Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

Muppalla wrote:(1) From the outset they made common Andhras as villians. (2) Their statisitcs, their sloganeering is exactly same as what naxal front ends talk. This is a massively a biggest lose-lose downslide path (3) They always threatened with violence and illusionary wars.
I suspect this is because of being a democratic country where such issues are decided by political parties. Let us say, we wanted to build a giant stadium in a city; once the tenders are filled and the businesses are selected; the actual construction, which is engineering (implementation of science), is left to the professionals. Neither the common people or the politicians understand the nuances, they don't have to understand.

Similarly, if the creation of states or merges of states were left to purely professionals and scholars, with zero influence from politicians then things would have been calmer and more tolerable. But now we have politicians in charge of either exercising influence or actually making the decisions. Naturally, in order to stay in power or gain power they have to reach out to the people. And in democracy, it is rhetoric and oratory skills that tug at human emotions. People vote based on their emotions than actual issues. America, is a showcase, that exemplifies that literacy, education and development has nothing to do with the voting pattern. People, vote with their hearts. Politicians twist facts, exploit fissures and emotions. And they invariably flare temper; they have to portray the other side as bad.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

vijayk wrote:

Why to prolong this takleef? Why not finish the inevitable and let the healing begin?

I don't want to bring this up because it might ruffle some feathers but there is a lot of nepotism in Babudom appointments in AP because the power was concentrated in 2 castes that dominated the political spectrum whether it is CON party or TDP. These appointments may seem like Seema Andhra for Telangana people but most of those are garnered by politically connected communities. I will leave it at that.

Look! Prof. Kondandaram or JayaShakar have been working for 50 years to undo the merger. No amount of progress or statistics is going to satisfy them. There are many ideologues who never reconciled to the idea of merger and they will blame everything and anything that goes wrong on Andhra.

So there is no point in prolonging this. The CLAN is benefiting from all of this. The CLAN wants to extend this till 2014 and at least get 14 seats.

Hyderabad is not the biggest deal. Hopefully Vizag or Vijayawada can become huge development center once they become capital and it can only help the surrounding areas.

I think negotiations have to start in earnest the process should be finished in 3 months.
vijayk,

I completely agree with your assessment. While it is painful to hear the separatists main slogan that andhra people are cheaters, we’re fully aware of what the genesis of this extrapolation. Two caste and two districts (that too a small minority of people) caused this entire hatred, but using this as an argument to create hatred between 8 crore people and rewarding them is very destructive for this country. For instance in what way the people of Srikakulam, Anantapur, the two most backward districts, are responsible for this disparity (as SKC put it). At a time when we wonder how low the politics can go, we are going down another notch. What price this country will pay, only time will tell. If we indians could recognize this early, we would not have been invaded by external forces and divided like this.

Having said that, the people of AP need to move forward. They need to split the state with some compensation for building a new state capital and some water guarantees especially for the people of Rayalaseema. The new state will struggle for a while, but it will be fully functional within 10-15 years. Finally, please let us not make Guntur/Vijayawada as capital and create this nonsense one more time. We have Tirupati, Rajahmundry, Vizag that can make fine capital cities.

Dasari wrote:
vijayk wrote:

Why to prolong this takleef? Why not finish the inevitable and let the healing begin?

I don't want to bring this up because it might ruffle some feathers but there is a lot of nepotism in Babudom appointments in AP because the power was concentrated in 2 castes that dominated the political spectrum whether it is CON party or TDP. These appointments may seem like Seema Andhra for Telangana people but most of those are garnered by politically connected communities. I will leave it at that.

Look! Prof. Kondandaram or JayaShakar have been working for 50 years to undo the merger. No amount of progress or statistics is going to satisfy them. There are many ideologues who never reconciled to the idea of merger and they will blame everything and anything that goes wrong on Andhra.

So there is no point in prolonging this. The CLAN is benefiting from all of this. The CLAN wants to extend this till 2014 and at least get 14 seats.

Hyderabad is not the biggest deal. Hopefully Vizag or Vijayawada can become huge development center once they become capital and it can only help the surrounding areas.

I think negotiations have to start in earnest the process should be finished in 3 months.
vijayk,

I completely agree with your assessment. While it is painful to hear the separatists main slogan that andhra people are cheaters, we’re fully aware of what the genesis of this extrapolation. Two caste and two districts (that too a small minority of people) caused this entire hatred, but using this as an argument to create hatred between 8 crore people and rewarding them is very destructive for this country. For instance in what way the people of Srikakulam, Anantapur, the two most backward districts, are responsible for this disparity (as SKC put it). At a time when we wonder how low the politics can go, we are going down another notch. What price this country will pay, only time will tell. If we indians could recognize this early, we would not have been invaded by external forces and divided like this.

Having said that, the people of AP need to move forward. They need to split the state with some compensation for building a new state capital and some water guarantees especially for the people of Rayalaseema. The new state will struggle for a while, but it will be fully functional within 10-15 years. Finally, please let us not make Guntur/Vijayawada as capital and create this nonsense one more time. We have Tirupati, Rajahmundry, Vizag that can make fine capital cities.
100% with you.

It is easy to build a cause showing a bogeyman rather than to identify right issue. It is the Governance. It is the lack of checks and balances in our society that corrupted our system. But it is too difficult to make people understand. It is easy to manipulate people's feelings.

We need a system of separation of powers. period. We need to have constitution mechanism to separate powers between legislature, judiciary, executive, police forces. We need to put an end to the culture of Nominations and start some sort of Primary system. BJP is the best party to introduce such measures in their own party because they are not owned by one dynasty or one caste as is the case with most parties. In my view, this will break the power structures and usher in a new Governing model. We need constitutional measures to redress grievances. We need a system where politicians don't shunt out honest judges/police officers because they don't listen to them. Leave it to the people to elect them. Also, we need to reduce the damn Govt. :D
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

SwamyG wrote:
Dasari wrote:If BJP is serious about smaller states, it should start where they are strong, like Maharastra. As per planning commission study done few years ago, 10 districts of Maharstara, mostly vidarbha, were in the top 100 poorest districts of India. Telanagana had none, which is in line with what SKC commission has found. Perhaps there is clear case for separate state for Vidarbha. Such policy would be called, a policy based on principles. Where as BJP has no presence in AP and there is no regional based backwardness, yet they want to create separate state to win 1 or 2 MP seats in the next Lok Sabha elections. This is called political opportunism. They exhibited the political opportunism once before when they failed to fulfill their Kakinada election promise of 'one vote - two states'. They did split Bihar, MP and UP but not AP. They used TDP as an excuse. God forbid, if BJP comes to power with support of YS Jagan/Gali Janardan reddy, history will repeat again. Enough of BJP nonsense.
All political parties will use a given situation to their advantage - it is the inherent nature of the beast a.k.a political party. I would charge BJP too, if they did not have have their stance known earlier. Expecting BJP to start elsewhere is distraction tactics or politics. Better arguments could be in the following lines
1) Show why the entire of "Small States" is bad for the people and the country, or
2) Show why Small States are not good for all regions and people of the country; but are good in some regions.
On Telangana, BJP already did a flip-flop once when they were in power when their debunk small state policy was already in effect. The used TDP as an excuse then, tomorrow they will use Jagan. I don't hold my breathe to see BJP cheer leaders charging BJP.

