Just to add to my post about the military industrial complex. Seriously look at it, here's a plane which is yet to take off from the ground. It will carry a radar nobody knows about, as far as I know the Chinese don't have a AESA radar and even if they come up with one it will a rudimentary first gen (unless they got lucky with espionage). Its engine is an unknown quantity even among Chingos who, at least from the ones posting here, are also confused. Then we don't have any idea of the other sensor suites that the plane will carry. And regarding stealth only thing we know is that the front part looks somewhat like the F22, but there's a problem with the alignment of the wings and canards. And we don't know what kind of radar suppressant coating it is going to have.
Yet look at the number of stories that have come out of how this plane, even before taking off the ground, is a F35 and PAK-FA killer etc. The only saviour for the West is F22 but funnily enough its production line has been shut down ( ). Now of course the West needs to brown its pants at Panda's super dooper weapon.
And Chingos and their Paki admirers can have all the wet dreams they ever wanted to have.
Manu wrote:
In a time of war, they do not have to rely on the benevolence of foreign suppliers.
Except oil.
To be fair China produces almost half of their oil and almost all their natural gas consumption. I suppose it would be enough to run a war economy . It kind of stupid to think that they come down groveling if you cut of their oil/gas imports.
Marten wrote:Not sure if you missed the fact that this particular runway test was scheduled a week ahead of the LCA IOC, and the number is closely linked to the LCA KH 2001 that flew on Jan 4 2001.
DavidD wrote: High speed taxiing and lifting the nose is basically flying already
Totally agree...In fact, SouthWest air host once mentioned that SW keeps the OPEX low by flying the plane half the distance and high speed taxiing the other half. Since the passengers are sitting on plane, it is basically flying and nobody complains...infact everyone is happy.
Mahindra Tractor engine would come in handy as well...fuel efficient, diesel, plenty of torque-should be more than enough to power the plane for high speed taxiing
Maybe they shud import some Djinn Takneeki from the Tallest and Deepest fliends..
Go Cheena Go..
Manu wrote:
In a time of war, they do not have to rely on the benevolence of foreign suppliers.
Except oil.
To be fair China produces almost half of their oil and almost all their natural gas consumption. I suppose it would be enough to run a war economy . It kind of stupid to think that they come down groveling if you cut of their oil/gas imports.[/quote]
I suppose they could stop some of their economy from running for some time while the war is going on and fuel their military ? Seriously ?
abhik wrote:
To be fair China produces almost half of their oil and almost all their natural gas consumption. I suppose it would be enough to run a war economy . It kind of stupid to think that they come down groveling if you cut of their oil/gas imports.
It is indeed stupid to think that. I wonder what made you think that? Nobody other than your post has even remotely suggested it. This appears to be a random response to a random post without actually reading the discussion.
BEIJING, 10 JAN: China's Communist party should retain an “absolute” control over the country's 2.3 million strong army and initiate measures to improve the military's ideological standards, a top Chinese defence official has said, as the party gears up to celebrate its 90th anniversary.
Mr Xu Caihou, vice chairman of China's Central Military Commission (CMC), regarded as the most powerful military official of China said the “unhealthy ways and customs” in the military must be corrected.
“Efforts to improve political work should be made towards ensuring the CPC's absolute leadership over the army, as well as maintaining social stability and creating a favourable environment for China's reforms and development,” Mr Xu said.
“More work should be done to improve the military members' ideological standards and their style of working” state-run Xinhua news agency quoted him as saying at a meeting of military officials. His comments came as the Communist Party of China (CPC) is gearing up to celebrate its 90th anniversary, and is facing challenges like the alienation of minorities, increasing social stratification and inequality, widespread corruption, pervasive unemployment, rising crime, and rural unrest.
People's Liberation Army (PLA), unlike other militaries has a unique status as it operates directly under the control of the CPC leadership while Chine continues to be a one-party state.
The CMC, which controls the largest standing military of the world is headed by President Hu Jintao, who is also the general secretary of CPC.
Comments by Mr Xu, suggesting the need for reform in the functioning of the military, were seen by analysts here as a call for the PLA to gear up to deal with internal issues emanating from conflicts in Tibet and Xinjiang provinces, which witnessed riots in 2008 and 2009 respectively.
The CPC which has brought out a new five-year plan this year to alter the exported-oriented economic growth model of the country to a more consumption-based one, is also foreseeing economic slowdown this year which in turn could lead to domestic unrest.
