, nobi, ranging from a third to half of the entire population for most of the millennium between the Silla period and the Joseon Dynasty. Slavery was legally abolished in Korea in 1894 but remained extant in reality until 1930.

>>Well Hinduism propounds many paths to God and all these paths are equally true. Buddhism on the other hand says only path is true and none other. This is what later Abhramic religions also say path of the book and nothing else.

Not exactly. Secondly, Buddhism does not say only one path is true and it leads to God (with a capital g, not a small g as our friendly evangelist in TN says). In Buddhism, to the best of my knowledge, there is no reference to a personal God of any kind of the sort found in the Abrahamic faiths.

>>So you see Hinduism and one path only religions are 180 degrees apart. My way is not highway in Hinduism.

One path only "religions"? Is Buddhism a religion? There are many Buddhists who do not regard it as one. My way is not high way in the Abrahamic sense in Buddhism either; if you don't adhere to the 8-fold path, there is no eternity in "hell".

>>Second Buddhism believed in conversion. The missionary zeal of Buddhism took it to Japan, central asia and south east asia and who knows where else.

Again, not exactly. Buddhism is a proselytizing life-organising system, but as far as I know there is no standardised and easily recognised conversion ritual. If you want to become a buddhist, just read up and act like one (i.e. do what other buddhists do and believe what other buddhists believe - depending on the sect you prefer; you don't have to proselytize either) - just like in Hinduism. Let us not forget, Hinduism too expanded to other parts of the world - per some historical accounts, before Buddhism did.

>>BTW what revolt did you expect? Buddha dissing Hindus? It is a doctrinal revolt.

Well, I expected that clarification. According to you it's a doctrinal revolt. Now, why the word "revolt" - which has very specific connotations in the English language? Wouldn't it be considered much more correctly a distillation of views that already existed in Hinduism in some form or another? In that milieu of 600 BC or so, when there were a proliferation of views within the underlying structure of Sanatana Dharma, arose a very cogent and easily understood set of views which helped people to better comprehend the world in which they lived. It was simply another set of theological views, albeit powerful and popular; as far as anyone knows, there wasn't any singular structure or overarching faith system that exercised control of any kind, doctrinal or otherwise, which required a revolt; just what seemed to people then an attractive set of ideas. Which is why the Buddha was never persecuted, he preached like hundreds of others apparently did, and died a natural death...Revolt is the wrong word for it. If anything, it was an "evolt", i.e. an inevitable evolutionary development in thought - one among many systems, and of course the fittest ones survived with a high visibility - Buddhism and Jainism.

peter wrote:
RajeshA wrote: You are again repeating yourself that "Dharma Yuddha == religious war"!

So if the Indian State protects the Durga Temple from an attack by Jihadis, then the secular Indian State is waging a "religious war"! Would that be what you are trying to tell me?
In Indian hindu kings realm this happened:
a) Muslim holy books were burnt, thrown in wells
b) Mosques were destroyed
c) Muslim men were killed based on their appearence and they could only save themselves by shaving their heads, and beards and wearning a janeu and tilak.
d) In 18th century panjab a rajput swordsmen who was fighting to avenge the death of Guru Gobind Singhs sons gave choice to muslims of towns/villages that he conquered that either they convert or they will perish.
e) He routinely had a rod put thru people who did not convert and had them roasted alive. All this while he ate his food.

If this is not a religious war what is?

And as I wrote earlier you are falling into the trap of Secularists that Hindus in medieveal India were under no religious war. Please do some research as it is imperative that at least Indians know what their past is. Your line of argumentation is uninformed.
Secularists make that case to show that
- there was no animosity between the two religions - Islam and Hinduism,
- and if there were any atrocities on Hindus, then they were not at a scale that they are made out to be,
- and if there were any atrocities on Hindus, then it was the work of a greedy invader, who may have been nominally a Muslim, but whose actions were not in accordance with Islam,
- and as such there should be no grievance from the side of Hindus, against Muslims or against Islam.

However the Secularists too sell the nonsense that Hinduism is a religion, albeit a funny one, which they simply copy from how the British view Hinduism. Islam on the other hand, has never needed to define Hinduism, as they don't care two hoots about what it constitutes. For them it is Shirk and needs to be vanquished.

My point is completely different. Of course there is every reason for Hindu rage at Muslims.

But the term "Hindu" does not derive from any religion "Hinduism", for that is a British fabrication. Nor can the "faiths of the Hindus", for that is what "Hinduism" was supposed to signify, be boxed into the narrow meaning of Religion.

Now either you show me that our texts speak of "Hinduism" or that "Religion" is an Indic word, or you open yourself to understand the difference between Dharmic traditions and religions.

