Indian Autos Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Autos Thread

rsingh wrote:It is for snob value and thats it. Saw so many X1 stuck in snow like wet duck. IMO there was "top gear" pardafas on BMW 's so called SUV series. Even X5 is crap if one compare it to some real SUVs. (suspension is ok though).
you expect people to spend 7-8 millions and plough their Beems through mud and snow!! it is for monyed folks to display
wealth and macho. in ancient times it used to be Amby mark IV with purdah and in car rotating fan, now it is Honda /Beems/Merrseediss

If you want to blood and mud work, go buy a surplus Jonga (if they are still available) or Mahindra Jeep. If you have money too, get a surplus Hummer (not the chi-chi civvie version).
SUVs are for carting kids (utility) to soccer practice (sports) hence, the name.

X1 will affect the Fortuner sales mainly which is quite strong at the moment. plus it will be available without a 6month wait probably. if someone is dropping 25L he/she would want the BMW badge on bonnet rather than a modest logo like toyota. ride and handling being bmw should be sharper than fortuner for sure, even if its a munna bmw. and they do make very good interiors vs the bland toyota interiors

cost is 22L due to local manufacture of many parts rather than SKD assembly. a good masterstroke by BMW marketing to expand their footprint hugely and firmly enter into the upper end of the middle market. this will be popular with the ITvity director type crowd or R2I folks wanting to make a statement to the guys in their row of villas :D

I would not be surprised if a downsized & austere version of this or 3-series with a 1.6-1.8L engine comes out for developing markets like india, brazil, china to rake in the volumes currently denied to bmw in non-rich countries. if price can be kept around 15L - it will set fire to toyota/honda/skoda pants. just keep the sharp styling, big wide 16" tires, unique alloy wheels, creamy colours, the conformal roof blade antenna, good leather upholstery and the blue n block logo (oversize it)

1 series is supposed to be that no?

yes thats the ex-showroom price here per tv...about $46k.

Raja Bose wrote:If you want to blood and mud work, go buy a surplus Jonga (if they are still available) or Mahindra Jeep. If you have money too, get a surplus Hummer (not the chi-chi civvie version).
SUVs are for carting kids (utility) to soccer practice (sports) hence, the name.
Bah, real mud haulers use Defender...

Came across pics of the Toyota FT 86 on Edmunds - it is making me wonder if I should dump my faithful 96 Civic (still running smoothly with nary a problem) and go with this stunner. Seems to be slated for launch in summer 2011.

Dunno if it is coming to India but since I am Indian and it is an Auto this should not be OT :mrgreen: .

Hmm, looks like your Civic is not 'engaging the clutch*' since you are on the prowl.

*Mallu expression for things not working out

Came across pics of the Toyota FT 86 on Edmunds - it is making me wonder if I should dump my faithful 96 Civic (still running smoothly with nary a problem) and go with this stunner. Seems to be slated for launch in summer 2011
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: There you are ! Classic definition of a mid-life crisis. If hankering after a ho-hum looking car that actually promises more speed than what it delivers , and that too from a maker of cars that is barely known for sporty pretensions, if those aint midlife crisis markers, I don't know what is.

Bose "beta", sudhar jaa. Pachees saal ke ooper ho gaye, jawaan nahin ho, budapa shuru ho raha hai. Jaldi papa mummy se bolo shaadi vaadi karane ke liye aur ghar le auo Toyota mini van.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: baal bacche le jaane ke liye kaam ayega!

there was a discontinued car named honda prelude in 1990s that fans appreciated for its handling and price point (as in no bmw markup). this car probably targets that segment - singles and youth who need a good sharp pair of wheels and find the 'mainstream' things like civic couple too boring and cannot afford bmw3/audiTT.
http://custom.netcarshow.com/Honda/1997 ... _SH/04.htm

its ok if your parents never visit you there and so no back seat needed

vina mian, mere minivan+pampers wale din to abhi door hai par aapke to aagaye- tab tak aap apna qila sambhalo :P

The Civic is doing fine but something about this car (apart from price) struck me as nice hence, the 1st time I ever had haraam khayalat of ogling at parayi aurat. I have to check if any of the local aar-randee folks from T have a mule I can test drive - the least they can do for bothering me while on vacation. I absolutely hate the styling of the TT and Beemers - seems they are designed by Justice Sachar committee. I used to ogle at the Acura TL till they ruined its looks.

