Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

After Bindra, meet Kumars at No. 2, 3

Meenakshi Rao | Beijing

A faceless wrestler and a relatively lightweight boxer gave India its most potent dose of sporting botox till date, adding up two more Olympic medals to a sole gold, here on Wednesday.

One did so by winning a bronze medal in the 66-kg freestyle wrestling event and the other by downing his rival in the quarterfinals of the 76-kg boxing event to fight for silver with an assured bronze punch.

Meet post-Bindra India's Hero Nos. 2 and 3 -- pugilist Vijender Kumar and wrestler Sushil Kumar -- who got home this unexpected twin feat, driving home the point that it is, after all, not India's star power or India's elite but India's aam aadmi who is changing the tide for the nation, that too without ado and from obscurity.

The Kumars also announced with their respective achievements that it is high time India's political masters give as much budgetary focus to its fringe sector of sports as they rather obsessively do to, say, defence.

At 25, Sushil, the burly alpha male from New Delhi (not many Delhiites would know he hails from their city and journalists were till late trying to find out which locality) is from that category of performing artistes which lives in the shadow of anonymity but shines when the night is the darkest, as was the case for India at Beijing with most of its squad (besides shooter Abhinav Bindra) either falling by the wayside or faltering at the altar of stardom.

On a day when the relatively better known and discussed Jitender Kumar (whose heart must have bled more than the 10 stitches on his chin) lost his 51-kg boxing bout and medal hope to his Russian rival and European golder Georgy Balakshin in an 11-15 tie, Sushil smiled from the pedestal when no one really expected him to.

"You may say there was no expectation from the people back home and the media. But my coach (Satpal) and I knew I had a fair chance of winning a medal and I'm happy I achieved that. I dedicate this medal to my coach, but I think we can give more if we get better facilities," a joyous Sushil said from the ramparts of the imposing China Agricultural University, where he clinched the medal in what is known as a repechage chance.

Incidentally, repechage is a French word which means "a second chance". In Sushil's case, repechage meant he got a chance to fight despite losing the round of 16 but emerging as the "fastest loser" to have been downed by the eventual finalist. He made good use of the opportunity, brilliantly defeating three wrestlers on the trot. Sushil's win was all the more endearing as, due to the complex rule of Olympic wrestling, everyone thought he was out after he lost the first round.

Sushil resembled history when he lost his first-round battle against eventual silver medallist Andriy Stadnik but with repechage, he adorned his incredible comeback by beating America's Doug Schwab, Albert Batyrov (Belarus) and Leonid Spiridonov (Kazakhstan) to clinch the bronze.

With his understated victory, the incredible hulk ended India's 56-year twin-medal drought. It was way back in the 1952 Helsinki Oympics that the nation had won two medals -- a gold in hockey and a bronze in wrestling, courtesy Keshav Jadhav.

Today, though, was not just about Sushil but also about the other brown boy in the rink: Boxer Vijender, who beat Ecuador's Carlos Gongora in an intensely contested bout, which he won 9-4 to remain in the race for a silver or a gold.

Finally! Gladly! Incredibly! India is happening -- outside cricket, despite apathy. Sushil Kumar may well attribute this to his Patiala peg of training. For the rest of us, the genie has been rubbed the right way.

20 to a room, two to a bed: This is where the medal came from
SHREYA CHAKRAVERTTY
Posted online: Thursday, August 21, 2008 at 0256 hrs Print Email

New Delhi, August 20: Switching off their television set, Sushil Kumar’s wrestling buddies at Satpal’s akhada in Chhatrasal Stadium in Delhi didn’t waste a minute to begin the frenzied celebrations. Their sport wasn’t even mentioned among the medal prospects in the run-up to Beijing, but along came this man, seemingly out of nowhere, to break India’s one-medal jinx at the Olympics.

Related Stories

Zahid hadn’t left home in 5 months: familySurprised, it took so long... hope it’s changed forever now: BindraIn mark twain’s footstepsSunset industry
Ad Links

Olympic News Team Profile Country Blog

The celebrations will continue for a while, but a peek into the everyday lives of the country’s second medallist at the Games shows he had to battle a lot more than his opponents in Beijing. Squeezed into tiny rooms at the stadium’s residential facility, with rats, cockroaches and cobwebs for company, the conditions are not really conducive to breed a champion. But for these men, it’s just a way of life.

The disbelief grows as one enters the dingy room. It looks dark despite the light outside, and with barely any space to walk between the beds, the room gives the impression of being much smaller than it is. The shelf at the back has a number of trunks thrown together, taking up precious space, but it’s all they have to spare for their belongings.

Sumit, one of the wrestlers who bunks in the same room as Sushil, proudly points out his now famous colleague’s mattress among nine others in the small room. “See, this is where he sleeps. In the summer he sleeps this side, but in winter he moves to the other mattress. We have to manage with just these two coolers, so he moves to be more comfortable,” he says.