I have earlier written down why Dharma is not to be confused with Religion!
RajeshA wrote:I would say a socio-ideological system touches upon various questions on life. These are for example:
  1. What is the nature of existence? How was the perceptible universe created? Is there a transcendental consciousness overseeing creation? What is the purpose of creation? How will it all end?
  2. What is the nature of man? What is the relationship between man and the transcendental consciousness if it exists? What are the limits of 'Free Will'? What is the purpose of Life? How can man be happy? Why does man suffer?
  3. How should man think, behave, and act? How does man's actions influence his destiny? Where does man receive guidance to this effect? Is that guidance mandatory?
  4. How should mankind structure their society? What laws should govern society? What laws should society impose on each individual?
  5. Who oversees society's governance? Who oversees man's behavior?
Abrahamic and Arya socio-ideological systems answer these questions very differently, and dependent on how they answer, one can determine whether they are religions or not.

The first two sets of questions, I would say, form the philosophy and faith backbone of any system - the Darśanams, the Moksha Margas, the Bhaktipanths. It is for these set of questions, that Hindus say, "sarva pantha, sama bhava"! We don't discriminate. Religions propose various views on this, but so do Dharmic Bhaktipanths.

It is in the answer of the next questions, that Dharmic socio-ideological systems differ from Abrahamic religions. In religion the laws and its upholders derive from top boss - from God. In Christianity, it is the Church, allegedly instituted by Jesus, Son of God, himself, when he told Peter, "You are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church". In Islam, it is the Ulema (and Caliph), who are best knowledgeable about the Holy Koran, the word of Allah, as conveyed by the Khatam an-Nabiyyin, the Seal of the Prophets, by Muhammad.

In case of Christianity, it is the ten commandments from the Old Testament, which form the basic laws, and to some extent to their simplicity and lack of need of interpretation, that the responsibility for upholding of implementing these laws has been passed on to the monarch, to the state, which allowed a certain degree of secularism to blossom. However the "obligation" of Evangelism which allegedly derives from Matthews 28:19,20 has remained the domain of the Church.

Islam, in form from Shariah, however posits a comprehensive way of life based on Holy Koran, the word of Allah, and on the life of Muhammad and to some extent the later Caliphs. That means one would always need the Ulema who understand Qu'ran and Allah's Rasool and they would remain the last arbitrators of Islamic Law. So no chance of secularism here.

Now the Exclusivism in the Moksha-Margas of Christianity and Islam shouldn't as such matter. After all it is only a question of belief of an individual. But when the Moksha-Margas start impinging on the answers of the last 3 sets of questions, then exclusivity leads to authoritarianism, to tyranny.

In Dharmic socio-ideological systems, the premise is totally different. There the answers to the first set of questions, do not directly influence the next set of questions. The next set of questions are dealt through the medium of Dharma and not the Moksha Marga.

Dharma is the Ārya system of Meta-Ethics. Dharma exists autonomous of Moksha Marga.

What one encounters often in our scriptures is that often not even Vishnu, Shiva or Brahma can intervene is the laws of Karma, and change the vardaans and shraaps given to a person. At the most they can suggest a means to mitigate the effects of a vardaan or a shraap. Even Vishnu, Shiva or Brahma have to bow to Dharma, and their Avatars try to live according to Dharma. That means Dharma itself is external to their existence.

I say Dharma is meta-ethics, because it is not a list of do and donts given to us, but rather it is the conditioning of our Ātman to act conscientiously. Since Ātman is a manifestation of Paramatma, in ways one can see Dharma as a form of guidance from Paramatma Himself. Different Darśanams may explain it differently. Development of a Dharmic conscience is as such knowledge intensive and requires critical thinking.

Thus each and every Dharmic becomes responsible for right and wrong, and if someone fails to do it correctly, the Sovereign takes it upon himself to carry out Raj Dharma.

Also social organization and social codices among some groups have developed by building on the foundation of Dharma.
In Bharat we have two separate concepts - Moksha Marga and Dharma. People can have all sorts of Moksha Margas, Ishtadevtas, Darśanams, etc. That is where the plurality comes from. However all Bharatiyas and indeed all Āryas share Dharma, which controls their ethical compass. One could even say, Dharma is secular, even as it is the main topic of discussion in all our sacred texts. I don't know if the word "secular" really describes Dharma, but in order to drill into the heads of Macaulayized people, it is useful.

Now it is part of Dharma to fight Adharma, and if somebody comes and destroys people, artifacts and life-style which belongs to one's Moksha Margas: temples, priests, sacred books, murtis, etc., then it is against our ethical system, because our ethics say, we should protect all that.

As such yes, Dharmics can conduct a war to fight Adharma, but because of ethics and not religion.

To your specific question regarding any effort at terrorizing the Muslims is concerned, all that is a matter of judgment of those who waged Dharma Yuddha. If the Dharmic Yoddhas felt that the reason for Adharma was some people's allegiance to the cult of Mohammedism, then sure they may have considered it right to force people to reject that cult.