In fact the big noise that BJP is making for separate T is not for the love of T but with a hope that 25 MPs from other side resign and bring the UPA govt down. To their disappointment, with sufficient compensation for the capital, they may accept the separation. I would like see on which side they bat at that time.

In any case it is foolish to see the pros and cons of separate state through the prism of BJP's morality, or for that matter that of INC, as you eloquently said that political opportunism is their fundamental right.
Last edited by Dasari on 09 Jan 2011 00:53, edited 1 time in total.

Dasari wrote:We have Tirupati, Rajahmundry, Vizag that can make fine capital cities.
Tirupati is bad bad idea.
1) It is a holy city where pilgrims and devotees flock; making a capital will disturb this religious image and purpose of the city.
2) Being so close to TN, and becoming a capital, it would attract large amount of Tamilians. Look at the map, it is so close to TN. How many would be ready to accept this additional influx of tamilians.

The cheer leaders are supporting BJP, in this case, only because the accusers are not using the right arguments against BJP and its policies. Accusing a party of flip-flop will only elicit a response such as "So what, all parties do it". Once upon a time BJP took support from DMK, can any one believe it? DMK is traditionally known to take pseudo-rationalistic, psuedo-secularist and anti-hindu stances. Later BJP took support from AIADMK. Congress has done the same thing. A National party, in the current political climate, hinges on local parties in states where it has not made any inroad. INC or BJP have to strike alliance in AP or TN.

Again the point, is accusing BJP (or say even INC) of flip-flopping or using circumstances to their advantage could be made by aam junta at street level and opposing political parties for their gain.

A better approach would be, for the united-AP intellectuals, to pull BJP intellectuals at the National and State level and show them why splitting AP is a bad idea. Explain wearing a woolen cap in Shimla makes sense, but not in Vijayawada. I am sure there are United-AP politicians in all regional and national parties. But owing to political pressures, they are bound to align with partisan lines.

Dasari wrote:Having said that, the people of AP need to move forward. They need to split the state with some compensation for building a new state capital and some water guarantees especially for the people of Rayalaseema. The new state will struggle for a while, but it will be fully functional within 10-15 years. Finally, please let us not make Guntur/Vijayawada as capital and create this nonsense one more time. We have Tirupati, Rajahmundry, Vizag that can make fine capital cities.
Splitting based on bad propaganda is ominous. Rayalaseem and Kosta would need to handle same lying bunch upstream. SKC already gave them option how they can get geographical continuity with Hyderabad.

If Telanagana vadis want to take a state, let them take a few core districts and develop. There should not be any question of giving Hyderabad and water control and having Andhra fall 10-15 years back. If they want state let them prove the need in correct manner.

SKC said if there is division it has to be in agreement with all 3 regions. If Tvadis are continuing the same way, forget about any chance of agreement from other regions. SKC is now a legal document so circumventing will be tough now.
Last edited by ShyamSP on 09 Jan 2011 01:46, edited 1 time in total.

Munna, great job of creating BJP slug fest. Should be very proud of yourself.

SwamyG wrote:
Again the point, is accusing BJP (or say even INC) of flip-flopping or using circumstances to their advantage could be made by aam junta at street level and opposing political parties for their gain.
Actually things are simple. If the people have voted for a perticular party then they own the representatives and they can formate the policies for their state. In this case it is the INC.

If BJP gets the vote then it will have the voice of the people and their aspirations. Unfortunaltely BJP did not get the votes

The question is why is Kosta and the T region people not working with the party itself to come to some understanding

True. But still I think people should know the support BJP has in AP as a whole. One of my friends contested for Nellore (south costal dist) in 1990's and despite our best efforts got some 10k votes. Another got some 5k in next seat. This is the same place where we held MLC seat for a long time and even won MLA seat as Janasangh long back. Situation is same even now. So there is no ground support for BJP anywhere in non Telangana areas. But in Telangana areas Hyderabad City they have some support till date. But this hard division stance and speaking stupid things, sitting along with Gaddar may cost something to them with Non Telangana votes who are till now its solid vote bank. In the resent bout of resignations also Kishan Reddy of BJP never resigned from his seat in Hyd because he may not win it back as most of his voters are from costal areas. In fact when I went to Hyderabad I met the people who regularly worked for BJP there and they said this time there will be no one to vote for Kishan Reddy if he contests.

In Telangana however BJP has some support and got 18% votes in some elections. So they have some base here. So all this hot air coming from BJP people is their hope of having they governament in near future.

Coming back to the issue, I think had this division is about better administration there may not have been this much opposition. But unfortunately it became about looting Telangana people.

Many of the non Telugu BF people here have not seen the TV programs till date should believe if I tell you that I felt like Jew living in Nazi Germany. The entire line of TRS is how bad non Telangana people are and how they are looting Telangana people. Every small issue was looked into Telangana angle only. For example there was some examination and in Hyd teachers from every where were called to correction of the papers. When they were doing that Telangana wadis went into the hall and asked all non Telangana teacher to leave immediately and when some teacher came out of the hall they were beaten by Telangana wadis before Television cameras.

You will be surprised to know that last year there was a public meeting in Osmania University and one of the so called student leaders threated that Non Telangana people “go to your native place for Sankranthi you will not be allowed to come back to Hyderabad”. This statement telecasted live on TV. This kind of statements said in large pulic meetings with none of the leaders sitting there opposing it and none of the T vadis criticized it later. In fact many even supported that statement. These incident and many like that created a very bad taste in Non Telangana people in AP.

Once you have painted whole set of people as rogues evils people and what now and go on calling them all names for day after day for many years without any basis it is very difficult to win support from the same people now. Particularly when SKC says there is no discrimination and no lack of development and no basis for this dochikunnaru argument. So there is a serious problem of fear and apprehension which is not baseless on the part of non telangana people. The things done and words said for the last few years are not going to go away soon.

SKC also has created further bad image to Telangana wadis by making all their arguments as lies. So now it is very difficult for non Telangana people who are found correct about the development issue to accept now that division is absolutely needed for development reasons of Telangana. So both from development and emotional angle this issue is very diffulct to press for any consensus.