Analysts say that CPC is concerned that the rising income disparities sparked by economic reforms may lead to social unrest.
Mr Xu noted that the period of 2011-2015 is crucial for China's national defence and military capacity development. PLA which is a fast expanding force, increased its defence budget by 7.5 per cent to 532.115 billion yuan (US$ 77 billion) in 2010 and continues to be second largest spender on defence, next only USA. Its defence expenditure is twice higher than India.
SRINAGAR: Former Jammu & Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah has threatened China of revenge in Leh during summer amid reports of "incursions" into Indian territory in J&K's Ladakh region. Abdullah said China had "betrayed the concept of friendship".
Farooq Abdullah told reporters in Jammu on Sunday that India will show its strength during summer as there is extreme cold this time in Leh.
"China has betrayed the concept of friendship despite the fact that the Chinese Prime Minister Wen Jiabao had promised friendship during his visit to India," Abdullah said on the sidelines of a function in Jammu on Sunday night.
"Those hopes have been belied by the incursion of Chinese troops into the border area of Leh," the minister said, replying to a question on reports of incursion by Chinese troops and halting of work at Demchok, close to the Line of Actual Control (LAC), in October last year.
part of rob gates visit to china news report, it was interesting that npr should carry analysis similar to the one we had last week post j20 pics came alive. same two topics, the stealth fighter, vision 2020, but they would be oprnl by 2018, and one of the quotes finally ended was to have it up by the next 5-6 years time., and they should talk about carrier destroying ballistics as well. it was amazing coincidence, perhaps all wu-ed up from here!
As per this research article India is attempting to checkmate China's presence in Gwadar by developing the Iranian port of Chabar (and Karwar naval base in India). I must confess that I had no awareness of India's role in Chabar and used to wonder why India is investing in developing the Zaranj-Dilaram road in Afghanistan using BRO but now it makes more sense.
Iran seems to be shrewdly playing-off Indian and Chinese strategic interests/insecurities against each other and in the bargain gained a port, a road n/w into Afghanistan's interior and it's accompanying influence, and a chip to negotiate on its nuclear policy with India and China in international fora. India has not done badly too as it gains influence in CIS by facilitating a communication n/w for them to Mid-East and a sea-port, while setting up its own shop next doors to Gwadar.
This is such shameless self promotion by the Chinese it is just ludicrous! In a country where people can't even live or travel where they please or even log on to news sites like BBC and CNN, these "heros" somehow happen to be exactly at the right place at the right time to video the taxi trials. Also, what kind of military "project" is tested in a military airfield that is located in the middle of a city ?
Do the Chinese really think people are so gullible as to fall for these petty propaganda tactics ??
However this is a good excuse for the IAF to begin formulating a new long range stealth bomber proposal.
This one seems to be the prototype without the yellow patch on the right side. Its "nozzles" do look silvery.
However notice the nozzles carefully between 0:13 and 0:20. I think I see two layers. The inside layer seems to change in diameter(expand). The outer (shinier) layer stays constant. Is the silver nozzle then just a layer.
Please notice that I am not saying it is cosmetic. I would love to know what it is for. An obvious guess is it has got something to do with IR signature.
However notice the nozzles carefully between 0:13 and 0:20. I think I see two layers. The inside layer seems to change in diameter(expand). The outer (shinier) layer stays constant. Is the silver nozzle then just a layer.
You definitely got some pair of eyes, buddy.. watched the video 4-5 times.. but my SDRE eyes cannot observe what u seem to be suggesting..
I would love to know what it is for.
To release the flatulence ofcourse..
by the way, here are a couple of pics of F22 nozzles for comparison :
Rsharma ji, the F-22 nozzles are obviously very different from the axis symmetric nozzles of all other planes. The Chinese and indeed the Russians havn't mastered it yet.
Between David, the above pic is a good example of what I was speaking before about how the F-22 follows the Sears Haack body. The whole body comes to a taper. Compare the same with the J-20 back.
Please note that the entry level designer in the Chinese deign bureau would have studied this in his entry-level aero classes. All I am saying is that the J-20 doesn't look prima-facie to be designed to be a 2.4-2.5 M plane like the T-50/F-22. And I don't think there is anything wrong with that.
This one seems to be the prototype without the yellow patch on the right side. Its "nozzles" do look silvery.
Please notice that I am not saying it is cosmetic. I would love to know what it is for. An obvious guess is it has got something to do with IR signature.