“With this medal, we hope our needs are better looked after than before. Here, there are 20 people to a room with two people to a bed. Not all rooms have coolers like ours, and we have to share the space with rats and other animals. Here, there’s room for everybody,” laughs Arvind, another inmate cheerfully resigned to the conditions.

For their food and lodging, they pay a sum of Rs 1000-1500, depending on the size of the room. “This is how we’ve been living. We have to make do with what we have. It’s very tough, but what choice do we have?” says Sumit, before adding: “Perhaps now that Sushil had got a medal, more money will come into the sport. We have brought it to the attention of the authorities many times but it hasn’t made a difference, so we carry on.”

Sumit makes a hasty attempt to make the room presentable by pushing away a pile of clothes into a corner, but it doesn’t work. The lack of coolers means they have to leave the doors open while they sleep but all that it does is invite mosquitoes.

Surrounded by this gloom, a couple of framed pictures of Sushil, displayed in the only available space — a ledge near the exhaust fan high above the mess — provide a temporary distraction. “This is him with his 2005 Arjuna Award. And here’s another during the 1998 Asian Cadet junior meet where he won gold. Now he has an Olympic medal!” says another colleague, Rajendra. “We are all very proud of what he has achieved, and we can’t wait to meet him at the airport.”

Coach Virender Kumar acknowledges things are tough. “Sushil also had the same difficulties, but he had said he’ll win a medal and he did. Here at the stadium, there are wrestlers from all over the country who are living in these conditions, and I hope they are all inspired by what he has done. Wrestlers don’t get jobs, so many are unwilling to take it up seriously, but now things will be different,” he says.

Even at NIS, Patiala, where India’s Beijing-bound wrestlers were training, the conditions had been difficult. Before they left for the Olympics, the wrestlers had told The Indian Express that the “callous attitude of the Sports Authority of India (SAI) administration could seriously hamper India’s medal prospects”.

“Right from filling water-coolers to sweating it out in wrestling halls with not even air-cooling facilities, it was tough for them,” said a local wrestler on Wednesday. “I have seen with my eyes how the wrestling staff practised in the summer heat. But still they managed to get a medal.”
Vriksh

Post by Vriksh »

Is there a way we can put our money for better training facilities for these sons of the soil. Hanuman Akhara and Boprala should set up a bank account where money can be spent for training such athletes. Let there be a 1000 hanuman akharas in India (One in each district or taluk). Let there be featured boxers from each school duke it out in dusty sand pits of our town and villages.

Infact I do not even care if we win olympic medals or other bragging rights, as long as the country can be inspired to greater and greater heights and physical excellence among the general population. Hell if even 1% of our population starts boxing and wrestling on a regular basis, we will see a miraculous change in health.

Bhindra model cannot be replicated in India it is too expensive, what we need is our very own schools of Boxing and wrestling just like the Jamaicans have for sprinting. The more I think of it boxing seems to be the ideal sport for India and Indians. It requires physical agility,speed, power, endurance, a killer instinct, showmanship, an ability to take and inflict pain and most of all does not need teamwork (an Indian Achilles heel as of now, due to various social features). Teamwork will happen soon enough as more and more people start respecting sports.
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Sridhar wrote:Congratulations to Sushil for a great achievement. He deserves even more credit than Bindra despite his medal being a bronze, because he did it despite odds. And cheers to the power of milk, ghee and fresh vegetables. But seriously, is that the best diet for a wrestler? I ask out of curiosity and nothing else. I know that traditionally, such a diet has been commonly recommended to wrestlers in the country. But has it been put to a scientific test?
Sridhar
Here is the link to NCAA Wrestlers diet profile. These are just guidelines, they can be modified for Indian Conditions. No wonder US does so good in sports they have made a science out of it. Broken down by time leading upto the event.

Wrestlers Diet

Very inspiring to also see an Afghan athlete win a bronze for his country. They only sent 4 athletes and they got a medal....that must be the highest success rate amongst all the countries in Olympics 2008!!
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/o ... index.html
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Seems like TTFI is reading BRF, as posted by Stan, Dhanraj Chaudhary's email addy has been removed, his email account seems to be disabled. What a coward, now he is hiding.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Baljeet wrote:Seems like TTFI is reading BRF, as posted by Stan, Dhanraj Chaudhary's email addy has been removed, his email account seems to be disabled. What a coward, now he is hiding.
No boss. His name and email addr are still there. Check the bottom of the page under "Chairmen subcommittee".

to remind people of the ammo fiasco
http://www.reuters.com/article/oddlyEno ... 28?sp=true
our shooters have performed very poorly indeed, save bindra, given the hopes bestowed on them. none qualified for the final rounds.
possible reason ?
"I don't think it will be worthwhile sending the shooters to the Olympics. The damage has been done. I will take the issue up in our next general body meeting next month," Sethi said.

