AeroIndia 2011

SriSri

Re: AeroIndia 2011

Post by SriSri »

Report of a press briefing by British Minister of Defence (Aero India Day 1) pitching for the Eurofighter..
Eurofighter Offers Full ToT for MMRCA; U.K. Rejects Eurofighter Naval in Favor of F-35 JSF
akimalik

Post by akimalik »

rahuldevnath wrote:
akimalik wrote:Just a small request from my end...
since this might be one of the last displays of the Surya Kirans, could someone capture some "Desktop-grade" pics of those "Extraordinary Men and their Wonderful Flying machines" :-).
I see quite a few beautiful pics, but missing out on the resolution.
TIA
Not exactly a good shot. but this should do for now... (no water marks)
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... 1.jpg.html

Note: Choose size (1680x1050)
Thanks a ton (whilst I wait for more, this goes straight to the Desktop) :-),
anytime in Delhi the Beer is on me :-)

EF naval never had a chance , UK is a "partner" in JSF although the product it was partnering for dropped out and UK shifted to catobar JSF now.

IN will go for proven solns like Mig29K, Tejas-IN and F-18/Rafale not some vapourware slides like EF-N/Gripen-N.

of this motley crew, the F-18 is the only one proven on wartime strike missions and high intensity "surgex" use for 30 years now. I figure the USN operates at more frequent and high sortie deployments than the lone carrier CDG with rafale and the kuznetsov is now a empty looking test ship only. having something that will work counts in my book, even its 5% less than the best.

Cybaru wrote:Is anyone asking questions like last time ?
Tarmak list down a very intresting Q&A Session between a Chinese Journalist and AK Antony

Mioa & Mantri! When Antony got hit by a Chinese 'missile'!
This was probably an interesting highlight of Day-1 at Aero India 2011. Indian Defense Minister A.K. Antony was very much at ease (as usual) answering in his inimitable style, a volley of queries from the Press. At the fag end of the Press meet came an unexpected 'missile' from the last row. This one from China.

Li Miao, the only Chinese journalist at the show complained to Antony how she had to struggle to get an entry into the inaugural day of the show. Her pass was valid only for Day-1. “Mr Antony, I am from China... China... I congratulate you on the show, which I think is a great success. But I want to tell you that I had not received passes until this morning and I still do not have passes to cover the remaining part of the show. Are we (China) really invited for this show? I wanted to know,” she fired the first 'cruising missile.'

Taken aback, Antony immediately directed officials from Ministry of Defense to do everything so that she could cover the show on all days. “She is a young and energetic lady, do not disappoint her,” he said. There was a sudden buzz at the conference hall and everyone seems to have enjoyed this bit of Q&A session.
Miao is with the China Central Television (CCTV). She also wanted to know when India and China would co-develop defence technologies (!!!!!!), to which Antony replied: “A few differences between the two countries, especially unresolved border disputes are to be solved. But don't forget, China is one of our biggest trade partner which is a positive sign.”

Vishal Jolapara wrote:My Shot of the LCH (High Res)http://www.airliners.net/photo/1863549/L/
Lovely. Cropped or full frame? What lens? There is no EXIF.

viktor

Post by viktor »

Some LCH videos for biradars shot from a tactical location. Hope to get more videos tomorrow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5GfHqsCiO0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ko9Ai6WrsqM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63Jgx10v-iM
viktor

Post by viktor »

Here's the photo collection. Feel free to comment. Shot with a run-of-the-mill Nikon P90.

http://bit.ly/fuL3d5

Interesting. The LCH has Indian Airforce on it's side and not Indian Army!

I thought that chopper gunships came under IA and not IAF ?
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

somebody tell me is there any SBI branch aware of this event and anybody is issuing the tickets from the SBI ..
or i can get only from AFS
SriSri

Post by SriSri »

Got up-close and clicked a few pics today: http://picasaweb.google.com/11061495877 ... directlink (Scroll bottom for today's pics..)
viktor

Post by viktor »

Well, from what I could gather, IAF is in no mood to let IA have these birds. Reasons presented range from investing in the project to having control over major flying assets and need to train separate technicians and all.
viktor

Post by viktor »

@jimmy_moh, register on Aero India website and get them printed. www.aeroindia.in
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

yes i payed online and i got the mail from AI with unique ID..... but it will be better i can get ticket from any SBI so that that i dont want to held up in line for getting the ticket while the show happening inside....
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

Marten wrote: As of today, SBI is not issuing any tickets (not that they were earlier, but now they're explicitly saying it).
Only AFS Yelahanka. Prepare for the 2 hour line. Could folks check and let us know what the waiting time is like for the ADVA?