It would have taken certain connotations of a religious war, if the Dharmic Yoddhas had tried to enforce a particular Moksha Marga or an Ishtadevta on to the Muslims. That would have been then not simply a conversion out of an "Adharmic Panth" but also a conversion into a particular Dharmic Moksha Marga, which too would not be Dharmic, or ethical.
peter wrote:
RajeshA wrote:There is a difference in knowing what constitutes the concept of Dharma on the one hand and on the other knowing how to act according to Dharma in a given situation considering the influence of one's own upbringing and psychology and effects of rajasic and tamasic gunas.
RajeshA wrote: If 80% of the people act according to the principles of Dharma, then there would be more Dharma in the world then if one says there is no point to understand Dharma because nobody can achieve perfect understanding of Dharma.

The point is to set up an ideal to which all strive for! There are many different types of ideals from various cultures: 72 virgins, Heaven, Freedom, Nirvana, Moksha, Dharma, ...
You are skirting. When Bhishm, Drona did not know Dharma do you know it? Do you know others who know it? Do you think rajput kings and others I wrote about were following Dharma in how they treated muslims?
Dharma fights Adharma but the focus is not to kill people who may be Adharmic. If the Rajputs saw Islam as Adharma, then they would do what is necessary to beat that Adharma out of the people. Tactics are completely based on one's analysis of the problem and the solution, as long as one tries one's best to minimize pain and coercion! Minimize however does not imply, one can not use such tools.

peter wrote:Well Hinduism propounds many paths to God and all these paths are equally true. Buddhism on the other hand says only path is true and none other. This is what later Abhramic religions also say path of the book and nothing else.

So you see Hinduism and one path only religions are 180 degrees apart. My way is not highway in Hinduism.
You keep on thinking in terms of religion boxes, silos, and drawing hard lines between various Dharmic panths, and so you keep on repeating the same old ...

It is like you have 4 baskets, and in one basket you put 6 apples and the other 3 baskets you put one apple. And then you pronounce, that each basket is a completely different concept, all 180° apart. :eek:

It is somewhat arbitrary how one distributes these apples in various baskets. What if one goes and get dozens of new baskets?! Then one can put only one apple in each basket, and not more. Than "Hinduism" basket would only have Vaishnavism! Would that make any sense?

How does one otherwise explain Ramayana being a central theme in Thailand, even though it is a Buddhist country?!
peter wrote:Second Buddhism believed in conversion. The missionary zeal of Buddhism took it to Japan, central asia and south east asia and who knows where else.

Hinduism had no conversion. Again 180 degrees apart.
So what were those Japanese who believed in both Shintoism and Buddha, were they Buddhist or not?

Posting from here.
RajeshA wrote:Religion-driven Evangelism has as its main purpose to change the allegiance of a person to a particular concept of God represented by a particular Lineage of his Emissaries, whose legacy is purported to be best embodied by some sect or church or fiqh or mezheb.

Dharma-based "Krinvanto Viswam Aryam" Principle, or Buddhist Śaraṇaṃ has as its main purpose to educate others especially on ethics, Dharma, and thus to make other people noble, Ārya, for their own good, that of society and of mankind at large.

There is no conversion in Buddhism in the sense that Christianity or Islam mean it.

Rajesh ji, good constructs once again. However what has happened is in the western concept of Rule/ Law based religion, by putting Dharma = Religion they equated the Meta Ethic system with Sampradayic mores. The mores became the governing meta ethic. Islam still harps on Sharia which is nothing but its ritual. Xtianity could be only contained by bringing Xtian mores/tenets under the Secular metaethic system. The State freed itself being governed largely by the dictates of the pope to making laws it deemed as rational. Islam hasn't yet evolved there. For Indics the meta ethic was always existing and undisputed, in the West the meta ethic in a way was being disputed and overturned during the enlightenment period. They basically labelled our Meta Ethic as Religion and drew us a law based on some Sampradayic mores.

harbans wrote:Islam still harps on Sharia which is nothing but its ritual. Xtianity could be only contained by bringing Xtian mores/tenets under the Secular metaethic system. The State freed itself being governed largely by the dictates of the pope to making laws it deemed as rational. Islam hasn't yet evolved there.
Islam prides itself for offering mankind "a complete system", and as such Will of God is projected onto the whole Sharia. Islam is divided into fiqhs - schools of jurisprudence. So Law of God and its interpretation is completely in the realm of religion, and not a secular process, not a man-guided process. If one takes out what Allah (i.e. through Muhammad) wants man to do from the Qu'ran, there is not much left.

So Law in Islam can never be secularized like Christianity.

My discussions with some Western students of philosophy and theology shows a somewhat lack of realization on their part concerning this issue. Many think that just as Christian world became enlightened, Islamic world would follow a similar pattern. This hope is unfounded. Also often under the name "prophet", one fails to appreciate that Jesus was principally someone who preached non-violence, forgiveness, tolerance, though in his name, Christians did the opposite. The violence among the Christians came mostly from their politics, even Church politics, and from the Old Testament. Thus Christians could change.