"It's a pity that the shooters were the best medal hopes and they are treated so shabbily."
and some old whinefest :
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/ju ... =worldnews

the regulation 3rd world country line
Although India's economy is growing, the country is mired in poverty. Nearly 8 million children suffer from malnutrition and more than 250 million live below the poverty line.
In a recent paper, Anirudh Krishna and Eric Haglund, two academics at Duke University in the United States, said that the problem for India is not the size of the economy or the large population but the number of people who can "effectively participate in sports".
"Ill health and poor nutrition can hamper early childhood development. In addition, lack of information and lack of access can effectively exclude larges swaths of a country's population. The resulting small percentage of effective participants helps explain more fully why despite such a large population and a large potential talent pool, a country ends up winning very few Olympic medals," the paper's authors wrote in the Bombay-published journal Economic and Political Weekly.
isn't EPW available on the net ?

some psy-ops
Anirudh and Haglund point out that Turkey, which has less than one-tenth of India's population, won 10 times as many medals in 2004; Thailand, with just 6% of India's people, managed eight times as many medals.
and a saner voice :
But many commentators say the academics have missed the point. "India has to be seen in its historical, cultural context. We were a colony, and that led to an inferiority complex. We are an extremely diverse nation, which leads to internal squabbles," says Boria Majumdar, a sports historian and author of Olympics: The India Story.

"The Chinese have built their success strategically by concentrating on diving, gymnastics and table tennis. We need to do the same in shooting, weightlifting and boxing. It's entirely possible to win more medals. Many more."

Baljeet: Just as a spectator I could see "that guy" was not offering any help to Sharath. I was getting restless. I did not know that it was not a coach. But it looks like we should have expected this, noises were already made; and the whole babudom is involved. Look at the various responses when Neha lost her round.
EVEN AS Delhi girl Neha Aggarwal was slugging it out against Chinese-born Australian paddler Jiang Fang Lay in the first round at Beijing on Monday, she had only team manager, Dhanraj Choudhary, to look up to for coaching tips.

Strange it may seem, but the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) decided to send Aleksey Yefremov, the foreign coach from Belarus, to North Korea with an eight-member team in preparation for the 2010 Commonwealth Games, leaving the two-member contingent of Neha and Achanta Sharath Kamal without a coach.

The table tennis fraternity in Delhi was aghast to see Choudhary on the coach's bench. "How do you expect a girl participating in her first Olympics to win without last-minute coaching support. At least, fellow player and experienced Sharath Kamal (2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games double gold-medallist) could have given her better tips than Choudhary, who is the technical committee chairman of the TTFI," said a senior Delhi TT player on condition on anonymity.

Neha's Olympic debut lasted around 35 minutes but she gave a gritty fight to Fang Lay losing in five sets, 12-10, 8-11, 11-13, 8-11, 4-11. She won the first game and also led in the second before the downslide started.

When contacted in Beijing, TTFI secretary-general, Mool Chand Chowhan, said, "What's wrong in having a manager on the coach's bench?" {swamyg: so why is he sitting in Beijing?}

When asked why Yefremov was not accompanying the team to the Games, he said, "There are more important things. We have a long-term programme to groom paddlers for the 2010 Commonwealth Games and he is accompanying them to North Korea."

On why Sharath Kamal was not asked to be on the coach's bench, Chowhan said, "Why should we have him there?"

In November last, TTFI vice-president, Probir Mitra, had been quoted as saying, "It's very important for us to defend our Commonwealth gold during the 2010 Delhi Games and also to do well during the Olympics. Yefremov will be training and travelling with our best players like Sharath Kamal and Subhajit Saha."

The question is why was he sent to North Korea, when the best are playing in Beijing?

Former national champion Kamlesh Mehta said the TTFI had nominated him as national coach but the Sports Authority of India (SAI) had not completed the formalities. "Technically, I am still not the TTFI coach," he said.

On Choudhary's qualifications, Mehta said, "He is the most decorated technical official in the country, but I doubt his credentials as coach."

It's a shame that a country that can afford to send hoards of officials to the quadrennial extravaganza, has denied a budding player of a coach's services.
Daal hi kaala hain :cry: Either the babus are hardcore corrupt, or the most inefficient, incompetent and naive people with utter lack of judgment. In either case, they need to go.

Ok folks, I Swamy announce it is all corruption, nepotism, eroticism {why not accuse that too :-) }. Looks like Dhanraj Choudhry is a related to M.C.Chowhan as per this report
For the TTFI supreme M.C. Chowhan, it was a re-election to the post of honorary secretary of the CTTF. Another Indian Dhanraj Choudhry, a relation of Mr Chowhan, has also been retained as the member of the technical committee.
Hopefully reporters and people start making this connection and ask relevant questions.