It's definitely two layers, like the WS-10, you can see it pretty clearly in some of the pictures as well. Both layers can contract a lot, as we've seen in videos and pictures before, which is a bit unlike the WS-10 since the WS-10 doesn't contract very much. Of course, that could just be differences in viewing angles. I don't know if the inner layer can contract independently though, and I can't really see that in the video.
indranilroy wrote:Rsharma ji, the F-22 nozzles are obviously very different from the axis symmetric nozzles of all other planes. The Chinese and indeed the Russians havn't mastered it yet.
Between David, the above pic is a good example of what I was speaking before about how the F-22 follows the Sears Haack body. The whole body comes to a taper. Compare the same with the J-20 back.
Please note that the entry level designer in the Chinese deign bureau would have studied this in his entry-level aero classes. All I am saying is that the J-20 doesn't look prima-facie to be designed to be a 2.4-2.5 M plane like the T-50/F-22. And I don't think there is anything wrong with that.
I don't think the effect is that dramatic, but I see what you mean. Who knows, maybe it does turn out to be a problem and they'll redesign the aft fuselage after supersonic test flights. Or maybe, like you said, the plane simply wasn't designed to be a high mach plane.
It seems to me that this video is an example of Chinese official agencies posting a video in the guise of general public. The video has been carefully edited. In fact the cameraman has done the sort of counter-intuitive thing that only an experienced camera person would do - he has zoomed out when the plane jumps forward and moves off the the left. And the video has been edited to depict the exact point at which it jumps forward. Doing that requires a degree of video editing skills.
It seems to me that this video is an example of Chinese official agencies posting a video in the guise of general public. The video has been carefully edited. In fact the cameraman has done the sort of counter-intuitive thing that only an experienced camera person would do - he has zoomed out when the plane jumps forward and moves off the the left.
Oh you'd be surprised at Chinese people's expertise in photography(filmography these days too since most cameras can record now), I don't think I've seen a Chinese guy without some gigantic SLR camera These leaks are obviously controlled though, the CCP clearly wants people to know and see this plane. Today's weather is better, maybe we'll finally see it fly
Anyhow, here's a longer version of the vid you posted:
PratikDas wrote:I guess what we can conclude is that the engine works and the chute works
Don't you know that is all that it takes... this plane is actually flying! You think it is on the ground, but it really is flying! Don't take my word for it, aviation and taxiing expert DavidD certified it a few hours ago.
I usually don't respond to your drivel, but this is a good chance to expose your lack of knowledge. So please, could you tell me what can you learn from a minimal maneuver, low-altitude flight that's typical of a first flight that you can't learn form high speed taxiing, other than the landing?
Marten wrote:Don't you know that is all that it takes... this plane is actually flying! You think it is on the ground, but it really is flying! Don't take my word for it, aviation and taxiing expert DavidD certified it a few hours ago.
I usually don't respond to your drivel, but this is a good chance to expose your lack of knowledge. So please, could you tell me what can you learn from a minimal maneuver, low-altitude flight that's typical of a first flight that you can't learn form high speed taxiing, other than the landing?
That the plane can really fly and not drop like a stone after gaining a little altitude? There is plenty of things that can go wrong in flight. Whether the FCS works as expected and keeps the plane flying ,whether all control surfaces behaves as expected and the plane doesn't show abnormal behavior etc. There are hundreds of things that can be verified only in flight.
To expect the high speed taxi trials to equal to be equal to first flight is like saying that a 100m sprint is equivalent to doing a long jump just because one runs before jumping!!
DavidD wrote:
That the plane can really fly and not drop like a stone after gaining a little altitude? There is plenty of things that can go wrong in flight. Whether the FCS works as expected and keeps the plane flying ,whether all control surfaces behaves as expected and the plane doesn't show abnormal behavior etc. There are hundreds of things that can be verified only in flight.
To expect the high speed taxi trials to equal to be equal to first flight is like saying that a 100m sprint is equivalent to doing a long jump just because one runs before jumping!!
Sorry, but that's not how it works. I won't deny that there are many things to test during actual flight, but the vast majority of major problems can be detected in high speed taxiing these days. Why don't you be a bit more specific with your assertions. How would the plane drop like a stone after gaining a little altitude, and why it can't be detected during high speed taxiing? By lifting the plane's nose up during high speed taxiing, most of the data required to take flight can already be affirmed.