In respect of people relationship, two of my own sisters are married to people who are living in Telangana. I wonder if their childern to be branded as Settlers and kicked out of Telangana and will have to live like refuges. After all we all know what happened to Kashmiri Pundits. No one gives a damn about them. No one from press objected when for years all kinds of insults were hurled against Non Telangana people and no one from left of the media will blink and eye if we were kicked out of out houses in Hyderabad. When you have already decided we are mad dogs, then you have full permission to shoot us. AFTER ALL WE FROM NON TELANGANA ARE ALL LOOTERS. SO IT IS LIBARATION OF TELENGANA FROM THIS EVIL LOOTERS. SO KICK THEM OUT. EVERY THING THEN OWN THEIR HOUSES ETC ARE EARNED BY LOOTING TELANGANA PEOPLE SO TAKE IT BACK. Remember Telangana Vadis are not the people of Telangana but a class of political goondas who supported Nizam and looted Telanaga people for generations. What will prevent them from doing any thing in the name of Telangana and get away with it.

Many of the non Telugu BF people here have not seen the TV programs and ready Telugu news papers till date may not believe if I tell you that I came to know how it would have felt to be Jew living in Nazi Germany. The entire line of TRS is how bad non Telangana people are and how they are looting Telangana people. Later joining leaders from TDP BJP to a smaller extent are doin gthe same. The congress leaders are as bad as TRS if not worse.

There was some examination and in Hyd and teachers from everywhere were called correction of the answer sheets. When they were doing that, Telangana wadis went into the hall and asked all non Telangana teacher to leave immediately and when some teacher came out of the hall they were beaten by Telangana wadis in public before Television cameras and before huge presence of police. Now the state governament has taken back all these cases (if they are filed in the first place.)

You will be surprised to know that last year there was a public meeting in Osmania University and one of the so called student leaders threated that Non Telangana people “go to your native place for Sankranthi you will not be allowed to come back to Hyderabad”. This statement telecasted live on TV. None of the leaders sitting there opposing it and none of the T vadis criticized it later. In fact many even supported that statement.

These incidents and many like that happend time and again for the last few years and they created a very feeling in Non Telangana people Telugu in AP.

Once you have painted whole set of people who are in fact the majority in the state as rogues evils people and what now and go on calling them all names for day after day for many years without any basis it is very difficult to win support from the same people now. Particularly when SKC says there is no discrimination and no lack of development and no basis for this dochikunnaru argument. So there is a serious problem of fear and apprehension which is not baseless on the part of non telangana people. The things done and words said are not going to go away soon.

SKC also has created further bad image to Telangana wadis by making all their arguments as lies. So now it is very difficult for non Telangana people who are found correct about the development issue to accept now that division is absolutely needed for development reasons of Telangana. So both from development and emotional angle this issue is very diffulct to press for any consensus.

In respect of people relationship, two of my own sisters are married to telangana people and I don’t want their childern to be branded as Settlers and kicked out of Telangana and live like refuges. It is not just myself, almost every one in Non Telangana areas have same fears. You may think it will not happen. But we all know what happened to Kashmiri Pundits. No one gives a damn about them. No one from press objected when for years all kinds of insults were hurled against Non Telangana people and no one from left of the media will blink and eye if we were kicked out of out houses in Hyderabad. AFTER ALL WE FROM NON TELANGANA ARE ALL LOOTERS. SO IT IS LIBARATION OF TELENGANA FROM THIS EVIL LOOTERS. SO KICK THEM OUT. When you have already decided we are mad dogs who will object when you shoot us. Remember Telangana Vadis are not the people of Telangana but a class of political goondas who supported Nizam and looted Telanaga people for generations. What will prevent them from doing any thing in the name of Telangana and get away with it.

You may think this is all imagination and baseless fear. YSR said in public meeting in the last elections at Karnool that time will come for us to take a passport from KCR to go to Hyderabad. This is a redicular statement comming from state CM. Yet that one statement focused the support TDP has given to TRS and resulted TDP getting kicked out from rest of the AP. That is the level of fear the conduct of the agitators raised in Non Telangana areas.

You may also not know kicking out non Telangana people has happend in 1969 agitation, but at a small scale. No one out side AP save Indira Gandhi supported us and today we can no count on anyone. Once TRS could bend Delhi and got their state why they and their kind should allow the looters from outside to live there? Why not kcik them and grab their every thing. Even now large scale extortion is going on in the Hyderabad City and no one says anything about it. So should Non Telangana people allow themselves at the mercy of TRS and such people.

You may think these fears are baseless Then what is the basis for Telangana agitation? Is not baseless looting argument? what is the basis for assuming support of that agitation has public support when they could win 10 seats out of 50 they have contested just one and half years back?
Last edited by Yagnasri on 09 Jan 2011 05:51, edited 2 times in total.

Are things that bad? How come all the MNCs haven't moved out from Hyderabad, if the situation in Telengana is reminiscent of Nazi Germany days? I shudder to think how things must be like for others (Indians and foreigners), if Telugu people are treated this way.

Narayana Rao wrote:True. But still I think people should know the support BJP has in AP as a whole. One of my friends contested for Nellore (south costal dist) in 1990's and despite our best efforts got some 10k votes. Another got some 5k in next seat. This is the same place where we held MLC seat for a long time and even won MLA seat as Janasangh long back. Situation is same even now. So there is no ground support for BJP anywhere in non Telangana areas. But in Telangana areas Hyderabad City they have some support till date. But this hard division stance and speaking stupid things, sitting along with Gaddar may cost something to them with Non Telangana votes who are till now its solid vote bank. In the resent bout of resignations also Kishan Reddy of BJP never resigned from his seat in Hyd because he may not win it back as most of his voters are from costal areas. In fact when I went to Hyderabad I met the people who regularly worked for BJP there and they said this time there will be no one to vote for Kishan Reddy if he contests.
THe current state leadership of the party will also change once they see the writing on the wall. The democratic process is that way and they will change to win the votes. Until then the elected leaders from the party which won the vote has to look after the interest. Are they listening to the people?

Saar, if I can pass myself off as pakistani even, but not as someone from coastal andhra, I'd be able to pass unharmed amid a raging T-mob. such is the situ. The insanity in the hyd area is largely limited to the egregious OU (f)arts college. I say shut it down and seal it permanently, preferably with troublemakers inside.

Narayana Rao garu - I beleive you are reading tooo much into the situation. It is not bad though I agree that some incidents are happening. My entire family and all my relatives are in HYD in various parts of the city. Governments offices are definitely bad. Private sector is having no issues. Business has no issues and nothing is stopping too.
Hari Seldon wrote:Saar, if I can pass myself off as pakistani even, but not as someone from coastal andhra, I'd be able to pass unharmed amid a raging T-mob. such is the situ. The insanity in the hyd area is largely limited to the egregious OU (f)arts college. I say shut it down and seal it permanently, preferably with troublemakers inside.
Police is doing a great job. T-reaction is extremely minor as I was expecting the worst. It was really controlled to the perimeters of OU only and that means it is contained. DIG Aravind Rao said they have used pellets and not bullets in firing. Pellets will go into the body and not beyond the skin it seems. They will not kill the person. The whole mess is created by AP High court. They cancelled the earlier order of closing down OU. The radical and Naxal elements are living along with students in the campus. It seems that police is actually not allowing any visitors and raiding the hostels at regular intervals. All the media was given strict insturctions to not transmit any videos.