More investigation leads to answer to my own question. Why is MC Chowhan there. Maybe this is why
Mool Chand Chowhan gets Olympic Order
Our Sports Reporter

New Delhi, March 18
Long-serving secretary-general of the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) Mool Chand Chowhan has been conferred the Olympic Order by the Council of the Olympic Order of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Secretary-general of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA)Randhir Singh, who is also the lone member of the IOC from India, said IOC president Dr Jacques Rogge has conveyed his “most sincere congratulations to Mr M C Chowhan”, for being conferred the Olympic Order. Octogenarian Chowhan wears many hats on his head, which include the vice-presidentship of the IOA as well as the International Table Tennis Federation, deputy presidentship of the Asian Table Tennis Union, secretary of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Federation and secretary-general of the South Asian Table Tennis Federation. He was the chef-de-mission of the Indian contingent for the Commonwealth Games 2002 at Manchester.
I don't know much about his contribution, it seems he has been involved for more than 5 decades. Surely, he would have done certain things good for TT and India. But, but, but............... something smells.

tomer lost. now, we wait !

Rahul M wrote:tomer lost. now, we wait !
No points at all to Tomar :( . Hopefully, this indicates that Mocco is really good and therefore will reach the top thereby allowing a 'repechage' charge for Tomar.

btw, saw the video of Sushil's 3 repechage bouts just now. Quite exciting, especially the bronze medal match. Went down to a clinch in the both the second and 3rd rounds since neither wrestlers scored a point during the round.

PS. I'm not sure if wrestling is an 'elite vs not' kind of a split in the media. Probably more of city vs town/village split. I've seen/heard of wrestling often when growing up in smaller towns but since I moved to Bangalore, Delhi -- there has been no mention of it (other than the WWF tamasha :)).

not too sure of tomer's chances as the yankee is not in good form recently.

anyway, one way to ensure corporate sponsorship of non-cricket sports in India is to put down a law that corps. have to invest 5%(say) of the amount they spend on cricket in non-cricket sports. of course, there will be oppositions to such a plan and also questions on GoI's authority to do so, but we need to do some daring out of the box thinking to take sports forward.

If forced to throw money at sports, corporates will themselves ensure that their money is put to good use so that the investment does provide some return to them, in terms of brand exposure.
left to themselves, corps will probably force the babus to choose sportsmen who are the best in terms of ability and not in terms of family connections. TV exposure and attempts to popularize the sports will follow. if that happens, survival of the fittest will ensue among the various disciplines leading to the strengthening of at least some of the sports we are good at.

this might be one of the ways to rescue Indian sports.
JMT.

p.s. if we can throw offset clause at the gun sellers, we can ask the cola sellers to do something similar. I admit, it is the offset issue in DPP which put this idea into my head.

Now, guys, come forward and tell me that I'm dreaming and this can't happen in India because
of reasons :
a)
b)
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

SwamyG wrote:Ok folks, I Swamy announce it is all corruption, nepotism, eroticism {why not accuse that too :-) }. Looks like Dhanraj Choudhry is a related to M.C.Chowhan as per this report

SwamyG, not just that, just look at the officials list on the ttfi page. I see a large number of relatives as heads of different organizations there. In fact, three of them share a single email address of "Sharada.....". I see folks with contact addresses as follows: "Aypee industries," "Sharada erectors pvt ltd", one guy with address as "Bambolim beach resort, Goa" etc :mrgreen:. Two or three ex-ias waalas, one or two mp's or ex-mp's with advising from Inderjit Bindra, the man who runs the Mohali stadium.

Overall, a set thats absolutely unrelated to TT as per my first guess. In fact the only person with TT credentials, as far as I could make out, is Ms. Montu Ghosh {a former national level TT player} as the north bengal tt assn head. The rest is fluff, no wonder TT in India is in doldrums. We have oldies who should be performing tapas in Himalayas running the day2day affairs of TT. Sad, but true.

Willing to bet that most sporting associations are like this. I know for one that IHF consists of a good set of folks who are past their use-by dates.
Karkala Joishy

Post by Karkala Joishy »

Rahul M wrote: and some old whinefest :

Although India's economy is growing, the country is mired in poverty. Nearly 8 million children suffer from malnutrition and more than 250 million live below the poverty line.
Before I clicked on the link, I made a guess, and I was right.
Randeep Ramesh in Delhi
It is always Indians who highlight such things to pander to gora tastes.

That is the standard way in DDM English media to display one's 'fair unbiased reporting' skills...by dissing one's own country.
Karkala Joishy wrote:
Rahul M wrote: and some old whinefest :

Before I clicked on the link, I made a guess, and I was right.
Randeep Ramesh in Delhi
It is always Indians who highlight such things to pander to gora tastes.
durvasa

Post by durvasa »

Indian Wrestling team (probably a state team of punjab or India B-team) goes to TSP.
LAHORE, Aug 20: A 14-member wrestling squad arrived here from Indian Punjab via the Wagah Border on Wednesday to play a four ties series against wrestlers from Pakistan to take place in different cities of Punjab.