On the other hand, Islamic Prophet, was first and foremost a political leader who not only advocated violence, but indulged in much himself. So from that view as well, Islam cannot go the way of Christianity.

Islam cannot and will not evolve!

In religions, much more important than Law Giver is God as Allegiance Demander, and that goes for both Christianity and Islam.

Even Xtianity didn't evolve/ reform on its own. People who rejected the tenets made the evolution possible. And exactly who were the people who rejected the tenets and made revolution possible? Western Enlightenment philosophers like Voltaire, Schopenhauer who came into contact with the Vedic and Upanishadic texts same age. As the thinking spread amongst the elite, the consequent rejection of the tenet spread..and they wisely realized that Xtianity/ the Papal hold cannot be broken till a meta ethic called secularism is invoked. That invocation demanded the Secular Governing Meta Ethic to be > The Xtian dogmatic religious Mores. It succeeded. The role and influence of Sanskrit/ Dharmic texts in the whole affair of Western thought reformation hasn't much been taken up for obvious reasons, but one can easily see from available material it (the influence) is huge. No, Xtians did not evolve by themselves. It was people who rejected its tenets that did/engendered the evolving process. With Islam it is stupid to assume that it will reform due to moderate muslims. It won't. It will due to help from Muslims who reject its core doctrine.

But while European Greats like Voltaire, Schopenhauer influenced by Dharmic texts could offer secularism to subdue the Church role in politics, what can Islamic greats like no one as yet, use to influence subduing of the political doctrine of Islam? Secularism as i mentioned is a failure to contain Islam as they will breed/outbreed if not powerful enough presently for the right numbers. Thus a doctrine > than secularism is required this time to contain the virus. That doctrine is obviously not Secularism, it is the exertation of Dharmic tenet. The ideas time has come. So Secularism under Dharmic influences contained Xtianity. Now Dharma as a successful constitutional entity will contain Islam near term future. But we must rally behind it too.

Minor nitpick RajeshA-ji. Jesus is not the all-loving apostle that he is made out to be. He called Jews the "brood of vipers". The 2nd coming of Jesus, if it plays out according to scripture, will be a genocide to end all genocides. I am looking forward to a book by Kalavai Venkat about the not-so-nice Jesus

Of course, all this is assuming Jesus existed in the first place, which itself is in serious question
Last edited by Prem Kumar on 19 Nov 2014 03:38, edited 1 time in total.

Another reason why Islam will not evolve. The fundamental tenet of Islam is that though God sent several prophets before Mohammed (like Abraham, Moses, Jesus etc), the message he sent through them got corrupted over the years. Hence he sent the *final prophet* (Mohammed) with the *absolute perfect truth* Quran. With it came the instructions that, if you don't want the latest Word of God to suffer the same corruption as the previous ones, the Quran must be preserved and followed in its *exact form* which was revealed to Mohammed. This is Islam's uniqueness. Hence the Quran *must not be* reinterpreted.

ChandraV wrote: Consider the following facts:

1. Uber-liberal youth of today - the whatsapp generation - they will become more and more permissive and promiscuous with every passing year. Relationships, dating, etc. will become extremely common among all classes of society. This is inevitable with increasing independence and economic growth. This is bound to increase.

2. Now, these morons in Bajrang Dal and other vanara senas stand like policemen and scream about "what is right and what is not". And they do all this in the name of Hinduism, Hindu religion and 'Hindu nationalism'. The message they are giving is, "Hindu nationalism spits on your desires, aspirations, needs and trends".

3. End result: Hindu nationalism is seen as the preserve of old fogeys and uninteresting "un-cool" thugs. Respect for Hindu nationalism (and even Hinduism) goes down, contempt and derision for Hindu nationalism (and Hinduism) keeps going up among the newer generation.

So, what happens when this new generation grows up and dominates the nation? They will have a contempt for Hinduism and Hindu values, and will contribute greatly towards derision of our civilization and heritage.
This is an interesting point. The conflict here is "What is our heritage that we need to preserve?" To some extent this could go in the Western Universalism thread as well - but since you felt it appropriate here I will stay on this thread for now.

Whatever the answer to the above question, it is clear that the groups who are protesting, calling themselves "nationalists" are feeling a threat to their idea of nation, or perhaps their very identity by the things they protest against. In the case of Muthalik and co it is usually Valentines day, mixed boy-girl parties with music and dancing and unmarried couples. The methods they use attract the ire of the media, who generally come from the same social background that see no harm in the things that these groups oppose.

For the time being let us ignore all the "uber-liberal" people whom you have named who are opposed by the Muthalik and co type groups and just examine their ostensible viewpoint

In the (collective) minds of these groups it appears that "Being Hindu" means that one must not encourage acts that bring unmarried young men and women together. "Valentine's day" seems to attract special attention because of "St Valentine" being of "Christian/Western origin". Be that as it may, Valentines day celebrates "courtly love" as per Wiki where chivalrous men court women creating romantic love stories.