thats a great co-op from SBI... :evil:

anyway when you are planning for the show 12 or 13th ..
and at which time the tickets will be start issuing...... mostly am expecting 2 govt people will come around 10:30 as usual and started distributing..... while we will be in the line from around 8

I just registered online for 12th. no email yet. so I havent even qualified to join tail of queue.

tried to honestly buy a ticket for my 6 yr old (as onlee < 4 yrs is mentioned free) but the registration form only takes birthdate upto 1999 so thats that. will ask him to appear more sdre and lungi clad than is usual and blend into woodwork.

every effort has been made to make the event as unfriendly for normal people as possible :mrgreen:

According to my bro, who is there today, the Q was too big, so they decided to accept the e-mail printout and a photo ID at the entrance. The RFID pass was not required.

He also quipped that "maybe they ran out of RFIDs"
maz

Post by maz »

Guys, who is taking pics of info boards at various desi exhibitor stands such as all PSU, BEL HAL, ADA, all the DRDO outfits, Israeli stuff, L&T, Tata SEd, etc. These boards are a treasure trove of info.

I'd be grateful for pix of any naval stuff u guys see out there. Besides all the other goodies of course.

Cheers

Maz

Maybe

1. They didnt print enough pass
2. Didnt expect this crowd
3. Gave too many free passes
4. A big scam in the making

I think they should make it clear how many will be allowed and give passes on first come first serve basis

^^ Heard that the exhibition hall wont be open on Sunday and only till saturday though business pass for Sat/Sun is the same!! Is that true ?

hopefully fresh supplies of RFID wont arrive anytime soon.

may I know what exactly comes in the email ?

I onlee have the printed transaction receipt in my lap so far.
steve

Post by steve »

Please some body find out what is the Dry weight of LCA . Please post the photos of the LCA Spec Board at Aero India 2011. Please Post the request information.
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

Singha wrote:hopefully fresh supplies of RFID wont arrive anytime soon.

may I know what exactly comes in the email ?

I onlee have the printed transaction receipt in my lap so far.
singha sir.. this was in mail along with ID
1. After receiving unique id, take a print out and visit listed State Bank of India and other ticket sale counters (www.aeroindia.in ). Tickets can also be collected from the ticket sale counters outside the Yelahanka base.

2. Show your identity proof and collect RFID enabled tickets. It takes some time. So kindly be patient.

3. One ticket is valid for one full day for one person. If you want to visit aero show on the subsequent day, entire process would have to be followed once again. Tickets are non-transferable.

4. Business visitors will have to park their cars in the P-9 parking (entry from Gate No. 8 and 9). Plz follow signage. Shuttle buses are available till the entry gate from the parking area.

5. Cameras are allowed. Please don’t carry baggage.

6. Food courts are there inside the venue.

7. As of now, there is no provision of reimbursement or readjustments of the amount paid.

8. On Saturday business visitor’s ticket is @ Rs 1,000/- per head. On Sunday there is no business visitor ticket as exhibition area will be open to the general visitor.

9. On the day of your visit, please carry the ticket and identity proof. Venue of the air show is Air Force Station Yelahanka on National Highway 7.

Singha, the following is the full, complete, unabridged contents of the email
Thank you for registering as Business Visitor at Aero India 2011
Your Unique Registration ID is- AINDRIPOFF4/420
For any further query contact [email protected]
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

i will suggest to remove the unique ID from the forum...
bksahu

Post by bksahu »

For all the BRFites who are attending seminars in aeroindia...why not prepare or get a list of questions from all the members needs to be asked for any particular seminar which are going to be held in coming days and quench our thirsts for any long pending unresolved queries.........In that way we all can make good use of this opportunity thereby getting direct replies from experts which are otherwise not available for comments........

Gurus what are your take on this?
Just my humble opinion

OK... I will be going to AI tomorrow and day after - was able to wrangle business invites from a defence org and an embassy :-P. Of course, I'm still worried about a few things:

1) How difficult was the whole camera carrying thingy?? Note that I shall probably be carrying a really tiny
2) Whats the status on Bags? I can't handle a notebook and all without having a bag there. And a plastic cover will look sad.
3) Will a voter ID card suffice?? Or do i need to carry my passsport? Note that the passes havent been specifically registered in my name.
4) How expensive is the food and refreshments?? I think i dont need to even mention about toilets.
5) Where are all the BR jingos meeting up? Do we have like an unofficial meeting place (since the BR stall doesn't exist this time). Any secret handshake to know a BRFite??
6) Any BEER stalls?? :-P

7) What questions to ask? Info to find?? Please be specific guys, coz I'm a dud, and i've been out of touch with stuff over the past two years.