Getting a pure bred TFTA sports car is out of the question - running and maintainence costs are too high and given all the bankrupt municipalities around here, a ticket is looming behind every bush.

being toyota, the service and parts cost should be not very different than other models...they have a bigger base of vehicles to amortize around.

anyways your get-of-out-jail card expires in around 3 yrs max imo after which do send us a pic of of you driving a toyota Sienna minivan with missus loading a huge stroller with the brat in the cargo trunk. :rotfl: you can glue a pair of buffalo horns to the bonnet and add a raptor style tailplanes to the roof to improve its sporty looks har de har har

...and me welding the cargo trunk shut after making sure MIL is also in there. See-near mullahs seem to be jealous of the bitey-huay-jawani-kay-din, hain ji? :twisted:

RB, go for it before it is too late. Just after I got my first real job in the mid-west, me had such visions and took a friend of mine who had a new sentra to have a look at the del-sol which was within budget. After considered thought, and realizing the cold countryside I was in and the allergies that hounded me I stuck with my 15+ yr old caravelle. Next real buy was an accord as parents, baby and shq, MIL all arrived at the same time almost.

Having an old car cannot get you a chick for sure, since you are no avowed bachelor either. ;-)

Bade wrote: Having an old car cannot get you a chick for sure, since you are no avowed bachelor either. ;-)
Interestingly none of the past chicks in my life ran away after seeing my khatara :mrgreen:
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

Singha wrote:there was a discontinued car named honda prelude in 1990s that fans appreciated for its handling and price point (as in no bmw markup). this car probably targets that segment - singles and youth who need a good sharp pair of wheels and find the 'mainstream' things like civic couple too boring and cannot afford bmw3/audiTT.
The prelude was an awesome car, many of them ran over 200K miles. The Prelude morphed into Acura Integra, another nice car, which then morphed into Acura RSX. The Acura TL was a real looker, but they have screwed up the looks on the new model. I was seriously considering buying a used TL but settled for a Camry.

as predicted , rich businessmen (esp status conscious dilli billi types) and itvity/finance/consulting/mkting 'senior managerial types' are beating a path to bmw

http://www.hindustantimes.com/1-000-boo ... 42069.aspx

German auto giant BMW on Thursday launched the much-awaited compact sports utility vehicle X1 with a price range of Rs 22-29.9 lakh (Ex showroom Delhi) across two diesel and a petrol variant. This makes the X1 the lowest-priced BMW vehicle in India. "It is a strategic decision for us to make the X1
the entry-level car for BMW India," said Andreas Chaaf, president, BMW India. "We are very optimistic and bullish with this car in the volume department and expect it to become the largest-selling vehicle for us. Already, we have received 1,000 bookings and are sold out for the next 3 months."

BMW upstaged country cousin Mercedes Benz last year to become the largest-selling premium car maker in the country. This year, too, the firm has witnessed an impressive 60% growth in sales between January and November at 5,345 units against 3,337 units last year.

The company said the luxury car segment was growing very fast and is expected to maintain the growth momentum.

The X1 is powered by 2-litre diesel and petrol engines with average fuel economy figures of 15.24 kilometer per litre and 11.24 km per litre respectively. The car would be assembled at BMW's factory in Chennai whose capacity has been ramped up from 5,400 units per annum to 8,000 per annum on a single shift.

Singha,

What do you expect form those who have money to burn. Me gets money me will buy T 72 and fit it with M 800 injun. So that I can drive to work in the rains. :P

Singha wrote:something called Nissan Sunny with 1.5 ltr engine is headed to India. some claim its in toyota etios/Dzire range , some claim ANHC/ventor sedan, some claim altis/civic range. it looks like a shrunk altima from the side and somewhat like altis too.
http://www.rediff.com/business/slide-sh ... 101220.htm

methinks it will compete with ANHC/vento sedan given its 1.5ltr engine and general interior size.

I kind of like the Micra - it seems to have a bigger interior than the Swift and is surprisingly large.
In most other markets this car goes by the name of Sylphy and is actually a successor model to the Sunny much like the Altis is a successor model to Toyota's hugely popular Corolla.

This is a well built car with lots of room inside, more than than the Altis. The trim is good inside but this dude is a seriously underpowered car because of its heavy built. A 2 liter engine is a better fit for it and in most markets it's available in both options. Dunno about India.

Fast acceleration is out, but that shouldn't be a problem in India city driving. However, due to its heavy body it's (relatively speaking) a fuel guzzler with the 1.5 engine.

Sylphy or Syphly?

X Posted.