But let me step outside this for a minute. Muslim groups too oppose Valentine's day. They too feel their identity/culture is being attacked. I don't think "Hindu" groups have even joined hands with Muslims groups against Valentine's day as a common "cultural enemy"

If you look at Christian institutions in Bangalore - you find that they are prominent in forbidding the wearing of jeans to college by women. So the idea of female propriety being upset by the wearing of "Western" jeans is not a Hindu monopoly

If Hindus, Christians and Muslims are upset by the same things it clearly means that there is some issue that affects all of them. All of them have a common view of propriety and morality. Maybe some of us may not agree with them but they are remarkably similar in their opposition to certain modes of behavior that include women appearing to show their body curves to everyone, and free mixing and socializing of unmarried men and women. But none of them seem to want to unite publicly against the "common enemy."

Suppose we unite them in our minds and ask what unites them and what is that unity called. And what divides them and why that division exists

Could the common thought process of Hindus, Muslims and Christians be called "Nationalism"? Only the Hindus call themselves "Hindu nationalists" protecting Hindu culture. The Muslims call it against their culture. Christian institutions say it is against Indian culture.

Why should the uber-liberals then single out Hindus as offensive?

Perhaps the explanation is as follows: The uber liberals are all westernized wealthy Hindus. They do not see any attack on "Hinduism" by their behavior. They don't give a damn about what Muslims might say because Muslims are free to control their own Muslim youngsters. The minute they (Muslims) touch the liberal Hindus, the "Hindutva vadis" will side with the liberal Hindus. As for Christians, they do not look down upon unmarried men and women meeting each other. The college dress code is not restricted to Christian institutions - so they can't be singled out.

It turns out that there is more commonalty between the Muslim objections and the Hindutva objections. Overall - all three groups represent conservatism, versus so called "liberalism". I dislike the word liberalism because western liberalism is also a kind of fake liberalism - but that is another issue. So this business is more of a reaction to "westernization" - which is seen as an attack on Indian culture along with slippage of morals. It may be viewed as the "thin end of the wedge" or the "slippery" slope leading to western norms of promiscuity. If the uber liberals are actually heading that way then perhaps this is better discussed in the Western Universalism thread.

Let me describe the difference between dharma on the one hand, and religions/nation states on the other. The relationship is like that of the relationship between the United Nations (Dharma) and Nation states (religions and nations)

The United nations has a set of gudiing principles for the purpose of preserving the world free from conflict and nations at peace with each other. I will cross post the aim of the UN and convert into minute font the part that is less relevant because it was written to prevent war. Dharma was not coded simply in reaction to a big war and for that reason "avoid war" is not big in Dharma

UN Charter guiding prinicples
  • To maintain international peace and security, and to that end: to take effective collective measures for the prevention and removal of threats to the peace, and for the suppression of acts of aggression or other breaches of the peace, and to bring about by peaceful means, and in conformity with the principles of justice and international law, adjustment or settlement of international disputes or situations which might lead to a breach of the peace;
  • To develop friendly relations among nations based on respect for the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples, and to take other appropriate measures to strengthen universal peace;
  • To achieve international co-operation in solving international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian character, and in promoting and encouraging respect for human rights and for fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language, or religion; and
  • To be a centre for harmonizing the actions of nations in the attainment of these common ends.
The UN puts itself over and above religion and nation states. All nations can have their own laws and their own religions, but need to conform with the UN charter. (It is another matter that the upholders of the UN "Dharma" - the P5, are trivial minded assholes - but that is irrelevant to the concept as a whole. It is relevant only to the failure of the UN as an upholder of real Dharma)

If you look at Dharma, its aims and objectives are similar

Dharma is a set of guidelines to preserve and propagate human society in an environment friendly way, avoid conflict if possible while allowing people to have their own nations and practise their own "religions"

But the nations and religions that arise within the United Nations of Dharma (UND) cannot have laws and religions that go against the UND charter.

Anyone who reads the Mahabharata (in gory detail, beyond the abridged storyline) will realize that the warriors in the story went about "conquering and subduing nations" in that era, making some nations vassal states or allies for war. Nations were classified according to whether they were largely dharmic led by adharmic king, or adharmic, led by adharmic people.

For example, ISIS and Somalia are examples of breaking the UN charter

What this means is that Dharma is a Universal code for human survival - to be adopted in Nation States who can then have their own religions and their own constitutions and their own law bok.

Looked at in this way it is easy to figure out the role that Dharma played in Indian society. It was a UN charter for the United Nations of India. Since the entire country pretty much followed it - we had hajaar nations under one united umbrella of Hindu Dharma.

When the British came, the 5000 year old idea of Dharma was ahead of its time and a similar concept would not be born until the League of Nations was created.

I have a doubt: why should laws be compulsorily part of a religion? Shouldn't laws be part of a state? What happens when the laws are broken?