The first tie will be held on Thursday at the Sports Stadium, Bahawalpur. The main bout will be held between Pakistan’s Azam Lurka and India’s Narindhar Kumar.

The following day will see the second tie when Pakistan’s Hamid Khan will face India’s Narindhar Kumar in the title bout.

On Aug 24, Pakistan’s Umar meets Sohan Singh at Jinnah Stadium, Gujranwala.

Finally Rustam-i-Pakistani Bashir Bhola will take on Navin Kumar at the National Hockey Stadium, Lahore, on Aug 26.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

The OGQ blames the fatalist Indian mindset, the lack of confidence and the inability of Indian sportspersons to perform under pressure for another dismal performance at the games.

The Trust had high hopes from the 14 members of the Indian squad, including the likes of medal winner Abhinav Bindra and boxer Akhil Kumar, that it supports, and had expected at least 10 medals from them. The two-year-old Mittal Champions Trust, set up by the world's richest Indian Lakshmi Niwas Mittal, is not satisfied with the results at the Beijing Olympics that yielded just one medal from the 56-strong Indian squad.

It is not as if the money is a problem. The Trust has exhausted only $2 million of its $10 million corpus and Malhotra says that steel magnate Mittal had made it clear that the target is the London Olympics. "We simply do not have enough quality hopefuls to spend the money on. Competition is very important. The best thing that happened to Bindra was Gagan Narang competing with him," she said.
http://www.rediff.com/money/2008/aug/20medal.htm

Jitender actually fought with 10 stitches on his Chin and still strecthed the Russian!!!! :eek:
A true lion heart if there was one...you will surely get a medal in London.

Comment in rediff:
Now we know the true value of Abhinav, Vijender and Sushil combine. Just think of what would have happened with India drawing a blank and Afghanistan on the podium.
Even a war torn Afghan can produce medalists not India with Fortune 500 tycoons.
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Further incentive for Vijender to win a Gold. 8)

Bipasha promises Vijender Kumar a golden date!

:((

Why doesnt the olympics make semifinalists in any discipline get a bronze?
Isnt it unfair that few athletes in few disciplines get the bronze for losing in the semis whereas most dont?
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Come to think of it the Olympics are not really fair. A country dominating a popular discipline like Football can hope for a single medal while a disciplines like Rowing/Sailing/Kayaking/Canoeing/Taekwando/Fencing etc have multiple medals. Frankly how many of us even seen a real canoe or kayak as opposed to a football? The Medals tally is not the best way to judge a nation's sporting might. The Chinese have exploited this best and ended up at the top of the heap. The way to go will be to pour some money into these sports and hope for bigger medal hauls later..hockey be damned.

rowing and rhythmic gymnastics have yielded rich hauls for UK and PRC

I have been saying this for years that India is taking Olympics and medals one a tad too seriously. It does not have the production mindset that China or East European countries have. Look at the origin of the Olympics. It was rooted in violence. Duels to death. A culture very unlike India's. Who can run the fastest 100m, 200m etc. Who can chuck a spear the furthest. Who can throw a fat iron ball the furthest. Then came the marathons and long distance. When it was realized that East African and West African origin folks dominate long distance and sprints, swimming and gymnastics were flooded with innumerable golds. While the spectacle is great and tremendous hard work has to be put in to win medals the overall aim is still shallow as nations carve sports and rules to suit for themselves blocks of medals.

The effort to win medals from the Indian side should be individual efforts. The GOI should keep out. Only raising land for private investment into shooting ranges, wrestling clubs, boxing facilities and stadia. Let the Mittals, Tatas, L&Ts invest into sports. Why can't companies like Dabur sponsor a few Akhara's or a few boxing rinks aka Bhiwani. If Mallya can put up India into the Formula 1 picture, i don't see why Companies cannot sponsor a few Akharas and Boxing rinks and competent athletes.

If companies can sponsor talent hunts for singers etc on TV shows, i don't see why they can't provide 5 star facilities with IPL style fanfare and start hunting athletic talents in such shows for sprints and long distance events.

Idea is to allow and encourage private initiative to sponsor athletes and sports. I'm certain this would pay more dividends than current policies.
JMT..standard disclaimers hold.

rowing and rhythmic gymnastics have yielded rich hauls for UK and PRC
UK seems to have swept cycling also.......

In the relay, American women seem to have dropped their baton...Any idea of what happened to theIndian women?(Stan guru has very high hopes on them)

Edit: Just now noticed, even Zimbabwe of 100000000000 % inflation fame has 4 medals:1 gold and 3 silvers)!!!!!!! :eek: :eek:
Last edited by sum on 21 Aug 2008 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Trio of bhiwani get accolade...

Bhiwani Boys

sum wrote:Any idea of what happened to theIndian women?(Stan guru has very high hopes on them)
They are coming up on Aug 22nd 19:40PM {Beijing Time}. At least that is when the 4x400m Women Relay Round 1 is scheduled.