The AP police attire is pretty impressive. The riot police gear looks cool.

T-reaction has to be strong beyond Hyderabad if they have to keep the momentum. They are putting pressure on the legislators to resign and so far none resigned.

http://greatandhra.com/viewnews.php?id= ... 10&scat=25
Why Giving Telangana Is Difficult For Congress??
While that may be the committee’s analysis, here is another analysis that is sounding more apt. There is a very good reason why Congress cannot give T-state and this is purely for political reasons. For starters, the decision has to be taken by the high command though it is garbed as the decision of the regional political parties. Right now, it is a damage control measure due to the immature statement issued on December 9th, 2009.

The key problem they are seeing now is the emergence of Y S Jagan and already the Seemandhra and Coastal Andhra Congressmen are not up for splitting the state. So, if the high command is to give a T-state then it will brew an internal revolt and ensure that Jagan gets the red carpet welcome. On the other hand, congress will become dummy as the wily fox KCR will project himself as the messiah for the Telangana masses and dump congress.
The high command realizes that Andhra Pradesh is the only state which has been loyal to the congress and also the highest contributor of seats since the 1977 emergency.
Hopefully, we wised up since 1977 ...

Muppalla wrote: The whole mess is created by AP High court. They cancelled the earlier order of closing down OU. The radical and Naxal elements are living along with students in the campus. It seems that police is actually not allowing any visitors and raiding the hostels at regular intervals. All the media was given strict insturctions to not transmit any videos.

The AP police attire is pretty impressive. The riot police gear looks cool.

T-reaction has to be strong beyond Hyderabad if they have to keep the momentum. They are putting pressure on the legislators to resign and so far none resigned.
Overall, the police are doing pretty good job. The OU is a lethal mix of naxals, veterans who are living off the campus for ever.

The police are being very cautious. Except in OU, there is not much disturbances outside.

http://greatandhra.com/viewnews.php?id= ... 15&scat=16
t is unfortunate to see even the students getting into the lurch. Sources say that the trouble comes with the so called ‘Research Scholars’. Well, they are basically 35 year olds without jobs and nothing to do outside living on government money. A strong sense of insecurity feeling always fills them.

They are getting provoked by politicians and the results can be seen. While they don’t achieve anything personally, they are now ensuring that even those around them also fall into the same gutter. It is time the students come out of this ‘darkness’ and work towards their careers and lives or else….
http://greatandhra.com/viewnews.php?id= ... 15&scat=16
Resignation threat has no impact on Sonia!
According to sources in New Delhi, Congress president Sonia Gandhi has not taken seriously the statement of the Telangana Congress leaders, as she is more worried about the party position itself. “It does not matter whether the political career of these MLAs and MPs in Telangana is at stake. The party itself is in a chaotic situation because of the Jaganmohan Reddy factor and lack of proper leadership. She will concentrate on strengthening the party, rather than saving the careers of a few leaders ,” sources said.

Senior Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee is learnt to have told the Telangana Congress MPs that there was no question of taking any decision on Telangana under pressure. “Only if the high command feels it would help the party bag majority of seats would it take an appropriate decision. If Telangana is granted immediately, it would only help Telangana Rashtra Samithi and not the Congress Now we know their priorities which is not a surprise ,” he is learnt to have told the

vijayK, No they didn't. In 1977 they voted 41 MPs for Inc when it was defeated everywhere! And the one MP went on to become the President: Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy. Thus they ensured no representation in the Janata cabinet of 1977 for AP.

Narayana Rao garu, Please recollect its the KCR type leadership and their goons are showing the fascist tendencies. The common people are not like that.

vijayK garu - that greatandhra site is Jai Ho Jagan site. Do always read between the lines. One point in that which makes real sense is:
The key problem they are seeing now is the emergence of Y S Jagan and already the Seemandhra and Coastal Andhra Congressmen are not up for splitting the state. So, if the high command is to give a T-state then it will brew an internal revolt and ensure that Jagan gets the red carpet welcome. On the other hand, congress will become dummy as the wily fox KCR will project himself as the messiah for the Telangana masses and dump congress.
This is what I wrote yesterday but not as clearly as the one highlighted above. It is for sure the operation will be for sometime to keep Jagan in check. No politics wise, the babudom is convinced of the dangers in terms of a maoist state. The agitation style and the associations are very clear pointers.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

SwamyG wrote:
Actually things are simple. If the people have voted for a perticular party then they own the representatives and they can formate the policies for their state. In this case it is the INC.

If BJP gets the vote then it will have the voice of the people and their aspirations. Unfortunaltely BJP did not get the votes

The question is why is Kosta and the T region people not working with the party itself to come to some understanding
Let us examine the naivety of this question by applying this logic to entire India. Why don’t the people of India work with the ruling Government and come to an understanding and solve all their problems. It is that simple. Why do the people bicker about 2G scams, adarsh scams, maoist problems, mining problems, terrorist problems, north east problems, CWG problems.

The current leadership of the party will also change once they see the writing on the wall. Right?

Now jokes apart, seriously the genesis of the problem started when INC, in 2004, desperate to beat seemingly unbeatable Chandra Babu Naidu and after running out of all ideas, brought in separate state issue to beat TDP at least in the Telangana area. It was like one of many stones they thrown at, hoping one of them would hit the target. But from their heart and soul, INC never wanted to give separate state. It was pure political opportunism (which some BJP cheer leaders on this board very eloquently argue to be acceptable) and a monumental blunder.

TDP/BJP went into 2004 elections on unified state and didn’t give much importance to separate state idea and went along with ‘India is shining’ slogan. However, lot of things happened in the prior 4 years. There was unprecedented drought in AP where many farmers committed suicide, mostly in Telangana and Rayalaseema regions. The image of suicide farmers didn’t go well with Chief minister carrying laptop, doing power point presentations and show casing IT city in Hyderabad. While CBN was glowing in the limelight and blushing with meetings with like of Bill Clinton and Bill Gates, the state congress leader YS Raja Sekhar Reddy reached out to people the old fashioned way and uprooted TDP foundations brick by brick. But nobody knew the extent of damage and even Congress, unaware of the transformation, kept pouring as many promises as they could think, including separate state for T. They cut an alliance with small young party, TRS, whose leader is known for his vitriolic tongue, with sharp attacks against andhra and rayalaseema people.

The results were shocking. Even Congress couldn’t believe their success as literally they swept TDP. TDP won mere 56 seats in an assembly of 294 seats plunging them to do deep soul searching. The first reaction was to cut their ties with BJP who lost at the national level.