I understand that the laws are derived from the religion or culture and are aimed at enforcing a particular culture therefore laws are very closely associated with religion and culture. However, I still don't understand why laws should be compulsorily part of a religion. Instead, I think the better method is to derive a legal system from the religion. Infact, many religions including malsI and X-ism seem to claim that they derived their laws from their theology.

In Hindhuism, it seems the need for a Hindhu legal system(which would define the dos and don'ts for a society) was clearly recognized and understood. However, Hindhus recognized clearly that any legal system must be suitable to the time, place, circumstance and objects(i.e. people).

So, by this very logic, there cannot be one single legal system for all times, for all places, for all circumstances and for all objects. So, Hindhus seem to have developed various legal systems(i.e. Smruthis) which would govern the societies.

Obviously, this would give rise to some basic questions:
a) Who developed these smruthis?
Some rushis who were highly respected in their times developed these smruthis.
b) Why should these smruthis be considered as Hindhu legal system?
Because they claim that they are based on Vedhas.
c) Are these legal systems always valid?
No. Different legal systems were in vogue in different places at different time and in different circumstances.
d) What is these legal systems are not fair? For example, what if they try to promote 'social evils'?
In that case, those parts of the legal system can be abrogated or updated. Because any part of Smruthi is valid only as long as it is derived from Vedhas.

So, Hindhus have not only come up with legal systems but they were one step ahead(like in all other issues). They clearly recognized that any system come up with will not be valid forever and will get corrupted at some point in time. At that point, that system will have to be reformed, update or a new system will have to be created. Hindhus established a basic criteria and as long as these basic criteria are met, legal systems are allowed.

a) The basic dogma of Hindhuism is that Vedhas are immutable. If any idea can be shown to be supported by the Vedhas using the Veghangas to interpret the Vedhas, then such an idea is a Hindhu idea even if all Hindhus don't accept that idea. Infact, it is perfectly possible that Vedhas might support many different or even contradicting ideas. Why would Vedhas do that? Because these ideas or concept are aimed at different people or different circumstance or different times.

b) The legal system must be Dhaarmik. That raises a question: what is Dhaarmik? What is Dharma?

Dharma was defined by Manu as follows:(Manu is considered the first law giver of Hindhuism. He is portrayed as supporting the caste system and many excesses against the so-called lower castes).

Ahimsa - non-violence
Sathyam - Truth
Astheyam - Not stealing
Shaucham - cleanliness
Indhriya nigraham - sensual control

These are basic qualities which are to be promoted by any legal system for it called Dhaarmik legal system.

In a fair legal system, responsibilities are proportional to privileges. In an unfair legal system, responsibilities are disproportionate to privileges.

In a fair legal system, people who have more privileges will have to bear more responsibilities. On the other hand, if privileges are to be equally shared, then the responsibilities also should be shared equally.

If all human beings should have same rights, then they should all have same duties. For example, if parents don't have any rights to control their children, then the parents cannot be held accountable for the behaviour of children. On the other hand, if parents are given rights to control their children, then the parents will be held accountable for the behaviour of the children.

harbans wrote:Even Xtianity didn't evolve/ reform on its own. People who rejected the tenets made the evolution possible. And exactly who were the people who rejected the tenets and made revolution possible? Western Enlightenment philosophers like Voltaire, Schopenhauer who came into contact with the Vedic and Upanishadic texts same age. As the thinking spread amongst the elite, the consequent rejection of the tenet spread..and they wisely realized that Xtianity/ the Papal hold cannot be broken till a meta ethic called secularism is invoked. That invocation demanded the Secular Governing Meta Ethic to be > The Xtian dogmatic religious Mores. It succeeded. The role and influence of Sanskrit/ Dharmic texts in the whole affair of Western thought reformation hasn't much been taken up for obvious reasons, but one can easily see from available material it (the influence) is huge. No, Xtians did not evolve by themselves. It was people who rejected its tenets that did/engendered the evolving process. With Islam it is stupid to assume that it will reform due to moderate muslims. It won't. It will due to help from Muslims who reject its core doctrine.

But while European Greats like Voltaire, Schopenhauer influenced by Dharmic texts could offer secularism to subdue the Church role in politics, what can Islamic greats like no one as yet, use to influence subduing of the political doctrine of Islam? Secularism as i mentioned is a failure to contain Islam as they will breed/outbreed if not powerful enough presently for the right numbers. Thus a doctrine > than secularism is required this time to contain the virus. That doctrine is obviously not Secularism, it is the exertation of Dharmic tenet. The ideas time has come. So Secularism under Dharmic influences contained Xtianity. Now Dharma as a successful constitutional entity will contain Islam near term future. But we must rally behind it too.
There are 3 aspects to this:
a) Intellectual: the intellectual aspect was inspired from the Hindhuism and malsI. Hindhu knowledge was passed on through the malsI and then Hindhu knowledge directly passed on after 1600s.
b) Political: the royalty wanted to weaken the X-ism and church. So, they supported these intellectual movements which lead to concepts like secularism and nationalism which replaced X-ism.
c) Money bags: This is the Khazarian element. The khazarians supported these royalty and intellectuals by sponsoring them.

