India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
drnayar

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Post by drnayar »

srin wrote: 03 Mar 2026 21:01 You know the good thing that the Muricans have done by first Venezuela and now Iran ? They have moved the Overton window towards pre-emptive strike without any pretext. You don't need casus belli, you don't need false flag operations, and you won't become a global pariah like Russia is. You just decide that you are tired of somebody and go whack them. And then come up with some reasonable explanations
The bar to engage in overt pre-emptive kinetic action is much much lower
That opens a lot of avenues for us for the hot continuation of Op Sindhoor. Or in the Siliguri corridor.
Indeed the UN is just a relic now..not surprising that no one called for an urgent council meet or whatever, rules based order is dead as a dodo.

Only thing that matters is might.. hard military power and backed by smiley diplomacy

srin wrote: 03 Mar 2026 21:01 You know the good thing that the Muricans have done by first Venezuela and now Iran ? They have moved the Overton window towards pre-emptive strike without any pretext. You don't need casus belli, you don't need false flag operations, and you won't become a global pariah like Russia is. You just decide that you are tired of somebody and go whack them. And then come up with some reasonable explanations
That opens a lot of avenues for us for the hot continuation of Op Sindhoor. Or in the Siliguri corridor.
Very true. As long as the information warfare is managed right, we can throw our punches.

There were times when they could do all under the cover of U.N rules which they themselves wrote for their advantage while being the Pious Murikans. Today that cover is not available for them and they are doing it Kullam Khulla.

The Trump administration confirmed in a new court filing that it will pay interest on any refunds it ultimately must make after the US Supreme Court struck down the president’s contested tariffs.

This hasn't been a central issue, but underscores the massive financial stakes. Interest could total $700M each month that passes, per recent Cato report

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/HClxZm6WsAE0gLo?format=jpg

𝐔𝐒 𝐜𝐨𝐮𝐫𝐭 𝐨𝐫𝐝𝐞𝐫𝐬 𝐜𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐦𝐬 𝐭𝐨 𝐫𝐞𝐟𝐮𝐧𝐝 $𝟏𝟑𝟎 𝐛𝐢𝐥𝐥𝐢𝐨𝐧 𝐜𝐨𝐥𝐥𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐟𝐫𝐨𝐦 𝐢𝐥𝐥𝐞𝐠𝐚𝐥 𝐓𝐫𝐮𝐦𝐩 𝐭𝐚𝐫𝐢𝐟𝐟𝐬

Judge Richard Eaton of the U.S. Court of International Trade in Manhattan ordered the government to finalise the cost of bringing millions of shipments into the U.S. without assessing a tariff, according to a court filing. He ordered the refunds to be made with interest.

^^^ Lutnick gang is celebrating and counting the moolah
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Amber G. wrote: 05 Mar 2026 05:11 The Trump administration confirmed in a new court filing that it will pay interest on any refunds it ultimately must make after the US Supreme Court struck down the president’s contested tariffs.

This hasn't been a central issue, but underscores the massive financial stakes. Interest could total $700M each month that passes, per recent Cato report

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/HClxZm6WsAE0gLo?format=jpg
They can print more and bring down the dollar value :mrgreen:
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://www.moneycontrol.com/world/us-t ... 50716.html

The United States could raise its newly imposed 10% universal import tariff to 15% as early as this week, Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent has indicated, signalling further churn in global trade policy under President Donald Trump.

Speaking to CNBC, Bessent said the proposed hike was imminent. “That’s likely sometime this week,” Bessent said on CNBC in response to a question about when the increase to 15% would be implemented.

All over the internet - Speech at the White House this morning... All Norway's fault!
If the Prime Minister of Norway had given me the Nobel Peace Prize, our submarine wouldn’t have had to sink an Iranian ship
— Donald Trump, President of the United States.
{ It is viral meme - not real news but keeping it here.:) .
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/bus ... 101184.cms

US will ‘not make same mistake’ of giving India 'China-like concessions', says official

US Deputy Secretary of State Christopher Landau says :

“ The US will not give India the same kind of economic advantages it gave china , US will not allow India to become its competitor, The Trade deal will keep Americans first ”

That is exactly what I think.

This does however need a study on exactly how China used the US.

Was it merely outsourcing? What transfers of technology/ access to research facilities helped? Is China now truly autonomous? Or will another generational leap in US technology outclass China again?

Since they have said it openly, there is no need to look with hope to the U.S. U.S sees us as their competitor and not as a partner. The overall systems need changed accordingly. it's time to look for Alternatives to the U.S weaponry. Be it P-8I, Stryker, engines, Social media apps and what not. Desi systems the best. If not like in the case of P-8I look for Russian ones. In areas where we are strong, go with our own apps and communication tools and so on.
US won’t allow India to become its competitor: Dy State Sec Christopher Landau at Raisina
US won’t allow India to become its competitor: US Official gave harsh ‘reality check’ to New Delhi at Raisina Dialogue, as he said, “The US will not give India the same kind of economic advantages it gave to China, US will not allow India to become its competitor, The Trade deal will keep Americans first.”