Having realized that they would have won the elections even without separate state plank, Congress started distancing themselves from separate state agenda. In the meantime, the baby they delivered, the separate state movement, was growing rapidly to adulthood. They tried to contain it with Telangana development slogan under strong political leadership of YSR. However, the political leadership of Congress in telangana was very weak and even YSR never allowed it to grow. They always depended on others to make them winnable.

In the meantime, Telengana development forum, initially led by NRIs from telangana, was created. They created set of reports, videos showing how andhra people are plundering Telangana and mass communicated through internet. I don’t think there is any organization in india or elsewhere used the internet tool this effectively. Things deteriorated very fast in the 5 core districts of Telangana. From then onwards, if a crow crows or dog barks in Telangana, a question was raised why the crow was not singing or the dog was not talking and accused it to be an act of conspiracy by andhrites. For instance there was a shooting of nexalites in Karimnagar dist by AP police, the headlines in TDF was andhra police fired against Telangana freedom fighters. Sound bites like andhra cheaters, andhra rulers became household punch lines and sadly nobody from andhra side, neither the intellectuals nor politicians countered. By now every intellectual in Telangana can eloquently talk about 300,000 state government jobs lost , when in reality there were not even 300,000 state jobs in Telangana. Everybody can throw these numbers as facts but the initial source is same, a set of reports and tables created by the T evangelist, hard core maoist sympathiser, Prof Jayashankar.

In 2009, YSR went to elections on Telengana development plank without completely ruling out separate state. Seeing growing movement of separate state, desperate to beat seemingly unbeatable YSR, now it is the turn of the other parties to use separate state slogan. Now TDP, BJP, CPI all plunged into separate state movement. Even the new party of Chiranjeevi left their position on separate state ambiguous.

Once again, YSR won the elections, although very narrowly, mostly thanks to the lack luster leadership of Chandra Babu Naidu and the triangular fight between INC, TDP and PRP (praja rajyam party of Chiranjeevi). All the parties that supported separate state lost the elections. TRS won mere 10 seats out of the 50+ seats they contested. It proved, that after all, common man wants development, and they don’t care about separate state. It also proved while emotional issues like separate state have very short shelf life, the day to day issues of food, clothes and house are perpetual. The unceremonious alliance between TDP and TRS ended.

Good or bad YSR was very decisive leader. The most important thing about leadership is to make people walk on one path. If they fail to do this, it doesn’t matter how novel their ideas are. In that respect YSR was a great leader and it shows even now when novice leader like his son draws enormous support from people, although everybody knows he amassed massive wealth under his fathers rule. YSR knows the pulse of the people and I can tell very confidently that had he been alive, there would not have been this discussion today.

After YSR death, Rosiah, a very indecisive leader, who never won any popular election, was made a rubber stamp CM of AP. KCR saw the small opening and realized that it is now or never situation. A sequence of natural calamities also weakened the govt further and the telangana supporters marched forward. Until now KCR, for the fear of losing control of the movement, never made students partners in his agenda. In a desperate move, for the first time KCR took the movement to the students, particularly Osmania university. In fact when KCR took indefinite fast, his intention was to do the fast for 2-3 days. After 3rd day he called off the fast, under the false premise of Govt responding to his demand. Instantly, the images of KCR sipping lemon juice enraged the students of Osmania university, and they started gathering around the hospital shouting slogans against him. Fearing that it went out of control, KCR changed his stance, accused doctors forcing him to drink the juice and continued the fast for another 8 days, until the ill conceived December 9th statement from Mr Chidambaram.

KCR fast might have revived separate state movement a bit but not much to take it very seriously until PC made that announcement. Even the hardened fanatics of separate state movement couldn’t believe the haste it was announced. Suddenly, everybody who never cared about separate T, became a big evangelist of T.

But what really transpired in INC was the filthy dynasty politics. INC never respects or promotes any individual leader and servility to rajmata is the ultimate requirement for any leader. When 150 MLAs across the region signed an affidavit supporting Jagan, not consulting the high command, it was an ultimate insult to rajamata and raised an alarm that he could become an independent leader. That shaked up INC high command. For 2 to 3 months they tried to split the 150 members across Telangana and Andhra without any success. Day by day Jagan’s influence is growing and Rosiah is floundering. Even a young leader, Konda Surekha, from telanagna, resigned her cabinet position accusing INC high command of mis treatment of Mr Jagan. It send shock waves to INC high command. They ran out of ideas and time was running out. Finally they fell back to their time tested brahmastra, separate state.

Separate state was always a non starter. How can a region with most developed capital city can ask for separate state? This is like Bombay and the surrounding districts asking for separate state accusing Vidarbha? Can Chennai and North Tamilnadu become separate state, leaving the region south of kavery? Jarkhand, Chatishgarh, Uttarkand are the states formed away from capital cities. If Vidarbha, Andhra, Rayalaseema, South Tamilnadu , North West karnataka or North telanagna, away from most developed areas, ask for separate state, it makes sense, but not the other way. Otherwise it is called stealing. This is preposterous.

In any case, the december 9th announcement, created spontaneous outburst across andhra and rayalaseema areas. To their utter shock, except cabinet ministers, all MLAs across the two regions mass resigned. How andhra and rayalaseema politicians used the separate state slogan when they didn’t really mean it, came out in open. This is definitely betrayal of people of Andhra/Rayalaseema, especially Telangana. They played this double game so long and when T people accuse andhra leaders, it is completely justified.

For INC there was no other option other than rolling back the Dec 9th announcement. Whether it was genuine attempt to understand whether T was backward or make the truth known to everybody and find a solution, they appointed the Sri Krishna Committee to study the problem and suggest the Govt the most desirable solution. All major political parties agreed to cooperate with the commission.

There are no better and well qualified experts in the country than these 5 individuals, experts in their won fields both academically and administratively. Justice Skrikrishna is known for his no nonsense approach in dealing with issue like this, including investigation of 1992 Bombay riots.

The SKC panel collected more than 100,000 petitions and reports, toured extensively all the 23 districts, had more than 2000 meetings. After a span of 11 months, they compiled a very dispassionate report covering all aspects of AP and came up with 6 options, of which the central govt is considering only the last three options.

The options may be inconclusive and require political will to implement them, but their findings on variety of issues leading to the final proposals are very conclusive. There is absolutely no systematic discrimination, subjugation against Telangana and there is no favoritism towards Andhra and Rayalaseema. In fact they concluded that it is Rayalaseema that is most backward. They also concluded the disparity between rich and poor is narrowest in andhra and widest in Telangana. Similarly the disparity between upper caste and lower caste is much wider in Telangana. In no uncertain terms, they cautioned the imminent explosion of maoism exploiting these differences, if these disparities are not checked very quickly.

Their first recommendation is not to split the state and to alleviate the disparities by having a regional development council for Telanagna and perhaps for other backward regions. I hope the INC acts on this very fast (don’t wait for what Jagan is doing) and implement either the most recommended option (regional council) or the next best options, either separation into two states or two states and one UT.