Good luck to them.
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
Stan
I disagree with the premise of this article. They do come out little arrogant. If they are so serious about helping Indian Sport here is what I suggest.

1. Help Satpal to rebuild his akhara, provide him with mats, have doctors, psychologists and physio-therapists, nutritionists work with these wrestlers for London.
2. Help Bhiwani Boxing club with new boxing rings, other things as above.

I will even throw idea about advertising for example if wrestler and boxers win gold at london..

TV scene opens with factory making steel, background voice says--building steel is like building a boxer-wrestler, another scene opens where a boxer is punching opponent winning gold medal, wrestler downing his opponent for gold.
Slogan comes on screen, Mittal steel a gold standard of Steel

This is just an idea it can be refined.

Stan_Savljevic wrote: PS: Who will bet for at least 5 golds in London 2012? :rotfl:
Now anything below 3 overall medals, in 2012, is going to start the tongues wagging. These 57 athletes have raised the expectations in people's mind.

I was thinking that India should aim and get at least 10 over all medals in 2016. It gives us 8 years to create a stream of talented folks. But looking at the recent show, if the authorities can get their act together, I am tempted to say we should aim and get 10 overall medals right in 2012, 15 in 2016. We need to keep increasing the tally slowly, and by the time we are ready to host the Olympics (2024 sounds reasonable?) we should be in line for 30-40 medals.

Too conservative or too aggressive or just reasonable ?

zimbawe has kirsty coventry who lives and trains in the US and is a
world champion in her pet event. dunno about the bronzes but being
near the kalahari they would have some tough endurance running types
in there.

I have said this before, though in both men and women our deployable
combat power is very minimal due to nutrition and infra issues from
childhood (panda is presently flogging 4 yr olds for dynmastics and 9 yr
olds from running day in and day out) , on the womens side our
deployable (wo)manpower is utterly poor. high % of indian women even
from middle classes suffer from anemia, general weakness and weak
bones. weak mothers produce weak children. the cycle repeats.

thats why on womens side you always see athletes emerge from relatively well-fed/"progressive" states like Kerala or Punjab only.

change will take a generation of better attitudes.
sugriva
Location: Exposing the uber communist luddites masquerading as capitalists

Post by sugriva »

Stan_Savljevic wrote:

The OGQ blames the fatalist Indian mindset, the lack of confidence and the inability of Indian sportspersons to perform under pressure for another dismal performance at the games.

The Trust had high hopes from the 14 members of the Indian squad, including the likes of medal winner Abhinav Bindra and boxer Akhil Kumar, that it supports, and had expected at least 10 medals from them. The two-year-old Mittal Champions Trust, set up by the world's richest Indian Lakshmi Niwas Mittal, is not satisfied with the results at the Beijing Olympics that yielded just one medal from the 56-strong Indian squad.

It is not as if the money is a problem. The Trust has exhausted only $2 million of its $10 million corpus and Malhotra says that steel magnate Mittal had made it clear that the target is the London Olympics. "We simply do not have enough quality hopefuls to spend the money on. Competition is very important. The best thing that happened to Bindra was Gagan Narang competing with him," she said.
http://www.rediff.com/money/2008/aug/20medal.htm
Hmm....
This is usually the way corporate social responsibility works. Pick up winners and back them. If the players win then bask in reflected glory and gather brownie points. Such a system then encourages only the selections of the sure shot medal prospects. To use an analogy the OGQ is a bit like providing scholarships to meritorious students after they have cleared IITJEE. However that number of people is always going to be very less and medal hopes for India and OGQ will remain what they are, hopes only. They do admit to part of the problem, the part about lack of competition. IMHO for India's medal hopes we need to increase the level of competition at the national level itself. So, to use the analogy again, the solution then is not to provide scholarships to students who have cleared IITJEE, good as it may be, but to create more coaching centres that will help more people clear IITJEE.

So even from a purely business point of view OGQ should invest in these "coaching classes". This way they can increase their pool of probable candidates who would have a chance of medal, thereby increasing their chances of being able to bask in reflected glory.

SwamyG wrote:
Stan_Savljevic wrote: PS: Who will bet for at least 5 golds in London 2012? :rotfl:
Now anything below 3 overall medals, in 2012, is going to start the tongues wagging. These 57 athletes have raised the expectations in people's mind.

I was thinking that India should aim and get at least 10 over all medals in 2016. It gives us 8 years to create a stream of talented folks. But looking at the recent show, if the authorities can get their act together, I am tempted to say we should aim and get 10 overall medals right in 2012, 15 in 2016. We need to keep increasing the tally slowly, and by the time we are ready to host the Olympics (2024 sounds reasonable?) we should be in line for 30-40 medals.