These 3 groups choked X-ism. And by 1800s, church was bankrupt. Then, church made its peace with these groups and allied with them. In 1900s, Turks were defeated and replaced by Arabs. This added a new ally.

Now, this is the group. Many times, people fall into a trap of thinking that they are different groups. While they seem like different groups, they have very strong linkages with each other. So, they should be seen as allies.

In a way, organized religions make it easy to take control. All you have to do is take control of head quarters, then the entire creed will be in your hands. But, disorganized religions provide more problems because they are never under complete control.

malsI is an organized religion whose head quarters has been toppled but not properly replaced.

johneeG wrote:I have a doubt: why should laws be compulsorily part of a religion? Shouldn't laws be part of a state? What happens when the laws are broken?

I understand that the laws are derived from the religion or culture and are aimed at enforcing a particular culture therefore laws are very closely associated with religion and culture. However, I still don't understand why laws should be compulsorily part of a religion. Instead, I think the better method is to derive a legal system from the religion. Infact, many religions including malsI and X-ism seem to claim that they derived their laws from their theology.
With respect JonheeG, you have used two words here, "laws" and "religion"

it is important to be exact about what is meant by both

What is a law? A law is something that invariably causes a response if certain conditions are met
eg: If you put you hand in fire, you hand will burn. That is a law. if something is called a law, it is 100% essential that it should provoke a response when the conditions that invoke the law are met.

When the conditions laid down by the law are met, and the response does not happen, or it happens only 50% of the time, or if the response happens sometimes and does not happen at other times - then is is not a law. Or the law is not being upheld (which is same as saying it is not a law). Laws must come with the means to implement them unless they are natural laws like hand burning in fire.

Religion was made the origin of laws because it was decided that God (in Abrahamic religions) was absolute monarch and his word was law. If he said kill someone you had to kill that person. The concept of absolute implementation and obeying of laws came from there. So when laws were written by humans those laws were meant to be followed. If they were broken, punishment had to follow. The Indian constitution is based on this concept (borrowed from the British). We may not like it, but that is what it is.

Laws do not have to come from religion. They can exist outside religion. I have been arguing all along that "Hindu laws" are not "religious laws". And many stupid things have been entered in our law books that are called "Hindu laws" when they are not even laws. We have in India a situation where we call something that is called a religion, but is not a religion it is something above or beyond religion. Then that thing that has been called "religion" has been blamed for having "laws" that are not even laws.

The laws of Hindu dharma stand separate from religion. Those laws recognize religion. but they are not part of religion. Like I said Hindu Dharma is like a UN charter that created the United Nations of India where diferrent religions and different schools of thought were allowed to flourish unde rthe overall guidance of a "UN charter" called Dharma

India is and has always been a "United Nations of India" with freedom of worship, and freedom of travel, and freedom of employment all across the Indian subcontinent under the UN charter called "Dharma". Indian nationalism stems from this.
Comer

Post by Comer »

shiv, then we have to define the nation at a lower level. Can the lower level nation, for lack of a better term, "homogenous". At what point does this recursive definition stop.
_--------
My pet therory is, there is no hardline to draw unless it is at n=1 , at individual level. I may have taken a leap of logic here but am unable to see the line. Using Dharma to define a group seems elusive.we are bound by geography with an individual notions and options. Who is to say if I drink or eat beef is wrong unless a law giver says so(local king). It may be illegal but is it adharmic?
My point is can you enforce Dharma at all? Society can enforce a version of it, maximum. That could be done like ostracation by society or by punitive damages by authority. Only at that point it becomes a stereotypical religion. Hence individual nation states. At that point how easy it was for a person to move elsewhere and start over in another corner of the land. Do I still follow Dharma , I think yes. Only I cease to be a member of the nation state.
Edit(final I think): the above para looks suspiciously like the concept of Ummah! Of course it has underlying " rigidity" with laws and punishments. Hence i wondered elsewhere if Hinduism has a sense of brotherhood or kinship.
Hence the attempts to ban cow slaughter or stopping mixed sex company sounds like religious attempts. Enforcement and punitive damages. Then we may not be talking about Sanatana Dharma but Hindu religion. IMHO.
Sorry for a rambling post.

saravana wrote:Hence i wondered elsewhere if Hinduism has a sense of brotherhood or kinship.
IMO, Yes and No!

Religion does give the people a sense of brotherhood and kinship! But Hinduism as a religion is a square peg in a round hole. All that what accords "Religion" its strength through brotherhood and kinship is just not there, is not available to Hinduism.

Like every Dharmic Moksha Marga, Hinduism is reduced to some philosophizing on nature of being, some social-laws, some theories on ethics, some vegetarianism, some temple going, some festivals and some other cultural traditions. Plurality of Jātis, Varnas, Sampradayas, Ishtadevtas, Cultures, etc. all included into Hinduism makes any sense of cohesion, collective purpose, collective consciousness, etc. difficult to grasp.