Top Gear stars cause religious row after dressing up in burkas on Boxing Day special

………….. Islamic extremist Anjem Choudary, said: 'The burka is a symbol of our religion and people should not make jokes about it in any way.

'It would have been equally bad even if they’d not been in a country mainly populated by Muslims.' …………….

Raja Bose wrote:Sylphy or Syphly?
Syphilis?

^Then it would go the same route as Chevy Nova.

Took my new ANHC to Haridwar to visit relatives there and the bad roads were a nightmare for a car with such low ground clearance. Now my left front wheel is making a slight whistling sound when turning or when going fast. I do remember a few pot holes the left wheel hit at around 70-80k/hr. What do you mullahs think might be the problem? I assume there'd also be a lot of mud stuck below there, could that be a reason? :-?

Get it cleaned up first and then if you still have the sound it might be a worn wheel bearing or the brake wear indicator rubbing.

Also check your power steering fluid to ensure there is no leak - loss of PS fluid sometimes causes that kind of sound in a Civic (at least it did in mine). On the other hand if it is not a low steady whistling sound but a sudden quick shriek (like a goat with a paki latched on to its musharraf), then check belts and ATF fluid level (if you have an auto tranny i.e.).

Got my smog test done yesterday on my VOHC and now I am feeling guilty of even looking at other cars - the old maid has smog numbers which are way lower than even the average of passing vehicles. Decisions...decisions :(( :((

RB-saar, tomar kopale lekha achein ki, "a long in the tooth awaits you in both decisions" unless you take a leap of faith and go for a new one. :-)

Insh'allah not (at least in the living category)! :mrgreen:

Nano sales seems to be have rebounded. Let's see how it performs this month.

Though I know the reasons why hospitals refuse to take in such life and death cases, why has no one thought of suing the hospital of negligence. Refusing people near death is unbecoming of any civilized society.

rakshaks, i would appreciate any comments on the maruti desire (diesel). is it a good buy or not. any problems.would be grateful for any information that could influence the buying decision.
thanks in advance

its the largest selling sedan in india and has many months of waiting list iirc. if you are ok with the limitations of the Swift rear seat , it a good VFM buy imo. a new Swift hatch might come to india in mid 2011, but the Dzire is unlikely to be refreshed immediately. the ford fiesta is quite aeging. the toyota etios sedan and indigo manza look to be only real contenders to me. manza will definitely beat the maruti in room and features probably.

For the life of me I cant understand why the Ford Fiesta is a completely different vehicle in India as compared to the rest of the world. The Euros and the US have such an awesome vehicle in the Fiesta but Ford does not release it in India. I think its probably to give the Assies some work to do, given that Ford Fiesta Indian version was designed there.

its 'rumoured' to get the new version this yr. sales are very weak inspite of huge discounts on the duratec and duratorq (petrol & diesel) versions. and this was a car that once sold strongly here. surely the ford mgmt took their eyes off the ball on this one.
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

Wig,
Singha has covered a few points. Pros and Cons with the same segment i.e. Manza (same segment)
No Diesel in Etios yet (will have long waiting period once launched). Fiesta is a segment higher in cost terms.

Pros

1) Drivers car
2) Good mileage, good pickup and handling
3) Maruti's after sales service
4) Top end (ZDI) comes with alloys and leather upholstery, cheaper than Manza Aura +

Cons
1) Stiff ride (harder suspension) and Manza has better ride
2) Looks (perspective)
3) Horrible boot lid
4) Manza Aura is cheaper over VDI (more features)
5) Bad rear leg room and seat ergonomics.
6) No blue tooth connectivity
7) Wait time

If you want to get more confused visit the team bhp thread on the Dzire and Manza

MUL is planning to shrink the Dzire by 4" more to come in under 4 meters and qualify for lower taxes as a small car !! this to combat the pricing of Etios.

if u want Dzire best to get it before this happens I suppose....its going to be one inglorious looking runt but will still sell like hot cakes I suppose.

I thought Etios was a special designed for India car from Toyota.From the pics it is clear its just a rebadged Yaris, with the customary changes for India (high ground clearance, engine downgraded/optimised for fuel efficiency etc).

The Euros and the US have such an awesome vehicle in the Fiesta
Tanaji kyon majak kar rahe hein :rotfl:
Maram

Post by Maram »

I want to buy a small petrol car for my mother. Any suggestions please... Good build quality,easy to repair and easy availability of spare parts and cheaper to maintain/repair yet RELIABLE. looking for 4-6 lakhs range?????