Too conservative or too aggressive or just reasonable ?
India will bid for the 2020 olympics.

a medal count of 10 by 2012 and 15 by 2016 is indeed possible if we concentrate on our strengths and build up a large enough pool of world class competitors to send more than 1 athlete to each event.

the possible targets are :
Badminton (5)
Table tennis (4)
Tennis (4)
Shooting (15)
Weightlifting (15)
Boxing (11)
Archery (4)
a couple of events from track and field
Judo (14)
Taekwondo (8)

a total of 76. even if we send medal contenders to 60% of these events, i.e around 45 of them, a haul of 10-15 medals is achievable, IMHO.
in the last two sports, there is already some world class talent in India.some focussed planning and training of a few select fellows can translate into a couple of medals.

another "sport" which I find queer is the walking (2). with the large # of people who walk daily for huge distances everyday across India, is it too difficult to find a couple of good ones ?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

SwamyG wrote: Now anything below 3 overall medals, in 2012, is going to start the tongues wagging.

Exactly. If you see post 1996, its always been a case of improvement. Even 1992, we were awfully close to medalling in a cpl of events - tennis doubles and archery. Whats going on is the no. of events where medals are being missed is increasing. We have had so many close shaves this time: shooting, tennis doubles again, two boxers, saina etc. I am just losing track of all the near misses: loss to Poland in 2000, Gurcharan Singh, Limba Ram, Rajender Deverajan, Anju 04, Paes-hesh etc. We need sports psychologists to make the transition from so-close to right there. Even in the barren stretch of 1980+ to 96 and 64+ to 80, we have had a lottta close misses. At the end of the day, people only remember those who win, not those who came close to winning. The scientific aspect to sporting seems missing, at least from the vantage point of an uninformed spectator. If we first get better at what we are, it will go a long way towards capacity-building.

Long term prospects: squash, rapid chess, T20, billiards/snooker will be in sometime soon, so those will count too. And we are not pushovers in squash either, not now. We can definitely medal in at least a few of these. If sepak takraw and kayaking et al can get in, these are all shoo-ins. But for that our babus have to do some real work, and lobby. At the end of the day, the olympics movement is a capitalist-lobbyist shithole.

and by the time we are ready to host the Olympics (2024 sounds reasonable?) we should be in line for 30-40 medals.

Given the ruckus that the decadent west can cause in the course of an olympics hosting, the infra that needs to be built up, and the geopolitical mismatches {Baki/BD/Chicom axis of evil}, we should nt waste our energies on trying to host one till we can dump the commies/internal national enemies {and by internal, I mean in akhand Bharat sense} to the ocean. Its just a ruse for the world to gang up on us, like what we saw just now. It will be even more shriller cos the oppn will smell an easy snack with the democrazy valve.

Pros: In contrast to what vina used to say, the net gains of hosting an OG or a CWG is a lot more than the cost accrued in hosting it. For one, we will be able to showcase our tourist spots and laugh at all the stupidities that get sold in the US etc. But folks like MSA et al who are more happy to blow a gazillion crores on assembling all panchayat raj chairmen in the NCT than hosting a CWG should be sent home before we can do that. I would even go so far as saying that this generation of Injuns who are in the 20-35 age group now is the transition point for a more jingoistic home base, and we should wait till the next gen can really take the fight to the national enemies. Probably 20 years is a good idea. China bidded for 2008 in 2000, a good 25 yrs after starting the eco loco rolling. Giving ourselves a 5-10 yr cushion for the impediments democrazy brings in, that sets us for 2020 or 2025, right in time for a 2028 or 2036 olympics or so.

Issues: We will NEVER have the support of the chicom drones in hosting an OG, in contrast to what BRaman garu and most of the uninformed folks say in saag {and elsewhere} about how this is a "Chinese people's event" and not an official Chinese guvmand event. For one, we have had precedents where China HAS ganged up on us in hosting AG2014 {where it sided with Incheon}. All this bwahaha of how the Chinese people have cordiality with the Injun people is all bakwaas. The Chinese people are represented by the PLA and its cojones, and it has never sided with anything that can strategically place our interests better. Thats a given, in fact, we should have had the moral responsibility to cause more troubles in chicom land at this juncture {the OG running period} cos of all the troubles IOA had in getting it to be Delhi AG 2014. We lost the battle, but we should remember. I DISAGREE(D) with BRaman that we should have wholeheartedly support Beijing 2008. Either they seem to have not read the noos articles carefully on how the chicoms double gamed us by saying we will offer support and then siding with the Koreans, or there is a need to paper over this apparent dichotomy. In either case, the elephant will and should remember. H&D and loss of face is both ways. We will get our chance to spit at the ugly dragon, and at that point or before that, we need to clear the decks for one massive spit. After all, chailman Mao only understands the power of the spittoon!

thats why on womens side you always see athletes emerge from relatively well-fed/"progressive" states like Kerala or Punjab only.
but... States like Tamil Nadu, Gujarat and Maharashtra are not that far behind neither are the metropolitan areas of Hyderabad, Pune, Banglore, etc. In my opinion the health (physical and mental) of the indian middle class is much much worse (due to overeating carbs based diet and adoring the fake heroes of bollywood) than an average rickshaw puller (who if is given a proper nutrition can perform better than many of these ethiopians or Jamacans).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Summer_Olympics
* Flag of India Delhi, India