So Hinduism gets nothing out of being classified as a religion, because the biggest advantage of having religion is not there for the Hindu: unity, cohesion.

For cohesion we need to look elsewhere, in a different concept. More later!
Comer

Post by Comer »

^^ I think so too. Let me a leap of logic here: Hindu nation is possible only if we take the route of religion.
Because if am a free agent there is a lot of individual freedom to pursue my own path. Any additional roles and relationships would bound me into societal duties and obligations. Then can say that am following Sanatana Dharma or Hindu religion.
Would it be fair to say I *follow* Dharma. I *belong* to Hinduism?
JMT.
Comer

Post by Comer »

Let me further build on that ramshackle foundation.
Hindu nation if it wants to non coercive and build on a Dharmic way it has to contain all possible practices with inherent contradictions. For example ban on cow slaughter and OK with eating beef. Am not sure such a construct is possible in the long run. Can I change my jati or varna to avail caste reservations at will? Nope.
It has to follow a more restrictive code of laws and people must suffer homogeneity. Such coercion could be internal or external like invasions. It can be only done by common laws. Then such a process starts resembling religion. It is no more dharmic.
Am not saying it is good or bad. It depends on the duress. Once the pressure lifts, people would rebel. There had to be a constant pressure like laws and punishments to keep the flock in check. We can't be at once dharmic and Hindu nation. If we follow such process we can't hide behind a dharmic label. People who try to homogenise should not call it as a dharmic effort it is a Hindu effort.
So which version of Hindu nationalism are we talking about?

Would it be fair to say I *follow* Dharma. I *belong* to Hinduism?
saravana ji,

Question is, is belonging to "Hinduism" as a Religion, albeit a strange one, something desirable?

I guess anybody reading the above question, would think I am some Marxist loony! But I wish to tackle the question from a different angle! My thinking is that Religion does have its benefits, like unity and cohesion, but since Hinduism, when considered a Religion, cannot avail of those benefits, due to Hinduism's internal structure, then why consider it a Religion at all? There is no real pragmatic reason to consider "Hinduism" as a Religion.

Another small benefit of considering "Hinduism" as a religion, is that uprooted Hindus who consider themselves as Hindus, i.e. followers of Hinduism, or rather Hinduists, would imbibe the passion of others, of Christians, of Muslims towards their religion, and perhaps show a similar passion for Hinduism, and its various cultural aspects. This is good for our culture, for our Sanskriti. But here too we may be trying to copy passion of others for their religion, which comes from "belonging" to their religion.

However as "Hinduism" remains a square peg in a round hole of "Religion", it creates its own problems of comprehension, and many Hindus who have never in their ancestry adhered to or even now adhere to what has been boxed up as classical Hinduism, may feel that they are not Hindus at all, or bad Hindus for they may not understand these classical concepts of Hinduism. That means they become easy prey for missionaries, who ask them about Hinduism, and when receiving answers full of doubt, ridicule the Hindus for themselves not knowing what Hinduism is all about, and then go on to explain how full of "rubbish ideas" Hinduism is, thus creating doubt in those Hindus, and naturally these missionaries proceed to offer something far more tangible, far more easily understandable, like say Christianity or Islam.

This idea has set in, that one has to belong to some religion or be an atheist, and if one belongs to some religion, then one should understand its concepts clearly, for otherwise either one is a fool or a bad practitioner of one's religion, or one's religion itself is full of nonsense.

Of course everybody should read and learn everything one can about one's traditions, but by making Hinduism into a Religion, it gives one both an imperative to follow and a guilty conscience for not grasping it completely, and at the same time Hinduism makes itself vulnerable to criticism and ridicule. This is a rut, and we need to get out of it.

So what we should be able to say, is:

Religion is a piece of shitttt, and it is a good thing that we Bharatiyas don't have it! Hinduism is not a Religion! Religion is only for mental slaves, human drones and primitive idiots. We are Bharatiya Āryas. What we have is Bharatvarsha (land), Rāshtra (civilization), Sanskriti (culture) and Dharma (meta ethics)! "Hindu" simply means, we are going to beat the crap out of Religion, and throw it back into the desert!
Comer

Post by Comer »

RajeshA ji, please drop the ji.
Am personally at an individual level comfortable with all my contradictions(usually by not thinking about them :mrgreen: ). But at the nation level we cant rely on ethereal concepts. We need some rigidity by depending on some superstructure called religion. And watch where we have to change labels.

saravana wrote:We need some rigidity by depending on some superstructure called religion. And watch where we have to change labels.
I think there is no concept in pre-Islamic India, that needs to explained by "Religion", if we take concept of "Religion" as it used to be in pre-17th century Europe or even till 21st century Ummah, before some Europeans unsuccessfully tried to expand the "Religion" tent to include the Hindus, Buddhists, Jains, Sikhs, and what not!