Cheers!!!

P.S... If anyone is attending tomorrow or day after, you can email me and we can exchange contact details and somehow catch up there!!
rahuldevnath

Post by rahuldevnath »

Ok few shots for all Jingos! :)

The first one is the most amazing shot of Tejas ever taken! You really are an amazing photographer! :eek:

The AMCA shot is no less welcomed. This is the best shot showing the top view of the model. Could you also take orthogonal shots of both AMCA and lca mk2?
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

Xposting from MRCA thread just to let everyone attending AeroIndia know that I am really not expecting anything from you, especially in high resolution.
rgsrini wrote:
SriSri wrote: PS: I'm just jealous no one offered me a flight.. :-(
Man, I guess it is never really enough...

Here I am blaming my stars for never having the opportunity to attend an AeroIndia...I have never seen the LCA live, not to mention the LCH, the Saras, the IJTs, the Rustoms, the Rambas....

I tell myself that everything in life is temporary and life itself is temporary... We are all just organisms sticking to a piece of rock spinning around at breathtaking speeds, pretending to have a purpose...

In the meantime, my materialistic instinct wakes up and tells me that someone will post a really high resolution picture of LCA flying in formation, then I remind myself... Don't ask...it is all maya... we will all die anyway!

rahul

:shock:

This is where we need a emoticon to bow :)

looks a deadly bird of prey

beautiful

Rahul sir, no one has ever taken such a TFTA shot of the very SDRE Tejas...
My shasthang pranam to you, sir.
Even the water mark in the picture is apt, as it is a Bharat Rakshak in the true sense.
Last edited by Bala Vignesh on 10 Feb 2011 21:01, edited 1 time in total.

k prasad wrote: 7) What questions to ask? Info to find?? Please be specific guys, coz I'm a dud, and i've been out of touch with stuff over the past two years.
Please try to find out the current Empty weight for Tejas and the targeted empty weight for MK2 :)

PS: Amazing shot there Rahul!
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

RahulDevnathji,
Would you be kind enough to email me a higher resolution photo of Tejas Photo 1 above (staring staight at you, with smoke winders)? Preferably without a watermark and I promise you that it will never be misused or leave my possession without your express written permission. I will only use it as a "desktop background" for my personal laptop(s).

If you confirm, I will put my email up here for you to send. This way you can also email the LCA formation flight photo(s) later when you take it. Even though, I am really not expecting anything from anyone as mentioned in the earlier post.

I am only doing this to encourage young photographers like you... :)

Post by Sanjay »

Mr. Devnath, about a month ago Tom Cooper of the Air Combat Information Group contacted me - God knows why - after seeing your photos.

As we all are, he was very, very, very impressed with your photograph and wanted to liaise with you to get some of them published.

I don't know if he ever established contact but you are ready for the big leagues and perhaps it is time you made the jump. Tom might just be the contact you need.

Willing to set up e-mail contact if you are willing.

So many superb Indian photographers come to the fore during shows like Aero India, we need to get more of them published (and paid for their photographs).

For all of those attending and photographing AI 2011 - thank you very much for all that you share.

Guys - What are those white marks on bottom side of LCA...
rahuldevnath

Post by rahuldevnath »

Thank you all for the honour bestowed on me. But please don't address me as "ji" "sir' etc, for that matter i'm the youngest of all photogpraher here :wink: (hopefully, i'm 24), unfortunately I didn't manage a Media Pass, so that's what I could manage from the Exhibition Area .
Kindly mail me at [email protected], I will be willing to mail about 1600x1200 pixels image, however I will have to put at least a small watermark.

@Sanjay: Tom Cooper hasn't contacted me yet, I ofcourse would be more than willing to get in contact. Though a small, but orbit CS has used my images of Saras.
All visitiors to HALL A, Israeli Pavilion, Orbit CS, do take a look at the SARAS image :)

Post by Sanjay »

Do I have your permission to pass him your e-mail address ?

k prasad sir,
I am planning on coming to aero india the day after. Kindly reach me at djvignesh in gmail's domain.

List of people visiting of Friday. We can do a small meetup during the lunch time.

1) Myself
2) k_prasad
3) merlin
4) aniket
5) mandrake
6) Philip
7) Neela (unconfirmed)
Last edited by KrishG on 10 Feb 2011 23:30, edited 2 times in total.