Being very confident of holding a successful Commonwealth Games in 2010, the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has confirmed that "Delhi will bid for the 2020 Olympics."[3] The IOA had decided to bid for the 2016 games but after a failed attempt to host the 2014 Asian Games it will now bid for the 2020 games, officials confirmed. One advantage in India's favour is that South Asia is one of the regions of the world in which an Olympic games has never been held. Other international sporting events that will be held in India include the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and the soon to be announced F1 Delhi Grand Prix in 2009/2010. Both London and Sydney have offered support to back a Delhi bid.[4]
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Delhi bidding for olympics is the most rotten idea of all times. These babus and corrupt netas see opportunity in it. They are salivating at the prospect of all the money that can be made from awarding contracts. How is delhi going to host olympics when commonwealth games infrastrucutre is falling way side. we have 1.5 years to build test prepare for C-Games, hell we haven't even broaden the roads for traffic.

Best place to host summer olympics should be banglore because of weather, for that we need to clean up banglore, build brand new spanking airport, housing, electricity, infrastructure, get rid of pollution. Most importantly we have to deal with "humble farmer" who won't even let existing infrastructure upgrade.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Boss, there is one thing the IOA wishes. And another that will happen when it really does. We STILL dont have the capabilities to lobby hard and fast. How can Chicago be a contender for 2016?! I mean Atlanta hosted in 1996. If Chicago can even morally be in the race, that shows the enormous need to strong-arm every maaki in the basement into supporting our bid. We dont have the babus for that, and we dont need the extra trouble either, to be fair. We need to realize that, at the end of the day, sports is for pleasure, esp in India where propagandu gimmick would nt work with the real India. We will get our chance soon, but before we do, we need a populashun-base that will need one, not an uninterested one.

As of now, a significant % could nt bother with an OG or AG as long as they get their daily chores done. Either that % needs to be educated as to the benefits of hosting one, or they should come to feel the need for one, God willing soon. Two simple ways are: 1) Get the per-capita income rising, 2) Win more medals than just 3 in the coming OG. Let there be more Sushil Kumar's and Vijender's so that the real India knows what it means to win. We need a winner fast from every place thats seeing turmoil. That will cool down the bakwaas for a loooong time. {The reason I say this is cos of the example of 1962 and what happened in TN. Given that official wars are not happening at great regularity these days, we need pseudo-wars and pseudo-enemies and the momentum that brings into nation building. I will leave it at that.}

I believe patience in this aspect is something thats missing with the IOA, I wont blame em for that. But whats amusing is even in GoI circles, there is an internal oppn to a bid. Imagine that, when the GoI is not 100% backing a bid, how can we strong-arm our friends, let alone our enemies and desh-drohis.

Both London and Sydney have offered support to back a Delhi bid.

These two carry far less weightage in getting a bid won. In fact, its a quid pro quo. We supported em for 2000 and 2012, and they better return the favor. Already Suud Afrika or Egypt 2020 is getting loud. Also KL 2020. So we have votes split evenly between North-Africa/AL, South-Africa, SEA, China lobby and its munnas, we cant win a bid even in the Indian subcontinent, let alone all of Asia and the whole world. Oirope is a double speak, france wont go with us at the end of the day unless there are defense deals on the table. Germany wont cos we wont support Berlin 2016. Scandinavia wont till we fall into the laps of the EJs. You got the picture right. We need to wait. Patience is our only weapon. We have waited 100+ years. We can wait 20 more and host a grand one, when we do.
Rahul M wrote:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_Summer_Olympics
Being very confident of holding a successful Commonwealth Games in 2010, the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has confirmed that "Delhi will bid for the 2020 Olympics."[3] The IOA had decided to bid for the 2016 games but after a failed attempt to host the 2014 Asian Games it will now bid for the 2020 games, officials confirmed. One advantage in India's favour is that South Asia is one of the regions of the world in which an Olympic games has never been held. Other international sporting events that will be held in India include the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and the soon to be announced F1 Delhi Grand Prix in 2009/2010. Both London and Sydney have offered support to back a Delhi bid.[4]

there is an outside chance that we may win the bid but frankly, we should bid only after we ensure ourselves a place in at least the 15 nations in terms of the medals tally. it would be a tad difficult to justify hosting an event where the host finishes with a pithy 2-3 medals.
if we can get a 10-15 tally in the 2016 games, we should bid for the 2024.
btw, that also goes nicely with your "25 year preparation" idea, 2016-1991= 25 !! :wink:

anyway, I don't get it why it has to be delhi all the time ? :x even if I leave the 3 metros, bangalore, pune and hyd are all perfectly capable of hosting a large event.