Damned good summary.
Emden laga kottaru!

Dasari - good job. Very well written with no political biases. Even after reading your summary in detail I see only one solution and that is united AP. All other solutions are imaginary in terms of practicality and also politics wise too. The folks who played with the fire dug themselves and they deserve to go even after clearing the mess that they created. The mess clearence will have a lot of bruises both physical and psyche. For the record, BJP which also played with the fire became extinct even in its stronghold of Hyderabad.

There are two unsolved mysteries that are pregnent for multiple interpretations:
(1) PC's haste announcement - KCR could have been put in a hospital on saline (like they recently did to CBN)
(2) Why is Sonia so adament, and is now willing to take it to any length (including going for another Gen election post budget session) instead of making Jagan as CM.

These two can have several interpretations and I don't beleive they are mistakes but done deliberately.
jiteshn

Post by jiteshn »

So i heard the intellectual committee SKC thinks rayalaseema is more backward than telangana.

jiteshn ji, there is a big and visible flaw in that graph Vs conclusion. SKC never concluded that Telangana is more developed than Andhra. It said it grew with the same pace. The anology is also same US has grown and in not growing anymore but Ethiopia which is at zero grew more than US's growth.

Everyone recognizes that Andhra (the delta portions) are developed a 100 years ago. To make Telangana look better than the delta region we have to first nuke the delta region. If Telangana grows consistently the way it is growing, it will reach Andhra. It may be not in agriculture but from overall sectors. SKC says that Rayalaseema is more backward that Telangana.

That kind of slogans if used in campaign will discredit the movements even if the movements are genuine. Very easy fodder for the opposition.

Also, SKC has put ranking to the states based on GDP Telangana is coming 15th in India ahead of even states like Himachal, Goa, Uttaranchal which to me is amazing. Andhra is coming 12 in his list.
jiteshn

Post by jiteshn »

Muppalla wrote:SKC never concluded that Telangana is more developed than Andhra.
The basis of growth rate used by SKC to make a point is totally ridiculous. It is even juvenile.

SKC cannot conclude anything because it never had the powers in the first place. What it can do is present a case in the manner and direction it wants to and that is exactly what it has done. The arc is made to point towards a "united andhra". And the reasons given for it are totally amateur.

This article does the needful and rightfully decapitates the report and its reporters
http://sujaiblog.blogspot.com/2011/01/s ... nesty.html

Telangana economy, better than many States': Srikrishna report
In terms of absolute Gross Domestic Product (GDP), the Telangana region (excluding Hyderabad) ranks above the States of Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, Goa and all the north-eastern States. If ranked with States, Telangana would come in at the 15th place.

Even in terms of per capita income, Telangana's (excluding Hyderabad) is a notch higher than the all-India average. Within Andhra Pradesh, coastal Andhra stands out as a superior economic entity; ranked with States, its GDP would be the 13th largest.

These are some of the interesting findings thrown up by the Justice Srikrishna Committee Report, which was made public today by the Union Home Minister, Mr P. Chidambaram, in New Delhi, after a meeting attended by the major political parties.

I think there will be no telengana state but the seema+coasta mafia lobby(Which everyone agree exists) will be cut down to size.

India is a coalition.THE Andhra mafia was getting too big for its shoes and was upsetting the delicate balance in power equuations apart from treading not too softly on Telengana.If Andhra can have a mafia,some leeway has to be given to telengana as well.

The Congress has crushed separatist movements elsewhere.It had to step in before the problem became too big.

Chandrababu Naidu is no innocent.His behaviour during Godhra was ANTI-NATIONAL.NTR was the brain behind National (Af)Front.Nor was YSR innocent when he made unreasonable demands on KG oil yield.(according to the grape vine).

The record of Andhra mafia is not very edible even from a pan-dravidian view.Telugus are well integrated in both Chennai and Bengaluru.While I will never ever make accusations against the proverbial 'aam aadmi',the telugu record in promoting amity among dravidian language speakers is pretty ordinary.The mafia leadership has had no compunction in supporting chauvinistic elements in both Karnataka and TN for rentier capitalism ,for instance the record in Bellary.

Why even our venerable Ramanaji forgets the history of Ancient Cholas,Pallavas,Chalukyas,Rashtrakutas or for that matter Vijayanagar is in Karnataka,which has an equal claim on credit for this great Hindu Kingdom.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

svenkat wrote:I think there will be no telengana state but the seema+coasta mafia lobby(Which everyone agree exists) will be cut down to size.

India is a coalition.THE Andhra mafia was getting too big for its shoes and was upsetting the delicate balance in power equuations apart from treading not too softly on Telengana.If Andhra can have a mafia,some leeway has to be given to telengana as well.

The Congress has crushed separatist movements elsewhere.It had to step in before the problem became too big.

Chandrababu Naidu is no innocent.His behaviour during Godhra was ANTI-NATIONAL.NTR was the brain behind National (Af)Front.Nor was YSR innocent when he made unreasonable demands on KG oil yield.(according to the grape vine).

The record of Andhra mafia is not very edible even from a pan-dravidian view.Telugus are well integrated in both Chennai and Bengaluru.While I will never ever make accusations against the proverbial 'aam aadmi',the telugu record in promoting amity among dravidian language speakers is pretty ordinary.The mafia leadership has had no compunction in supporting chauvinistic elements in both Karnataka and TN for rentier capitalism ,for instance the record in Bellary.

Why even our venerable Ramanaji forgets the history of Ancient Cholas,Pallavas,Chalukyas,Rashtrakutas or for that matter Vijayanagar is in Karnataka,which has an equal claim on credit for this great Hindu Kingdom.
Don't go overboard with the Telugu mafia theory. Then what do you call that is there in Maharastra, getting away with best deals from the centre all the time. How about the Dravidan mafia blackmailing India with bogus debunk aryan-dravidian theory, claiming 6 cabinet positions for the mere 18 MPs, a ratio of 1 to 3 ministers. How about the UP mafia, stifling India with 84 seats. Don't forget, historically it is Telugu people that bridge the gap between Northern Hindu belt and the southern dravidian belt. Even though telugu language is spoken the second largest after Hindi, their influence is very less in both national and regional politics. No complaints on this. But when Telugu pride is used as last inspiration to save united andhra, I see the nervousness of other competing regional sub identities under the mask of nationalism. Enough of this hypocrisy.

He is not posting about Telugu mafia Ramana sir. He is saying about Andhra Mafia. In the present meaning it means only costal and Rayalaseema people. Telangana people as per him dont have any Mafia. OK. I never said anything against the people of Telangana but its political class. As I have posted 2 of my sisters are married to them and one of them live in Rural Telangana even now.

SVENKAT Sir, "Godhra " thing came into your post from somewhere. What way CBN is involved in that ?