Lost twin brother at KumbhMela found
US to India: "We Are Your Strategic Twin" - Raisina 2026

The gall to come to India and make such statements. Next this fellow will go and meet Pappu.

Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent @SecScottBessent

President Trump’s energy agenda has resulted in oil and gas production reaching the highest levels ever recorded.

To enable oil to keep flowing into the global market, the Treasury Department is issuing a temporary 30-day waiver to allow Indian refiners to purchase Russian oil. This deliberately short-term measure will not provide significant financial benefit to the Russian government as it only authorizes transactions involving oil already stranded at sea.

India is an essential partner of the United States, and we fully anticipate that New Delhi will ramp up purchases of U.S. oil. This stop-gap measure will alleviate pressure caused by Iran’s attempt to take global energy hostage.

5:52 AM · Mar 6, 2026·
6.2M Views

@ANI

Govt Sources: Today, we have more energy sources than what is stuck in the Straits of Hormuz.

We are in a comfortable position in Crude oil, Oil products and LPG.

In terms of our current stock, we are in a comfortable position.

We are going to ramp up our supplies from other parts of the geographies and make up for our supply crunch from the Straits of Hormuz.

We have been buying crude oil from Russia since 2022. In 2022, we were importing 0.2 per cent of total imports from Russia. In February, we imported 20 per cent of our total crude oil imports from Russia. In February, India imported 1.04 mn barrel per day from Russia.

News of the MRPL refinery shutdown is incorrect. MRPL Refinery is very well stocked, have adequate stock.

All the LPG refineries are directed to increase production of LPG.

We are in a comfortable position with our LPG stock.

We will use our Petchem for domestic use to ease the consumption demand

BIG: India provides refuge to the 3rd Iran Warship IRIS Lavan in Kochi.

IRIS Lavan requested for refuge on 28th Feb, & was given approval on 1st March & has been docked in the port since 4th March.

Crew of 183 have been accommodated at naval facilities.

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/neve ... 260306.htm
Never required permission to buy Russian oil: Officials
India affirms its sovereign right to purchase Russian oil based on its energy needs, dismissing the notion that it requires permission from any other nation, even amidst US sanctions.
Utkarsh Mishra, March 06, 2026

India has never been dependent on permission from any nation to buy Russian oil and though the United States sanctions' waiver allowing refiners to purchase it removes friction, it does not define the country's policy, a senior government functionary said, dismissing opposition charges.
Russian oil continued to flow into India even after the US objected to it and imposed sanctions, the functionary said, citing a 2013 adjustment done by the then Congress government in oil imports under US sanctions.
Amid the escalating conflict with Iran, the US on Thursday said it was issuing a temporary 30-day waiver to allow Indian refiners to purchase Russian oil.
The message from the Centre to every Indian household is clear that the country's fuel supply is fully secure. The government is continuously monitoring the situation and will act, as it always has, in the interest of every citizen, the government functionary said.
"No petrol pump has run dry in 12 years. What certain voices are calling a crisis is, in fact, the proof of preparation. India's energy governance has given us the insulation we need," the functionary said.
The US waiver of sanctions removes friction. It does not define India's policy, which is governed by the energy trilemma -- affordability, availability and sustainability -- for every Indian household, the functionary said.
India currently holds over 250 million barrels of crude oil and refined products -- 7 to 8 weeks of buffer -- distributed across strategic reserves, storage tanks, pipelines, terminal facilities and vessels already in transit to the country's ports.

Meanwhile United States reaches out to India for help to reduce oil prices.
"We’ve reached out to our friends in India to buy stored Russian oil. That pulls oil into Indian refineries and releases pressure on other global refineries,"
- US Energy Secretary Chris Wright.

commentary on India buying Russian Oil
A Timeline since 2022

Apr 2022: US Deputy NSA Daleep Singh: "Not in India’s interest to accelerate or increase imports of Russian energy"

Feb 2023 - No sanctions on India for Russian energy imports, says Biden official

May 2024: The then US Amb Garcetti "We wanted India to buy Russian Oil, we didn't want oil prices going up"

Aug/Sept 2025 US Prez Trump : "Disappointed that India buying Russian oil, imposed 50% tariffs"

March 2026: US Energy Secy Chris Wright "We have reached out to our friends in India to buy Russian oil"

All this (While India has just kept doing what is best for its citizens) :D
BTW: Russia was one of the largest suppliers of energy to India in February. 1.04 million barrels of crude imported a day in February =per Govt Sources!

USA today reminds me of the tamil movie Saamy - new police hero will go to the head goonda and tell him what he is going to do and then do it. Then the goonda will compliment him - this guy is not bad. He is telling me what he is going to !!

This feels similar. Suits India well - paying lip service to massa Trump!