First, can the plane go straight during taxiing? The J-10 for example couldn't for months. If it can head perfectly straight when running on the ground at 200 km/h then there's no reason to believe that it can't go straight in the air at 400 km/h for example. Secondly, as per your question, does the FCS work properly? When the plane raises its head, the FCS kicks into full gear(actually it's working when you don't do that as well). What is the angle of deflection of the canards and the flaps? What is the speed with which the plane's head is tipping up? Is the plane still heading straight or is it deviating from side to side? Does the actual performance match simulation results according to the temperature, altitude, etc. and pilot input? With the number of accurate sensors these days, high speed taxiing can offer you almost the same data you can get from a first flight, it's pretty much common knowledge in the aviation field these days.
As an old adage goes in aviation, flying is easy, it's the take off and landing that are hard.
David you are right when you say that a lot of things are tested on a high speed trial. High speed trials can mostly check rudder, flaps. Also breaks and parachutes (people generally don't associate much to the parachutes, but it is very difficult as well, though not as glamorous. Imagine a parachute deploying at 200 kmph. If it is not perfectly symmetric, it will pull your back in whatever direction it wants.
But obviously there is a lot left to test on the first flight. You must know that first flights are of the order of 20 minutes or so. So a whole lot of things could go wrong.
FBW could fail in a turn. They generally check whether the plane can recover from a turn. One can't do that on the ground. On the ground one only uses rudder to change direction. Aelirons is a strict no-no. also they generally check if the landing gear opens and retracts smoothly (believe it or not I was once in a plane which kept circling Heathrow because the front landing gear wouldn't open, somebody had to mechanically winch it down ).
However, I hope the plane does fine and pilot returns safely.
Even with positive AoA. Generally they test the basic maneuvers like altitude gain (level-positive AoA-level), altitude loss(level-negative AoA-level), turn left (level-left bank-level), turn right (level-right bank-level) etc.
Flying is obviously a 3D thing, whereas taxi trials are is 2D.
I think what David is trying to say is that during high speed taxi trials there is adequate health monitoring to mitigate as many risks as possible in the first flight.
But obviously the first flight is THE FIRST FLIGHT. It is a leap of faith. The size of the leap has become smaller these days. That's all.
indranilroy wrote:
I think what David is trying to say is that during high speed taxi trials there is adequate health monitoring to mitigate as many risks as possible in the first flight.
What follows from this statement is the question (that I asked in different words earlier):
Once a plane has conducted 4 or 5 high speed ground runs, what factors would be preventing them from allowing a formal take off and flight - given that a high speed run proves so many systems?
Clearly there are either a lot of systems to be proven requiring a lot more high speed runs, or the tests are not showing complete health in all the systems and so the flight is being held back. Given that a first flight was "imminent" I would have thought that all the information required from high speed taxi trials would already have been obtained. So what is holding back the flight? I am not suggesting that there is a serious, unsolvable problem. All I am saying is that there must be some issue.
The other possibility is that Chingos went apeshit after seeing the high speed runs and began imagining that a flight would occur while the Chinese working on the plane are just going about their business and not promising any dates until they are ready.
indranilroy wrote:Even with positive AoA. Generally they test the basic maneuvers like altitude gain (level-positive AoA-level), altitude loss(level-negative AoA-level), turn left (level-left bank-level), turn right (level-right bank-level) etc.
Flying is obviously a 3D thing, whereas taxi trials are is 2D.
But obviously the first flight is THE FIRST FLIGHT. It is a leap of faith. The size of the leap has become smaller these days. That's all.
Thanks, that's what I was trying to say Taxiing is not the same as flying, but these days if a plane can successfully conduct high speed taxiing, then it's very close to first flight.
Anyhow, looks like president Hu is back at CAC, and a second 737 carrying government officials are there as well. If the weather holds they'll probably have the first flight this afternoon!
indranilroy wrote:
What follows from this statement is the question (that I asked in different words earlier):
Once a plane has conducted 4 or 5 high speed ground runs, what factors would be preventing them from allowing a formal take off and flight - given that a high speed run proves so many systems?
Clearly there are either a lot of systems to be proven requiring a lot more high speed runs, or the tests are not showing complete health in all the systems and so the flight is being held back. Given that a first flight was "imminent" I would have thought that all the information required from high speed taxi trials would already have been obtained. So what is holding back the flight? I am not suggesting that there is a serious, unsolvable problem. All I am saying is that there must be some issue.
The other possibility is that Chingos went apeshit after seeing the high speed runs and began imagining that a flight would occur while the Chinese working on the plane are just going about their business and not promising any dates until they are ready.