Great post Dasari sir.

Jiteshn Sir - Can you read what the same blog says about Kashmir sir. Do you agree with that also? If you do that all of us have nothing to say. Gurus also please read what that blog say about Kashmir and judge your self who is the basis for this Telangana agitation. No wonder they want their Roy Didi

jiteshn wrote:So i heard the intellectual committee SKC thinks rayalaseema is more backward than telangana.

It is not only the growth rates. The report goes into detail into lot of aspects.

Page 65

2.1.04 Coastal Andhra region record a per capita income of `36496
followed by Telangana (including Hyderabad) with a per capita income of `36082
(`33771 excluding Hyderabad, and `33056 in Rayalaseema at 2007-08 current
prices.

Look at Page 64 of the report also which shows district wise DDP

Their point is to show there are a lot of similarities in the various regions of AP. Considering that Telangana started at much lower base, the growth rate made it possible to reach the levels of other regions by 2007-08.

Page 67

Maram

Post by Maram »

My dad is flying from Hyderabd airport on 16th Jan to Manchester. I read this thread a nd follow nes worrying how it will be on the 16th Jan. I am wwritin this as I know this is mean and selfish of me to be thinking, I pray everything remains calm until 16th. I don't care what happens before/after that. You are right. I am selfish and mean. So are many ordinary people. I guess, everyone will try to after themselves..... and so are the politicians.
yadha raaja tadha praja......... sad situation.

This whole post is a huge whine but I appreciate you because you are able to vomit it without any spin. Several others on this thread tried with a lot of spins. :) I guess spinning has no meaning anymore as proabably Telugus has fought back. But I don't know if Telugus have won or not and we have to see that as time will tell that.

svenkat wrote:I think there will be no telengana state but the seema+coasta mafia lobby(Which everyone agree exists) will be cut down to size.

Hillarious it is. Telugu folks are second largest speaking population of India and third in the sub continent. It is still not a sheer size as Marathis are also very near. It is natural that they will have a clout just like any biggies. Better live with it or it is okay whine about it as we need some amusement sometimes. There were folks who say if we remove UP and Bihar from India, India will be better off. Let us also add Telugus to that to make India better because all these folks are brutally mafia based sections that are bringing down India's image and may be India's economy.

Most importantly you have written something that vindicates Ramana and others suspected about Chidu's intentions when he declared Telangana last year. You know what he did it is in haste as though there is no tomorrow.

Regarding leeway to Telangana by Andhra lobby - you are totaly mistaken. Even if T is formed, this so called lobby will be of same size. When Bihar was divided did it divide the number of Bihari babus who call the shots at the center?

Non-T Andhras will have no objection if a autonomous council of T is created and the elected body decides the spending and finances of T. That is what the center is trying to do. It will not cut down the so called Andhra mafia. It will strenthen it :)
Yeah yeah yeah!!! First it has to create the mess and then it has to crush when it becomes big. Now it is doing on the innocent Telangana folks. It created Brindranwale and Punjab problem, it crushed it with no observance to sensitivites of Sikhs and in the process it lost its tallest leader.
By the way BJP and Left supported this NF government headed by VP Singh. DMK is part of the government. This is a classic example of freaking-hatread being vomited out. There is no need of any examples. Why is it National Affront. It is just a government by the opposition of India of that time.
This is the proudest thing of Telugus. They did not fall for the drivel called as some fictious dravidian horse s h i t to create a union to fight with North Indians. Somehow you are trying to create an illusionary Karnataka+TN to blame so called Andhra mafia. Good try. But you know what even the Karnataka did not join that fiction.
This is the takleef and hence you are taking everything out of context. Whether someone likes it or not, Telugu people are biggest population breeders. Their population is bigger than the current borders and also bigger during those kingdoms. Size matters :) buddy and probably that is the reason why we have Shiva lingas in temples as large as TV towers. Go to Amaravati in Guntur district on the banks of river Krishna.

It is practically impossible for any Kingdom to do a heagomony over Telugus and say I am a Tamil king or I am Kannada king. They have to do equal-footing and not just inclusion. If it is an Andhra king then it is inclusion because of his sheer size. You see the Andhra mafia exists from that time period. It is simply size.

The ashta-diggajas which is considered as golden era of Telugu literature are all from Vijayanagara empire. The Telugu-Kannada cusp is very difficult to identify and seperate it out at least of that time period. Both the languages are having some 60% plus Sanskrit words and more so in that period. Kannada-Telugu literary divisions are superimpositions based on modern interpretation to those periods. It is still debated that whether Amuktamalyada is wirtten in Kannada or Telugu. Most of the evidence proves that Krishnadevaraya wrote in Telugu because he wrote it after his victory over Orissa kings Gajapathis at Kondapalli (I lived 10 km away from this area and the fort is still there).

Read here if you are interested in reading things without clouded eyes.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Krishnadevaraya

Just like the Dravidian parties complain North Indian heagomony in India they better be whining about Andhra mafia. You gave me a thing to celebrate this Sunday. I will throw a party ;)

Note: Edited for more details.
Last edited by Muppalla on 09 Jan 2011 22:03, edited 1 time in total.

I am not in the top echelons of the govt.You can dismiss my rants as the rubbish of a CT theorist.It is quite possible that I am completely wrong.I wrote as a lay observer.

But I would request you to not impute motives me as some one intrinsically against people speaking Telugu.As a dreamer,I am against what I perceive as a mafia.I believe in the idea of India and have no axe to grind on the Telengana issue.No one can reduce the influence of Telugu people.They are a very large group.It is as simple as a geographical truth like earth is round.

Regarding PC,he is a Cabinet minister.And there is something called collective responsibility.I am a mango abdull and cant perceive any connections between me and PC.Also the Home Ministry has been spying on Kanimozhi in this period.

I repeat,these are the observations of a lay observer not intended to hurt anyone.My last post.I regret if I have hurt any of my brethren.But I cant see why we cant have a SKC to apportion rent in the City of Hyderabad.It seems to me,that is a 'fair' demand of Telengana doras.

Asking folks like Ramana to not react to Telugu pride just because they talk more about nation, indic and pan India stuff is at best hillarious. It is like saying you are a real nationalist and hence even if someone breaks your home don't bother.

This is analougous to another real event.

The most important icon of Sikh religion The Golden Temple was made a parking lot but on the otherhand the nation kept praising the Sikh valor and their contributions to Indian armed forces gets prasied. You are all great so don't react even if we break the important Temple. When the mutiny in armed forces happened they are all suddenly traitors.

The folks who this way has to watch the Chanakya serial again. By the way for those who cannot understand pure Hindi they the serial comes with English subtitles. There is an episode where a regional satrap proposes to divide Magadh between some kingdoms. You have to see Chanakya's reaction. Magadh was Chanakya's home though he lived away from it since he was kid.

One more thing that is has more interest to the current Andhra-Telangana situation. Just like the low level fissures between Sikhs and Hindus were expanded into Punjab problem, the smaller economic/growth based differences were expanded to create a animosity between the regions. The hillarious part is inpite of all that divisions and fights, Hindus and Sikhs still marry each other and probably same will continue between Andhras and Telangana folks.

My point about the anology portion of Punjab problem to that of this Telangana problems is if people remember, Rajiv Gandhi cooked a solution with Harchand Singh Longowal. Per that solution, Chandigarh will be permanently transferred to Punjab and also some punjabi speaking areas to Punjab from Haryana. The accord even touched on some water sharing stuff too. That has enraged the Haryana folks and sweptout congress from Haryana with Devilal winning landslide. The emergence of National Front started.

So the Hyderabad as UT and splitting districts and mandals of T to be made part of this fictious Hyderabad UT will be exact and similar recipe. Good luck to the current foreign Gandhis.

Dasari wrote:
Let us examine the naivety of this question by applying this logic to entire India.
What is naive about this. This has resulted in a post with good analysis.

It was pure political opportunism (which some BJP cheer leaders on this board very eloquently argue to be acceptable) and a monumental blunder.
You are letting your emotions overrun your arguments and feelings towards other board members. You are not even addressing or acknowledging the points I raise. Yeah, you do answer my posts. No point in arguing with you. It is easy for me to throw words at known BJP supporters in this forum who disagree with BJP on this issue. I do not use the words "United Andhra cheer leaders", do I? :evil:

Attacking posts from non-telugu people is quite similar to what neocons and Bush regime did when anybody want to strike a decent conversation before the Iraq war. Nefarious motives are willy-nilly attributed to anyone who even wants to discuss this issue as a non-AP guy. The rhetoric is very well know and time tested. Sadly it is very effective and drives people away from the discussion, much to the happiness of some.

As I say, "it is pride if I do it, but chauvinistic when others do it."

Hopefully when points are placed, the points are attacked for their demerits; and no sinister charges are accused on fellow BRF members. It will be sad if this continues to happen.

SwamyG wrote:Hopefully when points are placed, the points are attacked for their demerits; and no sinister charges are accused on fellow BRF members. It will be sad if this continues to happen.
Yup SwamyG that is the sad fact about the entire fiasco. The name calling has the potential to turn any neutral person into a rabid champion of T-state if they were not clued into realpolitik and knew the reality on ground. Everything from J&k to Soviet Union seems to be invoked but nobody is ready to blame the guy who did it. He and it is he alone who disturbed the social fabric of the state by promoting aggressive EJs, created a massive class of crony capitalists in the state sworn to him (their wealth is off-records and hence off SKC report), rode to victory on T-state plank and it is his legacy that T-state became an item of mainstream political discourse after a nearly 4 decade old dormancy.

Now even if the state is not divided the seeds of divide with potential for a future flare up have been sown. Whether or not they will germinate to bear sour fruits remains to be seen! It is this rancour, name calling and motiveless malevolence that I am asking for all parties concerned to avoid.
Muppalla wrote:The most important icon of Sikh religion The Golden Temple was made a parking lot but on the otherhand the nation kept praising the Sikh valor and their contributions to Indian armed forces gets prasied. You are all great so don't react even if we break the important Temple. When the mutiny in armed forces happened they are all suddenly traitors.
Muppallaji atleast the Jatt Sikhs have been steadfast in avoiding and punishing the Golden Temple defilers politically (INC is the Hindu + SC Sikhs party of Punjab, BJP is looked upon as Akali lackey).
Can I expect the same from AP in case of the things that happened around my Lord Balaji's abode? You and I know the answer to that. Hence my circumspect attitude towards the whole "Telugu Pride" plank, it seems to be a very selective call that is ineffective in dealing with real dangers facing the people. And by that I mean cultural and social annihilation.
Last edited by munna on 10 Jan 2011 00:38, edited 1 time in total.

munna wrote:Can I expect the same from AP in case of the things that happened around my Lord Balaji's abode? You and I know the answer to that. Hence my circumspect attitude towards the whole "Telugu Pride" plank, it seems to be a very selective call that is ineffective in dealing with real dangers facing the people. And by that I mean cultural and social annihilation.
munnaji, You asked this and I did not reply that as it may be going too off (may be not). YSR started off very smarly. As you know balaji temple is abode seven hills. He initially thought of doing off some activity on the rest of the six hills some activities like giving licenses to churches etc. In that pursuit he declared Tirumala as exclusive to Hindus apparently including only the hill that has the lord balaji temple. However, there was too much of revoltish stuff that came like an avalanche from the Andhra administration and his own party. His own clan (though he is christian but he is still Reddy for them) would have lynched him has he pursued that route. The beauty is that he declared and passed a law that makes all the seven hills out of bounds for non-Hindu religious activities. In a way he created a Vatican stlye area where you just can't errect any non-Hindu stuff.

EJ stuff - yes it has to be tackled as ShyamSP has written above. I request that not to fall for exaggerations that are propagated over the internet regarding all APites are converting in hoardes to chritianity etc. I wrote the statistics in the YSR thread which is locked in the GDF. Andhras are lazy sleeping elephants. If you start poking them too much they create mayhem. There were such anti-EJ meyhems that are done over the past two decades that never came as prominent news in media. Not just that there is a lots and lots of corruption in the church in AP. I will explain on a different thread when we discuss that.

In summary - it is under control inspite of certain visible propaganda. May be that propaganda is also good as it is helping to awaken the elephants.

SwamyG wrote:Attacking posts from non-telugu people is quite similar to what neocons and Bush regime did when anybody want to strike a decent conversation before the Iraq war. Nefarious motives are willy-nilly attributed to anyone who even wants to discuss this issue as a non-AP guy. The rhetoric is very well know and time tested. Sadly it is very effective and drives people away from the discussion, much to the happiness of some.

As I say, "it is pride if I do it, but chauvinistic when others do it."

Hopefully when points are placed, the points are attacked for their demerits; and no sinister charges are accused on fellow BRF members. It will be sad if this continues to happen.
Have to agree here. It looks like any non-telugu person who says what's the harm in bifurcation is automatically assumed to be part of some mysterious cabal which is trying to harm telugu interests and subjugates telugus. Many non-telugu guys who took part in this thread earlier were chased away by that accusation. Except for couple of telugu supporters of Telangana, this thread is more of telugu pro-united AP to vent their anger against the telangana folks. There are more conspiracy theorists here than in any other thread!

Hari Seldon wrote:Saar, if I can pass myself off as pakistani even, but not as someone from coastal andhra, I'd be able to pass unharmed amid a raging T-mob. such is the situ. The insanity in the hyd area is largely limited to the egregious OU (f)arts college. I say shut it down and seal it permanently, preferably with troublemakers inside.
++ 1